Skip to main content

Full text of "The official guide book to Philadelphia.."

See other formats


^!gM'itmeiJi:miMJx^n!miii^E.sjii'-', 


Class  Jni 

Book - 


/ 

i.^ 


GoBtiglitBi 


A 


J  A 


CORlRIGHT  DEPOSm 


^ 


ON  THE 


fl 


« 


-«! 

o 

m 


D 


1^; 


THE  OFFICIAL 


GUIDE  BOOK 


TO 


PHILADELPHIA. 


A   NEW 


HANDBOOK  POR  STRAN&EES  AND  CITIZENS. 


By  THOMPSON  WESTCOTT, 

AUTHOR  OF  "a  HISTORY  OF  PHILADELPHIA,"  "LIFE  OF  JOHN  FITCH," 
ETC.,  ETC. 


WITH  A  HISTORY  OP  THE  CITY,  A  LARGE  MAP  OF  THE  CITY  SHOWING 
ALL  THE  ROUTES  OP  THE  PASSENGER  RAILWAYS,  NEW 
MAP  OP  FAIRMOUNT  PARK,  Eic^  .^ 


ILLUSTEATED  WITH  NEAELY  ONE  HUNDEED  EN&EAVIUaS. 

PHILADELPHIA: 
PORTER   AND   COATES, 

822  CHESTNUT  STREET. 

1^1  n 


I  I 


Entered  according  to  Act  of  Congress,  in  the  year  1875,  oy 

PORTER  &  COATES, 
In  the  Office  of  the  Librarian  of  Congress,  at  Washington. 


Westcott    &    Thomson, 

Stereotypers  -"td  Electrotypers.  Philada. 


Henry  B.  Ashmead, 

Pri7tter  Phtlada 


CHANGES,  ADDITIONS  AND  CORRECTIONS. 

DTTmNOthe  Beriod  in  which  the  following  pages  have  been  passing 

of  pubuLttn'The  following  matters  are  to  be  noted  m  addition  and 

""""Ranks  -Pa-e  156      The  Commonwealtli  National  Bank  has 
befn  removed  ft  om  the  corner  of  Fourth  and  Chestnut  streets  to  SW 
corner Tfrourth  and  Walnut  streets,  in  the  hue  sandstone  bmklmg 
formerly  erected  by  the  Enterprise  I^^^^^ance  Company  -JheCen- 
f;:S.iaf National  Lnk  a  -w  in^t.tut^r,^^^^^^^^  ^^X  /et^na: 

roLT^xMbirrtriniifuL^^^^^^ 

tenSal  ground,  immediately  west  of  the  Main  Exhibition  Building, 
and  wm  transact  the  financial  business  of  the  Exposition 

iPi^^«^ial  —The  Board  of  Brokers  will,  during  the  year,  le- 
mo?e"f"rt\f  MeJctnts'  Exchange  to  a  -w  buM^g  --tr-f^e^^ 
especially  for  its  use,  immediately  west  ot  Girard  Bank,  inira  street 

^  Bridaes.-Page  337.  The  Market  Street  Bridge  was  destroyed 
by  fire  N?v  20,  1875,  and  has  been  replaced  by  a  te^^PO^^^ry  s  ruc- 
ture  strong  enough  to  last  for  ten  or  twenty  years  It  was  rebuilt  by 
Se  Pennsylvanii  Eailroad  Company  for  the  city,  and  finished  m 

'TiL::tl7A£^se^'^nZ-Tl.e  Kiralfy  Brothers  have  com- 
mencfd  the  fraction  of  a  theatre  and  music-hall,  to  which  a  garden 
S  to  be  attached    on  the  east  side  of  Broad  street  above  Spruce, 
wMdi'^fs  totecaile'd  the  Alliambra.     The  lot  is  l|Oieet  front  by 
225  deep  to  a  street  on  which  the  front  is  170  feet.     The  style  ot  tue 
facade  wVbe  of  the  Moresque  architecture,  elaborately  ornamented 
wfth  columns,  horseshoe  arches,  with  domes  etc.,  brilliantly  painted 
in  bright  colors  and  gilded.    The  theatre  will  seat  1600  persons     The 
gardel  will  be  ornamented  with  fountains,  etc.   and  wil   be  loO  feet 
fauare     The  building  is  expected  to  be  completed  April  15,  18/  6^- 
The  Women's  Centennial  Music-Hall  is  to  be  built  upon  the 
irounds  attached  to  the  mansion  of  the  late  Edwin  Forrest,  tragedian 
I  W   corner  of  Broad  and  Master  streets,  and  the  performances  are 
to  be  under  the  charge  of  the  eminent  musician  Theodore  Thomas 
The  music-hall  will  be  100  feet  front  on  Broad  street  and  200  feet 
deep    and  will  be  capable  of  accommodating  5000  persons      The 
stage  wm  be  of  capacity  sufficient  for  an  orchestra  of  lOOperiormers 
and  aThorus  of  600  singers.    The  Forrest  mansion,  adjoming,  will  be 
fitted  up  as  a  restaurant  and  cafe.  ,  ,  q.    .. 

Patriotic  Orders.-A  new  hall  has  been  fitted  up  at  Sixth 
and  Spring  Garden  streets  for  the  Patriotic  Order  of  Sons  of 
America;  objects,  patriotism  and  benevolence.  f^^  Wn 

Hj^foi-niatorv  Homes.— A  Reformatory  Home  for  Wo- 
men who  aJe  addicted  to  the  vice  of  intemperance  has  been  opened 


CHANGES,    ADDITIONS,    ETC. 

at  220  North  Thirteenth  street,  under  the  auspices  of  the  Women's 
Christian  Temperance  Union. 

Educational  Homes.— The  home  for  boys  (p.  222)  has  es- 
tablished a  home  for  girls,  and  will  hereafter  be  styled  the  Educa- 
tional Home.  ,  ,  ^ 

Homes  for  the  Aged.— The  Union  Home  for  old  Ladies, 
at  3947  Market  street,  was  opened  for  the  reception  of  inmates  Feb. 

24    1876 The  Edwin  Forrest  Home  for  retired  actors  will  be 

opened  at  Springbrook,  near  Holmesburg,  during  the  year,  under 
the  trusts  of  Mr.  Forrest's  will. 

Industrial  Aid  Societies.— The  Day  Nursery  for  Chil- 
dren, incorporated  in  1873,  has  its  home  at  410  Blight  street.  Ihe 
children  of  poor  women  who  are  out  at  work  in  daytime  are  here 
cared  for,  educated. and  fed  daily. 

Centennial  Hotels.— Pages  69,  70.  There  have  been  pro- 
jected and  are  in  course  of  construction  Ruloff 's  Elm  Avenue  Hotel, 
west  end  of  Machinery  Hall,  with  accommodations  for  500  persons,  and 
the  Atlas  Hotel,  Fifty-second  street  and  Elm  avenue,  which  will 
have  1500  rooms  and  capacity  for  3000  persons  daily.— The  name  ot 
the  hotel  S  W  corner  of  Broad  and  Walnut  streets,  designated  the 
Edwards  (p.  67),  has  been  settled  to  be  hereafter  St.  George.— 
Grand  Central  Hotel  (pp.  66,  67),  Market  street  near  Thirty- 
second,  was  projected  but  has  not  been  built.  . 

Centennial  Depot.- The  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company 
is  building  an  extensive  depot  opposite  the  Exposition  Buildings, 
(t  will  have  four  large  apartments  for  reception  and  comfort  o±  pas- 
sengers, with  extensive  platforms,  and  every  arrangement  lor  con- 
venience of  trains  arriving  and  departing.  „  -n  -n- 

Food  Supply.— The  Abattoir,  west  side  of  SehuylkillKiyer 
above  Market  street,  will  be  ready  for  use  in  1876.  The  principal 
building  is  of  brick,  150  by  200  feet.  There  are  48  cattle-sheds,  each 
24  by  200  feet;  two  sheep-pens,  each  130  by  350  feet;  a  large  hog- 
pen, and  a  large  brick  grain  and  hay  barn. 

Access  to  the  Exhibition.— In  addition  to  means  ot  con- 
veyance specified  in  Chapter  IV.,  a  new  organization,  the  Exhibition 
Transfer  Company,  has  established  a  considerable  number  o± 
light  carriages  which  will  run  regularly  from  Ninth  and  Chestnut 
streets  to  the  Exhibition  grounds.  ^,      „   .       m  * 

Special  Ticket-Offices.— Page  89.— The  Union  Transfer 
Company,  S.  E.  corner  of  Ninth  and  Chestnut  streets,  has  a  general 
ticket-office  for  all  lines  of  railroads  from  Philadelphia. 

ERRATA. 

Page  39,  line  4,  "  Chestnut  street  west  of  Ninth,"  should  be  CAris- 
ifia-w  street  west  of  Ninth.  u  i,    w   ^  r 

Page  88  on  33d  line,  Westchester  Railroad  should  be  West  Jersey. 

Pase  201,  line  2d,  £45,815  should  be  £45  8s.  U. 

Pa^e  310  West  Laurel  Hill.  This  cemetery  is  not  under  the  same 
conti^l  as  the  Laurel  Hill  Cemetery,  but  a  distinct  corporation, 
having  no  connection  whatever  with  it;  nor  can  tickets  tor  it  be 
procured  at  Brown's  drug  store,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 


ALPHABETICAL    LIST 


PLACES,  EXHIBITIONS,  ETC,  IN  PHILADELPHIA, 

LIKELY  TO  PROVE  MOST  ATTRACTIVE  TO  THE  STRANGER  OR  TOURIST. 

Those  with  an  *  no  one  should  leave  Philadelphia  without  seeing. 


Places. 


1*  Academy   of    Fine    Arts,    Broad 

above  Arch  st. 
■>*  Academy    of    Natural    Sciences, 
S.  W.  corner  of  19th  and  Race. 
American    Philosophical     Society, 

5th  St.  below  Chestnut. 
American  Steamship  wharves  and 

docks.  —  International    wharves 

and  dock. 
Arsexals. — 

*  Arsenal,  Frankford. 

*  Arsenal,      Schuylkill,      Gray's 

Ferry  road  below  Carpenter. 
Asylums. — 

*  Blind  Asylum,  20th  and  E,ace 

sts. 
Christ  Church  Hospital  for  old  wo- 
men, York  and  49th  sts. 
*Deaf  and  Dumb  Asylum,  cor- 
ner of  Broad  and  Pine  sts. 
Naval    Asylum,    Gray's    Ferry 

road. 
Orphan  Asylum,  Haddington. 
St.  John's  Orphan  Asylum  (Ro- 
man   Catholic),   Westminster 
avenue  near  49th  st. 
Widow's  Asylum,   Cherry  near 
18th  St. 
Banks. 


Bartram's  House,  west  bank  of  the 

Schuylkill  below  Gray's  Ferry. 
Belmont,  West  Park. 
Bleckley  Almshouse,  West   Phila- 
delphia. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Tickets  25  cents. 

Open  Tuesdays  and  Fridays  in  the 
afternoon.     Admission  10  cents. 
Admission  free. 

Tickets  to  be  had  of  Peter  Wrigh! 
&  Sons,  Walnut  st.  above  3d. 


Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 


Concerts  Wednesday  p.  m. 

sion  15  cents. 
Admission  on  application. 


Admis- 


Tickets  of  managers  or  at  Ledger 

oflBice,  6th  and  Chestnut  sts. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Admission  on  application. 
Open  to  the  public. 


Admission  on  application. 

These  institutions  are  always  open 
during  business  hours  to  stran- 
gers who  may  desire  to  examine 
the  interior  architecture. 

See  page  329. 

Open  to  the  public.     See  page  330. 
Tickets    free   at    office,   7th    above 
Filbert. 


VI 


SIGHTS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 


Places. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Boys'  Central  High  School,  corner 

Broad  and  Green  sts. 

Cemeteries. — 

-*  Laurel  Hill  Cemetery,  Ridge  av.  , 

Woodland  Cemetery,  Woodland 

avenue,  West  Philadelphia. 
West    Laurel    Hill     Cemetery, 
west  bank  of  Schuylkill  near 
Pencoyd  station. 
Woodlands,  west  side  of  Schuyl- 
kill. 
Churches.— 

*  Cathedral  of  St.  Peter  and  St. 

Paul  (R.  C),  18th  St.  above 

*  Christ  Church,  finished  in  1753, 

2d  St.  above  Market. 
*01d    Pine    Street  Presbyterian 

Church,  cor.  4th  and  Pine  sts. 
*01d  Swedes'  Church,  Swanson 

St.  below  Christian. 

*  St.  Peter's  Protestant  Episcopal 

Church,  cor.  Pine  and  3d  sts. 
Cliveden  (Chew's  house),  German- 
town. 

^^Base  Ball  Ground  (Athletic), 
25th  and  Jefferson  sts. 

Cricket  Club  Grounds  (Ger- 
mantown),  on  Germautown 
branch  Reading  R.  R.,  near 
Wayne  st.  —  (Merion),  near 
Ardmore  station. 

Press,  505  Chestnut  st. 

Reform  Club,  1520  Chestnut  st. 

■«  Union    League    House,   corner 
Sansom  and  Broad  sts. 
Commercial    Exchange,    2d   below 

Walnut  St. 
-:v  County  Prison,  1 1th  st.  and  Pas 
syunk  avenue. 

CO^URT-ROOMS. — 

Common  Pleas  No.  1,  American 
Philosophical  Hall,  5  th  below 
Chestnut  st. 

Common  Pleas  No.  2,  Old  Con- 
gress Hall,  6th  and  Chestnut. 


Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public  in  daytime,  ex- 
cept Sundays. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public.     See  page  334. 

Services    daily   between    6    and   7 
A.  M.,  and  six  services  on  Sunday. 

Services  on  Sunday. 

Services  on  Sunday. 

Open  on  Sundays. 

Services  on  Sundays. 

See  page  331. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 
Admission  at  advertised  prices. 


On  introduction  by  a  member. 
Admission   on   introduction   by    a 

member-. 
Admission    on   introduction   by  a 

member. 
Introduction  by  a  member. 

Tickets  from  Inspectors  or  at  Led- 
ger oflBce,  6th  and  Chestnut  sts. 


Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 


SIGHTS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 


VJl 


Places. 


Court-Rooms — Continued. 

Common  Pleas  No,  3,  east  wing 
of  State-house,  adjoining  su- 
preme court-room. 
Common  Pleas  No.  4,  west  wing 

of  State-house. 
Orphans',  6th  below  Walnut. 
Quarter  Sessions,  Congress  Hall 
and  in  building  to  the  south. 
Supreme,   east   wing   of    Inde- 
pendence Hall. 
United  States,  Library  st.  near 
5th. 
Custom-House  (U.  S.),  Chestnut  st. 

below  5th. 
Declaration       of      Independence, 
house    where    written,   7th    and 
Market  sts. 
Fair  Hill,  Germantown  avenue. 
*Fairmount  Park. 
Franklin   Institute,    7th   st.   above 

Chestnut. 
*Frank]in's  Grave,  S.  E.  cor,  5th 

and  Arch  sts. 
Germantown  Battle-ground. 
*Girard    College,    Ridge     avenue 

above  19th  st. 
Girls'  Normal  School,  Spring  Gar- 
den and  17th  sts. 
Halls. — 

*  Carpenters'  Hall,  built  in  1770, 

Chesfnut  st.  below  4th. 
*City,  New,  Hall    (unfinished), 
Broad  and  Market  sts. 
Horticultural    Hall,   Broad    st. 
below  Locust. 

*  Independence  Hall,  Chestnut  st. 

below  6th. 
National    Museum,   west   room 

State  house  building,  Chest- 
nut below  6th. 
St.  George's  Hall,  corner  13th 

and  Arch  sts. 
Homes. — 

Northern    Home  and   Soldiers' 

Orphan      Home,      23d     and 

Brown  sts. 
Old  Men's  Home,  39th  and  Pow- 

elton  avenue. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public  in  daytime. 

See  page  324. 


See  page  336. 

Open  to  the  public  at  all  times. 

Admission  free. 

Can  be  seen  from  the  pavement  on 
Arch  St.  near  the  corner. 

See  page  317. 

Tickets  at  office  of  the  trustees,  5th 
above  Chestnut,  or  at  Ledger  office. 

Open  to  the  public. 


Admission  free.     Open  to  public  in 

daytime. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Open  during  exhibitions,  meetings 
or  lectures,  with  prices  specified. 

Open  day  and  evening  to  the  pub- 
lic. 

Open  to  the  public. 


Open   at  meetings   of   St.    George 
Society  and  on  public  occasions. 

Open  to  the  public. 
Services  on  Sunday. 


Vlll 


SIGHTS   IN  PHILADELPHIA. 


Places. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission, 


Hospitals. — 

German   Hospital,   Girard   and 
Corinthian  avs. 

*  Insane  Hospital  (Kirkbride's), 

Haverford   av.,  West   Phila- 
delphia.    Take  Market  street 

Naval  Hospital  (U.  S.),  on  Na- 
val Asylum  grounds. 

*  Pennsylvania  Hospital,  8th  and 

Spruce  sts. 
Presbyterian  Hospital,  39th  and 

Filbert  sts. 
Protestant  Episcopal  Hospital, 
Lehigh  avenue  and  Front  st. 
St.  Joseph's  Hospital  (Roman 
Catholic),  Girard  avenue  and 
17th  St. 
Wills  Hospital  for  Eye  diseases. 
Race  St..  bet.  18th  and  19th. 
Women's   Hospital,  N.  College 
av.  and  22d  st. 
House  of  Correction,  neiir  Holmes 
burg. 

House  of  Refuge,  2.3d  and  Parrish 
sts. 


Admission  on  application. 


Ledger   Building,    S.   W.  cor.  6th 

and  Chestnut  sts. 
Lemon  Hill. 

LI3RARIES. 

Apprentices'  Library,  b.  W.  cor. 

5th  and  Arch  sts. 
Athenseum  Library,  6th  st.  be 

low  Walnut. 
Mercantile    Library,    10th    st. 

above  Chestnut. 
Pennsylvania     Historical,    8^0 
Spruce  St.  ^  ,      . 

*  Philadelphia   Library,   5th    st. 
below  Chestnut. 
Ridgway  Library  (unfinished). 
Broad  and  Christian  sts. 
Markets. — 

Central,  Market  st.  between  Ibth 

and  17th. 
Delaware  Avenue,  Delaware  av. 
and  Spruce  st. 


Friends  of  patients  admitted. 
Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 
Admission  on  application. 

Open   Mondays,  Wednesdays,  and 

Fridays  from  10  to  2.     Tickets 

at  51  N.  6th  St. 
Open  Mondays,  Wednesdays,   and 

Fridays  from  10  to  2.     Tickets 

at  21  N.  7th  St. 
Open  to  the  public. 


See  page  333. 

Admission  free  to  visitors. 

Free  on  introduction  by  a  member. 

Open  to  visitors  for  inspection  in 

daytime. 
Open  to  visitors  from  10  a.  m-  to 

10   P.M. 

Open   to  visitors  from  9  A.  M.   to 
5  P.  M. 


Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 


SIGHTS    IN  PHILADELPHIA. 


IX 


Places. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Markets — Continued. 

Eastern,  S.  E.  comer  5th  and 

Merchant  sts. 
Farmers'  and  Franklin,  N.  side 
of  Market   st.  between  11th 
and  12th. 
Ridge  Avenue,  on  Ridge  av. 
*  Masonic  Temple,  Broad  st.  below 
Arch. 

Medical  Colleges. — 

College  of  Physicians  and  Sur- 
geons, cor.  13th  and  Locust. 
Jeiferson  Medical  College,  10th 

St.  below  Sansom. 
University  Medical  College,  cor- 
ner Locust  and  34th  sts. 
Woman's   Medical    College,   N. 
College  av.  and  22d  st. 
Merchants'    Exchange,  Dock   and 

3d  sts. 
Mint,  Old,  7th  st.  above  Filbert. 
*Mint  (U.  S.),  Chestnut  st.  above 

13th. 
Morgue,  Noble  st.  near  Delaware 

avenue. 
Mount  Pleasant,  East  Park. 

*  National  Museum,  Independence 

Hall. 
Navy  Yard,  League  Island,  mouth 

of  the  Schuylkill  River. 
Old    London    Coffee-house,    Front 

and  Market  sts. 

*  Penitentiary,  Fairmount  avenue 

and  21st  st. 

Penn's  Cottage,  Letitia  st.  near 
Market. 

Penn  Treaty  Monument,  Beach 
and  Hanover  sts. 

Post-office  (U.  S.),  Chestnut  st.  be- 
tween 4th  and  5th. 

Red  Bank. 

School  of  Design  for  Women,  S.W. 
corner  Broad  and  Filbert  sts. 

Solitude,  Zoological  Gardens,  West 
Park. 

Stenton  (Logan's  House),  German- 
town  road. 


Open  to  the  public. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Open  to  the  public. 

On  Thursdays  from  10  to  2.  Tick- 
ets, or  introduction  by  members 
of  the  order. 

Tickets  of  admission  to  be  procured 

from  members. 
Tickets  from  Faculty  or  Trustees. 

Tickets  from  Faculty  or  Trustee?. 

Tickets  from  Faculty  or  Trustees. 

Open  to  the  public. 

See  page  326. 

Open  to  visitors  from  9  A.  ii.  to  12 

noon. 
Open  to  the  public. 

See  page  332. 

Open  to  the  public  from  9  A.  M.  to 

3  p.  M. 
Open  to  the  public  in  daytime. 

See  page  326. 

Tickets  of  inspectors  or  at  Ledger 

office.  ^      =,         ^         ,  i'_ 

See  page  32L        .^"^^^  ^^    ^  ^^ 

May  be  seen  from  the  street. 

Outer  avenues  open  to  the  public. 

See  page  319. 

Open  to  visitors  in  daytime. 

See  page  333. 

See  page  330. 


SIGHTS   IN   PHILADELPHIA. 


Places. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Trotting,   Racing,  and   Driving 
Parks. 
Belmont,  beyond  West  Park. 
Point  Breeze,  Point  Breeze  near 

Penrose  Ferry  bridge. 
Suffolk,  Island  road  near  Read- 
ing  branch  of  old  Baltimore 
R.  R. 
Trust  and  Safe  Deposit  Companies. 

University  of  Pennsylvania,  36th 

and  Woodland  av. 
Wagner  Free  Institute,  corner  17th 

and  Montgomery  avenue. 
Water-works. — 

Belmont  or  West  Philadelphia, 
Fairmount  Park,  west  side  of 
Schuylkill  River,  near  Read- 
ing Railroad  Bridge. 
Delaware   or   Kensington,  east 
side  of  Delaware  River,  near 
Gunners'  Run. 
Fairmount,  in  Park,  east  side  of 
Schuylkill    River,    north   of 
Morris  st. 
Roxborough,  east  side  Schuyl- 
kill River,  above  Manayunk. 
Schuylkill     (formerly      Spring 
Garden),  east  side  of  Schuyl- 
kill River,  Fairmount  Park, 
near  Girard  avenue. 
Wilson   School-house,  Darby  road 

and  Leach  Hollow. 
Young  Men's  Christian  Associa- 
tion, Chestnut  st.  above  12th. 
New  building  being  erected 
S.  E.  cor.  15th  and  Chestnut  sts. 
*-  Zoological  Gardens,  Fairmount 
Park. 


Admission    on    introduction   of 
>      members,    or   on    public    race 
days  at  advertised  rates. 

Open   to  visitors   during  business 

hours. 
Visitors  admitted  on  application. 

Free  to  visitors. 


Each   of  these  is   open   to  the 
public. 


See  page  328. 
Open  to  the  public. 

Admission  25  cents. 


PLACES    OF   AMUSEMENT. 


XI 


Places. 


Theatres, — 

Walnut  Street,  9th  and  Walnut. 
Arch  Street,  Arch  st,  west  of  6th. 
Chestnut     Street,     Chestnut    st. 

above  12th. 
Wood's  Museum,  9  th  and  Arch. 
American,  Chestnut  between  10th 

and  11th  sts. 
Grand  Central,  Walnut  ab.  8th. 
Amateur     Drawing-room,     17th 

above  Chestnut. 
New  National  Varieties,  10th  and 

Callowhill  sts. 
Concordia  (Ger.),  417  Callowhill. 
Alhambra,  Broad  above  Spruce. 
Minstrel  Halls. — ■ 

Arch  Street  Opera-house,  Arch 

St.  between  10th  and  11th. 
Eleventh     Street    Opera-house, 
11th  St.  above  Chestnut. 
Opera  and  Music. — 

Academy  of  Music,  corner  Broad 

and  Locust. 

Musical  Fund  Hall,  Locust  ab  8th. 

.    Centennial  Music  Hall  ( Thomas), 

Forrest   Mansion,   Broad  and 

Master. 

Handel  and  Haydn  Hall,  corner 

8th  and  Spring  Garden. 
Concert  Hall,  Chestnut,  between 

12th  and  13th. 
Mannerchor  Hall,  Fairmount  av. 
and  Franklin  st. 
AuT  Exhibitions. — 

Academy   of    Fine  Arts,   Broad 

above  Arch. 
Art     Gallery,    East    Fairmount 

Park,  near  Green  st. 
Art  Galleries,  Private. 
Colosseum,  Broad  and  Locust. 
Miscellaneous  Exhibitions. 
Assembly  Building,  corner  10th 

and  Chestnut. 
Horticultural  Hall,  east  side  of 
Broad  st.  above  Spruce. 
Scientific  Exhibitions. — 

Academy  of    Natural  Sciences, 

corner  19th  and  Bace. 
Zoological   Gardens,  West  Park 
below  Girard  av. 


Mode  of  Obtaining  Admission. 


Family  circle.  Dress  circle.  Orchestra. 
25  cents.        50  cents.      $1.50 
25      "  50      "  1.00 

50      "  75      "  1.50 


25 

25 

25 

a 

50 
50 

50 

1.00 
.75 

.75 

25  cents.        50  cents.     75  cents. 
25      "  50      '*         75     « 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 
Admission  at  advertised  prices. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 
Admission  at  advertised  prices. 
Admission  at  advertised  prices. 

Admission  25  cents. 

Open  to  the  public. 

See  page  196. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 

Admission  at  advertised  prices. 


Open  Tuesday  and  Friday  after- 
noons.    Admission  25  cents. 

Admission  25  cents.  Children  un- 
der twelve  years  10  cents. 


xu 


COINS. 


VALXJB  OF  FOREIGN  GOLD  AND  SILVER  COINS  IN  THE 
VALUli.  ^^^^^^Y  OF  THE  UNITED  STATES. 
Prepared  by  the  Superintendent  of  the  United  States  Mint,  Philadelphia. 

GOLD  COINS. 


Country. 


Austria 

Do 

Do 

Do 

Belgium 

Brazil 

Central  America 

Do 

Chili 

Colombia  and  South 

America  generally 

Colombia.. 

Do 


Denomination. 


Fourfold  ducat. 

Souverain  (no  longer  coined). 

4  florins  (new) 

Ducat 

25  francs 

29  railreis 

2  escudos 

4  reals 

10  pesos  (dollars) 


Value  in  United! 
States  money. 


Dolls,  cts.  mills. 


Old  doubloon* 

20  pesos,  "Bogota"... 

^^  „ 20  pesos,  "Medellin  " 

po *.".'..].".... I  20  pesos,  "I'opayan" 


Costa  Rica 
Denmark 

Do 

Egypt 

England 

France — • 

German  Empire 

Do 

Greece ■ 

India  (British).. 

Italy ....• 

Japan 

Mexico 

Do 

Do 

Netherland 

New  Granada.., 

Norway 

Peru 

Portugal 

Russia 5  rubles... 

Spain 100  reales 

Po 1  80  reals 

Do!!'.'.'. 

Sweden . 

Do.... 

Do.... 
Tunis... 
Turkey 


10  pesos. 

20  Crown 

Old  ten-thaler 

Bedidlik  (100  piasters) 

Pound  or  sovereign  (new) . 

20-franc 

New  20  marks 

Old  ten-thaler  (Prussian).. 

20  drachms • 

Mohur,  or  15  rupees  f 

20  lire 

20  yen • 

Doubloon 

20  pesos  (empire) 

20  pesos  (republic,  new).... 

10  gilders 

10  pesos  (dollars) ■ 

20  crowns 

20  soles 

Coroa  (crown) 


10  escudos 

Ducat 

Carolin  (10  francs) 

New  20  Crowns  (krone). 

25  piasters 

100  piasters 


1 
4 

5 
9 

4    72     0 
10    89     3 


9  13 

fi  75 

1  93 

2  27 


3  68 
0  48 
9    11 


15 

59  2 

18 

94  0 

19 

05  5 

18 

96  2 

8 

44  7 

5 

35  8 

7 

89  8 

4 

97  3 

4 

86  5 

3 

84  5 

4 

76  3 

7 

97  0 

3 

44  2 

7 

10  3 

3 

84  5 

19 

94  2 

15 

60  0 

19 

64  2 

19 

56  1 

3 

99  3 

9 

67  4 

5 

35  8 

19 

23  7 

5 

80  5 

3 

97  5 

4 

96  3 

3 

86  2 

5 

01  4 

2 

23  6 

1 

93  4 

5 

35  8 

2 

99  5 

4    36    8 


*  The  douMoon  (doblon,  or  more,  properly  ^.^^^tln^Ts^PPnt  e?f^ThesTfl- 
^nnnish^  is  now  generally  discontinued,  and  is  seldom  seen  here,     -'■"ese  n^ 
u?es  answer  as  wlllforth^e  doubloon  of  Peru,  Chili,  Bolivia,  etc.,  and  therefore 
this  item  stands  for  all.  . 

^0x1  -fnThL^e'table^S  il  Taken  aflhe  basis  of  U.  S.  money.  In  calcu- 
latlJ^ke\aluetn  US  currency  add  from  10  per  cent,  to  15  per  cent.,  accord- 
ing to  the  daily  reports  of  the  money  market. 


COINS. 


Xlll 


SILVER  COINS. 


Country. 


Austria... 

Do 

Do 

Do 

Do 

Do 

Belgium. 

Do 

Bolivia..., 

Brazil 

I  Canada... 

Do 


Denomination. 


Old  rix-dollar 

Old  Scudo  crown 

Florin,  before  1858 

New  florin , 

New  Union  dollar , 

Maria  Theresa  dollar,  1780. 

0  francs 

2  francs 

New  dollar 

Double  milreis 

20  cents 

25  cents 


Central  America <  Dollar. 

Chili 

Do 

China 

Do 

Denmark 

Egypt 

England 

Do 

Do 

France 

Do 

North  German  States. 

Do 

South  German  States. 

German  Empire 

Greece 

Hindostan 

Italy 

Do 

Japan  

Do 

Mexico 

Do 

Do 

Netherlands 

Norway 

New  Granada 

Peru 

Do 

Do 

Do 

Portugal 

Roumania 

Russia 

Spain 

Do 

Sweden 

Switzerland 

Tunis 

Turkey 


Old  dollar 

New  dollar 

Dollar  (English  mint). 

lOcents 

2  rigsdaler 

Piaster  (new) 

Shilling  (new) 

Siiilling  (average) 

Florin 

5  franc 

2  franc 

Thaler,  before  1857 

Thaler  (new) 

Florin 

5  marks  (new) 

5  drachms 

Rupee 

5  lire 

Lira 

1  yen 

50  sen 

Dollar 

Half  dollar 

Pesto  of  Maximilian.... 

21^  gilders , 

Specie  daler 

Dollar  of  1857 

Olddolhir 

Dollar  of  1858 

Half  dollar  of  1835-'38. 

Sol 

500  reis 

2  lei  (francs),  new 

Ruble 

5  pesetas  (dollars) 

Peseta  (pistareen 

Riksdaler 

2  francs 

5  piasters 

20  piasters 


Value  in  United 
States  money. 


Dolls. 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

1 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 

1 

0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 
0 


cis.  mills. 


95 
95 
47 
45 
68 
95 
91 
38 
91 
95 
17 


93 
99 
91 


09 
03 
03 
21 
20 
42 
91 


22  0 


99  1 


33  9 

67  8 

68  0 


38 

9 

91 

9 

82 

2 

43 

4 

91 

7 

16 

9 

99 

1 

40 

8 

99 

8 

49 

6 

98 

7 

96 

4 

03 

2 

91 

1 

99 

0 

87 

5 

35 

7 

91 

6 

46 

3 

34 

1 

74 

1 

91 

4 

)6 

9 

26 

0 

33 

9 

58 

3 

81 

1 

XIV 


POSTAGE   TO    FOREIGN    COUNTRIES. 


POSTAGE    TO    FOREIGN    COUNTRIES. 


17 

*27 

*5 

10 

*21 

*27 

5 

*5 
*5 
*5 

10 
*5 
15 
*15 
10 
*5 


5 
5 
*5 
*5 
10 
13 
5 
13 


Argentine  Confederatiou 

Aspinwall 

Austria — : 

Australia,  via  San  Francisco 

do.         via  England 

do.        via  Brindisi 

Belgium... ••••• 

Bermuda,  via  New  York 15 

Brazil,  direct •-:;""*:.""""J*i"'''^"ot^' 3 

Canada,  Nova  Scotia,  Newtoundland,  etc j  ^^^ 

Cape  of  Good  Hope ..." 

Chili,  Bolivia,  Ecuador  and  Peru 

China,  via  Southampton 

Denmark,  via  England 

East  Indies,  via  San  Francisco.... 

do.  via  England 

do.         via  Brindisi 

German  states,  via  North  German  Union 

Great  Britain  and  Ireland... "■  " 

ionrKo^Vcar;tonrSwai^wr^i^:r;"a^Fo^ho^^ 

San  Francisco ° " 

Italy,  via  England..... • " 

Japan,  via  San  Francisco .■.'.'.'.".'.'.'.' .7. '.'.'..! 

Liberia 

Mexico •• ■ 

Norway  and  Sweden 

Portugal,  via  Southampton 

Russia,  via  England • 7.. 

Shanghai,  via  San  Francisco ;... .".'.'."!!!'.! 

Spain • 

Switzerland .•"V;'"',"'"^ 

Turkev,  Syria,  etc.,  via  England. 

Venezuela  by  American  Packet 

Venezuela,  by  British  Packet 

West^.dies,  ^^^;-,,^^^r^^^  __ 

-^,^;;-,:^^^;^^^{^:^e.  that  the  postage  may  be  paid  or  not,  at  the  option 
^V^Se'fwsVapS  postage  to  Canada  is  the  same  as  that  to  any  part  of  the 
United  States. 

POSTAL  CaKDS  to  I'^OREIGN  COUNTRIES. 

.stal  cards  may  be  sent  for _^nad<UHonal  one-cent  st^mp  to^«>,e 


2 
2 
3 

t 
4 
4 
4 
2 
2 
4 
8 
2 
2 
2 
2 

2 

2 

4 

4 

3 

2 

2 

2 

2 

2 

2 

2 

3 

4 

2 

4 


?/„7,:.reSl-V.lris°^X?Serra  c\??:1o  be  delivered  elsewhere  in 
""loS'caSs  tolnyp-t  of  the  United  States,  1  cent  eaeh. 


FOREIGN   CONSULS   AT   PHILADELPHIA.         XV 


FOREIGN   CONSULS   AT   PHILADELPHIA. 


COXINTRY. 


Name. 


Address. 


Argentine  Republic 

Austria 

Belgium 

Brazil 

Chili 

ColomViia,  U.  S.  of 

Denmark 

Ecuador 

France 

German  Empire 

Great  Britain 

Hungary 

Italy  ...*. 

Liberia 

Netherlands 

Nicaragua 

Orange  FreeState^South 

Africa 

Portugal 

Russia 

Spain 

Sweden  and  Norway  ... 
Switzerland 

Uruguay.. 

Venezuela 


Edward  Shippen 

Lars  Westergaard 

G.  E.  Saurman 

Edward  S.  Sayres 

Edward  Shippen 

Leon  de  la  Cova 

F.Myhlertz 

Edward  Shippen 

Celestin    Auguste   Ravin 
d'ElpeiTX,  vice-consul... 

Charles  H.  Meyer 

Chas.  Edward  Kortright. 
Geo.  Crump,  vice-consul.. 

Lars  Westergaard 

Alonzo  M.Viti 

Edward  S.  Morris 

Lars  Westergaard 

Henry  C.  Potter 

Henry  W.  Riley 

Edward  S.  Sayres 

Henry  Preaut.vice-consul 

Don  Juan  Morphy 

Don  Julian  Alfredo  Prin- 
cipe y  Sartoris  (V.  C). 

Lars  Westergaard 

Rudolph  Koradi 

Werner  Itschaner  (V.  C.) 
Chas.W.  Matthews  (V.C.) 
Leon  de  la  Cova 


5,32  Walnut  St. 
138  S.  2d  St. 
1228  Chestnut  St. 
268  S.  3d  St. 
532  Walnut  St. 
218+  Walnut  St. 
730  N.  2()th  St. 
532  Walnut  St. 
8th  Street  above 

South 

227  Chestnut  St. 
619  Walnut  St. 

138  S.  2d  St. 
115  Walnut  St. 
129  S.  Front  St. 
138  S.  2d  St. 
260  S.  9th  St. 

602  Arch  St. 
268  S.  3d  St. 
500  S.  Del.  Av. 
524  Walnut  St. 


138  S.  2d  St. 
314  York  Avenue. 
814  Vine  St. 
133  Walnut  St. 
2181  Walnut  St. 


XVI 


EXCURSIONS   FROM   PHILADELPHIA. 


o 

m 
O 

M 

m 
P3 
P 
O 
><5 


OQ        02 


03  g  c  ;s: 
^  ,a  -r  '^ 

O!  _(     05 

ts  5  P  =3 


ot.  f> 


to  9 

02  .2 


a; 


P 


\^% 


.2  "^  .2 


^-  CO 


=e^ 


=y 


g 


-^  s 

13    !r 


^  t:  .2 

CS     5     S-. 

-^  fa  2 

te:^  a 

w  ^^ 


Sg<M5?m 


S      rS      *- 

o  wS  "^ 


cc  CO 


•CC 


M 


5i  ■=^ 


P5 


P   ^ 


P5 

"a  g 

O 

c     . 

1  a  p 


?  p 


ml 


p:5 

■gp^ 
£pd 
^  ce 

CO    ._ 

p  p 
p 


^    cS    eS    oj    > 


P  =i3 

OJ 

PM    P 

I  a 


^asa 

M   ci   a   55 

0)     dJ     ^     'i~i 


P  j3    "^ 

3  -    = 
S    t    P 


p^ 

p 

s 

o  al 
>.  a 

P    -t^     <B     P 
3^     Cv     tC     05 

PM^     i^ 


p^ 


CO 


P5p^ 

f^p5^ 
^       Ph 

=«  Sis 
i:  fl5i^ 

•     05   -*^     ij- 

P5  O   ^    S 

o  '-S   •  ■  ■ 

■^l^f^P^' 


P>>  F^  ®  ^    P  -S 
to    CO  r-5    J  -J-    P 

g  g  s  -^  I  5 

PL,  P-i  ^  P^  P5  M2 


p^ 

-fep:^ 
p 


p5  §=^ 


£  -^      p  ^ 

1-5  -2  .S  2  "^ 
-^  §  is  '2  ^ 
tn  «  ^  S-,  r- 

05  «  05  O  J3 
^^P^^PlH 


P5 


t-  p  -^ 
o  -r  05 

a5«2  p 

•"     05     ^ 
P 


CO    ai 
05    05 

p:?P^ 


ci 
ccS  f^ 


CO      C/5 

05    05 
COCO 


.     05     >» 
TJ     P     05 

Ph  P     S    ■ 


p 

t/i     O     t«  .^ 


hS 


p^  =? 


VJ       t^      <jj    .^  ,^-r      j/j 

cu  tc    OJ  fa  ^  J3    be 

5-3  5  -ts  ^  -2  .2 
05  "ti  o  2  c3  V  i: 

..-     =5   .--  ^     05     !^     CU 

pLj  p:|  Ph  CC  OQ  CO  CO_ 


t3 


>-.»H    P 

+J  f^     0)     _^       - 

••«      ^  >    &>  « 
'^    05    c3  CO    S 

03 .2  o  H-i  -r;  X! 
p  -ti  S  jp  S  ^ 

C    =3  ^    c3  "«  ^ 
±i    *3     C3     05     05     05 

<;  O  PQ  CQ  pil  pa 


o  a  S 


P.-H 

o  p^ 


p^ 


spp-s  Sv;75'siJ^  §.i-s  5 


fcJO 
P500 


J  a 


P4 


m  'So" 

o  Pm 


P5 


-w    en 

p:iPh 


CO  O     05 


"  a 
p  p  ,  • 

5j^     c3  ^     , 

^  Q    a    t-  rh  :r:    bi3  P 
m         CT^  o  '^^  -fh    Q    CO 

=^  peI^I^s-^ 


p 

s 

o 

cr' 

-!-> 

rt 

P 

05 
U 

P 

o 

s 

> 

05 

o 

53 

PhP4!z5 

'05«'^ 
-fh    05     05       »■ 


9  ^i 


bC 


°^05«05  a5.:SFS  o^iis^^^i^;?^ 


S    -H  .tJ  !» 

d    rC^  C3  S 

Q^      O    iT^  >  fc» 

CO  CC  f>  l>  !-' 


1^-  05   <^   O   "+   "^ 

CO   "O   05    t-   '^   ''^ 


C;   r-l   t:(* 
CD  OO  1— I 


iOiOOC»C<»CCOCOCO'*p 


CO  Oi  t~- 

<M  CS>  ?^ 

(M  1—1 


.€WPjrJrC;J2  «>JPr  WMtJE^ 


^  jl/UbM£L,  SPadtet  Si  ^ctjcjdek, 

^  kajie  ejcajTurLed 
and  o/zlztaLLe  t/m  ^^^^j^uicLa  J^aakta  SPIuladeL'- 
jfihla/*  %  3kamjzkari  fWektcoit,  §h.q.,,  and 
/utLdL&ked  liij.  tj.au.  yt  la.  a  tkatauQk,  cam- 
/ilete^  and  lutacticaL  ^ulde  :^aak  ta  aii±  ^Itif, 
yam, 

flf^etL^  leAfzectfuUi^f 


Jl/Lxupz  af  SPkiLad^Lffua. 


PREFACE. 


Philadelphia  occupies  such  an  extensive  area  of  ground 
that  it  has  advantages  in  space  superior  to  any  other  city  in 
the  world.  The  number  of  buildings,  public  and  private,  is 
greater  than  in  any  other  city  in  America,  and  is  only  ex- 
ceeded by  some  in  Europe,  in  which  the  populations  are  more 
dense.  For  this  reason  public  edifices  and  private  mansions 
are  spread  over  a  wide  expanse  of  territory.  The  stranger 
needs  a  guide  which  shall  signify  to  him  the  best  places  to 
visit  among  the  many  which  surround  him,  and  the  most  con- 
venient ways  of  getting  to  them.  This  work  has  been  ar- 
ranged to  facilitate  the  visitor  in  his  inquiries,  to  point  out  to 
him  the  most  notable  places,  and  to  furnish  information  as 
fully  as  the  space  that  can  be  devoted  to  each  subject  in  a 
book  intended  to  be  portable  will  permit.  It  is  believed  that 
this  hand-book  will  enable  the  stranger  to  spend  his  leisure 
in  the  city  with  the  best  advantage  and  with  judicious  em- 
ployment of  time. 

The  publishers  desire  in  this  place  to  give  credit  to  Messrs. 
John  Sartain  and  James  M.  Earle  for  the  authorship  of  those 
portions  of  Chapter  XIII.  which  are  devoted  to  the  Academy 
of  Fine  Arts  and  to  private  art  galleries.  To  General  John 
Eaton,  Commissioner  of  U.  S.  Bureau  of  Education,  Wash- 
ington, D.  C,  thanks  are  due  for  the  use  of  the  cut  of  the 
Eidgway  Library. 

Philadelphia,  Dec.  1,  1875. 


CONTENTS. 


PAGE 

Sketch  of  the  History  of  Philadelphia     ...    13 

CHAPTEE  I. 
Inteoductory 43 

Description —  Street  Numbers  —  Population  —  Health  — Vital 
Statistics — City  Government — Food  Supply — Water  Supply — 
Fairmount  Water-Works — Other  Water- Works — Public  Drink- 
ing Fountains — Drainage — Fire  Department — Police — Magis- 
trates' Courts — Gas-Lighting — Gas-Works. 

CHAPTER  II. 
Hotels,  Boaeding-  and  Lodging-Houses — ^Eestau- 

rants 63 

CHAPTER  III. 
Maekets .    71 

CHAPTER  IV. 
City  Teavel — Feeeies — Riyee  Steamboats    ...    75 

Passenger  Railway  Companies — Ferries  to  New  Jersey— River 
Steamboat  Lines — Carriages  and  Hacks — Express  Companies — 
Telegraph  Companies — Baggage — Special  Railroad  Ticket  Of- 
fices— Railroad  Passenger  Depots — Railroads. 

CHAPTER  V. 
Public  Buildings  in  Use  by  the  City 95 

Independence  Square  —  Independence  Hall  —  The  National 
Museum— Old  Congress  Hall— Court-House  Building— City  Hall 
— Philosophical  Hall — Quarter-Sessions  Court  Building — New 
City  Hall — Prisons — Eastern  Penitentiary — Moyamensing  Prison 
— House  of  Refuge — House  of  Correction — The  Morgue — Alms- 
house—Lazaretto— Public  Schools— High  School— Girls'  Normal 
Schools — Grammar  Schools. 

1*  r. 


CONTENTS. 
CHAPTER   VI. 


PAGE 

128 


TJ.  S.  Government  Buildings  and  Offices     .    . 

*  Custom  ■  House-Sub  -Treasury-Appraisers'  Building-Post- 
Office-U.  S.  Courts-New  Post-Office-Mint-Arsenals-Navy 
Yard— Naval  Asylum— Naval  Hospital. 

CHAPTER  VII. 

141 

Commerce  and  Manufactuees ^^^ 

Commerce-Commercial  Exchange-Merchants'  Exchange- 
Trade  Exchange -Warehousing  Companies  -  Bonded  W  are- 
houses-Commercial  Dep6ts-Elevators-Steamsh:p  Wharves 
and  Docks— Manufactures. 

CHAPTER  VIII. 

.     153 
Financial  Institutions 

Banks-Saving  Funds-Trust  Companies-Safe  Deposit  and 
Trust  Companies— Insurance  Companies. 

CHAPTER   IX. 
Institutions  of  Education ^"^ 

University  of  Pennsylvania-Girard  College-Germantown 
Academy- Aimwell  School— Beck  School-House. 

CHAPTER  X. 
Collegiate  and  Academical  Institutions  under 

Religious  Denominations I7d 

Protestant  Episcopal  Academy-Protestant  Episcopal  Divmity 
School-Theological  Seminary  of  Saint  Charles  Borromeo- 
Haverford  College— Swarthmore  College. 

CHAPTER  XI. 

Institutions  for  Scientific  Education 175 

Medical  Colleges-Dental  Colleges-Polytechnic  College. 

CHAPTER  XII. 

183 
Scientific  Institutions 

Academy  of  Natural  Sciences-Entomological  Society-Wag- 
ner Institute-American  Philosophical  Society-Franklm  Insti- 
tute-Zoological Garden-Horticultural  Society-Society  for 
Promotion  of  Agriculture. 


CONTENTS.  7 

CHAPTEE  XIII. 

PAGE 

Painting,  Sculptuee,  Music 191 

Academy  of  Fine  Arts— Private  Art  Galleries— Sketch-Club 
— School  of  Design — Fairmount  Park  Art  Association — Musical 
Fund  Society — Handel  and  Haydn  Society. 

CHAPTEE  Xiy. 

LiBEARY  Companies  and  Associations 199 

Philadelphia  Library — Eidgway  Library — Mercantile  Library 
— Athenseum  Library — Apprentices'  Library — Friends'  Library 
— Other  Libraries. 

CHAPTEE  XV. 
Hospitals  and  Dispensaries 207 

Pennsylvania  Hospital— Pennsylvania  Hospital  for  the  Insane 
—Philadelphia  Hospital— Wills  Eye  Hospital— Friends'  Asy- 
lum for  the  Insane — Preston  Eetreat — Municipal  Hospital— St. 
Joseph's  Hospital  —  Charity  Hospital  —  Protestant  Episcopal 
Hospital — German  Hospital— St.  Mary's  Hospitiil — Jewish  Hos- 
pital-Orthopaedic Hospital — Presbyterian  Hospital— German- 
town  Hospital — Homoeopathic  Hospital— Hospital  of  the  Uni- 
versity of  Pennsylvania — Woman's  Hospital — Dispensaries. 

CHAPTEE  XVI. 
Asylums  and  Homes 221 

Asylums  for  Children — ^Homes  for  the  Aged— Asylums  for  the 
Unfortunate — Asylum  for  the  Deaf  and  Dumb — Institutions  for 
the  Blind — Eeformatory  Homes. 

CHAPTEE  XVn. 
Belief  Societies 231 

German  Society — Society  of  Sons  of  St,  George — Other  Na- 
tional Societies — Soup  Societies — Industrial  Aid  Societies — Fuel 
Associations — ^Assistance  Societies — Humane  Associations. 

CHAPTEE  XVIII. 

Charitable  Ordebs  and  Associations 237 

Masonic  Temple  and  Hall— Odd  Fellows'  Halls— Order  of 
United  American  Mechanics — Independent  Order  of  Eed  Men- 
American  Protestant  Association — Other  Orders. 


g  CONTENTS. 

CHAPTER  XIX. 

243 

^™m1;y  of  the  Fi^st  Tr^op  of'philadelpMa  ^ty  Cavalry- 
Nat  onal^Guards'  Armory-City  ^--y-^^^g,,;'^^'^''"^ 
Corps  Washington  Grays-Armory  of  Keystone  Battery. 

OHAPTEE  XX. 

247 

Club— Penn  Club— Saturday  Club. 

CHAPTER  XXI. 

.    .  251 

— Gymnastics. 

CHAPTER  XXII. 

.    .  257 


CHAPTER  XXIII. 

261 

Chtteches 


man)-Beformed  (Dutch)-Eoman  Catholic. 

CHAPTER  XXIV. 

Associations  fob  Religious  Objects 299 

Hall  of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Association-Presbyterian 

i^^rLfPuS^^ 

?St:™ote-Other  Publication  Societies  and  Tract  Soc. 

eties-Clergymen's  Annuity  and  Aid  Funds. 


CONTENTS.  9 

CHAPTEE  XXV. 


PAGE 


Cemeteries  . 303 

Eonaldson's  Cemetery— Laurel  Hill— West  Laurel  Hill— Mon- 
ument Cemetery  —  Mount  Vernon  —  Glen  wood  —  Woodlands- 
Mount  Moriah— Old  Oaks— Odd  Fellows'— Mechanics'— Mount 
Peace— Greenwood — Cedar  Hill  —  Leverington—Fairhill— Ca- 
thedral—New  Cathedral— Mount  Sinai— Beth-El-Emeth. 

CHAPTER  XXVI. 

Places  of  Historical  Interest 315 

The  Treaty-Ground— Germantown  Battle-Ground— Eed  Bank 
Battle-Ground— Fort  Mifflin. 

CHAPTEE  XXVII. 

Buildings   of  a  Public  Character  of   Historic 

Note 32i 

Penn  Mansion,  Letitia  Court  —  Carpenters'  Hall  — House 
where  the  Declaration  of  Independence  was  Written— The  Old 
Mint— Old  London  Coffee-House— Free  Quaker  Meeting-House 
— Wilson  School-House. 

CHAPTEE  XXVIII. 
Historical  Mansions .  329 

Bartram's  House  —  Stentou  —  Belmont  —  Cliveden  —Mount 
Pleasant— Lemon  Hill— Solitude— Woodlands— Fairhill. 

CHAPTEE  XXIX. 
Bridges ^    ^  337- 

CHAPTEE  XXX. 

Public  Parks  and  Squares 345 

Fairmount  Park— The  Wissahickon— Hunting  Park— Public 
Squares. 

CHAPTEE  XXXI. 
The  International  Exhibition  of  1876     .    .    .    .373 

CHAPTEE  XXXII. 
Six  Days  in  Philadelphia 39I 


ILLUSTEATIONS. 


PAQB 


wir.iAM    PEAK'S    H0«SB    IN   L^tia   Stbbet,   peh^^t     ^^^ 
Appearance ••• •'" 40 

Ofeicial  Seai.  of  the  City  of  Phii.adei.phia.............    4^ 

HORSEBADISH    MAN "       gg 

Independence  Hall gg 

The  State-house  in  1776 ^^^ 

The  Old  Liberty  Bell • ^^^^ 

Interior  of  Independence  Hall 

Court-yard  of  the  New  Public  Buildings i^  - 

Entrance  to  the  Eastern  Penitentiary ^^^ 

MOYAMENSING    PRISON ^__ 

Bird's-eye  View  of  the  House  of  Correction li'^ 

Central  High-school ^26- 

United  States  Custom-house ^^^^ 

United  States  Mint ^^^ 

Court-yard,  United  States  Mint ••••••  ^^^^ 

League  Island ^^^ 

Commercial  Exchange ^^^ 

Merchants'  Exchange ^^^ 

GiRARD  Point  Elevator ■ ^^^^ 

University  of  Pennsylvania •■••  ^^^ 

GiRARD  College • yj^ 

Protestant  Episcopal  Academy l"^;"*"  vt' 

MEDICAL  DEPARTMENT  OF  THE  UNIVERSITY  ^^^^^^^^-    ^^^ 
VANIA 283 

Academy  of  Natural  Sciences ^^^ 

Plan  of  the  Zoological  Gardens ••••  ^^^ 

Carnivora-housb,  Zoological  Gardens 

10 


ILLUSTRATIONS.  H 


PAGE 


Monkey-house 288 

Bear-pits j^gp 

Academy  of  Fine  Arts 191 

Philadelphia  Library 200 

EiDGWAY  Library 201 -\ 

Mercantile  Library 202 

Apprentices'  Library 204 

Pennsylvania  Hospital 208  ^ 

Episcopal  Hospital  (Bird's-eye  View) 213- 

Episcopal  Hospital  (Front  View) 214-( 

Hospital  oe  the  University  of  Pennsylvania 217 

St.  George's  Hall 233~ 

Masonic  Temple 239- 

Union  League  House 248 

First  Baptist  Church 262 

Fifth  Baptist  Church 263 

Tabernacle  Church 264 

Church  of  the  Holy  Communion 269 

Old  Pine  Street  Church 274 

Second    Presbyterian    Church    (with  Steeple    com- 

pi^eted) 275- 

Bethany  Church  and  Sunday-school 278 

North  Broad  Street  Church 279- 

Christ  Church 282 

Grave  of  Franklin 283 

Old  Swedes'  Church  (Gloria  Dei) 286 

The  Burd  Monument  in  St.  Stephen's  Church 288 

Cathedral  of  St.  Peter  and  St.  Paul 295^ 

Church  of  the  Eestoration 298 

Young  Men's  Christian  Association  Building 299 -j 

The  Schuylkill,  from  Laurel  Hill 307- 

The  Schuylkill,  from  West  Laurel  Hill 309- 

The  Treaty  Monument 31g 

Carpenters'  Hall 323 

Wilson  School-house 328 

Bartram's  House 329 

Chew  House,  Germantown 332  j 

Solitude 33^ 


12  ILLUSTRATIONS. 

PA-GK 

339- 

GiRABD  Avenue  Bridge •• •••••" 

Bridge  oyer  the  Sckhyekiee  at  Chestnut  Street....  341 

Fountain  near  Mineral  Spring,  Lemon  Hiei. ^^^ 

East  Terrace,  Lemon  Hill ^^^ 

Schuylkill  Bluffs,  below  Edgely ^^^ 

Entrance  at  Egglesfield ^^^ 

Connecting  Bridge,  Fairmount  Park ^ ••-• 

FAIRMOUNT  PARK    FROM    THE   LaNSDOWNE  ENTRANCE 353 

View  of  Sweet-brier  from  Egglesfield ••  ^^^ 

View  above  Sweet-brier ^^^^ 

View  from  Belmont g^g 

Monster  Pines,  West  Park •■•••••• ^ 

EAViNE  IN  Western  Park,  Sweet-brier  Vale •  ^^^ 

On  the  Wissahickon  Drive • ^^^^ 

A  Glimpse  of  the  Wissahickon ••••••••••  ^^^ 

The  Hermit's  Pool • ^^^ 

Hemlock  Glen,  on  the  Wissahickon ^^^ 

The  Wissahickon  at  Chestnut  Hill ^^^^ 

The  Drive,  Wissahickon ^^^ 

Glen  Fern,  Wissahickon V:' mt"  Airy ".  367 

Bridge  over  the  Wissahickon  near  Mt.  Airy 

Drinking  Fountain  on  the  Wissahickon  .^..^.^.. 

Bird's-eye  View  of  the  Centennial  Buildings. 37. 

m'n  building.  International  exhibition 376^ 

Memorial  Hall— Art  Gallery ••••••• ^^^ 

Machinery  Hall 3g4 

Agricultural  Hall ggy 

Horticultural  Hall r""w™TioN    '''. 389- 

WoMEN's  Building,  International  Exhibition 

v3  / 1  - ' 


A    SKETCH 


HISTORY  OF  PHILADELPHIA. 


rpHE  first  European  who  trod  the  soil  which  now  belongs  to 
-■-  the  city  of  Philadelphia  was  probably  a  certain  Captain 
Hendrickson,  who  commanded  one  of  the  five  vessels  fitted  out 
by  the  Dutch  East  India  Company  in  the  year  1623,  of  which 
little  fleet  Captain  Cornells  Jacobsen  Mey  was  commodore. 
Before  that  time,  as  early  as  the  year  1609,  Henry  Hudson,  an 
Englishman  in  the  service  of  the  Dutch  East  India  Company, 
in  the  yacht  Half-Moon,  discovered  a  large  river  which  flowed 
into  a  great  bay  opening  into  the  Atlantic  Ocean  and  north  of 
the  Chesapeake  Bay.  Into  this  newly-discovered  bay  he  en- 
tered and  penetrated  a  short  distance ;  but  coming  out  of  it, 
sailing  north-east  and  keeping  near  the  coast,  he  discovered 
another  great  bay  into  which  a  large  river  emptied.  From 
this  circumstance  he  gave  to  the  river  first  discovered  by  him 
the  name  of  the  South  Eiver,  and  to  the  other  the  name  of  the 
North  Eiver.  In  the  year  1610  a  ship,  which  carried  the  Lord 
Thomas  de  la  War  on  his  voyage  to  Virginia,  entered  the 
South  Bay  and  discovered  the  river  flowing  into  it,  and  then 
went  on  to  Virginia.  Under  these  two  discoveries  arose  the 
conflicting  claims  of  two  nations.  The  Dutch  claimed  the 
North  and  South  Elvers  and  the  intervening  territories.  The 
English  claimed  the  territory  adjoining  the  South  Eiver, 
which  they  called  the  Delaware.  Captain  Mey  found  two 
prominent  capes  at  the  mouth  of  the  South  Bay,  which  he 
2  n 


24  HISTOKY. 

named  after  himself.    One  tears  Us  name  to  this  day^    The 
1  oo  n-ariP  TTpnloDen,  was  named  Oape  ^oi 

other,  now  ^^^^^^^^TrZi^ei  at  Manhattan,  now 
N^^orf  Xr  m"    wtt  to  Enrope;  and  obtaining  com- 

•1     But  there  were  difficulties  in  maintaining  tlie  settle 
onies.     i^iit  tnere  wexe  Nassau  was  garrisoned  and 

n.ents  which  were  made  -!«  ^~  ^^,,  ,„^ewhere 
Fort  Beversrede  erected  on  the  >'CMy  ^ 

north  of  the  f  ^/ *'^\rr«  XfhVad  been  chax- 
1638  a  Swedish  West  India  Company  w  ^^^^^  ^^^ 

of  the  present  city  of  Ij^"*"^'  j^      ^^^  D„tch  nor  the 

ered  the  iirst  permanent  t^^'^^^X^.^tteir  expeditions, 

several  '^tt«'"P^_,^rswrdish  government  sent  ont  governors 
nent  success     The^  Swedish  g  ^^^^^^^  ^^.^^^^^ 

for  the  colonies.    Foits  J^'f «  ^he  Dutch  at  Nassau, 

:;r;nrCnrof1"eam,  frecnently  quarrelled 


HISTORY.  15 

with  their  neighbors,  and  finally,  to  make  their  authority- 
more  certain,  they  resolved  to  abandon  Fort  Nassau  on  the 
east  bank  of  the  river,  and  in  the  year  1651  built  Fort  Casi- 
mer  near  the  present  site  of  the  town  of  New  Castle.     The 
Swedes  were  not  disposed  to  submit  to  this  claim,  and  John 
Kysingh,  upon  the  31st  of  May,  1654,  captured  Fort  Casimer 
by  assault  and  without  spilling  a  drop  of  blood.     The  Dutch 
at  New  York,  hearing  of  these  things,  got  up  an  expedition  ; 
and  sailing  to  Fort  Casimer  with   a  fleet  of  seven  vessels, 
Peter  Stuyvesant,  governor  of  Manhattan,  demanded  a  sur- 
render of  the  fortr— which  was  now  called  Trinity  Fort— which 
was  granted.     Thus  was  the  Dutch  power  re-established,  but 
for  a  short  time  only.     In  1664  the  English  captured  Manhat- 
tan from  the  Dutch,  and  named  it  New  York.     An  expedition 
under  Sir  Robert  Carre,  in  October,  1664,  came  to  the  Dela- 
ware, demanded  a  surrender  of  Trinity  Fort,  but  not  obtaining 
it  as  quickly  as  desired  fired  two  broadsides  into  it,  landed 
storming  parties,  assaulted  the  fort,  killed  three  Dutchmen 
and  wounded  ten,  and  in  triumph  raised  the  flag  of  Eng- 
land, which  was   thenceforth    to  be   supreme  on  the  Dela- 
ware for  nine  years.     War  between  the  Dutch  and  English 
commenced  in  1672,  and  on  the  30th  of  July  in  the  next  year 
a  Dutch  fleet,  under  the  command  of  Commodores  Cornelius 
Evertsie  and  Jacob  Benckes,  summoned  the  English  fort  at 
Staten  Island  to  surrender,  which  was  done  without  firing  a 
shot,  and  the  authorities  at  New  York  swore  allegiance  to  the 
States-general  and  the  prince  of  Orange.     The  people  upon 
the  South  River  accommodated  themselves  to  the  change  of 
masters,  and  welcomed  the  Dutch.     This  was  to  be  their  last 
appearance  upon  the  Delaware.     In  the  next  year,  1674,  by  a 
treaty  between   England   and   Holland,  the  settlements   in 
America  were  ceded  to  Great  Britain,  and  the  territory  once 
more  passed  under  the  English  flag.     WilHam  Penn,  having 
become  somewhat  acquainted  with  the  character  of  the  coun- 
try by  being  a  part  proprietor  of  West  Jersey,  sought  larger 
possessions;  and  the  British  government  being  indebted  to  his 
father,  Admiral  William  Penn,  in  actual  money  as  well  as  for 


16  HISTORY. 

services  rendered,  the  young  Quaker  found  but  little  difficulty 
in  obtaining  a  grant  for  a  large  tract  of  land  upon  wbich  to 
found  a  colony,  with  a  broad  grant  of  feudal  and  political 
powers.  The  charter  of  Pennsylvania  was  granted  at  West- 
minster on  the  4th  of  March,  1681  (old  style). 

Penn  lost  no  time  in  preparing  for  the  settlement  of  his 
colony.    Having  much  influence  among  the  English  Friends, 
he  published  his  proposals  among  them,  offering  liberal  con- 
cessions.    He    immediately  sent  out  to    Pennsylvania  his 
cousin,  Captain  William  Markham,  who  had  been  a  soldier, 
with  a  commission  to  be  deputy  governor  of  the  province, 
and  with  instructions  to  inform  the  European  inhabitants  of 
Pennsylvania  already  settled  there  of  the  change  in  govern- 
ment, promising  them  liberal  laws  and  allowance.    Markham 
was  also  instructed  to  assemble  the  Indians  and  inform  them 
that  his  intended  policy  toward  them  was  peace  and  honesty. 
The  lieutenant-governor  arrived  in  New  York  on  the  21st  of 
June  1681,  and  in  a  short  time  afterward  reached  the  Swedish 
and  English  settlements  on  the  Delaware.     He  was  followed 
by  three  commissioners,  William   Crispin,  John   Bezar  and 
Nathaniel  Allen,  who  had  power  to  settle  the  colony,  and, 
among  other  things,  to  lay  out  a  principal  city  to  be  the  cap- 
ital of  the  province,  which  William  Penn  determined  should 
be  called  Philadelphia.     The  commissioners  arrived  m  De- 
cember, 1681 ;  and  with  the  help  of  Thomas  Fairman,  an 
English  surveyor  who  was  living  at  Shackamaxon,  north  of 
the  site  chosen  for  the  city,  the  plan  of  the  great  town  was 
speedily  laid  out,  so  that  when  Penn  himself  arrived  m  the 
ship  Welcome,  in  the  latter  part  of  October,  1682,  the  plan 
of  the  city  and  of  the  province  was  regulated  to  some  degree 
and  the  system  understood.     Penn  at  once  addressed  himself 
to  work.     An  assembly  was  convened,  three  counties,  Phila- 
delphia, Bucks  and  Chester,  were  created,  and  proper  laws 
were  passed.     After  a  stay  of  about  twenty-two  months,  Penn 
was  called  to  England,  expecting  to  return  in  a  short  time. 
Trouble  and  disappointment  met  him  at  home.     Charles  II. 
died  shortly  after  his  arrival.    James  II.  while  duke  of  York 


Ui 


?3 


HISTORY.  17 

had  been  a  warm  personal  friend  of  Penn.  When  he  came 
to  the  throne,  the  Eoman  Catholic  principles  of  James  created 
dissatisfaction  and  distrust  among  the  English  people,  by 
which  the  friends  of  the  king  suffered,  Penn  being  among 
them.  When  William  and  Mary  succeeded  to  the  throne, 
after  the  expulsion  of  James  II.,  Penn  was  arrested  for  treason 
upon  a  charge  of  holding  secret  correspondence  with  the  late 
king.  He  was  afterward  released,  but  again  arrested  and 
discharged.  The  British  government  took  possession  of  the 
government  of  Pennsylvania  and  placed  it  under  the  juris- 
diction of  Benjamin  Fletcher,  governor  of  Xew  York,  about 
October,  1692.  The  government  was  restored  to  Penn  in  the 
fall  of  1694,  and  Markham  was  made  lieutenant-governor. 
These  difficulties  prevented  Penn  from  coming  back  to 
America  until  the  latter  part  of  1699.  He  found  a  far  dif- 
ferent state  of  affairs  from  what  had  existed  when  he  left  the 
city  fifteen  years  before.  There  were  streets,  houses,  some  of 
them  quite  large  and  elegant,  shops,  warehouses  and  shipping. 
The  dwelling-houses  were  estimated  at  700,  and  the  population 
at  4500.  This  visit  was  short.  Efforts  were  made  in  England 
to  annex  all  proprietary  governments  to  the  Crown.  It  was 
necessary  that  this  attempt  should  be  resisted;  and  in  October, 
1701,  after  having  incorporated  Philadelphia  as  a  city,  the 
proprietor  set  sail  for  England,  expecting  to  return  in  a  few 
months.  He  never  did  return.  New  embarrassments  met 
him.  His  pecuniary  wants  and  the  treachery  of  his  steward 
involved  him  to  such  a  degree  that  he  was  arrested  for  debt 
and  thrown  into  the  Fleet  Prison  in  1708,  where  he  continued 
for  about  nine  months.  In  1712  his  health  gave  way,  his 
memory  became  impafred,  and  during  six  years  he  lingered 
an  imbecile,  childish  and  gentle  in  his  manners,  the  sad  wreck 
of  a  strong  mind.  He  died  on  the  30th  day  of  the  5th  month, 
July,  old  style,  1718.  His  government  was  administered  for 
a  time  by  his  wife,  Hannah.  Subsequently  it  went  into  the 
hands  of  his  children  and  their  descendants  as  proprietors, 
and  they  administered  the  government,  usually  by  lieutenant- 
governors,  but  sometimes  in  person,  until  the  American  revo- 
2*  B 


jg  HISTORY. 

lution  put  an  end  to  all  gOTernments  acting  under  English 

^Mt^ry  of  the  city  for  nearly  .e.enty-fi.e  yea^  after 
the  second  departure  of  Penn,  so  far  as  regards  political  and 
pul  rmatters'  is  a  record  of  quarrels  between  the  lieutenant- 
governors  and  the  various  assemblies  of  the  V^ormce     r^ 
Stir  were  usually  composed  in  majority  of -enabe^  f^^« 
society  of  Friends  holding  peculiar  doctrines  m  relation  to  the 
r^lawfulness  of  war.    The  members  of  the  Penn  family  had 
^turned  to  the  religion  of  the  Church  of  England,  and  the 
"ant-governors%pointed  by  them  held  no  conBCienU  u 
scruples  against  the  right  of  using   arms  ^^  ^  ^^^^^^'^^^ 
Great  Britain  was  involved  in  several  wa.«  with  Eu™Pean 
nations,  and  her  American  colonies  were  m  danger  of  attack 
and  capture.    Whenever  these  necessities  arose,  lieutenant- 
;:vernors  called  upon  the  assemblies  for  appropriations  of 
Lney  to  raise  troops,  which  requisitions  were  feequently  de- 
Ted  or  evaded  upon  various  pretexts,  some  of  which  we  e 
folded  upon  the  alleged  dishonesty  of  the  proprietaries  lu 
evading  their  own  obligations  on  -*  occasions  and  endeav- 
oring to  throw  them  upon  the  people.     In  1' 02  war  was 
commenced  by  France  and  Spain  with  England,  which  lasted 
seTa  years.    Lieutenant-Governor  John  Evans,  fearing  a^ 
taXby  the  enemies'  privateers  or  vessels  of  war,  endeavored 
to  11  assistance  from  the  assembly,  which  was  denied.    He 
aerefore  under  the  authority  of  the  charter,  which  gave  he 
IrSor  the  powers  of  a  captain-general,  authorized  the 
embodiment  of  a  force  which  was  called  a  militia,  but  which, 
r^lly  not  being  authorized  or  supported  by  the  assemb  y,  w^ 
Tvotanteer  fori,  probably  the  first  which  had  been  embodied 
L  the  American  ;olonies.    In  1706,  Evans,  who  w-  -p— 
and  deficient  in  judgment,  undertook  to  stir  up  the  Quakers 
W  a  foonl  contivance.    A  forged  letter  was  brought  up  from 
New  Oas  le  on  the  semi-annual  fair-day,  when  great  crowds 
of  people  were  in  the  city,  representing  that  several  armed 
shinshad  Entered  the  river  Delaware,  and  were  ooming  up 
Sinton  ion  to  attack  and  plunder  the  defenceless  town. 


HISTORY.  19 

The  goyernor  himself  made  his  appearance  in  public  on 
horseback  with  drawn  sword,  calling  upon  the  people  to  arm 
themselves  and  turn  out  in  defence  of  the  city.  A  great  alarm 
ensued.  People  concealed  their  valuables  and  fled.  A  cer- 
tain number  of  persons  appeared  at  the  place  of  rendezvous 
with  arms,  and  efforts  were  made  to  embody  them  in  com- 
panies. The  Quakers  were  neither  enticed  nor  frightened  into 
this  movement.  Some  five  or  six  young  members  of  that  sect 
were  all  that  seemed  to  respond  to  the  summons ;  and  when  the 
deceit  and  falsehood  were  discovered,  the  indignation  against 
Evans  was  so  strong  that  the  Penns  found  it  necessary  to 
withdraw  him  and  appoint  a  successor.  In  1709,  under  Lieu- 
tenant-Governor Charles  Gookin,  French  privateers  plundered 
the  town  of  Lewes  in  the  Lower  Counties  on  the  Delaware. 
The  governor  called  on  the  assembly  for  a  grant  of  £4000 
to  assist  the  queen  in  the  invasion  of  Canada.  The  members 
would  grant  nothing  for  that  purpose,  but  voted  £500  as  a 
present  to  the  queen,  which  Gookin  refused  to  receive.  At 
the  succeeding  election  in  1710  a  change  having  been  made 
in  the  character  of  the  assembly,  £2000  were  voted  to  the 
queen. 

In  the  year  1739,  there  being  a  state  of  disturbance  between 
England  and  Spain,  Governor  Thomas  issued  letters  of  marque 
and  reprisal  against  Spain  preliminary  to  a  declaration  of 
war.  The  first  privateer  commissioned  in  Pennsylvania,  the 
sloop  George,  Captain  William  Axon,  scoured  the  seas  under 
this  authority.  The  governor  applied  for  appropriations  to 
the  assembly  for  the  defence  of  the  province,  and  assistance 
to  the  Crown.  But  having  undertaken  to  allow  enlistments 
of  servants,  the  assembly  took  umbrage,  and  a  quarrel  ensued 
with  the  usual  acerbity.  War  with  Spain  was  proclaimed  on 
the  14th  of  April,  1740,  the  assembly  obstructing  the  pro- 
ceedings as  much  as  possible.  Many  privateers  were  com- 
missioned, and  they  made  important  captures  during  the  next 
four  years.  Ere  the  war  with  Spain  had  closed  a  contest 
with  France  had  opened,  proclamation  of  which  was  made 
on  the  11th  of  June,  1744.     In  1745,  Louisburg  having  been 


HISTORY. 


captured,  the  assembly  was  induced  ^o  f^^^J^ZlX 
king  for  the  purchase  of  bread,  beef,  P"^^"' ™„\ce. 
othfr  grains,  to  be  used  by  the  goTernor  for  t^e  W  s  J^i 
The  litter  construed  the  words  "  "'l^- g^^"/ J^^v'de  the 
powder,  and  declared  that  the  assembly  meant  to  evade 
Lmin    responsibility  by  the  use  of  t^-^-^.^OO  for  the 
year,  1746,  the  assembly  was  -^ucf  *o  ^te  ^f,,  ,efased. 
king's  use,  without  condition     In  ^^^^  ^  J't,_  ^^tj™  had 
The'privateers,  which  in  previous  ye^s  h^  ^^.M  !>- 
mostly  ceased  to  sail,  for  the  ^'^^^^''^^''^r'^^^^Le  having 
come  unprofitable,  the  French  and  SP-^^^^— ^^  ^ch 
been  nearly  all  swept  ^^-^^^^  f   .^.^r ^ad  come  up 
frigates  on  the  coast,  and  a  ^J''"'^^  P"^;^        „f  ^^ieh  when 
tliP   Delaware  beyond  Bombay  Hoot,  news  u 

!?Ntvember     In  three  days  500  signatures  had  been  pio- 
of  -November      ^  ^  ^^  throughout  the  province, 

cured  to  It,  and  v»ljte«""g  ^,,e  two  regiments 

By  the  beginning  ot  January,  icto,  intterv  was 

iu  Philadelphia  and  others  in  the  counties.  ^    otte.y  was 
,  .        •..  *^ftOO  for  the  erection  of  a  batteiy  toi  tne 
?;  t  onh     ity   vMch  w  s  so  successful  that  by  themiddle 
of  m    til  fc»n  wa.  built  upon  the  Delaware  below 

Itand       It  was  mounted  in  1750  with  upward  of  fifty  pr^e 
of  cannon,  of  which  the  proprietaries  gave  fourteen.     The 


HISTORY.  21 

preliminary  peace  agreed  to  between  Great  Britain,  France 
and  Spain  at  Aix-la-Chapelle  in  April,  1748,  became  known 
in  Pennsylvania  about  the  24th  of  August  of  the  same  year, 
and  hostilities  ceased. 

In  1739-40  the  itinerant  preacher  Eev.  George  Whitefield 
was  in  Philadelphia,  and  his  style  of  speaking  and  fervency 
created  a  great  excitement.  He  preached  at  first  in  the  es- 
tablished churches,  but  afterward  spoke  upon  the  State-house 
steps,  from  the  balconies  of  houses,  and  at  other  places  in  the 
open  air.  So  strong  was  the  enthusiasm  that  it  was  resolved 
to  erect  a  building  for  the  special  use  of  this  preacher. 
One  was  commenced  and  partly  finished  on  the  west  side  of 
Fourth  street  south  of  the  street  now  called  Arch  street,  and 
he  preached  in  it  sixteen  times  in  1740,  twelve  times  in  1745 
and  several  times  in  1746.  Afterward  it  became  the  property 
of  the  College  of  Philadelphia,  which  was  subsequently  known 
as  the  University  of  Pennsylvania. 

Braddock's  defeat,  in  1755,  produced  a  more  wonderful 
effect  upon  the  assembly  than  any  previous  event.  £5000 
were  voted  to  the  king.  But  as  the  act  contained  a  provision 
that  the  landed  estates  of  the  proprietaries  should  be  taxed 
at  the  same  rate  as  those  of  the  inhabitants,  the  governor  re- 
fused to  sanction  the  grant.  Braddock's  expedition  was  in- 
tended to  dislodge  the  French,  who,  by  a  series  of  settlements 
and  forts  extending  from  Canada  to  Louisiana,  hemmed  in 
the  British  colonies  upon  the  coast  and  threatened  their 
progress.  Some  of  the  nations  of  Indians  were  induced  to 
'unite  with  the  French,  and  thus  the  frontiers  became 
exposed  to  murders  and  outrages.  Fresh  clamor  was  made 
against  the  policy  of  the  assembly,  and  the  Quakers  found 
that  they  could  not  withstand  the  evidences  of  public  feel- 
ing. A  militia  law  was  therefore  passed,  in  the  preamble 
of  which  it  was  stated,  in  effect,  that  although  the  Quakers 
would  not  fight,  out  of  conscience'  sake,  they  could  not  con- 
scientiously prevent  persons  from  fighting  who  had  no  scru- 
ples upon  the  subject.  Associations  for  defence  were  there- 
fore authorized,  and  with  such  effect  that  before  the  end  of 


22  HISTORY. 

the  year  there  were  eighteen  companies  of  infantry  in  Phila- 
delphia organized  under  the  new  law-Benjaram  FraiJilin 
be  ng  colonel  of  the  city  regiment  and  Jacob  Duch^  of  the 
county  regiment-in  addition  to  artillery,  cavalry  and  six 
companies  belonging  to  the  old  Association      Against  the 
Indians  war  existed,  although  not  formally  declared.    Be- 
wards  were  offered  for  every  male  and  female  ?"->- ^;-|^' 
in  and  for  the  scalps  of  Indian  men  and  women.    This  policy 
w^s  recommended  by  ofiicers  of  the  FOP™*^  8"™— *f' 
but  was  not  encouraged  by  the  propr  etors,  although  a  liaW 
dozen  scalps  were  brought  in  during  the  troubles.    Wa   was 
again  declared  against  France  at  Easto"   a„d  3^^^^* 
at  Philadelphia  on  the  12th  of  August  1756.     Colonel  Arm 
strong's  successful  expedition  ^g^-f  K;*™S;f  ^^^^^ 
ing  of  Captain  Jacobs,  an  Indian  leader,  relieved  the  prov 
nee  of  danger  from  the  savages  in  1756.    The  war  with 
France  continued.    Privateers  were  again  commissioned  and 
a  ship-of-war,  the  property  of  the  province  and  named  the 
Pennsylvania   frigate,  was   fitted   out    as    a  cruiser      The 
assembly  had  changed  so  much  that  the  enlisting  of  2700 
Ten  for' military  service  was  agreed  to  be  necessary    and 
a  bounty  of  £5  for  each  recruit  was  authorized.    Hostilities 
coutinuld  with  France  and  Spain  until  the  prehmmary  ti-ea  y 
of  Fontainebleau,  November  3,  1762,  news  of  which  reached 
Philadelphia  on  the  25th  of  January  in  the  succeeding  year. 

In   1763  the  massacre  of  Indians   at  Paxton,  Lancaster 
county    led  to  the  removal  of  many   of  the  Moravian  In-, 
ZnX  Philadelphia  for  protection.    The  .f  axt»n  Boys^  as 
they  were  called,  resolved  to  march  to  the  city  and  kill  these 
Indtens,  and  some  two  hundred  of  them  came  as   far  as 
Gelantown,  where  they  halted.    Meanwhile,  the  city  w^ 
alarmed;  citizens  took  up  arms,  barricades  ^««  ^jted,  and 
artillery  placed  in  position  to  defend  the  place     But  the  Pax 
ton  Boys  did  not  come.    Negotiations  were  made  with  them  by 
leading  citizens,  at  Germantown,  and  the  strength  of  the  inva- 
sion melted  away.    The  Indian  outrages  continued.    Rewards 
were  offered  at  this  time  under  authority  of  the  proprietors 


HISTORY.  23 

for  scalps  and  prisoners.  The  expedition  of  Colonel  Boquet 
in  the  summer  of  1764  settled  this  trouble  by  a  treaty  made 
at  the  forks  of  the  Muskingum,  which  ended  the  hostilities 
which  had  been  carried  on  by  the  Indians  under  French  in- 
fluence. 

The  reception  of  the  news  of  the  passage  of  the  Stamp  Act 
by  the  British  Parliament  in  1765  was  followed  by  resolutions 
on  the  part  of  the  people  to  practice  economy.  It  was  deter- 
mined that  extravagance  in  funeral  ceremonies  should  be  dis- 
couraged, and  simplicity  preferred  in  all  things.  Agreements 
were  entered  into  that,  in  order  to  encourage  the  production 
of  wool,  the  eating  of  mutton  and  the  drinking  of  foreign 
beer  ought  to  cease,  and  the  merchants  and  traders  of  the  city, 
with  scarcely  an  exception,  entered  into  an  agreement  that 
they  would  not  import  British-made  goods  until  the  Stamp  Act 
was  repealed.  John  Hughes  was  appointed  stamp-master  for 
Pennsylvania.  The  stamps  were  brought  in  October,  1765,  by 
the  Eoyal  Charlotte,  under  convoy  of  the  British  sloop-of-war 
Sardine.  When  these  ships  were  seen  coming  around  Glou- 
cester Point,  the  vessels  in  the  harbor  hoisted  their  flags  at 
half-mast,  the  bells  in  the  city  were  muffled  and  tolled,  a 
meeting  of  citizens  assembled  at  the  State-house  which  sev- 
eral thousand  attended.  Resolutions  were  passed  requesting 
Mr,  Hughes  to  resign  the  position  of  stamp-collector.  He 
declined  to  do  so,  but  neglected  to  take  possession  of  the 
stamps,  which  were  taken  on  board  the  Sardine  and  carried 
back  to  England.  These  proceedings  did  not  affect  the  vital- 
ity of  the  law,  which  required  papers  and  writings  to  be 
stamped  which  were  issued  on  or  after  the  18th  of  November. 
To  evade  the  necessity  of  compliance,  the  almanacs  for  1766 
were  published  in  advance  of  the  usual  time,  and  on  the  day 
before  the  act  was  to  go  into  effect  the  two  newspapers  then 
published  came  out  with  black  lines  between  the  columns, 
skull  and  cross-bones  with  pick-axe  and  spade  for  the  head- 
ing, with  a  coffin  at  the  bottom  of  the  last  page.  These  were 
accompanied  with  a  statement  to  the  effect  that  the  publica- 
tion of  the  journals  would  be  suspended.     This  was  not  actu- 


24  HISTORY. 

Hllv  done.     Printed  sheets  were  occasionally  published  which 
did  not  bear  the  titles  of  the  journals,  and  after  three  weeks 
the   publications   were   resumed.     In   regard   to   law-papers 
the  matter  was  more  serious.     The  public  offices  were  closed 
for  five  months,  and  the  lawyers  resolved  that  it  would  be  un- 
safe  to  conduct  legal  proceedings  while  the  Stamp  Act  was  m 
force     A  second  vessel  bringing  stamps  was  also  sent  away, 
and  a  West  India  stamped  newspaper  and  a  few  stamps  were 
publiclv  burned  in  front  of  the  Coffee-house  with  expressions 
of  detekation.     News  of  the  repeal  of  the  Stainp  Ac   was  re- 
ceived in  Mav,  1766,  by  a  merchant-vessel  from  England    There 
was  great  applause  and  excitement.   The  captain  who  brought 
the  news  was  escorted  to  the  Coffee-house,  invited  to  drink 
a  patriotic  toast  in  a  glass  of  punch,  and  was  presented  with 
a  told  cocked-hat.    The  next  day  there  was  a  grand  feast  at 
the  State-house,  and  the  officers  of  the  royal  ship,  the  Sar- 
dine, which  had  brought  the  stamps  to  Philadelphia  and  had 
remained  in  port  from  the  time  of  the  arrival,  were  invited 

guests.  ,       ,  ,  ^„ 

The  gratification  of  the  people  was  not  enjoyed  veiy  long 
Parliament,  whilst  repealing  the  Stamp  Act,  directly  asserted 
a  rio-ht  to  tax  America,  and  on  the  29th  of  June,  1767,  an  act 
was'passed  directing  that  duties  should  be  levied  in  America 
upon  paper,  glass,  painters'  colors,  lead   and  tea  imported 
for  the  use  of  the  people.     The  flame  of  excitement,  whic^i 
had  died  out  after  the  repeal  of  the  Stamp  Act,  was  renewed, 
and  throughout  the  colonies  it  was  determined  to  resist  the 
attempt.     On  the  25th  of  April,  1768,  in  response  to  a  cir- 
cular from    Massachusetts,   resolutions   were   adopted   at  a 
meeting  at  the  State-house  setting  forth  the  grievances  of  the 
colonies,  and  subsequently  it  was  determined  to  cease  impor- 
tation from  Great  Britain.     Under  this  agreement  merchan- 
dise sent  over  from  England  was  sent  back  or  refused.     Among 
these  articles  were  malt,  dry-goods,  cheese  and  other  mer- 
chandise.    American  manufactures  were  encouraged.    Among 
the  articles   thus  made  were  glassware,  brass  and  wooden 
buttons,  paper-hangings,  papier-mach6,  china,  steel,  woollen 


HISTORY.  25 

stuffs,  silk,  etc.  The  measures  of  resistance  in  the  colonies 
compelled  Parliament  to  attempt  to  satisfy  the  Americans. 
The  duties  on  paper,  glass  and  painters'  colors  were  repealed 
in  1770,  with  a  single  exception  of  three  pence  per  pound  on 
tea.  This  concession  was  not  satisfactory.  The  tax  on  tea 
was  considered  a  means  of  keeping  up  the  parliamentary  claim, 
and  it  was  resolved  to  maintain  in  force  the  non-importation 
agreements,  not  only  as  regarded  tea,  but  all  other  articles  of 
British  manufacture.  Whilst  the  payment  of  duties  upon  tea 
was  resisted,  the  smuggling  in  of  that  article  without  payment 
of  duties  was  encouraged.  This  led  to  the  seizure  by  a  king's 
revenue  schooner  of  a  pilot-boat  in  the  Delaware  in  1771, 
which  contained  tea  intended  to  be  brought  into  Philadel- 
phia, and  to  the  rescue  of  the  pilot-boat  with  the  tea  by  about 
thirty  persons,  who,  with  blackened  faces,  boarded  the  king's 
vessel  near  Red  Bank.  They  beset  and  overpowered  the  crew ; 
and  binding  the  latter,  they  took  possession  of  the  pilot-boat, 
with  her  cargo,  and  sailed  away.  In  1773  the  East  India  Com- 
pany resolved  to  export  tea  to  America.  In  consequence,  a  meet- 
ing of  citizens  was  held  at  the  State-house' October  18,  at  which 
it  was  resolved  that  Parliament  had  no  right  to  tax  the  Ameri- 
cans without  their  consent,  and  that  any  one  who  would  re- 
ceive or  sell  the  tea  sent  out  to  America  would  be  denounced 
as  an  enemy  to  his  country.  The  ship  Polly,  Captain  Ayres, 
was  selected  as  the  vessel  which  was  to  bring  the  tea  to  Phila- 
delphia. Handbills  and  broadsides  purporting  to  be  issued 
"  by  the  committee  for  tarring  and  feathering  "  were  printed. 
They  were  addressed  to  the  Delaware  pilots,  and  to  Captain 
Ayres  himself,  warning  the  former  of  the  danger  which  they 
would  incur  if  they  brought  the  tea-ship  safely  up  the  river, 
whilst  Captain  Ayres  was  threatened  with  the  application  of 
tar  and  feathers  if  he  attempted  to  land  the  tea.  On  Christmas 
day,  1773,  the  Polly  came  up  the  river  as  far  as  Gloucester 
Point,  New  Jersey,  opposite  the  lower  part  of  the  city.  An 
express  from  Chester  had  previously  brought  the  news  of  her 
coming.  A  committee  of  citizens  went  on  board,  represented 
to  Captain  Ayres  the  danger  he  was  in,  and  accompanied  him 


26  HISTORY. 

to  the  State-house,  where  the  largest  meeting  was  convened 
which  ever  had  been  assembled  in  the  city.  This  meeting 
resolved  that  the  tea  on  board  the  ship  should  not  be  landed, 
that  the  vessel  should  not  be  entered  or  reported  at  the  custom- 
house, and  that  the  tea  should  be  carried  back  immediately 
by  Captain  Ayres.  The  latter  declared  his  willingness  to 
abide  by  these  resolutions.  He  was  supplied  with  necessaries, 
and  in  two  hours  the  Polly  set  sail  and  went  down  the  river 
with  her  whole  cargo. 

In  May,  1774,  effigies  of  Wedderburne,  who  had  insulted 
Dr  Franklin  before  the  English  privy  council,  and  of  Gov- 
ernor Thomas   Hutchinson  of   Massachusetts,   were  drawn 
through  the  streets  in  a  cart,  hanged  on  a  gallows  m  front  ot 
the  Coffee-house  and  burned.     In  June  1,  1774,  when  the 
Boston  Port  Bill  was  to  go  into  operation,  there  were  solemn 
ceremonies,  bells  were  tolled,  stores  and  places  of  business 
were  shut  up,  and  religious  exercises  took  place  i^  churches 
and  meeting-houses.     On  the  5th  of  September,  1774,  dele- 
gates  from  eleven  provinces   met  at  Carpenters    Hall,   m 
Chestnut  street,  and  electing  Peyton  Eandolphof  Virginia 
president  and  Charles  Thomson  of  Pennsylvania  secretary, 
proceeded  to  consider  the  condition  of  the  colonies.      This 
first  Congress  adjourned   in  October,  having  resolved  that 
contributions  should  be  raised  to  relieve  the  distress  of  the 
people  of  Boston,  that  importations  from  Great  Britain  or  her 
dependencies  should  cease  on  the  1st  of  December,  1774,  and 
that  exportation  from  America  of  all  kinds  should  cease  on 
the  10th  of  September,  1775.     It  was  resolved  that  another 
Congress  ought  to  be  held  at  Philadelphia  on  the  10th  of  the 

succeeding  May.  n^-,-r^ 

To  carry  out  the  spirit  of  the  recommendations  of  this  Con- 
gress, committees  of  inspection  and  observation  were  chosen 
for  the  city.  Northern  Liberties,  Southwark  and  Kensington, 
and  for  the  county.  They  exercised  an  important  jurisdic- 
tion, which,  in  point  of  fact,  was  absolute. 

News  of  the  battles  of  Concord  and  Lexington  reached  the 
city  near  the  evening  of  the  24th  of  April,  1775,  and  was  not 


HISTORY.  27 

generally  known  until  the  next  day.  A  meeting  was  held  with- 
out delay  at  the  State-house.  It  was  attended  by  about  eight 
thousand  persons.  Those  who  were  present  briefly  resolved 
that  they  would  "associate  together  to  defend  with  arms 
their  property,  liberty  and  lives  against  all  attempts  to 
deprive  them  of  it."  This  resolution  was  immediately  car- 
ried out  by  the  raising  of  troops,  the  building  of  forts  and 
batteries  upon  the  Delaware,  the  construction  of  floating  bat- 
teries, fire-ships,  galleys  and  vessels  of  war,  and  the  prepara- 
tion of  a  chevaux-de-frise  to  be  sunk  in  the  river  to  obstruct 
the  passage  of  hostile  vessels.  The  manufacture  and  repair 
of  arms,  the  casting  of  cannon-shot  and  musket-balls  and  the 
making  of  gunpowder  were  encouraged  and  provided  for.  In 
May,  1776,  there  was  a  naval  action  below  the  chevaux-de-frise 
between  the  state  ship,  guard-boats,  galleys  and  a  floating 
battery  on  the  side  of  the  Americans,  and  the  British  frigate 
Eoebuck  and  sloop-of-war  Liverpool,  which  took  place  near 
the  mouth  of  Christiana  Creek.  The  British  vessels  were 
in  great  danger,  but  managed  to  escape,  and  returned  to  their 
cruising-grounds  near  the  capes.  On  the  2d  of  July,  1776, 
Congress,  which  was  sitting  in  the  State-house,  adopted  the 
resolution  of  Richard  Henry  Lee  of  Virginia,  offered  June  7 
and  seconded  by  John  Adams,  in  favor  of  the  severance  of 
all  connection  between  the  colonies  and  Great  Britain,  and 
independence  of  that  power.  On  the  3d  and  4th  of  July 
Congress  debated  the  form  of  the  declaration  of  the  causes 
which  had  led  to  the  resolution  of  independence.  It  was  finally 
adopted  on  the  4th,  and  on  the  8th  of  July  the  document  was 
read  for  the  first  time  to  the  people  by  John  Nixon,  a  mem- 
ber of  the  Council  of  Safety,  from  the  observatory  which  had 
been  erected  in  the  State-house  yard  to  observe  the  transit  of 
Venus  in  1770.  The  king's  arms  were  taken  down  from  the 
court-room  in  the  State-house  and  burned  by  the  people. 
The  Declaration  was  also  read  on  the  commons  to  the  five 
battalions  of  city  Associators.  Bells  were  rung  and  bonfires 
lighted,  and  upon  this  occasion  there  can  be  little  doubt  that 
the  old  State-house  bell  joined  in  the  clamor  and  fulfilled  the 


28  HISTORY. 

command  inscribed  upon  it  when  it  was  cast  twenty-four 
years  before :  "  Proclaim  liberty  througbotit  the  land  unto  all 
the  inhabitants  thereof."     In  the  month  of  August,  1777  the 
British  army,  under  Lord  Howe,  which  had  sailed  trom  New 
York  was  debarked  at  the  head  of  the  Elk  Eiver,  in  Maryland, 
having  been  brought  up  the  Chesapeake  Bay  in  transports. 
Washington  marched  southward  to  meet  the  enemy.     iHe 
battle  of  Brandywine  was  fought  and  lost.     The  massacre  at 
Paoli  was  accomplished.     A  pitched  battle  near  the  War- 
ren Tavern,  on  the  Lancaster  road,  about  twenty  miles  from 
the  city,  was  prevented  by  a  terrible  rain-storm    Washington 
was  ready  to  contest  the  passage  of  the  Schuylkill  at  Parker  s 
Ford.     Howe,  by  a  feint,  was  enabled  to  cross  the  Schuylkill 
at  Fatland's  and  Gordon's  fords  on  the  22d  of  September    On 
the  26th  two  battalions  of  Hessian  grenadiers,  with  a  detach- 
ment of  royal  artillery,  marched  down   Second  street  road 
and  entered  the  city.     A  portion  of  the  troops  followed  and  a 
portion  remained  at  Germantown.     The  state  fleet,  consisting 
of  ships  and  galleys,  remained  in  the  Delaware  above  Fort 
Island   or  Mud   Fort.     Finding  that  the  British  were   at- 
tempting to  erect  batteries  upon  the  wharves  of  the   city, 
these  vessels  moved  up  and  engaged  the  British  forces  on 
shore.    The  issue  was  unfortunate.    The  Delaware  Irigate  ran 
aground  and  struck  her  flag.     The  Montgomery,  the  Fly  and 
the  row-galleys  attempted  to  pass  in  front  of  the  city,  and 
reach  the^  portion  of  the  river  north  of  it.     A  scl^ooner^was 
run  aground;   and  not  succeeding  in  the  attempt,  the  Mon. 
gomery  and  the  galleys  made  their  way  down  t^e  river  and 
obtained  safety  under  the  guns  of  Mud  Fort.     On  the  4th  of 
October,  Washington  attacked  the  British  army  at  German- 
town;  and  although  he  did  not  win  a  victory,  he  Bncceeded  m 
producing  such  wholesome  respect  m  the  mmd  of  ^le  British 
commander  that  the  outlying  detachments  were  called  m  and 
encamped  in  the  city,  and  their  safety  from  sudden  attack 
was  ensured  by  the  construction  of  a  chain  of  redoubts  stretch- 
.   Tng  from  the  Delaware  at  Kensington  to  the  hill  at  Fairmount 
with  thick  abattis  and  impediments  between.     The  British 


HISTORY.  29 

were  in  possession  of  the  city,  but  the  Americans  held  the 
country  beyond.  The  Americans  had  closed  the  Delaware  by 
the  chevaux-de-frise,  which  was  protected  by  the  Mud  Fort 
and  the  fort  at  Eed  Bank.  The  royal  army  was,  in  effect,  be- 
leaguered and  cut  off  from  communication  with  the  fleet  which 
had  entered  the  Delaware,  but  could  not  come  up  to  the  city 
in  consequence  of  the  American  forts  and  batteries.  The 
effort  of  General  Howe  was  therefore  turned  to  the  task  of  re- 
leasing the  river  from  the  American  domination.  The  British 
army  brought  with  it  a  moderate  supply  of  stores  only,  and 
these  became  diminished  with  the  progress  of  each  day,  until 
suffering  was  experienced.  The  royal  fleet  below  was  enabled 
to  take  possession  of  the  American  battery  at  Billingsport, 
which  was  abandoned  upon  the  approach  of  the  ships.  On  the 
21st  of  October,  Colonel  Count  Donop,  with  Hessian  grenadiers 
and  chasseurs,  crossed  the  Delaware  in  boats,  and  marching 
toward  the  fort  at  Eed  Bank,  which  was  held  by  Colonel 
Christopher  Grreen  of  the  Ehode  Island  brigade,  demanded  a 
surrender.  Green  refused,  although  he  had  but  three  hundred 
and  fifty  men,  whilst  Donop  had  twenty-five  hundred.  An 
assault  was  attempted  and  the  enemy  was  repulsed.  Donop 
was  killed  and  his  forces  retreated,  having  lost  four  -hundred 
killed  and  wounded  in  this  affair.  Whilst  the  battle  was 
going  on  at  Eed  Bank  the  British  fleet  made  a  bold  effort  to 
pass  up  the  river  and  get  through  the  chevaux-de-frise.  The 
Pennsylvania  galleys,  under  Commodore  Hazlewood,  resisted 
the  attempt,  but  night  coming  on  firing  was  suspended. 
Next  morning  at  daylight  it  was  discovered  that  the  British 
frigates  Eoebuck,  Augusta  and  Merlin  were  aground.  Float- 
ing batteries,  galleys  and  fire-ships  were  sent  against  them, 
and  the  fort  on  Mud  Island  joined  in  the  cannonade.  The 
Augusta  took  fire  and  blew  up.  The  Merlin  was  abandoned 
and  set  on  fire,  and  also  blew  up.  The  other  British  vessels 
managed  to  get  out  of  the  danger  with  some  loss,  and  dropped 
down  the  river. 

The  most  difficult  problem  with  the  beleaguered  British 
army  was  to  capture  the  fort  at  Mud  Island.    To  reduce  this 
3* 


3Q  HISTORY. 

post  batteries  were  erected  upon  the  east  '^f /-*J;^''^^f 
[he  ScWMl  Ei^er  wWch  together  --"f  '^^^^^^I 
twenty-four  and  thirty-two  VO^nAer^^^^d.^^  been  bor 
rowed  from  ships  belonging  to  the  British  A^et.  The  siege 
If  M„rt  Fort  may  be  said  to  have  fairly  commenced  about  the 
thof  SeXr'  Lieutenant-Colonel  B--^^^^ 
was  in  command  of  the  fort,  was  not  idle     Wr^h  the  — nc'. 

outside  of  the  Mud  Fort  was  ^1^ /^^-^^-f '  *~ ^l 
ginning  of  November,  by  a  great  -^''",^fJ°f/^'^Z 

£^r-fth:t,:rrerm^Tetif^^^^ 

d^ed  men  The  Pennsylvania  armed  boats  and  state  vessek, 
the  forTat  Red  Bank  and  a  new  batteiy  erected  on  the 
Whl  were  able  to  accomplish  something  by  way  of 
diversion  of  the  fire  of  the  enemy  upon  the  fort     The  bom 

5:fte--rard=rrta=^ 

wir  ^ThS  -St  hale  been  successful  had  not  a  floating 
trefv  made  from  an  East  India  ship  razeed,  which  was  named 
MiTant  and  carried  sixteen  twenty-four-pounders  together 
i^^^lTl  hi  armed  with  three  guns  of  similar  calibre,  man- 

rtirbfmbarfmenTrere  were  only  fiity  men  left  available 
tlty  totundred  and  iifty  had  been  killed  and  wounded 
The  works  were  knocked  to  pieces  by  the  enemy's  guns.    The 
pal  sldet  wire  beaten  down,  the  parapet  destroyed,  the  guns 


HISTORY.  31 

dismounted  and  the  block-houses  levelled.  There  was  no 
fort  to  defend.  On  the  16th  of  October,  Major  Simeon 
Thayer,  who  was  then  in  command,  set  fire  to  the  barracks 
and  all  works  that  were  combustible,  and  by  the  light  of  the 
fire  crossed  the  Delaware  in  boats  with  the  remainder  of  his 
garrison  of  forty  men,  and  safely  gained  the  shelter  of  Red 
Bank. 

This  disaster  opened  the  Delaware  to  the  British  fleets,  and 
it  also  put  the  American  fleet  in  great  peril.     It  was  therefore 
determined  that  the  latter  could  only  find  safety  by  seeking 
the  waters  of  the  upper  Delaware,  passing  the  city  in  the 
eflbrt.     This  was  attempted  on  the  19th ;  thirteen  galleys  and 
twelve  armed  boats  succeeded  in  passing  the  city  in  the  night. 
The  next  night  the  remaining  vessels  attempted  to  pass  by. 
Some  of  the  smaller  craft  succeeded ;  but  the  larger  vessels 
being  discovered,  fire  was  opened  upon  them  from  the  cap- 
tured Delaware  frigate  near  the  city,  and  from  British  batteries 
upon  the  wharves;   two  vessels  were  driven  on  shore,  but 
seven  of  the  larger  vessels  belonging  to  the  Continental  fleet, 
with  two  floating  batteries,  were  not  so  fortunate.     The  wind 
was  contrary  and  the  cannonade  hot.     As  an  only  resort  the 
vessels  were  set  on  fire  when  near  Gloucester  Point,  were 
burned  and  blown  up.     Efforts  were  immediately  directed 
against  Red   Bank.     Comwallis,   with  two  thousand    men, 
marched   on  the  Pennsylvania  side  of  the  river  down  to 
Chester,  where  he  crossed  the  Delaware  on  the  19th,  and  was 
joined  by  fi-om  two  to  three  thousand  men  from  New  York 
under  General  Sir  Thomas  Wilson.     Varnum,  who  was  in 
command  at  Red  Bank,  abandoned  the  work  upon  the  approach 
of  Cornwallis.     The  latter,  taking  possession,  marched  the 
majority  of  his  force  to  Gloucester.    There  was  some  skir- 
mishing with  American  troops  which  had  been  sent  by  Wash- 
ington with  the  intention  of  relieving  Red  Bank.     On  the 
26th  of  November  frigates   and  transports  arrived   at  the 
wharves  of  the  city,  to  the  great  joy  of  the  royal  troops  and 
of  the  inhabitants,  provisions  having  become  scarce  and  high, 
beef  selling  at  $1  a  pound,  chickens  at  10s.  each  and  potatoes 


HISTORY. 


the  city  until  June  18, 177»,  an  mxeivcn  w 

tlf  months  ftom  the  time  of  the  fi-*  oc-p^-'  ^.^^  t,. 

important    mmary  oP-^X^^iaJ;  -n  to  attac. 
Howe  marched  out  m  De«mb^  ,^^^  ^^^^^  ^^^^^  ^^ 

"^t vf  U  s"  g  on  tie  defensive.  There  was  some 
meet  him,  but  stanamg  uix  ^.^    ^r,A    after  four  days 

.Mnnishing  -^J^S^r^Ser^-^^^  P-ils 
of  experiment  the  British  armyj  ^.^atory  excursions  into 
were  sent  out  at  various  times,  and  predatory  ^^^ 

tiie  ^^^^^-■-^^:^JtX':i^r:il  P^er  and 

Ir.CTu  ^ese  rperftlns  'the  main  body  of  the  royal 
bloodshed.    In  these  ope  themselves 

army  t.ok  no  P-^.    The  office-  ^^^^y  ^.^^  ^^^  ^^^^^^^^ 

"CbTTa^L  Kms  and  gambling,  and  near  the 
with  balls    parties,  coo      g  Mischianza,  a  grand 

end  of  their  ^^^y- ""-l^;  "^l^m  Howe,  who  wa«  about 
©te  was  given  in  honor  of  Sir  WiUiam  ,  ^.^^^^^_ 

rfrrttttSerC— of  «X  too.  place 

This  fete,  m  t'^^^y^''  ^  ^^l^ile  it  was  in  progress  the 

inthelowerpa  tof  theerty.an  ^^  ^^^^^  ^^^^  ^^^^ 

Americans  in    onsiteaWe  to  ^^^^^.      ^^^  ^^^^^^^ 

lines  north  of  the  city,  set  ine  otfook     Two 

out  the  body  of  the  royal  ^-P^,  "^HUt  peld  was  at- 

days  after,  the  --*  ^-^^X^^^^l  »rE^^^^^^  and 

tempted  by  ^-^""^^o^;;!;*;^ Jr  hed  out  to  surprise 
General  Grey,  who,  with  6500  tioop  ,  m  ^^^^^,^ 

La  Fayette,  who  was  posted  on  the  R.dge  'o^t  ^  ^^.^^^ 

ford.    The  plan  was  well  -ll^-ff'^^.m  in  sufficient  time 
a  knowledge  of  the  approach  of  ^^^^^  ^^ 

tomakearapidandskiHul  retmitw  y         ^^^  ^^^^^^ 

the  mormng  °f«^';  ^^^^fMieManza,  the  British  troops 
after  the  triumphant  fete  of  the  Misc  ,  ^^^ 

marched  down  to  the  ne^k  m  the  loj^J  P^  J,^,i„^ 

crossed  the  Delaware  m  boats,  and  betoi  e  ni„ 

"Ge^al' Benedict  Arnold  was  sent  immediately  with  a  small 


HISTORY.  33 

force  to  take  possession  of  the  city,  and  he  remained  in  mili- 
tary command  for  several  months,  during  which  time  he 
managed  to  effect  a  marriage  with  a  daughter  of  Judge,  after- 
ward Chief- Justice,  Shippen,  In  order  to  keep  up  an  ap- 
pearance of  wealth  consistent  with  the  style  of  living  which 
he  was  compelled  to  assume,  he  resorted  to  illicit  speculations 
and  operations  of  various  kinds,  which,  when  subsequently 
discovered,  stimulated  the  traitorous  intentions  which  finally 
carried  him  over  to  the  British  army. 

Congress  came  back  shortly  after  the  evacuation,  and  re- 
mained until  June,  1783,  when  the  mutinous  conduct  of  some 
troops  of  the  Pennsylvania  line,  who  demanded  their  pay 
that  was  long  in  arrears,  frightened  the  members  to  such  a 
degree  that  they  hastily  adjourned  to  Princeton.  Afterward 
they  went  to  New  York,  where  they  remained  until  the  adoption 
of  the  Federal  Constitution  and  the  inauguration  of  Wash- 
ington, when  it  was  determined  that  the  city  of  Philadelphia 
should  be  the  seat  of  the  United  States  government  for  ten 
years ;  after  which  Congress  would  remove  to  Washington  city. 

In  May,  1787,  the  members  of  the  convention  to  frame  a 
Constitution  for  the  United  States  met  at  the  State-house,  and 
having  elected  George  Washington  president  and  William 
Jackson  secretary,  sat  with  closed  doors  until  the  18th  of 
September,  when  the  scheme  of  the  Federal  Constitution  was 
adopted.  The  assembly  of  Pennsylvania  was  in  session  at 
the  time,  and  it  was  determined  to  press  the  ratification  of  the 
Constitution  without  delay.  Eight  days  afterward  a  resolu- 
tion to  authorize  the  calling  of  a  State  convention  was  pre- 
sented. The  opponents  of  the  instrument,  who  were  in  the 
minority,  sought  for  delay,  and  resorted  to  a  plan  since  fre- 
quently adopted  in  legislative  bodies  by  arranging  that  a 
portion  of  the  members  should  absent  themselves  from  the 
meeting,  and  thus  defeat  action  in  consequence  of  the  want 
of  a  quorum.  This  was  prevented  by  an  act  of  violence. 
Two  of  the  members  of  the  assembly  were  seized  at  their 
lodgings,  dragged  through  the  streets  with  roughness  and 
abuse,  and  pushed  into  the  chamber  of  the  House,  where, 

C 


34  HISTORY. 

notwithstanding  their  protests,  they  were  kept  until  the  reso- 
lution was  adopted.  _  ,      .,  .-      :^ 
During  the  stay  of  the  memhei^  of  the  Federal  convention  m 
the  city  they  witnessed  a  successful  experiment  of  John  Fitch 
with  his  steamboat.     Subsequently  that  unfortunate  man  per- 
fected his  inyention  to  such  a  degree  that  during  the  summer 
of  1790  the  vessel  ran  regularly  as  a  passenger  and  ireigiit 
boat  upon  the  Delaware  between  Philadelphia,  Burlington, 
Chester,  Bristol,  and  other  places,  announcing  the  trips  by 
advertisements  in  the  newspapers,  and  traversing  during  that 
season  over  more  than  three  thousand  miles.       _ 

The  final  adoption  of  the  Federal  Constitution  was  cele- 
brated in  Philadelphia  on  the  4th  of  July,  1788,  by  a  magnifi- 
cent procession,  in  which  the  working  operations  of  various 
trades  were  shown   and   many   exceedingly   novel  features 

"%ll^lZ^urned  at  New  York  on  the  12th  of  August 
1790    to  meet  at  Philadelphia,  which  was  to  be  the  seat  ot 
government  until  1800.    The  principal  ofiicers  removed  their 
residences  shortly  afterward.     In  1790,  Washington  lived  m 
Market  street,  between  Fifth  and  Sixth,  in  a  house  once  be- 
longing to  Governor  Richard  Penn,  which  had  been  tne  resi- 
dence of  Lord  Howe  during  the  British  occupation.     John 
Adams,  Vice-President,  lived  in  the  Hamilton  niansion,_  at 
Bush  Hill  •  Thomas  Jefferson,  Secretary  of  State,  at  174  liign 
street   between  Fourth  and  Fifth,  on  the  south  side;  and 
other'officers,  a^  boarders  and  housekeepers,  in  various  parts 
of  the  city     Congress  was  accommodated  in  the  building 
which  had  been   erected  on  the  State-house  square  for  the 
purposes  of  a  county  court-house,  at  the  south-east  corner 
of  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets.     The  Supreme  Court  of  the 
United  States   sat   in  the  City  Hall,  south-west  corner  of 
Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.     The  Treasury  Department  was 
in  the  old  Clark  or  Pemberton  mansion,  south-west  corner  ot 
Third  and  Chestnut  streets.     Other  government  offices  were 
in  different  parts  of  the  city,  and  the  locations  of  some  «f 
them  were  changed  once  or  twice  between  1790  and  1800. 


HISTORY.  35 

During  the  stay  of  the  Federal  government,  Washington 
and  Adams  were  inaugurated  as  President  and  Vice-President 
March  4,  1793,  and  Adams  and  Jefferson  as  President  and 
Vice-President  March  4, 1797,  in  the  chamber  of  the  House  of 
Representatives.  During  the  presidencies  of  Washington  and 
Adams  politics  ran  high,  in  consequence  of  the  French  revo- 
lution and  of  the  enlistment  of  American  feeling  upon  one 
side  in  strong  sympathy  with  the  democratic  proceedings  in 
France,  whilst  upon  the  other  side  conservatism  disapproved 
of  the  excesses  of  the  persons  in  power.  There  were  stormy 
scenes  of  excitement,  impassioned  and  strange  demonstrations, 
threatening  on  many  occasions  the  public  peace.  The  estab- 
lishment of  the  two  great  political  divisions,  the  Eepublican 
or  Democratic  party  and  Federal  party,  was  a  consequence. ' 

A  fearful  epidemic,  the  yellow  fever,  visited  Philadelphia  in 
the  years  1793, 1797  and  1798,  at  which  periods  it  was  exceed- 
ingly disastrous.  There  were  visitations  also  of  less  mortality 
in  intervening  and  subsequent  years.  These  afflictions  created 
great  alarm.  Large  numbers  of  persons  left  the  city,  so  that 
in  comparison  with  the  number  which  remained  the  mortality 
was  dreadful.  The  deaths  by  this  malady  between  1793  and 
1799  were  over  12,000.  The  succession  of  disasters  attendant 
upon  this  pestilence  drew  attention  to  the  sanitary  condition 
of  the  city  and  to  the  supj)Osed  causes  of  the  misfortune.  Two 
influences  were  agreed  upon  as  having  something  to  do  with 
the  calamity.  Dock  Creek,  which  extended  up  into  the  heart 
of  the  city  at  that  time,  had  become,  by  the  buildings  around 
it  and  drainage  into  it,  offensive,  and  by  unhealthy  exhala- 
tions assisted  the  progress  of  disease.  The  water  used  by  the 
inhabitants  was  derived  from  wells,  and  was  believed  to  be 
jDolluted  by  drainage  from  the  surrounding  soil.  Measures 
were  taken  to  arch  over  the  creek,  and  a  street  was  laid  out 
above  the  sewer.  It  was  resolved  that  the  supply  of  water 
should  be  taken  from  the  Schuylkill  Eiver.  The  construction 
of  pumping- works  at  Chestnut  street,  on  the  banks  of  that 
stream,  was  commenced  May  2,  1799,  and  the  first  water  dis- 
tributed January  1,  1801. *- 


36  HISTORY. 

After  the  year  1800  the  removal  of  the  capital  of  the  State  of 
Pennsylvania  to  Lancaster  and  eventually  to  Harrisburg,  and 
of  the  seat  of  the  Federal  government  to  Washington  city,  sub- 
tracted from  Philadelphia  the  prominence  which  it  had  enjoyed 
from  the  time  of  the  settlement  of  the  province  in  the  aff'airs 
of  Pennsylvania,  and  from  the  time  of  the  Congress  of  1774 
-with  few  exceptions-as  the  capital  of  the  nation.  The 
city  was  no  longer  the  theatre  of  great  events.  The  interest 
of  the  inhabitants  was  taken  up  with  municipal  affairs  and  - 
the  prosecution  of  business,  and  for  some  years  the  surface  ot 
progress  was  unruffled  by  any  striking  incident 

Steamboats  began  to  ply  regularly  upon  the  Delaware  Eiver 
in  the  year  1808,  when  the  Phcpnix,  built  by  John  Stevens 
at  Hoboken,  N.  J.,  was  brought  around  by  sea,  ^^^  e^gMeen 
years  after  the  successful  demonstrations  of  John  Fitch  had 
ceased,  steam-navigation  was  resumed  ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^    ^^  . 
During  the  war  between  the   United  States   and   Great 
Britain  which  commenced  in  1812  the  city  of  Philadelphia 
maintained  its  duty  toward  the  cause  of  the  country.     The 
forts  on  the  Delaware  were  strengthened  and  volunteer  com- 
panies formed.     In  May,  1813,  three  companies,  under  Colonel 
Lewis  Rush,  marched  from  the  city,  and  were  stationed  upon  .he 
peninsula  between  the  Delaware  and  Chesapeake  Bays     They 
remained  for  two  months.     There  was  an  engagement  m  July 
between  British  war  vessels  and  the  gunboat  flotilla,  under 
command  of  Captains  Angus  and  Sheed,  in  which  the  Ameri- 
cans behaved  with  spirit.     In  1814,  after  the  news  of  the 
capture  of  Bladensburg,  the  inhabitants  of  the  city,  by  volun- 
tary work,  threw  up  entrenchments  near  Gray's  Ferry  com- 
manding the  road  to  Baltimore.    An  encampment  was  formed 
near  Kennett  Square,   in   Chester  county,  and  twenty-one 
companies  of  volunteers  from  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  with 
four  companies  of  city  militiamen,  were  in  service  at  that  time 
in  camps  Bloomfield  and  Dupont.     They  remained  until  the 
end  of  November,  being,  with  many  other  troops  from  the 
State    embodied   as  the   advance  light  brigade,  under  the 
command  of  Brigadier-General  Thomas  Cadwallader.  - 


HISTOKY.  37 

The  improvement  of  inland  navigation  by  means  of  canals, 
which  would  give  to  large  districts  of  the  country  facility  of 
communication  with  the  cities,  was  an  early  matter  of  consid- 
eration  and  interest,  particularly  with  the  inhabitants   of 
Philadelphia.     As  early  as  1791  a  committee  of  the  legisla- 
ture of  Pennsylvania  presented  a  comprehensive  plan  for  a 
canal  uniting  the  Schuylkill  and  Susquehanna  Elvers,  and 
another  by  which  a  passage  could  be  secured  from  the  Sus- 
quehanna to  the  Alleghany  Eiver,  and  between  the  Susque- 
hanna and  Lake  Erie,  with  portage  connections  and  other 
means  to   ensure  transportation  between   Philadelphia  and 
Pittsburg,  together  with  the  improvement  of  the  navigation 
of  several  streams,  such  as  the  Delaware,  Lehigh,  Lackawanna 
and  others.     This  matter  was  discussed  for  several  years,  but 
did  not  approach  a  satisfactory  solution  until  1824,  when 
explorations  were  made  of  various  canal  routes,  and  in  the 
next  year  several  surveys  were  made  and  routes  recommended. 
In  time  some   of  these  works    were   completed  under  the 
authority  and  at  the  expense  of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania. 
The  Schuylkill  navigation  improvement  was  put  into  opera- 
tion in  1825.     The  Lehigh  canal,  which  was  commenced  in 
1818,  although  not  finished  until  1838,  was  in  use  for  bringing 
down  coal  many  years   before  the  latter  period,   and  the 
Schuylkill  navigation  was  equally  valuable.     Several  canals 
in  other  States  connected  with  waters  belonging  to  Pennsyl- 
vania were  promoted  and  assisted  and  built  with  Philadel- 
phia capital.     Among  these  may  be  mentioned  the  Delaware 
and   Chesapeake   canal,   extending   through   Delaware   and 
Maryland,  which  opened  a  water-way  between  Philadelphia 
and  Baltimore,  the  Delaware  and  Earitan  canal  of  New  Jer- 
sey, which  facilitated  communication  between  Philadelphia 
and  New  York,  and  many  other  similar  works.  > 

The  first  railroad  communication  with  the  city  was  ac- 
complished in  the  year  1832  by  the  building  of  a  railroad  to 
Germantown.  Shortly  after,  the  Columbia  Eailroad,  a  portion 
of  the  State  works  in  the  line  by  railroad  and  canal  to  Pitts- 
burg, was  finished.  The  railroad  to  Wilmington  and  Balti- 
4 


38  HISTORY. 

more,  and  the  Camden  and  Amboy  Railroad  to  New  York, 
were  in  progress  and  opened  in  the  course  of  that  year  or  the 
year  sncceeding.  The  Reading  Railroad  was  opened  on  the 
10th  of  February,  1842,  and  soon  became  a  dangerous  rival 
to  the  Schuvlkill  Navigation  Company,  which  before  that 
time  had  brought  coal  to  the  city.  The  Pennsylvania  Rail- 
road was  projected  in  1845-46  and  chartered  April  13  of  the 
latter  year.  The  North  Pennsylvania,  Sunbury  and  Erie  and 
other  great  lines  of  railway  followed,  and  their  effect  was  to 
largely  increase  the  business  of  the  city  and  promote  its  in- 
dustries. 

The  first  gas  for  illuminating  purposes  used  in  the  city  was 
manufactured  in  works  belonging  to  Peale's  Museum,  the 
Chestnut  Street  Theatre  and  to  the  Masonic  Hall  several  years 
before  it  was  publicly  introduced.  Gas  was  first  made  for 
general  consumption  by  a  private  company  which  was  char- 
tered in  1835,  with  a  capital  of  $125,000.  The  works  were 
first  put  into  operation  on  the  18th  of  February,  1836.  The 
city  soon  bought  out  the  stockholders.  Other  gas-works  were 
authorized  in  the  adjoining  districts,  but  after  consolidation 
the  whole  of  them  fell  into  the  possession  of  the  city  of 
Philadelphia,  with  the  single  exception  of  the  Northern 
Liberties  and  Kensington  gas-works.  * 

The  Asiatic  cholera,  which  swept  over  the  United  States  m 
1832,  made  its  appearance  in  Philadelphia  on  the  5th  of  July 
in  that  year.  Preparations  were  made  for  it.  Several  hos- 
pitals were  established.  The  last  case  was  reported  on  the 
4th  of  October.  During  the  interval  there  had  been  2314 
cases  and  935  deaths.  The  ratio  of  cases  to  population  in  the 
city  proper  was  one  in  seventy,  and  deaths  one  in  one  hundred 
and  seventv-two  and  a  fraction.  In  some  parts  of  the  city 
the  proportions  were  different,  and  in  favor  of  the  popu- 
lation. TT    -4.  J 

A  spirit  of  riot  and  disorder  which  passed  over  the  United 
States  in  1834  reached  Philadelphia  in  August  of  that  year, 
and  led  to  disturbance  between  whites  and  blacks  on  the  12th 
or  13th.     Colored  people  were  assaulted,  their  houses  broken 


HISTORY.  ^^ 


into  a  meeting-house  torn  down  near  the  Wharton  market, 
and' other  outrages  occurred.     In  the  fall  of  the  same  year 
a  very  serious  riot  took  place  of  a  political  character  near  the 
Moyamensing  Hall,  Ofeiuut'street,  west  of  Ninth  street,  and 
a  row   of  houses  was   burned.     In   July,  1835,  there   were 
attacks  made  upon  the  blacks,   and  houses   were  burned. 
In  1838  this   feeling  became   strongly  violent  against  the 
friends    of  the   abolition   of  slavery.      Pennsylvania    Hall, 
a  large  building  devoted  to  public  discussion,   situate  at 
the  south-west  corner   of  Sixth  and  Haines  streets,  below 
Eace    was    dedicated   by  abolitionists    May   14,   1838.     It 
was  attacked  by  a  mob,  set  on  fire  and  totally  destroyed  on 
the  17th.     In  1840  there  were  riots  at  Kensington  caused  by 
the  opposition  of  the  people  to  the  extension  of  a  track  of 
the  Philadelphia  and  Trenton  Eailroad  along  Front  street. 
The  rails  were  torn  up  and  houses  burned.     In  1842  Smith's 
Beneficial  Hall,  in  Lombard  street  between  Seventh   and 
Eighth,  was  burned  by  a  mob  excited  against  the  blacks. 
The  most  terrible  riots  which  the  city  had  known  occurred  in 
the  year  1844,  partly   from  sectarian  prejudices  and  partly 
from  politics.    A  meeting  of  members  of  the  Native  American 
party,  which  was  held  upon  the  6th  day  of  May,  1844,  at  the 
comer  of  Master  and  Second  streets,  was  attacked  and  dis- 
persed.    The  persons  engaged  in  it  rallied  to  a  market-house 
near  by  upon  Washington  street,  now  called  American  street, 
north  of  Master.     This  meeting  was  soon  attacked  and  fire- 
arms were  used,  and  it  was  alleged  that  musketry  was  fired 
from  adjoining  buildings.     The  participants  of  the  meeting 
armed  themselves  and  resisted.     Houses  were  broken  into 
and  set  on  fire.     These  events  led  to  farther  deplorable  ex- 
cesses.    The  Eoman  Catholic  church  of  St.  Michael  near  by, 
and  a  female  seminary  under  the  management  of  sisters  of  a 
religious  order,  were  burned,  and  many  buildings  in  the  neigh- 
borhood were  sacked  and  destroyed.      In  the  evening  the 
Eoman  Catholic  church  of  St.  Augustine,  in  Fourth  street 
below  Vine,  was  also  set  on  fire,  with  the  parsonage-house 
adjoining.     All  the  Catholic  churches  were  in  great  danger, 


40  HISTORY. 

and  many  of  them  were  guarded  by  citizens.     During  the 
disturbances  a  large  number  of  persons  were  killed  on  both 
sides,  principally  in  the  fight  between  Americans  and  Irish 
on  the  first  day.    Troops  were  called  out  at  the  beginning, 
and  were  in  service  several  days.     On  the  4th  of  July  of  the 
same  year  the  Native  Americans  had  a  very  large  and  showy 
procession,  which  marched  through  the  streets  without  the 
slightest  disturbance.     A  day  or  two  afterward  a  discovery 
that  muskets  had  been  taken  into  the  Catholic  church  of  St. 
Philip  de  Neri,  Queen  street,  Southwark,  led  to  a  renewal  of 
the  excitement.     A  company  for  the  protection  of  the  church 
had  been  formed  among  the  members,  and  the  arms  were  for 
their  use.     The  military  were  brought  into  requisition,  and 
trouble  ensued  between  them  and  the  people  who  were  drawn 
to  the  neighborhood  of  the  church.     The  church  was  broken 
into  by  the  mob  on  Sunday,  July  7,  but  it  was  protected 
by  a  committee  of  citizens  of  the  district,  and  no  particular 
damage  was  done.     After  the  disturbance  was  quelled  and 
there  was  a  probability  that  there  would  be  no  further  dif- 
ficulty, the  troops  came  upon  the  ground  in  strong  force. 
In  clearing  the  streets  of  the  crowd  some  diflaculties  occurred 
between  the  soldiers  and  people.     It  was  said  that  a  soldier 
was  struck  with  a  brick,  and  the  captain  of  the  company  which 
was  clearing  the  streets  ordered  his  men  to  fire.     They  fired 
two  volleys  into  the  crowd.     Several  persons  were  killed  in- 
stantly, and  others  wounded.     This  occurrence  caused  intense 
excitement.     The  mob  spirit,  which  had  been  quelled,  arose 
again.     The  soldiers  were  attacked  with  cannon  obtained  in 
the  neighborhood,  and  with  musketry.     They  responded  with 
artillery  and  musketry.     The  rioters  had  four  pieces,  which 
were  worked  by  sailors  and  watermen.     During  the  night  of 
the  7th  and  the  morning  of  the  8th  of  July  the  battle  con- 
tinued.    It  was  not  renewed,  however.     Two  soldiers  were 
killed  and  several  wounded.     Of  the  citizens  seven  were  killed 
and  a  large  number  wounded.     This  was  the  most  bloody  riot 
which  ever  occurred  in  Philadelphia,  but  it  may  be  said  to 
have  been  the  last,  as  since  that  time  no  very  serious  violation 
of  the  peace  has  occurred.  -. 


HISTORY. 


41 


On  the  lltli  of  March,  1789,  the  legislature  of  the  State 
granted  a  new  charter  to  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  the  old  one 
having  been  superseded  by  the  events  of  the  American  revo- 
lution.    The  act  was  made  applicable  to  the  city  as  laid  out 
by  Penn,  the  general  form  of  administration  differing  little 
from  the  old  system.     In  the  course  of  time  suburbs  outside 
of  the  city  of  Philadelphia  adjoining  were  created  Districts 
having  separate  municipal  powers.     Under  this  system  grew 
up  a  heterogeneous  aggregation  of  municipalities,  independent 
of  each  other,  frequently  discordant  in  policy,  by  which  the 
interests  of  the  people  of  the  city  and  county  of  Philadelphia, 
which  were  identical,  were  made  by  the  course  of  legislation 
hostile  to  each  other.     This  evil  became  so  great  that  in  1854 
was  passed  what  is  generally  called  the  Consolidation  Act,  by 
which  the  powers  of  the  petty  district  governments  were  an- 
nulled and  the  boundaries  of  the  old  city  of  Philadelphia  were 
so  enlarged  as  to  embrace  the  whole  county,  which  was  hence- 
forth to  be   governed  by  a  select   and   common  council,  a 
mayor  and  department  officers,  upon  the  plan  of  a  great 
municipality.  • 

During  the  long  period  of  over  190  years  of  progress,  the  citi- 
zens of  Philadelphia  have  promoted  numerous  good  works  for 
the  benefit  and  advantage  of  mankind.  To  assist  these  objects  ^ 
churches  were  built  and  sustained ;  hospitals  for  the  relief  of 
the  sick  founded ;  asylums  and  houses  for  the  friendless  and 
helpless  were  instituted ;  benevolent  associations  which  sought 
to  accomplish  good  by  merciful  and  kind  acts  were  estab- 
lished. Schools,  academies  and  colleges  were  opened.  Public 
works  of  importance  and  necessity  were  constructed  at  great 
expense.  Streets  and  roads  were  opened,  paved,  lighted,  and 
the  houses  upon  them  supplied  with  water  and  gas.  Compre- 
hensive systems  of  drainage  were  adopted,  public  buildings 
were  constructed  and  parks  and  enclosures  thrown  open  to 
general  use,  and  under  a  municipal  government  equal  in  most 
things  to  an  understanding  of  the  necessities  of  a  large  popu- 
lation, the  course  of  improvement  has  been  steady  and  un- 
broken.'- 


4* 


42 


OFFICIAL    COAT-OF-ARMS. 


3fAY0R'S  OFFICE, 
Philadelphia,  June  8,  187k. 

The  acconrpanying  Goat-of-Arnrs  of  the  City  of  Philadelphia  has 
heen  engraved  by  Messrs.  Collins  &  M ' Leester,  from  the  original  draw- 
ing  submitted    to    Councils    by    Col.    Frank   M.    Etting,    and    by    them 

approved. 

I  recognize  it  as  the  Official  Goat-of-Arms  of  the  City  of  Philadel- 
phia, being  faithful  in  all  its  details. 

r       .  WM.  S.  STOKLEY, 

Mayor. 


GUIDE-BOOK  TO  PHILADELPHIA. 


CHAPTEE  I. 

INTRODUCTORY. 


P 


iHILADELPHIA,  the  largest  and  most  important  city  of  the 
State  of  Pennsylvania,  and  the  second  city  of  the  United 
States  in  population,  is  situated  between  two  large  rivers,  the 
Delaware  and  the  Schuylkill,  at  their  junction,  and  nearly 
one  hundred  miles  from  the  Atlantic  Ocean,  following  the 
course  of  the  Delaware  Eiver  and  Bay.     Its  precise  latitude 
is  39°  57^  north  and  longitude  75°  10^  west,  being  136  miles 
north-east  of  Washington  and  eighty-seven  miles  south-west 
of  New  York.     When  the  city  was  planned  under  authority 
of  William  Penn  in  1682,  it  occupied  a  level  plain,  but  the 
large  additions  since  made  are  mostly  located  in  a  rolling 
country,  and  now  it  exceeds  in  extent  not  only  any  city  of  the 
Union,  but  also  any  city  in  Europe,  not  excepting  London. 
As  first  planned  the  city  was  bounded  by  the  two  rivers  and 
by  Vine  and  Cedar  streets.     Its  total  territory  now  covers 
129ith  square  miles  or  82,700  acres.     Its  entire  length  from 
north  to  south  is  about  twenty-three  miles,  and  its  average 
width  five  and  a  half  miles  from  east  to  west.     Within  this 
area  there   are   about  750   miles  of  paved   streets.     Penn's 
original  and    admirable  arrangement  of  the  streets   is  still 
adhered  to,  those  running  from  river  to  river  being  crossed 
by  those  running  nearly  north  and  south,  the  latter  being 
designated  in  numerical  order  from  the  Delaware  Eiver,  as 
Front,  Second,  Third  and  so  on,  whilst  those  running  east 
and  west  in  the  old  city  are  generally  named  for  trees,  as 

43 


44  STREETS,    AND   NUMBERING   HOUSES. 

Walnut,  Chestnut,  Spruce,  Pine,  etc.     North  and  south  of 
the  old  city  the  cross-streets  are  generally  named  after  persons 
historical   and  otherwise.     The  city  is   divided  north   and 
south   at  Market  street,  those  streets  running  south  being 
designated  South  Second,  South  Third,  etc.,  while  those  the 
other  side  are  known  as  North  Second,  North  Third,  etc.,  etc. 
The  houses  are  numbered  by  blocks  extending  from  principal 
street  to  principal  street,  small  intermediate  streets  being  in- 
cluded in  the  blocks.     Thus  the  houses  upon  the  first  block 
from  Front  to  Second  street  upon  any  of  the  cross  or  dividing 
streets  are  numbered  from  100  to  200,  from  Second  to  Third 
street  the  numbered  buildings  begin  at  200,  at  Third  street 
they  commence  at  300,  and  so  on.     With  a  little  thought  a 
stranger  will  soon  find  this  plan  most  simple;  for  instance, 
510  Walnut  street  will  be  on  the  south  side  of  Walnut  street, 
between  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets,  the  odd  numbers  always  be- 
ing on  the  north  side  of  each  street  and  the  even  numbers 
on  the  south   side.      No.   510   Market,  Arch   or   any  other 
street  running  east  and  west  will  always  be  between  Fifth 
and  Sixth  on  the  south  side.     The  streets  running  north  and 
south  are  numbered  on  the  same  plan.     Market  street  is  the 
dividing  line.     North  Front,  North  Second,  North  Third,  or 
any  other  street  running  north  and  south  is  north  of— or  as 
we  say  in  Philadelphia,  above— Market  street.     South  Front, 
South  Second,  or  any  other  street  running  north  and  south, 
is  south  of  or  below  Market  street.     One  hundred  numbers  are 
allotted  to  each  square.     The  odd  numbers  are  on  the  east 
side  of  each  street,  the  even  numbers  on  the  west.      Thus, 
No.  20  North  Front,  No.  20  North  Tenth,  or  No.  20  in  any 
north  street,  is  between  Market  and  Arch  streets.  No.  120 
is  between  Arch  and  Race,  etc.     Every  square  commences  on 
a  new  hundred  numbers.     The  same  arrangement  obtains  m 
the  streets  south  of  Market  which  run  north  and  south.     By 
this  plan  a  stranger  who  has  the  number  of  a  house  to  which 
he  desires  to  go  can  by  reference  to  his  own  position,  consult- 
ing the  city  map  and  counting  the  squares  between,  tell  very 
nearly  how  far  he  has  to  go.     The  intermediate  streets  are 


STREET    NUMBERS. 


45 


numbered  on  the  same  plan  ;  for  instance,  Cherry  street  begins 
at  Third  street  between  Arch  and  Race  streets  and  runs  west. 
The  houses  on  that  street  begin  at  No.  300. 

STREET   NUMBERS. 
North  and  south,  Market  street  being  the  dividing  line. 


NOETH. 

Arch 

Race 

Vine  — 


No. 
100 

;.   200 

300 

Callowhill 400 

Buttonwood 500 

Green 600 

Fairmount  avenue 700 

Brown 800 

Poplar 900 

Girard  avenue 1200 

Thompson 1300 

Master , 1400 

Jefferson 1500 

Oxford 1600 

Columbia  avenue 1700 

Montgomery  avenue 1800 

Berks 1900 

Norris 2000 

Diamond 2100 

Susquehanna 2200 

Dauphin 2300 

York 2400 

Cumberland 2500 

Huntingdon 2600 

Lehigh 2700 

Somerset  2800 

Cambria 2900 

Indiana 3000 

Clearfield... 3100 

Allegheny 3200 

Westmoreland 3300 

Ontario 3400 


Tioga 

Venango. 
Erie 


South. 

Chestnut 

Walnut 

Spruce  

Pine 

Lombard 

South 

Bainbridge 

Catharine 

Christian 

Carpenter 

Washington 

Federal 

Wharton 

Reed 

Dickinson 

Tasker 

Morris 

Moore — 

Mifflin 

McKean 

Snyder 

Jackson . 

Wolf 

Ritner 

Porter 

Shunk 

Oregon  avenue. 

Johnson 

Bigler 

Pollock 

Packer 

Curtin 


No. 

100 

200 

300 

400 

500 

600 

700 

800 

900 

1000 

1100 

1200 

1300 

1400 

1500 

1600 

1700 

1800 

1900 

2000 

2100 

2200 

2300 

2400 

2500 

2600 

2700 

2800 

2900 

3000 

3100 

3200 


3500  Numbers   on  streets  running  east  and 

WEST  begin  at  west  side  of  cross  streets, 
thus:  Front  street,  100;  Second  street,  200; 
Broad  street,  UOO;  Sixty-fifth  street,  6500. 


3600 

3700 


46  POPULATION. 

Philadelphia  now  comprises  all  the  territory  formerly  em- 
braced in  the  county  of  the  same  name,  and  is  entitled  to  send 
to  the  national  Congress  five  Representatives  and  to  the  State 
legislature  eight  Senators  and  twenty-eight  Representatives. 
The  water  privileges  of  Philadelphia  are  superior  to  those  of 
any  other  city,  as  ships  of  the  largest  size  can  come  directly  to 
the  city  docks.  Located  between  two  large  rivers,  with  wide 
streets  extending  from  one  to  the  other,  and  fanned  with  cur- 
rents of  fresh  air,  the  healthfulness  for  which  Philadelphia  is 
so  well  known  is  thereby  secured.  The  waters  of  both  the 
Delaware  and  Schuylkill  are  fresh  and  abound  in  fish.  The 
fame  of  the  Delaware  shad  is  world-wide  and  the  business  of 
shad-fishing  forms  quite  an  important  industry  during  the 
spring  months. 

POPULATION. 

According  to  the  United  States  census  of  1870,  the  popula- 
tion of  Philadelphia  amounted  to  674,022  persons,  of  which 
490,308  were  natives  of  the  United  States  and  183,624  foreign 
born.     During  the  ten  years  between  1860  and  1870,  notwith- 
standing the  great  drain  incurred  through  the  loss  of  volun- 
teers for  the  war,  it  increased  to  the  extent  of  108,493 ;  the  pop- 
ulation (January  1, 1875),  is  estimated  at  794,000.    The  births 
are  on  an  average  from  300  to  400  per  week  and  the  deaths  200 
to  300,  the  annual  rate  of  mortality  being  20^  per  1000  liv- 
ing persons.     Philadelphia  is  known  as  the  City  of  Homes, . 
and  its  citizens  are  on  the  average  more  comfortably  lodged 
than  in  any  other  American  city.     The  number  of  dwelling- 
houses  as  computed  by  the  census  of  1870  was  112,366,  while 
New  York  had  but  64,044  dwelling-houses    and  Brooklyn 
46,834,  so  that  there  were  more  dwelling-houses  in  Philadel- 
phia than  in  New  York  and  Brooklyn  together,  the  average 
number  of  persons  to  each  house  in  Philadelphia  being  less 
than  six,  while  in  New  York  the  average  is  14.72  and  in  Brook- 
lyn 8.62.     At  the  present  time  Philadelphia  has  not  less  than 
160,000  families  and  about  184,000  dwellings,  and  it  leads  all 


POPULATION. 


47 


American  cities  in  social  and  home  comforts.     The  buildings 
of  all  kinds  are  at  least  150,000. 

There  is  a  large  population  in  the  cities  and  towns  within 
the  immediate  radius  of  Philadelphia  which  are  more  or  less 
dejDendent  upon  that  city,  and  should  therefore  be  referred  to. 
This  population  numbers  something  over  one  million,  and, 
added  to  that  of  the  city  proper,  would  be  equal  to  that  of  the 
State  of  Minnesota,  with  a  much  greater  consumption  of  food. 
The  increase  in  the  population  of  the  city  and  of  the  build- 
ings necessary  for  their  accommodation  is  shown  in  the 
following  table : 


City  aijd  Suburbs.           : 

City  and 

COUKTKY. 

Year. 

Dwelling-            Population. 
Houses.                   ' 

Dwelling- 
Houses. 

Population. 

1683... 

80 

500 

1684... 
1700... 

2,500 

700 

4,500 

1744... 

1,500 

9,750 

1749... 

2,076 

12,500 

1753... 

2,300 

14,653 

1760... 

2,960 

18,756 

1777... 

5,395 

23,734 

1783... 

6,000 

37,000 

1790... 
1800... 
1805... 

6,651 

9,868 

13,461 

44  996 

54,391 

70'287 

i        

81,009 

1808... 

City  proper. 

47,786 

1810... 

15,814 

96,660 

16,682 

111,210 

1820... 

15,662 

114,410 

20,565 

137,097 

1830... 

25,172 

167,811 

27,968 

188,961 

1840... 

38,704 

220,523 

53,078 

258,037 

1850... 

54,046 

360,305 

61,278 

408,762 

1860... 
1870... 
1875... 

89,979 
112,457 
134,000 

568,034 
674,022 
794,000 

Estimated. 

The  census  of  1777  was  taken  by  order  of  Sir  William 
Howe,  when  the  British  army  was  in  possession  of  the  city. 
At  that  time  many  Whigs  and  patriots  were  absent,  and  it  is 
estimated  that  the  population  in  the  same  year  before  the 
entry  of  the  British  was  about  30,000. 

In  1854  the  boundaries  of  the  city  were  by  the  Consolida- 
tion Act  extended  over  the  whole  of  the  county,  so  that  the 


4g  HEALTH GOVERNMENT. 

distinction  between  the  city  and  the  suburbs  or  adjoining  in- 
corporated districts  and  the  county  was  abolished. 

HEALTH— VITAL  STATISTICS. 
The  health  of  Philadelphia  is  pre-eminent,  the  mortality 
beins;  1  to  every  1000  persons  less  than  that  of  London,  2  to 
every  1000  less  than  Paris,  and  7  to  every  1000  less  than  New 
York  This  is  due  to  the  unbounded  supply  of  fresh  water 
and  its  universal  use,  as  there  are  few  houses  even  of  the 
cheaper  class  that  are  not  supplied  with  a  bath-room  with 
convenient   arrangements   for  full  supply  of  hot  and  cold 

water.  .  . 

In  1874  the  total  number  of  interments  m  the  city  was 
16  315  persons;  of  these,  still-born  and  bodies  brought  from 
other  localities  were  1077,  leaving  the  actual  city  death  total 
15  238  According  to  the  estimated  population,  July  1,  18/4, 
the  deaths  were  equal  to  every  50.86  of  the  population,  or 
equal  to  a  death-rate  per  thousand  of  19.66.  The  number  of 
registered  births  in  1874  was  19,387,  an  increase  over  the 
former  year  of  685,  or  3.53  per  cent.  Pro  rata  of  births  to 
population,  25.01  per  1000.  The  number  of  registered  mar- 
riages was  6639 ;  ratio  of  8.55  in  every  1000. 

According  to  the  return  of  the  English  Eegistrar-General 
for  1872,  the  annual  death-rate  per  1000  living  persons  m  the 
principal  cities  of  the  world  was  as  follows : 


Madras 37.6 

Vienna 34.4 

Rome  ^-•- 

Florence ^^-^ 

Turin 30.4 

New  York 30.1 


Berlin ^H 

Bombay 27.6 

Brussels 26.5 

Paris 24.4 

London 22.7 

Philadelphia,  1874 19.66 


CITY  GOVERNMENT. 
Philadelphia  has  a  municipal  government  consisting  of  a 
Mayor  and  Eecorder,  with  a  Select  and  Common  Council. 
The  Mayor  is  elected  by  the  people  for  a  term  of  three  years. 
His  power  is  supervisory  over  the  city  departments,  control- 
ling over  the  police,  and  he  has  a  right  of  veto  or  of  approval 


GOVERNMENT — FOOD  SUPPLY.         49 

of  ordinances  passed  by  City  Councils.  The  Select  Council  is 
composed  of  thirty-one  members,  one  from  each  ward,  elected 
by  the  people  for  a  term  of  three  years.  The  Common  Coun- 
cil is  composed  of  members  elected  for  a  term  of  two  years 
and  representing  one  for  each  two  thousand  taxables.  The 
management  of  the  city  is  transacted  under  the  control  of 
Councils,  the  various  departments,  special  trusts  and  commis- 
sioners. They  comprise  Receiver  of  Taxes,  City  Treasurer,  City 
Controller,  City  Solicitor  and  City  Commissioners,  elected  by 
the  people  for  terms  of  two  and  three  years.  Special  Boards, 
— the  Guardians  of  the  Poor,  Inspectors  of  the  County  Prison, 
Board  of  Health,  Board  of  Eevision  of  Taxes,  Board  of  Pub- 
lic Education,  Commissioners  of  Fairmount  Park  (appointed 
by  the  courts  and  Councils),  Managers  of  the  House  of  Cor- 
rection, Port  Wardens,  Board  of  Surveys,  Department  of 
Water,  Department  of  Highways,  Department  of  Markets  and 
City  Property,  Department  of  Surveys,  Trustees  of  the  Gas- 
Works,  Commissioners  of  the  Fire  Department,  Department 
of  Girard  Estates,  Trustees  of  City  Ice-Boats,  Superintendent 
of  City  Railroads,  Commissioners  of  the  Sinking  Fund  (ap- 
pointed by  Councils),  Department  of  Police  (appointment  by 
the  Mayor),  and  the  Public  Buildings  Commission  and  South 
Street  Bridge  ConuniBsion,  originally  established  by  appoint- 
ment of  the  State  Legislature. 

SUPPLY  OF  FOOD. 
There  are  few  cities  in  the  world  where  so  much  attention 
is  paid  to  the  quality  of  food  as  in  Philadelphia ;  anything 
savoring  of  adulteration  is  at  once  discarded,  and  there  is  a 
very  strict  inspection  of  the  degree  of  freshness  of  butter, 
eggs,  fish,  vegetables,  etc.,  on  the  part  of  housekeepers. 
Through  this  care  the  diet  of  the  poorer  portion  of  the  pop- 
ulation is  better  than  in  any  other  city,  and  beggars  are  seldom 
seen.  The  consumption  of  the  city  is  on  an  average  per  week 
4500  beef"  cattle,  15,000  sheep  and  10,000  hogs,  the  beef 
and  mutton  being  mostly  supplied  by  the  State  of  Texas, 
and  the  pork  from  Ohio  and  Western  Pennsylvania.  The 
5  D 


50  FOOD — WATER  SUPPLY. 

best  hogs  in  the  country  are  sent  to  Philadelphia  to  be  killed, 
and  Philadelphia-cured  hams  and  bacon  are  a  specialty  in 
the  markets  or  at  the  seaboard.     The  supply  of  butter,  eggs, 
milk  and  poultry  from  the  neighboring  counties  is  almost  un- 
limited and  very  superior  in  quality.     A  large  abattoir  has 
been  projected  in  Philadelphia  to  afford  special  facilities  for 
the  supply  of  beef,  mutton  and  pork  direct  to  the  butchers, 
thus    diminishing   the  number   of  slaughter-houses  in   the 
city.     The  price  of  beef  varies  by  the  carcass  at  from  eight 
to  twelve  cents  per  pound,  a  large  portion  being  sold  to  the 
packers   at  cost,  the  balance  disposed  of  at  a  large  profit. 
The  average  price  per  head  at  the  drove-yards  is  $70  for 
beef,  $25  for  pork  and  $7  for  sheep.     There  are  about  2500 
butchers  in  the  city  to  distribute  this  supply  of  food.     The 
principal  d6p6ts  for  the  sale  of  cattle  and  sheep  and  lambs 
are  at  the  Park  drove-yards,  Thirty-second  street  and  Lan- 
caster   avenue,   the    abattoir,   the    stock-yard,   Forty-fourth 
street   and    Belmont    avenue,   and  the  new   stock-yards   at 
Paschalville,  in  the   south-west    portion   of  the   city.     The 
sales  at  the  former  amounted  in  1873  to  156,998  head,  with 
a  total  receipt  of  $778,865.82.     The  various  railroads  run- 
ning into   Philadelphia  from  all  directions  ensure  that  the 
supply  of  food  will  always  be  equal  to  the  demand,  and  for 
that  reason  alone  its  selection  as  the  city  of  the  International 
Exhibition  was  very  proper. 

WATER   SUPPLY. 

Philadelphia  is  a  city  of  cleanliness,  and  its  inhabitants  are 
noted  for  their  free  use  of  water,  with  which  they  are  abun- 
dantly supplied.  The  Water  Department  is  under  the  control 
of  the  city ;  it  consists  of  the  following  officers :  Chief  En- 
gineer, Eegister,  Chief  Clerk,  etc.,  with  a  large  force  of  clerks, 
draughtsmen,  engineers  and  laborers.  The  water-works  are 
divided  into  the  following  sections :  The  Fairmount,  Schuyl- 
kill, Delaware,  Belmont,  Eoxborough  and  Chestnut  Hill. 

The  Fairmount  Works  are  beautifully  located  on  the 
Schuylkill  River  at  the  lower  end  of  the  East  Park;  the 


WATER-WOKKS.  51 

buildings  are  well  constructed,  and  the  enormous  engines  used 
in  forcing  the  water  from  the  river  to  the  distributing  reservoir 
on  the  summit  of  the  hill  facing  the  buildings  are  well  worthy 
a  visit.  The  machinery  and  engines  are  kept  in  a  spotless 
condition,  and  the  works  can  be  examined  by  the  daintiest 
lady  without  fear  of  soil  or  stain.  Situated  on  the  east  side 
of  the  river,  and  above  the  new  bridge,  the  Fairmount  Water- 
Works  are  easily  accessible  either  by  the  passenger  railways 
of  the  Green  and  Coates  streets,  Eace  and  Vine,  Arch  street, 
Callowhill  street  and  Union  (Spring  Garden  street)  lines,  the 
latter  running  north  on  Ninth  street  and  upon  Spring  Garden 
and  Brown  streets.  All  of  these  run  direct  to  Fairmount. 
These  works  hav(^  long  been  considered  as  a  model  for  other 
cities.  The  reservoir  is  divided  into  four  basins,  having  in  the 
aggregate  a  capacity  of  26,896,636  gallons.  During  the  year 
1874  there  were  7,582,023,422  gallons  supplied  from  the  Fair- 
mount  works ;  this  is  nearly  four  times  the  quantity  of  1854. 
Of  all  the  water  distributed  in  1874,  the  daily  average  being 
42,111,730  gallons,  these  works  furnished  nearly  50  per  cent., 
an  average  of  21,504,736,  or  one-half  of  the  whole  supply. 

Fairmount  Works  are  run  with  seven  turbine  and  one 
breast-wheel,  with  a  Worthington  steam-pump,  for  use  when 
the  water-wheels  cannot  be  run  in  consequence  of  low  water 
in  the  river. 

The  first  water-works  of  the  city  embraced  piimping-engines  at 
Chestnut  street,  Schuylkill,  and  a  distributing  reservoir  in  a  large 
circular  tower  erected  at  Centre  Square,  at  the  intersection  of 
Broad  and  Market  streets,  commenced  May  2, 1799.  Water  was  first 
passed  out  for  distribution  on  the  1st  of  January,  1801.  In  the 
course  of  a  few  years  more  extensive  means  of  supply  were  needed. 
On  the  19th  of  April,  1819,  work  was  commenced  for  the  erection  of 
a  dam  across  the  Schuylkill  at  Fairmount,  Wheel-houses  were 
built  and  reservoirs  prepared.  Three  water-wheels  were  set  in 
motion  December  25,  1822,  and  the  work  was  then  considered  fin- 
ished. The  first  vv^ater  passed  out  from  the  reservoir  on  the  1st  of 
July  succeeding.  Fairmount  Water- Works  originally  embraced  a 
limited  space,  including  Fairmount  Hill  and  the  ground  imme- 
diately adjoining,  bounded  east  by  the  street  now  called  Twenty- 
fourth  street,  west  by  the  Schuylkill  River,  south  by  Callowhill 


52  WATER- WORKS. 

street  and  north  by  Coates  street,  the  latter  now  being  embraced 
within  the  boundaries  of  the  Park.  Subsequently,  the  city  purchased 
Lemon  Hill,  north  of  the  works,  embracing  the  ground  west  of  the 
Reading  Railroad  and  extending  along  the  Schuylkill,  a  point  at 
some  distance  south  of  Girard  avenue  bridge.  The  history  of  the 
Park  will  give  particulars  of  further  extensions  of  the  property. 
The  Fairmount  works  supply  the  reservoirs  at  Fairmount  and  a 
reservoir  situate  between  Corinthian  avenue  and  Twenty-second 
and  Parrish  and  Poplar  streets. 

The  Schuylkill  Water- Works  are  located  on  the  river  at  the 
foot  of  Thompson  street,  supplying  the  Eleventh,  Twelfth, 
Thirteenth,  Fourteenth  and  Fifteenth  wards  of  the  city. 
They  are  brick  buildings,  originally  constructed  in  the  Egypt- 
ian style  and  conspicuous  in  their  high  chimney-stack,  which 
looks  like  a  great  Egyptian  pillar.  During  the  year  1874 
these  works  furnished  a  supply  of  1,536,505,220  gallons,  or  a 
daily  average  of  5,226,008  gallons. 

The  Schuylkill  works  are  run  by  steam-power,  with  Cornish 
side-lever  and  compound  engines. 

The  works  now  known  as  the  Schuylkill  works  were  originally 
erected  by  the  commissioners  of  the  districts  of  Spring  Garden  and 
Northern  Liberties,  independent  municipal  corpoi-ations  before  the 
passage  of  the  Consolidation  Act  of  1854.     These  districts  obtained 
their  water  by  pipes  connected  with  the  Fairmount  works  for  many 
years.    The  rates  of  water-rents  by  which  the   city  supplied  the 
districts  were  higher  than  those  charged  to  the  inhabitants  of  the 
city.     This  discrimination  was  a  source  of  discontent.     The  com- 
missioners of  Spring  Garden  and  Northern  Liberties  applied  to  the 
State  legislature  for  redress,  and  on  the  18th  of  October,  1843,  an 
act  was  passed   conferring  authority  upon  the   commissioners   of 
Spring  Garden  and  Northern  Liberties  to  erect  independent  water- 
works'^ for  the  supply  of  their  own  inhabitants,  unless  the  city  would, 
within  three  months,  reduce  the  water-rents  in  accordance  with  city 
rates.     City  Councils  refused  to  make  the  reduction.     The  districts 
therefore  united  and  built  their  water-works  on  the  Schuylkill,  at  the 
foot  of  Thompson  street.    The  reservoir  was  built  upon  Thompson 
and  Master  streets,  between  Twenty-fifth  and  Twenty -seventh  streets, 
and  opened  for  use  in  December,  1844. 

The  Delaware  Water-Works  are  situated  on  the  river  Dela- 
ware, at  the  foot  of  Wood  street,  on  the  south  bank  of  Gun- 


WATER-WORKS.  53 

ner's  Eun,  in  the  Eighteenth  ward.  They  supply  the  Six- 
teenth, Seventeenth,  Eighteenth,  Nineteenth  and  Twentieth 
wards ;  in  1874  these  works  furnished  1,568,518,765  gallons,  or 
a  daily  average  of  4,960,709  gallons. 

The  Delaware  works  are  run  by  steam-power,  a  Worthing- 
ton  beam  and  horizontal  engine.         ^ 

The  Delaware  Water-Works  were  built  by  the  commissioners  of 
the  district  of  Kensington  for  their  special  supply.  Previously  the 
district  had  been  supplied  by  the  city,  and  after  the  construc- 
tion of  the  Spring  Garden  works  by  Spring  Garden  and  Northern 
Liberties.  In  1848  the  legislature  gave  to  Kensington  authority  to 
construct  separate  works,  and  pump  the  water  from  the  Delaware 
River.  The  works  were  in  operation  in  1850.  The  agreement  with 
the  adjoining  districts  was  abrogated  June  23,  1851.  Tlie  reservoir 
is  between  Lehigh  avenue  and  Somerset  street  and  Sixth  and  Seventh 
streets. 

The  Belmont  Water- Works  are  plain  but  appropriate  brick 
buildings,  on  the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill,  below  the  Bead- 
ing Railroad  Belmont  bridge;  furnished,  in  1874,  2,969,227,504 
gallons,  a  daily  average  of  5,226,008  gallons.  With  the  pres- 
ent pumping-power,  there  is  a  capacity  of  18,000,000  gallons 
per  day  of  twenty-four  hours. 

The  Belmont  works  are  run  by  steam-power,  three  Worth - 
ington  engines. 

The  Belmont  works  replace  the  West  Philadelphia  Water- Works, 
which  were  located  on  the  west  bank  of  the  Schuylkill,  opposite 
Lemon  Hill,  the  site  being  at  present  within  the  boundary  of  the 
Zoological  Garden.  The  construction  of  West  Philadelphia  works 
was  authorized  by  act  of  May  1,  1852,  and  they  were  in  operation  by 
the  eud  of  1853.  The  stand-pipe  south-west  of  these  works,  still  a 
conspicuous  object,  being  south  of  Zoological  Garden,  was  finished 
October  1,  1853.  The  Twenty-fourth  ward  works  were  abandoned 
in  October,  1870,  at  which  time  the  Belmont  works  were  started. 
The  Belmont  reservoir  is  at  George's  Hill,  Fairmount  Park.  It  is 
also  to  be  connected  with  the  reservoir  in  East  Fairmount  Park. 

The  Roxborough  Water- Works  are  on  the  east  bank  of  the 
river  Schuylkill  above  Manayunk,  on  the  line  of  the  Philadel- 
])hia  and  Norristown  Bailroad.     The  reservoir  is  at  the  inter- 


54  WATER- WOEKS — FOUNTAINS. 

section  of  Ann  and  Isabella  streets,  west  of  Greentree  lane. 
There  is  also  a  reservoir  at  Mount  Airy.  These  works  sup- 
plied, in  1874,  720,165,810  gallons,  a  daily  average  of  2,281,287 
gallons. 

The  Roxborough  works  were  finished  December  21,  1870,  at 
which  time  pumping  was  commenced.  The  works  are  run  by 
steam-power,  one  Cornish  and  one  Worthington  engine.  The 
Germantown  and  Chestnut  Hill  works,  originally  constructed  by  a 
private  corporation,  were  connected  with  Eoxborough,  in  conse- 
quence of  which  the  Chestnut  Hill  and  Germantown  works  were 
abandoned  as  pumping-stations,  September  30,  1872.  The  Eoxbor- 
ough works  send  their  water  to  Chestnut  Hill  and  Germantown  in 
two  great  mains,  which  cross  the  Wissahickon  in  Fairmount  Park. 
The  aqueduct  is  far  above  the  Park  roadway,  and  is  a  peculiar 
and  graceful  structure  usually  called  the  "  Pipe-bridge." 

The  total  amount  of  water  furnished  in  the  various  works 
in  1874  was  as  follows : 

Fairmount ...     7,582,023,422  gallons.     Daily  average,  21,504,376 


Delaware 1,558,518,765 

Schuylkill....  1,636,505,220 

Belmont 2,969,227,504 

Roxborough..  720,165,810 

Total 14,533,425.097 


4,960,709 
5,226;008 
8,138,990 
2,281,287 
42,111,730 


The  total  amount  of  water-pipe  laid  in  the  city  up  to  the 
beginning  of  the  year  1875  was  628  miles.  The  united  water- 
works of  the  city  furnished,  in  1874,  with  water  118,414 
dwelling-houses,  in  which  there  were  48,610  bath-rooms  sup- 
plied with  hot  and  cold  water  and  shower-baths,  etc.,  a  greater 
number  of  such  accommodations  than  can  be  found  in  any 
other  city  in  the  world. 

PUBLIC  DRINKING-FOUNTAINS. 
A  proper  regard  for  the  health  of  the  city  and  comfort  of 
its  citizens  has  led  to  the  establishment  of  public  drinking- 
fountains  in  many  sections  of  the  city.  This  has  been  done 
through  the  active  agency  of  the  Philadelphia  Fountain 
Society,  under  whose  auspices  have  been  erected  sixty-one 
fountains,  many  of  them  specimens  of  artistic  taste;  in  addi- 


FOUNTAINS  — DK  AINAGE — FIRES . 


55 


tion,  the  Society  for  the  Prevention  of  Cruelty  to  Animals 
have  erected  seven  fountains.  Some  of  these  have  been  built 
at  the  cost  of  private  individuals,  and  are  conspicuous  orna- 
ments to  the  city.  The  constant  use  made  of  these  fountains 
by  both  man  and  beast  is  sufficient  evidence  of  their  appre- 
ciation.   They  are  kept  in  perfect  order  by  a  fand  appropriated 

for  the  purpose. 

DRAINAGE. 

Philadelphia  is  admirably  situated  for  effective  drainage, 

having  a  large  and  rapid  stream  on  each  side  of  the  city. 

The  streets,  running  at  right  angles,  present  every  facility  for 

rapidly  carrying  off  any  surplus  of  water.   The  present  system 

of  sewage  is  conveyed  in  136  miles  of  culverts,  dimensions  as 

follows : 

Sewers    3  feet  in  diaraeter,  or  less,  about  100    miles. 
ii        4        u  "  "  "        13        " 

u        5        u  "  "  "  3^      " 

u  Q  a  n  '<  "  5  " 

a  y  a  <'  "  "  1^  " 

i(  Q  u  a  a  "  X  " 

u  g  ct  u  (I  "  3  « 

a         XO  "  "  "  "  3  " 

((  -,-,  II  u  u  II  X  " 

"12         "  "      and  more,     "  4i       " 

Total,     "      135i      " 
Total  to  January  1,  1876,  say     "      1361      " 

FIRES. 
Philadelphia  has  been  remarkably  free  from  extraordinarily 
destructive  fires  for  many  years.  This  is  due  in  a  great  meas- 
ure to  the  use  of  brick  and  stone  as  building  material  and  the 
admirable  management  of  the  Fire  Department,  under  the 
control  of  a  chief  and  five  assistants,  with  a  total  force  of  389 
men  and  123  horses,  which  are  held  always  in  readiness  to 
attend  to  the  first  note  of  alarm.  The  steam  fire-engines  are 
kept  ready  to  be  fired  up  at  a  moment  and  horses  are  ready  to 
harness,  so  that  in  the  shortest  possible  time  they  can  be  on  their 
way  to  the  scene  of  action.  There  are  in  all  thirty-two  com- 
panies, which,  in  January,  1875,  were  accommodated  at  thir- 
teen fire-stations.     They  had  in  their  possession  twenty-seven 


56  FIRE    DEPARTMENT POLICE. 

steam  fire-engines,  five  special  steam  fire-engines,  four  hand 
fire-engines  and  hose-carriages,  five  hook-and-ladder  tracks, 
six  fuel-wagons,  and  49,000  feet  of  rubber  and  linen  hose. 
Through  the  efficient  agency  of  the  Police  and  Fire  Alarm 
Telegraph  and  the  active  efibrts  of  the  firemen,  the  report 
of  the  department  indicates  a  falling  off  in  losses  for  one 
year  of  $183,792.  The  total  number  of  fires  in  1874  was 
592,  with  an  estimated  loss  of  $754,688,  covered  by  insurances 
of  $4,184,772. 

The  number  of  fire-plugs  in  the  city  January  1,  1875,  was 
5119.  The  number  of  fire-alarm  telegraph  signal-boxes  at 
the  same  time  was  200. 

POLICE. 

This  department,  as  at  present  organized,  is  controlled  by 
the  Mayor  as  executive,  a  Chief  of  Police,  a  Fire  Marshal, 
four  captains,  twenty-seven  lieutenants,  fifty  sergeants,  eight 
detectives,  twenty-five  turnkeys  and  1200  patrolmen.  This 
force  is  assigned  to  a  Central  Station  and  twenty-four  Police 
Districts.  The  Central  Station  is  located  at  the  City  Hall,  S. 
W.  corner  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.  In  case  of  riot  the 
entire  force  can  be  collected  with  great  celerity  by  the  use  of 
the  police-telegraph  and  the  city  railroads.  Strangers  desir- 
ing information  will  find  the  police  of  Philadelphia  uniformly 
courteous  and  obliging.  Their  uniform  is  dark-blue,  with 
gilt  buttons,  and  during  the  day  they  may  be  found  stationed 
in  the  principal  streets  at  short  distances  apart.  In  each  dis- 
trict there  is  a  Police  Magistrate,  before  whom  cases  can  be 
brought  for  immediate  settlement,  or  application  can  be  made 
directly  to  the  Mayor's  office  in  the  City  Hall.  There  is  an  addi- 
tional force  known  as  the  Eiver  and  Harbor  Police,  having 
control  of  the  water-fronts  of  the  city.  This  force  is  composed 
of  a  lieutenant  and  twenty-four  men,  with  the  aid  of  two  steam 
tugboats.  By  the  use  of  the  police-telegraph  during  the 
year  1873,  807  missing  adults  were  returned  to  their  friends, 
2363  lost  children  found,  360  lost  or  stolen  vehicles  returned, 
and  363  fires  reported ;  total  number  of  messages  reported, 


POLICE — STATION-HOUSES.  ^7 

112,138.  There  is  a  special-police  guard  in  charge  of  Fair- 
mount  Park,  under  the  control  of  the  Park  Commission. 
This  body  of  men  are  uniformed  in  gray,  and  are  recognized 
as  thoroughly  serviceable  and  trustworthy. 

The  head-quarters  of  the  city  police  is  at  City  Hall  or  Cen- 
tral Station,  S.  W.  corner  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.  The 
general  police  establishment  and  offices  are  as  follows : 

Chief  of  Police,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Detective  Department,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Fire  Marshal,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Reserve  Corps,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Captains  of  Police,  First  District,  at  station-house  of  Ninth 
District,  Lombard  street  between  Seventh  and  Eighth  streets. 

Second  District,  at  station-house  of  Eighth  District,  But- 
tonwood  street  between  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets.^ 

Third  District,  at  station-house  of  Tenth  District,  N.  E. 
corner  of  Front  and  Master  streets. 

Fourth  District,  at  station-house  of  Twenty-second  District, 
corner  of  Lehigh  and  Park  avenues. 

District  Station-Houses,  under  Charge  of  Lieutenants 

of  Police. 

1.  Fitzwater    street,   between    Nineteenth    and    Twentieth 

streets. 

2.  Second  street,  between  Queen  and  Christian  streets  (old 

Southwark  Hall). 

3.  Union  street,  between  Third  and  Fourth  streets. 

4.  Fifth  street,  between  Eace  and  Vine  streets. 

5.  Fifteenth  street,  between  Walnut  and  Locust  streets. 

6.  Eleventh  street,  between  Eace  and  Vine  streets. 

7.  St.  John  street,  between  Buttonwood  and  Green  streets. 

8.  Buttonwood  street,  between  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets. 

9.  N.  W.  corner  of  Twenty-third  and  Brown  streets. 

10.  N.  W.  corner  of  Front  and  Master  streets  (old  Kensing- 

ton Hall). 

11.  Girard  avenue,  above  Otis  street. 

12.  N.  E.  corner  of  Tenth  and  Thompson  streets. 


58  STATION-HOUSES — MAGISTRATES. 

13.  Main  street,  Manayunk. 

14.  Germantown  Hall,  Germantown. 

15.  Main  and  Euan  streets,  Frankford. 

16.  S.  W.  corner  of  Lancaster  pike  and  Thirty-ninth,  street. 

17.  Taylor  street,  below  Passyunk  road. 

18.  Trenton  avenue  and  Dauphin  street. 

19.  Lombard  street,  between  Seventh  and  Eighth  streets. 

20.  Filbert  street,  between  Fifteenth  and  Sixteenth  streets. 

21.  Darby  road  and  Thirty-eighth  street. 

22.  Lehigh  avenue  and  Park  avenue. 

23.  Jefferson    street,   between  Twentieth    and    Twenty-first 

streets. 

24.  Belgrade  and  Clearfield  streets. 
Delaware  Harbor,  Front  and  Noble  streets. 
Schuylkill  Harbor,  Sansom  street  wharf,  Schuylkill. 

Powers  of  commitment  upon  criminal  charges  are  granted 
to  the  Eecorder  of  the  city  and  magistrates  and  aldermen. 
The  police  station-houses  are  attended  daily  at  an  early 
morning  hour  by  magistrates  to  hear  such  cases  as  have 
arisen  by  reason  of  arrests,  etc.,  during  the  night.  The  mag- 
istrates have  power  to  bind  over  to  keep  the  peace,  to  answer 
at  the  criminal  court  with  or  without  bail,  according  to  the 
nature  of  the  alleged  offence. 

The  offices  of  committing  magistrates  are  as  follows : 

Eecorder  of  the  city,  opposite  Independence  Hall,  Chestnut 
street  between  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets,  north  side. 

Central  Station,  City  Hall,  Mayor's  office,  S.  W.  corner 
Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

MAGISTRATES'  COURTS. 
No.  1.  Jesse  S.  Bonsall,  1351  Passyunk  avenue. 

2.  Wm.  B.  Collins,  1936  Christian  street. 

3.  Andrew  Alexander,  Sr.,  634  Washington  avenue. 

4.  T.  Sprole  Leisenring,  704  S.  Fourth  street. 

5.  Wm.  H.  List,  144  S.  Sixth  street. 

6.  Hugh  Franklin  Kennedy,  521  Chestnut  street. 

7.  Jobn  McClintock,  1436  Lombard  street. 


MAGISTRATES — GAS-LIGHTING. 


59 


No.  8.  Eobert  E.  Smith,  114  S.  Seventh  street. 
9.  Wm.  A.  Thorp,  1342  Arch  street. 

10.  John  F.  Pole,  118  N.  Seventh  street. 

11.  Wilson  Kerr,  538  N.  Third  street. 

12.  Ezra  Lukens,  835  Callowhill  street. 

13.  Charles  E.  Pancoast,  1907  Callowhill  street. 

14.  John  Devlin,  1351  N.  Second  street. 

15.  Luke  V.  Sutphin,  419  E.  Girard  avenue. 

16.  Stuart  Field,  2052  N.  Fifth  street. 

17.  Henry  Smith,  S.  W.  corner  Otis  street  and  Frankford 

avenue. 

18.  Benton  O.  Severn,  1017  Oxford  street. 

19.  David  Hanley  Stone,  1836  Eidge  avenue. 

20.  Alfred  Snyder,  4415  Main  street,  Manayunk. 

21.  Thaddeus  Stearne,  4833  Frankford  avenue. 

22.  Geo.  E.  Krickbaum,  N.  W.  corner  Germantown  and 

Chelten  avenues. 

23.  Thomas  H.  Clarke,  4091  Lancaster  avenue. 

24.  Thomas  Eandall,  2920  Market  street. 

Criminal  cases  are  tried  and  disposed  of  by  the  courts  of 
Quarter  Sessions  and  Oyer  and  Terminer,  which  are  presided 
over  by  judges  of  the  four  courts  of  Common  Pleas,  serving 
in  rotation.  The  courts  are  held  in  Quarter  Sessions  court 
building,  east  side  of  Sixth  street,  adjoining  the  old  court- 
house building,  which  fronts  on  Chestnut  street,  and  occa- 
sionally in  the  old  Quarter  Sessions  court-room,  in  that 
building,  south  room,  first  floor,  with  entrance  from  Independ- 
ence Square. 

GAS-LIGHTING. 

Philadelphia  is  a  well-lighted  city,  and  the  smallest  houses 
are  supplied  with  gas.  The  quantity  manufactured  by  the 
city  works  during  the  year  1874  was  1,766,268,000  cubic  feet, 
an"increase  over  the  year  1873  of  117,681,000  cubic  feet.  The 
largest  consumption  in  any  twenty-four  hours  was  on  the 
night  of  the  24th  of  December,  1874,  amounting  to  7,826,000 
cubic  feet,  being  an  increase  over  the  largest  consumption  of 


60  GAS-WORKS. 

previous  year  of  787,000  cubic  feet.  The  Northern  Liberties 
Gas-Works  made,  in  1874,  79,019,800  cubic  feet.  Total  gas 
manufacture,  1,845,287,800  cubic  feet.  The  street  mains  laid 
during  the  year  1874  by  the  city  works  were  36,262  feet, 
making,  with  the  Northern  Liberties  Gas  Company's  mains 
(97,717  feet),  the  entire  length  of  main  gas-pipes  6302-  miles. 
The  whole  number  of  public  lamps  is  9905,  of  which  468  are 
supplied  by  Northern  Liberties  Gas-Works,  and  the  average 
illuminating  power  16.38  candles.  The  total  number  of  con- 
sumers from  the  city  works  is  81,712 ;  Northern  Liberties 
works,  4703 ;  total,  86,415 ;  of  private  lights,  city,  1,124,205 ; 
Northern  Liberties,  22,465 ;  total,  1,146,670,  and  of  public 
lights,  9905. 

The  manufacturing  gas-works  are  the  City,  Point  Breeze 
and  Spring  Garden  and  Frankford,  on  Second  street,  all  of 
which  are  owned  by  the  city  corporation,  and  the  Northern 
Liberties  Gas-Works,  owned  by  a  private  corporation. 

The  Ninth  Ward  or  City  works  are  upon  the  north  side  of 
Market  street,  extending  from  Twenty-second  street  to  the 
Schuylkill  Eiver,  immediately  adjoining  the  Market  street 
bridge.  They  comprise  retort-houses,  purifying-houses,  meter- 
rooms,  lime-kilns,  coal-sheds  and  gas-holders,  which  latter  are 
of  the  largest  size. 

The  first  gas  for  illuminating  purposes  made  in  the  United  States 
was  manufactured  by  Michael  Ambroise  &  Co.,  Italian  fire-workers 
and  artists,  who  gave  exhibitions  of  figures  of  temples,  Masonic  de- 
vices, etc.,  at  their  ami^hitheatre,  Arch  street  between  Eighth  and 
Ninth  streets.  These  pieces,  they  said,  were  produced  by  "  inflam- 
mable air  with  the  assistance  of  light."  They  were  exhibited  in 
August,  1796.  In  1803  one  J.  C.  Henfrey  proposed  to  illuminate 
the  city  by  gas-lights  burned  in  high  towers,  but  City  Councils  gave 
him  no  encouragement.  In  1815  Councils  were  petitioned  by  James 
McMurtrieto  introduce  gas-lighting,  but  no  definite  action  was  taken. 
Shortly  afterward,  in  1817,  Dr.  Charles  Kugler  succeeded  in  manu- 
facturing illuminating  gas,  which  was  first  introduced  to  public 
attention  by  its  use  at  the  Philadelphia  Museum,  then  exhibiting  at 
the  State-house  or  Independence  Hall,  where  it  was  lighted  on  gala- 
days  and  on  one  or  two  evenings  of  a  week.  The  second  Masonic 
Hall,  on  Chestnut  street,  between  Seventh  and  Eighth  streets,  rebuilt 


GAS-WORKS. 


61 


in  1820,  had  gas-works  connected  with  it  in  which  the  carburetted 
hydrogen  gas  nsed  was  prepared  from  tar.  For  many  years  this  hall 
and  the  Gas-light  tavern  on  Second  street,  near  Walnut  street,  wei;e 
the  only  buildings  in  the  city  in  which  gas  was  used.  On  the  12th 
of  March,  1835,  the  Philadelphia  Gas  Company  was  authorized  by 
ordinance  of  Councils.  It  had  a  capital  stock  of  $125,000.  The 
city  reserved  a  right  to  purchase  the  works  from  the  shareholders  at 
any  time.  The  works  on  Market  street  were  first  put  in  operation  on 
the  8th  of  February,  1836.  Only  two  stores  were  prepared  to  burn  it, 
and  the  whole  number  of  applications  at  that  time  were  for  nineteen 
private  and  fortv-six  public  burners.  July  1,  1841,  the  city  bought 
out  the  stockholders  for  $173,000,  and  took  possession  of  the  works  by 
the  intervention  of  a  board  of  trustees.  The  City  works  have  been 
increased  in  capacity  frequently  since  that  time,  and  are  very 
complete. 

The  Twenty-sixth  Ward  or  Point  Breeze  works  are  situate 
upon  the  east  bank  of  the  Schuylkill  Elver,  being  intersected 
by  Passyunk  road.  These  works  are  much  more  extensive 
than  those  at  Market  street,  and  are  believed  to  be  the  largest 
gas-works  in  the  world.  The  property  originally  was  twenty 
acres  in  extent,  but  additions  have  been  made  to  it  in  order 
to  accommodate  the  public.  These  works  were  first  put  in 
operation  on  the  13th  of  December,  1854.  They  are  connected 
directly  with  the  Market  street  works.  The  great  telescopic 
gas-holder  here  is  of  160  feet  diameter  and  95  feet  high. 

The  Fifteenth  Ward  or  Spring  Garden  works  are  situate  on 
Callowhill  street,  opposite  the  intersection  of  Twenty-fifth 
street,  with  a  front  on  the  Schuylkill  Eiver.  These  works  were 
erected  by  authority  of  an  ordinance  of  the  commissioners  of 
Spring  Garden  for  the  supply  of  houses  in  the  district,  passed 
September  7, 1846.  The  works  were  so  far  completed  as  to  be 
able  to  supply  gas  near  the  end  of  the  succeeding  year.  They 
were  considered  finished  in  the  spring  of  1851,  and  went  into 
full  operation  April  1  of  that  year. 

The  Twenty -first  Ward  or  Frankford  works  are  near  Frank- 
ford  village,  and  supply  light  in  that  section  of  the  city. 

The  Northern  Liberties  Gas-Works  are  situate  on  Laurel 
street,  near  Frankford  road,  at  the  intersection  of  Gunner's 
Run.     They  were  established  by  authority  of  an  ordinance 
6 


62  GAS-WORKS. 

passed  by  the  commissioners  of  the  district  of  the  Northern 
Liberties,  March  15,  1838.  On  April  1,  1844,  the  stockhold- 
ers were  incorporated  as  ''The  Northern  Liberties  Gas  Com- 
pany," with  a  capital  stock  of  $200,000.  This  company  still 
conducts  the  gas  manufacture  and  supplies  portions  of  the 
old  district  of  Northern  Liberties  and  part  of  Kensington. 


CHAPTEE  II. 

HOTELS.— BOARDING-  AND  LODGING-HOUSES.— 
BEST  A  URANTS. 

PHILADELPHIA  is  called  the  "  City  of  Homes,"  and  the 
hospitality  of  its  citizens  has  rendered  it  unnecessary  that 
there  should  be  more  than  the  present  extensive  hotel  accom- 
modation, a  majority  of  its  visitors  being  received  by  their 
friends  in  private  houses.  Such  hotels  as  now  exist  and  are 
being  erected  will  be  found  sufficient  to  meet  the  needs  of 
strangers,  a  large  number  of  them  being  specially  adapted 
for  the  rural  population  of  the  vicinity.  The  first  and  best 
hotel  in  the  city  at  this  time  is  the  well-known — 

Continental  Hotel,  located  in  the  business  part  of  the  city, 
on  the  south-east  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Ninth  streets,  and 
of  easy  access  by  street  railway  from  all  of  the  railroad  sta- 
tions. This  building  is  six  stories  in  height  on  the  two  streets 
referred  to,  and  eight  stories  in  the  rear,  on  Sansom  street, 
and  covers  41,536  feet  of  ground.  The  principal  story  is  sus- 
tained by  richly  ornamented  cast-iron  piers;  the  first  floor, 
level  with  the  street,  which  is  used  by  the  hotel,  occupies 
24,620  feet  of  the  whole  area. 

The  total  number  of  rooms  in  the  Continental  is  700,  with 
accommodations  for  1000  guests.  Arrangements  are  now 
contemplated  for  such  an  extension  of  the  premises  as  will 
admit  of  lodging  1200  persons.  The  charges  of  the  Conti- 
nental are  $4.50  per  day,  including  lodging  and  four  meals  per 
day,  if  desired. 

The  Continental  Hotel  occupies  the  site  of  two  famous  buildings 
in  the  memory  of  citizens  of  the  last  generation.  The  Philadelphia 
Museum,  which  occupied  the  southern  portion  of  the  lot  on  Sansom 

63 


64  HOTELS^    ETC. 

street,  was  erected  by  a  company  for  the  purpose  of  holding  the  great 
assortment  of  natural  curiosities  collected  by  Charles  Wilson  Peale 
and  his  sons  during  the  American  Eevolution  and  subsequently. 
The  first  story  of  the  museum  building  contained  the  Chinese  collec- 
tion of  Nathan  Dunn.  The  museum  building,  afterward  generally 
known  as  the  Chinese  Museum,  was  built  in  1838.  In  time  both 
museums  failed  to  be  profitable  as  exhibitions,  and  the  collections 
were  sold.  The  Chinese  Museum  then,  by  reason  of  its  great  size, 
became  a  favorite  place  for  town-meetings,  concerts,  balls,  lectures 
and  exhibitions.  Zachary  Taylor  was  nominated  for  the  presidency 
there  by  the  national  Whig  convention  of  1848.  North  of  the 
museum,  upon  the  Chestnut  street  front,  Cooke,  an  English  eques- 
trian, erected  a  circus,  which  was  opened  to  the  public  Aug.  28, 
1837.'  The  building  subsequently  became  the  National  Theatre,  under 
management  of  William  E.  Burton,  the  eminent  comedian;  Welch 
and  Lent  and  Raymond  and  Waring  occupied  it  for  some  years  as 
an  amphitheatre.  The  museum  and  circus  were  both  destroyed, 
with  much  adjoining  property,  by  fire  July  5,  1854.  About  1858 
the  lot  was  secured  by  the  Continental  Hotel  Company,  and  the  hotel 
opened  for  the  reception  of  guests  February  16,  1860. 

The  Girard  House  is  situated  directly  opposite  the  Conti- 
nental, on  the  north  side  of  Chestnut  street.  This  hotel  has 
been  completely  fitted  up  and  refurnished  in  tlie  most  ap- 
proved style.  It  is  now  being  largely  extended,  with  the  view 
of  accommodating  not  less  than  1000  guests.  The  charges 
per  day  at  this  hotel  are  $3.50 ;  it  possesses  all  the  conveniences 
of  a  first-class  hotel  and  every  facility  for  travellers  from  the 
various  railroad  stations. 

The  Girard  House  occupies  the  site  of  the  Fisher  and  Leaming 
mansion.  It  was  built  in  1850-52,  and  opened  in  the  latter  year.  To 
the  enterprise  of  Geo.  W.  Edwards  and  J.  G.  Edwards,  who  believed 
that  at  the  time  the  hotel  accommodations  of  the  city  were  inadequate 
for  the  public  necessities,  the  erection  of  the  Girard  House  is  to  be 
attributed.  The  architect  was  John  McArthur,  Jr.,  who  also  was 
architect  of  the  Continental  and  La  Pierre  House. 

The  La  Pierre  House  is  located  on  Broad  street,  near  Chest- 
nut street,  in  the  immediate  vicinity  of  the  Academy  of 
Music,  the  Union  League  Club  and  Public  Buildings,  and  on 
one  of  the  finest  avenues  in  Philadelphia.  This  hotel  is 
specially  adapted  for  families,  the  present  number  of  rooms 


HOTELS,    ETC.  65 

being  160,  with  accommodations  for  250  persons ;  it  is  proposed 
to  enlarge  it  to  double  its  present  capacity ;  charges,  $3.50 
per  day. 

Geo.  W.  and  J.  G.  Edwards  built  the  La  Pierre  House,  and  the 
work  was  going  on  at  the  same  time  that  the  Girard  House  was 
being  built  under  their  direction.  The  hotel  was  opened  for  guests 
in  October,  1853. 

The  Colonnade  Hotel,  S,  W.  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Fif- 
teenth streets,  is  easily  reached  by  the  street  railways  from 
all  the  stations ;  it  has  every  accommodation  for  guests,  and  at 
present  has  200  rooms,  with  contemplated  arrangements  for 
large  additions ;  terms,  $3.50  per  day. 

The  Irving  House,  a  well-known  family  hotel  on  Walnut 
street,  between  Ninth  and  Tenth  streets,  with  103  rooms  and 
accommodations  for  175  guests;  terms,  from  $3  to  $5  per 
day,  according  to  rooms. 

Guy's  Hotel,  corner  of  Seventh  and  Chestnut  streets,  is 
managed  on  the  European  plan,  guests  being  furnished  with 
rooms  at  from  $1  to  $3  per  day,  and  meals  served  a  la  carM 
in  the  restaurant  attached  to  the  hotel. 

The  St  Cloud  Hotel  is  located  on  Arch  street  above 
Seventh  street,  convenient  to  the  various  railroads,  and  is 
specially  frequented  by  merchants  and  business  men ;  it  has 
accommodations  for  450  persons,  with  300  rooms  ;  charge  per 
day,  $3. 

The  Bingham  House  is  on  Market  street,  corner  of  Eleventh 
street,  with  300  rooms  and  accommodations  for  500  guests ; 
charges,  $3  per  day. 

The  Merchants'  Hotel  is  located  on  North  Fourth  street,  in 
the  business  section  of  the  city,  with  204  rooms ;  can  accom- 
modate 600  guests.  Large  additions  are  to  be  made  the  com- 
ing year.     Charges  per  day,  $3. 

This  hotel  was  built  by  a  company  of  mercantile  men  in  business 
in  the  immediate  neighborhood,  and  especially  for  the  accommoda- 
tion of  merchants.  It  was  the  finest  and  largest  hotel  in  the  city 
when  it  was  opened,  in  the  year  1837. 

The  American  Hotel,  Chestnut  street  between  Fifth  and 
Sixth  streets,  is  largely  frequented  by  merchants  and  business 
6-*  E 


66  HOTELS,   ETC. 

men.      It  is  eligibly  located  in  the  immediate  vicinity  of 
Independence  Hall;  accommodations  for  600  guests;  terms, 

$3  per  day. 

St.  Stephen's  Hotel,  Chestnut  street  between  Tenth  and 
Eleventh  streets,  has  been  recently  refitted  and  newly  for- 
nished ;  can  accommodate  300  guests ;  terms,  $3  per  day. 

Washington  House,  709  Chestnut  street,  a  plain,  comfort- 
able and  convenient  hotel,  can  accommodate  350  guests. 

The  Grand  Central,  Market  street,  opposite  Pennsylvania 
Eailroad  dep6t,  near  Thirty-second  street.  Building  of  mar- 
ble; has  accommodations  for  700  guests. 

ALPHABETICAL.  INDEX  TO  HOTELS  IN  PHILADELPHIA. 

Alleghany  House,  812  Market  street. 

Allen's,  1220  Market  street. 

American,  517  Chestnut  street. 

Arch  Street  House,  1  Arch  street. 

Bald  Eagle,  414  North  Third  street. 

Barley  Sheaf,  257  North  Third  street. 

Beitler's,  1619  Market  street. 

Bingham  House,  corner  of  Market  and  Eleventh  streets. 

Bird's,  corner  of  Broad  and  Callowhill  streets. 

Black  Bear,  425  North  Third  street. 

Black  Horse,  252  North  Second  street. 

Brady,  242  North  Eighth  street. 

Brennan,  728  Filbert  street. 

Bucks  County,  1917  Market  street. 

Bull's  Head,  1035  Market  street. 

Bull's  Head,  926  North  Front  street. 

Bull's  Head,  3734  Market  street. 

Central,  623  Arch  street. 

Central  Avenue,  831  Market  street. 

Chestnut  Hill,  Main  street,  near  Hartwell  avenue,  Chestnut 

Hill. 

Clarendon,  115  South  Eighth  street. 

Clinton,  1608  Eidge  avenue. 

Colonnade,  Chestnut  street,  corner  of  Fifteenth  street. 


HOTELS,    ETC.  67 

Columbia^  216  North  Second  street. 

Columbia,  111  North  Broad  street. 

Commercial,  826  Market  street. 

Continental,  Chestnut  street,  corner  of  Ninth  street. 

Davis',  6  South  Delaware  avenue. 

Diamond  Street,  Diamond  between  Sixteenth  and  Seven- 
teenth streets. 

Eagle,  Main  street  and  Highland  avenue,  Chestnut  Hill. 

Eagle,  227  North  Third  street. 

Edwards',  S.  W.  corner  of  Broad  and  Walnut  streets. 

European,  315  Arch  street. 

Farmers  and  Mechanics',  1808  Eidge  avenue. 

Germania,  2330  Market  street. 

Given's,  1220  Market  street. 

Girard,  Ninth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Globe,  Elm  and  Belmont  avenues. 

Golden  Fleece,  310  Cherry  street. 

Grand  Central,  Market  and  Thirty-second  streets. 
'    Grand  Union,  Eleventh  and  Somerset  streets. 

Great  Western,  1311  Market  street. 

Guy's,  corner  of  Seventh  and  Chestnut  streets. 
,     Hay-Market,  1601  North  Seventh  street. 

Hotel  Aubry,  Walnut  and  Thirty-third  streets. 

Howard,  2101  Chestnut  street. 

Howard,  703  Chestnut  street. 

Irving,  917  Walnut  street. 

Johnson's,  1115  Market  street. 

Lancaster  Pike,  4412  Lancaster  avenue. 

La  Pierre,  Broad  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Lincoln,  corner  of  Fourth  and  Wood  streets. 

Mansion,  619  Arch  street. 

Manufacturers',  310  Cherry  street. 

Markoe,  919  Chestnut  street. 

Mercantile,  23  South  Tenth  street. 

Merchants',  42  North  Fourth  street. 

Merchants'  House,  415  North  Third  street. 

Montgomery,  corner  of  Sixth  and  Willow  streets. 


^8  HOTELS,    ETC. 

Mount  Vernon,  119  North  Second  street. 
National,  1710  Market  street. 
New  Market,  1619  Market  street. 
New  York  House,  9  Walnut  street. 

Penn  Manor,  corner  of  Eighth  and  Spring  Garden  streets. 
^     Pennsylvania,  417  South  Second  street. 

Pennsylvania  Farmer,  345  North  Third  street. 
Petry,  N.  W.  corner  of  Broad  and  Walnut  streets. 
Randolph,  Spring  Garden  street,  above  Twenty-second. 
Randolph  (Farmers'),  342  North  Third  street. 
Reading  Railroad  House,   corner  of   Ninth   and    Spring 
Garden  streets. 

Red  Lion,  472  North  Second  street. 
Ridge  Avenue,  Ridge  avenue,  below  Girard  avenue. 
Ridgeway,  1  Market  street. 
Robin  Hood,  corner  of  Front  and  Otis  streets. 
St.  Charles,  54  North  Third  street. 
St.  Cloud,  709  Arch  street. 
St.  Elmo,  319  Arch  street. 
St.  James,  310  Race  street. 
St.  Stephen's,  1018  Chestnut  street. 
Springmann,  Walnut  street,  above  Seventh  street. 
Smedley,  1227  Filbert  street. 
Tiger,  321  Vine  street. 
Transcontinental,  Belmont  avenue. 

United  States,  north-west  corner  of  Forty-second  and  Co- 
lumbia avenue. 

Washington,  711  Chestnut  street. 
Weik's,  Belmont  avenue  and  Eadline  street. 
Walnut  Street,  Walnut  and  Thirty-third  streets. 
White  Bear,  corner  of  Fifth  and  Race  streets. 
White  Horse,  316  North  Third  street. 
White  Horse,  210  Pine  street. 
William  Penn,  831  Market  street. 
Zeiss',  820  Walnut  street. 

Boarding-Houses.— These  may  be  found  in  every  section  ol 
the  city,  with  prices,  varying  as  to  locality,  from  $5  to  $15  per 


HOTELS,    ETC. 


69 


week  for  a  single  person.  The  better  class  of  boarding- 
houses  are  located  on  Broad,  Walnut,  upper  part  of  Chestnut, 
Arch  and  Spruce  streets.  Board  comprises  breakfast  with 
meats,  dinner  and  tea.  An  examination  of  the  daily  journals 
of  the  city  will  be  the  best  means  to  adopt  for  the  purpose  of 
securing  a  boarding-place,  as  many  of  them  are  regularly 
advertised. 

Lodgings  may  also  be  obtained  in  the  same  manner— by 
consulting  advertisements— at  very  reasonable  prices.  The 
prices  vary  from  $3  to  $20  per  week.  Unfurnished  apart- 
ments or  flats  are  not  common  in  Philadelphia,  but  may  be 
obtained  on  application  to  some  one  of  the  numerous  house- 
agents  in  the  city. 

The  Centennial  Lodging-House  Agency,  limited,  office,  1010 
Walnut  street,  has  arranged  with  thousands  of  private  house- 
keepers to  take  lodgers  and  supply  them  with  meals.  This 
company  is  under  control  of  leading  officers  of  all  the  great 
railroad  companies. 

Restaurants. — There  are  many  good  restaurants,  and  meals 
are  furnished  at  reasonable  prices  by  the  day,  week  or  month, 
or  a  la  carU,  The  oyster-houses  of  Philadelphia  are  a  speci- 
alty, and  in  season  the  delicious  bivalves  may  be  had  stewed, 
panned,  fried,  deviled  or  raw,  served  in  perfection. 

The  caterers  of  Philadelphia  have  become  historic  for  their 
artist-like  serving  of  wild  game,  terrapin,  chicken-salad,  reed- 
birds,  chicken-croquettes  and  soft  crabs.  They  will  supply 
meals  for  those  occupying  furnished  apartments,  and  are 
ready  to  supply  dinner-  and  supper-parties  of  any  size.  In 
ice-creams,  confectionery  and  fruit-ices  this  city  has  no 
superior,  not  even  in  Europe,  and  it  is  suggested  to  all 
strangers  that  they  test  the  matter  for  their  own  gratification. 

CENTENNIAL   HOTELS. 

The  following  have  been  specially  constructed  for  use  dur- 
ing the  Centennial  Exhibition.  They  are  arranged  with  every 
convenience,  and  are  very  capacious  : 

The  Globe  Hotel,  Belmont  avenue,  near  Elm  avenue,  has 


70  HOTELS RESTAURANTS. 

accommodations  for  over  1200  guests.  Conducted  on  the 
European  style.     Charges  per  room  $2  and  upward. 

The  Transcontinental  Hotel,  brick  building,  south-east 
corner  of  Belmont  avenue  and  Elm  avenue.  To  be  kept  on 
the  same  plan  and  terms  as  the  Continental  Hotel,  by  Mr. 
Kingsley,  proprietor  of  the  latter. 

Hotel  Aubry.  South  side  of  Walnut  from  Thirty-third  to 
Thirty-fourth  street;  has  300  rooms,  and  will  accommodate 

450  guests. 

The  United  States  Hotel,  north-west  corner  of  Forty-sec- 
ond street  and  Columbia  avenue.  Brick  building,  three  stories 
high ;  contains  300  rooms,  and  will  accommodate  500  persons. 

The  Diamond  Street  Hotel,  Diamond  between  Sixteenth 
and  Seventeenth  streets ;  has  240  rooms,  and  will  accommo- 
date 350  persons. 

Weik's  Hotel,  corner  of  Belmont  avenue  and  Eadline  street. 
Wooden  one-story  building. 

The  Grand  Union  Hotel,  Eleventh  and  Somerset  streets. 
Convenient  to  the  junction  of  the  connecting  railroad  to  New 
York  and  the  Reading  Railroad.  Has  850  rooms,  and  will 
accommodate  1300  persons. 

RESTAURANTS. 

Doyle's  Club  House.     Belmont  avenue. 

Tischner's.     Belmont  avenue,  near  Elm  avenue. 

Aronheimer's.     Elm  avenue  and  Forty-first  street. 

Within  the  Centennial  grounds  are  six  restaurants— Lau- 
ber's  (German);  Le  Trois  Fr^res  Proven§aux,  Goyard's 
(French);  Southern,  Mercer's;  American,  Tobias  &  Heil- 
brun's  ;  Sudreaux's  and  one  other.  Proskauer's  well-known 
establishment  at  Belmont  is  also  available. 


CHAPTEE    III. 
3IARKETS. 

THE  first  markets  were  conducted,  after  the  English  fash- 
ion, in  spaces  on  the  wharves  and  in  the  middle  of  streets. 
Up  to  1709  the  principal  market-place  was  in  High  or  Market 
street,  movable  booths  and  stalls  being  erected.     In  1709  the 
first  permanent  market-house  was  authorized,  and  it  was  built 
adjoining  the  court-house,  in  the  middle  of  the  High  street 
and  west  of  Second,  standing  upon  open  pillars  and  roofed. 
From  time  to  time,   other   covered  market-buildings  Avere 
added  until  they  extended  from  the  Delaware   landing  to 
Eighth  street  in  an  unbroken  line,  which  was  taken  up  again 
at  Schuylkill  Eighth,  now  Fifteenth  street,  and  carried  to 
Schuylkill  Sixth,  now  Seventeenth  street.      Other  market- 
houses  on  the  same  plan  were  afterward  built.     In  November 
and  December,  1859,  Market  street  was  relieved  of  these  build- 
ings, and  they  were  gradually  torn  down.     Other  parts  of  the 
city  were  accommodated  with  market-houses  of  the  same  style, 
some  of  which  still  exist.    The  plan  of  large  and  separate  build- 
ings for  market-houses  came  into  vogue  about  1854,  when  large 
buildings  were  erected  for  that  purpose,  on  the  east  side  of 
Broad  street  below  Eace  street,  now  the  City  Armory,  and  on 
Eace  street,  S.  W.  corner  of  Janjper  street,  now  head-quarters 
of  the  fire  department.     The  Western  Market,  N.  E.  corner 
of  Sixteenth  and  Market  streets,  was  opened  April  19,  1859. 
Since  that  period  many  spacious  market-house  buildings,  per- 
fectly ventilated  and  arranged,  large,  solid  and  costly,  have 
been  erected  in  various  parts  of  the  city,  which  are  generally 
owned  by  incorporated  companies. 

71 


72  MARKETS. 

The  principal  corporation  maTket-house  buildings  are  as 
follows : 

Eastern,  S.  E.  corner  of  Fifth  and  Merchant  streets,  below 
Market  street;  a  very  large  brick  building  with  stalls  for 
meats,  vegetables,  farmers'  produce,  fresh  oysters,  etc. 

Farmers',  north  side  of  Market  street,  between  Eleventh 
and  Twelfth,  extending  to  Filbert  street ;  a  very  large  and 
imposing  structure,  erected  by  farmers  of  Philadelphia,  Bucks, 
Chester,  Delaware,  Montgomery  and  other  counties.  This  is 
the  finest  market  structure  in  the  city,  and  well  worth  a  visit 
by  strangers. 

Franklin,  adjoining,  at  N.  E.  corner  of  Twelfth  street,  ex- 
tending to  Filbert  street.  Originally  this  market  was  on  the 
west  side  of  Tenth  street,  below  Market  street.  The  building 
is  now  occupied  by  the  Mercantile  Library  Company.  The 
present  building  was  erected  about  the  time  when  the 
Farmers'  Market  was  constructed. 

Central,  north  side  of  Market  street,  between  Sixteenth  and 
Seventeenth  streets,  extending  in  L  shape  through,  on  the 
northern  side,  to  Seventeenth  street.  The  company  originally 
constructed  the  building  on  N.  E.  corner  of  Sixteenth  and 
Market  streets,  now  occupied  as  a  freight  dep8t  by  Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad  Company. 

South -Western,  S.  E,  corner  of  Nineteenth  and  Market 
streets ;  a  large  brick  building  extending  to  Barker  street. 

Farmers'  Western,  N.  W.  corner  of  Twenty-first  and  Market 
streets. 

Fairmount,  a  spacious  building,  S.  W.  corner  of  Twenty- 
second  and  Spring  Garden  streets,  extending  to  Eeading 
Baikoad. 

Delaware  Avenue,  two  buildings,  extending  from  Delaware 
avenue  to  Front  street,  between  Spruce  and  Dock  streets. 
This  is  the  great  d6p5t  for  Jersey  produce,  oysters  and  fish. 

Union,  west  side  of  Second  street,  above  Callowhill  street. 

Lincoln,  S.  E.  corner  of  Broad  and  Fairmount  avenue; 
large  and  spacious,  with  a  hall  in  second  story  for  public 
meetings,  concerts,  etc. 


MARKETS. 


73 


South  Eleventh  Street,  near  Christian  street. 

Farmers  and  Butchers',  Christian  street,  near  Eighth  street. 

Germania,  S.  E.  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Poplar  streets; 
with  a  large  hall  for  public  purposes  in  second  story. 

Kater,  south  side  of  South  street,  between  Fifteenth  and 
Sixteenth  streets. 

Centennial,  Twenty-third  and  South  streets. 

Callowhill    Street,  south  side,  extending   from  Sixteenth 
street  to  Seventeenth  street. 

Kensington,   Kensington    avenue,  near  Fifth  and    Sixth 
(dummy)  Passenger  Eailway  d6p6t. 

Federal,  S.  E.  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Federal  streets. 
This  building  has  a  large  hall  in  second  story  for  meetings,  etc. 

Farmers'    West    Philadelphia,    Market    and    Thirty-sixth 
streets. 

West    Philadelphia,   Market    street,   north    side,   between 
Fortieth  and  Forty-first  streets. 

Mantua,  Haverford  street,  N.  E.  corner  of   Thirty-sixth 
street,  West  Philadelphia. 

Norris,  Norris  street,  near  North  Pennsylvania  Eailroad 
depot. 

Oxford,  N.  E.  corner  of  Twentieth  and  Oxford  streets. 

Columbia  Avenue,  N.  W.  corner  of  Twelfth  street. 
Frankford,  Euan  street,  between  Paul  and  Main  streets, 
Frankford,  Twenty -third  ward. 

Germantown,  Germantown  avenue,  between  School  and 
Queen  streets. 

Ridge  Avenue,  Farmers',  below  Girard  avenue. 

Northern  Liberties,  Delaware  avenue  and  Callowhill  street. 

Street  Markets  belong-ing  to  the  City  Corporation. 

South  Second  Street,  middle  of  Second  street,  from  Pine 
to  South  street. 

North  Second  Street,  or  Northern  Liberties,  North  Second 
street,  from  Fairmount  avenue  to  Poplar  street. 

Callowhill  Street,  Callowhill  street,  from  Fourth  to  Seventh 
streets. 

7 


74 


MARKETS. 


Spring  Garden  Street,  Spring  Garden  street,  from  Marshall 
to  Twelfth  street. 

Girard  Avenue,  east  from  Hancock  street  to  Third  street, 
from  Lawrence  street  to  Eighth  street,  from  Tenth  street  to 
Twelfth  street. 

Bainbridge  Street,  from  Third  street  to  Fifth  street. 

Wharton,  Moyamensing  road,  from  Prime  street  to  Whar- 
ton street. 


CHAPTEE    IV. 
CITY  TRAVEL.-FERRIES.— RIVER  81EA3IB0ATS. 

THERE  is  no  city  in  the  world  that  possesses  the  facilities 
of  cheap  transportation  with  which  Philadelphia  is 
favored.  A  system  of  street  railroads  has  been  adopted 
which  cross  or  pass  through  all  of  the  principal  streets. 

If  the  destination  of  the  passenger  is  on  or  near  the  line  of 
the  railway,  a  single  fare  or  ticket  will  carry  him  to  it.     If  it 
is  upon  a  cross  street  distant  from  the  street  on  which  he  is 
travelling,  he  may  frequently  reach  it  by  a  railway  running 
upon  the  cross  street  or  upon  the  next  parallel  street  on  either 
side.     In   some  cases  this  will   cost  him  two   fares   or  two 
tickets.     But  there  are  several  of  the  roads   crossing   each 
other  which  will  sell  to  any  passenger  an  exchange  ticket— that 
is,  a  ticket  which  will  carry  him  over  a  cross  road— so  that  a 
passenger,  by  securing  an  exchange  ticket,  can  reach  almost 
any  given  point  with  great  convenience  and  rapidity  and  at  a 
moderate  expense.     The  single  rate  of  fare  charged  on  all  the 
street  lines  is  seven  cents,  small  children  four  cents  each.     But 
tickets  good  on  any  road  for  a  single  ride  are  sold  in  pack- 
ages of  four  for  twenty-five  cents.    Where  an  exchange  ticket 
is  sold  on  any  other  line,  an  additional  charge  of  two  cents  is 
made,  so  that  for  nine  cents  one  may  travel  for  miles  in  any 
direction.     On  some  of  the  roads  night  lines  commence  to 
run  about  midnight.     Charge  on  night  lines,  ten  cents  per  pas- 
senger.    No  exchange  tickets,  nor  reduced  price  for  children. 
There  are  two  modes  of  taking  fare  in  these  cars,  one  by  a 
conductor,  who  notiiies  each  passenger  in  passing  through  the 
car,  and  the  other  by  means  of  a  box,  in  which  the  passenger 
must  deposit  the  exact  fare,  the  conductor  remaining  at  the 
entrance  and  giving  the  proper  change  or  tickets  as  may  be 

desired. 

75 


76  PASSENGER    RAILWAYS. 

On  the  roads  which  have  several  routes,  transfer  passes  are 
given  at  some  of  the  intersections,  which  carry  the  passenger 
in  other  cars  of  the  same  company  on  the  branch  route.  To 
furnish  the  necessary  information  to  strangers,  a  complete 
list  is  given  of  all  the  street  railroads,  with  the  color  of  cars, 
and  the  color  of  lights  used  at  night. 

Union  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Paek  and  Navy 
Yard  branch.— Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going  east  and  south 
— From  Park  entrance  down  Brown  to  Twenty-third,  to  Wal- 
lace, to  Franklin,  to  Eace,  to  Seventh,  to  Federal,  to  Front,  to 
Wharton.  Going  north  and  west — Along  Wharton  to  Ninth,  to 
Spring  Garden,  to  Twenty-third,  to  Park  entrance. 

EiCHMOND  AND  Baltimore  Eailroad  d^pot  branch. 
— Green  car,  green  light.  Going  south  and  west — From  dep6t, 
Norris  and  Thompson  streets,  down  Thompson  to  Marlbor- 
ough, to  Belgrade,  to  Frankford  avenue,  to  Master,  to  Franklin, 
to  Eace,  to  Seventh,  to  Passyunk  avenue,  to  Ellsworth,  to  Broad 
and  up  to  Baltimore  depot.  Going  north  and  east — Up  Broad 
to  Christian,  to  Ninth,  to  Spring  Garden,  near  Germantown 
Eailroad  depot,  to  Seventh,  to  Oxford,  to  Fourth,  to  Norris, 
passes  North  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  depot  and  Kensington 
Trenton  Eailroad  dep6t,  to  Memphis,  to  York,  to  Thomp- 
son, to  dep6t,  corner  Norris. 

Columbia  avenue  and  Market  street  branch.— Eed 
car,  orange  light.  Gowig  south  and  east — From  depot.  Twenty- 
third  and  Columbia  avenue,  down  Columbia  avenue  to  Frank- 
lin, to  Eace,  to  Seventh,  to  Market,  to  Front.  Going  west  and 
,;^ori!^— Eeturn  up  Market  to  Ninth,  to  Spring  Garden,  near 
Germantown  Eailroad  dep6t,  to  Seventh,  to  Columbia  avenue, 
to  Twenty -third,  to  dep6t. 

Spring  Garden  and  Poplar  street  branch.— Eed  (one- 
horse)  car,  red  light.  Going  east— From  Park  entrance  down 
Brown  to  Twenty-third,  to  Wallace,  to  Twenty-second,  to 
Spring  Garden,  passes  near  Germantown  Eailroad  depot,  to 
Seventh,  to  Poplar.  Going  tvest— Out  Poplar  to  Twenty-ninth, 
to  Park  entrance. 

Cedar  street  branch. — Green  car,  green  light.     Going 


PASSENGER   RAILWAYS.  ^  ^ 

nm-th—Fvom  York  up  Cedar  to  Somerset,  to  Eichmond  street. 
Going  south— Retuin  by  same  route. 

Christian  street  branch— Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going 
north  and  west— From  d6p5t,  Seventh  and  McKean,  to  Ninth, 
to  Ellsworth,  to  Twenty-third,  to  Christian.  Going  east  and 
south— Down  Christian  to  Seventh,  to  dep6t. 

Jefferson    street  buai^cb..— Going  east— Yiom  dep6t. 
Twenty-third  and  Columbia  avenue,  along  Columbia  avenue 
to  Twenty-fourth,  to  Jefferson,  to  Franklin,  to  Thompson,  to 
Front,  to  Columbia  avenue.     Going  west—V^  Columbia  ave-" 
nue  to  Franklin,  to  Master,  to  Twenty-third,  to  dep6t. 

Ridge  Avenue  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Yellow  car,  red 
light.  Going  south  and  ms^— From  d6p5t,  Thirty-second  and 
Eidge  avenue,  down  Eidge  avenue  to  Tenth,  to  Arch,  to  Second. 
Going  west  and  7iorth—Vp  Arch  to  Ninth,  to  Eidge  av.,  to  dep6t. 
Manayunk  branch.— Yellow  car,  yellow  light;  flag  with 
a  white  star  in  centre.  Going  north— Yiom  dep8t.  Thirty- 
second  and  Eidge  avenue,  along  Eidge  avenue  to  Main  street, 
to  Green  lane.     Going  south— netmn  over  same  route. 

Second  and  Third  streets  Passenger  Railway  Company. 
White  cars,  green  light.  Goi7ig  south— Ymm  depot,  Frankford 
road  below  Lehigh  avenue,  to  Jefferson  street,  up  Jefferson  to 
Second,  down  Second  to  Mifflin,  up  Mifflin  to  Third.  Goiiig 
y^or//i— Up  Third  to  Germantown  avenue,  to  Oxford,  to  Front, 
up  Front  to  Amber,  to  depdt. 

Frankford  branch.— White  car,  green  light;  in  daytime 
red  flag.  Going  north— Vip  Frankford  avenue  to  Paul  street, 
to  Arrott  street.  Eeturning  down  Main  to  Frankford  avenue, 
to  depot,  below  Lehigh  avenue. 

North  Pennsylvania  Eailro ad  depot  branch.— Green 
car,  orange  light.  Going  south— Vown  Frankford  avenue  to 
Huntingdon  street,  to  Coral,  to  Cumberland,  to  Emerald,  to 
Dauphin,  to  Third,  to  Berks,  passing  North  Pennsylvania 
Eaiboad  d6p5t,  to  Second,  to  Dock.  Going  north— To  Third, 
to  Germantown  avenue,  to  Oxford,  to  Third,  to  Berks,  passing 
North  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  d6p6t,  to  Second,  to  York,  to 
Coral,  to  Cumberland,  to  Amber,  to  d6p6t. 
7* 


78  PASSENGER   RAILWAYS. 

Richmond  branch. — Red  car,  red  light.  Going  south— 
Up  Lehigh  avenue  to  Richmond  street,  to  Frankford  avenue, 
to  Manderson,  to  Beach,  to  Laurel,  to  Delaware  avenue,  to 
Fairmount  avenue,  to  Second,  to  Dock,  to  Third.  Going  north 
— Up  Third  to  Brown,  to  Beach,  to  Manderson,  to  Frankford 
avenue,  to  Girard  avenue,  to  Norris,  to  Richmond  street,  to 
Lehigh  avenue,  to  depot,  corner  Edgemont  street. 

Bridesburg  branch. — White  car,  white  light.  Going 
north — Up  Lehigh  avenue  to  Richmond  street,  to  Bridge,  to 
Washington.     Going  south — Over  same  route  to  d6p5t. 

Front  street  branch. — White  car,  white  light.  Going 
south — From  Fairmount  avenue,  down  New  Market  to  Vine, 
to  Front,  to  Chestnut,     Going  north — Over  same  route. 

Allegheny  avenue  branch. — Yellow  car,  white  light. 
Going  north — From  Lehigh  avenue  up  Richmond  street  to 
Allegheny  avenue.     Going  south — Return  by  same  route. 

Cumberland  street  branch. — White  car,  white  light. 
Going  north — From  Richmond  street  up  Cumberland  to  Am- 
ber.    Going  south — Return  by  same  route. 

Frankford  and  Southwark  Railway  Company.  Fifth  and 
Sixth  streets.  Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going  south — From 
dep6t,  Kensington  avenue  and  Cumberland  street,  down  Ken- 
sington avenue  to  Front,  to  Kensington-Trenton  Railroad 
depot,  to  Berks,  to  North  Pennsylvania  Railroad  depot,  to 
Sixth  to  Jackson,  to  Fifth.  Going  north — ^Up  Fifth  to  Berks, 
passes  North  Pennsylvania  and  Kensington  Railroad  d6p&ts, 
to  Front,  to  Kensington  avenue,  to  d6p&t  corner  Cumberland. 

Lehigh  and  Powell  street  branch. — Green  car,  green 
light.  Going  south — From  dep6t  up  Kensington  avenue  to 
Lehigh  avenue,  to  Sixth  street,  down  Sixth  to  Powell,  to 
Fifth.  Going  north — Up  Fifth  to  Lehigh  avenue,  to  Ken- 
sington avenue,  to  d6p6t. 

Frankford  steam  (dummy)  branch. —  Going  n&rth — 
From  Kensington  avenue  dep5t  up  Kensington  avenue  to 
Frankford  road,  to  Arrott  street  dep5t.  Going  south — Return 
over  same  route. 

Germantown   Passenger   Railway  Company.     Fourth  and 


PASSENGER   RAILWAYS. 


79 


Eighth  streets.  Yellow  car,  green  light.  Going  south— Fvom 
dep6t,  Eighth  and  Dauphin  streets,  down  Dauphin  to  Ger- 
mantown  avenue,  to  Fourth,  to  Dickinson,  to  Eighth.  Going 
north— V^  Eighth  to  Columbia  avenue,  to  Seventh,  to  Susque- 
hanna avenue,  to  d6p6t,  Eighth  and  Dauphin. 

Walnut  steeet  beanch.— Yellow  car,  green  light.  Go- 
ing south— B&me  route  from  depot  to  Walnut,  to  Eighth. 
Going  north — Up  Eighth  to  dep6t. 

Geemantown  beanch.— Yellow  car,  green  light.  Going 
north — From  Dauphin  up  Eighth  to  Germantown  avenue,  to 
Germantown.     Going  south — Return  by  same  route. 

GiEAED  AVEKUE  BEANCH.— Yellow  Car,  red  light.  Going 
east—Fmm  Thirty-first  street  along  Girard  avenue  to  Pal- 
mer, to  Beach,  to  Shackamaxon.  Going  west— Yrom  Shack- 
amaxon  street  along  Girard  avenue,  crossing  the  bridge  and 
extending  to  Elm  avenue,  near  Exhibition  building. 

Citizens  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Tenth  and  Eleventh 
streets.  Yellow  car,  green  light.  Going  south— Fiom  depot, 
Tenth  street  and  Montgomery  avenue,  down  Tenth  to  Eeed, 
to  Eleventh.  Going  north— \J^  Eleventh  to  Diamond,  to 
Tenth,  to  depot  corner  Montgomery  avenue. 

Mifflin  steeet  beanch. — Yellow  (one-horse)  car,  red 
light.  Going  south— Dovfn  Tenth  to  Mifflin,  to  Twelfth.  Go- 
ing north — Up  Twelfth  to  Wharton,  to  Tenth. 

Empire  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Twelfth  and  Six- 
teenth streets.  Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going  south— Fmm  dep5t, 
Twelfth  street  and  Montgomery  avenue,  down  Twelfth  to  Whar- 
ton, to  Seventeenth,  to  Carpenter,  to  Sixteenth.  Going  north— 
Up  Sixteenth  to  Montgomery  avenue,  to  depot  corner  Twelfth. 
Thirteenth  and  Fifteenth  streets  Passenger  Railway  Com- 
pany. Columbia  avenue  beanch. — Green  car,  green  light. 
Going  north— From  Philadelphia,  Wilmington  and  Baltimore 
Railroad  depot,  at  Broad  street  and  Washington  avenue,  up 
Broad  to  Carpenter,  to  Fifteenth,  to  Master,  to  Ridge  avenue, 
to  Columbia  avenue,  to  Thirteenth.  Going  south — Down  Thir- 
teenth, passing  Reading  Railroad  depot  at  CallowUill  street, 
to  Carpenter,  to  Broad,  to  depot  above  Washington  avenue. 


80  PASSENGER    RAILWAYS. 

NoERis  STEEET  BKAJSTCH. — Yellow  Car,  red  light.  Going 
north — From  Broad  and  Washington  avenue  to  Carpenter,  to 
Fifteenth,  to  Columbia  avenue,  to  Broad,  to  Norris,  to  Thir- 
teenth. Going  south — Down  Thirteenth  to  Carpenter,  to 
Broad,  to  depot  above  Washington  avenue. 

North  Broad  street  branch. — Yellow  (one-horse)  car. 
red  light.  Going  north — From  Norris  up  Broad  to  New  York 
Eailroad  Junction  depot.     Back  over  same  route. 

South  Broad  street  branch. — Yellow  car,  red  light. 
Going  south — From  Baltimore  Railroad  depSt,  above  Washing- 
ton avenue,  down  Broad,  to  Jackson.     Return  by  same  route. 

Seventeenth  and  Nineteenth  streets  Passenger  Railway 
Company.  Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going  south — From  depot, 
Nineteenth  and  Master,  up  Nineteenth  to  Norris,  to  Seven- 
teenth, to  Carpenter,  to  Nineteenth.  Going  north — Up  Nine- 
teenth to  dep6t. 

Green  and  Coates  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Green  car, 
red  light.  Going  east  and  south — From  Fairmount  avenue  en- 
trance of  Park  down  Fairmount  avenue  to  Twenty-second,  to 
Green,  to  Fourth,  to  Dickinson,  to  Eighth.  Going  north  and 
west — Up  Eighth  to  Fairmount  avenue,  to  the  Park. 

Walnut  street  branch. — Going  east  and  south — From 
Park  entrance  via  Fairmount  avenue  and  Fourth  street  to 
Walnut,  to  Eighth.  Going  north  and  west — From  Walnut  up 
Eighth  to  Fairmount  avenue,  and  then  west  to  Park  entrance. 

Delaware  Eiver  branch. — Green  (one-horse)  car,  red 
light.  Going  west — From  Green  up  Beach  to  Fairmount 
avenue,  to  Eighth.  Going  east — Return  down  Fairmount 
avenue  to  Fourth,  to  Green,  to  Beach. 

People's  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Callowhill  street. 
Yellow  car,  orange  light.  Going  west — From  Camden  and  At- 
lantic steamboat  wharf,  Vine  street  and  Delaware  River, 
along  Vine  to  Fourth  and  York  avenue,  along  York  avenue 
to  Callowhill,  to  Park  entrance  and  bridge  at  Schuylkill 
River.  Going  east — Along  same  route  from  Schuylkill  River, 
to  Front  street,  to  Vine,  to  wharf. 

Hestonvtile,  Mantua   and    Fairmount  Passenger    Railroad. 


PASSENGER   RAILWAYS. 


81 


Yellow  cars,  red  lights.  Going  east—Fvom  d6p6t  on  Lancas- 
ter avenue  and  Somerset  street,  along  Lancaster  avenue  to 
Haverford  street,  to  Thirtieth,  to  Bridge  street,  over  the  bridge, 
lower  deck,  to  Callowhill,  to  Hamilton,  to  Twenty-second,  to 
Race,  to  Second,  to  Walnut,  to  Dock.  Eeturning,  going  west, 
via  Third,  to  Vine,  to  Twenty-third,  to  Spring  Garden,  over 
the  bridge,  upper  deck,  to  Lancaster  and  Belmont  avenues 
and  the  Exhibition  buildings. 

Zoological  Gardens  branch. — Same  route.  From 
Spring  Garden  street  north  on  Thirty-fifth  to  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  bridge.  Return  over  same  route  to  Haverford  and 
Spring  Garden  streets. 

Hestonville  branch.— Green  car,  red  light.  Going  west 
—From  dep6t,  out  Lancaster  avenue  to  Fifty-second,  Hes- 
tonville,  and  along  Fifty-second  to  Elm  avenue  and  Park  at 
George's  Hill.     Going  easi!— Return  over  same  route. 

Arch  street  branch.— Yellow  car,  green  light.  Going 
east— Fvom  dep6t,  Twenty-sixth  and  Callowhill  streets,  down 
Biddle  street  to  Twenty-fifth,  up  Twenty-fifth  to  Spring  Gar- 
den, down  to  Twentieth,  to  Arch,  to  Second.  Going  west-— 
Up  Arch  to  Twenty-first  street,  to  Callowhill,  to  depot. 

West  Philadelphia  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Market 
street.  Yellow  car,  red  light.  Going  east—FYom  depot,  Forty- 
first  and  Haverford  streets,  down  Forty-first  to  Market,  passes 
Pennsylvania  Railroad  depot  at  Thirty-first,  and  down  Market 
to  Front.     Going  west — Return  over  same  route. 

Haddington  branch.— Green  car,  white  light.  Going 
west— Out  Haverford  from  Forty-first  to  Sixty-seventh.  Go- 
ing east — Return  over  same  route. 

Fairmount  Park  branch. — Blue  car.  Going  north — 
From  depot,  Haverford  and  Forty-first  streets,  up  Forty-first 
to  Elm  street,  to  main  entrance.  Going  south — On  Elm  ave- 
nue to  Fortieth  street,  to  Market,  to  Front,  and  returning  to 
Forty-first,  to  d6p6t. 

Philadelphia  City  Passenger  Railway,  via  Chestnut  and 
Walnut  streets.  Green  cars,  red  lights.  These  cars,  going 
east,  leave  the  dep8t  near  Forty-second  street  on  Chestnut, 

F 


82  PASSENGER   RAILWAYS. 

pass  West  Chester  Railroad  d6p6t  at  Thirty-first  street,  and  go 
directly  down  Chestnut  to  Front  street,  and  then  through 
Front  to  Walnut  street,  and  near  Pennsylvania  Eailroad 
freight  d6p6t  wharf.  Going  west  along  Walnut  street  to 
Twenty-second,  returning  to  Chestnut  street,  and  back  to  the 
depot,  crossing  all  the  streets  from  Second  to  Forty-first  street. 
Branch  Line  to  International  Exhibition,  Fairmount 
Park. — Yellow  cars,  orange  light.  Same  routes  on  Chestnut 
and  Walnut  streets.  Turns  northward  at  Thirty-second  and 
Chestnut  streets ;  up  Thirty -second,  near  Pennsylvania  Rail- 
road dep6t,  to  Lancaster  avenue,  to  Belmont  avenue  and  Elm 
avenue.     Returning  by  same  streets  to  Chestnut,  etc. 

Branch  Line  to  Darby. — Red  cars,  white  lights.  Going 
y,est — Same  route  on  Walnut  and  Chestnut  streets  to  Wood- 
land avenue,  by  the  avenue  and  Darby  road  to  Darby,  Dela- 
ware county.  Return  same  route.  A  single  fare  on  this  route 
carries  the  passenger  to  or  from  Forty-first  street  and  Wood- 
land avenue.     Fare  to  Darby,  sixteen  cents. 

Branch  Line  to  Mount  Moriah  Cemetery. — Blue  cars, 
white  lights.  Over  same  route  to  Mount  Moriah  lane  and 
cemetery.  Returning,  same  route.  Fare  to  Mount  Moriah, 
twelve  cents. 

Philadelphia  and  Gray's  Ferry  Railway  Company— Spruce 
and  Pine.  White  car,  red  light.  Going  east— From  Gray's 
Ferry  bridge,  up  Gray's  Ferry  road  to  Christian,  down  Chris- 
tian to  Twenty-third,  to  dep6t  near  Spruce,  to  Third,  to  Wal- 
nut and  Dock.  Going  west—Do^n  Dock  to  Second,  to  Pine, 
to  Twenty-third,  to  Gray's  Ferry  road,  to  the  bridge. 

Schuylkill  River  Fairmount  Park  branch.— 6^ow^ 
west  and  north— Ssime  route  on  Pine  to  Twenty-third,  north  to 
Callowhill,  to  Twenty-fifth,  to  Green  street  Park  entrance. 
Going  south— Down  Twenty-fifth  to  Hamilton,  to  Twenty- 
second,  to  Filbert,  to  Twenty-third,  to  Walnut,  to  Twenty- 
second,  to  Spruce  and  east  to  Exchange. 

United  States  Arsenal  branch.— D6p6t  Twenty-third 
and  Spruce  streets.  White  car,  red  light.  Boiite—&ame  as 
Gray's  Ferry  line,  as  far  as  the  Arsenal. 


PASSENGER   RAIIiWAYS.  83 

Lombard  and  South  streets  Passenger  Railway  Company. 

D6pot  Twenty -fifth  and  South  streets.  Yellow  car,  red  light. 
Going  east — Through  depot,  Twenty-fifth  street  and  South  street 
to  Lombard,  down  Lombard  to  Front,  to  Dock,  to  Delaware 
avenue.  Going  west — From  Dock  street  and  Delaware  avenue 
up  Dock  to  Front,  to  South,  to  depot  at  Twenty-fifth  and  South. 

Passyunk  aven^ue  BEAis^CH. — ^Eed  car,  red  light.  Going 
south — From  Fourth  and  Lombard,  down  Fourth  to  South,  to 
Passyunk  avenue,  to  Juniper,  to  Snyder  avenue,  to  depot, 
west  of  Thirteenth.  Going  north — Down  Snyder  avenue  to 
Twelfth,  to  Dickinson,  to  Eighth,  to  Christian,  to  Fifth,  to 
Lombard,  to  Fourth. 

West  End  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Centennial 
BEANCH. — Going  north  and  west — From  Baltimore  avenue  up 
Fortieth  to  Lancaster  avenue,  to  Forty-first,  to  Elm  avenue, 
around  Fairmount  Park  to  Belmont  gate.  Going  east  and 
south — Eeturn  by  Elm  avenue  to  Fortieth,  to  Lancaster  ave- 
nue, to  Thirty-eighth,  to  Woodland  avenue. 

Zoological  Gardens  branch. — Going  north — From 
Thirty-ninth  and  Baltimore  avenue  along  Baltimore  avenue 
to  Fortieth,  to  Locust,  to  Thirty-sixth,  to  Powelton  avenue,  to 
Thirty-fifth,  to  Zoological  Garden.  Going  south — On  Thirty- 
fifth  to  Eadline  street,  to  Thirty-third,  to  Walnut,  to  Thirty- 
sixth,  to  Locust,  to  Thirty-eighth,  to  Woodland  avenue,  to 
Baltimore  avenue. 

Manayunk  and  Roxborough  Inclined  Plane  Passenger  Rail- 
way Company.  Route — On  Eidge  avenue,  from  Barren  Hill 
to  Wissahickon  station  on  Eeading  Eailroad,  and  return. 

Continental  Passenger  Railway  Company.  Going  south — 
From  d6p6t,  north-west  corner  of  Twentieth  and  Montgomery 
avenue,  down  Twentieth  to  Eidge  avenue,  to  South  College 
avenue,  to  Corinthian  avenue,  to  Parrish,  to  Twentieth,  to 
Federal.  Going  north  —  Federal  to  Eighteenth,  to  Francis,  to 
Perkiomen,  to  Vineyard,  to  Eighteenth,  to  Montgomery  ave- 
nue, to  Twentieth. 

Filbert  and  Sansom  streets  branch. — Going  east — On 
Filbert  street  from  Twentieth,  to  Seventh,  south  to  Sansom. 
Going  west — Sansom  from  Seventh,  to  Eighteenth  street. 


84         FERRIES,    ETC. — CARRIAGES   AND    HACKS. 

FERRIES  AND  RIVER  STEAMBOATS  ON  THE  DELAWARE. 
Ferries  to  New  Jersey. 

From  upper  side  of  Market  street  to  Federal  street,  Camden. 

From  lower  side  of  Market  street  to  Market  street,  Camden. 

From  Vine  street  to  Cooper's  Point,  Camden. 

From  South  street,  upper  side,  to  Kaighn's  Point,  Camden. 

From  South  street,  lower  side,  to  Gloucester. 

From  Shackamaxon  street  to  Cooper's  Point,  Camden. 
River  Steamboat  Lines. 

For  up-river  towns  and  Bristol  and  Burlington,  from  Chest- 
nut street  wharf. 

For  Trenton  and  intermediate  towns,  from  foot  of  Arch  street. 

For  down-river  towns  and  Chester  and  Wilmington,  foot  of 
Chestnut  street. 

For  Chester,  New  Castle,  Delaware  City  and  Salem,  foot  of 
Arch  street. 

On  the  Schuylkill  River. 
For   Zoological    Gardens,   Belmont,   Centennial    grounds, 
Falls,   Wissahickon   and    Manayunk,   from   wharf   opposite 
Coates  street  entrance  to  the  Park. 

CARRIAGES  AND  HACKS. 

The  following  rules  and  charges  are  authorized  by  the  city 
government. 

That  the  prices  or  rates  of  fare  to  be  taken  by  or  paid  to 
the  owners  or  drivers  of  hackney  carriages,  unless  otherwise 
expressly  and  mutually  agreed  upon,  shall  be  as  follows,  to 
wit: 

For  carrying  one  passenger  any  distance  not  exceeding  one 
mile,  the  sum  of  seventy-five  cents;  two  passengers,  one  dollar 
and  twenty-five  cents;  and  for  every  additional  passenger, 
twenty-five  cents. 

For  conveying  one  passenger  any  distance  more  than  a  mile, 
and  not  exceeding  two  miles,  one  dollar  and  a  quarter ;  two 
passengers,  one  dollar  and  seventy -five  cents;  and  for  every 
additional  passenger,  twenty-five  cents. 


CARRIAGES    AND    HACKS. 


85 


For  carrying  a  passenger  any  distance  over  two  miles,  for 
any  such  additional  mile  or  part  of  a  mile,  the  sum  of  fifty 
cents  in  addition  to  the  fare  for  the  first  two  miles,  and  for 
every  additional  passenger,  fifty  cents. 

For  the  use  of  a  carriage  from  a  public  stand  (commonly 
called  hackney  carriages)  by  the  hour,  with  one  or  two 
passengers,  for  the  purpose  of  going  from  place  to  place,  and 
stopping  as  often  as  may  be  required,  one  dollar  and  a  half 
per  hour,  and  for  every  additional  passenger,  twenty-five  cents. 
In  all  cases  where  the  hiring  of  a  hackney  carriage  is  not 
at  the  time  specified  to  be  by  the  hour,  it  shall  be  deemed  to 
be  by  the  mile ;  but  in  case  the  distance  shall  be  more  than 
four  miles,  the  rate  to  be  charged  for  each  additional  mile 
shall  be  fifteen  cents  for  each  passenger,  as  herein  provided. 
In  all  cases  a  mile  shall  be  taken,  and  construed  to  mean, 
twelve  blocks  of  one  hundred  numbers  on  numbered  streets. 

Whenever  any  such  carriage  not  engaged  by  the  hour  shall 
be  detained  by  the  passenger  or  passengers,  the  owner  or  driver 
shall  be  allowed  at  the  rate  of  seventy-five  cents  per  hour,  in 
addition  to  the  rates  hereby  established. 

For  children  between  five  and  fourteen  years  of  age  half 
price  only  is  to  be  charged,  and  for  children  under  five  years 
of  age  no  charge  is  to  be  made,  if  not  more  than  one  such 
child  to  each  two  grown  persons. 

Every  driver  or  owner  of  a  hackney  carriage  shall  carry, 
transport  and  convey  in  and  upon  his  carriage,  in  addition  to 
the  grown  person  or  persons  therein,  one  trunk,  valise,  saddle 
bag,  carpet-bag,  portmanteau  or  box,  not  exceeding  one  hun- 
dred pounds  in  weight,  if  requested  to  do  so,  without  charge 
or  compensation  therefor ;  but  for  every  such  trunk  or  other 
articles  above  named  more  than  one  for  each  passenger,  he 
shall  be  entitled  to  demand  and  receive  six  cents. 

There  shall  be  placed  within  every  hackney  carriage,  in  a 
conspicuous  place  therein,  at  all  times,  a  card  which  shall 
contain  the  registered  number  of  such  carriage,  the  name 
and  residence  of  the  owner  thereof,  and  copies  of  the  ninth, 
tenth  and  eleventh  sections  of  the  ordinance  for  regulation 
ef  hacks,  etc. 


86  CAKRIAGES,    EXPRESS    AND    TELEGRAPH^ 

That  if  any  owner,  driver  or  person  having  charge  of  ai:y 
such  carriage  shall  a&k  or  demand  any  greater  sum  than  he 
may  be  entitled  to  demand  as  herein  set  forth,  he  shall  forfeit 
all'  claim  for  compensation  for  the  services  for  which  such 
greater  sum  shall  have  been  demanded  ;  and  no  owner,  driver 
or  person  aforesaid  shall  offer  for  employment  any  carriage 
wherein  the  card  mentioned  in  the  tenth  section  of  the  or- 
dinance shall  not  be  placed. 

It  is  an  offence  for  the  driver  or  person  having  charge  of 
a  hackney  carriage  while  unemployed  at  a  stand  to  refuse  to 
convey  persons  and  their  baggage  if  application  is  made 
for  that  purpose.  The  number  of  each  carriage  is  required 
to  be  placed  on  the  centre  panel  of  each  door,  and  upon  the 

lamps. 

About  twelve  squares  may  be  counted  as  a  mile,  and  may 
be  calculated  as  follows :  From  Chestnut  street  north  to  Girard 
avenue  or  south  to  Federal  street  is  one  mile.  From  the  Dela- 
ware River  to  Twelfth  street  is  one  mile.  From  the  Delaware 
to  the  Schuykill  is  two  miles. 

Hotel  omnibuses  and  stages  will  be  found  at  most  of  the 
railway  stations,  and  the  fare  is  less  than  in  the  hacks  or 
carriages,  generally  fifty  cents  for  each  passenger. 
EXPRESS   COMPANIES. 
One  of  the  great  enterprises  of  the  country  is  the  introduc- 
tion of  express  companies  for  the  rapid  forwarding  of  pack- 
ages, trunks,  merchandise  and  bullion.     There  is  no  State  in 
the  Union  but  what  enjoys  the  advantages  of  this  rapid  method 
of  shipment.     Offices  of  the  Adams  Express  and  the  Central 
Express  at  531  Chestnut  street  and  Eleventh  street  near  Mar- 
ket.    Reading  Railroad  Express  office,  624  Chestnut  street. 
TELEGRAPH   COMPANIES. 
Philadelphia    Local   Telegraph  Company.      This  company 
will  forward  messages  to  any  part  of  the  city,  the  charge  be- 
ing twenty  cents  for  a  message  of  not  over  ten  words.     The 
main  office  is  107  South  Third  street,  but  sub-offices  may  be 
found  in  aU  sections  of  the  city. 


TELEGRAPH  COMPANIES BAGGAGE.      87 

The  Western  Union  Telegraph  Company  and  the  Atlantic 
and  Pacific  Company  are  both  in  connection  with  all  points 
on  the  American  continent,  and  also  by  cable  with  all  parts 
of  the  known  world.  Sub-offices  may  be  found  in  all  the 
principal  hotels,  where  a  tariff  of  charges  may  be  obtained. 

The  American  District  Telegraph.    This  invaluable  insti- 
tution has  been  largely  adopted  in  Philadelphia.     By  the  use 
of  a  small  instrument  like  a  clock,  fixed  up  in  stores,  offices 
or  dwellings,  messengers  are  called  from  the  nearest  district 
office  in  a  very  short  space  of  time,  and  will  be  ready  for  any 
duty  with  which  they  may  be  entrusted.     If  needed,  a  police- 
man appears  at  the  call  of  the  instrument.     Should  a  con- 
flagration be  threatened,  another  turn,  and  a  fireman  with 
his  extinguisher  is  at  hand  ready  for  service.     The  corps  of 
messenger  boys  employed  by  the  District  Telegraph  Company 
are  well  instructed  to  act  a&  guides,  interpreters  and  messengers ; 
prompt  and  active,  they  have  become  a  public  necessity.    The 
charge  for  their  use  varies  from  ten  cents  upward,  depending 
upon  the  distance  to  be  travelled. 

BAGGAGE. 
Travellers  will  find  the  present  system  of  baggage  express 
very   convenient.     Parties   leaving  the  city  can  have  their 
trunks  and  packages  called  for  at  their  hotels  or  residences, 
and  carried  to  railroad  depots  or  steamboat  wharves.     The 
general  system  is  this:  notice  being  given  at  the  express  office 
or  at  a  railroad  general-ticket  office  (except  the  ticket  offices 
at  the  railroad  depots  or  points  of  starting),  the  baggage  will 
be  called  for.     If  the  traveller  has  purchased  a  ticket  to  his 
point  of  destination,  and  produces  the  ticket  at  the  baggage 
express  office,  his  baggage  can  be  checked  through  to  the 
place  of  his  destination  upon  a  single  check.     This  check 
will  be  delivered  by  the  express  carriers  when  they  receive 
the  trunk  or  article  to  be  sent,  and  upon  payment  of  the  ex- 
press charges.     If  the  traveller   is  stopping  at  a  hotel,  the 
through- check  will  be  left  with  the  clerk,  or  the  traveller 
himself  if  he  should  happen  to  be  present  when  the  baggage 


88  BAGGAGE. 

is  called  for.  Under  such  conditions  the  traveller  is  relieved 
from  all  anxiety  upon  account  of  his  baggage  when  he  arrives 
at  the  railroad  or  other  dep6t.  He  may  take  his  seat  and 
proceed  on  his  journey.  All  that  he  will  have  to  do  will  be 
to  present  his  baggage  check  to  the  baggage  master  when  he 
arrives  at  the  point  of  destination. 

If  the  traveller  who  goes  to  the  express  office,  and  who 
makes  arrangements  for  the  carrying  of  his  baggage,  should 
not  happen  to  have  his  ticket  with  him,  he  may  leave  an 
order  for  the  carriage  of  his  baggage  from  his  hotel  or  resi- 
dence to  the  railroad  depot  or  steamboat  wharf  in  this  city. 
When  his  baggage  is  received  and  charges  paid,  he  will  re- 
ceive a  claim-check  corresponding  in  number  to  the  check 
upon  the  article  to  be  carried.  In  that  case  it  is  his  duty  to  be 
at  the  depot  sufficiently  long  before  the  starting-time  to  go  to 
the  baggage-master  and  exchange  his  city  express  claim-check 
for  a  check  to  carry  his  article  to  his  destination.  In  that 
case  also  he  must  bear  in  mind  that  his  baggage  will  not  be 
checked  through  unless  he  produces  his  passage  ticket. 

There  are  two  principal  baggage  express  companies  in 
Philadelphia,  and  in  addition  orders  for  expressing  baggage 
w411  be  taken  at  the  railroad  ticket  offices  (except  dep&t 
offices)  upon  the  purchase  of  a  ticket  at  any  of  such  offices. 
The  general  rule  is  the  same  at  all  offices  as  we  have  above 
described. 

The  Union  Transfer  Baggage  Express  office  is  at  the  S.  E. 
corner  of  Ninth  and  Chestnut  street,  in  the  Continental  Hotel. 
This  office  carries  baggage  to  and  from  the  city  dep5ts,  and 
gives  through-checks,  under  the  regulations  above  mentioned, 
to  any  city,  town  or  station  upon  the  line  of  the  following 
railroads :  Pennsylvania,  Baltimore  and  Ohio,  Philadelphia, 
Wilmington  and  Baltimore,  Eeading,  Baltimore  Central, 
Camden  and  Atlantic  and  West  Chester,  and  upon  all  roads 
connected  with  them  for  stations  on  which  tickets  are  sold. 

Mann's  North  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  Express,  S.  W.  cor- 
ner of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets,  carries  baggage  to  and  from 
the  North  Pennsylvania   Eailroad  dep6t,  and  to  anv  other 


SPECIAL    TICKET    OFFICES,    ETC. 


89 


dep6t  when  ordered ;  gives  througli-checks,  tickets  being  pre- 
viously bought,  upon  the  North  Pennsylvania,  Lehigh  Valley, 
New  Jersey  Central,  and  New  York  and  Erie  Railroads. 

Tickets  for  the  railroads  named  are  sold  at  the  baggage  ex- 
press office.  They  are  also  sold  at  the  various  d6p6ts  of  the 
railroad  companies  and  at  special  offices  established  by  the 
railroad  companies  as  follows : 

SPECIAL   TICKET   OFFICES. 
Pennsylvania  Railroad,  S.  E.  corner  Broad  and  Chestnut 
street,  116  Market  street. 

Reading,  St.   Elmo  Hotel,   317   Arch,  624  Chestnut,  732 

Chestnut. 

Baltimore  and  Ohio,  700  Chestnut. 

Philadelphia,  Wilmington  and  Baltimore,  700  Chestnut. 

Camden  and  Atlantic  (for  Atlantic  City),  Broad  and  Chest- 
nut 4  Chelton  avenue,  Germantown. 

West  Jersey  (for  Cape  May),  Broad  and  Chestnut,  116 
Market,  4  Chelton  avenue,  Germantown. 

New  York  and  Erie,  732  Chestnut. 

North  Pennsylvania,  732  Chestnut. 

Lehigh  Valley,  732  Chestnut. 

RAILROAD  PASSENGER  DEPOTS. 
Pennsylvania,  Market  and  Thirty-first,  for  Southern,  West- 
ern and  New  York  lines ;  Broad  street  and  connecting  railroad 
junction  for  New  York  lines;  Kensington  d^pdt,  Front  and 
Berks,  for  Northern  Pennsylvania,  Northern  New  Jersey  and 
New  York  lines ;  Market  street  wharf,  Delaware  avenue,  for 
East,  West  and  North  New  Jersey,  Cape  May  and  New  York 

lines.  ^       , 

Philadelphla,Wilmington  and  Baltimore,  N.W.  corner  Broad 

and  Washington  avenue,  for  Baltimore,  Washington  and  the 
South  and  West. 

Reading,  N.  W.  corner  of  Thirteenth  and  CallowhiU,  lor 
the  North  and  West;  N.  E.  corner  Ninth  and  Green,  for  Ger- 
mantown, Norristown,  etc. 
8  * 


90  RAILROAD  DEPOTS— RAILROADS. 

North  Pennsylvania,  corner  of  Berks  and  American  streets, 
for  the  North  and  West. 

West  Chester,  Chestnut  and  Thirty-first. 

Camden  and  Atlantic,  wharf,  Vine  street  and  Delaware 
avenue. 

West  Jersey  (Cape  May),  Market  street  wharf. 

RAILROADS. 
The  Pennsylvania  Railroad.  The  city  of  Philadelphia  owes 
much  of  its  progress  in  recent  years  to  the  rapid  extension  of 
this  road,  which,  by  its  connections  with  all  sections  of  the 
United  States,  presents  facilities  for  rapid  transit  and  commu- 
nication which  are  unequalled  by  any  other  city  in  the  Union. 
The  offices  of  the  president  and  directors  and  chiefs  of  execu- 
tive departments  of  this  road  are  in  a  very  large  marble  build- 
ing situated  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Fourth  street  and  Wil- 
ling's  alley,  below  Walnut  street,  each  department  having  its 
separate  suite  of  offices,  and  managed  with  a  most  admirable 
system.  The  total  number  of  miles  of  road  operated  and 
controlled  by  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  is  estimated  at  over 
two  thousand,  with  one  thousand  locomotives,  half  as  many 
first-class  passenger  cars,  and  over  twenty-five  thousand  freight 
cars,  used  in  transporting  grain,  cotton,  petroleum  and  mer- 
chandise. The  workshops  of  the  company  are  located  at 
Jersey  City,  Altoona,  Johnstown  and  other  points,  and  are 
very  extensive  and  complete.  The  total  assets  of  the  com- 
pany have  been  placed  as  high  as  one  hundred  and  eighty 
millions  of  dollars,  and  the  creditable  management  of  its 
finances  has  retained  the  values  of  its  stock  through  all  the 
depression  of  the  past  few  years.  The  principal  passenger 
dep8t  of  the  road  is  located  on  Market  street,  in  West  Phila- 
delphia, across  the  Schuylkill.  While  nothing  can  be  said 
in  praise  of  the  style  of  the  depot  itself,  which  is  not  very 
creditable  to  the  road,  yet  the  amount  of  travel  in  every 
direction  occasions  daily  a  busy  scene  well  worthy  the  atten- 
tion of  visitors.  There  are  track  accommodations  here  for 
over  ten  thousand  freight  cars,  and  there  is  but  little  time 


KAILROADS.  ^1 


lost  between  the  arriyal  and  departure  of  the  numerous  trains^ 
The  principal  freight  d6p3ts  occupy  the  block  of  ground 
bounded  by  Market,  Filbert,  Fifteenth  and  &xteenth  streets 
and  at  Delaware  ayenue  and  Dock  street,  extending  to  Water 
street  and  north  to  Walnut.  Passenger  d6p8ts  at  Market  and 
Thirty-first  streets,  Kensington,  Front  and  Berks  streets,  and 
Market  street  wharf,  Delaware  avenue. 

The  PennsyWauia  Railroad  was  chartered  on  the  ISt^^  »f  ^P"'' 
1S4B  with  power  to  build  a  railroad  from  Harnsburg  to  Pittsburg 
Tht  rTute  of  travel  and  transportation  between  Philadelphia  and 
PittsbuTwas,  after  the  days  of  the  Conestoga  wagon,  opened  by 
failroad  aid  canal.  In  1828  the  Columbia  and  Portage  railroads 
were  authorized  to  be  built,  the  intervening  links  of  communication 
were  a"*""™^  '^^^    Columbia  Kailroad  was  projected  to 

SCrPhifaddpta,  ^0  miles,  to  the  town  of  Columbia,  upon 
thfsusquehanna  Eiver.    From  this  place  the  east  division  of   he 
Pennsylvania  Canal  extended  172  miles  to  Ho  lidaysburg.    At  he 
fatter  place  the  Portage  Railroad,  36  miles  in  length,  mounted  the 
A  ShanTes  by  a  series  of  inclined  planes,  and  descending  on  the  west 
fermSated  at  Johnstown,  from  which  there  was  canal  navigation  104 
mnrttpittsburg.    Ap'ait  of  the  Columbia  ^-Iroadwa.  opened 
in  1831.    The  whole  hne  was  ready  for  use  in  1834     Twelve  years 
exnerience  of  this  method  of  communication,  and  the  belief  that 
n^nering  skill  might  build  a  railroad  which  could  scale  the  Alle- 
shinies  led  to  the  project  of  the  Pennsylvania  Eailioad.     It  was 
fonsWed'with  gre'at  tapidity,  and  when  opened  soon  l«oame  a 
o-reat  route  of  travel.    The  State  works  became  unprofitalDle.    Ac 
oulshions  weve  made  of  new  links,  until  finally  the  whole  of  the 
irnnsvlvaria  State  line  of  railroad  between  Columbia  and  Phila- 
delphfa,  as  well  as  the  canals  west  of  Columbia,  became  the  property 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company. 

Philadelphia  and  Reading  Railroad.  The  offices  of  this  road 
are  also  located  on  Fourth  street,  at  the  north-east  corner  of 
WiUing's  alley,  immediately  opposite  those  of  the  Pennsyl- 
vania Railroad.  The  magnificent  building  is  of  brown  stone, 
and  very  thoroughly  adapted  for  the  use  of  the  company  in 
its  various  departments.  The  Reading  Railroad  ha«  its  special 
connections  with  the  principal  points  in  the  coal  region,  and 
from  there,  and  through  its  means,  this  gi-eat  source  of  wealth 
is  distributed  to  all  sections  of  the  United  States.    The  com- 


92  RAILROADS. 

pany  owns  and  controls  over  fourteen  hundred  miles  of  road, 
has  over  four  hundred  locomotives,  over  sixteen  thousand 
coal  cars,  thirty-six  hundred  freight  cars,  and  two  hundred 
and  twenty-five  passenger  cars.  The  passenger  and  freight 
depots  of  this  road  are  located  at  Thirteenth  and  Callowhill 
streets  and  Ninth  and  Green  streets.  Coal  d6p6ts  at  Port 
Richmond. 

The  improvement  of  the  navigation  of  the  river  Schuylkill  was  a 
favorite  subject  of  interest  with  the  people  of  Philadelphia  before 
the  Revolution.  Various  schemes  of  slack-water  and  canal  naviga- 
tion were  discussed  and  abandoned.  The  Union  Canal  Company, 
chartered  in  1811,  was  intended  to  extend  by  way  of  the  Schuylkill 
River  to  Reading,  and  by  practicable  routes  to  the  Susquehanna. 
The  Schuylkill  JSTavigation  Company,  chartered  in  1814,  was  so  far 
finished  in  1818  as  to  allow  the  descent  of  boats.  It  was  108 
miles  in  length,  and  extended  to  Port  Carbon,  in  Schuylkill  county. 
When  the  value  of  anthracite  as  a  fuel  became  sufficiently  acknow- 
ledged to  allow  the  commencement  of  a  trade  in  the  article,  the 
Schuylkill  Navigation  Company  was  found  to  have  its  terminus  in 
the  coal  regions,  and  soon  began  to  enjoy  a  very  profitable  trade.  It 
may  be  said  that  from.  1830  to  1842  it  had  the  monopoly  of  the  coal 
business  of  the  Schuylkill  valley.  The  Reading  Railroad  Company 
was  chartered  on  the  4th  of  April,  1833,  to  build  a  railroad  from 
Philadelj)hia  to  Reading.  There  were  many  discouragements  and 
difficulties,  and  it  was  eleven  years  after  the  charter  was  obtained 
before  the  railroad  was  finished  from  Pottsville  to  Philadelphia.  On 
the  8th  day  of  January,  1842,  the  road  was  opened.  Seventy-five 
cars,  with  two  thousand  one  hundred  and  fifty  persons,  music  and 
banners,  were  drawn  to  the  city  by  a  single  engine,  while  a  train  of  fifty- 
two  burden  cars,  with  one  hundred  and  eighty  tons  of  coal,  followed; 
and  when  they  reached  the  city,  a  grand  procession  marched  through 
the  streets  of  Philadelphia.  For  some  years  the  contest  between  the 
Reading  Railroad  Company  and  the  Schuylkill  Navigation  Company 
was  very  earnest,  but  finally  the  locomotive  won ;  and  by  lease  the 
Reading  Railroad  Company  became  possessed  of  the  works  of  the  Nav- 
igation Company,  which  are  now  operated  in  the  interest  of  the  former. 

Philadelphia,   Wilmington   and    Baltimore    Railroad.     The 

oflices  of  this  road  are  located  at  the  passenger  and  freight 
depot,  on  Broad  street  near  Washington  avenue.  As  it  is  the 
direct  connecting  link  between  New  York  and  Washington, 
the  travel  over  its  line  is  very  large.     Length  of  track,  one 


RAILROADS. 


93 


hundred  and  ninety-two  miles,  with  sixty-one  daily  trains, 
employing  one  hundred  and  fifteen  passenger  cars  and  twelve 
hundred  and  fifty  freight  cars. 

This  raih-oad  company  was  formed  of  four  companies  incorporated 
in  Pennsylvania,  Delaware  and  Maryland  in  1831  and  1832.  Each 
of  these  companies  laid  out  its  line  of  travel  in  such  a  way  as  to 
connect  with  the  others,  hut  each  one  managed  its  affairs  m  its 
own  method,  and  proceeded  to  its  work  without  consultation  with  the 
others  The  deo-rees  of  success  in  obtaining  subscription  and  building 
the  roads  were  not  equal,  and  finally,  in  1838,  they  were  consohdated 
under  the  title  now  borne  by  the  corporation.  The  through  tracks 
were  opened  for  use  in  1838.  The  first  passenger  and  freight  depot 
in  Philadelphia  was  built  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Eleventh  and 
Market  streets  in  1842.  The  present  depot  at  Broad  and  Washington 
avenue  is  150  feet  wide  by  400  feet  deep,  and  was  completed  and 
occupied  in  May,  1852. 

North  Pennsylvania  Railroad.  The  office  of  the  main  de- 
partments of  this  company  is  in  a  large  brownstone  building 
on  the  north  side  of  Walnut  street  above  Fourth  street,  and  is 
well  adapted  to  its  business.  The  passenger  and  freight  d6p5t 
of  this  road  is  located  at  Berks  and  American  streets,  and  is 
in  direct  communication  with  all  parts  of  the  city  by  means 
of  street-cars.  There  is  a  large  freight  d6p6t  at  Front  and  Cal- 
lowhill  streets.  This  road  is  a  favorite  line  of  travel  for  plea- 
sure-seekers, reaching,  as  it  does,  some  of  the  most  picturesque 
portions  of  the  State.     Length  of  road,  85  miles.     There  are 

23  daily  passenger  trains,  47  locomotives,  48  passenger  cars 
and  over  1000  freight  cars  in  use. 

This  company  was  originally  chartered  as  the  Philadelphia, 
Easton  and  Water  Gap  Railroad  Company.  Its  name  was  changed 
to  the  North  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company  April,  1853.  The 
road  was  finished  to  Bethlehem  and  the  Lehigh  Valley  in  1857. 

Camden  and  Atlantic  Railroad.  Although  this  road  is 
located  in  New  Jersey,  a  very  large  proportion  of  its  travel  is 
via  Philadelphia,  the  connection  being  by  boat  from  foot  of 
Vine  street.  Its  principal  terminus  is  Atlantic  City,  a  bathing- 
place  of  much  celebrity.     The  road  is  67  miles  in  length,  with 

24  daily  trains  arriving  and  departing  in  the  summer  season, 
employing  55  passenger  and  115  freight  cars. 


94  RAILROADS. 

West  Jersey  Railroad.  Main  office  in  Camden,  connecting 
by  ferry-boat  from  Market  street  wharf.  This  road  is  also 
connected  with  a  celebrated  bathing-place  known  as  Cape 
May,  and  during  the  summer  term  its  entire  capacity  is  put 
to  the  test. 

The  West  Chester  and  Philadelphia  Railroad  has  its  office 
and  dep5t  at  Chestnut  and  Thirty -first  streets.  It  extends 
from  the  city  through  a  finely-cultivated  country  in  Delaware 
and  Chester  counties  to  West  Chester,  the  capital  of  the  latter. 
The  length  of  the  road  is  26  miles.  It  has  9  engines,  20  pas- 
senger cars  and  53  freight  cars. 

The  Lehigh  Valley  Railroad.  This  company  has  no  termi- 
nus in  Philadelphia,  but  its  main  office  of  business  has  always 
been  in  this  city,  its  projectors  and  original  stockholders  be- 
ing in  large  proportion  Philadelphians.  It  occupies  the 
large  building  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Willing's  alley  and 
Third  street,  below  Walnut  street,  which  was  originally  built 
for  and  occupied  for  many  years  by  the  Pennsylvania  Kail- 
road  Company. 

The  Lehigh  Valley  Eailroad  Company  was  originally  incorporated 
under  the  name  of  the  Delaware,  Lehigh,  Schuylkill  and  Susque- 
hanna Railroad  Company.  The  name  was  changed  January  7, 
1853.  The  road  was  completed  and  put  into  operation  in  October, 
1855.  The  office  of  the  company  was  moved  to  Philadelphia  in 
1856. 


CHAPTER    V. 

PUBLIC  BUILDINGS  IN  USE  BY  THE  CITY. 

INDEPENDENCE   SQUABE  AND   HALL  AND  ADJOINING 

BUILDINGS. 

WHAT  is  known  as  Independence  Square  is  the  block  of 
gtound  extending  from  the  south  side  of  Che^^^^^^ 
to  the  north  side  of  Walnut  street  between  Fifth  and  Six^h 
streets      There  are  several  buildings  upon  it,  viz,  the  om 
tT^oL  or  Independence  Hall,  ^ --^^.^"t^e 
edifice  in  the  ante-Eeyolutionary  style  of  architecture,  the 
wings  east  and  west  of  the  main  building,  which  are  occupied 
by  courts  and  public  offices ;  the  City  Hal ,  south-west  corne 
of  Chestnut  and  Fifth  streets,  occupied  by  the  mayor  and  other 
city  officers;  the  county  court-house  building,  ^''"th-east  cor- 
neTof  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets,  occupied  by  courts  and  the 
Highway  Department  of  the  city;  the  Quarter  Sessions  court- 
holeadloinlig  the  latter  on  the  east  side  of  Sixth  street  and 
the  haU  of  the^American  Philosophical  Society  west  side  of 
Fifth  street  below  Chestnut  street,  adjoining  the  City  Hall 
which  is  occupied  in  the  second  story  by  the  library  and 
museum  of  that  society,  and  in  the  lower  story  by  courts  and 
offices.    The  portion  of  Independence  Square  not  occupied 
by  these  buildings  is  laid  out  as  a  public  enclosure,  and  has 
many  fine  old  trees  upon  it,  some  of  which  are  ante-Eevolu- 
-    tionary  and  believed  to  be  portions  of  the  original  natural 
forest  growth. 
INDEPENDENCE  HALL,  OR   THE   OLD   STATE-HOUSE. 
Independence  Hall  is  perhaps  better  known  to  the  citizens 
of  the  United  States  than  any  other  building  withm  the  bor- 


96 


INDEPENDENCE    HALL. 


Independence  HAiiL. 


ders  of  Philadelphia.  The  events  connected  with  our  early 
history  as  a  nation  culminated  in  the  declaration  of  our 
national  independence  by  the  Second  Continental  Congress, 
sitting  in  the  east  room,  first  floor.  The  hall  is  open  to  vis- 
itors from  9  A.  M.  to  3  P.  M.,  and  since  its  restoration  presents 
much  the  same  appearance  as  during  the  signing  of  the  Decla- 
ration, the  tables  and  chairs  being  the  identical  pieces  of 
furniture  used  at  that  time.  There  will  also  be  found  in  this 
room  portraits  of  the  signers,  either  original  or  faithful  copies, 
in  many  instances  donated  by  their  descendants  or  secured 
by  purchase,  a  fund  for  that  purpose  having  been  appropri- 
ated by  the  city.  In  the  south  tower  of  the  building  will  be 
found  the  old  Liberty  Bell,  the  first  to  peal  the  song  of  Liberty 
to  the  New  World.  Admission  will  be  granted  by  the  super- 
intendent to  the  steeple,  from  which  an  extended  view  may 
be  had  of  the  city  and  the  rivers  Delaware  and  Schuylkill. 


NATIONAL    MUSEUM — INDEPENDENCE   HALL.     97 


THE  NATIONAL  MUSEUM. 
The  western  room  on  the  first  floor,  formerly  the  Judicial 
Hall  of  the  colony  of  Pennsylvania,  and  afterward  used  by 
city  and  county  courts,  has  been  arranged  as  a  National 
Museum ;  and  although  but  recently  completed,  it  contains  an 
interesting  collection  of  relics  connected  with  our  early  Colo- 
nial and  Eevolutionary  history.  Among  the  most  important  of 
these  relics  is  the  original  charter  of  the  city  of  Philadelphia, 
with  Penn's  signature  and  the  great  seal  of  the  State,  also 
West's  painting  of  the  treaty  with  the  Indians,  and  portraits 
of  King  William,  Queens  Mary  and  Anne,  and  Kings  George 
I.,  II.  and  III.,  with  whom  terminated  the  royal  authority  in 
this  country.  A  very  curious  and  valuable  collection  of  one 
hundred  and  thirty-four  portraits,  taken  from  life,  and  beau- 
tifully executed  by  Sharpless,  an  Englishman,  attract  much 
attention.  They  were  painted  between  1790  and  1800,  and 
include  Washington  and  Mrs.  Washington,  John  Adams,  Jef- 
ferson, Mr.  Madison  and  many  others  of  distinction.  There 
will  also  be  found  here  autograph  letters,  curious  old  furni- 
ture, china  ware,  newspapers,  magazines,  books,  clothing,  etc., 
illustrating  the  Colonial  and  Eevolutionary  period.  The 
National  Museum  is  open  to  visitors  without  charge  from  9 
A.  M.  to  12  P.  M,  In  front  of  the  building,  on  Chestnut  street, 
is  a  marble  statue  of  Washington  by  J.  A.  Bailly,  erected  by 
pupils  of  the  public  schools  of  Philadelphia.  The  second 
story  of  the  hall  is  used  at  the  present  time  for  the  meetings 
of  the  Select  and  Common  Councils. 

The  venerable  building  known  to  our  fathers  as  the  State-house 
has  of  late  years  been  called  Independence  Hall,  from  the  fact  that 
in  that  building,  on  the  second  of  July,  1776,  the  Second  Continental 
Congress  adopted  the  resolution  of  Richard  Henry  Lee  of  Virginia, 
"  that  these  united  colonies  are,  and  of  right  ought  to  be,  free  and  in- 
dependent States ;  and  that  all  political  connection  between  us  and  the 
state  of  Great  Britain  is,  and  ought  to  be,  totally  dissolved."  This 
resolution  had  been  introduced  by  Mr.  Lee  on  the  seventh  of  June, 
and  a  committee  appointed  to  consider  it  and  the  terms  of  a  declara- 
tion to  that  effect.  It  consisted  of  Thomas  Jefferson  of  Virginia,  John 
9  G 


INDEPENDENCE   HALL. 


98 

Adams  of  Massachusetts,  Beujamin  Franklin  of  Pennsylvania  Roger 
Sherman  of  Connecticut  and  Robert  R  Lvytngston  of  N  »  ^^-^^  'I- 
I  ee  ou.'ht  to  have  been  a  member  and  chairman  of  this  committee, 
l:t  bTfng  called  away  suddenly  on  -onnt  of  the  i  Incss  ol  h.  wi  e 
lie  was  absent  from  Congress  on  the  eleventh  of  June  and  Jeflerson 
was  appointed  in  his  stead  as  a  representative  of  Virgm  a  Congress 
postponed    ail    action    upon  L-Wesolntion    until   the^  first  rf 

same  day  the  draft 
of  a  declaration  of 
independence     was 
reported  by  Mr.  Jef- 
ferson, as  chairman 
of    the   committee. 
The    resolution   of 
independence  being 
adopted  on  the  sec- 
ond, the  form  of  the 
declaration  was  de- 
bated on  the  third 
and     fourth,    upon 
which  latter  day  it 
was  adopted.     This 
was   in   secret  ses 
sion,    and    nothing 
was  publicly  known 
of  the  adoption  of 
the  declaration  un- 
til the  next  day.   It 
was  not  read  to  the 
peoi)le  until   Mon- 
day the   eighth  of 
Ju'ly.    The  reading 
took  place  from  an 
observatory   in  the 
State-house  square, 
erected  by    the 
American    Phil  o- 
sophical  Society  in 
1769  for  the  purpose  of  observing  the  transit  of  Venus     The  reader 
was  John   Nixon,  a  member  of  the  Council  of  Safety  of  Penn^ 
svlvania.      Many  important  historical  events  have  been  connected 
wi^h   the  history  of  this  building,  but  the  adoption  ot  the  reso- 
Tution  and  of  the  Declaration  of  Independence  there  has  rendered 


INDEPENDENCE   HALL.  9& 

it  a  consecrated  spot  in  the  affections  of  the  American  people,  and 
one  of  great  respect  and  interest  to  the  people  of  the  world. 

The  State-house  owes  its  erection  to  the  necessities  of  the  province 
of  Pennsylvania,  and  to  a  recognition  by  the  Assembly  of  the  pro- 
priety of  constructing  some  permanent  building  in  which  to  hold 
its  own  sessions,  and  to  accommodate  the  courts  and  public  offices 
of  the  colony.  After  the  settlement  of  the  colony  by  the  Eng- 
lish, the  Assembly  of  Pennsylvania  met  in  various  places,  among 
them  the  Quaker  meeting-house,  in  private  houses  belonging  to 
citizens,  in  the  school-room  of  Thomas  Makin  from  1698  to  1705,  and 
probably  after.  It  is  supposed  that  the  Assembly  met  in  the  court- 
house of  the  city  and  county  of  Philadelphia,  which  was  built  in 
the  middle  of  Market  street,  on  the  line  of  the  western  side  of 
Second  street,  in  the  year  1709.  In  1729  the  Assembly  appropriated 
£10,000  for  the  purpose  of  building  a  State-house.  Under  this  author- 
ity several  lots  of  ground  were  purchased  upon  Chestnut  street 
between  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets,  and  upon  the  two  latter  streets 
halfway  to  Walnut  street.  The  main  building  was  commenced  in 
the  summer  of  1732,  according  to  the  architectural  plans  of  Andrew 
Hamilton,  who  was  speaker  of  the  Assembly  and  chairman  of  the 
committee  to  which  the  erection  of  the  building  was  entrusted.  By 
the  original  plan  the  centre  building  only  was  proposed;  but  on 
March  twenty-fourth,  1733,  two  buildings  for  offices  were  author- 
ized to  be  constructed,  one  on  each  side  of  the  main  building.  They 
were  each  two  stories  in  height,  with  hip-roofs,  and  stood  at  some 
distance  from  the  State-house.  Access  to  the  upper  stories  of  these 
offices  was  had  by  means  of  arched  piazzas  set  back  from  the  lines 
of  the  principal  buildings,  in  which  were  stairs  leading  to  the  rooms. 
The  Assembly  sat  in  a  house  which  was  upon  the  property  when 
bought,  probably  from  1730  until  October,  1735,  when  the  State- 
house  was  first  occupied.  It  was  not  finished  at  that  time.  Work 
went,  on  slowly,  and  it  was  not  until  1741  that  the  building  was  con- 
sidered to  be  completed.  At  that  time  it  presented  the  elevation 
merely  of  the  building,  without  tower  or  steeple.  In  February,  1750, 
the  Assembly  authorized  the  erection  of  a  building  "  on  the  south 
side  of  the  State-house,  to  contain  a  staircase,  with  a  suitable  place 
for  hanging  a  bell."  This  included  the  tower  which  is  the  founda- 
tion of  the  present  steeple.  A  bell  was  directed  to  be  obtained  in 
October,  1751.  A  few  days  later,  Isaac  Norris,  speaker  of  the  Assem- 
bly, wrote  to  Robert  Charles  of  London,  authorizing  him  to  purchase 
for  the  use  of  the  province  a  good  bell  of  about  2000  pounds  weight. 
And  he  said:  "  Let  the  bell  be  cast  by  the  best  workmen,  and  ex- 
amined carefully  before  it  is  shipped,  with  the  following  words  in 
large  letters  shaped  around  it,  viz. : 

LofC. 


100 


INDEPENDENCE^  HALT. 


-BY  ORDER  OF  THE  ASSEMBLY  OF  THE   PROVINCE  OF  PENN- 
SYLv!Lr"B  THE    STATE-HOnSE  IN  THE   CiTY   OF    PHI.ADEL- 

'"  A;runderneath,  '  Proclaim  Liberty  thro.ohout  all  the 

LAND    TO  ALL  THE  INHABITANTS  THEREOF.'   Lev    XXV.  10 

The  bell  was  cast  at  Whitechapel,  London.    It  weighe^  2080 
pounds     It  was  received  in  Philadelphia  about  the  end  of  Au^us 
Im.    upon  trying  the  tone  it  was  -^ortunately^crac^^^^^^^^ 

mined    to   send   it 
back  to  London  to 
have  it  recast;  but 
before    this    Avas 
done,    Pass    and 
Stow,   brass-found- 
ers of  Philadelphia, 
undertook  to  recast 
the  bell,  and  suc- 
ceeded   about    the 
beginning  of  April. 
1753.   These  found- 
ers   had    put    too 
much  copper  in  the 
metal  prepared  for 
the  bell ;  and  when 
it    was    tried,    the 
tone    was    unsatis- 
THE  Liberty  Beli..  factory.     The  bell 

was  broken  up  again  and  recast  by  Pass  and  Stow,  and  was  Placed 
in  the  steeple  about  the  beginning  of  June,  1753.    This  bell  bore 
the  inscriptions  ordered  by  Isaac  Norris  for  the  original  bell,  and 
upon    he'^eighth  of  July,   1776,  its   tones  fulfilled  the  command 
'proclaim  liberty  throughout  the  land."    The  be  1  was  kept  m  the 
toler.     It  was  taken  down  and  removed  to  Bethlehem  upon  the 
apTroach  of  the  British  army  in  1777,  and  returned  after  the  evac- 
uation of  the  city.    In  1781  the  upper  part  of  the  steeple,  having 
become  decayed  and  dangerous,  was  taken  down  by  order  ol    he 
Assembly.    The  tower  was   covered  with  a  hip-roof,   from  which 
roseTshort  spire  with  weathercock.    A  small  belfry  was  erected  m 
front   fn  whfch  a  bell  was   hung   and  used   for  public  occasions 
TMs  was  the  old  bell  which  had  been  used  by  the  Assembly  to  call 
the  members  together  long  before  the  State-house  was  bmlt     Jn 
1828  a  new  steeple  was  erected  upon  the  tower  which  was  sixty  feet 
aigher  than  that  which  was  finished  in  1753,  but  m  architectural  ap- 


INDEPENDENCE    HALL.  10^ 

pearance  was  made  to  resemble  the  old  steeple  as  nearly  as  possible, 
i  much  larger  bell  was  procured,  which  was  cast  by  J,  Wilbank  and 
weio-hed  4275  pounds.  It  did  not  give  satisfaction.  Mr.  Wilbank  re- 
placed it  with  another,  weighing  4600  pounds.  That  bell  was  crax^ked, 
and  was  replaced  by  another,  which  has  hung  in  the  State-house 
steeple  for  forty-five  years,  used  to  announce  the  hours  by  the  clock, 
as  a  signal  fire-bell  and  rung  on  public  occasions. 

The  liberty  bell  was  used  after  the  first  steeple  was  taken  down 
only  upon  particular  occasions.     It  was  rung  in  honor  of  the  news 
of  the  passage  of  the  act  of  the  British  Parliament  emancipating  the 
Catholics  in  1828.     It  was  rung  on  the  22d  of  February,  1832,  m 
honor  of  the  centennial  anniversary  of  the  birth  of  Washington.     It 
was  cracked  upon  the  morning  of  July  8,  1835,  whilst  being  tolled 
in  memory  of  Chiei-Justice  Marshall,  who  had  died  in  Philadelphia 
on  the  fitii  of  that  month,  and  whose  remains  were  being  removed, 
attended  by  Councils  and  many  citizens  to  the  steamboat  wharf,  to 
be  transported  to  their  last  resting-place  in  Richmond,  Yirgima. 
The  bell  thus  cracked  is  believed  to  have  been  used  on  after-occa- 
sions   which  increased  the  fracture.     It  became  hopelessly  useless 
after  having  been  tried  upon  the  celebration  of  Washington  s  birth- 
day February  22,  1843.     At  the  time  when  the  convention  of  dele- 
gates from  the  thirteen  original  States  was  held  for  the  purpose  of 
concerting  measures  for  the  erection  of  a  monument  in  Independence 
Square  to  commemorate  the  Declaration  of  Independence,  the  bell 
was  removed  from  its  framework  in  the  tower  and  placed  upon  a 
temporary  pedestal  in  Independence  Hall.     Afterward  a  handsome 
wooden  pedestal,  with   emblematic   carvings  and  decorations,  was 
prepared,  upon  which  the  bell  was  placed,  and  remained  until  18/3, 
when  the  National  Museum  was  fitted  up  in  the  west  rooni,  first 
story,  which  immediately  before  that  time  had  been  occupied  by  the 
Common  Pleas  Court.  v     -d  + 

The  clock  originally  used  at  the  State-house  was  made  by  Peter 
Stretch,  a  city  watch-  and  clock-maker,  in  1759.  The  dials  were  dis- 
played at  the  eastern  and  western  ends  of  the  State-house  building, 
showin-  beneath  the  gables,  with  clock-faces,  and  an  imitation  of  an 
old-fashioned  standing  eight-day  clock-case,  which  extended  to  the 
ground  This  clock  was  sold,  together  with  the  old  bell,  which  had 
belonged  to  the  province,  to  the  Roman  Catholic  church  of  St. 
Augustine,  in  Fourth  street  below  Vine.  The  bell  was  placed  m 
the  cupola,  and  the  clock  in  the  tower  showed  the  time  to  the  neigh- 
borhood. Both  clock  and  bell  were  destroyed  when  the  church  was 
burned  in  1844.  A  new  clock  was  made  for  the  steeple,  erected  in 
1828-29,  by  Isaiah  Lukens,  a  watch-  and  clock-maker  of  the  city. 
When  the  State-house  was  sufficiently  finished  to  be  occupied,  the 


102  INDEPENDENCE    HALL. 

Assembly  took  possession  of  the  east  room  on  the  first  floor  about 
the  years  1735-36.  The  west  room,  first  floor,  was  appropriated  to 
the  Supreme  Court  of  the  province,  but  was  not  ready  for  oecupaney 
until  some  years  after  the  Assembly  had  been  occupying  the  build- 
ing. The  upper  portion  of  the  main  building  was  probably  occu- 
pied for  offices.  One  room  was  reserved  for  the  purpose  of  a  ban- 
queting-room,  and  was  generally  a  place  of  festivity  on  the  arrival 
of  new  lieutenant-governors  or  proprietaries. 

When  the  Second  Congress  came  to  Philadelphia,  in  1775,  the  assem- 
bly-room was  occupied  by  that  body,  which  remained  there  until  the 
declaration  of  independence  and  under  tlie  confederation,  with  the 
exception  of  the  time  when  the  British  occupied  the  city,  until  the 
removal  to  Princeton  in  1783.  The  Assembly  of  the  State  of  Penn- 
sylvania during  this  time  must  have  found  accommodation  in  some 
other  room  than  the  east  room.  Probably  the  west  room  on  the  first 
floor  was  occupied  by  the  Assembly  without  interference  with  the  Su- 
preme Court,  which  was  not  reorganized  and  in  working  order  until 
the  summer  of  1777.  The  Supreme  Court  followed  Congress  in  the  oc- 
cupation of  the  east  room,  whilst  the  Mayor's  Court  occupied  the  west 
room.  The  District  Court  of  the  city  and  county,  created  in  1811, 
sat  in  the  east  room  for  some  years.  About  1823-24  it  was  resolved 
to  restore  the  east  room  as  nearly  as  possible  to  its  ancient  appearance, 
much  of  the  wainscoting  having  been  torn  out  and  alterations  made. 
The  hall  thus  restored  has  generally  been  kept  open  for  examina- 
tion by  the  curious  and  patriotic,  although  for  a  short  period,  some 
years  ago,  the  Supreme  Court  was  brought  back  again  to  the  old 
chamber. 

In  Independence  Hall  have  been  many  notable  receptions  of 
eminent  men.  Among  them  were  Lafayette  upon  his  last  visit  to 
America  in  1824,  Presidents  Jackson,  Van  Buren,  Harrison,  Polk, 
Taylor,  Pierce,  Lincoln,  Henry  Clay,  General  Winfield  Scott,  and 

others. 

The  bodies  of  prominent  statesmen,  in  transportation  to  their  places 
of  burial,  have  frequently  been  laid  in  state  within  that  chamber. 
Among  them  were  John  Quincy  Adams,  Henry  Clay,  Abraham  Lin- 
coln, and  many  soldiers  who  fell  on  the  battle-fields  of  the  rebellion. 

The  upper  part  of  the  State-house  building,  from  1802  to  1828-29, 
was  occupied  by  Peale's  museum  of  natural  history  and  art.  In 
1816  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  sold  the  State-house  and  buildings 
and  the  whole  square  to  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  under  the  trust 
that  it  should  be  used  for  public  purposes.  The  corridor  and  offices 
at  the  wings  were  torn  down,  and  the  present  office  wings  were 
erected  for  the  use  of  the  county  clerks  and  officers.  The  United 
States  Circuit  and  District  Courts  occupied  the  second-story  west 


> 


INDEPENDENCE    HAEL. 


103 


room  from  1828-29  until  about  1854.  In  the  latter  year,  the  city  and 
districts  having  been  consolidated,  the  City  Councils,  which  had  for 
many  years  occupied  the  second  story  of  the  City  Hall  at  Fifth  and 
Chestnut  streets,  took  possession  of  the  upper  stories  of  the  State- 
house  and  fitted  up  two  chambers  for  their  accommodation. 

The  State-house  and  yard  have  been  during  more  than  a  century 
the  scene  of  stirring  events.     In  addition  to  the  national  memories 
connected  with  the   Continental   Congress  and  the   War  of  Inde- 
pendence, it  was  the  chief  place  where  the  people  thronged  in  case 
of  any  excitement  or  rejoicing.    Here,  in  1752,  the  king's  birthday 
was  celebrated  by  a  ball  and  supper.     In  1754  Governor  Eobert 
Hunter  Morris  also  gave  a  ball  and  supper  at  the  same  place.    Here 
were  given  many  famous  banquets;  for  instance,  to  Governor  Denny 
in  1736,  to  the  Earl  of  Loudon  in  1757,  to  Richard  Penn  in  1771  and 
1773,  to  John  Penn  in  1773,  and  to  the  First  Continental  Congress  in 
1774'  which  had  met  at  Carpenters'  Hall  at  the  end  of  the  session. 
Meetings  to  protest  against  the  Stamp  Act  and  the  acts  laying  duties 
on  paper,  tea,  etc.,  and  meetings  of  consultation  after  the  battle  of 
Lexington,  at  which  it  was  determined  to  resist  British  oppression  with 
arms,  were  held  at  the  State-house.     In  later  years,  political  affairs, 
and  patriotic,  national.  State  and  municipal  concerns,  have  been  the 
subjects  of  many  meetings  of  great  size  and  enthusiasm,  which  were 
held  at  the  State-house  and  in  front  of  the  edifice.     For  many  years 
the  building  was  the  place  of  annual  elections,  and  thousands  of 
citizens  collected  around  the  windows,  which  were  used  for  polling- 
places,  or  traversed  the  walks  of  the  square,  alive  with  interest,  ex- 
citement and   anxiety  as  to   the   success   or  defeat  of   rival  can- 
didates, and  as  to  the  triumph  or  misfortunes  of  principles  which 
were  then  considered  of  paramount  importance. 

During  the  battle  of  Germantown  the  State-house  was  made   a 

hospital  and  prison.     The  American  wounded  and  taken  prisoners 

were  carried  to  that  building.     Such  of  them  as  were  uninjured 

were  confined  in  some  of  the  rooms,  and  the  sick  and  wounded  were 

treated   by  British  surgeons  wherever  they  happened  to  be.    The 

British  surgeons  attended  first  to  their  own  soldiers,  and  the  wounded 

Americans  were  compelled  to  wait  in  suffering  and  agony.     Deborah 

Logan,  a  daughter  of  James  Logan,  once  secretary  of  Penn,  member 

of  the  Provincial  Council  and  Chief-Justice  of  Pennsylvania,  thus 

describes  the  scene:  ''Toward  evening  many  wagons  full   of  the 

wounded   arrived  in  the   city,  whose   groans   and   sufferings   were 

enough  to  move  the  most  inhuman  wretch  to  pity.     The  American 

prisoners  were  carried  to  the  State-house  lobbies,  and  had,  of  course, 

to  wait  until  the  British  surgeons  had  dressed  the  wounds  of  their 

own  men.     But  in  a  very  short  time  the  streets  were  filled  with  the 


104     OLD   CONGRESS    HALL   AND   COURT-HOUSE. 

women  of  the  city,  carrying  up  every  kind  of  refreshments  which 
they  might  be  supposed  to  want,  with  lint  and  linen  and  lights  in 
abundance  for  their  accommodation.  A  British  officer  stopped  one 
of  these  women  in  my  hearing,  and  not  ill-natured  but  laughingly 
reproved  her  for  so  amply  supplying  the  rebels,  while  nothing  was 
carried  to  the  English  hospitals.  '  Oh,  sir,'  replied  she,  '  it  is  in  your 
power  fully  to  provide  for  them,  but  we  cannot  see  our  own  country- 
men suffer  and  not  do  something  for  them.'  " 

Here,  in  July,  1778,  Conrad  Alexander  Gerard,  the  first  minister 
sent  by  France  after  the  alliance  with  the  American  colonies,  which 
treaty  was  the  harbinger  of  ultimate  triumph  and  independence, 
was  received  by  Congress  with  formal  and  stately  ceremonies; 
and  here,  on  the  third  of  November,  1781,  twenty-four  British 
standards  and  colors  taken  from  the  army  under  Cornwallis,  which 
had  surrendered  at  Yorktown,  were  laid  at  the  feet  of  Congress 
amidst  the  shouts  of  the  people  and  volleys  of  musketry,  for  they 
had  been  escorted  to  the  door  of  the  State-house  by  the  volunteer 
cavalry  of  the  city,  and  greeted  by  the  huzzas  of  the  people. 

OLD    CONGRESS    HALL   AND    THE    COURT-HOUSE 
BUILDING. 

The  building  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Sixth  and  Chestnut 
streets  is  now  occupied  in  the  first  story  on  Chestnut  street  by 
the  Commissioners  of  the  Highway  Department  as  an  office. 
The  first  story  south  room  is  in  use  by  the  Court  of  Quarter 
Sessions.  The  north  and  soutli  rooms,  second  story,  are  occu- 
pied by  Common  Pleas  Court  No.  4. 

At  the  corners  of  Fifth  and  Sixth  streets,  on  Chestnut  street,  on  the 
State-house  square,  before  the  Revolution,  large  wooden  sheds  were 
put  up.  One  of  them  Avas  used  principally  as  a  place  of  shelter  for 
the  deputations  of  the  Indians  which  frequently  visited  the  city. 
The  other  was  sometimes  devoted  to  storage.  The  Assembly  of  the 
province  granted  these  corner  lots  some  time  before  the  Revolution 
to  the  city  and  county  of  Philadelphia.  The  lot  at  the  corner  of 
Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets  was  intended  to  be  used  for  court-houses, 
and  the  lot  at  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets  for  a  city  hall.  Work 
upon  the  court-house  at  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets  was  commenced 
in  1787,  and  it  was  finished  about  1790.  Work  upon  the  city  hall 
was  commenced  in  1790,  and  it  was  finished  in  1791.  •  The  occupancy 
of  the  building  at  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets  was  given  to  Congress 
between  1790  and  1800,  and  that  body  occupied  it  entirely.  The 
House  of  Representatives  sat  in  the  south  room  on  the  first  floor, 


CITY    Ai\D   PHILOSOPHICAL    HALLS. 


105 


the  Senate  in  the  south  room  second  floor.  There  was  no  door  on 
Sixth  street  at  that  time,  as  the  case  is  now.  A  hall  or  entry  ran  from 
the  front  door  on  Chestnut  street  to  the  entry  containing  the  stair- 
ways. Offices  were  on  each  side  of  the  hall  and  in  the  second  story, 
and  thev  were  occupied  by  oflicers  and  committees  of  Congress. 

In  the  chamber  of  the  House  of  Representatives,  President  Wash- 
ington was  inaugurated  in  1793  for  the  second  term,  and  John  Adams 
as  Vice-President ;  and  President  Adams  and  Jefferson  as  Vice-Presi- 
dent in  1797.  After  Congress  removed  from  Philadelphia,  the  build- 
ing was  in  use  for  court-rooms,  as  originally  intended.  The  courts  of 
Quarter  Sessions  and  Common  Pleas  occupied  the  south  room  in  the 
first  story.  The  United  States  District  and  Circuit  Courts  had  the  south 
room  in  the  second  story.  Subsequently  the  arched  entrance  from 
Sixth  street  was  opened,  the  partitions  forming  the  entry  from  Chest- 
nut street  in  the  first  story  were  taken  down,  and  court-rooms  made 
in  the  first  and  second  stories  fronting  on  Chestnut  street.  These 
were  used  by  the  Supreme  Court,  Court  of  Nisi  Prius,  Common  Pleas 
and  District  Courts  for  the  city  and  county  of  Philadelphia. 

THE  CITY  HALL. 
The  building  at  the  south-east  comer  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut 
streets  is  occupied  on  the  first  floor  as  the  Central  Police  Sta- 
tion, and  by  the  offices  of  Chief  of  Police,  Detective  Depart- 
ment, Police  Captains,  Fire  Marshal  and  the  central  office 
of  the  Police  and  Fire  Alarm  Telegraph.  The  second  story 
is  the  general  and  private  office  of  the  Mayor,  and  office  of  the 
clerks  of  City  Councils. 

The  City  Hall  building  was  occupied,  while  the  Federal  Govern- 
ment was  in  Philadelphia,  by  the  Supreme  Court  of  the  United  States, 
under  authority  of  the  Chief- Justices  John  Jay  and  Oliver  Ellsworth 
with  their  associate  justices ;  also  by  the  United  States  Circuit  Court, 
and  by  the  United  States  District  Court,  of  which  Francis  Hopkin- 
son,  William  Lewis  and  Richard  Peters  were  judges.  The  Mayor's 
Court  for  the  city  was  held  in  the  south  room,  first  story.  City  Coun- 
cils sat  there  from  the  time  of  the  construction  of  the  building  until 
the  consolidation  of  the  city  and  districts  in  1854. 

PHILOSOPHICAL   HALL. 
Although  the  Hall  of  the  American  Philosophical  Society 
is  the  property  of  that  association,  yet  being  situate  on  Inde- 
pendence Square,  and  being  partially  leased  by  the  city  for 


106      QUARTER   SESSIONS    COURT NEW    CITY    HALL. 

public  purposes,  it  may  be  properly  described  here.  The 
two  court-rooms  of  Common  Pleas  Court  JS'o.  1  are  on  the  first 
story.     The  society  occupies  the  upper  stories  entirely. 

The  lot  upon  which  the  Philosophical  Hall  is  built  was  granted 
to  the  society  by  the  Commonwealth  in  1785,  and  the  building  was 
erected  in  1787.  The  American  Philosophical  Society  takes  its 
origin  from  the  Junto,  an  association  established  in  1743  by  Dr. 
Benjamin  Franklin,  Nicolas  Scull,  subsequently  surveyor-general 
of  the  province,  George  Webb,  one  of  the  early  poets  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  others.  From  this  association,  in  May,  1743,  originated 
the  American  Philosophical  Society.  Another  society,  called  the 
American  Society  for  Promoting  Useful  Knowledge,  was  founded  in 
1766.  The  two  were  united  in  1769,  under  the  title  of  "  The  Ameri- 
can Philosophical  Society,  held  at  Philadelphia,  for  Promoting 
Useful  Knowledge."  The  first  president  of  the  society  was  Ben- 
jamin Franklin.  He  was  succeeded  by  David  Rittenhouse,  the 
astronomer,  Thomas  Jefferson,  afterward  President  of  the  United 
States,  Prof  Caspar  Wistar,  Prof  Robert  Patterson,  Chief- Justice 
William  Tilghman,  and  others. 

THE   WINGS. 

The  east  wing  of  the  State-house  is  occupied  in  the  first 
story  by  ofiices  of  the  Sheriff  and  Prothonotary  of  Supreme 
Court ;  in  second  story  by  the  Supreme  Court  of  Pennsylvania 
and  Common  Pleas  Court  No.  3. 

The  west  wing  is  occupied  in  first  story  by  the  offices  of  the 
Prothonotary  of  Common  Pleas  Courts,  and  in  second  story 
by  Common  Pleas  Court  No.  4.  Access  to  these  court-rooms 
is  by  stairway  from  a  hall  and  passage  in  each  wing  opening 
upon  Chestnut  street. 

QUARTER   SESSIONS    COURT  BUILDING. 
A  very   plain  brick   building,   Sixth  south  of    Chestnut, 
entrance  from  Sixth  street.     First  story  occupied  by  Clerk's 
Office,  District  Attorney  and  grand  jury  room ;  second  story, 
by  the  court-room ;  upper  story,  by  jury  retiring-rooms. 

THE   NEW   CITY   HALL. 
In  April,  1870,  a  bill  was  passed  by  the  Legislature  of 
Pennsylvania  authorizing  the  erection  of  new  Public  Build- 


108  THE   NEW   CITY    HALL. 

ings  for  the  use  of  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  the  location 
to  be  selected  by  a  vote  of  the  people  of  the  city.     Penn 
Square  at  Broad  and  Market— a  central  and  eligible  locality 
—was  designated  by  the  ]>opular  vote ;  and  subsequently  it 
was  determined  to  erect  the  great  building  at  the  intersec- 
tion, carrying  Broad  and  Market  streets  round  it.     Work  was 
commenced  upon  the  squares  to  prepare  them  for  the  purposes 
intended  on  the  16th  of  August,  1871.    The  corner-stone  was 
laid  with  appropriate  ceremonies  on  the  4th  of  July,  1874, 
and  an  address  delivered  by  Benjamin  Harris  Brewster,  Esq., 
from  which  the  following  extracts  are  made,  as  affording  the 
most  truthful  account  of  the  building :  "  It  is  surrounded  by 
a  grand  avenue  135  feet  wide  on  the  southern  and  eastern 
and  western  fronts,  and  205  feet  wide  on  the  northern  front. 
Its  dimensions  are  470  feet  from  east  to  west,  and  486|  feet 
from  north  to  south,  covering  an  area,  exclusive  of  the  court- 
yard, of  nearly  four  and  a  half  acres.     It  is  probably  larger 
than  any  single  building  on  this  continent.    The  superstruc- 
ture consists  of  a  basement  story  18  feet  in  height,  a  principal 
story  of  36  feet,  and  an  upper  story  of  31  feet,  surmounted  by 
another  of  15  feet.    The  small  rooms  opening  upon  the  court- 
yard are  each  subdivided  in  height  into  two  stories,  for  the 
purpose  of  making  useful  all  the  space.    The  several  stories 
will  be  approached  by  four  large  elevators,  placed  at  the  in- 
tersections of  the  leading  corridors,  to  make  easy  the  inter- 
course of  citizens  with  courts,  public  offices  and  departments 
of  city  government.     In  addition  to  these  means  of  access, 
there  will  be  a  grand  staircase  in  each  of  the  four  comers  of 
the  building,  and  one  in  each  of  the  centre  pavilions  on  the 
north,   south,   west  and    east  fronts.     The  entire    structure 
will  contain  five  hundred  and  twenty  rooms.    They  will  be 
fitted  with  every  possible  convenience,  including  heat,  light 
and  ventilation,  and  the  whole  building  is  to  be  absolutely 
fire-proof  and  indestructible.     All  of  the  departments  now 
existing  will  be  abundantly  supplied,  and  a  vast  amount  of 
surplus  room  will  be  left  for  judicial  and  other  city  archives, 
as  well  as  afford  room  for  all  outgrowing  wants.     It  is  com- 


THE    NEW   CITY    HALL — PRISONS. 


109 


puted  that  the  entire  cost  of  this  work  will  be  near  teu  mil- 
lions of  dollars,  and  that  it  will  be  completed  in  ten  years 
from  the  16th  of  August,  1871,  when  the  ground  was  first 
broken.  The  materials  consumed  in  constructing  the  founda- 
tion :  74,000  cubic  feet  of  cement  concrete ;  636,400  cubic  feet 
of  foundation  stone;  800,000  bricks;  70,000  cubic  feet  of 
dressed  granite ;  and  366  tons  of  iron,  including  floor  beams. 
The  excavation  for  the  cellars  and  foundations  required  the 
removal  of  141,500  cubic  yards  of  earth.  The  building  will 
be  occupied  by  the  State  and  City  Courts  of  Law,  Mayor,  City 
Councils,  and  municipal  officers  of  varied  functions." 

In  the  centre  of  the  building  a  court-yard  of  200  feet  square 
affords  Ught  and  air.  From  the  north  side  of  this  space  rises 
a  grand  tower,  which  will  form  a  prominent  object  of  interest 
from  whatever  point  it  may  be  approached ;  its  foundations 
^re  laid  on  a  bed  of  solid  concrete,  8  feet  thick,  at  the  depth 
of  20  feet  below  the  surface  of  the  ground ;  and  its  walls,  which 
are  at  the  base  22  feet  in  thickness,  are  built  of  dressed  Vir- 
ginia granite,  the  blocks  weighing  from  2  to  5  tons  each.  This 
tower,  which  is  so  deeply  and  so  strongly  founded,  is  90  feet 
square  at  the  base,  falling  off  at  each  story,  until  it  becomes, 
at  the  spring  of  the  dome,  an  octagon  of  50  feet  in  diameter. 
A  statue  of  William  Penn,  20  feet  in  height,  will  crown  the 
structure,  and  complete  the  extraordinary  altitude  of  450  feet, 
making  it  the  highest  tower  in  the  world. 

PRISONS. 
The  Eastern  Penitentiary  of  Pennsylvania,  a  State  institu- 
tion, is  used  for  the  confinement  of  prisoners  convicted  of 
the  higher  grades  of  crime  in  Philadelphia  and  the  eastern 
portion  of  the  State.  It  occupies  a  lot  of  about  eleven  acres, 
extending  on  Fairmount  avenue  from  Corinthian  avenue  to 
Twenty-second  street,  and  extending  northward  to  Brown 
street.  The  front  is  670  feet,  and  it  is  a  magnificent  specimen 
of  the  castellated  style  of  architecture,  having  heavy  square 
towers  65  feet  high,  a  splendid  arched  gateway  with  portcullis, 
and  central  tower.  This  gateway  is  27  feet  high  and  15  feet 
10 


110  PRISOI^S. 

wide.  The  main  tower  is  97  feet  high.  The  portion  of  the 
building  nearest  to  Fairmount  avenue  is  used  for  offices  and 
apartments  by  the  inspectors,  physicians  and  others.  The 
prison  buildings  are  distinct  from  this.  They  consist  of  a  cen- 
tral building  or  observatory,  which  connects  the  corridors  and 
cells  which  radiate  from  this  central  building  as  do  the  spokes 
from  the  hub  of  a  wheel.  They  occupy  a  diameter  of  400  feet. 
Each  cell  opens  upon  an  entry  or  passage,  and  has  attached  to 
it  a  small  yard  or  enclosure  open  to  the  sk}',  to  which  the  pris- 
oners may  at  any  time  have  access.  From  the  upper  portion  of 
the  observatory  the  guards  overlook  all  the  con-idors  and  yards, 
so  that  any  attempt  to  escape  is  hopeless.  The  Eastern  Peni- 
tentiary was  erected  by  authority  of  an  act  of  Assembly  of 
Pennsylvania.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  on  the  22d  of  May, 
1823,  and  the  building  was  finished  in  1829.  The  government 
of  the  establishment  is  by  inspectors  appointed  by  the  Su- 
preme Court  of  Pennsylvania.  The  prison  was  intended  to 
be  conducted  upon  what  was  called  the  Pennsylvania  plan 
of  solitary  confinement — a  system  which  was  theoretically 
supposed  to  be  a  perfect  one  for  the  reformation  of  convicts. 
Each  prisoner  was  to  be  confined  in  a  cell  without  companion, 
and  he  was  to  be  excluded  from  all  knowledge  of  the  outward 
world.  The  advocates  of  this  system  argued  with  much  force 
that  the  association  of  prisoners  with  each  other,  not  unusual 
before  the  Pennsylvania  plan  was  suggested,  was  productive  of 
evil,  and  so  demoralizing  that  young  oifenders  were  hardened 
in  crime,  and  passed  beyond  the  hope  of  reformation.  They 
were  right  in  their  theories,  but  their  plans  did  not  prove  to 
be  successful.  Solitary  confinement,  strictly  carried  out,  was 
found  to  be  productive  of  insanity  in  prisoners,  and  this  evil 
became  so  serious  that  gradual  relaxation  of  the  rules  which 
govern  the  establishment  was  necessary.  The  system  is  still 
called  solitary,  but  it  is  not  so  severe  as  formerly.  On  the 
contrary,  overcrowding  beyond  the  capacity  of  the  prison  has 
rendered  it  necessary,  in  many  instances,  to  put  two  persons 
in  one  cell.  The  prisoners  are  taught  various  handicrafts, 
work  at  which  they  soon  find  to  be  a  privilege  rather  than  a 


112 


PRISONS. 


punishment.  They  are  allowed  to  receive  letters  from  and 
write  letters  to  their  friends  under  inspection  of  the  officers. 
A  library  of  6000  volumes  is  open  for  their  use,  and  several 
thousand  newspapers  are  distributed  among  them  annually. 
Cars  of  the  Green  and  Coates  Streets  Passenger  Railway  going 
west  pass  the  Penitentiary.  Tickets  of  admission  are  necessary, 
which  may  be  procured  from  any  inspector,  or  at  the  Public 
Ledger  office,  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

The  Philadelphia  County  or  Moyamensing  Prison  is  located 
on  Passyunk  road  near  Tenth  street,  just  below  Reed  street, 
and  comprises  a  massive  square  building,  in  the  centre  three 
stories  in  height,  with  wings  on  each  side  two  stories  in 
height,  flanked  by  heavy  octagonal  towers,  and  having  beyond 
these  towers  walls  which  terminate  in  bastions.  The  walls 
are  of  Quincy  granite,  and  the  building  has  the  appearance 
of  an  invulnerable  stronghold,  and  is  of  the  Tudor  style  of 


MOYAMENSINQ   PKISON. 

English  Gothic  castle  architecture.  At  the  north  of  the 
County  Prison  is  a  brownstone  structure  in  heavy  Egyptian 
style,  which  formerly  was  used  as  the  debtors'  apartment,  but 
which  is  now  occupied  as  a  separate  prison  for  females.  In  the 
prison  there  are  400  cells  for  males,  and  100  cells  for  female 
prisoners.  Permits  can  be  obtained  at  the  Mayor's  office, 
corner  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets,  and  at  the  office  of  the 
PiibJic  Ledger.  The  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets  line  of  cars 
running  south  on  Tenth  street  carries  visitors  to  the  prison. 
The  County  Prison,  familiarly  called  Moyaraensing  Prison,  is  the 


PRISONS.  113 

eighth  building  devoted  to  prison  purposes  in  Philadelphia  by 
authority  of  the  county  (the  penitentiary  being  a  State  institution). 
Commencing  with  a  cage  7  feet  long,  5  feet  broad  and  7  feet  high, 
which  was  built  in  1683,  the  city  and  county  passed  on  to  two  rented 
houses,  occupied  as  prisons,  one  being  on  Second  street  north  of  Mar- 
ket street,  adjoining  Christ  Church,  and  the  other,  Patrick  Robinson's 
house,  in  Second  street,  exactly  where  is  not  now  known.  Between 
1686  and  1702  the  first  special  building  for  prison  purposes  was 
erected  in  the  middle  of  Market  street,  east  of  Second  street.  It  was 
of  the  small  size  of  18  by  24  feet.  It  was  succeeded  by  a  building  of 
considerable  dimensions  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Third  and  Mar- 
ket streets,  which  was  finished  in  1723  and  used  for  prison  purposes 
until  some  time  after  the  Revolution.  A  much  larger  building  was 
projected  before  the  outbreak  of  hostilities  with  Great  Britain,  at 
the  south-east  corner  of  Walnut  and  Sixth  streets,  and  extending 
along  the  latter  to  Prune  street  and  taking  up  half  of  the  block. 
This  building  was  finished  about  the  beginning  of  the  Revolution, 
but  was  not  immediately  used  for  county  purposes.  The  Americans 
used  the  Walnut  street  prison  during  the  Revolution  for  the  confine- 
ment of  prisoners  of  war;  and  when  the  British  got  possession  of  the 
city,  in  1777,  they  incarcerated  there  the  unfortunate  Whigs  who  fell 
into  their  hands.  Thrilling  stories  are  told  of  the  cruelties  practiced 
there  upon  American  prisoners  under  authority  of  the  brutal  British 
provost-marshal  John  Cunningham.  In  1807  a  fine  large  prison  was 
built  upon  the  south  side  of  Arch  street  between  Broad  and  Schuyl- 
kill Eighth  streets,  now  Fifteenth  street,  which  was  intended  to 
be  used  for  state  prisoners.  There  was  difiiculty  about  its  use,  and 
finally  it  was  appropriated  to  untried  prisoners  and  debtors.  The 
corner-stone  of  the  Moyamensing  Prison  was  laid  on  the  2d  of  April, 
1832.  The  building  was  finished  in  1835.  The  prisoners  were  re- 
moved to  it  in  1835-6,  and  the  Walnut  and  Arch  streets  prisons 
were  torn  down.  The  debtors'  apartment,  adjoining  the  County 
Prison,  built  in  the  Egyptian  style,  was  finished  at  the  same  time 
as  the  larger  building. 

The  House  of  Refuge  occupies  a  lot  extending  from  Parrish 
street  to  Poplar  street,  and  from  Twenty-second  street  to 
Twenty -third  street,  with  a  building  belonging  to  the  same 
establishment  at  the  north-eastern  corner  of  Poplar  and 
Twenty-second  streets.  The  House  of  Refuge,  erected  by  a 
society,  was  incorported  in  1826  for  "  the  employment  of  tlie 
idle,  instruction  of  the  ignorant  and  reformation  of  the  de- 
praved." It  has  separate  departments  for  boys  and  girls,  and 
10  *  H 


114  PRISONS. 

a  separate  department  for  colored  children.     The  number  of 
inmates  September  30,  1874,  was  597.     The  buildings  are  of 
brick,  and  embrace  workshops,  dormitories  and  other  apart- 
ments necessary  for  the  comfort  of  the  inmates,  being  spacious, 
well  ventilated  and  warmed  by  steam.     By  acts  of  the  State 
Legislature,  the  managers  are  authorized  to  receive  and  detain 
minors  committed  to  their  custody  by  the  magistrates  and  the 
courts.     The  inmates  are  educated  both  physically  and  men- 
tally, and  many  of  them  are  placed  in  good  situations,  or  are 
bound  out  as  apprentices  to  suitable  masters.     The  sexes  and 
colors  are  separated,  and  a  classification  is  made  of  the  good 
and  the  bad.     Visitors  are  admitted  with  tickets,  which  may 
be  had  of  any  of  the  Board  of  Managers  and  at  the  Public 
Ledger  office.     Admission  every  afternoon  except  Saturday 
and  Sunday. 

The  corporation  of  the  House  of  Refuge  was  originally  composed 
of  the  most  noted  citizens  for  benevolence.  They  raised  by  sub- 
scription about  $10,000.  The  State  appropriated  $10,000,  and  $5000 
yearly  for  five  years.  The  managers  bought  a  lot  at  the  corner  of 
Ridge  road  and  Francis  lane,  now  Fairmount  avenue,  occupying  a 
full  square  of  ground.  They  erected  there  workshops,  cells,  chapel 
and  other  buildings.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  on  the  21st  of  June, 
1827,  and  the  building  was  opened  on  the  29th  of  November,  1828. 
About  twenty  years  afterward  the  necessity  of  erecting  a  building 
for  the  accommodation  of  colored  inmates  was  recognized,  and  the 
large  lot  between  Twenty-second  and  Twenty-third  streets,  and 
Pa^rish  and  Poplar  streets,  was  purchased.  Some  years  afterward 
the  boys'  department  was  built  there,  and  at  a  later  period  a  special 
building  for  girls  was  erected  at  the  corner  of  Twenty-second  and 
Poplar  streets,  which  was  dedicated  January  20,  1872. 

The  House  of  Correction  is  situated  on  the  south  bank  of 
Pennypack  Creek  at  its  junction  with  Delaware  Eiver,  east  of 
Holmesburg,  Twenty-third  ward.  It  occupies  a  lot  of  ground 
of  from  two  to  three  hundred  acres  in  extent,  which  is  ex- 
pected to  be  devoted  to  farming  purposes  and  other  means  of 
employing  the  industry  of  the  inmates.  The  buildings  are 
very  extensive,  comprising  a  large  main  building,  with  keep- 
ers' residences  and  offices,  a  central  building  and  eight  exten- 
sive wings.   In  the  central  building,  third  story,  is  the  Anchor 


116  PRISONS — THE   MORGUE. 

of  Hope  chapel,  which  will  hold  2500  persons.  The  building 
is  intended  for  the  reception  of  vagrants,  drunkards  and  per- 
sons guilty  of  slight  offences  against  the  peace  and  good  order 
of  the  community.  This  massive  edifice  was  built  by  Richard 
J.  Dobbins,  under  the  direction  of  the  city  corporation.  A 
portion  of  it  was  dedicated  January  27, 1872,  and  the  building 
was  fully  completed  and  opened  January  15, 1874.  Tickets  of 
admission  to  the  House  of  Correction  may  be  had  of  any  of 
the  managers.  Access  by  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  from 
d6p5t  Market  street  west  of  Thirty-second  street,  and  by  the 
Philadelphia  and  Trenton  Eailroad  depot,  Front  and  Har- 
rison streets,  to  Holmesburg  station. 

THE  MORGUE. 
The  finding  of  dead  bodies  of  unknown  persons  in  the 
rivers  which  flow  by  large  cities  or  in  the  public  streets  is  no 
uncommon  thing.  On  such  occasions  the  Coroner  is  gener- 
ally called  upon  to  hold  an  inquest,  and  frequently  the  identity 
of  the  unfortunate  individual  is  undiscovered.  The  Philadel- 
phia Morgue  was  arranged  for  the  same  purposes  as  the  famous 
Morgue  in  Paris.  It  is  a  place  to  which  dead  bodies  of  un- 
known persons  are  taken,  and  where  the  public  and  friends 
of  missing  individuals  may  inspect  the  remains.  They  are 
disposed  of  for  some  days,  when  not  recognized,  in  such 
manner  as  to  show  the  countenances  and  preserve  them  from 
decay  as  long  as  possible.  The  Morgue  is  situated  on  the 
north  side  of  Noble  street,  between  Front  street  and  Delaware 
avenue.  Access  may  be  had  by  the  Callowhill  street  railway 
ears  to  Front  and  Callowhill  streets,  a  short  distance  from  the 

Morgue. 

THE  PHILADELPHIA  ALMSHOUSE. 

The  Philadelphia  Almshouse,  usually  called  the  Blockley 
Almshouse  from  the  original  name  of  the  township  in  which 
when  built  it  was  situate,  is  on  the  west  side  of  the  river 
Schuylkill,  south  of  the  Darby  road.  Originally  there  were 
five  main  three-storied  buildings,  each  500  feet  long,  extending 
from  the  central  building,  which  is  imposing  in  appearance, 


THE   PHILADELPHIA   ALMSHOUSE.  117 

and  adorned  by  a  Tuscan  portico  of  six  pillars  each  5  feet  in 
diameter  at  the  base  and  30  feet  high.  The  ground  occupies  130 
acres.  The  buildings  are  devoted  to  the  poor  and  sick,  to  the 
insane  and  to  friendless  children.  The  management  is  by  a 
Board  of  Guardians  elected  by  Councils.  The  Philadelphia 
Hospital,  connected  with  the  establishment,  is  the  oldest  in  the 
United  States,  dating  back  to  the  year  1732.  During  the  year 
1874,  the  average  daily  population  of  the  Almshouse  was  3764, 
and  on  some  days  it  was  4055.  Of  these  there  were  a  daily 
average  of  1080  in  the  insane  department  and  108  children  in 
the  asylum.  The  whole  number  of  individuals  in  the  estab- 
lishment during  the  year  was  13,006.  In  the  hospital  6433 
cases  of  disease  were  treated.  The  guardians  also  grant  out- 
door relief  in  the  various  wards,  and  in  1874  that  assistance 
was  supplied  to  23,669  families  and  76,072  persons.  The  cost 
of  maintaining  the  almshouse  and  outdoor  poor  during  the 
year  was  $529,513.26. 

Access  to  the  Almshouse  by  the  Darby  cars  and  the  Chestnut 
and  Walnut  streets  railway  cars  going  west  on  Walnut  street, 
and  Darby  road  to  Thirty-fourth  street,  from  whence  there  is  a 
direct  passage  south  to  the  entrance  lodges.  Tickets  for  vis- 
itors may  be  had  of  the  guardians,  or  at  the  city  office.  Seventh 
street  above  Filbert  street,  west  side. 

The  first  almshouse  was  authorized  to  be  built  in  1731,  and  was 
finished  in  that  year  or  the  next.  It  occupied  a  square  of  ground 
bounded  by  Third  and  Fourth  streets,  Spruce  and  Pine  streets ;  and 
shortly  after  it  was  occupied,  the  attention  to  the  sick  who  were 
among  the  inmates  led  to  the  establishment  of  the  Philadelphia 
Hospital  in  connection  with  the  institution,  which  has  ever  since 
been  maintained  as  a  branch  of  the  establishment.  The  old  alms- 
house became  too  small  for  the  accommodation  of  the  poor  in  the 
course  of  thirty  years.  In  1766  a  new  plan  of  operation  was  adopted 
by  the  creation  of  a  corporation  benevolent  in  cliaracter,  which  was 
entitled  "  The  Contributors  to  the  Relief  and  Employment  of  the 
Poor  in  the  City  of  Philadelphia."  This  association,  assisted  by  the 
corporation  of  the  city,  purchased  a  lot  of  ground  between  Spruce 
and  Pine  streets  and  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets,  upon  which  was 
erected  two  buildings,  together  180  feet  front.  The  buildings  were 
four  stories  high.  A  house  of  employment  or  woi'khouse  was  con- 
8* 


118  ALMSHOUSE— LAZARETTO. 

nected  with  it,  in  which  various  kinds  of  fabrics,  woollen  and  cotton 
goods  were  made.  The  almshouse  when  first  opened  had  acommoda- 
tion  for  about  400  persons,  and  was  reserved  for  the  poor  of  the  city, 
Southwark,  Moyamensing  and  Northern  Liberties.  After  the  Revo- 
lution the  corporation  which  had  built  the  almshouse  was  dissolved, 
and  a  Board  of  Guardians  of  the  Poor  instituted.  Considerable 
additions  were  made  to  the  property,  which  was  generally  called 
the  "  Bettering  House."  The  building  on  the  west  side  of  the  river 
Schuylkill  was  authorized  to  be  constructed  about  1829,  and  was 
finished  and  occupied  about  1835. 

LAZARETTO. 

The   Lazaretto   is   situated   on  Tinicum   Island,  which   is 
formed  by   Darby  Creek   and  Plum   Hook  Creek   and  the 
Delaware  River.     The  two  former  streams  are  so  small  that 
substantially  it  may  be  said  that  the  Lazaretto  is  on  the  west 
bank  of  the  Delaware  Eiver,  about  twelve  miles  south   of 
Philadelphia  and  four  miles  north  of  Chester.     It  occupies 
an  area  of  about  12  acres  of  ground,  which  was  purchased  in 
1806.     The  buildings  consist  of  a  main  edifice  and  two  wings 
180  feet  in  width  by  60  feet  in  depth.     Also  residences  of  the 
physician  and  quarantine  master,  kitchen,  barn   and  other 
buildings,  including  a  large  building  for  the  temporary  lodging 
of  emigrants  not  sick.     The  Board  of  Health  has  control  of 
the  Lazaretto  and  the  hospital  attached.   There  is  a  Lazaretto 
physician  and  a  quarantine  master,  who  reside  at  the  Lazaretto 
during  the  quarantine  season,  which  extends  from  the  1st  of 
June  to  the  1st  of  October  of  each  year.     All  vessels  from  for- 
eign parts  arriving  in  quarantine  season  are  obliged  to  stop  at 
the  Lazaretto,  and  receive  a  visit  from  the  physician  and  quar- 
antine master.  If  the  inspection  is  satisfactory,  the  vessels  pass 
on  but  upon  reaching  the  city  are  subject  to  the  visit  of  the  port 
physician  and  health  officer.    If  at  the  Lazaretto  the  vessel  is 
found  to  have  sick  on  board  who  are  afflicted  with  pestilential 
or  contagious  disease,  it  is  detained.    The  sick  are  removed  to 
the  hospital,  which  has  large  and  airy  wards  and  100  beds. 

Adjoining  the  Lazaretto,  the  United   States   government 
has  an  inspection  station  occupying  about  9  acres  of  land, 

upon  which  there  are  buildings  for  storage  and  inspection  of 


LAZARETTO — PUBLIC   SCHOOLS.  119 

goods  when  necessary.  The  Lazaretto  is  an  attractive-looking 
place,  surrounded  by  fine  shade  trees  and  fanned  by  cool 
breezes  from  the  Delaware  River.  It  is  during  the  quaran- 
tine season  comfortable,  and  by  the  natural  advantages  of 
the  situation  afibrds  some  compensation  to  the  passenger 
who  may  be  detained  there. 

Access  to  the  Lazaretto  may  be  had  by  the  Philadelphia 
and  Chester  branch  of  the  Reading  Railroad.  There  is  a 
station  on  the  property.  Permits  can  be  obtained  at  the 
Heath  Office,  corner  of  Sixth  and  Sansom  streets 

PUBLIC   SCHOOLS. 

The  public  schools  in  Philadelphia  are  supported  by  taxa- 
tion, and  are  conducted  for  the  education  of  the  children 
of  residents  of  the  city.     They  are  governed  by  a  Board  of 
Education  and  by  School  Directors  in  the  various  sections. 
The  latter   are  elected   annually  by  citizens,  and  have   the- 
supervision  of  the  schools  within  their  respective  jurisdic- 
tions, the  appointment  of  teachers,  the  payment  of  expenses 
and  all  executive  matters  of  administration.     The  Board  of 
Education  is  composed  of  Controllers,  one  for  each  section, 
who  are  appointed  by  the  Common  Pleas  courts.     The  Board 
has  general  supervision  of  the  whole  school  system,  the  sup- 
ply of  the  wants  of  the  respective  sections  and  the  ordering 
of  all  matters  which  are  for  the  benefit  of  general  education. 
The  schools  are  graded  and  divided  into  primary,  secondary, 
consolidated   and  grammar,   which   are   established    in  the 
various  sections,  a  high  school  for  boys,  in  which  the  course 
is  of  a  collegiate  character,  and  a  normal  school  for  girls, 
which  latter,  however,  is  devoted  to  the  education  of  young 
women  who  expect  to  be  teachers.     There  are  29  sections  in 
Philadelphia.     Each  section  is   provided  with  school-build- 
ings, some  of  them  having  as  many  as  ten  separate  school- 
houses.      Altogether,   there   were   at   the   beginning   of   the 
year   1875,    182   school-buildings,    which   had   cost   to   erect 
$3,469,700,  the  lots  being  worth  $1,825,419.     Total  real  estate 
value,  $5,295,119  ;  value  of  school  furniture,  $289,550.     Total 


120  PUBLIC   SCHOOLS. 

value  of  school  property,  $5,554,969.  For  the  support  of  these 
schools  in  1874  the  expense  was  $1,607,736.91.  The  number 
of  schools  were  426,  and  including  night-schools,  467.  These 
schools  were  graduated  as  follows :  1  central  high  school  for 
boys,  1  normal  school  for  girls,  60  grammar-schools,  29  con- 
solidated schools,  121  secondary  schools,  212  primary,  41 
night-schools.  The  number  of  teachers  employed  in  these 
day-schools  was  1776,  and  including  night-schools,  total,  1991. 
The  number  of  pupils  in  attendance  at  the  public  schools 
was,  including  night-schools,  108,631. 

The  subject  of  education  has  always  received  much  attention  in 
Pennsylvania.  William  Penn  said  in  his  frame  of  government :  "  Let 
men  be  good,  and  the  government  cannot  be  bad :  if  it  be  ill,  they 
will  cure  it ;  but  if  men  be  bad,  let  the  government  be  never  so  good 
they  will  endeavor  to  warp  and  spoil  it  to  their  turn.  Those,  there- 
fore, who  make  a  good  government  must  keep  it.  .  .  .  That,  there- 
fore, which  makes  a  good  constitution  must  keep  it — namely,  men 
of  wisdom  and  virtue,  qualities  that,  because  they  descend  not  with 
worldly  inheritances,  must  be  carefully  propagated  by  a  virtuous 
education  of  youth."  Schools  were  set  up  in  Philadelphia  shortly 
after  the  settlement,  and  in  1689  Penn  chartered  the  Philadelphia 
public  school,  which  was  afterward  much  enlarged.  It  was  partly 
for  the  children  of  those  who  could  afford  to  pay  for  their  education, 
but  it  was  also  said  to  be  "  for  the  education  of  the  children  of  the 
poor  gratis."  In  1711  the  charter  was  greatly  extended,  and  the 
"  overseers  of  the  public  schools,"  as  they  were  called,  in  that  year  or 
immediately  afterward,  built  two  school-house  buildings  on  Fourth 
street  below  Chestnut,  which  venerable  establishments  remained  there 
until  within  a  recent  period.  These  schools  were  academical,  and  un- 
til the  charter  of  the  College  of  Philadelphia  the  best  which  Pennsyl- 
vania afforded.  Many  eminent  men  were  teachers  there,  among  them 
the  celebrated  George  Keith,  Robert  Proud,  the  historian  of  Penn- 
sylvania, and  Charles  Thomson,  the  secretary  of  the  Continental 
Congress.  The  constitution  of  Pennsylvania  of  1776  provided  for  the 
establishment  of  schools  in  each  county  by  the  legislature  "  for  the 
convenient  instruction  of  youth."  The  constitution  of  1790  repeated 
this  declaration,  with  the  addition  that  the  legislature  shou^ld  provide 
for  the  schools  "  in  such  manner  that  the  poor  may  be  taught  gratis." 
The  })rovision  in  regard  to  a  gratis  education  was  gradually  increased 
in  effect  until  the  object  was  reached.  At  first  it  was  settled  by  law 
that  the  respective  counties  might  pay  for  the  education  of  children 


PUBLIC    SCHOOLS. 


121 


whose  parents  declared  that  they  were  too  poor  to  pay  for  their  school- 
ing. This  was  invidious  and  unpopular.  Gradually  the  feeling  ex- 
tended to  the  acknowledgment  of  the  principle  that  it  was  the  duty 
of  the  State  to  furnish  the  means  of  general  education  at  the  public 
expense,  raised  by  the  taxation  of  citizens,  and  that  to  the  schools  all 
children  of  residents  of  the  State,  whether  rich  or  poor,  should  be 
admitted  as  a  right,  and  not  as  a  charity.  In  1818  an  act  "  to  pro- 
vide for  the  education  of  children  at  the  public  expense  within  the 
city  and  county  of  Philadelphia  "  was  passed,  Lancasterian  schools 
were  soon  established,  and  Joseph  Lancaster  himself,  the  founder 
of  the  system,  was  brought  on  from  England  in  order  to  superintend 
them.  This  system  in  the  course  of  a  few  years  was  found  to  be  de- 
fective, and  was  abolished.  Afterward  various  changes  were  made, 
and  the  system  under  controllers  and  school  directors  enlarged  and 
made  more  comprehensive. 

The  Central  High  School  for  boys  is  situated  at  the  S.  E. 
corner  of  Broad  and  Green  streets.  It  is  a  solid  brick  build- 
ing of  simple  arcliitectural  style,  and  has  a  central  tower 
and  observatory.     The  building  is  fitted  up  with  class-rooms, 


CENTRAIi    HIGH    SCHOOL,. 

lecture-rooms  and  other  apartments,  and  the  observatory  is 
provided  with  a  set  of  astronomical  instruments,  which  are 
found  to  be  useful  and  sufficient  for  ordinary  purposes.  The 
course  of  instruction  includes  astronomy,  physiology,  geom- 
11 


122  PUBLIC   SCHOOLS. 

etry,  physics,  chemistry,  political  economy,  trigonometry, 
logic,  rhetoric,  mechanical  and  engineering  drawing,  Latin 
and  German,  and  is  intended  to  be  solid,  so  as  to  fit  the  grad- 
uates for  the  practical  duties  of  life.  In  1874  there  were  605 
pupils  in  the  high  school,  14  professors  and  2  assistants. 
The  cost  of  the  institution  for  the  year  1874  was  $45,270.56. 

The  Central  High  School  was  established  by  act  of  Assembly,  and 
the  corner-stone  laid  upon  a  lot  on  the  east  side  of  Juniper  street 
below  Market,  on  the  19th  of  September,  1837.  The  building  was 
of  white  marble  and  handsome  in  appearance.  It  was  finally  sold 
to  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company ,which  erected  a  depot  there. 
The  new  building  Broad  and  Green  streets  was  dedicated  25th  of 
June,  1854. 

The  Girls'  Normal  School  is  at  present  situate  in  a  building 
much  too  small  for  the  purpose,  in  Sergeant  street  between 
Ninth  and  Tenth  streets.  This  place  will  soon  be  abandoned. 
The  new  building  for  the  school  is  situate  at  the  north-east 
corner  of  Spring  Garden  and  Seventeenth  streets.  It  is  116 
feet  on  Spring  Garden  street  by  158  feet  on  Seventeenth  street, 
leaving  a  space  east  and  north  of  it  for  yards.  The  building  is 
of  serpentine  greenstone,  trimmed  with  light  Ohio  sandstone 
for  window-sills,  window-heads,  quoins,  etc.  The  doorways  in 
the  centre  of  each  front  are  surmounted  by  stone  balconies. 
There  are  three  main  stories,  a  Mansard  attic  and  a  central 
tower  92  feet  high.  The  building  contains  numerous  class- 
rooms, lecture-rooms,  recitation-rooms  and  other  apartments. 
The  cost  of  the  lot  was  $44,144,  and  the  appropriation  for  the 
building  was  $158,788.  The  number  of  pupils  in  normal 
school  in  1874  was  605;  cost  of  maintaining  this  school, 
$13,731.53.  The  tuition  is  under  charge  of  a  principal  and 
12  teachers. 

The  Grammar  Schools. — As  we  have  said,  there  were  182 
buildings  occupied  by  public  schools  in  Philadelphia  at  the 
beginning  of  1875.  The  oldest  of  these  are  of  brick,  but  all 
of  those  erected  within  the  last  ten  or  fifteen  years  are  of  some 
kind  of  stone,  and  although  not  elaborate  in  architecture  are 
appropriate  in  design  and  appearance,  and  calculated  to 
attract  the  attention  of  visitors.     They  are  usually  of  three 


PUBLIC   SCHOOLS.  123 

Stories  in  height;  most  of  them  have  accommodations  for 
several  hundred  children.  Strangers  require  no  permits  to 
visit  the  public  schools.  They  will  be  received  by  the  teach- 
ers with  politeness,  and  afforded  conveniences  for  witnessing 
the  exercises  and  recitations. 

The  following  are  the  principal  school-houses  in  the  various 
sections:    First  section,  south-east   corner   of   Seventh   and 
Dickinson   streets;    Second,  George  W.  Nebinger  grammar- 
school,  Carpenter  street  above  Sixth;  Third,  Mount  Vernon, 
Catharine  street  between  Third  and  Fourth;  Fourth,  Ring- 
gold,  north-east    corner  of   Eighth   and    Fitzwater  streets; 
Fifth,  George  M.  Wharton,  Third  street  below  Pine;  Sixth, 
North-western,  corner  of  Crown  and  Race  streets;  Seventh, 
South-western,    corner    of    Seventeenth    and    Pine    streets; 
Eighth,  Locust  Street,  corner  of  Twelfth  and  Locust  streets ; 
Ninth,  Keystone,  Nineteenth  street  above  Chestnut;  Tenth, 
North-western,  Race  street  below  Fifteenth ;  Eleventh,  North- 
ern  Liberties,  Third   street  below  Green;    Twelfth,  Mifflin 
(secondary),  Third  street  above  Brown ;  Thirteenth,  Wyoming, 
corner  of  Sixth  street  and  Fairmount  avenue;  Fourteenth, 
Monroe,  Wood  street  below  Twelfth ;  Fifteenth,  Lincoln,  cor- 
ner of  Twentieth  street  and  Fairmount  avenue ;  Sixteenth,  Jef- 
ferson, Fifth  street  above  Poplar ;  Seventeenth,  J.  R.  Ludlow, 
corner  of  Master  and  Lawrence  streets ;  Eighteenth,  Vaughn, 
Marlborough  street  above  Thompson;   Nineteenth,  William 
H.  Hunter,  corner  of  Dauphin  and  Mascher  streets;  Twen- 
tieth, Penn,  Park  avenue  below  Master  street ;   Twenty -first, 
Manayunk,  Green  lane  below  Wood  street;  Twenty-second, 
Rittenhouse,  Rittenhouse  street,  Germantown;  Twenty-third, 
Henry   Herbert,   Frankford   avenue    near   Foulkrod    street, 
Frankford ;  Twenty-fourth,  Belmont,  Forty-first  and  Oregon 
streets;   Twenty-fifth,  H.  W.  Halliwell,  Frankford  road  and 
Helen   street;   Twenty-sixth,   Edwin   M.  Stanton,  corner  of 
Seventeenth  and  Christian  streets;  Twenty-seventh,  Newton, 
Thirty-eighth    and    Spruce    streets;    Twenty-eighth,    Forest 

(consolidated).  Falls  of  Schuylkill;  Twenty-ninth,  Reynolds, 

Twentieth  and  Jefferson  streets. 


124  PUBLIC   SCHOOLS. 

Many  of  the  secondary-school  buildings  are  as  handsome  as 
the  grammar-schools.  Among  them  may  be  named :  Thaddeus 
Stevens,  Seventeenth  street  above  Fairmount  avenue;  Adams, 
on  Adams  street  near  Amber;  Spencer  Roberts,  Twenty- 
first  and  Mill  streets ;  William  S.  Peirce,  Twenty-fourth  and 
Christian  streets ;  Oakdale,  corner  of  Eleventh  and  Hunting- 
don streets ;  Feltonville,  corner  of  Second  street  and  Fisher's 
lane;  Tacony,  at  Tacony;  Wilmot,  Cherry  and  Meadow 
streets,  Frankford;  Camac,  corner  of  Thirteenth  street  and 
Susquehanna  avenue ;  L.  H.  Smith,  corner  of  Fifth  and  Sny- 
der streets ;  Horace  Binney,  Spruce  street  below  Sixth ;  Alfred 
Crease,  Eittenhousetown ;  Germantown,  Adams  street;  El- 
wood,  at  Milestown ;  Martha  Washington,  Forty-fourth  and 
•Huron  streets;  Jesse  George,  Sixty-third  and  Hamilton 
streets ;  Jeremiah  Nichols,  corner  of  Sixteenth  and  Wharton 
streets;  Muhlenberg,  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Master 
streets ;  George  G.  Meade,  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Oxford 
streets ;  Weccacoe,  corner  of  Second  and  Eeed  streets ;  Whar- 
ton, Fifth  street  below  Washington  avenue ;  Fletcher,  Chris- 
tian street  above  Front ;  Fagen,  Twelfth  street  below  Fitzwa- 
ter ;  James  Forten  grammar-school  for  colored  children.  Sixth 
street  above  Lombard;  Hollingsworth,  Locust  street  above 
Broad ;  Filbert  Street,  Filbert  street  above  Seventh ;  Chester 
Street,  Chester  street  above  Race ;  New  Market,  New  Market 
street  above  Noble;  Hancock,  Fairmount  avenue  above 
Twelfth  street;  Harrison,  Master  street  above  Second;  Co- 
hocksiuk,  Fourth  street  and  Montgomery  avenue;  Rutledge, 
corner  of  Seventh  and  Norris  streets;  Chestnut  Hill,  High- 
land avenue ;  Mantua,  Haverford  street  above  Thirty -fifth. 


CHAPTER   VI. 

U.  S.  GOVERNMENT  BUILDINGS  AND  OFFICES. 

THE  UNITED  STATES  CUSTOM-HOUSE  AND  SUB- 
TREASURY. 

THE  building  now  occupied  as  a  custom-house  is  situated 
upon  tlie  south  side  of  Chestnut  street  between  Fourth  and 
Fifth,  and  extends  to  Libraiy  street.  It  is  of  white  marble  with 
porticoes,  and  was  originally  constructed  for  the  United  States 
Bank.  It  is  modelled  after  the  Parthenon  at  Athens,  and  is 
considered  one  of  the  finest  specimens  of  Doric  architecture 
in  the  world.  The  corner-stone  of  this  structure  was  laid 
April,  1819,  and  the  building  was  finished  in  1824.  The  ter- 
race upon  which  the  edifice  is  built  is  119  feet  wide  and  225 
feet  deep,  with  yard  space  on  either  side.  The  main  building, 
with  the  steps  and  approaches,  is  87  feet  front  by  187  feet 
deep.  A  massive  portico  of  8  columns  27  feet  high,  support- 
ing a  pediment,  gives  to  the  front  an  imposing  appearance 
which  attracts  the  attention  of  strangers.  A  similar  portico  is 
in  the  rear.  The  main  business-room  extends  from  east  to 
west,  is  48  feet  wide  and  81  feet  deep.  An  arched  ceiling  with 
moulded  panels  supported  on  marble  Ionic  columns  finishes  the 
apartment.    It  is  35  feet  from  the  floor  to  the  crown  of  the  arch. 

The  northern  portion  of  the  building,  including  the  main 
hall,  is  appropriated  to  the  use  of  the  Custom-house,  with 
apartments  for  the  various  officers.  The  portion  of  the  build- 
ing which  fronts  on  Library  street  is  occupied  by  the  United 
States  Treasury  department  as  a  sub-treasury  office. 

The  principal  business  transacted  in  the  Custom-house  de- 
partment is  connected  with  tlie  collection  of  the  revenues 
upon  imported  goods,  (he  adjustments  of  duties,  etc. 

11  *  125 


XJ.    S.    CUSTOM-HOUSE,    ETC.  127 

The  baggage  of  passengers  arriving  direct  in  Philadelphia 
from  foreign  countries  is  examined  on  board  the  vessel  in  the 
river  or  in  dock,  and  the  regulations  in  reference  to  what  is 
dutiable  are  printed  and  supplied  to  passengers  in  advance  by 
the  officers  of  the  ship. 

UNITED    STATES   TREASURER'S   OFFICE. 

The  assistant  treasurer  of  the  United  States  receives  the 
revenues  and  moneys  which  are  payable  to  the  Federal  gov- 
ernment. He  is  also  the  disbursing  officer  for  all  amounts 
due  from  the  government.  In  this  connection  particularly 
are  to  be  noted  the  operations  of  the  office  in  regard  to  the 
debt  of  the  United  States,  the  transfer  of  loans  and  bonds, 
and  the  payment  of  interest  to  bondholders  when  due. 

This  building  is  open  to  visitors  from  9  to  3  o'clock.  They 
can  enter  freely  and  examine  the  interior  allotted  to  the 
public.     Chestnut  street  cars  going  east  pass  this  building. 

By  the  charter  of  Pennsylvania  the  right  of  the  king  to  collect 
the  royal  customs  was  reserved,  and  collectors  of  revenue  were  ap- 
pointed immediately  after  the  settlement  of  the  city.  A  succession 
of  king's  collectors  of  customs  guarded  this  interest  until  the  Revo- 
lution. They  were  succeeded  by  collectors  appointed  by  the  author- 
ity of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania.  Upon  the  formation  of  the  Fed- 
eral government  a  collector  was  appointed  by  President  Washington. 
Sharp  Delaney,  who  had  held  the  office  under  the  State,  was  ap- 
pointed under  the  new  government.  The  offices  of  the  collectors 
during  early  times  were  at  their  own  residences  or  stores.  The 
United  States  rented  for  Custom-house  purposes  Carpenters'  Hall 
in  1802.  It  was  occupied  for  that  purpose  until  January  1,  1S17, 
when  the  first  Custom-house  building  erected  in  this  city  was  opened 
on  the  west  side  of  Second  street  below  Dock,  at  the  corner  of  Elms- 
lie's  alley.  It  was  a  plain  building  of  marble  and  brick,  somewhat 
odd  in  appearance.  It  was  occupied  until  1845,  when  the  United 
States  Bank  building  was  bought  by  the  government. 

UNITED   STATES   APPRAISER'S   BUILDING. 
The  necessity  of  having  some  building  for  storage  purposes 
connected  with  the  customs  department,  to  be  used  as  a  ware- 
house in  which  imported  goods  could  be  received  and  ap- 


128  U.    S.    appraiser's   building — POST-OFFICE. 

praised  and  duties  adjusted,  led  to  the  construction  of  the 
massive  warehouse  building  which  extends  from  Second  to 
Dock  street  above  Walnut.  It  is  five  stories  in  height,  solidly 
built  of  brick  and  iron,  no  combustible  material  being  used 
in  it.  Mr.  MuUett,  formerly  supervising  architect  of  the 
Treasury,  has  said  that  this  is  the  only  thoroughly  fireproof 
building  in  the  United  States.  This  building  was  completed 
and  put  in  use  in  1871. 

POST-OPPICE. 
The  building  now  used  as  the  post-office  is  located  on 
Chestnut  street,  on  the  south  side,  between  Fourth  and  Fifth 
streets,  immediately  west  of  the  Custom-house.  The  front  is 
marble,  the  building  in  the  French  style,  and  is  of  pleasing 
appearance. 

The  building  is  insufficient  for  the  proper  accommodation 
of  the  mail  service,  and  the  officers  impatiently  wait  for  the 
completion  of  the  fine  new  building  which  is  to  be  erected 
for  the  use  of  the  post-office  and  the  United  States  on  the  lot 
of  ground  extending  from  Chestnut  to  Market  on  the  west 
side  of  Ninth  street. 

The  Philadelphia  post-office  delivered  in  the  year  1874  by 
the  hands  of  207  carriers  and  the  office  window-clerks, 
16,728,429  mail  letters  and  8,796,943  local  letters,  6,883,714 
newspapers,  total,  35,986,514.  This  is  an  increase  since  the 
year  1870  of  more  than  fifteen  millions  of  missives.  The 
collection  service  of  letters  to  be  sent  through  the  post-office, 
including  newspapers  and  postal  cards,  amounted  in  1874  to 
26,937,979.  The  increase  here  in  five  years  was  more  than 
twelve  millions  of  letters,  etc.  The  sales  of  stamps,  stamped 
envelopes,  etc.,  in  1874  was  little  over  $900,000.  The  money- 
order  business  of  the  year  was  $761,079.58;  orders  issued  to 
over  38,000  persons,  and  $2,259,379.10  paid  to  more  than 
172,000  persons.  Over  89,000  registered  letters  were  received 
for  city  delivery,  and  over  28,000  letters  registered  to  be  sent 
away. 

For  the  accommodation  of  the  public,  letter-boxes  are 


POST-OFFICE — U.   S.    CX)URTS.  129 

placed  in  the  streets  of  the  city,  usually  affixed  to  lamp-posts 
and  at  distances  of  every  two  or  three  squares.  Letters  can 
be  deposited  in  these  boxes  by  persons  in  the  neighborhood. 
Several  collections  are  made  of  such  letters  by  the  post-office 
carriers  during  each  day.  The  letters  are  then  taken  to  the 
post-office  and  mailed.  The  hours  of  collection  are  painted 
upon  the  boxes.  Letters  properly  stamped  are  delivered  with- 
out ftirther  charge.  To  expedite  the  service  the  department  is 
supplied  with  a  considerable  number  of  post-wagons,  by  means 
of  which  the  carriers  are  taken  with  speed  to  their  respective 
routes  and  brought  back  to  the  office  after  their  work  is  done. 

Lists  of  letters  uncalled  for  are  published  in  the  daily 
papers  once  a  week. 

The  city  of  Philadelphia  is  a  post-office  district.  Single 
letters  can  be  sent  from  any  part  of  the  city  to  any  other 
part  by  affixing  a  two-cent  stamp.  Postal  cards,  of  course, 
will  attain  the  same  objects. 

The  sub  post-offices  in  the  city  are  as  follows : 

West  Philadelphia,  Frankford,  Germantown,  Chestnut  Hill, 
Manayunk,  Tacony,  Holmesburg,  Torresdale,  Byberry,  Bus- 
tleton,  Somerton,  Oxford  Church,  Fox  Chase,  Milestown, 
Verree's  Mills,  Wheat  Sheaf,  Crescentville. 

UNITED  STATES  COURTS. 
The  upper  portion  of  the  post-office  building  is  appropri 
ated  to  the  use  of  the  United  States  circuit  and  district 
courts,  United  States  district  attorney,  marshal  and  court 
clerks.  The  entrance  to  this  portion  of  the  building  is  upon 
Library  street.  The  clerks  of  the  two  courts  occupy  the 
front  room,  second  story.  The  court-room  is  immediately  in 
the  rear.  The  offices  of  the  United  States  district  attorney 
and  United  States  marshal  are  near  the  Chestnut  street 
front.  The  upper  portion  of  the  building  is  occupied  for 
jury-rooms,  etc. 

This  is  the  first  building  erected  by  the  United  States  government 
in  Philadelphia  for  the  accommodation  of  the  post-office  and  United 
States  courts.     It  was  built  by  alteration  of  other  buildings,  and 

I 


130  U.    S.    COURTS — NEW    POST-OFFICE. 

opened  February  26, 1863.  The  first  postmaster  in  the  city  under  the 
Crown  was  Andrew  Hamilton,  who  in  1697  was  appointed  postmaster- 
general  of  America,  and  had  his  office  in  Philadelphia.  Among  his 
successors  in  the  city  post-office  were  the  two  famous  printers  Andrew 
Bradford  and  Benjamin  Franklin.  William  Franklin,  son  of  the 
latter,  afterward  governor  of  New  Jersey  under  the  Crown,  held  the 
office  for  some  time.  At  the  outbreak  of  the  Eevolution  Benjamin 
Franklin  was  appointed  postmaster-general  for  America,  and  his 
deputy  for  the  city  was  Richard  Bache,  his  son-in-law,  who  subse- 
quently became  postmaster-general.  With  the  accession  of  the 
Federal  government  came  the  appointment  of  a  new  postmaster, 
Colonel  Robert  Patton,  who  held  the  office  for  twenty-five  years. 
The  locations  of  the  post-offices  in  early  times  were  at  the  residences 
or  business-places  of  the  postmasters.  Bradford  and  Franklm  kept 
it  in  the  printing-office  of  each.  From  1834  to  1854  it  was  at  the 
Philadelphia  Exchange,  in  Dock  street.  In  the  latter  year  it  re- 
moved to  Jayne's  building,  opposite,  where  it  remained  until  it  occu- 
pied the  present  building  in  1862. 

The  court  of  admiralty  under  the  Crown,  the  predecessor  of  the 
United  States  district  court,  was  generally  held  in  the  buildings  occu- 
pied by  the  provincial  courts  before  the  Revolution.  The  Federal 
courts  occupied  the  State  court-rooms  afterward.  While  the  Federal 
government  was  in  Philadelphia  the  United  States  courts  sat  in  the 
City  Hall,  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.  Subsequently  they  were  in 
the  court-rooms  at  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets.  They  occupied  the 
second  story  of  Independence  Hall  several  years.  In  1854  they 
were  transferred  to  Philosophical  Hall,  in  Fifth  street  below  Chest- 
nut street,  and  in  1862  to  the  present  location.  Some  very  eminent 
men  have  been  judges  of  admiralty  and  of  the  Federal  courts. 
Among  them  may  be  mentioned :  before  the  Revolution,  Andrew 
Hamilton  and  Edward  Shippen ;  during  the  Eevolution,  George 
Ross  and  Francis  Hopkinson,  both  signers  of  the  Declaration  of  In- 
dependence. Under  the  Federal  government,  Richard  Peters  of 
Belmont  was  judge  of  the  district  court  from  1792  to  1829. 

NEW  POST-OFFICE. 

This  building,  located  on  the  corner  of  Ninth  and  Chestnut 
streets,  will  occupy  the  site  of  the  mansion  finished  in  1797 
for  the  use  of  the  President  of  the  United  States,  which  was 
afterward  purchased  by  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  used 
for  some  years,  and  then  replaced  by  two  new  buildings.  The 
cost  of  the  new  post-office  is  limited  in  the  act  of  Congress  at 


KEW    POST-OFFICE UNITP:D    STATES    MTNT.     131 

$4,000,000.  The  style  of  architecture  adopted  is  the  French 
Renaissance.  The  building  will  be  four  stories  in  height,  and 
surmounted  by  a  large  dome  constructed  of  iron.  The  prin- 
cipal material  used  for  this  building  will  be  granite.  The 
dimensions  will  be:  length,  428  feet;  depth,  152  feet;  height 
to  top  of  dome,  184  feet.  The  main  entrance  will  be  on  Ninth 
street,  and  a  broad  space  dedicated  to  public  use  will  set  the 
building  back  from  the  street.  The  lower  floor  and  basement 
will  be  reserved  for  the  purposes  of  the  post-office.  The 
upper  stories  are  to  be  occupied  by  the  United  States  courts, 
clerks  and  law-offices  and  the  offices  of  internal  revenue,  navy 
agent,  pension  agents,  assistant  quartermasters  of  the  army 
and  others. 

THE  UNITED  STATES  MINT. 

A  marble  building,  with  a  Grecian  portico,  on  the  north 
side  of  Chestnut  street,  north-west  corner  of  Juniper  street, 
east  of  Broad  street. 

It  is  open  every  day  to  visitors  from  9  A.  m.  to  12  M.  (Ex- 
cept Sundays.) 

Visitors  on  entering  are  received  by  the  doorkeeper  and 
placed  in  charge  of  conductors,  who  show  them:  1.  The  de- 
posit-room, where  the  gold  and  silver  bullion  is  received  and 
weighed.  2.  The  copper-melting  room,  where  ingots  are  cast 
for  the  minor  coinage.  3.  The  gold  and  silver  melting  room, 
where  the  precious  metals  are  melted  and  cast  into  ingots,  or 
short,  narrow  bars  with  a  wedge-end  convenient  for  rolling. 
4.  The  rolling  and  cutting  room,  where  the  ingots  are  rolled 
into  strips  of  the  proper  thickness  for  the  different  denomina- 
tions of  coin  and  the  planchets  or  blanks  cut  out  by  machin- 
ery.    5.  The  coining  room.     All  on  the  main  floor. 

From  here  visitors  are  taken  to  the  cabinet  of  coins,  a  suite 
of  rooms  on  the  second  story,  over  the  vestibule,  containing 
the  largest  and  most  valuable  collection  of  coins  and  medals 
in  the  United  States,  some  of  the  coins  dating  back  to  1000 
and  2000  years  before  the  Christian  era.  Among  them  is  the 
"widow's  mite,"  found  near  the  site  of  the  temple  at  Jeru- 
salem. 


THE    UNITED    STATES    MINT. 


133 


There  are  other  departments  of  the  Mint  on  the  first  and 
second  stories  and  in  the  basement  that  are  not  open  to  the 
public.  The  building  contains  twelve  strong  vaults,  securely 
locked.  A  most  vigilant  oversight  is  maintained  during 
working-hours;  and  after  the  Mint  is  closed  and  through  the 
night  the  establishment  is  in  charge  of  a  strong  force  of 
picked  watchmen,  who  are  well  supplied  with  firearms  and 
other  means  of  protection  and  defence. 


COTJET-YARD,  UNITED    STATES  MINT. 

The  operations  and  beautiful  and  costly  machinery  of  the 
Mint  are  well  worth  seeing. 

The  Mint  was  established  by  the  act  of  Congress  of  the  2d 
of  April,  1792,  and  a  building  soon  after  erected  on  the  east 
side  of  Seventh  street  above  Market  street  for  its  use.  (See 
Chapter  XXVII.)  The  first  director  was  David  Rittenhouse, 
LL.D.,  appointed  by  President  Washington,  April  14,  1792. 

The  first  United  States  coinage  was  as  follows:  Copper 
V2 


134  THE   UNITED   STATES   MINT. 

cents  in  1793,  silver  dollars  in  1794,  and  gold  eagles  in  1795. 
The  machinery  and  metal  first  used  were  imported,  the  cop- 
per coming  from  England,  and  difficult  to  get. 

The  work  of  the  Mint  was  done  by  hand  or  horse  power  up 
to  the  year  1816,  when  steam  was  introduced. 

In  1797,  1798  and  1799,  and  1802-3,  the  Mint  frequently 
suspended  operations  on  account  of  yellow  fever. 

The  corner-stone  of  the  present  building  was  laid  July  4, 
1829,  by  Samuel  Moore,  then  director;  but  it  was  not  occupied 
until  May,  1833.  It  was  made  fireproof  in  1854,  and  the 
interior  has  been  frequently  altered. 

This  Mint  has  a  world-wide  reputation  as  one  of  the  fore- 
most institutions  of  its  kind.  The  first  gold  received  from 
California  was  deposited  here  December  8,  1848,  by  Mr. 
Daniel  Carter,  who  brought  it  from  San  Francisco  by  the 
Panama  route.  It  weighed  1804.09  ounces  troy,  its  value 
being  $18.01  per  ounce. 

The  coinage  executed  at  the  Philadelphia  Mint  during  the 
fiscal  year  ending  June  30,  1873,  was  as  follows : 

No,  of  Pieces.  Value. 

Gold  ^88,330  $17,664,937.50 

^Cr  ■■:::..:: 10,329,600  2,627,240.50 

Copper  and  nickel....  18^25^  494^050lOO 

Total 30,142,930  $20,786,228.00 

Fine  bars  for  commercial  purposes  made  at  this  Mint  during 
the  same  year  were : 

Fine  gold  bars $  62,025.41 

Fine  silver  bars 116,046.21 

Total $178,071.92 

The  total  amount  of  gold  and  silver  deposits  and  purchases, 
coins  struck  and  stamped  bars  manufactured  at  the  Mint  and 
branches  and  the  assay  offices  during  the  fiscal  year  above 
specified  was  $66,849,714.31. 

The  ao-gregate  coinage  of  the  Mint  and  branches  from 
1794  to  June  30,  1873,  was  $973,967,651.65;  bars,  $308,602,- 
935.50;  total  coinage  and  bars,  $1,282,570,587.15— nearly 
$1,300,000,000. 


UNITED  STATES    ARSENALS.  135 

UNITED  STATES  ARSENALS. 
The  United  States  has  two  arsenals  at  Philadelphia.     One 
of  these  has  ceased,  however,  to  be  a  storehouse  for  arms,  but 
is  devoted  to  the  purposes  of  a  dep6t  of  supplies  of  clothing 

for  the  use  of  troops. 

The  Frankford  Arsenal,  usually  so  called,  is  sometimes  known 

as  the  Bridesburg  Arsenal,  it  being  situate  in  immediate 
proximity  to  that  portion  of  the  city  once  known  as  Brides- 
burg. The  location  is  upon  Tacony  road  and  Bridge  street, 
with  a  front  upon  Frankford  Creek,  and  extending  a  quarter 
of  a  mile  to  the  river  Delaware.  The  ground  contains  sixty- 
two  acres  and  eighty-two  roods.  On  this  property  are  two 
brick  houses  used  for  offices,  four  buildings  for  barracks  and 
quarters,  eight  storehouses  of  brick  and  stone,  12  frame  labo- 
ratories, a  magazine  which  will  hold  one  thousand  barrels  of 
poAvder,  machine  shop,  rolling  mill,  hospital,  dispensary  and 
other  buildings.  The  establishment  is  subject  to  military 
discipline,  and  under  command  of  a  line  officer  of  the  United 
States  army.  At  this  arsenal  are  manufactured  blank  and 
ball  cartridges,  rifles,  carbines  and  revolving  pistols.  Also 
standard  gauges,  scales,  weights,  calipers  and  other  instru- 
ments of  precision  which  are  used  in  the  various  government 
shops  throughout  the  country.  Occasionally  ordnance  is 
manufactured  here,  the  most  noted  article  of  which  is  the 
great  Woodbridge  steel  and  bronze  gun,  weighing  twenty-two 
tons,  and  constructed  as  an  experiment  at  the  expense  of  the 
government,  and  which  cost  nearly  a  quarter  of  a  million  of 
dollars.  The  capacity  of  the  establishment  is  enormous. 
During  the  fiscal  year  1874-5  there  were  manufactured  here 
over  ten  millions  and  a  half  of  cartridges  and  other  articles, 
worth,  according  to  estimate,  excluding  the  cost  of  the  Wood- 
bridge  gun,  $270,695.13.  The  grounds  are  handsomely  laid 
out,  and  are  attractive  in  appearance,  being  shaded  with  fine 
trees  and  having  smooth  lawns  and  several  flower  gardens. 
There  are  several  curiosities  upon  the  grounds,  among  them 
some  cannon  highly  decorated  with  fancy  moulding,  flowers, 
etc.,  trophies  taken  from  the  English  and  French  during  the 


136  UNITED   STATES   ARSENALS. 

wars  with  those  nations.  Access  to  this  Arsenal  may  be  had 
by  the  Second  and  Third  streets  passenger  railway,  Bridesburg 
branch  line. 

The  first  purchase  of  land  for  the  purpose  of  this  Arsenal,  over 
twenty  acres,  was  made  in  1816,  and  ofiicers'  quarters,  storehouses, 
magazine,  hospital  and  other  buildings  were  erected.  In  1837  an 
additional  purchase  of  over  three  acres  was  made,  and  in  1849 
about  thirty-nine  acres  additional  were  bought,  which  gave  to  the 
establishment  a  front  upon  the  river  Delaware.  An  explosion  at 
this  arsenal  November  5,  1861,  killed  two  persons  and  wounded  one. 
An  explosion  took  place  on  the  7th  of  August,  1875,  by  which  two 
persons  were  killed  and  twenty-one  wounded.  It  was  the  result  of 
carelessness  on  the  part  of  one  of  the  victims. 

The  Schuylkill  Arsenal  is  situated  at  the  Gray's  Ferry  road, 
between  Carpenter  and  Washington  streets,  and  occupies 
about  eight  acres.  There  are  four  principal  buildings  of 
brick,  and  the  grounds  are  shaded  and  pleasant.  The  estab- 
lishment is  a  great  workshop  and  storehouse  of  clothing  for 
soldiers,  and  includes  everything  connected  with  the  uniform- 
coats,  shirting,  pantaloons,  stockings,  overcoats,  shoes,  gloves, 
mittens,  caps,  helmets,  plumes  and  cap  ornaments ;  also  bed- 
ding, blankets,  tents  and  other  articles.  An  immense  amount 
of  made-up  goods  is  constantly  on  storage.  The  services  of 
men  and  women  for  making  up  the  goods  are  necessary. 
From  seven  hundred  to  twelve  hundred  women  are  employed 
constantly  in  this  work,  and  from  a  hundred  to  a  hundred  and 
fifty  men.  The  disbursements  for  material  and  wages  are 
very  large,  having  frequently  been  from  fourteen  million  to 
twenty  million  dollars  a  year. 

At  this  Arsenal  the  visitor  will  be  shown  a  very  curious 
museum  of  wax  figures  clothed  in  the  various  uniforms  which 
have  been  in  use  in  the  United  States  army  from  the  time 

vvnen 

"  In  their  ragged  regimentals 

Stood  the  old  Continentals, 

Yielding  not." 

The  cars  of  the  Spruce  and  Pine  streets  railway  pass  the 
Arsenal. 


U.    S.   ARSENALS    AND   NAVY-YARDS.  137 

The  ground  upon  which  this  arsenal  was  built  was  purchased  by 
the  Secretary  of  War  in  1800  without  any  appropriation  by  Congress, 
as  was  the  navy-yard  on  the  Delaware  at  the  same  time.  Much  cen- 
sure v/as  expressed  in  Congress  upon  the  subject,  but  the  Secretary 
defended  himself  upon  the  argument  that  he  could  not  maintain  a 
navy  (at  that  time  the  navy  was  within  the  jui'isdiction  of  the  War 
Department)  without  a  navy-yard  in  which  to  repair  vessels  of  war, 
nor  could  the  army  be  maintained  without  arsenals  or  a  laboratory, 
which  the  ground  on  the  Schuylkill  was  intended  for.  The  first 
buildings  were  erected  at  this  place  shortly  after  1800. 

THE   UNITED    STATES   NAVY-YARD. 

Up  to  a  very  recent  period  the  only  navy-yard  of  the  United 
States  in  Philadelphia  was  situated  on  the  Delaware  River  a 
short  distance  below  Washington  street  and  the  wharves  of 
the  American  Steamship  Company.  Such  rapid  progress  has 
been  made  in  removing  the  navy-yard  from  this  place  to  the 
League  Island  naval  station  that  the  latter  will  be  occupied 
entirely  by  the  beginning  of  1876. 

League  Island  lies  immediately  south  of  that  portion  of 
the  city  which  is  between  the  Delaware  and  the  Schuylkill 
Rivers,  and  its  western  boundary  is  opposite  the  mouth  of 
the  Schuylkill.  Its  distance  from  Independence  Hall  is  about 
seven  miles.  The  island  is  about  two  miles  and  a  quarter  in 
length  from  east  to  west,  and  from  a  quarter  to  a  half  mile  in 
width.  Broad  street,  if  continued,  would  pass  across  the  centre 
of  it.  The  government  property  consists  of  923  acres,  in- 
cluding the  back  channel  and  Government  avenue.  The 
water  in  front  of  it  is  twenty-six  feet  deep  at  the  quay  wall 
on  the  Delaware,  and  the  river  at  that  point  is  2800  feet  wide 
and  ample  for  all  government  purposes.  The  back  channel 
is  a  safe  and  commodious  harbor,  in  which  are  moored  a  large 
number  of  iron-clad  monitors  and  other  vessels  out  of  the 
reach  of  floating  ice  in  the  winter.  Upon  the  island  are  sev- 
eral large  and  substantial  brick  buildings.  The  iron-plat- 
ing shop,  two  stories  in  height,  is  270  feet  in  length  and  85 
feet  wide.  The  yards  and  dock-building,  two  stories  high,  is 
230  feet  long  by  65  feet  wide.  The  steam-engineering  store- 
house is  400  feet  long  by  65  feet  wide.     There  are  various 


138    TT.    S.    NAVY-YARD — U.    S.    NAVAL   ASYLUM. 

other  buildings  in  the  yard.  The  floating  dry-dock  basin 
will  occupy  thirty-one  acres;  repairing-basin,  39  acres;  fitting- 
out-basin,  40  acres ;  storage  dock-basin,  7  acres.  Large  spaces 
of  ground  will  be  devoted  to  the  purposes  of  the  bureaus  of 
steam-engineering,  coal,  ordnance,  provisions,  yards  and 
docks,  and  for  marine  parade-ground. 

Means  of  access  to  the  yard  are  not  at  present  as  convenient 
as  they  will  be  hereafter.  Private  conveyance  on  Broad  street 
will  take  the  stranger  to  the  main  yard  gate,  and  entrance  is 
rarely  denied  to  any  citizen. 

League  Island  is  marked  upon  the  oldest  map  of  the  Delaware 
River  known — that  of  Peter  Lindstrom,  a  Swedish  engineer,  who 
made  a  map  of  the  Delaware  1654-5.  It  was  amongst  the  property 
taken  up  at  a  very  early  period  by  the  Swedes.  This  island  was 
purchased  by  the  city  of  Philadelphia  in  the  year  1862  for  $310,000, 
pnd  presented  to  the  United  States  government  for  the  purj^ose  of  a 
navy-yard.  The  improvement  upon  it  has  not  been  very  rapid,  nor 
commensurate  with  the  great  value  of  the  gift. 

The  old  navy-yard  in  Philadelphia  occupied  the  site  of  the  associa- 
tion battery  erected  for  the  defence  of  the  city  before  the  Revolu- 
tion. After  independence  was  achieved  the  site  became  the  ship- 
yard of  Joshua  Humphries.  Here  was  built  the  frigate  United 
States  under  the  care  of  Mr.  Humphries,  who  became  the  first  naval 
constructor  of  the  United  States.  The  ship-of-the-line  North  Car- 
olina was  launched  September,  1820 ;  the  big  ship  Pennsylvania,  at 
the  time  the  largest  vessel  in  the  world,  July  18,  1837  ;  the  famous 
war-steamer  Mississippi,  one  of  the  first  steam  frigates  belonging  to 
the  United  States,  which  was  launched  May  5, 1841 ;  the  unfortunate 
steam-sloop  Princeton,  and  many  others,  including  monitors,  built 
during  the  war  of  the  rebellion. 

UNITED  STATES  NAVAL  ASYLUM. 
These  buildings  are  situate  upon  Gray's  Ferry  road,  at  the 
corner  of  Bainbridge  street,  and  extend  to  Sutherland 
j avenue  and  the  Schuylkill.  They  occupy  about  twenty-five 
'acres.  The  main  edifice  is  three  stories  high  and  of  marble. 
It  is  380  feet  long,  and  the  centre  building,  included  therein, 
is  142  feet  front  by  175  feet  deep.  It  is  embellished  with  a 
fine  portico  of  eight  Ionic  columns.  The  wings  are  built  with 
a  veranda  upon  each  story.     The  building  has  accommoda- 


140        U.   S.    NAVAI^  ASYLUM    AND   HOSPITAL. 

tions  for  three  hundred  persons.  It  is  inhabited  by  old  sailors. 
Each  inmate  has  a  chamber  for  his  own  accommodation.  There 
is  a  chapel,  a  dining-room  and  other  apartments  for  the  use 
of  the  house.  The  pensionei-s  are  allowed  a  certain  sum  of 
money  yearly  for  clothing,  an  amount  eveiy  month  for  pocket- 
money  and  an  alloAvance  of  tobacco.  North  of  the  main  build- 
ing is  the  residence  of  the  governor  of  the  Asylum,  which  is 
commodious.  A  corresponding  building  at  the  south  is  ap- 
propriated to  the  surgeon.  The  grounds  in  front  of  the  Asylum 
are  beautiftdly  laid  out  with  trees  and  flowers.  Upon  the 
platform  of  the  portico  are  two  small  brass  cannon  said  to 
have  been  captured  by  Commodore  Charles  Stewart,  of  the 
frigate  Constitution,  in  an  engagement  with  the  British  ship 
Levant,  February  25,  1815.*  These  pieces  were  cast  in  1756, 
as  it  appears  from  the  inscriptions  upon  them.  Two  large 
cannon-balls  of  granite  made  for  the  guns  of  the  Turkish 
forts  on  the  Hellespont,  presented  by  Commodore  J.  D.  Elliott 
in  1838,  are  near  them. 

These  grounds  were  purchased  by  the  United  States  for  the  pur- 
pose of  a  naval  asylum  and  naval  school  in  1826.  The  buildings 
were  commenced  in  1830,  and  they  were  formally  occupied  Decem- 
ber 1,  1831.  The  United  States  Naval  Academy  was  also  established 
within  the  building,  but  was  removed  to  Annapolis,  Maryland,  in 
1845. 

UNITED  STATES  NAVAL  HOSPITAL. 
The  United  States  Naval  Hospital  is  upon  the  Asylum 
grounds,  west  and  north  of  it.  It  is  a  brick  building,  begun 
in  1864  and  finished  in  1868.  It  has  eight  wards,  four  large 
and  four  small,  capable  of  accommodating  one  hundred  and 
forty-four  persons.  This  number  may  be  doubled  by  the 
use  of  what  are  called  emergency  wards,  which  are  not  so 
pleasantly  situated  as  those  already  in  use.  The  Hospital  is 
under  different  management  from  the  Asylum  adjoining. 

*  Another  account  says  that  these  guns  were  captured  from  Bur- 
goyne  at  Saratoga,  October  17, 1777,  and  another  that  they  were  used 
by  Lafayette  at  the  battle  of  Brandywine,  September  11,  1777. 


CHAPTEE  VII. 

COMMERCE  AND  MANUFACTURES. 

COMMERCE. 
"l^rO  city  in  the  Union  has,  of  late  years,  made  such  rapid 
-^^    progress  in  trade  and  commerce  as  Philadelphia.     The 
value  of  exports  and  imports  for  the  five  years  ending  June 
30,  1874,  is  shown  in  the  following  table : 


Years. 

Imports. 

Exports. 

1870 
1871 
1872 
1873 

1874 

$14,500,797 
17,728,006 
20,383,853 
25,393,150 
26,447,037 

$16,934,610 
17,920,283 
21,016,750 
24,239,357 
33,121,337 

The  exportation  of  petroleum  increased  in  amount  from 
51,352,996  gallons  of  refined,  and  3,833,979  of  crude,  in  1871, 
to  70,810,711  gallons  of  refined,  and  1,614,116  of  crude,  in 
1874.  The  total  value  of  this  product  exported  in  the  latter 
year  was  $9,512,456. 

The  exports  of  breadstuffi  fi-om  $4,148,595,  in  1871,  increased 
to  $8,159,371  in  1874. 

The  export  provision  trade  has  made  an  extraordinary 
advance.  In  1871  its  value  was  but  $341,582;  in  1874  it 
was  $3,372,719. 

The  coal  brought  to  Philadelphia  by  the  Reading  Railroad 
Company  alone  during  the  year  1874  amounted  to  3,140,563 
tons.  Of  this  amount,  2,076,259  tons  were  carried  away  from 
Port  Richmond. 

The  total  amount  of  duties  received  at  the  Custom-house 
in  1874  was  $8,292,159.42.     The  number  of  vessels  engaged 

141 


142  COMMERCIAL   EXCHANGE. 

in  the  foreign  trade  which  entered  the  port  of  Philadelphia 
during  1874  was  1098,  with  a  tonnage  of  621,641  tons.     Of 
these,  491   were   American  vessels.      The   coastwise  entries 
noted  at  the  Custom-house  were  9178  vessels  of  all  kinds. 
Of  these,  1018  were  steam-vessels.      The  foreign  steamship 
entries  were  89.     These  figures  do  not  give  anything  like  a 
full  idea  of  the  domestic  commerce  of  the  port.     Under  the 
acts  of  Congress,  American  vessels  which  are  engaged  in  the 
domestic  trade,  carrying  domestic  products  to  and  from  a  port, 
are  not  required  to  report  to  the  Custom-house  officers,  or  to 
be   in   any  manner   subject  to  their  supervision.      The  full 
number  of  vessels  engaged  in  the  coastwise  trade  cannot  be 
ascertained.     The  Custom-house  figures  are  those  only  made 
up  from  the  supervision  of  the  officers.     The  immense  coal 
trade  and  the  commerce  in  other  articles  require,  it  is  well 
known,  a  very  large  number  of  vessels.     Possibly  it  would 
not  be  beyond  the  mark  to  place  the  number  of  vessels  in  the 
domestic  trade  coastwise  of  the  port  of  Philadelphia  at  from 
13,000  to  15,000.     The  number  of  enrolled  coasting-vessels 
belonging  to  the  port  in  1874  was  3040,  and  120  were  built 
during  the  year.     In  this  number  were  934  sailing-vessels, 
265  steamei-s,  1810  canal  boats  and  31  barges.     Eleven  of  the 
steamers  built  in  1874  were  of  iron.     The  tonnage  of  these 
vessels  was  394,760  tons. 

COMMERCIAL.  EXCHANGE. 
The  principal  institution  in  the  city  for  the  meeting  of 
merchants  and  manufacturers  is  the  Commercial  Exchange, 
an  organization  which  superseded  the  old  Philadelphia  Ex- 
change Company.  It  had  its  origin  in  the  want  of  accommo- 
dation which  dealers  in  grain  and  flour  experienced  in  the 
old  Exchange.  They  formed  an  association  of  their  own, 
which  they  denominated  the  Corn  Exchange,  and  leased  the 
second  story  of  the  building  situate  at  the  south-west  corner 
of  Second  and  Gold  streets,  upon  the  site  of  the  old  Merchants' 
Coffee-house.  This  institution  developed  such  a  degree  of 
energy  that  it  attracted  many  business-men  other  than  those 


COMMERCIAL    EXCHANGE. 


143 


who  were  engaged  in  tlie  grain  trade.  The  Corn  Exchange 
became  a  powerful  organization,  energetic  and  patriotic.  In 
time  the  necessity  of  better  accommodation  was  recognized. 
An  association  called  the  Chamber  of  Commerce  was  organ- 
ized for  the  purpose  of  constructing  a  building  suitable  for 
the  use  of  the  Corn  Exchange.  A  lot  of  ground  at  the  south- 
east corner  of  Second  and  Gothic  streets,  upon  which  stood 


COMMEKCIAL     EXCHANGE. 


the  old  slate-roof  house  which  was  William  Penn's  residence 
in  1700,  was  bought,  with  the  adjoining  properties,  and  upon 
the  lot  was  constructed  a  solid  brick  building  of  fine  dimen- 
sions. This  hall  was  dedicated  on  the  1st  of  March,  1869, 
and  immediately  became  the  scene  of  business  activity.  It 
was  totally  destroyed,  except  the  solid  walls,  on  the  7th  of 
December  of  the  same  year.    The  members  of  the  Chamber 


144  COMMERCIAL   EXCHANGE,    ETC. 

of  Commerce  immediately  set  to  work  to  retrieve  tlie  loss  ; 
and  they  were  so  successful  that  in  the  course  of  a  few  months 
the  building  was  again  ready  for  use.  The  main  hall  occupies 
the  second  story,  and  takes  up  the  whole  space  between  the 
interior  halls.  It  is  finely  lighted  on  all  sides ;  the  ceiling  is 
high,  and  light  and  air  abundant.  Here  the  grain  merchants 
bring  specimens  of  their  products,  and  large  transactions  are 
effected  by  purchases  made  according  to  sample.  Avery  large 
amount  of  business  is  done  here  every  day.  The  upper  por- 
tion of  this  building  is  occupied  by  the  observer  of  the  United 
States  Signal  Service,  the  head  of  which  is  familiarly  known 
as  "  Old  Probs."  A  cupola  added  to  the  tower  of  the  building, 
which  is  anything  but  graceful  in  appearance,  enables  this 
useful  officer  to  conduct  his  observations. 

Visitors  are  admitted  to  the  Exchange  upon  introduction 
of  a  member.  Cars  of  the  Second  and  Third  and  the  Eace 
and  Vine  streets  railways,  going  south,  pass  the  building. 

MERCHANTS'  EXCHANGE. 
The  Merchants'  Exchange  occupies  a  lot  of  ground  bounded 
by  Walnut,  Dock  and  Third  streets.  It  is  of  Pennsylvania 
marble,  in  the  shape  of  a  parallelogram,  and  is  95  feet  front 
on  Third  street,  114  feet  on  Walnut  street,  with  a  semicircular 
radius  on  Dock  street  of  36  feet,  making  the  extreme  length 
from  east  to  west  150  feet.  The  eastern  front  is  embellished 
with  a  portico  of  eight  Corinthian  columns  and  antse.  A  cir- 
cular lantern  rises  forty  feet  above  the  roof,  pierced  with  win- 
dows and  ornamented.  The  building  is  strikingly  handsome, 
and  is  modelled  after  the  choragic  monument  at  Athens  called 
the  Lantern  of  Demosthenes.  The  corner-stone  of  this  edifice 
was  laid  February  22,  1832,  and  it  was  opened  for  business 
1834.  This  building  exists  only  as  a  monument  of  the  past. 
It  is  not  occupied  by  merchants.  The  Board  of  Brokers 
occupy  the  Grand  Exchange  Room,  which  is  vociferous  at 
times  with  their  shouts  and  excitement.  The  remainder  of 
the  building  is  occupied  by  offices  of  various  kinds.    Ad- 


MERCHANTS     EXCHANGE. 


145 


mission  to  the  Brokers'  Eoora  is  allowed  to  the  board  while 
in  session.     Entrance  by  the  steps  on  the  Dock  street  front. 


;^^^ 


MERCHANTS'     EXCHANGE. 

The  place  where  merchants  "most  do  congregate"  has  always 
been  one  of  interest.  There  have  been  such  establishments  in  Phila- 
delphia almost  from  the  foundation  of  the  city.  There  were  "  coffee- 
houses "  in  Front  street  at  an  early  period.  The  London  Coffee-house, 
as  a  place  of  resort  for  merchants,  superseded  these  when  it  was 
opened  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Front  and  Market  streets  by 
William  Bradford  in  the  year  1754.  The  City  Tavern,  which  was 
finished  about  the  beginning  of  the  Eevolution,  was  for  some  time 
the  place  where  the  merchants  assembled.  In  this  intere.st  it  ceased 
13  K 


146  BONDED   WAREHOUSES.   ETC. 


about  the  year  1800,  but  the  business  was  revived  again  in  1806  by 
James  Kitchen.  The  Merchants'  Coffee-house,  as  it  was  then  called, 
served  all  the  purposes  of  an  exchange  tintil  the  Merchants'  Ex- 
change was  finished. 

TRADE  EXCHANGES. 
Of  late  yeai^  the  formation  of  special  associations  or  guilds 
for  the  promotion  of  the  particular  interests  of  persons  engaged 
in  the  various  branches  of  commerce  has  been  found  necessary. 
This  has  led  to  the  formation  of  the  following  associations, 
which  have  their  headquarters  in  convenient  parts  of  the  city, 
namely :  Tobacco  Exchange,  Coal  Exchange,  Drug  Exchange, 
Grocers'  Exchange,  Produce  Exchange,  Maritime  Exchange. 

WAHEHOUSING  COMPANIES. 

These  companies  are  of  modern  introduction,  but  they  have 
been  found  to  be  useful  adjuncts  of  commerce. 

The  Pennsylvania  Warehousing  Company  occupies  the 
greater  portion  of  a  block  of  ground  bounded  by  Penn,  Front 
and  Lombard  streets.  The  storehouses  are  substantially  built, 
and  fitted  for  the  storage  of  an  immense  amount  of  goods. 
Every  convenience  for  the  reception  and  delivery  of  mer- 
chandise is  connected  with  the  building. 

The  Philadelphia  Warehouse  Company  has  its  office  build- 
ing in  Dock  street  below  Third.  The  odd  style  of  the  archi- 
tecture attracts  the  attention  of  the  stranger.  This  company 
does  a  large  business. 

BONDED  -WAREHOUSES. 
There  are  a  number  of  substantial  and  well-built  stores  in 
different  parts  of  the  city  near  the  Delaware  front,  which  are 
used  for  United  States  bonded  warehouses.  Some  of  these 
are  in  Granite  street,  south  of  Walnut  street,  extending  from 
Front  street  to  Dock,  in  Dock,  Penn  and  the  neighborhood  of 
Almond  streets. 

COMMERCIAL  DEPOTS. 
There  are  certain  sections  of  the  city  devoted  to  particular 
commercial  pursuits  which  are  worthy  of  being  visited  by 


COMMERCIAL   DEp6tS.  147 

the  stranger  wlao  is  interested  in  trade  and  desirous  of  seeing 
the  busiest  portions  of  a  commercial  place. 

The  Coal  trade.  Port  Eichmond  wharves.  The  great 
shipping  depSt  of  the  Eeading  Eailroad  Company  is  in  a 
portion  of  the  city  formerly  called  Port  Eichmond,  and  now 
forming  a  portion  of  the  Nineteenth  Ward.  Here  the  com- 
pany concentrates  the  coal-carrying  business.  There  are  an 
immense  number  of  tracks  connecting  with  the  main  tracks. 
A  large  number  of  piers  are  arranged  with  docks  between 
them.  Loaded  cars  are  pushed  out  on  railroad  tracks  built  upon 
trestle-work  in  such  positions  that  their  entire  contents  can 
be  delivered  into  the  holds  of  vessels  by  the  means  of  chutes 
with  great  rapidity.  The  piers  are  twenty-three  in  number, 
and  the  docks  will  accommodate  nearly  three  hundred  vessels 
in  such  manner  that  all  can  be  loaded  at  the  same  time.  If 
vessels  are  not  ready  to  take  the  coal,  it  can  be  stored  upon 
the  piers.  From  30,000  to  40,000  tons  of  coal  can  be  loaded 
every  day.  The  tracks  of  the  sidings  connected  with  the 
piers  form  a  perfect  network,  and  would  be  thirty  miles  in 
length  if  the  maze  were  straightened  out.  North  of  the  coal 
wharves  the  company  is  constructing  very  large  iron  ship- 
building establishments,  with  every  convenience  for  manu- 
facturing iron  vessels,  including  a  number  of  buildings 
and  a  large  dry-dock.  Access  to  these  works  may  be  had  by 
Second  and  Third  streets  passenger  railway,  Eichmond  branch 
going  north. 

The  Petroleum  trade.  Gibson's  Point.  Within  a  few 
years  the  petroleum  trade  has  risen  to  great  importance.  It 
employs  a  large  number  of  vessels,  principally  from  foreign 
countries,  and  the  trade  is  constantly  increasing.  The  great 
d6p8t  of  the  petroleum  shipping  trade  is  at  Gibson's  Point, 
upon  the  east  bank  of  the  Schuylkill,  south  of  Gray's  Ferry, 
and  below  the  city  gas-manufacturing  works.  Here  are  very 
extensive  storage  accommodations,  wharves,  pumping  arrange- 
ments to  carry  the  petroleum  into  the  vessels,  and  other  facili- 
ties for  a  great  business.  The  number  of  foreign  flags  in  this 
neighborhood  exceeds  the  display  in  any  other  part  of  the 


148  COMMERCIAL   DEPOTS. 

port  of  Philadelpliia,  and  the  neighborhood  is  lively  with  the 
confusion  of  tongues  caused  by  the  efforts  of  sailors  of  various 
nationalities  to  make  themselves  understood.  The  petro- 
leum at  Gibson's  Point  comes  mainly  by  the  Philadelphia  and 
Erie  Eailroad,  leased  by  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad,  and  is 
brought  over  the  tracks  of  the  latter  by  a  special  road  leading 
to  the  storage-sheds  at  the  Point. 

The  Grain  trade  storage  buildings.  There  is  a  very  large 
grain-storage  warehouse  connected  with  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad,  on  the  west  bank  of  the  Schuylkill  River  near  the 
Market  street  bridge.  It  has  an  immense  storage  capacity, 
and  is  the  main  source  of  supplies  to  the  elevators.  The  build- 
ing is  of  wood  and  slate,  550  feet  long  by  126  wide,  and  has  600 
grain-bins  with  a  capacity  of  500  bushels  each.  One  hundred 
and  twenty-five  cars,  containing  45,000  bushels,  can  be  un- 
loaded daily. 

Washington  avenue  elevator.  This  large  building  was  the 
first  built  for  the  purpose  of  an  elevator  in  the  city,  and  has 
been  in  use  over  ten  years.  It  is  situate  at  the  foot  of  Wash- 
ington avenue,  and  has  connection  by  means  of  the  Washing- 
ton avenue  railroad  with  the  entire  railroad  system  of  the 
country.  There  is  connected  with  it  a  system  of  spouts  and 
docks  for  the  easy  loading  of  grain.  There  is  a  storage  ware- 
house of  great  capacity  which  will  hold  a  large  number  of 
cars.  It  has  90  circular  bins,  each  of  4000  bushels'  capacity, 
and  90  angular  bins.  The  storage  capacity  of  the  elevator 
is  a  half  million  of  bushels.  One  conveyer-belt  850  feet  long, 
and  three  others  each  450  feet  long,  carry  the  grain  from  the 
elevator  to  the  vessels  along  enclosed  galleries.  Three  ves- 
sels can  be  loaded  at  one  time.  Access  to  this  elevator  by 
Union  cars,  navy-yard  branch,  within  two  squares  of  it,  and 
by  Second  and  Third  streets  cars,  going  south,  to  Washington 

avenue. 

Girard  Point  elevator.  Girard  Point  is  on  the  east  bank 
of  the  Schuylkill,  north  of  the  mouth  of  that  river.  It  is  the 
property  of  the  International  Steam  Navigation  Company, 
owners  of  the  Red  Star  line  of  steamships,  which  also  have 


STEAMSHIP   WHARVES    AND    DOCKS. 


149 


their  docks  and  warehouses  there.  The  elevator  is  100  feet  wi  de, 
200  feet  long  and  124  feet  high  to  the  peaks  of  the  roof.  It  is 
upon  the  centre  of  a  wharf  500  feet  long  and  250  feet  wide, 
with  a  dock  of  the  same  dimensions  on  each  side  which  has 
capacity  for  floating  a  large  number  of  vessels.     There  are  36 


GIBARD    POINT    ELEVATOR. 

circular  bins,  holding  15,000  bushels  each,  and  23  of  10,000 
bushels  each.  Total  capacity,  800,000  bushels.  Twelve  ele- 
vators have  a  working  capacity  of  54,000  bushels  an  hour, 
loading  or  unloading.  There  are  six  conveyers,  three  on 
each  side  of  the  building,  and  six  vessels  may  be  loaded  at 
the  same  time. 


DRY-DOCKS  AND  MARESTE  RAILWAYS. 
At  the  new  ship-building  yard  of  the  Philadelphia  and 
Reading  Coal  and  Iron  Company  are  eight  great  buildings,  a 
launching-dock  two  hundred  and  fifty  feet  wide  and  four 
hundred  feet  long.  At  the  head  of  this  dock,  upon  the  land, 
are  shipways  four  hundred  and  fifty  feet  long  and  wide 
enough  to  admit  of  the  building  of  four  vessels  at  one  time, 
and  an  immense  dry-dock  that  will  lift  a  steamship  of  the 


150  DRY-DOCKS    AND   MARINE    RAILWAYS. 

largest  size.  Cramp  &  Sons  have  at  their  iron -ship  building 
yard  a  marine  railway  and  one  of  the  largest  basin  dry -docks 
in  the  United  States.  The  South wark  marine  railway,  Swan- 
son  street  near  Catharine,  the  oldest  in  the  city,  was  opened 
for  use  nearly  fifty  years  ago. 

Iron-Ship  Building  is  carried  on  in  Philadelphia  and  its 
vicinity  on  the  Delaware  Eiver  to  a  far  greater  extent  than 
in  any  other  locality  in  the  United  States.  In  fact,  this  par- 
ticular branch  of  industry  is  pursued  so  largely  that  the  Dela- 
ware has  been  called  the  "American  Clyde."  Easiness  of 
access  to  the  inexhaustible  iron  ores  and  coal  deposits  of 
Pennsylvania,  combined  with  cheap  transportation,  has  given 
to  the  iron  manufacture  in  the  city  extraordinary  advantages. 
The  Reading  Eailroad  Company's  ship-yards  are  principally 
intended  to  be  used  for  the  construction  of  iron  colliers  for 
the  coal  transportation  of  that  company.  Cramp  &  Sons 
built  the  celebrated  New  Ironsides  frigate  for  the  United 
States  government  during  the  war  of  the  Rebellion.  They 
also  built  monitors,  and  particularly  the  splendid  iron  steam- 
ships of  the  American  line  to  Liverpool.  Neafie  &  Levy,  at 
the  Penn  Works,  Port  Richmond,  are  builders  of  iron  and 
wooden  ships  and  machinery.  Wood,  Dialogue  &  Company, 
at  Kaighn's  Point,  N.  J.,  opposite  the  city  have  a  large  iron- 
ship  building  establishment.  John  Roach,  at  Chester,  has 
built  the  largest  iron  steamships  in  the  ocean  service,  and  the 
Harlan  &  Hollingsworth  Company,  at  Wilmington,  Delaware, 
have  constructed  many  first-class  iron  vessels. 

STEAMSHIP  WHARVES  AND  DOCKS. 
American  steamship  line,  from  Philadelphia  to  Liverpool. 
These  fine  vessels  are  of  the  first  class,  and  the  line  has  been 
extremely  successful  since  its  establishment.  The  steamship 
docks  are  at  the  foot  of  Christian  street,  and  have  every  ac- 
commodation connected  with  them  for  the  convenience  of  pas- 
sengers. By  means  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad,  which  runs 
into  the  dock-building,  passengers  may  be  taken  to  any  part 
of  the  United  States.     Six  iron  steamships  form  the  line,  and 


COMMERCE MANUFACTURES.  1 51 

ensure  a  weekly  service.  The  average  accommodation  of  each 
ship  is  76  cabin  and  900  steerage  passengers,  with  1800  tons 
of  cargo.  Average  time  of  passage  from  port  to  port,  ten  days. 
Agents,  Peter  Wright  &  Sons,  Walnut  street  above  Third. 

International  Navigation  Company  (Red  Star).  This  steam- 
ship line  runs  between  Philadelphia  and  Antwerp.  The  ves- 
sels are  under  the  Belgian  flag,  and  are  very  superior  ships. 
There  is  a  semi-monthly  service  from  Philadelphia.  Average 
accommodation  20  cabin  and  700  steerage  passengers,  with 
1800  tons  of  cargo.  Average  passage,  twelve  days.  Peter 
Wright  &  Sons,  agents,  Walnut  street  above  Third.  Docks 
at  Girard  Point,  Schuylkill  Eiver. 

Coastwise  steamers,  Clyde  lines.  For  Boston  and  Provi- 
dence, twice  a  week.  Pier  No.  1,  North  Wharves,  above  Mar- 
ket street.  For  Charleston,  weekly.  Pier  No.  8,  South 
Wharves,  below  Chestnut  street.  For  Norfolk  and  Richmond, 
three  times  a  week,  from  Pier  No.  1,  North  Wharves.  For 
Washington,  Georgetown  and  Alexandria,  once  a  week.  Pier 
No.  2,  South  Wharves.  For  New  York,  daily.  Pier  No.  2, 
South  Wharves. 

Philadelphia  and  Southern  Mail  Steamship  Company.  To 
Savannah,  one  steamer  per  week  from  Pier  22,  South  Wharves, 
below  Pine  street. 

Winsor's  lines.  For  Boston,  twice  a  week,  from  Pine  street 
wharf.  For  Providence,  once  a  week,  from  Pier  23,  below  Pine 
street. 

MANUFACTURES. 
In  the  number  of  manufacturing  establishments,  the  variety 
of  articles  made,  the  number  of  persons  employed  and  the 
value  of  materials  used,  Philadelphia  is  the  greatest  manu- 
facturing place  in  the  Union.  According  to  the  census  of 
1870,  it  surpassed  all  other  cities  in  these  particulars.  New 
York  exceeded  it  only  in  the  value  of  the  products  manu- 
factured. The  number  of  manufacturing  establishments  in 
the  city  and  vicinity  operated  upon  Philadelphia  capital  and 
account  that  year  were  8579,  as  ascertained  by  the  Philadel- 


152  MANUFACTURES, 

phia  Board  of  Trade  in  revision  of  the  census  statistics.   These 
establishments  were  operated  by  2177  steam-engines  of  57,304 
horse-power,  and  fifty -nine  water-wheels  of  2696  horse-power 
The  number  of  hands  employed  in  the  manufactories  was 
152,550,  and  the  wages  paid  them  during  the    year  were 
$68,647,874.      Of  the  persons  employed  100,661  were  males 
above  the  age  of  fifteen  years ;  40,760  females  above  the  same 
age;    children   and  youth,   11,129.      The   capital  employed 
amounted  to  $204,340,637.     The  value  of  materials  used  was 
$193,861,297.     The  value  of  the  productions  when  manu- 
factured was  $362,484,698.     Within  the  five  years  which  have 
elapsed  since  these  statistics  were  ascertained,  the  number  of 
manufacturing  establishments  must  have  increased  to  a  very 
considerable  degree.     According  to  the  rate  of  increase  of 
the  previous  ten  years,  and  making  allowance  for  dulness  in 
business  during  the  years  1874  and  1875,  it  would  not  be  an 
unfair  estimate  to  place  the  number  of  manufacturing  estab- 
lishments at  from  9000  to  9500,  and  the  capital  employed  at 
from  two  hundred  and  ten  to  two  hundred  and  twenty  millions 
of  dollars.     According  to  the  census  of  1870,  the  industries 
of  the  city  were  classified  in  nearly  one  hundred  divisions. 
They  are  carried  on  according  to  the  respective  means  of  the 
persons  interested  in  them.     There  are  establishments  giving 
fair  remuneration  to  those  engaged  in  them  which  employ 
only  a  few  workmen  and  occupy  but  little  space.     There  are 
others  which  take  up  whole  blocks  of  ground ;  and  some  of 
them  beyond  the   closely-built  sections   occupy   acres,   and 
employ  hundreds  and  some  of  them  thousands  of  workmen. 
It  would  be  impossible  to  do  justice  to  these  valuable  and 
diverse  interests  in  a  work  of  this  kind. 


o 


CHAPTEE    VIII. 
FINANCIAL   INSTITUTIONS. 

N  the  1st  of  January,  1875,  there  were  in  Philadelphia  40 
'  banks,  with  a  combined  capital  of  $19,235,950.  ^  Of  these 
30  were  National  Banks,  with  a  capital  of  $17,135,000,  and 
10,  with  a  capital  of  $2,100,950,  acting  under  State  charters. 
The  banks  of  Philadelphia  are  open  every  day  of  the  year 
except  Christmas,  New  Years,  February  22d,  Good  Friday, 
July  4th,  Thanksgiving-day,  and  such  other  holidays  as  are 
appointed  by  legal  authority. 

NATIONAL    BANKS. 

Bank  of  North  America,  307  Chestnut  street.  Capital, 
$1,000,000.  Chartered  by  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  in  1787. 
The  banking-house  is  of  brownstone,  and  presents  a  fine 
example  of  the  Florentine  style  of  architecture. 

This  bank  is  the  oldest  in  the  country.  The  idea  of  its  formation 
was  presented  by  Robert  Morris  during  the  most  depressing  period 
of  the  Eevolutionary  war,  when  the  country  was  in  distress  upon 
account  of  the  depreciation  of  the  Continental  money.  It  had  been 
preceded  by  the  Bank  of  Pennsylvania,  established  by  subscription 
in  Philadelphia  of  ninety-three  individuals  and  firms  to  the  amount 
of  £300,000,  Pennsylvania  currency,  payable  in  gold  and  silver. 
The  object  was  "to  support  the  credit  of  a  bank  to  be  established 
for  furnishing  a  supply  of  provisions  for  the  armies  of  the  United 
States."  This  bank  went  out  of  existence  upon  the  establishment 
of  the  Bank  of  North  America,  which  was  really  the  same  institu- 
tion, being  in  great  proportion  composed  of  the  same  shareholders. 
Congress  chartered  the  Bank  of  North  America  December  18, 1781,  and 
the  Pennsylvania  assembly  in  1782.  The  latter  was  repealed  in  1785, 
and  the  bank  acted  under  the  Congressional  charter.  In  1787  a  new 
State  charter  was  obtained,  and  since  that  time  until  the  passage  of 
the  national  banking  act  the  bank  was  a  State  institution.     Its  loca- 

153 


154  NATIONAL   BANKS. 

tion  for  eighty  years  has  been  upon  the  spot  now  occupied  by  the 
bank  building,  the  original  building  being  one  of  plain  brick.  The 
present  building  was  occupied  about  1850. 

Philadelphia,  423  Chestnut  street.  Capital,  $1,500,000. 
Formed  1803.  Chartered  1804.  The  bank-building,  imme- 
diately opposite  the  Custom-house,  is  of  granite,  70  feet  front 
by  104  feet  deep,  four  stories  in  height,  and  of  a  massive  and 
imposing  style  of  architecture. 

The  first  building  occupied  by  this  institution  was  of  brick,  in  the 
Gothic  style,  and  rough-cast.  It  was  built  in  1805  at  the  south-west 
corner  of  Fourth  and  Chestnut  streets,  and  considered  an  ornament  of 
the  city.  In  the  year  1836  this  building  was  torn  down  and  a  new  one 
erected  of  marble,  with  a  Corinthian  portico  resting  on  a  basement 
flanked  by  wings.  The  eastern  portion  of  it  was  occupied  by  the 
Philadelphia  Bank,  and  the  western  portion  by  the  Western  Bank. 
When  the  Bank  of  Pennsylvania  failed,  the  Philadelphia  Bank,  for 
1163,100,  bought  the  building  on  the  north  side  of  Chestnut  street, 
which  had  been  erected  for  the  former  institution,  but  never  occupied 
by  it.  The  Philadelphia  Bank  opened  business  there  in  March,  1859. 
Farmers'  and  Mechanics',  427  Chestnut  street.  Formed 
1807.  Incorporated  1809.  Capital,  $2,000,000.  The  build- 
ing, white  marble  in  the  Italian  Palladian  style,  is  65  feet  2 
inches  front  and  104  feet  deep,  71  feet  3  inches  high,  and  is 
exceedingly  handsome.  It  is  west  of  the  Philadelphia  Bank, 
whose  building  adjoins.  The  lots  upon  which  both  of  these 
buildings  are  constructed  extend  to  Eanstead  street.  The 
banking-rooms  are  elegant,  with  lofty  ceilings,  fine  light  and 
ventilation. 

For  many  years  this  bank  was  in  a  brick  building  on  the  lot  of 
ground  now  occupied  by  it,  formerly  the  Lawrence  mansion,  and  in 
which,  it  is  said.  Admiral  Howe  lived  during  the  British  occupancy, 
1777-8.  General  Henry  Knox  of  the  Revolutionary  army  and  Colonel 
Timothy  Pickering  also  lived  in  that  house.  The  bank  opened 
business  there  January  25, 1819 ;  new  building  first  used  for  banking 
purposes  in  1854. 

Mechanics',  west  side  of  Third  street  below  Market.  Char- 
tered 1814.  Capital,  $800,000.  The  building  has  a  marble 
front,  with  Corinthian  portico.  It  was  erected  on  the  site  of 
a  brick  building  formerly  occupied  by  the  same  institution. 


NATIONAL   BANKS.  155 

Commercial,  south-east  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Hudson 
streets.  Chartered  1814.  Capital,  $810,000.  The  building 
has  a  granite  front,  and  is  of  pleasing  appearance.  For  many 
years  the  banking-house  was  a  marble  building  on  the  north 
side  of  Market  street,  between  Second  and  Third. 

Northern  Liberties,  north-west  corner  of  Third  and  Vine 
streets.  Incorporated  1814.  Capital,  $500,000.  The  build- 
ing is  of  granite,  solid  and  handsome  in  appearance.  It  was 
originally  constructed  by  the  Manufacturers  and  Mechanics' 
Bank,  and  when  purchased  by  the  Bank  of  Northern  Liberties 
was  greatly  enlarged  and  rebuilt.  This  bank  for  many  years 
occupied  a  brick  building  on  the  north  side  of  Vine  street, 
between  Second  and  Third. 

Southwaric.  Incorporated  1825.  Capital,  $250,000.  Occu- 
pies a  brick  building,  the  first  story  of  marble,  on  the  east 
side  of  Second  street  below  South,  the  place  of  the  original 
location. 

Kensington,  969  Beach  street  below  Maiden.  Incorporated 
1826.  ■  Capital,  $250,000.  Occupies  a  brick  building  which 
has  been  its  place  of  business  since  the  formation  of  the 
institution. 

Penn,  north-west  corner  of  Vine  and  Sixth  streets.  Incor- 
porated 1828.  Capital,  $500,000.  The  banking-house  is  of 
brick,  rough-cast,  with  marble  pilasters,  doorways,  etc.  This 
bank  was  originally  established  at  the  south-west  corner  of 
Sixth  and  Callowhill  streets.  The  lot  upon  which  the  present 
building  stands  was  purchased  about  1830. 

Girard,  west  side  of  Third  street  below  Chestnut.  Chartered 
1832.  Capital,  $1,000,000.  The  front  of  this  building  is  very 
handsome.  There  is  a  portico  of  six  Corinthian  pillars,  with 
pediment,  wings,  decorated  with  pilasters,  and  other  embellish- 
ments. The  building  belongs  to  the  Girard  estate.  The  bank 
occupies  the  southern  portion,  the  City  Treasurer  the  northern 
portion  and  the  City  Controller  the  upper  story. 

This  building  was  erected  in  1798  for  the  use  of  the  first  Bank  of  the 
United  States,  and  was  at  the  time  considered  one  of  the  most  hand- 
some edifices  in  the  country.     It  is  96  feet  front  and  72  deep.    After 


156  NATIONAL    BANKS. 

the  charter  of  that  institutioa  expired,  Stephen  Girard  purchased 
the  building  in  1812,  and  there  established  the  business  of  a  private 
banker.  After  his  death  the  present  institution  was  chartered  with 
the  expectation  that  it  would  occupy  Mr.  Girard's  banking  building. 

Commerce,  north-east  corner  of  Chestnut  street  and  Straw- 
berry street.  Chartered  1832.  Capital,  $250,000.  The  build- 
ing is  of  brownstone,  substantial  but  plain  in  appearance. 

This  institution  was  originally  chartered  as  the  Moyamensing 
Bank.  Its  first  location  was  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Fifth 
and  South  streets.  Some  years  afterward  it  was  removed  to  the 
south-east  corner  of  Second  and  Chestnut  streets.  The  name  was 
changed  while  the  institution  occupied  that  place.  The  present 
building  was  constructed  about  1850. 

Manufacturers',  east  side  of  Third  street,  between  Market 
and  Arch  streets.  Chartered  1832.  Capital,  $1,000,000. 
Front  of  granite,  appropriate  and  pleasing  in  design. 

This  institution  was  originally  styled  the  Manufacturers  and  Me- 
chanics' Bank,  and  was  located  at  the  north-west  corner  of  Third 
and  Vine  streets.  The  removal  to  the  present  situation  took  place  a 
few  years  ago. 

Tradesmen's,  east  side  of  Third  below  Chestnut.  Incor- 
porated 1847.  Capital,  $200,000.  The  front  of  the  building 
is  of  granite,  and  attractive  in  appearance.  Until  within  a 
few  years  the  banking-house  was  at  the  south-west  corner  of 
Second  and  Spruce,  and  afterward  in  first  story  of  the  Com- 
mercial Exchange  building. 

City,  32  North  Sixth  street.  Chartered  1855.  Capital, 
$400,000.  Building  24  feet  by  110,  with  brownstone  front. 
The  institution  formerly  occupied  a  brick  building  on  the 
same  premises.     The  new  building  was  erected  in  1874. 

Central,  109  South  Fourth  street  below  Chestnut.  Char- 
tered 1865.  Capital,  $750,000.  Occupies  a  building  with 
sandstone  front  of  business-like  appearance. 

Commonwealth,  south-west  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Fourth, 
Chartered  1857.  Capital,  $300,000.  Occupies  a  portion  of 
the  old  Philadelphia  Bank  building. 

Consolidation,  331   North  Third  above  Vine.     Chartered 


NATIONAL   BANKS.  157 

1855.     Capital,  $300,000.     Its  building  is  of  brownstone  in 
handsome  architectural  style.     It  was  finished  in  1857. 

Corn  Exchange,  north-east  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Second 
street.  Chartered  1858.  Capital,  $500,000.  Occupies  a  plain, 
solid-looking  brick  building,  which  was  finished  in  1859. 

Union,  north-east  corner  of  Third  and  Arch  streets.  Char- 
tered 1858.  Capital,  $500,000.  Building  of  yellow  sandstone, 
with  brownstone  trimmings. 

Western,  south  side  of  Chestnut  street,  west  of  Fourth 
Chartered  1832.     Capital,  $400,000. 

This  institution  was  originally  established  on  the  south  side  of 
Market  street,  between  Ninth  and  Tenth,  afterward  at  the  north- 
west corner  of  Sixth  and  Market.  The  bank  erected,  in  connection 
with  the  Philadelphia  Bank,  the  large  building  a  portion  of  which 
it  now  occupies.  It  went  into  that  building  April  4,  1848.  For  a 
long  time  the  banking-room  was  in  the  second  story.  Within  three 
years  the  whole  of  the  property  has  been  taken  for  the  purposes  of 
the  institution,  and  the  interior  altered  and  reconstructed. 

Germantown,  4800  Germantown  avenue.  Chartered  1814. 
Capital,  $200,000.  This  institution  occupies  a  handsome 
stone  building  on  Germantown  avenue  corner  of  School- 
house  lane. 

Keystone,  south-west  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Juniper 
streets.  Chartered  1872.  Capital,  $200,000.  Occupies  a 
plain  brick  building,  the  first  story  being  of  marble.  This 
institution  was  originally  a  State  banking  company,  and  ad- 
mitted to  the  privilege  of  a  National  Bank  in  1875. 

Republic,  Guarantee  Trust  building,  Chestnut  street,  between 
Third  and  Fourth.  Capital,  $1,000,000.  The  business  was 
for  some  years  transacted  in  a  large  building  originally  con- 
structed for  L.  J.  Levy's  dry-goods  store,  on  the  north  side  of 
Chestnut  above  Eighth.  When  the  Guarantee  Trust  Com- 
pany's building  was  completed,  in  1875,  the  bank  removed  to 
that  place. 

Security,  north-w^est  corner  of  Girard  avenue  and  Seventh 
street.  Capital,  $250,000.  Occupies  a  plain,  substantial  brick 
building. 

First,  north-east  corner  of  Chestnut  and  Hudson  streets, 
14 


168  NATIONAL   AND   STATE   BANKS. 

between  Third  and  Fourth.  Chartered  1863.  Capital, 
$1,000,000.  The  building  is  of  granite,  of  an  imposing  style 
of  architecture,  and  considered  one  of  the  finest  ornaments 
of  the  street. 

Second,  4434  Frankford  avenue,  Frankford.  Chartered 
1863.  Capital,  $300,000.  Occupies  a  neat  building  in  that 
portion  of  the  city  formerly  known  as  Frankford. 

Third,  south-west  corner  of  Market  and  Penn  square. 
Chartered  1863.  Capital,  $300,000.  Occupies  a  building  of 
marble  in  a  neat  style  of  architecture. 

Sixth,  north-west  corner  of  Second  and  Pine  streets.  Char- 
tered 1863.  Capital,  $150,000.  The  building  is  of  brick,  and 
of  plain  appearance. 

Seventh,  north-west  corner  of  Fourth  and  Market  streets. 
Chartered  1863.  Capital,  $250,000.  The  building  is  plain  in 
appearance. 

Eighth,  north-east  corner  of  Second  and  Girard  avenue. 
Chartered  1863.     Capital,  $275,000. 

STATE   BANKS. 

Union  Banking  Company,  310  Chestnut  street.  Capital, 
$700,000.  The  building  is  of  variegated  brick,  stone  and  tiles 
in  Moorish  style  of  architecture. 

People's,  north  side  of  Chestnut  street,  east  of  Fifth. 
Capital,  $100,000.  This  institution  occupies  a  magnificent 
building  of  granite  erected  by  the  Board  of  Public  Trusts 
for  the  Girard  estate.  It  is  one  of  the  handsomest  structures 
on  the  street.  The  banking-house  is  in  the  rear,  spacious  and 
well  lighted. 

Spring  Garden,  north-west  corner  of  Eidge  avenue  and 
Spring  Garden  street.  Capital,  $250,000.  The  building  is 
of  white  marble,  in  handsome  style,  and  a  conspicuous  orna- 
ment of  the  neighborhood. 

Twenty-second  Ward,  4850  Germantown  avenue.  Char- 
tered 1873.  Capital,  $150,000.  Occupies  an  old-fashioned 
building  constructed  in  the  style  prevalent  among  the  better 
class  of  houses  in  Germantown  before  1800. 


STATE   BANKS — SAVING   FUNDS.  159 

Manayunk,  4371  Main  street,  Manayunk.  Chartered  1873. 
Capital,  $100,000. 

Shackamaxon,  1737  Frankford  avenue.  Chartered  1873. 
Capital,  $100,000. 

West  Philadelphia,  3839  Market  street.     Capital,  $100,000. 

Bank  of  America,  306  Walnut  street.  Chartered  1873. 
Capital,  $500,000.  Occupies  a  marble  building  formerly  be- 
longing to  the  Philadelphia  Saving  Fund. 

Merchants'  Exchange,  south-east  corner  of  Third  and  Dock 
streets.  Chartered  1872.  Capital  $50,000.  This  institution 
was  formerly  located  at  915  Market  street,  and  called  the  Iron 
Bank. 

United  States  Banking  Company,  Chestnut  street  below 
Ninth.     Chartered  1873.     Capital,  $50,950. 

SAVING   FUNDS. 

These  institutions,  according  to  the  design  of  the  original 
association,  were  intended  to  assist  poor  people  in  saving 
money  by  the  reception  of  small  amounts  on  deposit  and 
payment  of  interest.  The  rate  of  interest  is  4  8-10  per  cent., 
and  it  is  added  to  the  principal  at  the  end  of  every  year,  and 
interest  given  on  the  whole  amount. 

Philadelphia  Saving  Fund  Society,  Building,  south-west 
corner  of  Seventh  and  Walnut  streets.  It  is  of  granite,  two 
stories  in  height,  and  presents  a  solid  appearance.  The  society 
has  in  trust  about  thirteen  millions  of  dollars,  and  the  annual 
deposits  are  over  four  millions  of  dollars.  It  was  established 
in  1816,  and  incorporated  February,  1819. 

Western  Saving  Fund,  south-west  corner  of  Tenth  and 
Walnut  streets,  occupies  a  large  brownstone  building. 
The  society  was  incorporated  in  1847.  This  institution  has 
a  large  number  of  depositors,  and  is  conducted  upon  the 
plan  of  the  old  Philadelphia  Saving  Fund. 

Beneficial  Saving  Fund,  south-west  corner  of  Twelfth  and 
Chestnut  streets,  was  incorporated  April  20,  1853. 

Germantown  Saving  Fund,  4908  Germantown  avenue,  in- 
corporated 1854. 


160  TKUST   COMPANIES,    ETC. 

TRUST   COMPANIES, 

Trust  powers  are  held  by  several  corporations,  which  have 
other  business  rights  that  they  also  exercise.  Some  of  these 
will  be  treated  of  under  other  heads. 

Pennsylvania  Company  for  Insurance  on  Lives  and  granting 
Annuities  occupies  a  fine  granite  building  on  the  north  side 
of  Chestnut  street  adjoining  the  Farmers'  and  Mechanics' 
Bank.  The  life  insurance  business  is  not  exercised  by  the 
company  at  the  present  time.  It  receives  and  executes  trusts, 
acts  as  executor  or  administrator  of  the  estates  of  deceased 
persons  and  grants  annuities.  The  business  is  very  large  and 
valuable.     The  capital  is  $1,000,000. 

The  company  was  chartered  in  1812.  For  a  long  time  its  office  was 
in  a  brick  building  on  the  south  side  of  Walnut  street,  west  of  Third. 
The  present  building  was  finished  in  1872. 

Provident  Life  and  Trust  Company,  west  side  of  Fourth 
street  below  Chestnut,  is  devoted  to  the  same  line  of  business 
as  the  above.  The  building  has  an  iron  front,  is  of  massive 
proportions  and  imposing  in  appearance.  The  company  was 
chartered  in  1865.     The  capital  is  $500,000. 

Girard  Life  Annuity  and  Trust  Company,  north-east  corner 
of  Seventh  and  Chestnut  streets,  was  incorporated  in  1836,  and 
occupied  for  many  years  the  first  floor  of  the  Western  Bank 
building.  Chestnut  street  near  Fourth.     Capital,  $300,000. 

SAPBrDEPOSIT   AND   TRUST   COMPANIES. 

Within  a  few  years  the  increase  of  valuable  personal 
property  in  bonds,  stocks,  etc.,  with  plate,  jewels  and  other 
valuable  articles,  has  created  a  necessity  for  the  assistance 
of  institutions  which  would  take  safe  care  of  them.  The 
safe-deposit  company  receives  articles  of  a  valuable  character 
not  bulky,  undertakes  to  keep  them  safely,  and  ensures  their 
delivery  when  needed.  The  buildings  are  very  strong,  spe- 
cially constructed  for  the  purpose,  believed  to  be  burglar- 
proof  as  well  as  fireproof,  and  are  watched  with  great  care. 

Fidelity  Insurance,  Trust  and  Safe-deposit  Company  occu- 


SAFE-DEPOSIT   AJN'D   TRUST   COMPANIES.         161 

pies  a  very  large  building  with  white  marble  front,  in  hand- 
some style,  situate  on  the  north  side  of  Chestnut  street,  be- 
tween Third  and  Fourth  streets.  The  character  of  the  archi- 
tecture is  Italian.  The  capital  is  $1,000,000.  The  charter  was 
granted  in  1866,  and  the  company  established  in  business  in 
the  Philadelphia  Bank  building.  The  new  building  was 
opened  April  6,  1869. 

The  Philadelphia  Trust,  Safe-deposit  and  Insurance  Com- 
pany, incorporated  1869,  occupies  a  fine  white  marble  building 
on  the  north  side  of  Chestnut  street,  between  Fourth  and 
Fifth  streets,  adjoining  the  Philadelphia  Bank  on  the  east. 
This  company  was  opened  in  1869-70  in  the  apartments 
previously  occupied  by  the  Fidelity  Trust  Company.  The 
new  building  was  finished  and  opened  in  1874. 

Northern  Saving  Fund,  Safe-deposit  and  Trust  Company, 
south-west  corner  of  Sixth  and  Spring  Garden  streets.  The 
building  is  of  granite,  and  presents  a  fine  appearance.  The 
company  was  incorporated  in  1871,  and  occupied  a  temporary 
oflice  during  that  year  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Sixth  and 
Noble  streets.  The  present  building  was  finished  and  occu- 
pied about  the  beginning  of  1873. 

Guarantee  Trust  and  Safe-deposit  Company.  This  company 
occupies  a  very  large,  solidly-built  and  odd-looking  building 
of  brick,  gray  stone,  black  stone  and  tiles,  which  is  situate  on 
the  south  side  of  Chestnut  street,  extending  from  Hudson 
street  to  Carpenters'  Court,  between  Third  arid  Fourth  streets. 
The  front  is  made  conspicuous  by  two  square  towers  with 
mansard  roofs.  The  style  of  architecture  is  Venetian,  and 
the  appearance  of  the  building  is  so  peculiar  that  it  attracts 
much  attention.  The  building  is  large,  and  devoted  not  only 
to  the  business  of  the  Guarantee  Trust  Company,  but  accom- 
modates also  the  National  Bank  of  the  Republic  and  the 
Fame  Insurance  Company.  The  safe-deposit  vaults  are  at 
the  extreme  .south  end  of  the  building,  and  are  very  strong. 
The  interior  is  richly  decorated  in  the  Italian  style.  The 
capital  is  $1,000,000,  and  the  charter  was  granted  in  1872. 
The  present  building  was  opened  for  business  January  1, 1875. 
14  *  L 


162  SAFE-DEPOSIT   AND   TRUST   COMPANIES,   ETC. 

Penn  Trust  and  Safe-deposit  Company  occupies  the  western 
portion  of  the  Spring  Garden  Bank  building,  on  Spring  Gar- 
den street  west  of  Eidge  avenue.     It  was  opened  for  business 

in  1874. 

INSURANCE. 

The  business  of  insurance  has  very  much  increased  within 
a  few  years,  and  is  applied  to  subjects  not  thought  of  when 
this  plan  of  guarantee  against  loss  was  originated.  Com- 
mencing with  insurance  against  the  risks  of  the  seas,  the 
principle  was  gradually  extended  to  insurance  against  fire, 
to  the  insurance  of  families  against  the  losses  occasioned  by 
death  of  relatives,  and  of  late  years  there  has  been  added  in- 
surance against  accidents,  not  only  to  persons,  but  to  property 
At  the  beginning  of  1875  there  were  in  Philadelphia,  acting 
under  charters  from  the  State  of  Pennsylvania,  26  joint-stock 
fire  and  marine  insurance  companies,  6  mutual  fire  and  ma- 
rine and  9  life  insurance  companies,  some  of  them  with  trust 
and  annuity  powers.  There  were  also  over  125  agencies  of 
companies  acting  under  charters  granted  in  other  States  of 
the  Union,  and  about  20  Pennsylvania  companies  which  did 
not  belong  to  the  city,  and  15  foreign  companies,  English, 
French  and  German.  The  majority  of  these  companies  and 
agencies  occupy  offices  in  buildings  devoted  to  other  purposes 
than  the  objects  of  those  institutions.  It  is  our  design  only  to 
notice  such  of  them  as  have  been  long  established  and  own 
and  occupy  the  buildings  in  which  their  business  is  carried 

on. 

FIRE  INSURANCE  COMPANIES. 
Philadelphia  Contributionship.  Incorporated  March  25, 
1752.  Occupies  four-story  brick  building  west  side  of  South 
Fourth  street  below  Walnut.  This  is  the  oldest  fire  insurance 
company  in  America.  It  was  instituted  upon  the  mutual 
principle,  the  subscribers  undertaking  to  insure  each  other 
against  loss  and  to  contribute  toward  losses  in  ratio  with 
the  insurance  interests  of  each.  The  insurance  is  only  upon 
real  estate,  and  is  what  is  called  ''perpetual,"  enduring  as 
long  as  the  building  stands.     The  insured  can  withdraw  their 


FIRE    IXSUEiANCE    COMPANIES.  163 

premium  money,  less  a  percentage  retained  by  the  company, 
at  any  time,  and  close  the  policy  and  risk.  The  badge  of  this 
company,  from  which  it  obtained  the  popular  name  of  the 
"Hand  in  Hand,"  is  four  hands  clasped. 

Mutual  Assurance.  Incorporated  1784.  Occupies  the 
building  at  526  Walnut  street,  the  first  story  being  of  marble 
and  the  upper  portion  of  brick.  This  company  was  popularly 
known  as  the  "Green  Tree,"  from  its  badge. 

American.  Incorporated  1811,  with  a  capital  ot  $500,000. 
Office,  310  Walnut  street,  four-story  brick  building. 

Delaware  Mutual  Safety.  Incorporated  1835.  Occupies  a 
stately  brownstone  building  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Third 
and  Walnut  streets,  47  feet  4  inches  front  on  Walnut  by  70 
feet  deep,  which  was  finished  in  the  spring  of  1855. 

Fire  Association.  Incorporated  March  27,  1820.  Sand- 
stone three-story  building,  south-west  corner  of  Fifth  and 
North  streets,  below  Arch. 

This  association  was  originally  formed  among  the  volunteer  fire 
companies  of  Philadelphia,  and  intended,  out  of  the  profits,  to  as- 
sist in  supporting  those  companies.  The  capital  at  the  commence- 
ment was  raised  by  contribution  from  each  engine  and  hose  com- 
pany, and  was  very  small.  But  the  association  met  with  great  favor 
from  citizens  and  commanded  a  large  business  from  the  beginning. 
With  good  luck  and  small  losses,  it  increased  until  it  became  a  pow- 
erful company.  The  volunteer  fire  department  was  superseded  by 
the  paid  fire  department  March  15,  1871.  The  Fire  Association  was 
then  made,  by  act  of  legislature,  a  joint-stock  company. 

Franklin.  Chartered  1829.  Occupies  a  building  421  Wal- 
nut street  between  Fourth  and  Fifth.  This  company  does  a 
very  large  business. 

Pennsylvania.  Incorporated  1825.  Capital,  $400,000.  Oc- 
cupies white  marble  building,  in  the  Egyptian  style,  510 
Walnut  street  between  Fifth  and  Sixth.  This  building  was 
erected  about  1835,  and  from  the  peculiar  architecture 
attracted  much  attention  for  many  years. 

Spring  Garden.  Incorporated  1835.  Office  in  brick  build- 
ing, the  first  story  of  marble,  north-west  corner  of  Sixth  and 
Wood  streets. 


164  FIRE    INSURANCE    COMPANIES,    ETC. 

County.  Incorporated  1832.  Building  of  sandstone  and 
brick,  110  South  Fourth  street  below  Chestnut. 

Sun,  occupies  brick  rough-cast  building  south-east  corner 
of  Spring  Garden  street  and  Eidge  avenue. 

FIRE  AND   MARINE. 
North  America.     Incorporated  1794.     Capital,  $1,000,000. 
Occupies  brownstone   building,  232   Walnut  street  east  of 
Third. 

LIFE. 
Penn  Mutual.     Incorporated  June  1, 1847.     Occupies  build- 
ing north  side  of  Chestnut  street  between  Ninth  and  Tenth, 
which  was  originally  the  Kohne  mansion. 

This  company  built  for  its  office,  in  1851,  one  of  the  first  iron 
buildings  erected  in  Philadelphia,  at  the  north-east  corner  of  Third 
and  Dock  streets.  It  was  in  the  Italian  style.  Some  years  later 
the  company  removed  to  its  present  office,  on  Chestnut  street. 

American.  Incorporated  1850.  Occupies  a  brick  building 
of  plain  appearance. 

New  York  Mutual.  Building,  north-west  corner  Tenth  and 
Chestnut  streets,  one  of  the  most  splendid  structures  in  the 
city.  It  occupies  a  lot,  58  feet  front  on  Chestnut  street  by  176 
feet  on  Tenth  street,  upon  which  was  once  built  a  mansion, 
the  residence  of  Major  David  Lenox,  and  which,  afterward 
passing  to  his  heirs,  was  known  as  the  Keen  mansion.  This 
building  is  of  granite,  in  the  Renaissance  style.  Ionic  and 
Corinthian  pillars,  with  arches,  balconies,  cornices  and  pilas- 
ters, add  to  the  effect  of  the  fronts  on  Tenth  and  Chestnut 
streets.  The  building  is  four  stories  high,  including  the  base- 
ment, with  a  high  Mansard  roof  of  iron,  and  from  the  side- 
walk to  the  top  of  the  Mansard  crest  is  97  feet ;  to  top  of  main 
pavilion  104  feet,  and  to  top  of  flag-staff  140  feet.  It  is  fire- 
proof throughout,  and  cost  over  $1,000,000.  Business  was 
opened  in  this  building  by  the  New  York  Mutual  Life  Insur- 
ance Company  on  the  25th  of  August,  1875. 


CHAPTER  IX. 

INSTITUTIONS  OF  EDUCATION. 

THE   UNIVERSITY   OF  PENNSYLVANIA. 
rpHE  buildings  connected  with  the  University  of  Pennsylva- 
J-   nia  are  the  largest  and  most  conveniently  arranged  college 
buildings  in  the  country.    The  building  for  the  departments  of 
science  and  arts  stands  on  Locust  street  between  Thirty-third 
and  Thirty-fourth  streets,  in  a  square  of  ground  containing  more 
than  six  acres,  and  is  two  hundred  and  fifty-four  feet  in  length 
and  one  hundred  and  two  feet  two  inches  in  depth,  and  at 
central  building  one  hundred  and  twenty-four  feet  in  depth. 
The  building  is  four  stories  high,  including  the  basement, 
which  is  almost  entirely  above  ground.     The  architecture  is 
of  the  collegiate  Gothic ;  the  material  is  of  green  serpentine 
stone  ornamented  with  gray  stone.     There  is  a  central  build- 
ing of  grand  proportions,  and  wings  with  pavilions.     On  the 
eastern  and  western  fronts  large  towers  rise  to  a  conspicuous 
height.     The  style  of  the  building,  with  its  gables,  buttresses, 
pinnacles   and    bay   and   oriel   windows,  is   very   attractive. 
Upon  the  grounds  are  other  buildings,  the  hospital  and  med- 
ical departments  of  the  university,  which  will  be  described  in 
their  proper  places.      The   corner-stone  of  this   edifice  was 
laid  on  the  15th  of  June,  1871,  and  it  was  finished  and  opened 
for  use  on  the  11th  of  October,  1872.     The  building  cost  to 
construct  $235,910.46.     The  department  of  science  occupies 
the  eastern  portion  of  the  building,  and  the  department  of 
arts  the  western.     The  centre  building  includes  the  chapel, 
library,  assembly-rooms,  etc.     There  are  laboratories,  class- 
rooms, recitation-rooms,  museum-rooms,  library,  offices,  etc., 
there  being  all  together  over  sixty  apartments   for  various 
purposes. 

This   building  was  planned  with  special  reference  to  the 

165 


THE   UNIVERSITY   OF   PENNSYLVANIA.         167 

greatly  increased  number  of  rooms  required  for  the  fall  devel- 
opment of  that  elective  system  of  studies  which  has  now  be- 
come the  settled  policy  in  the  department  of  arts,  as  well  as 
for  the  purpose  of  affording  every  facility  for  teaching  science 
in  its  application  to  the  arts.  A  very  complete  library  is  at- 
tached to  this  department,  also  a  collection  of  minerals  em- 
bracing over  10,000  specimens.  All  the  necessary  conve- 
niences for  demonstrating  experimental  physics  are  supplied, 
and  also  the  same  for  the  department  of  mechanical  engi- 
neering. Number  of  students  over  two  hundred.  Access  by 
Chestnut  and  Walnut,  Darby  branch,  passenger  railway  cars. 

The  history  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania  may  be  said  to 
commence  with  the  institution  of  an  academy  and  charitable  school 
which  was  advocated  by  Benjamin  Franklin  in  1749,  liberal  sub- 
scriptions, for  those  days,  being  obtained  for  the  purpose.  The 
friends  of  this  measure  succeeded  in  obtaining  the  grant  of  what 
was  called  the  "  New  Building,"  which  had  been  erected  on  the  west 
side  of  Fourth  street  below  Arch  as  a  preaching  house  for  the  use 
of  the  celebrated  Whitefield,  the  itinerant  preacher.  The  building 
was  unfinished.  The  academy  obtained  possession  of  it,  and  here, 
in  1750,  it  was  opened  for  instruction  in  the  Latin  and  English  lan- 
guages and  mathematics.  In  1755  the  association  was  chartered 
with  the  title  of  "  The  College,  Academy  and  Charitable  School  of 
Philadelphia,"  and  authority  was  given  to  grant  degrees.  The  lit- 
erary department  continued  in  active  operation  up  to  the  time  of 
the  Revolution.  The  first  provost  was  Rev.  AVilliam  Smith  D.  D., 
and  he  continued  in  charge  for  twenty-four  years.  In  1779  the  college 
fell  into  unpopularity  in  consequence  of  the  agitations  of  the  times, 
some  of  the  trustees  and  teachers  being  suspected  of  tory  sentiments. 
The  assembly  of  Pennsylvania  passed  an  act  annulling  the  charter 
of  the  college,  and  conferred  all  the  franchises  of  that  corporation 
upon  a  new  institution  called  "  The  University  of  Pennsylvania." 
The  latter  succeeded  to  the  rights  of  the  college,  attracting  to  its 
service  some  of  the  old  professors.  Others  refused  to  join  the  new 
institution.  In  1789  the  council  of  censors  of  the  State  declared 
that  the  forfeiture  of  the  charter  of  the  college  was  illegal,  and  the 
Legislature  passed  an  act  restoring  the  franchises  of  the  institution. 
The  old  college  was  reorganized,  and  for  two  years  the  college  and 
university  conducted  the  work  of  education  in  rivalry. 

In  1791  good  sense  prevailed,  and  by  arrangement  and  compromise 
it  was  agreed  that  the  two  institutions  should  be  united— an  arrange- 


168    THE    UNIVERSITY    OF    PENNSYLVANIA,   ETC. 

ment  which  the  Legislature  ratified,  giving  to  the  united  corporation 
the  title  of  "  The  University  of  Pennsylvania."  The  medical  school, 
which  was  begun  in  1764  by  Dr.  William  Shippen,  was  a  part  of  the 
institution  before  the  Revolution,  and  afterward  when  the  two  insti- 
tutions were  separate,  and  was  much  strengthened  upon  the  union. 
In  the  year  1798  the  trustees  of  the  university  bought  the  house 
erected  for  the  use  of  the  President  of  the  United  States  by  the 
State  of  Pennsylvania,  on  Ninth  below  Market  street.  It  was  one 
hundred  feet  front  by  one  hundred  feet  deep,  and  three  stories  in 
height.  The  medical  school,  which  had  not  occupied  the  buildings 
of  the  college  or  university  at  any  time,  was  brought  nearer  to  the 
parent  institution  in  1807  by  the  erection  of  an  octagonal  building 
adjoining. 

In  1829  the  President's  house  and  the  medical  department  building 
were  torn  down  and  two  buildings  erected,  one  for  the  use  of  the 
library  and  the  other  for  the  medical  department.  These  buildings 
were  torn  down  in  1874,  the  United  States  government  having  pur- 
chased the  ground  for  a  post-office. 

GIRARD  COLLEGE. 
This  magnificent  marble  building,  situate  on  a  lot  of  ground 
extending  from  South  College  avenue  to  North  College  avenue 
and  from  Ridge  avenue  at  Nineteenth  street  and  Girard  ave- 
nue to  Twenty-fifth  street,  occupying  41  acres,  is  one  of  the 
finest  architectural  works  in  the  United  States.  The  design 
of  the  main  building  is  in  the  richest  Corinthian  style.  The 
superstructure  rests  upon  a  basement  consisting  of  eleven 
steps  extending  around  the  entire  edifice.  The  building,  111 
feet  wide  and  169  feet  long,  is  surrounded  by  a  range  of  fluted 
columns,  8  on  each  end  and  11  on  each  side,  including  the 
corner  columns.  The  columns  support  a  portico  with  archi- 
traves 21  feet  in  width,  and  are  55  feet  in  height,  9  feet  3 
inches  in  diameter  at  the  base,  and  surmounted  by  richly 
carved  capitals  8  feet  6  inches  high.  The  total  height  of 
the  building  is  97  feet.  It  is  arched  throughout,  with  brick 
and  stone,  floored  with  marble  and  roofed  with  marble 
tiles.  The  weight  of  the  roof  is  estimated  at  over  969  tons. 
The  great  doors  in  the  south  and  north  fronts  are  16  feet  wide 
and  32  high.  In  the  south  vestibule  in  a  sarcophagus  rest 
the  ashes  of  Stephen  Girard,  the  founder,  surmounted  by  his 


170  GIRARD  COLLEGE. 

statue  by  N.  Gevelot,  which,  for  fidelity  of  likeness  and  posi- 
tion rendering  the  figure  of  the  merchant  and  mariner  as  he 
lived,  cannot  be  excelled  by  any  modern  statue.  This  build- 
ing is  used  entirely  for  educational  purposes.  Four  marble 
buildings,  two  on  the  east  and  two  on  the  west  of  the  main 
building,  are  devoted  to  the  use  of  pupils  as  residences,  etc. 
There  are  various  other  buildings  in  the  enclosure.  There  is 
a  fine  parade-ground,  upon  which  the  pupils  are  exercised  in 
military  discipline.  West  of  the  main  building,  upon  the 
grounds  and  near  the  front,  is  a  monument  erected  by  the 
pupils  to  the  memory  of  their  associates  killed  in  the  army 
and  navy  during  the  war  of  the  rebellion.  A  fine  statue  rep- 
resenting a  soldier  decorates  the  memorial.  In  the  main  col- 
lege building  are  deposited  personal  relics  of  Girard — furni- 
ture, etc.— which  are  considered  curious.  The  whole  of  the 
grounds  are  enclosed  by  a  solid  stone  wall,  ten  feet  in  height, 
in  conformity  with  the  will  of  Mr.  Girard.  The  whole  cost 
of  this  building  and  the  improvement  of  the  grounds  was 
$1,933,821.78.  The  college  is  controlled  by  the  Board  of 
Public  Trusts,  elected  by  the  city  corporation.  The  institu- 
tion has  20  professors  and  teachers  in  the  Faculty,  with  12  pre- 
fects and  governesses.  In  1874  there  were  over  500  pupils  in 
the  institution ;  and  owing  to  the  increased  revenues  from  the 
Girard  estates,  the  directors  expect  in  a  short  time  to  be  able 
to  enlarge  the  capacity  to  1000.  Admission  to  the  institution 
is  accorded  to  visitors  every  day  except  Sundays.  Tickets  may 
be  procured  at  the  office  of  the  Girard  Trusts,  Fifth  street,  op- 
posite Minor,  Mayor's  office.  Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets,  or  at 
the  ofiice  of  the  Public  Ledger,  Sixth  and  Chestnut  streets. 
Clergymen  cannot  under  any  circumstances  be  admitted  to 
the  institution,  such  being  the  absolute  wdll  of  Mr.  Girard. 

Access  to  the  college  may  be  had  by  the  Girard  avenue, 
Ridge  avenue  and  Seventeenth  and  Nineteenth  streets  pas- 
senger railway  lines. 

This  institution  was  founded  for  the  education  of  poor  white 
orphan  boys  by  Stephen  Girard,  a  native  of  France,  who  was  born 
May  21,  1750,  near  Bordeaux,  and  died  in  Philadelphia  December 


GTRARD    COLLEGE,   ETC.  171 

26,  1831.  He  went  to  sea  as  a  cabin-boy,  rose  to  be  master  and  part 
owner  of  a  small  vessel,  and  earned  enough  money  to  establish 
himself  in.  business  in  Philadelphia  in  a  small  way  in  1769.  He 
made  money,  and  after  the  Revolution  gradually  increased  his  com- 
mercial ventures,  until  he  became  one  of  the  richest  merchants  in  the 
country.  In  1812  he  engaged  in  business  as  a  private  banker,  loaned 
the  United  States  government  $5,000,000  in  that  year,  maintained  an 
active  commercial  business,  bought  largely  in  real  estate,  built  fine 
stores  and  dwelling-houses  and  added  much  to  the  beauty  of  the  city. 
Upon  his  death  it  was  found  that  he  had  bequeathed  half  a  million 
dollars  to  the  city  of  Philadelphia  for  the  improvement  of  streets 
and  buildings,  $300,000  to  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  for  the  improve- 
ment of  canals,  $2,000,000  and  the  residue  of  his  property — after 
other  legacies  and  bequests  were  paid — for  the  support  and  education 
of  "poor  white  male  orphans,  between  the  ages  of  six  and  ten  years 
when  admitted  to  the  institution,  giving  the  preference,  first,  to  those 
born  within  the  bounds  of  the  [old]  oity  of  Philadelphia ;  secondly, 
to  those  born  in  Pennsylvania ;  thirdly,  to  those  bom  in  New  York ; 
and  lastly,  to  those  born  in  Kew  Orleans."  The  boys  are  bound 
apprentices  to  the  corporation  of  Philadelphia,  and  bound  out  from 
the  institution  between  the  ages  of  fourteen  and  eighteen  years. 
The  college  was  originally  intended  to  be  erected  on  a  lot  of  ground 
bounded  by  Tenth,  Eleventh,  Market  and  Chestnut  streets;  but  Mr. 
Girard  having  bought,  shortly  before  his  death,  a  lot  of  ground  on 
Ridge  road  called  Peel  Hall,  he  directed  by  a  codicil  that  the  college 
should  be  built  there.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  July  4, 1833,  and 
the  college  opened  for  use  on  the  1st  of  January,  1848. 

Germantown  Academy,  School-house  lane  between  Green 
and  Wayne  streets,  Germantown.  This  venerable  institution 
is  one  of  the  oldest  now  existing  in  the  city.  The  building, 
quaint  and  old-fashioned,  constructed  of  stone,  with  an  odd 
little  cupola  and  bell,  is  one  of  the  ante-Revolutionary  relics 
yet  preserved  in  Philadelphia.  The  education  is  plain  Eng- 
lish, and  the  academy  is  well  patronized  by  residents  of  Ger- 
mantown and  the  neighborhood. 

This  institution  was  founded  by  inhabitants  of  Germantown  by 
proceedings  originated  at  a  meeting  on  the  6th  of  December,  1759. 
It  was  resolved  at  that  time  that  a  building  should  "  be  erected  near 
the  centre  of  the  town  for  the  use  of  an  English  and  High  Dutch  or 
German  school,  and  also  suitable  dwellings  for  the  teachers  to  reside 
in."    Money  was  subscribed,  and  the  corner-stone  laid  on  the  21st 


172  GERMANTOWN   ACADEMY,    ETC. 

of  April,  1760.  It  was  opened  for  use  September,  1761,  and  during 
that  month  received  131  pupils,  of  which  61  were  in  the  English  and 
70  in  the  German  department.  Greek,  Latin  and  the  higher  math- 
ematics were  also  taught.  The  school  was  discontinued  during  the 
Kevolution,  but  was  revived  at  its  close,  and  chartered  in  1784,  under 
the  title  of  the  "  Public  School  of  Germantown."  It  has  been  in 
operation  ever  since. 

Aimwell  School,  north  side  of  Cherry  street  between  Ninth 
and  Tenth.  This  school  occupies  a  brick  building.  It  is 
supported  by  the  Society  for  the  Free  Instruction  of  Female 
Children,  which  was  founded  by  three  young  women  of  the 
Society  of  Friends  in  1796.  They  taught  the  scholars  for 
some  years  in  sewing,  reading,  writing  and  arithmetic.  For 
many  years  the  school  was  held  in  the  Quaker  school-house 
on  South  Fourth  street.  The  school-house  has  been  in  its 
present  situation  for  a  long  time. 

Beck  School-house,  north  side  of  Catherine  street  between 
Sixth  and  Seventh  streets,  occupies  a  lot  of  ground  65  feet 
front  by  203  feet  deep.  There  is  a  boys'  and  girls'  school, 
grammar  and  secondary,  with  capacity  to  accommodate  from 
three  hundred  and  fifty  to  four  hundred  pupils. 

These  schools  are  maintained  by  the  Philadelphia  Society  for  the 
Establishment  and  Support  of  Charity  Schools,  established  in  1799, 
and  incorporated  September  8,  1801.  For  some  years  the  schools  of 
this  society  and  the  Aimwell  and  Adelphi  Schools,  the  latter  of 
which  has  gone  out  of  existence,  were  the  only  free  schools  in  the 
city.  The  school  was  opened  1801,  in  a  room  in  the  rear  of  the 
Second  Presbyterian  Church,  Third  and  Arch  streets.  In  that  year  a 
bequest  by  Christopher  Ludwick  of  his  residuary  estate,  estimated  at 
$13,000,  for  teaching  poor  children  gratis,  was  secured  by  the  society. 
A  lot  of  ground  was  purchased  on  Walnut  street  west  of  Sixth  in 
1804.  A  building  was  erected  upon  it,  which  was  opened  for  school 
purposes  at  the  end  of  that  year.  In  1859  the  property,  being  very 
valuable,  was  appropriated  to  the  means  of  obtaining  enlarged  in- 
come by  altering  it  to  the  use  of  offices,  etc.  It  is  now  known  as  the 
Ludwick  Building.  A  lot  of  ground  on  Catherine  street  was  pre- 
sented to  the  society  by  Paul  Beck,  Sr.,  by  deed.  When  the  new 
school  was  finished,  in  May,  1859,  it  was  called  the  Beck  School-house. 
This  school  has  a  riglit  to  send  pupils  to  the  Central  High  School. 


CHAPTER  X. 

COLLEGIATE  AND  ACADEMICAL   INSTITUTIONS    UN- 
DER  CONTROL  OF  RELIGIOUS  DENOMINATIONS. 


PROTESTANT    EPISCOPAL    ACADEMY. 

Protestant  Episcopal  Academy,  south-west  corner  of  Locust 
and  Juniper.     Building  of  red  sandstone  of  the  Elizabethan 


15* 


173 


174  ACADEMICAL   INSTITUTIONS. 

style  of  architecture.  The  instruction  comprises  all  the 
branches  that  are  usually  taught  in  the  elementary  and 
higher  schools ;  and  although  the  sessions  open  and  close  with 
short  services  in  the  chapel  and  the  trustees  are  Episcopalians, 
the  course  of  study  is  by  no  means  sectarian  in  its  character. 
This  building  is  near  the  line  of  the  Thirteenth,  Spruce  and 
Walnut  street  railways.  The  walk  from  each  is  but  a  short 
distance. 

This  institution  was  founded  in  the  year  1785  by  efforts  of  church- 
men in  the  city,  conspicuous  among  whom  were  Bishop  White,  Rev. 
Doctor  Pillmore,  Rev.  Doctor  Blackwell  and  others.  A  lot  was  pro- 
cured on  the  south  side  of  Chestnut  street  west  of  Sixth,  upon  which 
a  fine  large  building  for  the  use  of  the  academy  was  erected.  The 
undertaking,  however,  proved  to  be  too  great  for  the  means  of  the 
institution.  The  building  was  sold,  and  became  Oeller's  hotel,  the 
most  fashionable  establishment  of  that  kind  in  the  city.  It  was 
totally  destroyed  by  fire,  with  Rickett's  circus,  adjoining,  in  Decem- 
ber, 1799.  The  academy  went  to  the  south-east  corner  of  Third  and 
Pear  streets.  Subsequently  it  was  in  other  places,  and  had  fallen 
to  the  position  of  an  ordinary  school.  In  1846  steps  were  taken  to 
enlarge  and  improve  its  means  by  Bishop  Potter  and  others,  and  the 
institution  placed  on  a  permanent  basis. 

Protestant  Episcopal  Divinity  School,  corner  of  Thirty-ninth 
and  Walnut  streets,  West  Philadelphia.  This  institution  is 
devoted  to  the  theological  instruction  of  students  for  the 
ministry.  There  are  six  professors.  Theology,  homiletics, 
Hebrew,  biblical  learning  and  canon  law  are  taught.  This 
school  was  established  several  years  ago.  Access  by  cars  of 
the  Chestnut  and  Walnut  streets  passenger  railway. 

Theological  Seminary  of  Saint  Charles  Borromeo  (Roman 
Catholic).  This  institution  was  incorporated  in  1848,  under 
the  direction  of  Lazaritists,  or  priests  of  the  Congregation  of 
Missions.  It  was  originally  located  at  the  north-east  corner 
of  Eighteenth  and  Race  streets.  A  few  years  ago  the  ground 
at  Overbrook,  four  miles  and  a  half  from  the  city,  was  pur- 
chased, and  a  fine  building  of  graystone  in  the  Italian  style 
of  architecture  erected.  The  edifice  has  a  front  of  three  hun- 
dred and  eighty-four  feet,  with  wings  and  pavilions.     A  high 


ACADEMICAL   INSTITUTIONS.  175 

dome,  with  cross  and  lantern,  surmounts  the  central  building. 
Towers  surmounted  with  crosses  are  upon  the  end  buildings. 
The  interior  is  fitted  for  the  purposes  of  a  theological  seminary, 
with  class-  and  recitation-rooms,  dormitories  and  a  fine  chapel, 
with  every  appointment  for  the  services  of  the  Church.  Ac- 
cess by  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  to  Overbrook  station. 

Seminary  of  Saint  Vincent  de  Paul  (Eoman  Catholic), 
Chew  street,  Germantown,  is  nearly  finished,  and  is  to  be 
dedicated  to  the  education  of  priests,  under  the  charge  of  the 
same  order  that  have  control  of  Saint  Charles  Borromeo. 
The  building  is  to  be  extensive,  and  is  constructed  of  dark 
graystone  and  granite. 

La  Salle  College  (Roman  Catholic),  north-east  corner  of 
Juniper  and  Filbert  streets,  under  charge  of  Christian  Bro- 
thers, is  a  brick  building  devoted  to  primary  and  classical 
education. 

Saint  Joseph's  College  (Roman  Catholic),  317  Willing's 
alley,  is  connected  with  Saint  Joseph's  Roman  Catholic 
church,  and  is  devoted  to  the  purpose  of  an  academical  edu- 
cation.    It  was  incorporated  in  1852. 

Parish  Schools.  There  are  in  many  parts  of  the  city 
Eoman  Catholic  schools  attached  to  the  churches,  which  are 
under  control  of  clergymen  and  Christian  Brothers  and  re- 
ligious women. 

Theological  Seminary  of  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church,  216 
Franklin  street  above  Race.  This  institution  occupies  a  large 
brick  building.  The  Faculty  consists  of  five  professors.  The 
object  is  to  educate  young  men  in  the  work  of  the  Lutheran 
ministry. 

Haverford  College.  Society  of  Friends  (Orthodox).  This 
institution,  founded  in  the  year  1833,  is  situated  upon  the  line 
of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad,  at  a  distance  of  nine  miles  from 
the  city.  The  grounds  occupy  nearly  two  hundred  acres,  sixty 
of  which  are  devoted  to  a  lawn  tastefully  laid  out  and  adorned 
with  an  unusual  variety  of  trees  and  shrubbery.  The  college 
buildings  consist  of  the  original  structure,  used  hitherto  for 
boarding  and  educational  purposes ;  an  astronomical  observ- 


176  ACADEMICAL  INSTITUTIONS. 

atory,  containing  an  SJ-inch  telescope  and  other  instruments  ; 
a  large  gymnasium  and  lecture-room,  with  laboratory,  etc.,  and 
the  alumni  hall,  which  includes  the  reading-room  and  library 
of  about  ten  thousand  carefully  selected  volumes.  A  large  new 
edifice  is  to  be  erected  during  the  year  1876,  for  the  purpose  of 
giving  improved  accommodations  and  educational  facilities  to 
a  larger  number  of  students.  There  are  six  professors  and  in- 
structors.    The  course  of  education  is  academic  and  practical. 

Swarthmore  College  (Society  of  Friends)  is  situate  near 
Westdale  station,  upon  the  line  of  the  West  Chester  and 
Philadelphia  Railroad,  about  eight  or  nine  miles  from  the 
city.  This  college  occupies  very  extensive  stone  buildings, 
which  present  an  imposing  appearance  from  the  railroad. 
The  course  of  instruction  is  collegiate,  and  the  college  is 
divided  into  two  departments,  one  of  which  is  devoted  to 
male  and  the  other  to  female  students.  There  are  usually 
several  hundred  students  or  pupils  in  this  institution.  This 
college  has  been  in  operation  a  few  years,  and  is  under  con- 
trol of  the  members  of  the  Society  of  Friends  usually  de- 
nominated "Hicksites." 

William  Penn  Charter-school.  This  school  is  held  in  con- 
nection with  Friends'  Meeting  (Orthodox)  adjoining  the 
meeting-house,  corner  of  Twelfth  and  Clover  streets,  above 
Chestnut  street.  It  was  chartered  by  William  Penn  in  1701, 
and  for  more  than  a  century  the  school-house  was  in  Fourth 
street  below  Chestnut. 

Friends'  Central  School,  Fifteenth  and  Race  streets,  is  con- 
nected with  the  meeting-house  there.  The  course  is  thorough, 
from  primary  up  to  academic  and  classical.  The  schools  are 
primary,  secondary,  grammar  and  central.  There  are  six 
schools  at  this  place,  and  about  six  hundred  pupils. 


CHAPTER   XI. 
INSTITUTIONS  FOR  SCIENTIFIC  EDUCATION. 

MEDICAL   COLLEGES. 

Medical    Department  of    the    University  of    Pennsylvania 

(Allopathic).  This  branch  of  the  university  occupies  a  capa- 
cious building  of  greenstone  situate  at  the  corner  of  Locust 
and  Thirty-fourth  streets.  The  style  of  the  architecture  is  in 
harmony  with  that  of  the  main  university  building,  to  the 
east  of  it,  and  of  the  university  hospital,  to  the  south,  although 
there  are  essential  differences  in  all  of  them.     This  building 


MEDICAL   DEPARTMENT  OF  THE  UNIVERSITY  OF   PENNSYLVANIA. 

is  fitted  up  especially  for  purposes  of  medical  instruction. 
The  laboratory  is  in  the  basement.  Two  large  lecture-rooms 
are  upon  the  first  floor.  The  museum  and  clinical  amphi- 
theatre are  on  the  second  floor.  The  third  story  contains  the 
dissecting-rooms  and  surgical-rooms.  There  are  ample  ac- 
commodations for  six  hundred  students;  and  besides  the  in- 
struction of  the  Faculty  and  assistants,  practical,  clinical  and 


M 


177 


178  MEDICAL    COLLEGES.  ' 

surgical  instruction  is  afforded  by  the  practice  at  the  university 
hospital,  on  the  same  ground.  Access  by  Chestnut  and  Walnut 
streets  passenger  railway  (Darby  branch). 

The  medical  department  of  the  university  owes  its  foundation  to 
Doctor  William  Shippen  of  Philadelphia,  who  commenced  private 
lectures  upon  medicine  and  surgery  in  1764.  In  1765  the  College  of 
Philadelphia  instituted  a  medical  department,  and  Doctor  Shippen 
was  made  the  first  professor,  being  awarded  the  chair  of  anatomy. 
Other  chairs  were  added,  and  for  some  years  the  medical  school  was 
the  only  one  available  to  students  in  America.  The  classes  were 
taught  before  the  Revolution  at  Doctor  Shippen's  residence,  or  in  a 
building  adjoining  the  back  of  his  house,  on  Fourth  street  above 
Market.  About  the  time  of  the  Revolution  a  building  was  erected  for 
the  special  use  of  the  medical  department,  on  the  east  side  of  Fifth 
street  above  Walnut,  halfway  to  Library  street.  This  was  called 
Surgeons'  Hall,  and  was  in  use  until  1807,  when  the  medical  building 
adjoining  the  university  on  Ninth  street  was  erected.  Since  that 
pei-iod  the  medical  department  has  always  been  near  the  scientific 
and  literary  departments  of  the  university.  The  medical  depart- 
ment has  been  from  its  institution  under  the  charge  of  professors  of 
the  highest  reputation  in  their  own  profession.  Among  them  may 
be  mentioned  Shippen,  Morgan,  Bond,  Rush,  Physic,  Wistar,  Rogers, 
Horner,  Wood,  Jackson  and  Gibson.  The  new  buildijig  was  formally 
opened  on  the  12th  of  October,  1874. 

Jefferson  Medical  College,  west  side  of  Tenth  street  below 
Bansom.  The  building  is  of  rough-cast  brick,  with  a  Corinth- 
ian portico  of  six  columns  on  Tenth  street.  It  is  well 
arranged  for  scientific  instruction.  There  is  a  fine  large 
museum,  class-rooms,  lecture-rooms,  theatre,  dissecting-rooms, 
etc.  There  is  a  full  Faculty,  and  the  annual  attendance  of 
students  is  large.  Adjoining  the  college  on  the  west,  a  hos- 
pital, which  will  soon  be  finished,  will  atford  clinical  instruc- 
tion to  the  student.  Among  the  noted  professors  of  Jefferson 
College  have  been  Samuel  and  George  McClellan,  Dungiison, 
Mutter,  Meigs,  Bache,  Pancoast  and  others  of  eminence.  Cars 
of  the  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets  passenger  railway  going 
south  pass  the  building. 

This  college  was  originally  established  under  the  charter  of 
Jefferson  College,  Canonsburg,  Pennsylvania,  which  had  authority 


MEDICAL   COLLEGES.  179 

to  maintain  a  medical  school.  It  was  established  in  Philadelphia 
about  1824,  in  a  building  on  the  south  side  of  Prune  street  between 
Fifth  and  Sixth  streets.  April  12,  1828,  the  medical  college  received 
a  separate  charter.  A  lot  of  ground  was  obtained  on  Tenth  street, 
and  a  brick  building  51  by  57  feet  in  size,  with  an  L  measuring  on 
the  angle  94  feet,  was  established,  with  a  three-story  building  in  the 
rear  for  an  anatomical  class-room.  In  1845  the  building  was  en- 
larged and  a  handsome  front  built  by  the  architect  Le  Brund. 

The  University  College  (Eclectic)  occupies  a  brownstone 
building  in  the  collegiate  Gothic  style,  with  towers,  on  the 
west  side  of  Ninth  street  below  Locust.  The  building  was 
constructed  for  the  Pennsylvania  College,  an  institution 
which  is  not  now  in  existence.  It  is  60  by  80  feet,  five  stories 
high.  The  comer-stone  was  laid  31st  May,  1849,  and  the 
building  occupied  and  completed  in  1850. 

The  Woman's  Medical  College  (Allopathic),  N.  W.  comer 
of  North  College  avenue  and  Twenty-first  street,  a  hand- 
some brick  building,  specially  constructed  for  the  use  of  the 
institution.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  October  1,  1874,  and 
the  building  opened  for  education  at  the  autumn  session  of 
1875. 

This  institution  was  formed  in  order  to  ensure  a  medical  education 
to  women,  there  being  prejudice  against  their  being  furnished  with 
facilities  for  medical  study  in  other  institutions.  Many  of  the  pro- 
fessors are  women,  and  a  considerable  number  of  women  have 
graduated  there  and  are  now  in  practice.  The  Woman's  Hospital, 
adjoining,  furnishes  clinical  advantages.  The  college  was  founded 
in  1849,  and  was  the  first  distinctive  medical  school  for  women 
established  in  the  world.  Access  by  Pvidge  Avenue  passenger  rail- 
way. 

Hahnemann  Medical  College  (Homoeopathic),  north  side  of 
Filbert  street,  between  Eleventh  and  Twelfth.  The  building 
— ^the  first  story  of  marble  and  portico  of  two  pillars — pre- 
sents a  neat,  handsome  and  attractive  front.  There  is  a  full 
Faculty  connected  with  the  institution,  and  a  considerable 
number  of  students  attend  annually.  A  dispensary  is  at- 
tached, and  Hahnemann  Hospital,  adjoining,  on  the  north, 
gives  opportunity  for  clinical  and  practical  instruction 


180  MEDICAL    AND   DENTAL   COLLEGES. 

This  college  was  instituted  in  1846.  The  building  had  been  pre- 
viously erected  for  the  use  of  the  Philadelphia  Institute. 

College  of  Physicians  (Allopathic),  N.  E.  corner  of  Thir- 
teenth and  Locust  streets.  This  institution  is  one  of  the 
oldest  in  the  city,  having  been  founded  in  1787  and  incorpo- 
rated in  1789.  The  building  is  of  brick,  and  well  adapted  for 
the  purposes  intended.  The  society  is  composed  of  physicians 
only,  and  they  meet  twice  a  month  for  the  discussion  of  sub- 
jects connected  with  the  science  of  medicine  and  its  advance- 
ment. For  numy  years  this  association  met  in  Locust  street 
between  Eleventh  and  Twelfth.  The  present  building  was 
completed  in  ISGo.  It  contains  the  Pathological  Museum  of 
the  late  Dr.  Thomas  D.  Mutter,  with  many  additions,  a  val- 
uable library  enhanced  by  donations  of  Samuel  Lewis  and 
George  Ord,  which  reaches  about  15,000  volumes.  Dr.  Mut- 
ter left  a  fund  for  the  support  of  pathological  lectures  before 
the  institution. 

Philadelphia  College  of  Pharmacy,  east  side  of  Tenth 
street  above  Cherry.  The  building  actually  occupied  by  this 
institution  is  of  considerable  dimensions  and  stands  back 
from  the  street.  The  Tenth  street  front  is  merely  a  place  of 
entrance.  This  college  is  intended  to  instruct  students  for 
the  business  of  apothecaries  and  physicians,  and  for  "the  pur- 
pose of  cultivating,  improving  and  making  known  a  know- 
ledge of  pharmacy  and  its  collateral  branches  of  science  and 
the  best  modes  of  preparing  medicine  and  their  compounds, 
and  of  giving  instruction  in  the  same  by  public  lectures." 

The  College  of  Pharmacy  was  cliartered  in  1S21,  and  occupied  a 
building  on  the  south  side  of  Zaue  street,  west  of  Seventh,  for  many 
years.  The  present  building  has  been  in  use  about  five  years.  The 
conrse  of  instruction  is  in  che.nistry,  materia  medica,  botany  and 
practical  pharmacy.  There  are  three  professors,  and  there  are  a 
considerable  number  of  students. 

DENTAL    COLLEGES. 
There  are  two  institutions  devoted  to  instruction  in  the 
theory  and  practice  of  dentistry.     They  are  well  organized, 
with   a  large  corps  of  professors  and  with  museums,  instru- 


DENTAL   COLLEGES,    ETC.  181 

ments,  implements  and  everything  necessary  to  add  to  the 
thoroughness  of  the  instruction. 

Pennsylvania  College  of  Dental  Surgery,  B.  E.  corner  of 
Tenth  and  Arch  streets,  has  thirteen  professors  and  assistant 
professors.     The  building  is  of  brick,  four  stories  in  height. 

Philadelphia  Dental  College,  108  North  Tenth  street,  above 
Arch,  also  occupies  a  brick  building.     There  are  eight  pro- 
fessors. 
POLYTECHNIC  COLLEGE  OF  STATE  OF  PENNSYLVANLA. 

This  institution,  located  on  the  south  side  of  Market,  be- 
tween Seventeenth  and  Eighteenth,  is  devoted  to  instruction 
in  technical  science,  mechanics,  engineering,  mining,  archi- 
tecture and  metallurgy.  Geology,  mineralogy,  chemistry, 
mathematics,  are  also  taught,  with  book-keeping,  commercial 
accounts  and  industrial  jurisprudence.  The  college  was 
founded  in  1853,  and  its  studies  were  held  for  many  years  in 
the  building  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Merrick  and  Market 
streets. 

U 


CHAPTER    XII. 

SCIENTIFIC  INSTITUTIONS. 

THE   ACADEMY  OF  NATURAL   SCIENCES. 

THIS  valuable  institution  will  soon  be  installed  in  its  new 
building,  on  Race  street,  opposite  Logan  square.  It  is 
a  fireproof  building,  in  the  Collegiate  Gothic  style  of  archi- 
tecture, the  exterior  walls  being  faced  with  green  serpentine- 
and  the  openings  trimmed  with  Ohio  sand-stone.     The  plan 


ACADEMY    OF    NATURAI.    SCIKNCES. 

of  the  entire  building  includes  room  for  a  library  of  80,000 
volumes,  cabinets,  etc.  Apartments  for  the  use  of  male  and 
female  artists  engaged  in  copying  natural  objects,  a  reading- 
room,  in  which  will  be  found  all  the  leading  scientific  periodi- 
cals of  the  world,  as  well  as  work-shops  and  committee-  and 

1S3 


184  THE    ACADEMY   OF   NATURAL   SCIENCES,    ETC. 

study-rooms,  are  provided.  A  portion  of  the  building  will  be 
occupied  by  a  handsome  lecture-room  and  laboratory.  The 
public  are  admitted  on  Tuesday  and  Friday  afternoons.  A 
small  fee  of  ten  cents  is  charged. 

The  following  will  give  some  idea  of  the  size  of  the  collec- 
tion: Natural  objects,  many  of  them  unique,  as  the  restored 
skeleton  of  the  Hadrosaurus  Foulkii,  250,000  specimens;  pa- 
Iseontological  collection,  65,000  specimens ;  mineralogical  cab- 
inet, 5000  specimens ;  botanical,  70,000  species  of  plants ;  in- 
sect cabinet,  25,000  species;  shells,  more  than  100,000  spe- 
cimens of  20,000  species ;  birds,  31,000  specimens  (the  largest 
collection  in  the  world);  reptiles,  800  species;  fishes,  1170 
species;  mammals,  1000  specimens.  Comparative  anatomy: 
skeletons,  271;  crania,  346;  parts  of  different  animals,  259. 
Ethnology:  1200  human  crania  of  different  races,  4  human 
mummies,  41  mummified  animals. 

The  Academy  of  Natural  Sciences  was  founded  January,  1812,  by 
seven  gentlemen  who  met  together  for  the  purpose  of  conversing 
upon  scientific  subjects,  and  thus  communicating  to  each  other  the 
results  of  their  reading,  observation  and  reflection,  A  museum,  a 
library  of  scientific  works,  a  laboratory  and  philosophical  appara- 
tus were  the  first  objects  of  acquisition.  The  room  of  the  society 
was  first  established  on  North  Second  street,  subsequently  on  Arch 
street,  and  for  many  years  in  a  building  at  the  north-east  corner  of 
Twelfth  and  George  streets,  which  had  been  erected  for  the  purposes 
of  a  Swedenborgian  church.  The  hall  at  Sansom  and  Broad  streets 
was  erected  in  1842,  and  enlarged  by  the  addition  of  a  third  story 
some  years  afterward, 

ENTOMOLOGICAL   SOCIETY. 

The  rooms  of  this  society  are  located  at  518  South  Thirteenth 
street,  where  may  be  found  a  very  large  collection  of  speci- 
mens of  entomology  and  the  most  complete  library  on  the 
subject  in  the  United  States,  Visitors  are  admitted  free  of 
charge  on  Monday  evenings  from  7.30  to  10,  when  they  have 
the  privilege  of  the  use  of  the  library. 

This  society  was  incorporated  in  1862, 

Germantown  Scientific  Society,  4836  Germantown  avenue. 
Useful  to  the  residents  of  that  portion  of  the  city. 


THE   FRANKLIN    INSTITUTE.  185 

THE  WAGNER  INSTITUTE. 
This  institution  was  founded  by  Professor  William  Wagner 
in  1855.  The  building  is  located  at  Seventeenth  street  and 
Montgomery  avenue.  It  contains  a  valuable  library,  philoso- 
phical and  chemical  apparatus,  cabinets  of  minerals,  etc.  A 
course  of  free  lectures  is  given  every  winter  in  the  large  lec- 
ture-room, holding  over  one  thousand  persons. 

William  Wagner  was  originally  a  merchant,  and  having  been  suc- 
cessful in  business  retired  many  years  ago.  Desiring  to  put  his 
wealth  to  some  good  purpose  and  having  scientific  tastes,  he  devoted 
himself  to  the  project  of  this  institution.  The  ground  was  pur- 
chased and  the  large  building  erected  at  his  expense,  and  it  has  been 
maintained  for  twenty  years  as  a  means  of  benefit  to  the  people. 
The  winter  lectures  comprise  a  course,  and  they  are  delivered  by 
gentlemen  of  scientific  ability. 

American  Philosophical  Society  was  founded  in  May,  1763, 
upon  the  union  of  two  societies,  one  of  which  was  the  Junto, 
of  which  Benjamin  Franklin  was  a  member.  The  new  society 
was  established  in  1743.  (See  chapter  on  Independence  Hall 
and  Square.) 

THE  FRANKLIN   INSTITUTE, 

East  side  of  south  Seventh  below  Market  street.  This 
society  was  organized  in  1824  for  the  promotion  of  the  me- 
chanic arts.  The  building  which  it  occupies  is  of  Pennsyl- 
vania marble,  a  plain  and  unassuming  edifice,  and  contains  a 
library,  lecture-room  and  museum.  It  is  well  worthy  of  a 
visit,  and  can  be  seen  daily  on  application  at  the  hall. 

This  institution  was  incorporated  March  30,  1824.  It  maintained 
a  library  and  reading-room  for  many  years.  For  some  years  it  gave 
exhibitions  of  the  progress  of  American  manufactures,  which  were 
held  in  the  old  Masonic  Hall  building  on  Chestnut  street  and  the 
museum  building,  Ninth  and  George.  Lectures  were  given  during 
winter  seasons,  and  a  drawing-school  has  been  maintained  for  many 
years.  The  "  Journal  of  the  Franklin  Institute  "  is  the  oldest  ex- 
tant periodical  for  mechanics  published  in  America. 

ZOOLOGICAL,   SOCIETY  AND   ZOOLOGICAL   GARDENS. 
This  attractive  addition  to  the  sights  of   Philadelphia  is 
under  the   control   of  a  society  composed   of  stockholders, 
16* 


188 


ZOOLOGICAL   SOCIETY   AND   GARDENS. 


whose  original  subscriptions  formed  the  basis  upon  which 
the  buildings  were  erected  and  the  collection  secured.  The 
location,  directly  on  the  banks  of  the  Schuylkill,  is  unsurpassed, 
and  the  shade  of  a  beautiful  grove  of  forest  trees  secures  the 
visitor  from  the  heat  of  the  summer  sun.  The  buildings,  for 
comfort  and  convenience,  are  unexcelled  in  any  country  in 


THE  MONKKY-HOITSE. 

Europe,  and  the  care  taken  of  the  animals  and  the  general 
cleanliness  of  the  surroundings  have  been  commented  upon 
by  all  visitors.  The  total  amount  of  land  occupied  by  this 
garden  is  thirty-three  acres,  which  is  laid  out  very  handsomely 
with  walks  and  flower-beds,  and  the  stream  crossed  by  rustic 
bridges.  The  collection  of  animals  and  birds  so  far  made  is 
most  creditable,  and  while  comprising  those  usually  met  with 


ZOOLOGICAL   SOCIETY    AND    GARDENS. 


189 


in  menageries  has  many  rare  additions,  constantly  increased 
either  by  donation  or  purchase.  The  admission  fee  is  twenty- 
five  cents,  with  half  rate  for  children.  The  Zoological  Garden 
can  be  reached  by  boats  on  the  Schuylkill,  and  by  the  street 
cars  via  Girard  avenue,  and  also  via  Race  and  Vine  streets. 


THE    BEAR-PIXS. 


In  this  enclosure  are  the  following  large  buildings:  first, 
Penn's  mansion  of  Solitude,  now  appropriated  to  various 
purposes  (see  Chapter  XXVIII.),  the  Carnivora  House,  with 
outdoor  cages,  a  very  large  building,  the  aviary,  the  monkey- 
house,  the  eagle-house,  the  elephant-  and  rhinoceros-house, 
bear-pits  and  other  buildings,  besides  large  numbers  of  pens, 
cages,  etc.   The  cost  of  the  buildings  is  already  above  $150,000. 

The  Zoological  Society  was  incorporated  in  1859,  and  a  site  allotted 
to  its  use  by  the  State  of  Pennsylvania  in  Fairmount  Park.    For  four- 


190         ZOOLOGICAL   SOCIETY   AND   GARDENS,    ETC. 

teen  years  very  little  was  done  toward  establishing  the  societ>'  on  a 
permanent  basis.  In  June,  1873,  the  Park  Commissioners  granted 
the  society  the  ground  on  the  west  side  of  the  river  now  occupied  by 
the  collection,  and  from  that  time  the  work  was  prosecuted  with 
great  vigilance  and  spirit.  The  gardens  were  first  opened  July  1, 
1874. 

THE  HOBTICULTURAX.  SOCIETY. 
Hall,  east  side  of  Broad  street  north  of  Spruce  street,  ad- 
joining the  Academy  of  Music.  This  is  the  oldest  society 
devoted  to  horticulture  in  the  United  States.  Semi-annual 
exhibitions  are  held  of  plants,  flowers,  fruits  and  vegetables, 
as  well  as  of  horticultural  implements.  Liberal  premiums 
are  awarded  to  successful  competitors.  The  society  po^esses 
a  large  and  well -selected  library  of  works  on  horticulture  and 
kindred  subjects.  The  hall  is  extensive  and  covers  a  large 
space  of  ground,  being  75  feet  front  by  200  feet  deep.  The 
front  is  of  sandstone,  handsomely  ornamented  with  brown- 
stone  trimmings.  The  main  apartment  is  one  of  the  largest 
in  the  city,  devoted  to  meetings,  etc.  Besides  the  purposes  of 
the  society,  this  hall  is  frequently  used  for  lectures,  balls, 
concerts,  etc. 

The  Pennsylvania  Horticultural  Society  was  formed  in  the  year 
1829  by  gentlemen  interested  in  botanical  and  horticultural  pursuits. 
The  objects  of  the  society  are  ''  promoting  and  encouraging  horti- 
culture by  improving  the  growth  of  vegetables,  plants,  trees,  fruits 
and  flowers,  and  of  introducing  into  our  country  new  varieties  and 
species."  The  society  was  incorporated  in  1831.  It  gave  exhibitions 
for  many  years  in  the  old  museum  building  and  other  places,  and 
once  or  twice  upon  one  of  the  public  squares.  The  present  building 
was  commenced  in  1866  and  opened  for  use  29th  of  May,  1867. 

Philadelphia  Society  for  Promoting  Agriculture  occupies  a 
portion  of  the  building  on  the  south-west  corner  of  Ninth 
and  Walnut  streets.  This  is  the  oldest  agricultural  society 
in  the  United  States,  and  was  instituted  1857.  It  holds 
monthly  meetings,  has  a  cabinet  and  library,  has  in  former 
years  awarded  many  premiums  for  improvements  in  agricul- 
ture, and  has  published  several  volumes  of  memoirs  of  its 
transactions. 


CHAPTER     XIII. 
PAINTING,  SCULPTURE,  MUSIC. 

THE   PENNSYLVANIA  ACADEMY   OF   THE   FINE   ARTS. 

rilHE  new  academy  building  is  situated  at  the  south-west 
-*-  corner  of  Broad  and  Cherry  streets,  entirely  covering  the 
lot  of  two  hundred  and  sixty  feet  in  length  on  Cherry  street, 
and  one  hundred  feet  front  on  Broad  street.     It  is  thoroughly 


THE  ACADEMY   OF   FINE  AKTS. 

fireproof,  and  the  dwellings  of  the  janitor,  curator  and  porter 
are  so  disposed  as  to  properly  guard  it. 

The  structure,  of  Byzantine  or  Venetian  style  of  architecture, 
is  of  mingled  brick  and  stone.  Over  the  portal  on  Broad  street 
stands  a  mutilated  colossal  statue  in  marble  of  the  goddess  Ceres 
like  a  presiding  genius  of  antique  art ;  for  is  not  all  art  since 

191 


192  acadp:my  of  the  fine  arts. 

Michael  Angelo  founded  on  the  grand  principles  evolved  by 
him  out  of  the  ancient  buried  masterpieces  just  then  discov- 
ered and  reinstalled  to  gladden  the  sight  and  mould  the  taste 
of  after  generations  ?  This  noble  fragment  was  dug  up  at 
Megara,  in  Greece,  and  was  brought  thence  by  Commodore 
Patterson  and  presented  by  him  to  the  academy.  The  column 
beneath  it,  dividing  the  entrance  into  two,  is  of  polished 
Aberdeen  granite,  as  are  also  those  that  decorate  the  windows 
and  door,  and  the  smaller  ones  of  the  central  balcony  and 
under  the  cornice.  In  panels  between  these  latter,  and  also  in 
the  arches  of  the  upper  cornice,  are  inlaid  encaustic  tiles,  rich 
in  color  and  gold.  The  carved  spandrels  of  the  arch  over  the 
mullioned  window  also  have  inlaid  borders  of  colored  tiles, 
through  which  flow  veins  of  gold  in  gracefully  waving  lines. 
On  either  side  of  the  western  window  are  great  slabs  of  stone, 
to  be  wrought  hereafter  into  figures  typical  of  painting  and 
sculpture.  On  nine  other  slabs  of  smaller  size  are  to  be 
sculptured  medallion  portraits  of  prominent  representative 
men  distinguished  in  the  arts. 

The  lower  story,  devoted  principally  to  educational  uses, 
furnishes  accommodation  for  the  board  of  directors'  room,  a 
library  and  print-room  fifty -four  feet  in  length  by  twenty-four, 
a  lecture-room  sixty  feet  by  forty,  a  life-class  room  nearly 
forty  feet  square,  with  adjoining  studio  for  painting  drapeiy 
and  still-life,  a  modelling-room,  and  five  galleries  of  casts 
from  the  antique  averaging  more  than  thirty  feet-  in  width 
each,  so  that  students  may  obtain  sufficient  distance  when 
drawing  from  the  figures.  Ample  room  is  provided  for  put- 
ting away  unfinished  work  of  the  student  safe  from  accidental 
injury,  as  well  as  every  other  convenience  and  comfort  that 
could  be  devised. 

The  schools  are  conducted  on  the  liberal  plan  of  offering 
all  their  advantages  gratuitously,  merely  obliging  the  appli- 
cant to  show  a  drawing  indicating  suflicient  capacity.  Lec- 
tures on  artistic  anatomy  form  an  essential  feature,  and  per- 
spective and  a  general  knowledge  of  architectural  styles  are 
imparted,  the  whole  being  directed  by  competent  professors. 


ACADEMY   OF  THE   FINE   ARTS.  193 

The  second  story  is  reached  from  a  noble  hall  forty  feet 
square  by  a  grand  flight  of  stairs  fifteen  feet  in  breadth,  each 
step  a  single  block  of  stone.  Above  the  landing  there  are 
three  diverging  flights,  one,  of  the  original  width,  continuing 
the  stairway  in  the  same  direction  to  the  sculpture  gallery, 
while  two  narrower  ones  form  returning  wings  to  right  and 
left.  This  portion  of  the  structure  is  the  only  part  in  which 
much  architectural  display  could  be  attempted.  It  is  en- 
riched by  no  less  than  thirty-one  polished  columns  of  rose- 
crystal  marble  with  polished  black  marble  bases  and  richly- 
sculptured  capitals.  Eighteen  of  them  support  the  pointed 
arches  which  enclose  three  sides  of  the  hall  on  the  second 
story ;  seven  support  the  stair-landing  before  referred  to,  and 
from  four  of  massive  proportions,  the  most  beautiful  in  color 
and  quality,  springs  the  ponderous  archway  that  spans  the 
main  stairway.  On  the  remaining  two  rest  the  abutments  of 
the  arch  over  the  flight  of  entrance  to  the  sculpture  gallery. 

The  galleries  of  the  upper  story,  all  of  them  lighted  from 
the  ceiling,  are  divided  into  three  ranges  running  east  and 
west,  the  middle  one  being  appropriated  to  marble  sculpture 
and  original  models  owned  by  the  academy.  Midway  of  this 
gallery  extends  north  and  south  a  transept  of  more  than  thirty 
feet  in  breadth,  and  at  the  intersection,  enlarged  into  a  grand 
central  hall,  is  placed  the  heroic  group  by  Lough  of  the  "  Bat- 
tle of  the  Centaurs  and  Lapithse."  Around  it,  and  in  the 
south  transept,  are  assembled  the  more  important  marbles 
belonging  to  the  academy — the  "Jerusalem"  by  Story, 
"Penelope"  by  Rinaldini,  "Deborah"  by  Lombardi,  "Hero 
and  Leander"  by  Steinhauser,  "The  Prodigal  Son"  by 
Mosier,  Powers'  bust  of  "Proserpine,"  Palmer's  "Spring," 
and  other  fine  specimens  of  the  statuary  art. 

The  range  of  galleries  on  the  north  side  of  the  building  is 
for  the  accommodation  of  the  annual  or  other  transient  ex- 
hibitions, while  the  range  on  the  south  side,  consisting  of  six 
galleries,  three  on  either  side  the  sculpture  transept,  contains 
the  permanent  collection.  In  each  of  these  latter  galleries  is 
an  important  painting  by  a  deceased  American  artist  of  dis- 
17  N 


194  ACADEMY   OF   THE  FINE   ARTS, 

tinction,  from  wliicli  it  receives  its  designation.  Thus,  "  Death 
on  the  Pale  Horse  "  and  "  Paul  and  Silas  "  give  name  to  the 
Benjamin  West  gallery;  the  "Eaising  of  the  Dead  Man" 
names  the  Allston  gallery;  "The  Murder  of  Clifford"  the 
Leslie  gallery ;  the  whole  length  "  Portrait  of  Washington  " 
the  Stuart  gallery ;  "  Cooke  as  Eichard  III."  the  Sully  gallery ; 
"  Pat  Lyon  "  the  Neagle  gallery.  Thus  the  oldest  American 
art  academy  enshrines  the  memory  of  pioneers  of  the  profes- 
sion, all  of  whom  may  be  regarded  as  Philadelphian  except 
Allston,  who  is  national. 

Among  other  noteworthy  pictures  in  this  collection  may  be 
mentioned  "The  Belief  of  Leyden"  by  Wittkamp,  "Mac- 
chiavelli  and  Csesar  Borgia"  by  Farruffini,  "Parisina"  by 
Gastaldi.  Numbers  of  other  pictures  of  nearly  equal  import- 
ance would  extend  this  brief  notice  beyond  our  limit,  if  the 
attempt  were  made  to  particularize  further.  Suffice  it  to  say 
that  the  institution  and  its  contents  are  a  credit  not  merely  to 
the  city,  but  to  the  continent. 

The  large  gallery  in  the  north-western  angle  of  the  building 
is  divided  by  columns  into  three  compartments,  the  w^estern 
division  of  which  is  styled  the  Gilpin  gallery,  after  the  Hon. 
Henry  D.  Gilpin,  a  former  president  of  the  academy,  and  lib- 
eral donor  to  it.  The  six  marble  statues,  reproductions  of 
antiques,  and  the  copies  in  oil  after  Andrea  del  Sarto,  Claude 
Lorraine,  Salvator  Rosa  and  others,  which  adorn  it,  were  col- 
lected by  him  in  Italy,  and  now  occupy  the  place  he  designed 
for  them.  The  remaining  two  divisions  of  this  gallery  will 
receive  an  important  collection  of  fine  paintings  which  has 
been  secured,  and  which  will  add  greatly  to  its  art-wealth. 

This  institution  was  organized  in  1805,  at  a  meeting  in  Independ- 
ence Hall,  by  seventy-one  gentleraen,  a  majority  of  whom  were  mem- 
bers of  the  bar.  Early  in  the  succeeding  yenr  an  aet  of  incorporation 
was  obtained,  and  later  in  the  same  year  a  building  on  Chestnut 
street  above  Tenth  was  completed  and  occupied,  thus  forming  the 
oldest  academy  of  the  fine  arts  in  the  United  States..  The  first  struc- 
ture, after  many  additions  had  been  made  to  it,  was  partially  de- 
stroyed by  fire  in  1845,  when  quite  a  number  of  valuable  works  of 
art  perished,  among  them  a  fine  original  picture  by  Murillo  of  the 


ACADEMY   OF    THE    FINE    ARTS.  195 

^' Roman  Daughter,"  which  had  been  presented  by  Joseph  Bona- 
parte, ex-king  of  Spain,  and  the  entire  gallery  of  fine  casts  from  the 
antique,  a  donation  from  the  first  Napoleon,  besides  many  other 
works,  original  models,  etc.,  in  the  same  room. 

In  1846  a  new  building  was  erected  on  a  much  larger  scale  than 
the  first,  and  was  made  in  great  measure  fireproof.  But  the  grow- 
ing wants  of  the  institution  very  soon  demanded  more  space,  and 
finally,  in  the  year  1870,  the  property  was  sold,  and  a  theatre  now 
occupies  the  site. 

There  are  also  many  private  collections  in  the  city  that 
would  richly  repay  a  visit.  Among  them  may  be  named 
that  of  Mr.  Henry  C.  Gibson,  1612  Walnut  street,  probably 
the  finest  in  the  country,  and  particularly  rich  in  specimens 
of  modern  French  and  Spanish  art — viz.,  fine  works  of  For- 
tuny,  Cabanel,  Schenck,  Breton,  Detaille,  Schreyer,  Troyon, 
GerSme,  Meissonnier,  Rosa  Bonheur,  Rousseau,  Corst,  Millet, 
Diaz,  Munkacsy,  Villegas,  Aug.  Bonheur,  Van  Marke,  etc.,  etc. 

Mr.  James  L.  Claghorn,  222  West  Logan  square,  has  a  fine 
gallery  adjoining  his  reception-room,  and  here  are  excellent 
examples  of  Knauss,  Vibert,  Rosa  Bonheur,  Schreyer  and 
other  great  artists,  as  well  as  "The  Spirit  of  the  Waterfall," 
undoubtedly  the  finest  poem  on  canvas  of  the  late  lamented 
T.  Buchanan  Read,  some  of  the  best  of  the  works  of  Rother- 
mel.  Church,  Bierstadt,  Kensett  and  other  prominent  Ameri- 
cans. Mr.  Claghorn  has  also  a  superb  collection  of  engrav- 
ings, possibly  the  finest  private  one  in  America. 

Mr.  Wm.  B.  Bement,  1812  Spring  Garden  street,  has  a  noble 
collection,  a  few  representative  names  of  which  are  Tissot, 
Peralti,  Schreyer,  Zamacois,  Madrazzo  and  others. 

Mr.  Adolph  E.  Borie,  1025  Spruce  street,  has  a  collection 
almost  entirely  of  the  works  of  French  artists,  with  notable 
examples  of  Fortuny,  Zamacois,  Merle,  Hamon,  Troyon, 
Rousseau,  Noel,  Dupr6,  several  wonderful  in  color  by  Isa'bey, 
and  others  equally  important. 

Mr.  Fairman  Rogers,  202  West  Rittenhouse  square,  has  some 
charming  works  of  Meyer  von  Bremen,  Carl  HofF,  Isabey, 
Madrazza,  Herzog,  and  the  fine  and  well-known  "  Mayflower  " 
by  Boughton,  and  other  noble  works. 


196  ACADEMY    OF   THE    FINE   ARTS. 

Mr.  J.  W.  Bates,  1814  Chestnut  street,  has  a  number  of  fine 
English  pictures,  Jutsum,  Erskine  Nicol  and  other  masters 
being  well  represented,  also  a  collection  of  Belgian  and  Ger- 
man works,  important  and  valuable. 

Mr.  Geo.  Whitney,  247  North  Eighteenth  street,  has  a  gal- 
lery and  water-color  room  adjoining,  filled  with  specimens  of 
modern  art,  wellnigh  perfect,  and  among  which  selections  of 
American  artists  are  well  mingled.  Here  are  the  very  finest 
efi'orts  of  Church,  Giff"ord,  Kensett,  Brown,  Guy,  E.  L.  Henry, 
W.  T.  Richards,  Eastman  Johnson,  Lambdin,  Boughton,  and 
from  abroad  pictures  by  Detaille,  Vibert,  Meyer  von  Bremen, 
Salentin,  Breton,  Goubie,  Delers,  Very,  Jazet,  Bougereau, 
Jacques,  Parcutti,  Landelle  and  others.  Two  or  three  of  the 
sculptures  of  Palmer,  of  Albany,  find  worthy  place  in  this 
collection. 

The  gallery  of  the  late  Jos.  Harrison,  Jr.,  221  South  Eigh- 
teenth street,  contains  many  fine  paintings  by  Wittkamp,  of 
Antwerp,  and  Rothermel's  most  remarkable  picture,  "  King 
Lear,"  some  fine  statuary,  and  many  works  of  interest. 

Mrs.  Wilstach,  at  Eighteenth  and  Walnut  streets,  has  many 
most  remarkable  modern  French  and  Belgian  pictures,  a  col- 
lection quite  unknown  to  the  public,  but  soon,  it  is  hoped,  to 
be  more  accessible. 

Mr.  S.  B.  Fales,  707  Vine  street,  has  a  large  number  of 
excellent  English,  French  and  Belgian  works,  some  exqui- 
site water-color  drawings,  valuable  engravings,  illustrated 
works,  etc.,  etc.  His  collection  includes  one  or  more  of  the 
finest  specimens  of  Hasenclever,  one  or  more  by  Hasenpflug, 
Diaz,  Verboeckhoven,  Von  Schendel,  Jutsum,  Richardson  and 
others.  There  are  still  many  other  private  collections  in  Phil- 
adelphia, not  all  as  extensive  as  those  remarked  above,  but 
which  contain  many  hidden  gems. 

The  collection  of  Hon.  Henry  C.  Carey,  1102  Walnut  street, 
is  one  which  has  not  been  added  to  within  the  past  twenty 
years,  and  consists  of  well-selected  and  now  most  rare  speci- 
mens of  Sully,  Leslie,  Leutze,  Huntingdon  and  others— the 
famous  original  "  Mercy's  Dream"  being  a  prominent  picture. 


LITERARY    AND    ART   ASSOCIATIONS.  197 

Mr.  J.  Gillingham  Fell,  1406  Walnut  street,  has  a  remark- 
able Merle,  "The  Maniac,"  also  "The  Beggar  Boys,"  by 
Dore,  and  some  of  the  finest  efforts  of  Aschenbach,  Herzog 
and  others.  Access  to  these  collections  is  in  many  cases 
made  easy  by  cards,  to  be  found  at  the  principal  art  gal- 
leries, while  in  others  the  simple  presentation  of  the  visitor's 
card  is  sufficient  to  procure  an  entrance. 

LITERARY   AND    ART   ASSOCIATIONS. 

Philadelphia  Sketch-Club  has  its  rooms  at  524  Walnut 
street.  It  has  a  gallery,  and  is  resorted  to  weekly  by  artists 
and  amateurs.     The  club  was  founded  in  1861. 

The  School  of  Design  for  Women,  south-west  corner  of 
Merrick  and  Filbert  streets,  occupies  a  building  extending 
through  to  Fifteenth  street.  This  institution  is  designed  for 
the  instruction  of  women  in  drawing,  sculpture  and  painting. 
It  is  maintained  by  the  contributions  of  members  of  the  so- 
ciety. The  course  of  instruction  is  practical  and  particu- 
larly relates  to  the  decorative  arts.  The  teaching  is  espe- 
cially directed  to  making  the  talent  of  the  pupils  available 
in  the  industrial  arts,  so  that  their  avocations  may  be  pleasing 
and  profitable.  This  institution  originated  under  the  patron- 
age and  assistance  of  the  Franklin  Institute.  It  was  estab- 
lished in  1850,  and  for  some  time  had  its  rooms  at  70  Walnut 
street.  When  the  means  of  the  society  permitted,  the  present 
building  was  purchased  and  fitted  for  the  purpose  of  a  school. 
It  has  been  occupied  for  some  years  with  much  advantage. 
Access  by  Market  street  passenger  railway. 

Faipmount  Park  Art  Association,  office,  708  Walnut  street. 
This  society  is  devoted  to  the  embellishing  of  Fairmount 
Park  with  objects  of  art.  The  members  make  an  annual 
payment  of  five  dollars  each.  They  numbered  at  the  end  of 
1875  about  1300,  and  ensured  an  annual  income  of  $6500. 
The  association  has  placed  in  the  Park  since  its  organization, 
February  2,  1872,  "  Night,"  bronze  statue  by  Shoch ;  "  Hud- 
son Bay  AVolves,"  bronze,  by  Kemys ;  "  II  Penseroso,"  marble, 


198  LITERARY    AND   ART   ASSOCIATIONS. 

by  Mozier;  and  is  ready  to  set  up  the  "Dying  Lioness,"  by 
Wolff  of  Berlin,  consisting  of  four  figures,  life  size. 

Musical  Fund  Society,  hall.  Locust  street  above  Eighth, 
south  side.  This  building  was  for  many  years  the  fashion- 
able one  for  concerts,  lectures  and  balls.  The  grand  saloon 
is  considered  the  most  perfect  hall  for  hearing  and  for  the 
delivery  of  music  in  the  United  States.  The  building  is  of 
brick,  with  rough-cast  front  in  plain  style.  The  concert-room, 
on  the  second  floor,  is  60  by  110  feet.  The  building  was  orig- 
inally constructed  for  a  church,  to  be  occupied  by  the  Eev. 
Mr.  Birch  ;  but  the  congregation  failing,  the  unfinished  build- 
ing was  bought  by  the  Musical  Fund  Society  in  1824,  and 
opened  for  concerts  in  that  year.  In  this  building  the  most 
eminent  artists  have  performed.  Among  them  may  be  men- 
tioned Malibran,  Sontag,  Jenny  Lind,  Alboni,  Grisi,  Braham, 
Mario,  De  Begnis  and  others,  and  among  instrumental 
performers,  Ole  Bull,  Sivori,  Goldschmidt,  Vieuxtemps  and 
others. 

The  Musical  Fund  Society  was  formed  1820  for  the  "relief  of 
distressed  musicians  and  their  families,  and  the  cultivation  of  profi- 
ciency in  the  musical  art."  The  association  was  chartered  1823. 
The  concerts  at  one  time  embraced  the  finest  professional  and  am- 
ateur musicians.  Frequently  there  were  120  performers  in  the  or- 
chestra. 

Hande!  and  Haydn  Hall,  north-east  corner  of  Eighth  and 
Spring  Garden,  a  large  building,  four  stories  high,  devoted 
to  concerts  by  the  Handel  and  Haydn  Musical  Society,  etc. 
This  association  was  formed  for  the  study  and  practice  of 
sacred  music,  and  has  been  in  existence  for  many  years.  Con- 
certs of  sacred  music  are  given  at  certain  periods. 


CHAPTEE    XIV. 
LIBRARY  COMPANIES  AND  ASSOCIATIONS. 

PHILADELPHIA  LIBRARY. 

THIS  venerable  institution  is  located  on  the  north-east 
corner  of  Fifth  and  Library  streets,  between  Chestnut 
and  Walnut.  The  building  is  of  brick,  with  marble  trim- 
mings. The  corner-stone  was  laid  31st  of  August,  1789,  the 
design  being  the  plan  of  Dr.  William  Thornton,  a  mem- 
ber, and  finished  October,  1790.  The  statue  of  Benjamin 
Franklin,  placed  in  a  niche  in  the  front,  was  presented  by 
William  Bingham,  first  United  States  Senator  from  Pennsyl- 
vania. It  was  executed  by  Francisco  Lazzarini  of  Carrara, 
in  Italy. 

The  Loganian  Library  is  united  with  the  Philadelphia 
Library,  and  principally  kept  in  an  apartment  east  of  the 
main  building,  but  connected  with  it.  This  library  comprises 
a  collection  of  books  bequeathed  by  James  Logan,  the  first 
secretary  to  William  Penn,  and  at  one  time  chief-justice  of  the 
Province  of  Pennsylvania.  By  his  will  Logan  ordered  that 
his  library,  which  was  very  rich  in  classic  authors  and  con- 
tained many  rare  and  curious  books  in  the  ancient  languages, 
should  be  maintained  for  ever  for  the  use  of  the  citizens  of 
Philadelphia,  members  of  his  own  family  being  hereditary 
librarians.  The  Loganian  Library  was  placed  in  a  building 
erected  for  the  purpose  at  the  north-west  corner  of  Sixth 
and  Walnut  streets,  where  it  remained  for  nearly  forty  years. 
By  negotiation,  in  1791,  it  was  agreed  that  the  Loganian  be 
transferred  to  the  care  of  the  Philadelphia  Library  Company, 
to  be  held  upon  the  original  trusts.  Valuable  estates  for  the 
support  and  increase  of  the  Loganian  Library  went  with  the 

199 


200 


PHILADELPHIA    LIBRARY. 


transfer  also.  The  present  librarian  of  the  Philadelphia 
Library  is  hereditary  librarian  under  the  Logan  will.  The 
Loganian  Library  is  always  open  for  consultation  by  any 
respectable  person  who  may  apply,  and  conveniences  for 
reading  and  writing  are  in  the  library.  Books  of  the  Phila- 
delphia Library  are  liberally  opened  to  the  same  privilege. 
There  are  many  literary  relics  and  bibliographical  curiosities 


PHir.ADEIiPHIA    LIBRARY. 

that  will  well  repay  a  visit.  The  library  comprises  about 
100,000  volumes.  Visitors  are  admitted  from  9  A.  M.  to  5  P.  M. 
daily,  excepting  Sundays. 

,  The  Philadelphia  Libraiy  Company  was  instituted  by  a  small 
number  of  persons,  including  Benjamin  Franklin,  Thomas  Hopkin- 
son,   Thomas  Cadwalader,  Eobert  Grace  and  others,  July  1,  1731. 


The  New  Ri 


AY  Library. 


PHILADELPHIA   LIBRARY,    ETC.  201 

It  became  of  some  importance  when  the  first  importation  of  books 
from  London,  valued  at  £45,815,  arrived,  in  1732.  It  gradually 
attracted  subscribers  and  met  with  favor,  as  it  was  started  on  the 
then  unusual  plan  of  a  lending  library,  the  members  being  allowed 
to  take  the  books  to  their  homes.  It  received  many  donations  of 
books  and  moneys.  It  absorbed,  before  the  Revolution,  three  library 
companies  instituted  for  similar  objects.  The  library  was  first 
opened  in  1732  in  a  room  in  Jones  or  Pewter  Platter  alley,  between 
Front  and  Second  streets.  In  1773  it  was  removed  to  Carpenters' 
Hall.     In  1790  went  to  the  present  building. 

THE   RIDGWAY    LIBRARY. 

This  building  is  located  upon  a  lot  which  extends  from 
Broad  to  Thirteenth  and  from  Carpenter  to  Christian  streets. 
The  exterior  walls  are  of  granite,  with  a  frontage  of  220  feet 
and  a  depth  of  105  feet,  and  three  porticoes,  one  in  the  centre 
and  one  at  each  end.  The  main  hall  will  be  devoted  to  the 
library,  and  the  wings  for  reading-rooms. 

Dr.  James  Rush,  a  son  of  Dr.  Benjamin  Rush,  who  died  May  26, 
1869,  by  his  will  left  a  large  amount  of  money,  estimated  at  a  mil- 
lion and  a  half  of  dollars,  to  his  executor  in  trust  that  he  would  erect 
a  building  suitable  for  the  use  of  a  library  of  large  proportions,  and 
devoted  money  to  its  support.  By  the  will  Dr.  Rush  directed  that 
this  bequest  should  be  appropriated  to  the  use  of  the  Philadelphia 
Library  Company,  if  the  shareholders  would  accept  the  gift  subject 
to  the  restrictions  named  in  the  will.  In  that  case  the  institution 
was  to  be  named  the  Ridgway  Branch  of  the  Philadelphia  Library. 
In  case  the  bequest  should  be  refused.  Dr.  Rush  ordered  that  the  in- 
stitution should  be  opened  as  a  free  library,  under  the  name  of  the 
Ridgway  Library.  Ihe  Philadelphia  Library  Company  is  not  com- 
pelled to  decide  upon  the  subject  until  the  building  is  finished.  At 
the  present  time  the  question  is  unsettled,  and  great  opposition  has 
been  expressed  by  many  of  the  stockholders  against  acceptance  of 
the  gift,  on  account  of  the  location  of  the  library  building,  and  also 
by  dislike  of  the  restrictions  in  Dr.  Rush's  will.  The  name  Ridg- 
way was  adopted  by  Dr.  Rush  from  the  maiden  name  of  his  wife, 
a  daughter  of  Jacob  Ridgway,  a  rich  merchant  of  Philadelphia, 
through  whom  the  wealth  devised  for  this  purpose  was  derived. 

MERCANTILE  LIBRARY. 
The  Mercantile  Library  is  located  on  the  west  side  of  Tenth 
street  between  Chestnut  and  Market.     The  building  has  been 


202 


MERCANTILE    LIBRARY. 


specially  prepared  for  the  purpose,  and  both  in  location  and 
arrangement  is  very  convenient  for  its  thousands  of  readers. 
The  number  of  volumes  in  the  library  is  now  about  128,000. 
There  are  also  over  500  periodical  publications,  including 


>»»£i«!»iv;j^^— "%'•«* 


MERCANTILE    LIBRA  KY. 


both  foreign  and  American.  There  are  very  pleasant  rooms 
attached  for  conversation,  correspondence,  chess,  reading,  etc., 
etc.  The  present  membership  is  estimated  at  over  12,000. 
Rooms  open  every  day  from  9  A.  m.  to  10  P.  M.  Visitors  from 
abroad  are  invited  to  visit  the  rooms. 

This  association  was  formed  in  the  year  1820  for  the  benefit  of 
young  men  employed  in  the  various  mercantile  establishments  in 
the  city.  The  collection  was  first  opened  for  use  in  the  second 
story  of  No.  100  Chestnut  street  on  the  19th  of  January,  1821.  The 
society  was  incorporated  in  1822.  It  was  afterward  removed  to  the 
American  Sunday-school  Union  building,  Chestnut  sti'eet  above 
Sixth,  opposite  the  theatre.  In  1844  the  company  bought  a  lot  on 
the  south-east  corner  of  Fifth  and  Library  streets,  whereon  was 
erected  a  fine  building,  with  marble  basement  story,  and  brick 
covered  with  mastic  for  the  second  story.     A  poi-tico  of  six  columns 


MERCANTILE   LIBKARY,    ETC.  203 

fronts  on  Fifth  street.  The  present  building,  which  was  originally 
erected  by  the  Franklin  Market  Company,  was  purchased  in  1868, 
fitted  up  for  the  library  and  opened  July  15,  1869.  The  size  of  the 
building  is  80  feet  front  by  300  deep, 

ATHEN^UM  LIBRARY  AND  READING-ROOM. 
This  library  is  located  on  the  south-east  corner  of  Sixth 
and  Adelphi  streets,  below  Walnut.  The  building  is  of 
brownstone,  in  the  Palladian  style  of  architecture,  present- 
ing a  chaste  and  beautiful  appearance.  It  is  50  feet  front  on 
Sixth  street  and  125  on  Adelphi,  and  58  feet  high,  and  in 
character  and  appearance  is  considered  one  of  the  finest 
buildings  in  the  city.  The  first  floor  is  occupied  by  the 
offices  of  the  controllers  of  the  public  schools. 

This  institution  originated  in  the  year  1813  by  the  efforts  of  a 
few  young  men  of  literary  taste  who  felt  the  want  of  a  place  of  com- 
mon resort  during  their  leisure-hours.  They  agreed  to  have  a  read- 
ing-room and  library.  The  association  was  organized  February  9, 
1814,  and  had  its  room  over  Carey's  book-store.  Fourth  and  Chestnut 
streets.  A  few  years  afterward  the  institution  rented  the  first  story 
of  Philosophical  Hall,  Fifth  street  below  Chestnut,  which  it  occu- 
pied for  some  years.  The  corner-stone  of  the  present  building  was 
laid  November  1,  1845,  and  the  building  opened  October  18,  1847. 

APPRENTICES'  LIBRARY. 
The  Apprentices'  Library,  south-west  corner  of  Fifth  and 
Arch  streets,  is  the  only  free  library  in  the  city.  It  was  estab- 
lished in  the  year  1820  "for  the  use  of  apprentices  and  other 
young  persons,  without  charge  of  any  kind  for  the  use  of 
books."  The  boys'  library  contains  over  15,000  volumes  and 
the  girls'  library  8600  volumes,  all  of  which  have  been  selected 
with  care  and  discretion.  Since  its  commencement  48,000 
boys  and  20,000  girls  have  enjoyed  the  advantages  of  this 
institution.  A  reading-room  has  recently  been  established 
for  men,  and  the  large  attendance  every  evening  proves  its 
great  value  to  the  city.  This  building  is  open  daily  for  the 
reception  of  visitors,  who  will  be  cordially  welcomed. 

This  excellent  institution  was  instituted  in  1820  and  incorporated 
on  the  2d  of  April,  1821.     It  is  supported  by  the  contributions  of 


204     apprentices'  and  friends'  libraries. 


apprentices'  library. 
members.  The  library  was  originally  opened  in  Carpenters'  Hall. 
Afterward  it  was  removed  to  a  room  on  the  north  side  of  Carpenter 
(now  Jayne)  street,  east  of  Seventh,  and  at  a  later  period  to  the  old 
Mint  building,  Seventh  street  below  Arch.  About  twenty-five  years 
ago  the  company  leased  the  Free  Quaker  meeting-house.  Fifth  and 
Arch  streets,  which  has  been  occupied  ever  since. 

FRIENDS'   LIBRARY. 

This  collection  of  books  is  located  at  304  Arch  street,  and 
comprises  over  7000  volumes,  largely  relating  to  Quakers, 
their  progress  and  history.  Visitors  are  admitted  on  the 
introduction  of  members. 

This  library  belongs  to  the  "  Four  Monthly  Meetings  of  Friends." 
It  commenced  in  a  bequest  of  books  by  Thomas  Chalkley  in  1741, 
which  were  increased  by  a  bequest  of  John  Peniberton  in  1794,  and 
by  other  gifts.  Many  of  the  books  are  rare— very  rare.  Some  vol- 
umes are  believed  to  be  the  only  copies  extant. 


friends'  library,  etc.  205 

Friends'  Library,  Eace  street  west  of  Fifteenth.  This  col- 
lection is  also  largely  devoted  to  publications  connected  with 
Quaker  history.  It  was  established  in  the  year  1834  in  the 
meeting-house,  Cherry  street  below  Fifth,  and  was  removed 
when  the  congregation  went  farther  west.  The  number  of 
volumes  is  about  7000. 

Law  Association  Library,  south-east  corner  of  Sixth  and 
Walnut  streets,  was  founded  in  1802  by  members  of  the  bar 
for  the  purpose  of  obtaining  a  complete  collection  of  law- 
books available  for  consultation  and  within  reach  of  the 
courts  for  ready  reference.  There  are  several  thousand  vol- 
umes, and  the  collection  is  considered  very  complete.  This 
library  was  for  many  years  kept  in  the  court-house  building. 

Southwaric  Library  Company,  Second  street  below  German, 
is  a  stock  company  founded  January  18,  1822,  and  has  about 
10,000  volumes. 

Mechanics'  Institute,  Southwark,  Fifth  street  below  Wash- 
ington avenue.  Incorporated  1852.  Occupies  its  own  build- 
ing, has  a  reading-room,  and  a  library  of  about  4000  volumes. 
Lectures  on  literary  and  scientific  subjects  are  delivered 
during  the  winter  season. 

City  Institute,  hall  north-east  corner  of  Eighteenth  and 
Chestnut  streets,  has  a  library  of  about  3000  volumes.  The 
building  is  of  brick,  44  feet  by  120,  and  was  dedicated  March, 
1855.  There  is  a  reading-room,  lectures  being  given  in  the 
hall.  The  institution  is  sustained  by  the  members  for  the 
benefit  of  young  persons  of  both  sexes. 

Spring  Garden  Institute,  north-east  corner  of  Broad  and 
Spring  Garden  streets,  occupies  a  large  rough-cast  building, 
which  was  finished  in  1853.  This  institution  is  also  main- 
tained for  the  benefit  of  the  young,  owns  a  library  of  5000 
volumes,  contains  a  reading-room,  has  lectures,  etc. 

Moyamensing  Institute  Library,  corner  of  Eleventh  and 
Catharine  streets.  Founded  July  1,  1852,  as  a  branch  of  the 
Philadelphia  Institute,  but  is  now  independent  of  it.  The 
corner-stone  of  the  present  building  was  laid  November  18, 
1852.  The  number  of  volumes  is  about  4000. 
IS 


206         KENSINGTON    INSTITUTE   LIBRARY,    ETC. 

Kensington  Institute  Library,  corner  of  Girard  avenue  and 
Day  street.  Incorporated  1853.  The  society  maintains  read- 
ing-rooms, a  library,  etc. 

Historical  Society  of  Pennsylvania,  820  Spruce  street,  was 
founded  December  2,  1824,  and  incorporated  June  2,  1826. 
The  library  contains  17,000  volumes.  There  are  a  great  num- 
ber of  relics  and  curiosities.  The  building  is  68  feet  wide  and 
42  feet  deep. 

This  association  kept  its  collection  for  many  years  in  the  rooms  of 
the  American  Philosophical  Society,  Fifth  street  below  Chestnut, 
afterward  at  115  South  Sixth  street,  and  subsequently  in  the  upper 
stories  of  the  Athenteum  building,  on  South  Sixth  street.  The  new 
hall  was  dedicated  March  11,  1872. 

Library  of  Numismatic  and  Antiquarian  Society,  south-west 
corner  of  Eighteenth  and  Chestnut  streets.  This  association 
owns  some  valuable  books  treating  upon  subjects  for  which 
the  association  was  formed,  and  has  a  collection  of  coins  and 
curiosities.     It  was  incorporated  1858. 

Library  of  Friends'  Historical  Association,  organized  in 
1875,  kept  in  the  Pennsylvania  Historical  Society's  hall. 

Library  of  Baptist  Historical  Society,  530  Arch  street. 

Library  of  Methodist  Historical  Society,  1018  Arch  street. 

Library  of  Presbyterian  Historical  Society,  1334  Chestnut 
street. 

OTHER  LIBRARIES. 
There  are  associations  of  importance  treated  of  in  other 
parts  of  this  work,  the  main  objects  of  which  are  not  con- 
nected with  collecting  books,  but  which  maintain  libraries. 
Among  them  may  be  mentioned  the  German  Society  library, 
24  South  Seventh  street,  which  is  a  very  considerable  collec- 
tion— probably  10,000  volumes.  The  scientific  institutions, 
colleges  and  many  other  associations  maintain  libraries.  In 
1870,  according  to  the  United  States  census  returns,  there 
were  nearly  3700  libraries  in  Philadelphia,  public  and  pri- 
vate, belonging  to  corporations  and  individuals,  embracing 
the  collections  of  citizens,  etc.  They  comprise  2,985,770  vol- 
umes. 


CHAPTER   XV. 

HOSPITALS. 

Pennsylvania  Hospital  occupies  the  square  bounded  by 
Eighth  and  Ninth,  Spruce  and  Pine  streets.  The  entrance  is 
upon  Eighth  street.  The  main  building  fronts  on  the  south, 
stands  a  considerable  distance  from  the  street,  is  open  to  view 
upon  Pine  street  through  a  palisade  fence,  and  is  surrounded 
with  trees  and  flowers.  In  the  garden  is  a  statue  of  William 
Penn  of  lead  bronzed,  which  was  presented  to  the  institution 
by  John  Penn,  grandson  of  the  founder.  The  main  building 
is  connected  with  the  wings  by  long  wards.  It  is  surmounted 
by  a  dome  and  balustrade  72  feet  in  height.  The  wings  are 
ornamented  by  small  cupolas.  The  main  building  is  64  feet 
front,  the  wards  80  feet  front,  and  the  wings  27  feet  each. 
The  entire  front  is  278  feet  in  width.  The  end  wings  extend 
110  feet.  There  is  in  addition  a  hall  lately  erected  for 
surgical  clinics,  and  several  other  buildings  on  the  premises. 
There  is  a  valuable  anatomical  museum,  containing,  among 
other  things,  models  of  all  parts  of  the  human  l>ody  in  wax, 
which  were  once  the  property  of  Doctor  Abraham  Chovet,  a 
noted  physician  of  the  last  century. 

The  hospital  has  been  from  its  foundation  a  blessing  to  the 
sick  and  miserable.  Thousands  of  patients  have  been  treated 
within  its  walls,  many  of  whom  have  been  permanently  cured 
or  greatly  relieved.  The  gates  of  the  hospital  are  always 
open  for  the  reception  of  persons  in  any  way  injured  by 
accidents  of  recent  occurrence  and  needing  surgical  assistance. 
Nearly  one  hundred  thousand  patients  have  been  admitted  to 
this  hospital  since  its  establishment,  and  over  fifty  thousand 
of  these  have  been  poor  patients  supported  by  the  institution. 

207 


HOSPITALS.  209 

This  is  the  oldest  hospital  in  the  city,  and  the  first  one  established 
in  any  of  the  American  colonies.  The  foundation  of  this  worthy 
institution  was  proposed  about  the  year  1750  by  Doctor  Thomas  Bond, 
who  had  experienced  the  want  of  such  an  establishment  in  the  course 
of  his  practice.  It  was  not  difiicult  to  enlist  the  attention  of  the 
benevolent  in  such  a  plan.  The  assembly  of  the  province  granted 
a  charter  of  incorporation  to  the  contributors  and  made  an  appro- 
priation of  £2000.  More  than  that  amount  was  realized  from  private 
subscriptions ;  and  in  February,  1752,  the  hospital  went  into  opera- 
tion in  a  house  in  Market  street,  between  Fifth  and  Sixth.  Two  years 
afterward  the  lot  of  ground  on  which  the  hospital  is  now  built  was 
purchased,  and  the  foundation-stone  laid  on  the  28th  of  May,  1755, 
bearing  upon  it  an  appropriate  inscription  written  by  Doctor  Ben- 
jamin Franklin.  The  eastern  wing  was  finished  as  soon  as  possible, 
and  the  institution  went  into  operation.  The  western  wing  was  not 
commenced  until  after  the  Revolution,  and  the  centre  building  was 
finished  about  the  year  1805. 

Pennsylvania  Hospital  for  the  Insane  (male  department), 
between  West  Chester  and  Haverford  roads,  west  of  Forty- 
third  street.  The  first  provision  for  the  care  and  treatment 
of  the  insane  in  America  was  made  in  the  Pennsylvania 
Hospital  as  early  as  1751,  and  a  portion  of  the  buildings  was 
always  kept  for  that  purpose.  But  the  number  very  much 
increasing  and  interfering  with  the  sick,  efforts  were  made  for 
the  establishment  of  a  separate  hospital  for  the  cure  and  treat- 
ment of  persons  deprived  of  their  reason.  Contributions  to  a 
very  large  amount  of  money  were  received.  A  lot  of  ground, 
farm  property,  containing  one  hundred  and  eleven  acres,  was 
purchased.  The  corner-stone  of  the  building  was  laid  22d 
of  June,  1836,  and  the  hospital  opened  for  the  reception  of 
patients  January  1,  1841.  The  principal  building  and  wings 
present  a  front  of  436  feet,  three  stories  in  height.  The  centre 
building  is  96  feet  deep  and  63  feet  wide.  It  is  built  of  cut 
stone,  and  ornamented  with  a  Doric  portico.  The  wings  run 
north  and  south  from  the  centre  building.  There  are  lodges 
and  other  buildings  for  the  purpose  of  separating  the  patients, 
according  to  the  nature  of  their  disease.  There  is  a  workshop, 
a  library,  a  museum  and  a  reading-room.  The  enclosure  is 
beautifully  laid  out  as  a  pleasure-ground.  The  building 
18*  0 


210  HOSPITALS. 

will  accommodate  two  hundred  and  fifty  patients,  and  when 
originally  constructed  was  intended  for  the  use  of  male  and 
female  patients.  But  the  numbers  increasing,  another  build- 
ing was  erected. 

Pennsylvania  Hospital  for  the  Insane  (female  department). 
It  is  situate  west  of  the  former  and  fronts  on  Forty-ninth 
street,  and  has  accommodations  for  two  hundred  and  fifty 
patients.  The  buildings  were  commenced  July,  1856,  and 
finished  and  opened  for  use  in  1859.  In  size  and  general 
appearance  this  building  resembles  the  older  one,  but  their 
architectural  difference  the  practiced  eye  will  easily  observe. 
Access  to  both  branches  of  the  Insane  Hospital  by  cars  of 
the  Market  street  line,  Haddington  branch. 

Philadelphia  Hospital  is  conducted  as  a  branch  of  the 
Blockley  Almshouse,  and  is,  as  we  have  said,  the  oldest  hospital 
in  the  country.  The  insane  department  connected  with  this 
hospital  is  crowded  beyond  its  capacity,  and  contains  on  the 
average  more  than  one  thousand  patients. 

Wills  Hospital  for  diseases  of  the  eye,  south  side  of  Eace 
street,  between  Eighteenth  and  Nineteenth.  Building  of  New- 
Jersey  freestone,  80  feet  long,  50  feet  deep,  with  pavilion 
wards  90  feet  long.  This  institution  is  devoted  to  the  treat- 
ment of  eye  diseases  not  only  among  the  patients  who  remain 
within  its  walls,  but  by  clinical  assistance  to  all  who  may 
choose  to  repair  to  it.  There  is  a  large  and  skilful  corps  of 
surgeons,  who  operate  daily  free  of  charge. 

This  institution  owes  its  foundation  to  the  benevolence  of  James 
Wills,  a  grocer,  who  died  in  1825,  and  by  his  last  will  bequeathed  to 
the  city  of  Philadelphia  a  sum  of  money  which  at  the  completion 
of  the  building  had  accumulated  to  $122,548.  Several  other  legacies 
have  been  added  to  the  fund,  which  is  under  control  of  the  Board 
of  Public  Trusts.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  April  2,  1832,  and  the 
hospital  opened  March  3,  1834.  The  pavilions  were  dedicated  Octo- 
ber 11,  1875. 

Friends'  Asylum,  for  the  treatment  of  persons  deprived  of 
their  reason,  Adams  street,  west  of  Frankford  village.  The 
institution  was  founded  1811  by  members  of  the  Society  of 


HOSPITALS.  211 

Friends,  and  a  constitution  adopted  June,  1813.  It  occupies  a 
large  tract  of  ground  handsomely  laid  out  and  well  cultivated. 
The  buildings  are  308  feet  front,  three  stories  high.  There  is 
a  central  building  and  wings,  which  are  plain  but  well  suited 
to  the  object  intended.  They  were  finished  and  occupied  on 
the  15th  of  June,  1817.  There  are  accommodations  for  about 
seventy-five  patients,  also  a  reading-room  and  a  library.  This 
institution  was  one  of  the  first  for  the  separate  treatment  of 
the  insane  established  in  the  United  States. 

Preston  Retreat,  Hamilton  street,  from  Twentieth  to  Twenty- 
first  street,  A  very  handsome  marble  building,  with  portico 
in  firont,  wings  and  central  dome.  The  building  is  back  from 
the  street  on  an  eminence,  and  presents  a  very  fine  appearance. 
It  is  a  lying-in  hospital,  charitably  devoted  to  the  use  of 
"indigent  married  women  of  good  moral  character,  residents 
of  the  city  and  county  of  Philadelphia  and  the  county  of 
Delaware." 

Doctor  Jonas  Preston  of  Philadelphia,  who  died  in  1836,  was  a 
member  of  the  Society  of  Friends.  By  his  will  he  bequeathed 
$250,000  for  the  support  of  this  charitable  institution.  Unfortunately, 
in  the  succeeding  year  the  suspension  of  specie  payments  by  the 
banks,  and  the  failure  of  the  Schuylkill  Navigation  Company,  in 
which  Doctor  Preston  was  largely  interested,  crippled  the  estate  to 
such  a  degree  that  there  were  not  sufficient  funds  to  justify  the 
opening  of  the  building.  It  remained  for  eighteen  years  after  it 
was  finished  unused  for  the  purposes  of  its  foundation ;  but  for  a 
long  time  it  was  leased  to  the  Foster  Home,  a  charitable  institution. 
By  judicious  means  the  managers  increased  the  fund  that  remained 
until  it  became  available,  and  on  the  1st  of  May,  1866,  the  building 
was  opened  for  the  purposes  which  were  intended  by  the  founder. 

Municipal  Hospital,  Hart  lane  near  Twenty-first  street. 
Main  building  and  wings  of  brownstone,  with  a  fi-ont  of 
280  feet,  two  stories  in  height,  with  Mansard  roof.  This  in- 
stitution belongs  to  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  and  is  specially 
intended  for  the  use  of  persons  "  laboring  under  infectious 
diseases."  Cases  of  small-pox,  yellow  fever,  typhus  fever 
and  cholera  are  here  treated.  There  is  a  resident  physician, 
appointed  by  the  Board  of  Health.     Poor  patients  are  re- 


212  HOSPITALS. 

ceived  without  charge.     Those  able  to  pay  are  expected  to 

do  so. 

This  institution  succeeds  the  City  Hospital,  which  was  erected  by 
the  corporation  of  the  city  of  Philadelphia  under  authority  of  an 
act  of  assembly  passed  January  17, 1818.  It  occupied  a  lot  of  groun<l 
on  the  south  side  of  Fairmount  avenue,  extending  from  Schuylkill 
Third  to  Fourth,  now  Twentieth  and  Nineteenth  streets.  The 
building  was  of  brick,  with  wings,  and  well  calculated  for  the  pur- 
pose intended.  The  ground  becoming  too  valuable  and  the  institu- 
tion objectionable  to  the  neighborhood,  the  present  hospital  was 
built,  and  opened  for  use  on  the  27th  of  April,  1865. 

St.  Joseph's  Hospital,  south  side  of  Girard  avenue  from 
Sixteenth  to  Seventeenth  street,  occupies  a  large  four-story 
brick  building,  consisting  of  a  centre  building  and  one  wing. 
This  institution  was  founded  in  1849,  and  is  under  the  care 
of  the  Sisters  of  Charity  of  the  Eoman  Catholic  Church. 
The  management  is  not  sectarian ;  the  patients  are  received 
and  treated  without  reference  to  religious  belief.  The  capa- 
city is  about  250  beds.  Patients  are  received  in  charity. 
There  are  also  private  rooms  and  accommodations  which  can 
be  engaged  for  pay. 

Access  by  Girard  avenue  (Fourth  and  Eighth  streets)  and 
Sixteenth  and  Seventeenth  streets  passenger  railway  cars. 

Charity  Hospital,  1832  Hamilton  street.     Chartered  1858. 

.Is   supported   by  private   subscriptions.     Daily   clinics   are 

given,  with  advice  and  medicines,  to  the  worthy  poor.     The 

capacity  of  this  institution  is  not  great,  but  it  assists  from 

4000  to  5000  patients  yearly. 

Access  by  Spring  Garden  and  by  Nineteenth  street  cars. 
Hospital  of  Protestant  Episcopal  Church,  south-east  corner 
of  Lehigh  avenue  and  Front  street,  occupying  a  square  of 
ground.  This  splendid  establishment  is  in  the  Norman  style 
of  architecture,  and  is  built  of  brownstone.  It  has  a  central 
building  and  three  wings.  The  chapel  adjoins  the  central 
building,  and  occupies  the  whole  of  that  wing  or  pavilion. 
The  depth  of  the  centre  building,  with  the  chapel,  is  256  feet; 
the  depth  of  the  wings  is  200  feet;  the  whole  front,  including 
the  centre  building,  wings   and  corridors,  is   258  feet.     The 


214  HOSPITALS. 

buildings  are  two  and  three  stories  in  height.  There  are 
towers  on  the  angles  of  each  of  the  two  wings,  and  the  gen- 
eral style  is  imposing  and  handsome.  The  hospital,  although 
under  management  of  the  Episcopal  Church,  is  not  sectarian. 
Its  doors  are  open  to  patients  of  all  creeds,  nationalities  and 
colors.  Its  capacity  is  300  beds.  The  building  is  situate  in 
a  part  of  the  city  which  is  largely  deyoted  to  manufactures,  in 
which  severe  accidents  are  very  frequent,  and  its  services  are 
important  to  the  sick  and  suffering. 

Access  by  Powell  street  and  Lehigh  avenue  branch  of  Fifth 
and  Sixth  streets  passenger  railway. 

This  hospital  originated  in  a  raeeting  of  clergy  and  laity  held  in 
St.  Andrew's  chnrch,  nnder  the  auspices  of  Dr.  Alonzo  Potter,  March 
15,  1851.  It  was  resolved  to  establish  a  hospital,  and  contributions 
were  asked  for.  The  daughters  of  Mrs.  Elizabeth  Leamy,  in  1852, 
presented  to  the  hospital  corporation  the  lot  of  ground,  containing 
five  acres  and  a  half,  upon  which  the  present  buildings  were  erected. 
The  old  mansion  upon  the  ground  was  immediately  put  in  use  for 
the  purposes  of  the  institution,  and  the  hospital  was  opened  there 
December  11,  1852.  In  the  next  year  an  addition  was  made  to  the 
property  by  the  purchase  of  ground  adjoining  that  presented  to  the 
institution.  The  corner-stone  of  the  present  building  was  laid  May 
24,  1860.  The  chapel  was  consecrated  May  28, 1862.  The  hospital 
was  first  used  on  the  31st  of  July  of  the  same  year,  the  patients  be- 
ing 200  wounded  soldiers  from  the  army.  The  building  was  fully 
completed  according  to  the  original  plan,  and  occupied  1874. 

German  Hospital,  south-west  corner  of  Girard  and  Corinth- 
ian avenues,  is  open  for  the  reception  of  the  sick  and  mis- 
erable, without  distinction  of  nationality,  religious  creed  or 
color.  The  German  language  is  spoken  in  the  institution, 
and  the  English  also.  Physicians  and  nurses  are  able  to 
speak  both.  Building  of  brick,  121  feet  in  length  by  70  and 
100  in  width. 

Access  by  Girard  avenue  passenger  railway  cars  (Fourth 
and  Eighth  streets). 

This  institution  was  founded  principally  by  the  efforts  of  citizens 
of  German  birth  and  descent,  in  the  year  1860.  Contributions  were 
sought,  and  in  1862  a  sufficient  amount  was  on  hand  to  justify  the 
purchase  of  a  lot.    A  piece  of  ground  with  an  old  mansion  upon  it 


HOSPITALS.  215 

was  obtained  at  Twentieth  and  Norris  streets,  and  preparations  were 
made  to  open  a  hospital.  Before  they  were  completed  the  United 
States  government  leased  the  premises  and  converted  them  into  a 
hospital,  which  was  occupied  by  soldiers  during  the  war.  Afterward 
the  managers  of  the  German  Hospital  resumed  possession  of  the 
property,  and  occupied  it  for  hospital  purposes.  It  was  opened  1866. 
In  1873  the  mansion  and  lot  of  ground  where  the  present  building 
is  were  bought.  A  large  wing  was  constructed;  the  corner-stone 
was  laid  June  3,  1874,  and  the  addition  dedicated  October  13, 1875. 

St.  Mary's  Hospital,  corner  of  Frankford  road  and  Palmer 
street,  occupies  a  large  four-story  brick  building.  It  is  under 
care  of  the  Franciscan  Sisters  of  the  Roman  Catholic  Church, 
and  is  entirely  supported  by  voluntary  contributions.  It  was 
founded  in  1866.  Contains  85  beds.  Eeceives  both  medical 
and  surgical  cases.     A  dispensary  and  clinic  are  attached. 

Access  by  the  Second  and  Third  streets  (Frankford  branch) 
cars. 

Jewish  Hospital,  Olney  road  near  York  pike,  founded  1866, 
admits  all  sufferers  from  bodily  disease,  regardless  of  religious 
belief,  but  as  far  as  regards  Jewish  patients  in  such  manner 
as  will  conform  with  the  regulations  of  their  religion. 

This  institution  occupied  for  many  years  buildings  at  Westmin- 
ster avenue  and  Haverford  road.  The  lot  of  ground  now  occu- 
pied was  purchased  in  1872,  and  the  corner-stone  of  a  hospital 
building  laid  October  9  of  that  year.  It  went  into  use  about  the 
beginning  of  1874. 

Orthopeedic  Hospital  and  Infirmary  for  Nervous  Diseases, 
north-east  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Summer  streets.  Estab- 
lished for  the  relief  of  persons  suffering  from  deformities, 
palsies,  convulsions,  neuralgia  and  disorders  of  the  organs  of 
locomotion.  It  maintains  a  medical  staff",  and  has  been  very 
successfiil. 

Access  by  Seventeenth  street,  Eace  and  Vine  streets  cars. 

This  institution  was  organized  October,  1867,  and  was  at  the  time 
the  only  one  of  the  kind  in  America.  Gratuitous  treatment  is  given 
to  the  poor,  with  such  surgical  and  mechanical  appliances  as  science 
and  modern  ingenuity  have  originated.  There  is  a  daily  clinical 
service.     The  cases  treated  yearly  number  about  600.     The  hospital 


216  HOSPITALS. 

was  originally  established  on  South  Ninth  street.    The  new  building 
was  purchased  in  1872. 

Presbyterian  Hospital,  corner  of  Thirty-ninth  and  Filbert 
streets.  This  institution  is  open  to  all  classes  of  people,  with- 
out distinction  of  race,  color  or  religion.  There  are  accom- 
modations for  about  100  patients. 

Access  by  Eace  and  Vine  streets  cars  to  Thirty-ninth  street 
and  Lancaster  avenue. 

This  institution  owes  its  foundation  to  the  appointment  of  a  Com- 
mittee on  Hospitals  by  the  Presbyterian  Alliance  in  1870.  At  that 
time  Professor  Courtland  Saunders  oflfered  to  the  institution,  if  it 
should  be  formed,  an  entire  square  of  ground  upon  which  were  his 
mansion  and  the  Courtland  Saunders  Institute.  The  gift  was  not 
absolute,  but  the  terms  were  so  easy  and  liberal  that  a  valuable 
property,  worth  at  least  $50,000,  came  into  the  possession  of  the 
managers  of  the  hospital  for  a  slight  expenditure  of  money.  Soon 
after  obtaining  the  charter  John  A.  Brown  of  Philadelphia  made  a 
gift  of  $300,000  to  the  hospital,  the  interest  to  be  applied  to  its  sup- 
port. The  institution  occupies  the  buildings  which  were  upon  the 
ground  at  the  time  of  donation.  They  were  formally  opened  July 
1,  1872.  A  temporary  pavilion  ward  was  finished  in  1875.  A  com- 
plete and  well-appointed  hospital  is  to  be  built  hereafter. 

Germantown  Hospital,  Shoemaker  lane  near  Chew  street, 
Germantown,  was  opened  in  1870,  and  is  supported  by  resi- 
dents of  the  neighborhood.  Access  by  Germantown  passenger 
railway  cars. 

Children's  Hospital,  Twenty-second  street  below  Walnut, 
occupies  a  brick  building  specially  erected  for  its  purpose. 
Children  under  the  age  of  twelve  years  are  received.  There 
are  accommodations  for  about  fifty  in-door  patients.  The 
institution  is  supported  by  voluntary  contributions.  The 
Children's  Sea-shore  Hospital  at  Atlantic  City  may  be  con- 
sidered as  a  branch  of  this  institution,  and  was  built  for  the 
purpose  of  receiving  the  little  sufferers  during  the  hot  seasons 
of  the  year.  Access  by  cars  of  Walnut,  Spruce  and  Pine 
streets  (Fairmount  branch),  going  south. 

Homoeopathic  Hospital,  Cuthbert  street,  west  of  Eleventh, 
is  under  the  control  of  the  Hahnemann  Medical  College. 
Access  by  Eleventh,  Twelfth,  Arch  and  Market  streets  cars. 


HOSPITALS. 


217 


Hospital  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  south  side  of 
Spruce  street,  between  Thirty-fourth  and  Thirty-sixth,  occu- 
pies a  lot  of  ground  700  feet  on  Spruce  and  Pine  streets,  and 
320  feet  on  Thirty-fourth  and  Thirty-sixth  streets.  It  is 
directly  south  of  the  collegiate  building  of  the  university. 
The  style  of  architecture  is  in  harmony  with  that  of  the 
other  university  buildings  in  the  neighborhood,  and  is  of  the 
modern  collegiate  Gothic.  The  exterior  walls  are  of  green 
serpentine,  with  stone  of  other  colors.     The  entire  building, 


HOSPITAL    OF    THE     UNIVERSITY    OF    PENNSYLVANIA. 

according  to  the  original  design,  consists  of  a  central  building 
three  stories  high,  with  Mansard  roof  and  two  pavilions,  each 
198  feet  deep.  The  front  will  be  250  feet  6  inches  in  width. 
The  central  building  and  the  western  building  are  already 
erected.  The  wards  are  in  the  wings,  with  space  between  the 
buildings  for  ample  ventilation  and  light.  The  hospital  is 
entirely  free  to  all  patients  needing  its  services  who  are  resi- 
dents of  Pennsylvania.  There  is  a  large  medical  and  surgical 
staff,  and  the  best  advice  is  given.  Access  by  Chestnut  and 
Walnut  streets  (Darby  or  Mount  Moriah  branch)  cars. 

This  institution  was  formed  at  a  meeting  of  the  University  of 
Pennsylvania  on  the  12th  of  June,  1871.    On  the  3d  of  April,  1872, 
the  legislature  appropriated  $100,000  for  the  purpose  of  constructing 
19 


218  HOSPITALS   AND   DISPENSARIES. 

the  hospital,  on  condition  that  $250,000  should  be  raised  by  subscrip- 
tion, and  that  two  hundred  free  beds  should  be  for  ever  maintained. 
The  prescribed  amount  was  raised;  and  on  April  9,  1873,  $100,000 
more  was  appropriated,  on  condition  that  the  university  would  give 
$100,000  and  support  two  hundred  more  free  beds.  This  amount 
was  also  raised ;  and  with  $200,000  from  the  State  and  $300,000  from 
subscriptions,  measures  were  taken  to  commence  the  building.  In 
May,  1872,  City  Councils  granted  a  lot  of  ground  for  the  site  of  the 
hospital  buildings.  Work  was  soon  afterward  commenced ;  and  on 
the  4th  of  June,  1874,  the  main  building  and  west  pavilion,  capable 
of  accommodating  one  hundred  and  forty-six  patients,  were  com- 
pleted and  formally  dedicated. 

Woman's  Hospital,  corner  of  North  College  avenue  and 
Twenty-second  street.  This  institution  is  for  the  reception 
of  women  and  children  only,  and  is  under  the  management 
of  women  for  surgical  and  medical  purposes.  It  was  estab- 
lished in  1861,  in  connection  with  the  Woman's  Medical 
College,  and  for  the  purpose  of  affording  clinical  facilities  to 
students  of  the  latter  institution.  It  occupied  until  1874  a 
portion  of  the  college  building,  but  since  the  erection  of  the 
new  building  for  the  latter  the  premises  formerly  occupied 
by  the  college  have  been  assigned  to  the  hospital.  Access  by 
Eidge  avenue  cars. 

Lying-in    Department  of   the    Northern    Dispensary,   608 

Fairmount  avenue. 

State  Hospital  for  Women  and  Infants,  1718  Filbert  street. 

Mission  Hospital,  for  the  relief  of  women  and  children, 
corner  of  Eighth  and  St.  Mary  streets.     Opened  January  14, 

1876. 

DISPENSARIES. 

These  institutions  supply  an  important  department  of 
charity.  They  are  intended  to  supply  drugs  and  medicines 
to  the  poor  without  cost.  But  they  do  much  more.  Clinical 
operations  are  conducted  under  their  auspices,  and  physicians 
enrolled  in  their  service  give  gratuitous  medical  attendance 
to  the  poor  at  their  homes. 

Philadelphia  Dispensary,  established  1786,  occupies  a  neat 
and  commodious  building  in  Fifth  street,  between  Library 
and  Walnut  streets,  which  was  erected  in  1801. 


DISPENSARIES.  219 

Eye  and  Ear  Institute  of  the  Philadelphia  Dispensary,  south- 
east corner  of  Thirteenth  and  Chestnut  streets. 

Northern  Dispensary,  608  Fairmount  avenue. 

North-eastern  Dispensary,  established  1872,  south-west 
corner  of  Tulip  and  Fox  streets. 

North-eastern  (Homceopathic),  1520  North  Fourth  street. 

Southern,  established  1817,  318  Bainbridge  street. 

Howard  Hospital,  1518  and  1520  Lombard  street;  gives  dis- 
pensary relief  only. 

Germantown  Dispensary,  connected  with  Germantown  Hos- 
pital. 

Infirmary  for  Diseases  of  the  Ear,  419  Wetherill  street,  above 
Broad  and  below  Pine  street. 

Moyamensing,  at  House  of  Industry,  Catherine  street  above 
Seventh. 

Dispensary  for  Skin-disease,  Eleventh  street  above  Locust. 

Church  Dispensary  of  Southwark,  1017  Morris  street. 

Philadelphia  Lying-in  and  Nurse  Charity,  126  North  Elev- 
enth street.    The  patients  are  attended  at  their  homes. 


CHAPTER    XVI. 

ASYLUMS  AND  HOMES. 

ASYLUMS   FOR  CHILDREN. 

Asylum  of  Philadelphia  Orphan  Society,  Haddington,  West 
Philadelphia.  A  fine  building,  erected  upon  an  elevation  and 
commanding  a  handsome  view. 

Access  by  Market  street  railway  (Haddington  branch). 

This  society  was  instituted  by  ladies,  in  the  year  1814,  "  to  provide 
for  the  education  and  support  of  poor  children  deprived  of  their 
parents."  A  lot  of  ground  was  presented  to  them  at  the  north-east 
corner  of  Cherry  and  Schuylkill  Fifth,  now  Eighteenth  street.  The 
asylum  building  was  finished  1817,  totally  destroyed  by  fire  Janu- 
ary 24, 1822,  by  which  disaster  twenty -three  of  the  children  perished. 
Another  building  was  erected  on  the  same  lot  shortly  afterward. 
This  was  sold  about  1872,  when  the  present  building  was  erected. 

St.  Joseph's  Female  Orphan  Asylum  (Eoman  Catholic), 
south-west  corner  of  Seventh  and  Spruce  streets.  Incorpo- 
rated 1807.  Occupies  a  large  building  of  brick,  and  is  under 
care  of  Sisters  of  Charity. 

Access  by  cars.  Spruce  street,  and  Union  going  south. 

St.  John's  Orphan  Asylum  (Eoman  Catholic),  Westminster 
avenue  near  Forty -ninth  street,  a  very  large  building  appro- 
priated to  the  use  of  male  orphans.  The  architecture  is  of 
the  Tudor-Gothic  style.  Front,  230  feet.  The  central  building 
has  wings,  turrets  and  cross,  and  accommodates  about  250 
orphans. 

Access  by  Eace  and  Vine  streets  passenger  railway  (Hes- 
tonville  branch)  cars. 

Colored  Orphans'  Shelter,  under  charge  of  Society  of 
Friends,  occupies  a  brick  building  corner  of  Forty-fourth 
and  Haverford  streets. 

ly^^  221 


222  ASYLUMS   FOR   CHILDREN. 

Catholic  Home  for  Destitute  Orphan  Girls,  1720  Eace  street, 
under  care  of  religious  women. 

Church  Home  for  Children,  Angora  station,  on  West  Ches- 
ter Eailroad,  occupies  a  fine  stone  building,  the  corner-stone 
of  which  was  laid  October  29,  1871.  The  building  was  dedi- 
cated May  15,  1873.  None  but  destitute  white  orphan  chil- 
dren are  admitted.  Boys  not  less  than  4  nor  more  than  8 
years  of  age;  girls  not  less  than  4  nor  more  than  9.  Boys  are 
retained  until  12,  girls  until  16.  The  institution  was  incor- 
porated 1857,  and  for  more  than  15  years  occupied  a  building 
at  Twenty-second  and  Pine  streets. 

Lincoln  Institute  for  Boys,  308  South  Eleventh  street;  brick 
building;  was  organized  in  1866  for  the  reception  of  soldiers' 
orphan  boys  between  the  ages  of  12  and  21  years.  The  plan 
has  been  so  far  modified  as  to  admit  children  placed  there  by 
their  parents  or  guardians. 

Educational  Home  for  Boys,  Greenway  avenue  near  Forty- 
ninth  street,  West  Philadelphia.  Stone  building.  The  ground, 
six  acres,  was  given  by  Mary  Gibson.  White  boys  of  all 
creeds,  from  3  to  12  years  of  age,  are  received.  This  estab- 
lishment is  used  to  a  certain  degree  in  connection  with  the 
Lincoln  Institute.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  June  3,  1872, 
and  the  building  was  finished  in  1873. 

Access  by  cars  of  Chestnut  and  Walnut  streets  passenger 
railway  (Darby  branch). 

Industrial  Home  for  Girls,  Twelfth  street  below  Spruce. 
Organized  1857.  Occupied  house  Twelfth  street  below  Pine 
for  eighteen  months ;  removed  in  1859  to  its  present  location. 
Northern  Home  for  Friendless  Children  occupies  a  lot  of 
ground  from  Twenty-second  to  Twenty-third  and  from  Brown 
to  Parrish  streets.  Adjoining  is  a  soldiers'  orphans'  home  for 
maintaining  the  soldiers'  orphans  in  charge  of  the  Common- 
wealth. There  is  a  very  large,  fine  brick  building  erected 
upon  the  lot  for  the  purposes  of  the  institution.  The  object 
of  the  society  is  the  care  of  destitute  and  neglected  children, 
ignorant  or  forsaken  little  boys  and  girls  under  12  years  of 
age.     It  is  not  necessary  that  they  should  be  orphans.     Chil- 


ASYLUMS   FOR  CHILDREN.  Z23 

dren  whose  parents  are  living  are  received,  if  the  latter  should 
be  vicious  or  too  poor  to  maintain  them.  The  society  was 
chartered  by  act  of  assembly,  January  26,  1854,  and  the  pres- 
ent building  opened  in  the  succeeding  year. 

Access  by  Union  passenger  railway  (Fairmount  branch). 

Burd  Orphan  Asylum  of  St.  Stephen's  church,  on  Market 
street  at  Delaware  county  line,  3^^  miles  west  of  Market 
street  bridge.  The  buildings,  of  graystone  in  the  plain  Eng- 
lish-Gothic style,  260  feet  front,  dressed  with  Leiperville  stone, 
are  situate  upon  a  tract  of  45  acres.  The  institution  is  for 
the  support  of  white  female  orphans  not  less  than  4  years  nor 
more  than  8  who  shall  have  been  baptized  in  the  Protestant 
Episcopal  Church  of  Philadelphia  or  Pennsylvania. 

This  institution  was  founded  by  Mrs.  Eliza  Howard  Burd, 
widow  of  Edward  Shippen  Burd,  who  in  1848  established  a  small 
orphans'  asylum  in  George  street  above  Ninth,  and  at  her  death  left 
two-tenths  of  her  late  husband's  estate  and  the  residue  of  her  property 
for  the  purpose  of  this  asylum.  The  present  building  was  com- 
menced in  1861  and  completed  for  the  reception  of  orphans  in  1863. 

Day  Nursery  for  Children,  410  Blight  street,  receives  and 
cares  for,  during  the  daytime,  young  children  of  poor,  indus- 
trious working-women  whose  employments  call  them  from 
their  homes. 

Home  for  Destitute  Colored  Children,  Maylandville,  Darby 
road  near  Forty -sixth  street,  occupies  buildings  sufficient  to 
accommodate  40  children.  It  was  incorporated  January  27, 
1854. 

Foster  Home  Association,  Poplar  street  near  Twenty-fourth. 
Chartered  January  14,  1839,  "to  extend  aid  to  respectable 
widowed  parents  who  from  adversity  are  obliged  to  part  with 
their  children  for  a  time,  but  desire  to  have  them  finally  re- 
stored."    There  are  accommodations  for  100  children. 

St.  Vincent's  Home  (Roman  Catholic)  occupies  large  brick 
buildings  north-west  corner  of  Eighteenth  and  Wood  streets. 
It  is  an  asylum  for  orphans  and  destitute  infants  and  children 
under  five  years.  The  home  will  accommodate  150  children, 
and  is  under  charge  of  Sisters  of  Charity. 


224  ASYLUMS    FOR   CHILDREN. 

St.  Vincent's  Orphans'  Asylum  (Roman  Catholic),  at  Tacony, 
for  the  care  of  Catholic  orphan  children. 

Union  School  and  Children's  Home,  south-east  corner  of 
Twelfth  and  Fitzwater  streets.  Incorporated  1851.  The  in- 
stitution was  established  in  1849  under  the  title  of  "Moya- 
mensing  Union  School  and  Orphans'  Asylum."  It  has  a 
capacity  to  feed,  clothe  and  educate  150  children. 

Union  Temporary  Home  for  Children,  north-west  corner 
of  Sixteenth  and  Poplar  streets.  Incorporated  1857.  It  can 
accommodate  75  children. 

Western  Provident  Society  and  Children's  Home,  Forty- 
first  and  Venango  streets,  provides  a  home,  with  food,  clothing 
and  schooling,  for  destitute  children,  with  or  without  charge. 
Incorporated  1858. 

Orphans'  Home  of  Evangelical  Lutheran  Church  and  Asy- 
lum for  Aged  and  Infirm,  5582  Germantown  avenue,  takes 
charge  of  destitute  orphan  children,  without  distinction  of 
creed  or  country. 

Jewish  Foster  Home,  1431  North  Fifteenth  street,  for  the 
care  of  children  of  Hebrew  parentage. 

HOMES  FOR  THE  AGED. 
Christ  Church  Hospital,  west  of  Belmont  road,  between  York 
and  Huntingdon  and  Forty-ninth  and  Fiftieth  streets.  Brown- 
stone  building  of  fine  architectural  design,  175  feet  front 
by  55  feet  deep.  This  institution  is  not  a  hospital  according 
to  the  modern  acceptation  of  the  meaning  of  that  word,  w^hich 
is  applied  almost  without  exception  to  an  establishment  for 
the  surgical  or  medical  relief  of  the  sick.  The  word  "  hos- 
pital" formerly  meant  "a  home  for  the  entertainment  of  the 
poor,  a  place  for  the  relieving  of  the  wants  of  strangers." 
Such  was  the  meaning  of  this  word  in  the  mind  of  Dr.  John 
Kearsley,  the  founder  of  the  institution,  who  in  his  will,  proved 
in  1772,  left  a  portion  of  his  estate  "for  the  support  of  ten  or 
more  poor  or  distressed  women  of  the  Church  of  England,  or 
such  as  the  said  corporation  or  their  successors  shall  deem 
such,  preferring  clergymen's  widows  before  others,  and  sup- 


HOMES  FOR  THE  AGED.  225 

plying  them  with  meat,  drink  and  lodging,  and  the  assistance 
of  persons  practicing  physic  and  surgery."  These  directions 
have  been  faithfully  obeyed;  and  the  inmates  of  the  hospital 
find  therein  all  the  comforts  of  a  home  during  their  declining 
days.  The  building  accommodates  100  inmates.  It  is  situate 
a  short  distance  from  Fairmount  Park,  and  commands  a 
beautiful  view.  It  is  under  the  management  of  Christ  church, 
Protestant  Episcopal. 

Access  to  the  building  may  be  had  by  cars  to  Belmont  and 
Elm  avenues,  about  a  mile  from  the  building.  A  shorter 
route  would  be  by  Eeading  Railroad  (Park  Accommodation) 
to  Belmont  Glen,  thence  walk  to  Belmont  mansion,  and  north- 
east to  Belmont  gate.     Distance  not  more  than  half  a  mile. 

Under  Dr.  Kearsley's  will  this  institution  was  first  opened,  shortly 
after  his  death,  in  a  two-story  house,  111  Arch  street,  which  accom- 
modated only  eight  persons.  This  was  pulled  down  in  1785,  and 
another  building,  three  stories  high,  erected  on  the  same  spot.  In 
1818  a  much  larger  edifice  was  erected,  on  the  south  side  of  Cherry 
street  west  of  Third,  which  was  opened  in  March  of  the  succeeding 
year.  The  corner-stone  of  the  present  hospital  was  laid  November 
18,  1856,  and  the  building  finished  and  opened  in  1857.  In  1804 
Joseph  Dobbins  of  South  Carolina  bequeathed  to  the  hospital  real 
and  personal  estate,  bank  stocks,  etc.,  amounting  to  a  large  sum  at 
that  time.  The  ground  afterward  became  immensely  valuable,  and 
furnished  the  means  for  the  construction  of  the  new  building  and 
the  support  of  the  inmates. 

Friends'  Almshouse,  upon  the  interior  portion  of  a  lot  front- 
ing on  the  south  side  of  Walnut  street,  between  Third  and 
Fourth.  The  entrance  is  by  a  gateway  immediately  east  of 
the  passage-way  leading  to  St.  Joseph's  Roman  Catholic 
church.  This  institution  was  originally  a  community  estab- 
lished by  the  Society  of  Friends  for  the  relief  of  its  own  poor. 
A  room  for  each  inmate  and  houses  for  others  were  built.  The 
main  building,  fronting  on  Walnut  street,  was  of  peculiar 
architecture.  In  time  it  was  found  that  the  number  of  poor 
persons  belonging  to  the  sect  was  so  few  that  the  greater 
portion  of  the  building  was  unoccupied.  The  front  of  the 
lot  was  therefore  sold,  and  the  almshouse  confined  to  the  two 

P 


226  HOMES   FOR  THE   AGED. 

or  three  houses  which  still  exist  as  relics  of  the  old  estab- 
lishment. 

The  ground  upon  which  this  almshouse  was  built  was  owned  by 
John  Martin,  who  was  a  poor  man  notwithstanding  his  landed  pos- 
sessions. In  1713  he  gave  the  lot  to  the  Society  of  Friends  upon  con- 
dition that  they  would  build  an  almshouse  upon  the  premises  and  take 
care  of  him  for  the  remainder  of  his  days.  Several  small  houses  were 
built  for  this  purpose  in  1713,  and  the  quaint  little  front  buildmg  m 
1729  The  ground  upon  the  front  was  sold  in  1841.  A  few  aged  m- 
mates  occupy  the  old  buildings,  but  of  late  years  the  Society  of 
Friends  has  preferred  to  pay  for  the  maintenance  ot  its  poor  m 
boarding-houses  and  families. 

Indigent  Widows'  and  Single  Women's  Asylum,  Cherry 
street  near  Eighteenth,  occupies  a  substantial  brick  building 
with  accommodations  for  60  inmates.  This  institution  is  un- 
der the  management  of  a  society  of  ladies  which  was  estab- 
lished in  1819.  Visitors  are  admitted  at  all  times,  and  there 
is  much  interest  in  the  institution  and  the  inmates.  The 
building  was  finished  about  1820.  A  certain  amount  of 
money  is  required  to  be  paid  on  behalf  of  the  applicants  upon 
admission,  after  which  they  are  maintained  without  further 
charge  until  their  death. 

Penn  Widows'  Asylum,  Wood  and  West  streets,  Kensington, 
occupies  brick  buildings  which  will  accommodate  50  or  60  in- 
mates. The  general  plan  of  administration  is  the  same  as 
that  of  the  Widows'  Asylum.  The  present  building  was  dedi- 
cated October,  1857. 

St.  Ann's  Widows'  Asylum,  Moyamensing  avenue  below 
Christian  street,  is  under  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  St.  Joseph. 
The  building  is  of  brick,  and  was  originally  constructed  for 
use  as  a  church.     The  inmates  number  about  40. 

Temporary  Home  Association,  505  North  Sixth  street,  estab- 
lished for  the  benefit  of  "respectable  women  out  of  employ- 
ment, where  those  with  means  can  be  accommodated  for  a 
moderate  price,  and  those  without  succored  until  situations 
can  be  procured  for  them.  Also  where  destitute  children  shall 
be  taken  care  of  until  suitable  homes  are  provided." 

St.  Luke's  Church  Home  for  Aged  Women,  1317  Pine  street 


HOMES  FOR  THE  AGED.  227 

under  charge  of  St.  Luke's  Protestant  Episcopal  churcli.  The 
needy  members  of  St.  Luke's  church  are  received  without 
charge;  to  others  board  at  $3  a  week  is  furnished.  The  insti- 
tution was  established  1853,  and  will  accommodate  about  50 
persons. 

Home  for  the  Homeless,  708  Lombard  street,  under  control 
of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  of  the  Crucifixion,  "to 
furnish  a  temporary  home  for  destitute  females  until  they  can 
be  provided  elsewhere,  and  to  furnish  dinners  to  invalids." 

Presbyterian  Home  for  Widows  and  Single  Women,  Fifty- 
eighth  street  and  Greenway  avenue,  has  accommodations  for 
about  150  persons.  The  building  is  of  stone,  and  large  and 
commodious.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  October  15,  1872, 
and  the  edifice  dedicated  October  29,  1874. 

Baptist  Home  for  Women,  corner  of  Seventeenth  and  Nor- 
ris  streets.  Fine  stone  building  of  striking  appearance.  It 
was  commenced  in  1873  and  dedicated  November  6,  1874. 

Access  by  Nineteenth  street  cars  (going  north)  or  Thir- 
teenth and  Fifteenth  streets  cars  (Broad  street  branch)  to 
Norris  street. 

Home  for  the  Aged  and  Infirm  Members  of  the  M.  E.  Church, 
Lehigh  avenue  between  Thirteenth  and  Broad  streets.  A 
solid,  plain  stone  building,  having  accommodations  for  100 
inmates.  It  is  devoted  as  a  shelter  to  men  and  women.  The 
building  was  dedicated  June  15,  1871. 

Asylum  for  the  Aged  and  Infirm  of  the  Evangelical  Lutheran 
Church,  5582  Germantown  avenue,  affords  a  home  for  the 
aged,  both  men  and  women,  of  that  persuasion.  A  portion 
of  the  building  is  devoted  to  the  care  of  orphans. 

Asylum  of  Little  Sisters  of  the  Poor  (Eoman  Catholic), 
Eighteenth  street  above  Jefferson,  receives  and  shelters  poor 
persons  without  regard  to  sex  or  creed.  The  buildings  are  of 
brick,  very  lofty  and  spacious.     There  is  a  chapel  attached. 

Old  Men's  Home,  Thirty-ninth  street  and  Powelton  avenue. 
The  building  is  of  stone,  handsomely  situated.  The  inmates 
are  about  fifty.  The  corner-stone  of  the  edifice  was  laid 
June,  1872,  and  the  building  dedicated  June  12,  1873. 


228  HOMES    FOR   THE   AGED,    ETC. 

Mapother  Home,  Harrowgate  lane,  west  of  Kensington 
avenue,  occupies  an  old  country-seat,  with  fine  grounds 
attached. 

Old  Ladies'  Home,  Clearfield  street  and  Frankford  road,  is 
intended  to  shelter  indigent  widows  and  single  women. 

Home  for  Aged  and  Infirm  Colored  Men  and  Women,  Bel- 
mont and  Girard  avenues.  Building  of  stone,  spacious  and 
comfortable.  The  institution  is  principally  under  charge  of 
the  Society  of  Friends.  There  are  accommodations  for  60 
persons. 

Boarding-house  for  Young  Women,  1433  Lombard  street, 
to  provide  a  comfortable  Christian  home  for  young  women 
of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church.  It  is  supported  by 
contribution. 

Boarding-house   of  Women's  Christian    Association,  1605 

Filbert  street. 

Bedford  Street  Mission,  619  Alaska  street,  furnishes  free 
lodgings  and  baths  to  the  poor  of  that  neighborhood. 

Boarding  Home,  915  Clinton  street,  is  intended  for  working- 
girls,  there  being  accommodations  for  thirty-one. 

ASYLUMS  FOR  THE  UNFORTUNATE. 

Pennsylvania  Asylum  for  the  Deaf  and  Dumb,  occupying  lot 
north-west  corner  of  Broad  and  Pine  streets,  extending  to 
Fifteenth  street.  Has  a  granite  building  on  Broad  street  with 
wings.  The  centre  building  is  50  feet  front,  has  a  portico 
supported  by  Ionic  pillars,  with  two  wings.  Whole  front  96 
feet,  and  depth  235  feet.  Extensive  new  structures  of  brick 
have  been  erected  on  Pine  and  Fifteenth  streets,  which  give 
great  capacity  to  the  institution.  The  buildings  include 
dining-rooms,  sitting-rooms,  parlors,  offices,  school-rooms, 
dormitories,  work-shops,  etc.  Visitors  are  admitted  on  week- 
days upon  application.  The  object  of  the  institution  is  the 
education  of  deaf  mutes.  The  system  of  instruction  is  that 
of  the  abbfe  de  L'Epee  and  of  Sicard,  together  with  many  im- 
provements which  have  been  introduced  by  modern  science, 
among  the  most  wonderful  of  which  is  the  instruction  of 


ASYLUMS    FOR   THE   UNFORTUNATE,    ETC.         229 

pupils  in  the  art  of  speaking  audibly  and  clearly  words  which 
they  cannot  hear. 

This  institution  was  founded  in  1820  by  the  benevolent  efforts  of 
D.  G.  Seixas,  an  Israelite.  He  set  up  a  school  in  Market  street,  west 
of  Broad,  which,  attracting  much  attention,  interested  others  in  the 
project,  and  led  to  the  formation  of  the  society.  It  was  incorporated 
in  1821.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  in  May,  1824,  and  the  building 
finished  and  occupied  in  1825.  Many  appropriations  have  been 
made  to  the  asylum  by  the  State  of  Pennsylvania. 

Pennsylvania  Institution  for  the  Blind,  north-west  corner  of ' 
Twentieth  and  Eace  streets,  occupies  a  spacious  range  of  four- 
story  buildings  of  brick,  rough-cast,  150  feet  front  by  60  feet 
deep.  The  blind  are  instructed  here  in  the  plain  branches  of 
an  English  education,  according  to  their  capacity,  and  also  in 
music.  They  are  very  proficient  performers.  Concerts  are 
given  at  the  institution  on  Wednesday  afternoons,  to  which 
there  is  a  small  price  of  admission,  and  which  are  usually 
crowded.  Workshops  are  provided,  in  which  various  indus- 
tries are  carried  on. 

This  charity  was  founded  in  the  year  1833,  principally  through  the 
exertions  of  Julius  E.  Freidlander,  who  took  great  interest  in  it, 
opening  a  school  before  the  association  was  formed.  The  latter  was 
founded  1833,  and  liberally  assisted  by  the  State.  The  greater  por- 
tion of  the  pupils  are  supported  by  the  State  of  Pennsylvania. 

Pennsylvania  Working  Home  for  Blind  Men,  3518  Lancaster 
avenue,  is  established  for  the  purpose  of  giving  shelter  and 
employment  to  the  blind,  who  produce  various  articles  for 
personal  use,  as  baskets,  brushes,  etc. 

Pennsylvania  Industrial  Home  for  Blind  Women,  2931  Lo- 
cust street,  is  similar  in  object  to  the  Blind  Men's  Home, 
except  that  the  inmates  produce  many  articles  which  usually 
are  only  made  by  women,  such  as  stockings,  mittens,  shawls 
and  knitted  and  sewed  work  generally. 

REFORMATORY  HOMES. 

Asylum  of  Magdalen  Society,  for  the  reformation  of  fallen 
women.      Large    four-story    brick    building,   with   spacious 
20 


230  REFORMATORY   HOMES. 

grounds,  north-east  corner  of  Twenty-first  and  Race  streets. 
This  institution  was  formed  in  the  year  1800  "to  aid  in 
restoring  to  the  paths  of  virtue  women  who  have  been  robbed 
of  their  innocence,  and  who  are  desirous  of  returning  to  a 
life  of  rectitude."  The  operations  of  this  institution  are 
quiet,  but  useful.  The  building  will  accommodate  about 
thirty  inmates. 

House  of  the  Good  Shepherd,  for  the  reformation  of  un- 
fortunate females,  without  respect  to  creed,  Twenty-second 
*street  above  Walnut,  is  under  charge  of  the  Sisters  of  the 
order  of  the  Good  Shepherd  of  the  Roman  Catholic  Church. 
It  will  accommmodate  one  hundred  and  fifty  inmates. 

Asylum  of  the  Rosine  Association,  Germantown  avenue 
below  Rising  Sun  lane,  "to  rescue  from  vice  and  degradation 
that  class  of  women  who  have  forfeited  their  claims  to  the 
respect  of  the  virtuous."     The  inmates  number  about  thirty. 

Howard  Institution,  1612  Poplar  street,  under  care  of  an 
association  of  women  Friends,  "  for  furnishing  shelter,  food 
and  clothing  to  poor  outcast  women."  Number  of  inmates, 
forty. 

Midnight  Mission,  911  Locust  street,  "for  the  reception  and 
care  of  females  found  on  the  streets  at  night,  so  as  to  aid  in 
their  reformation  and  their  restoration  to  home  and  friends." 

Franklin  Reformatory  (home  for  inebriates),  913  Locust 
street,  receives  patients  addicted  to  the  immoderate  use  of 
liquor,  and  seeks  to  withdraw  them  from  the  temptations  of 
vice.  "' 

House  of  Industry,  Catharine  street  above  Seventh,  fiirnishes 
employment,  education  and  the  means  of  reformation  to  the 
poor. 


CHAPTER    XVII. 

BELIEF  SOCIETIES. 

NATIONAL  SOCIETIES. 
German  Society.  Hall,  24  South  Seventh  street.  Brick 
building,  occupied  in  the  first  story  as  the  office  of  the  Gas 
Trust.  The  institution  uses  the  second  story,  in  which  there 
are  offices  for  its  accommodation.  The  association  was  insti- 
tuted in  the  year  1764,  "  to  supply  poor,  sick  and  distr^sed 
Germans,  brought  to  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  with  relief. 
The  same  object  is  still  attended  to.  Protection  and  assist- 
ance to  German  emigrants  and  their  families  are  offered  in  all 
worthy  cases.  The  society  has  a  library  of  10,000  volumes,  of 
which  the  members  have  the  use. 

About  1775  it  was  determined  to  erect  a  hall  for  the  use  of  the 
association,  the  lot  being  purchased  on  Seventh  street.  Materials  for 
the  building  were  obtained  and  stored  upon  the  ground;  but  the 
Eevolution  breaking  out,  operations  were  suspended,  and  the  mate- 
rials stored  on  the  ground  were  appropriated  by  the  military  authori- 
ties. In  1809  the  hall  was  finished.  It  was  a  plain  brick  building 
which  stood  back  from  the  street,  and  is  a  portion  of  the  present 
edifice. 

Hall  of  the  Society  of  Sons  of  St.  George,  south-west  cor- 
ner of  Thirteenth  and  Arch  streets,  occupies  a  handsome  and 
spacious  white  marble  building,  in  which  there  are  offices, 
meeting-rooms,  etc.  Over  the  pediment  on  Arch  street  is  to 
be  placed  a  fine  equestrian  group,  in  bronze,  representing  St. 
George  and  the  dragon.  This  piece  of  statuary  will  be  large 
and  very  attractive.  In  the  second  story  the  Society  Hall, 
spacious  and  lofty,  will  have  accommodations  for  seating  one 
thousand  persons.  The  first  story  will  be  fitted  up  for  the 
purposes  of  a  savings  bank,  and  also  for  an  insurance  office. 

231 


232  NATIONAL   SOCIETIES,    ETC. 

Capacious  kitchen  arrangements  have  been  provided,  so  that 
the  annual  banquet  on  St.  George's  day  may  be  prepared  and 
served  in  the  grand  hall.  The  association  now  numbers  over 
six  hundred  members,  and  has  hitherto  been  embarrassed  for 
room.  It  will  be  fully  able  under  the  new  arrangements  to 
accommodate  the  growing  membership,  and  offer  to  all  con- 
nected with  the  society  a  commodious  place,  not  only  for  busi- 
ness purposes,  but  for  social  reunions.  A  reading-room,  in 
which  the  leading  English  papers  and  magazines  are  to  be 
collected,  will  add  to  the  facilities  and  attractions  of  the  build- 
ing. The  grand  hall  will  also  be  available,  when  not  in  use 
for  the  purposes  of  the  society,  for  concerts,  lectures  and 
other  entertainments. 

The  Society  of  the  Sons  of  St.  George,  for  advice  and   assistance 
to  Englishmen   in  distress,  was  formed  on  the  23d  of  April,  1772. 
Among  the  founders  were  the  Rev,  Richard  Peters,  Robert  Morris, 
Dr.  John  Kearsley,  Drs.  Thomas  and  Phineas  Bond  and  others  of 
respectability  and  influence.    During  the  greater  part  of  the  Revo- 
lution the  society  did  not  meet.     It  was  called  together   after  the 
close  of  the  contest,  and  has  been  in  active  operation  ever  since.     It 
has  been  the  means  of  assistance  to  many  thousand  persons.    Up  to 
1875  the  society  had  no  permanent  place  of  meeting.  In  its  early  days 
it  met  at  taverns,  and  a  supper  was  the  usual  conclusion  of  the  busi- 
ness proceedings.     At  a  later  period  this  practice  was  given  up,  and  an 
annual  dinner  on  St.  George's  day  substituted.     For  some  years  the 
society  had  a  room  in  the  Merchants'  Exchange.   In  1875  it  was  deter- 
mined to  extend  its  means  of  usefulness.     The  Newkirk  property, 
south-west  corner  of  Thirteenth  and  Arch  streets,  was  purchased.    It 
was  a  handsome  marble  building,  constructed  for  and  occupied  as  a 
mansion-house  by  Matthew  Newkirk,  Sr.,  and  afterward  by  his  son. 
The  building  has  been  greatly  enlarged  and  altered  in  the  interior, 
and  St.  George's  Hall  is  the  finest  building  appropriated  to  the  use 
of  a  national  society. 

OTHER  NATIONAL  SOCIETIES. 
In  addition  to  the  above  there  are  other  societies  in  the 
city  for  the  assistance  of  foreigners,  which  do  not  occupy 
buildings  of  their  own,  but  have  apartments  and  offices  to 
which  persons  interested  may  repair.  They  are  the  St.  An- 
drew's society  for  the  assistance  of  Scotchmen,  founded  1749. 


■IIIM^^^^^^^^^^^^^ 


234  SOUP   SOCIETIES,    ETC. 

OflSce,  508  Walnut  street.  Societe  Francals  de  Bienfaisance 
(French  Benevolent  Society),  a  successor  of  a  society  founded 
in  1793.  The  present  association  was  incorporated  1805. 
OflSce,  231  Dock  street.  Welsh  Society.  Incorporated  1798. 
Office,  133  South  Fifth  street.  Hibernian  Society.  Incorpo- 
rated April  27,  1792.  Successor  to  the  "Society  of  the 
Friendly  Sons  of  St.  Patrick,"  established  1771.  Office, 
138  South  Front  street.  Swiss  Benevolent  Society.  Char- 
tered December  4,  1865.  Office,  south-west  corner  of  Fourth 
and  Wood  streets.     Italian  Society,  lately  instituted. 

SOUP  SOCIETIES. 
There  are  several  associations  in  the  city  for  supplying  the 
poor  with  soup  and  food,  which  are  generally  in  operation 
during  the  winter  months.  They  are  conducted  economically, 
and  supply  many  poor  people  with  palatable  and  nutritious 
soup,  bread,  meat,  potatoes,  etc.  They  are  located  in  the  fol- 
lowing places:  Philadelphia,  incorporated  1841,  338  Griscom 
street;  Southwark,  incorporated  1842,  Sutherland  street  near 
Queen;  Spring  Garden,  incorporated  1852,  1329  Buttonwood 
street;  Northern,  established  1817, incorporated  1839,817  North 
Fourth  street;  North-eastern,  2052  North  Front  street ;  North- 
western, corner  of  Nineteenth  and  Thompson  streets;  Ken- 
sington, incorporated  1853,  1936  Crease  street;  Central  Soup- 
and  Bath-house,  709  and  711  Cherry  street;  Moyamensing, 
incorporated  1835,  corner  of  Eighth  and  Marriott  streets; 
Western,  1615  South  street. 

INDUSTRIAL  AID  SOCIETIES. 
These  associations  are  intended  to  extend  assistance  to  the 
poor,  not  by  the  giving  of  alms,  but  by  supplying  them  with 
work  by  which  they  can  secure  honest  wages  and  maintain  a 
spirit  of  independence.  They  have  been  of  great  importance 
and  benefit.  They  are  as  follows:  Female  Society  of  Phila- 
delphia for  the  Relief  and  Employment  of  the  Poor,  instituted 
1793,  incorporated  1815,  building,  112  North  Seventh  street, 
maintains  a  work-room,  nursery  and  dining-room;  Western 
Association  of  Ladies  for  the  Relief  of  the  Poor,  incorporated 


INDUSTRIAL    AID   SOCIETIES,  ETC.  235 

1856,  Seventeenth  street  between  Chestnut  and  Market,  occu- 
pies a  fine  and  large  brick  building;  Northern  Association  of 
the  City  and  County  of  Philadelphia  for  the  Relief  of  Poor 
Women,  702  Green  street;  Western  Provident  Society  and 
Children's  Home,  incorporated  April  8,  1858,  Forty-first  and 
Venango  streets,  West  Philadelphia,  maintains  a  house  of 
industry  and  home  for  children;  Ladies'  Depository,  124 
South  Eleventh  street;  Philadelphia  Society  for  the  Employ- 
ment and  Instruction  of  the  Poor,  at  House  of  Industry,  718 
Catharine  street.  The  Grandom  Institution,  office,  713  Walnut 
street,  extends  aid  to  young  men  who  need  assistance  to  com- 
mence business,  but  whose  parents  are  unable  or  unwilling  to 
assist  them.  Capital,  $200,000.  To  this  may  also  be  added 
the  Franklin  Fund  to  assist  young  married  artificers  under  the 
age  of  twenty-five  years  who  have  served  apprenticeships  in 
setting  up  their  business.  The  trust  is  under  the  will  of 
Dr.  Benjamin  Franklin,  and  is  administered  by  the  Board  of 
Public  Trusts.  Office  in  the  Girard  building.  Fifth  street 
above  Chestnut.  The  fund  is  lent  out  in  certain  sums  upon 
security.  The  Penn  Sewing-school,  in  Friends'  meeting- 
house. Race  street  near  Fifteenth,  is  established  to  teach  girls 
and  women  how  to  sew  and  furnish  them  with  work.  Union 
Benevolent  Association,  north-west  corner  of  Seventh  and 
Sansom  streets,  for  the  encouragement  of  industry,  suppres- 
sion of  pauperism  and  relief  of  sufiering  among  the  worthy 
poor.  Home  Missionary  Society,  for  the  relief  of  the  worthy 
poor  and  to  permanently  relieve  them  from  penury  and  want, 
and  to  elevate  them  above  a  condition  of  beggary.  Incor- 
porated 1845.     Office,  533  Arch  street. 

FUEL  ASSOCIATIONS. 

Fuel  Saving  Society  of  the  City  and  Liberties  of  Philadel- 
phia, office,  731  Walnut  street,  to  encourage  and  assist  the  poor 
by  receiving  their  funds  in  summer  and  returning  them  fuel 
in  winter  at  less  than  the  wholesale  price.  Friends'  Chari- 
table  Fuel  Association.     Office  at  the  meeting-house,  Eace 


236  ASSISTANCE    SOCIETIES,   ETC. 

street  near  Fifteenth.     Instituted  for  the  same  purpose  as  the 
preceding.     Also  distributes  fuel  in  charity. 

ASSISTANCE  SOCIETIES. 
The  Mercantile  Beneficial  Association,  office,  118  South 
Seventh  street,  devotes  its  funds  to  the  assistance  of  decayed 
merchants.  Merchants'  Fund  Association,  office,  505  Chestnut 
street,  was  instituted  for  similar  purposes.  Pennsylvania  Sea- 
men's Friend  Society  maintains  the  "Sailors'  Home,"  at  422 
South  Front  street,  for  the  reception  and  care  of  seamen  while 
in  port.  Female  Seamen's  Friends'  Society  adds  its  assistance 
at  the  same  place.  The  Seamen  and  Landsmen's  Aid  Society, 
corner  of  Front  and  Union  streets,  is  established  for  similar 
purposes.  Ship-Masters'  Society,  for  the  relief  of  captains  of 
vessels  and  their  families,  is  a  very  old  association,  which  pur- 
■  i^h  its  objects  without  much  public  display.  Society  of 
United  Hebrew  Charities,  for  the  purpose  of  relieving  the 
wants  of  poor  Hebrews.     Office,  30  North  Seventh  street. 

There  are  associations  for  the  assistance  of  persons  not  resi- 
dents of  the  city,  among  which  may  be  mentioned  Indian  Aid 
Association,  office  at  the  meeting-house,  Kace  street  near  Fif- 
teenth; Indian  Hope  Association,  office,  1122  Spruce  street; 
Pennsylvania  Colonization  Society,  incorporated  1830,  office, 
609  Walnut  street;  Friends'  Association  for  the  aid  and  ele- 
vation of  the  freedmen,  office,  30  North  Third  street;  Friends' 
Association  for  the  Relief  of  Colored  Freedmen,  office,  116 
North  Fourth  street. 

HUMANE  SOCIETIES. 

Philadelphia  Society  for  Alleviating  the  Miseries  of  Public 
Prisons.  Instituted  before  the  Revolution.  Office,  109  North 
Tenth  street.  Pennsylvania  Society  for  the  Prevention  of 
Cruelty  to  Animals,  and  Women's  Branch  of  the  same  society, 
1320  Chestnut  street.  Pennsylvania  Peace  Society,  701  Arch 
street. 


CHAPTER    XVIII. 

CHARITABLE  ORDERS  AND  ASSOCIATIONS. 

SECRET  societies,  for  benevolent  purposes,  have  increased 
throughout  the  country  within  a  few  years  to  a  very  large 
exteat.  The  citizens  of  Philadelphia  are  strongly  represented 
in  these  associations. 

MASONIC   ORDER. 

The  Masonic  order  in  Philadelphia  is  very  strong.  Seventy- 
two  lodges  meet  in  various  parts  of  the  city.  Of  these,  sixty^^ 
have  their  meeting-rooms  in  the  Masonic  Temple,  three  in 
Kensington,  two  in  Frankford,  two  in  Cermantown,  two  in 
Manayunk  and  Falls  of  Schuylkill,  one  at  Chestnut  Hill  and 
two  in  West  Philadelphia. 

Masonic  Temple,  north-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Filbert 
streets.  This  magnificent  building  is  the  finest  Masonic 
structure  in  the  world.  It  is  in  size  150  feet  front  by  245 
feet  deep,  and  rises  95  feet  from  the  pavement.  It  has  four 
fronts,  is  built  of  granite,  and  is  a  perfect  specimen  of  Nor- 
man architecture,  bold  and  elaborate,  unlike  anything  else 
in  Philadelphia.  The  Broad  street  front  displays  two  grand 
towers^  the  highest  being  250  feet  from  the  ground  to  the  top 
of  the  turret.  The  Norman  porch  is  exceedingly  elaborate, 
and  is  made  up  of  three  pairs  of  receding  pillars,  arches, 
mouldings  and  other  decorations.  The  grand  entrance  is 
through  doors  17  feet  high,  7  feet  wide.  The  main  hall  is 
laid  in  black  and  white  tiles,  with  ornate  borders.  There  is 
a  grand  staircase  of  granite  finished  in  the  Corinthian  style, 
which  rises  from  the  front.  The  central  staircase,  approached 
from  the  Juniper  street  front,  is  in  the  Doric  style.  The  Grand 
Lodge  library,  on  the  first  floor,  is  finished   in  the  Italian 

237 


238  MASONIC   TEMPLE. 

Renaissance  order  of  architecture.     The  Grand  Lodge  room, 
105  feet  long,  61  feet  wide  and  50  feet  high,  is  constructed  and 
decorated  after  the  Corinthian  style.     The  banquet-hall,  also 
105  feet  long,  50  feet  wide  and  30  feet  high,  is  of  the  Composite 
order.    The  tables  will  seat  five  hundred  persons.    The  subor- 
dinate lodges  occupy  the  Oriental  Hall,,  ornamented  in  the 
richest   style  of  Moorish   architecture,  the  Ionic  Hall   and 
the  Egyptian  Hall  and  the  Norman  Hall.     The  Renaissance 
Hall,  90  feet  long,  50  feet  wide  and  50  feet  high,  is  vory  richly 
decorated,  and  is  occupied  by  the  Royal  Arch  chapters.     The 
Masonic  Knights  Templar  occupy  Gothic  Hall  for  the  purposes 
of  their  asylum.    The  cost  of  the  temple  was  $1,300,000.    It  is 
open  to  visitors  on  Thursday  of  each  week,  except  in  stormy 
weather,  upon  introduction  of  a  member  of  the  order.     The 
latter  should  accompany  his  guests. 

Freemasonry  was  introduced  into  Philadelphia  as  early  as  1730,  and 
perhaps  before.   The  Pennsylvania  Gazette  of  December  8, 1730,  says : 
"  xiiere  are  several  lodges  of  Freemasons  in  this  province."   In  1732 
there  was  a  Masonic  procession  through  the  city,  and  a  banquet  on 
St.  John's  day,  in  June.    The  first  known  habitation  of  a  lodge  was 
at  the  Tun  Tavern,  in  Water  street.  The  Grand  Lodge  and  subordmate 
lodges  met  in  other  places  several  years  afterward,  and  built  before 
the  Revolution  a  hall  west  of  Second  street,  upon  an  alley  extendmg 
from  what  was  then  called  Norris  alley,  now  Gothic  street,  which 
became  a  noted  building.    Doctor  Benjamin  Franklm  and  other  dis- 
tinguished men  were  then  members  of  the  lodges,  but  they  belonged 
to  that  division  of  the  order  known  at  the  time  as  Modern  Masons 
The  present  Masonic  order  belongs  to  the  Ancient  York  Masons,  and 
a  lodge  was  established  in  this  city  of  that  branch  of  the  order  under 
authority  of  the  English  Grand  Lodge,  June  20, 1764.   In  a  few  years 
the  York  Masons  superseded  the  Moderns,  the  lodges  of  which  were 
abandoned,  so  that  in  time  the  Grand  Lodge  building  came  to  be 
occupied  by  the  Ancients.    After  the  Revolution  the  Grand  Lodge 
room  was  for  a  time  in  the  upper  part  of  the  State-house,  and  sub- 
sequently in  the  upper  part  of  the  Free  Quaker  meeting-house  at 
Fifth  and  Arch  streets.  Since  that  time  the  Grand  Lodge  has  occupied 
the  following  buildings  owned  by  the  order :  Hall,  south  side  of  Filbert 
street  above  Eighth,  three-story  brick  building;  first  occupied  No- 
vember, 1802.    Chestnut  street  hall,  Gothic  order  of  architecture,  89 
feet  front,  62  feet  wide,  with  a  wooden  steeple  180  feet  high.   Corner- 


MASONIC  TEMPLE. 


240  MASONIC   TEMPLE,    ETC. 

stone  was  laid  April  17,  1809;  dedicated  June  24,  1811.  Burned 
March  9,  18191  Eebmlt  and  dedicated  March  1,  1820.  Abandoned 
ISS5.  Washington  Hall,  Third  street  above  Spruce,  purchased  June, 
1835;  dedicated  December  28th  of  that  year.  November  21, 1853,  the 
corner-stone  was  laid  of  the  new  hall  on  the  site  of  the  old  Chestnut 
street  building,,  which  was  torn  down.  Dedicated  November  26, 
1855.  Temple  on  Broad  street,  comer-stone  laid  June  24,  1868; 
dedicated  September  26,  1873. 

Kensington  IVlasonic  Hall,  ISOEichmond  street,  Kensington. 

Germantown  IVlasonic  Half,  3871  Glermantown  avenue. 

Frankford  Masonic  Hall,  Frankford  avenue  below  Green 
street. 

Chestnut  Hill  IVlasonic  Hall,  at  Chestnut  Hill. 

Manayunk  tV|asartic  Hall,  Main  street,  Manayunk. 

West  Philadelphia  IVlasonic  Hall,  Market  street,  West  Phila- 
delphia. 

There  is  an  independent  organization  of  colored  men,  con- 
sisting of  lodges  working  under  English  charters.  They  have 
two  halls ;  one  of  them,  a  tall,  solid  building,  is  in  Eleventh 
street  below  Pine,  and  was  finished  in  1857 ;  the  other  is  in 
Brown  street  above  Fourth,  and  was  dedicated  June  24,  1859. 

INDEPENDENT   ORDER   OF  ODD  PEL.LOT?^S. 

There  are  one  hundred  and  thirty-five  lodges  meeting  in 
Philadelphia,  and  thirty-two  encampments  of  Patriarchs. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  south-west  corner  of  Sixth  and  Haines 
streets,  below  Race.  Four-story  brick  building,  rough-cast, 
62  feet  front  by  100  feet  deep,  imposing  in  appearance.  Con- 
tains the  Grand  Lodge  room,  six  rooms  for  subordinate  lodges 
and  the  Grand  Encampment  room,  in  the  fourth  story,  and 
other  apartments.  The  Odd  Fellows'  library  of  8000  volumes 
occupies  a  room  in  the  first  story. 

Odd  Fellowship  was  introduced  into  Philadelphia  in  1821  by  a 
number  of  the  English  membei-s  of  the  order,  who  formed  a  voluntary 
lodge  at  the  house  of  John  Upton,  66  Dock  street.  On  the  15th  of 
June,  1823,  these  brethren  received  a  charter  from  the  Grand  Lodge 
of  the  United  States,  held  in  Baltimore,  for  Lodge  No.  1  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, and  for  a  Grand  Lodge  of  the  State,  composed  of  Past  Grands 


INDEPENDENT  ORDER  OF  ODD  FELLOWS.    241 

of  that  lodge.  Iii  1827  the  order  had  its  hall  at  the  north-west  cor- 
ner of  Seventh  and  Chestnut  streets.  In  1830  a  hall  was  built  for 
the  use  of  the  order  on  Fifth  street  below  Walnut,  which  was  dedi- 
cated May  18,  1830.  The  present  hall  on  Sixth  street  was  dedicated 
September  17,  1846. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  ISTorthern  Liberties,  north-west  corner 
of  Third  and  Brown  streets.  A  stately  building  of  brick, 
rough-cast,  in  the  Egyptian  style  of  architecture,  built  in 
1847. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  south-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Spring 
Garden  streets.  A  building  of  brownstone  and  brick,  rough- 
cast, built  in  1851. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  south-west  corner  of  Tenth  and  South 
streets.     Brick,  rough-cast,  built  in  1851. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  Southwark,  Third  street  below  German. 
Large  brick  building. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  West  Philadelphia,  corner  of  Thirty- 
seventh,  and  Market  streets. 

Odd  Fellows'  Halls,  Germantown, 4902 Germantown  avenue; 
on  Wistar  street;  at  corner  of  Germantown  avenue  and  Willow 
Grove  Pike.- 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  Frankford,  Frankford  avenue  above 
Green  street.  Large  four-story  building,  dedicated  March 
21,  1855. 

Odd  Fellows'  Hall,  Penn  Township,  brick  building,  70  by 
32  feet,  corner  of  Twenty-third  street  and  Eidge  avenue. 
Corner-stone  laid  November  15,  1858;  building  dedicated 
November  26,  1859. 

Colored  Odd  Fellows,  Grand  United  Order  of  Odd  Fellows. 
Hall,  605  Spruce  street,  occupied  by  eleven  lodges.  There  is 
also  a  hall  in  Brown  street,  and  one  in  West  Philadelphia. 

ORDER    OP   UNITED    AMERICAN  MECHANICS. 
This  order  has  forty -four  councils  meeting  in  the  city. 
American  Mechanics'  Hall,  north-east  corner  of  Fourth  and 
George  streets.    A  very  large  brick  building,  five  stories  high, 
was  finished  1857. 

21  '        Q 


242         INDEPENDENT   ORDER   OF   RED   MEN,    ETC. 

The  Councils  of  this  order  also  meet  at  various  places  in 
other  parts  of  the  city,  in  rented  rooms. 

INDEPENDENT  ORDER  OF  RED  MEN, 
working  in  the  German  language,  occupy  a  large  and  handsome 
brick  building  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Third  and  Brown 
streets,  the  corner-stone  of  which  was  laid  June  4,  1867,  and 
dedicated  August  10,  1868.  There  are  twenty-four  "stamms  " 
or  councils  of  this  order  in  Philadelphia. 

AMERICAN   PROTESTANT   ASSOCIATION, 
has  its  hall  on  Locust  street,  between  Broad  and  Fifteenth 
streets,  north  side.     It  is  a  building  of  brownstone,  25  by  160 
feet,  finished  in  1857. 

OTHER  ORDERS. 
There  are  various  other  secret  societies  in  the  city,  which 
occupy  apartments  rented  for  the  purpose  of  their  organization. 
Among  these  are  the  Grand  Army  of  the  Eepublic,  with  16 
Posts;  military  order  of  the  Loyal  Legion  of  the  United 
States ;  Knights  of  Pythias,  104  lodges ;  Sons  of  Temperance, 
57  divisions ;  Good  Templars,  31  lodges ;  Templars  of  Honor 
and  Temperance,  19  subordinate  temples  and  11  social  temples; 
Improved  Order  of  Red  Men,  54  tribes ;  Patriotic  Order  of 
Sons  of  America,  20  camps ;  United  Ancient  Order  of  Druids, 
instituted  in  Pennsylvania  June  18,  1847,  has  numerous 
groves  in  operation.  There  are  several  other  orders  of  a 
secret  character,  whose  objects  are  known  only  to  the  initiated. 
Among  these  may  be  mentioned  the  Harugari,  Independent 
Order  of  Good  Fellows,  Good  Samaritans,  order  of  the  Seven 
Wise  Men  and  others. 


CHAPTEE   XIX. 

MILITARY. 

THE  National  Guard  of  Pennsylvania  consists  of  twenty- 
one  divisions,  each  of  which  is  commanded  by  a  major- 
general.  Philadelphia  constitutes  one  division  of  two  bri- 
gades. There  are  six  regiments  and  several  unattached  and 
independent  companies. 

ARMORIES. 
The  Armory  First  Troop  Philadelphia  City  Cavalry,  Twenty- 
first  street  below  Market,  occupies  a  large  lot  of  ground  which 
gives  a  fine  space  for  the  exercises  of  the  company.  The 
building  is  6Q  feet  front  by  188  feet  deep,  and  presents  the 
appearance  in  front  of  a  fortress  in  style  of  the  Middle  Ages, 
having  a  square  tower  and  gateway,  with  loophole  windows 
and  other  peculiarities.  It  is  built  of  sandstone,  bluestone, 
serpentine  and  brick.  The  front  of  the  main  building  is 
occupied  in  the  upper  stories  by  a  spacious  meeting-room, 
offices,  rooms  for  the  storing  of  arms,  accoutrements,  etc. 
The  exercising-room  is  150  feet  deep,  of  the  full  width  of  the 
building,  capacious  for  drilling  in  dragoon  exercises,  and  is 
the  largest  cavalry-room  in  the  country.  The  original  building 
was  erected  and  dedicated  February  22, 1864.  Ten  years  after- 
ward the  troop  greatly  enlarged  the  armory  by  an  addition, 
the  corner-stone  being  laid  July  4,  1874,  and  the  building 
dedicated  November  17,  1874. 

This  organization  is  the  oldest  cavalry  company  in  the  country, 
and  also  the  oldest  military  association  instituted  for  the  special  pur- 
pose of  resistance  against  Great  Britain.  There  are  other  companies 
in  some  of  the  States,  instituted  in  colonial  times  and  loyal  up  to  the 
Bevolution.      This  association  was  specially  formed  for  resistance 

243 


244  ARMORIES. 

against  Great  Britain  by  twenty-eight  gentlemen  on  the  17th  of  Novem- 
ber, 1774,  under  the  title  of  the  "  Light  Horse  of  the  City  of  Philadel- 
phia." They  equipped  themselves  at  their  own  expense,  chose  their 
own  oflSeers,  and  offered  their  services  to  the  Continental  Congress. 
In  1776  Captain  Abraham  Markoe  presented  the  company  with  a  flag 
of  light  yellow  silk  handsomely  painted,  which  bore  in  the  union 
thirteen  stripes  of  white  and  blue,  being  the  first  known  instance  of 
the  employment  of  stripes  to  represent  the  colonies,  and  the  undoubted 
original  of  the  stripes  adopted  as  the  national  ensign.  The  main 
device  bore  a  shield  charged  with  a  knot  of  thirteen  ribbons ;  crest,  a 
horse's  head ;  supporters,  an  Indian  with  a  liberty -pole  and  cap, 
symbolizing  Free  America,  and  an  angel  blowing  a  trumpet,  symbol- 
izing Fame.  Motto,  "  For  these  we  strive."  This  flag  was  carried 
during  the  Revolution,  the  troop  serving  in  the  battles  of  Trenton, 
Princeton,  Brandywine  and  Germantown,  and  receiving  the  special 
thanks  of  Washington  after  the  British  retreat  through  New  Jersey 
in  1777 ;  was  in  the  war  of  1812,  and  sent  full  ranks  to  Virginia  in 
1861,  at  the  first  call  for  troops  by  President  Lincoln,  and  during  the 
remaining  years  of  the  war  its  members  served  as  officers  in  the 
regular  and  volunter  regiments  which  Avere  recruited  in  the  city. 

National  Guards'  Armory,  south  side  of  Eace  street,  be- 
tween Fifth  and  Sixth.  A  tall  and  stately  brick  building,  ex- 
tending from  Race  to  Cresson  street.  The  hall  is  three  stories 
high,  and  the  observatory  is  85  feet  from  the  ground.  The 
first  story  is  appropriated  to  offices,  the  second  story,  spacious 
and  lofty,  is  reserved  for  the  use  of  meetings,  concerts  and 
balls.  The  drill-room  is  in  the  third  story,  a  wide  and  deep 
apartment. 

The  National  Guards  was  instituted  as  a  volunteer  company  about 
1835.  It  was  always  a  spirited  organization,  and  popular  among 
the  city  volunteers.  The  present  building  was  finished  in  1857,  and 
about  the  same  time  the  company  was  recruited  to  the  standard  of  a 
regiment.  During  the  war  of  the  rebellion  the  National  Guards 
regiment  went  into  service  with  the  Pennsylvania  militia  at  the  first 
call  of  President  Lincoln.  After  an  honorable  discharge  upon  the 
expiration  of  the  terra  of  service  it  volunteered  under  Colonel  Peter 
Lyle  for  the  three  years'  service,  and  became  the  Ninetieth  Regi- 
ment P.  V.  It  served  the  full  term  of  enlistment,  was  in  many 
battles  and  brought  back  a  small  number  of  the  survivors  of  the 
original  organization.  It  is  now  known  as  the  Second  Regiment 
Pennsylvania  National  Guard,  and  occupies  the  hall. 


AKMORTES.  245 

City  Armory,  east  side  of  Broad  street  below  Race.  A 
large  brick  building,  originally  built  as  a  market-house.  It 
is  occupied  by  the  First  Regiment  National  Guards,  ordinar- 
ily called  the  "  Gray  Reserves." 

This  regiment  was  raised  at  the  outbreak  of  the  rebellion  for  home 
defence.  It  served  among  the  State  troops  during  the  Confederate 
raids  upon  Pennsylvania,  and  during  the  grand  invasion  which  cul- 
minated at  Gettysburg.  The  organization  is  strong  and  in  a  fine 
state  of  discipline. 

Armory  of  Artillery  Corps,  Washington  Grays,  is  in  the 

second  story  of  a  large  building  in  Lardner  street,  between 
Broad  and  Fifteenth,  adjoining  Horticultural  Hall.  The 
drill-room  is  broad  and  spacious,  and  offers  every  facility  for 
military  exercise. 

This  company  was  instituted  1823,  and  first  attracted  attention 
during  the  visit  of  Lafayette,  in  1824,  for  its  fine  discipline.  It  has 
always  maintained  a  high  reputation  for  its  perfection  in  drill.  Al- 
though an  artillery  company,  this  organization  has  for  some  years 
acted  as  an  infantry  company.  It  served  three  months  in  Virginia 
during  the  late  war,  under  Captain  Thomas  P.  Parry.  It  furnished 
to  the  United  States  army  a  large  number  of  educated  soldiers  fitted 
for  command,  who  rose  to  the  highest  ranks  in  the  military  service, 
some  of  whom  fell  in  battle. 

Armory  of  Keystone  Battery,  Broad  street  above  Mt.  Ver- 
non.    This  battery  has  charge  of  a  full  set  of  guns,  with  cais- 
sons, etxj.,  and  upon  parade  makes  a  formidable  appearance. 
21* 


CHAPTEE  XX. 

SOCIAL  CLUBS. 

Philadelphia  Club,  north-west  corner  of  Thirteenth  and 
Walnut  streets,  occupies  a  very  large  and  exceedingly  plain 
brick  building,  which  is,  however,  spacious  and  suitable 
for  the  purposes  of  the  organization.  There  is  a  reading- 
room,  a  library,  conversation-  and  smoking-rooms,  dining- 
rooms,  kitchens  and  every  convenience  for  furnishing  din- 
ners and  other  meals,  under  charge  of  first-class  cooks.  The 
rules  of  the  club  prohibit  the  admission  of  persons  residing 
in  the  city  who  are  not  members.  Persons  belonging  else- 
where may  be  admitted  upon  introduction  of  a  member. 

This  club  originated  about  the  year  1834  among  citizens  of  the 
highest  respectability.  Its  rooms  were  then  at  the  Adelphi  building, 
Fifth  street  below  Walnut.  It  afterward  removed  to  a  large  house  on 
the  west  side  of  Ninth  street  below  Locust,  the  entrance  from  a  side 
yard,  called  at  the  time  "  Potter's,"  and  which  was  at  one  time  occu- 
pied by  Joseph  Bonaparte,  ex-king  of  Spain.  About  1845  the  club 
removed  to  the  Meade  mansion,  north  side  of  Walnut  street,  between 
Ninth  and  Tenth.  About  1851  the  building  at  Thirteenth  and  Wal- 
nut streets  was  secured.  About  the  same  time  a  charter  was  pro- 
cured under  the  name  of  the  "  Literary  Association  and  Eeading- 
room  of  Philadelphia,"  which  was  afterward  changed  to  the  old 
name,  Philadelphia  Club. 

The  Union  League  House.  This  fine  building,  situate  at 
the  south-west  corner  of  Sansom  and  Broad  streets,  is  the 
most  splendid  club-house  in  the  city.  It  occupies  the  greater 
portion  of  a  lot  100  feet  front  by  200  feet  in  depth,  having  a 
spacious  garden  in  the  rear.  The  building  is  in  the  French 
Renaissance  style,  and  is  of  brick  with  brownstone  trimmings. 

247 


248 


UNION   LEAGUE. 


It  is  two  stories  in  height,  with  a  French  Mansard  roof  and 
tower,  and  presents  an  air  of  comfort  and  taste  in  its  appear- 


UNION    LEAGUE    HOUSE. 

ance  which  is  attractive  to  the  stranger.  The  interior  is  fitted 
up  entirely  for  club  uses,  with  parlors,  smoking-room,  reading- 
rooms,  dining-  and  banqueting-rooms  and  every  convenience 
which  good  taste  may  suggest  as  proper  for  a  building  of  the 
kind.  Access  to  the  League  house  is  available  to  any  stranger 
in  the  city  upon  introduction  by  a  member. 

The  Union  League  originated  during  the  civil  war  in  the  United 
States,  and  was  founded  by  thirty-eight  gentlemen  as  an  association 
loyal  to  the  Union.  They  adopted  the  name  of  the  Union  Club,  and 
held  their  first  meeting  on  the  21st  of  November,  1862.  It  was  both 
social  and  loyal  at  the  beginning.  The  members  met  at  each  other's 
houses  in  turn,  the  member  who  was  visited  giving  an  entertainment 
to  his  associates.    The  association  continued  under  this  organization 


TTNION   LEAGUE,    ETC.  249 

during  the  winter  of  1862-3.  It  was  then  resolved  to  continue  its 
sphere  of  usefulness,  and  to  gather  together  among  its  members  gen- 
tlemen loyal  to  the  Union,  that  spirit  of  patriotism  being  the  only 
requisite  to  admission.  Permanent  quarters  were  therefore  needed ; 
and  on  the  14th  of  February,  1863,  the  League  moved  into  the  Kuhn 
mansion,  south  side  of  Chestnut  street,  between  Eleventh  and 
Twelfth.  This  was  a  fine  old-fashioned  double  house,  with  an  exten- 
sive garden,  and  was  extremely  well  adapted  to  tlie  uses  of  the  club. 
The  membership  increased  rapidly,  and  the  League  soon  took  a 
prominent  part  in  politics  upon  the  Republican  side.  On  the  15th 
of  August,  1864,  in  consequence  of  the  Kuhn  mansion  being  sold,  the 
club  was  compelled  to  remove  from  that  building.  It  went  into  a 
house  adjoining  the  Messchert  mansion,  1216  Chestnut  street,  where  it 
remained  until  the  elegant  house  on  Broad  street  was  completed. 
As  soon  as  the  removal  from  the  Kuhn  mansion  became  a  necessity 
measures  were  taken  to  obtain  a  lot  for  the  use  of  the  League,  and  to 
erect  a  building  suitable  for  its  purposes  thereon.  This  was  done  by 
the  formation  of  a  stock  association  by  individual  members  of  the 
League  and  the  issue  of  bonds.  The  house,  lot  and  furniture  cost 
about  $200,000.  Work  upon  it  was  commenced  1st  of  March,  1864, 
and  it  was  finished  for  use  May  4,  1865. 

During  the  war  of  the  rebellion  the  League  was  very  active.  It 
was  composed  in  a  very  large  degree  of  men  of  wealth,  and  they 
were  exceedingly  liberal  in  their  subscriptions  for  patriotic  purposes. 
They  stimulated  the  holding  of  public  meetings  whenever  such 
assistance  was  necessary ;  they  encouraged  the  recruiting  of  troops. 
They  fully  equipped  and  put  into  the  field  nine  regiments  and  one 
battalion  of  infantry  and  five  companies  of  cavalry,  and  they  spent 
for  that  purpose  a  very  large  sum  of  money,  which  was  made  up  by 
their  own  members.  Since  the  close  of  the  war  of  the  rebellion  the 
League  has  taken  small  part  in  politics.  It  is  still  under  the  con- 
trol of  members  holding  the  sentiments  of  the  founders.  It  throws 
its  influence  in  favor  of  good  candidates  as  far  as  precept  may  go, 
but  it  cannot  be  considered  a  working  political  organization. 

Reform  Club  occupies  building  with  white  marble  front 
1520  Chestnut  street,  formerly  the  Florance  Mansion.  This 
club  was  formed  at  a  meeting  held  April  2,  1872,  of  gentle- 
men mostly  composed  of  members  of  the  Municipal  Reform 
Association,  "who  desire  to  unite  in  establishing  a  first-class 
club-house,  where  citizens  of  different  political  opinions  can 
meet  socially,  and  co-operate  in  the  work  of  securing  an 
honest  administration  of  municipal  affairs,  thereby  exercising 


250  REFOKM   CLUB,   ETC. 

a  most  beneficial  influence  on  the  interests  of  the  community." 
The  club  had  in  1875  nearly  1100  members.  It  was  incor- 
porated February  27,  1873.  Visitors  are  admitted  upon  the 
introduction  of  members.  Strangers  in  the  city  may  be  ad- 
mitted during  their  visit  after  having  been  introduced. 
Eesidents  of  the  city,  not  members  of  the  club,  may  not  be 
introduced  more  than  once.  There  is  an  exception  to  the 
latter  rule  in  the  case  of  ladies,  this  club  being  conducted 
upon  the  rather  unusual  principle  of  admitting  ladies  to  its 
parlors,  dining-room  and  garden  when  under  the  escort  of 
members.  During  the  summer  the  club  give  a  series  of  gar- 
den-concerts, which  are  exceedingly  enjoyable. 

Social  Art  Club,  1525  Chesnut  street,  maintains  the  general 
features  of  a  club-house,  varied  by  occasional  art  receptions 
and  exhibitions  of  pictures,  etc. 

Penn  Club,  rooms  south-east  corner  of  Eighth  and  Locust 
streets.  Has  a  reading-room,  library,  conversation-rooms,  etc., 
being  an  organization  of  literary  men,  artists  and  others. 

Saturday  Club.  This  association  has  no  club-house.  It  is 
composed  of  about  seventy  members.  During  the  winter 
season,  from  November  to  April,  the  club  meets  weekly  at 
the  private  residences  of  the  members,  each  one  holding  the 
meeting  in  his  turn.  Members  have  the  right  to  invite  to 
these  soirees  strangers  in  the  city,  and  the  host  of  the  evening 
invites  his  own  friends.  Men  of  means  and  influence,  scholars, 
artists,  merchants,  business  men  and  others,  are  brought  to- 
gether in  social  communion,  the  effects  of  which  are  always 
pleasant  and  instructive.  An  entertainment  concludes  the 
evening,  and  the  party  closes  before  twelve  o'clock.  The 
club  succeeds  in  objects  and  character  the  old  Wistar  parties, 
originated  by  the  late  Doctor  Caspar  Wistar  about  the  year 
1800.  These  parties  were  weekly  meetings  of  men  of  science, 
statesmen,  philosophers  and  authors,  held  at  Doctor  Wistar's 
residence,  and  concluding  by  a  moderate  entertainment.  In 
time  a  Wistar  club  was  formed,  and  the  entertainments,  in 
general  design,  resembled  those  of  the  Saturday  Club  at  the 
present  day. 


CHAPTEE    XXI. 

SPORTING  CLUBS. 

THEKE  are  numerous  associations  in  Philadelpliia  and  its 
neighborhood  which  are  devoted  to  fisliing,  rowing,  sail- 
ing, cricket,  base  ball  and  other  sports. 

FISHING  CLUBS. 
The  "State  in  Schuylkill."  Castle  on  the  banks  of  the 
Schuylkill,  at  Eambo's  Eock,  below  Gray's  Ferry.  Access 
from  Maiden  lane,  south  of  Gray's  Ferry  road.  This  ancient 
institution  is  the  oldest  social  organization  in  this  country, 
and  probably  in  the  world.  It  was  instituted  in  the  year  1732 
as  a  fishing  club,  and  has  been  kept  up  without  intermission 
ever  since,  except  during  the  Eevolution,  when  the  members 
were  serving  their  country.  The  grounds  of  the  club  are  well 
shaded.  The  buildings  are  fitted  up  with  every  convenience 
for  cooking  and  dining.  The  company  consists  of  twenty-five 
members  and  a  certain  number  of  probationary  candidates  for 
membership,  who  are  denominated  "  apprentices."  The  mem- 
bers assemble  at  certain  periods  during  the  pleasant  season 
of  the  year.  Each  one  is  bound  to  work  in  the  business  of 
the  day,  in  cooking  and  preparing  the  food  and  refreshments. 
There  are  no  servants ;  all  the  work  is  done  by  members,  and 
every  convenience  which  gastronomical  taste  and  culinary  ex- 
perience can  devise  is  at  their  command.  The  rules  prohibit 
the  frequent  introduction  of  residents  of  the  city.  Strangers 
may  be  introduced  by  members.  The  Castle  contains  many 
ancient  curiosities,  prominent  among  which  are  two  immense 
pewter  platters  engraved  with  the  coat-of-arms  of  the  Penn 
family,  and  presented  by  one  of  the  Penns  before  the  Eevo- 
lution. 

251 


252  FISHING   CLUBS. 

This  company,  upon  the  pleasant  assumption  of  independent 
authority,  adopted  in  1732  the  name  of  the  "  Colony  in  Schuylkill." 
The  oflScers  were  governor,  councillors,  assembly,  sheriif,  coroner, 
etc.  Up  to  the  time  of  the  Revolution  and  afterward  the  castle  of 
the  colony  was  upon  the  Egglesfield  property,  Schuylkill  River, 
north  of  the  site  of  the  present  Girard  avenue  bridge.  At  that  time 
the  fishing,  which  was  for  rock  and  perch,  was  excellent.  The  ground 
was  leased  from  William  Warner,  owner  of  the  estate,  who  received 
the  title  of  baron,  and  received  annually  for  his  rent  the  first  three 
fish  caught  at  the  beginning  of  the  season,  which  were  brought  to 
him  with  great  ceremony.  After  the  Revolution  the  company  de- 
clared itself  independent,  and  changed  the  name  to  the  "  State  in 
Schuylkill,"  and  was  incorporated  as  the  "  Fishing  Company  of  the 
State  in  Schuylkill."  At  a  later  period  the  Fishing  Company  of 
the  Fort  St.  David,  near  the  Falls  of  Schuylkill,  was  united  with 
the  older  society.  The  castle  remained  at  Egglesfield  until  1822, 
when,  the  Fairmount  dam  being  in  course  of  construction,  the  old 
building,  made  interesting  by  so  many  memories,  was  floated  down 
on  the  Schuylkill  and  landed  at  the  new  territory  of  the  company, 
Rambo's  Rock,  near  Gray's  Ferry.  Many  eminent  persons  have 
partaken  of  its  hospitality.  Among  them  have  been  General  La- 
fayette in  1824,  and  others  whose  names  have  unfortunately  not 
been  recorded.  The  company  has  had  of  late  years  but  little  oppor- 
tunity to  indulge  in  fishing,  commerce  and  manufactures  having 
so  polluted  the  waters  of  the  Schuylkill  that  fine  fish  are  no  more 
abundant. 

Prospect  Hill  Fishing  Company.  House  at  the  confluence 
of  Timber  Creek  and  the  Delaware,  below  Gloucester,  New 
Jersey.  This  club  is  composed  of  thirty-five  members,  who 
hold  semi-monthly  gatherings  during  the  summer  season,  and 
conduct  their  business  according  to  the  plan  of  the  "  State  in 
Schuylkill."     The  fish-house  was  dedicated  in  1839, 

Tammany  Pea-shore  Fishing  Company.  House  on  the  banks 
of  the  Delaware  at  the  Pea-shore,  opposite  Port  Eichmond. 

Tinicum  Fishing  Company,  at  Tinicum,  Delaware  county, 
below  the  Lazaretto,  has  commodious  buildings  and  handsome 
grounds.  Access  by  Chester  branch  Philadelphia  and  Bead- 
ing Railroad. 

Otter  Point  Fish-house  Company,  on  the  Elk  Eiver,  Mary- 
land, consists  of  eight  members.     Has  house  fitted  up  with 


YACHT  CLUBS — BOAT  CLUBS.        263 

kitchen,  dining-room,  lodging-rooms,  storehouse  for  boats,  etc., 
so  as  to  accommodate  parties  who  go  there  for  gunning  or 
fishing,  and  expect  to  stay  several  days. 

YACHT  CLUBS. 
The  Delaware  Eiver  affords  so  much  advantage  for  pleasure- 
sailing  that  the  number  of  fine  yachts  built  for  speed  has 
greatly  increased  within  a  few  years.  The  Philadelphia  Yacht 
Club  gives  several  regattas  during  the  summer  season.  The 
Southwark  Double  End  Yacht  Club,  a  new  organization, 
promises  a  spirited  future. 

BOAT   CLUBS. 

The  Schuylkill  Eiver  above  Fairmount  Park,  being  broad 
and  bordered  by  attractive  scenery,  and  the  current  smooth, 
is  a  favorite  place  for  rowing-clubs.  Between  Fairmount  and 
the  Falls  of  Schuylkill  the  stream  offers  every  facility,  not  only 
to  those  who  row  for  exercise  or  pleasure,  but  for  regattas 
and  other  contests.  The  national  course,  one  mile  and  a  half, 
extends  from  the  Reading  Eailroad  bridge  (Belmont)  up  to 
the  Eeading  Eailroad  (Port  Eichmond  branch)  bridge,  being  a 
clear  and  splendid  sheet  of  water.  Several  regattas  have  taken 
place  on  this  course,  and  it  will  be  the  scene  of  the  interna- 
tional regatta  of  1876. 

The  Commissioners  of  Fairmount  Park  have  encouraged 
the  boat  clubs  to  come  upon  the  Schuylkill,  and  have  granted 
them  valuable  privileges.  The  shore  north  of  old  Fairmount 
from  the  neighborhood  of  Lincoln  monument  to  Turtle  Eock 
has  been  granted  to  the  clubs,  with  authority  to  construct  build- 
ings there,  and  they  have  erected  several  which  add  much  to 
the  beauty  of  the  Park.  Some  of  the  clubs  are  united  in  the 
Schuylkill  navy,  but  there  are  others  which  do  not  belong  to 
it.  The  following  barge  clubs  are  upon  the  river:  Quaker 
City,  founded  October  20,  1858;  Pennsylvania,  founded  June 
4, 1861;  Crescent,  December  1, 1867;  Bachelors',  July  4, 1853; 
University,  April  25,  1854;  Philadelphia,  December  8,  1862; 
Malta,  February,  1860;  Vesper,  February  22,  1865;  Undine, 
22 


254     BOATS — CRICKET — BASE    BALL — SKATING. 

May  9,  1856.     These  clubs  own  over  sixty  boats  of  various 
sizes — six-oars,  four-oars,  double  sculls  and  single  sculls. 

CRICKET. 
Cricket  is  played  in  Philadelphia  with  great  proficiency,  our 
clubs  having  on  several  occasions  vanquished  American  clubs 
and  the  club  composed  of  Canadian  and  British  officers.  The 
cricket-grounds  are  upon  the  line  of  the  Philadelphia  and 
Germantown  Eailroad,  near  Wayne  station,  and  are  very 
spacious.  They  are  occupied  by  the  Germantown  and  Young 
America  clubs. 

BASE   BALL. 

There  are  several  base  ball  clubs  organized  in  the  city,  some 
of  which  are  professional  and  others  amateur.  The  principal 
base  ball  ground  is  that  of  the  Athletic  Club,  at  Twenty-fifth 
and  Jefierson  streets.  It  is  spacious  and  well  adapted  for  the 
purpose.  Upon  this  ground  the  championship  games  between 
the  Philadelphia  and  Athletic  and  the  clubs  of  other  cities 
have  been  played  for  some  years  past. 

SKATING. 

The  winters  of  the  last  fifteen  or  twenty  years,  either  by 
covering  the  ice  with  snow  or  rain  or  from  other  causes,  have 
not  been  favorable  for  skating,  so  that  this  sport,  in  a  mea- 
sure, has  declined.  It  will  be  revived  upon  a  favorable  op- 
portunity. 

The  Philadelphia  Skating  Club,  incorporated  1861,  is  com- 
posed of  over  300  members.  It  owns  a  stone  club-house, 
built  in  the  Italian  style,  on  the  banks  of  the  Schuylkill,  with- 
in the  Park,  near  Turtle  Eock.  It  has  reception-  and  retiring- 
rooms,  committee-rooms  and  other  apartments.  In  the  first 
story  are  life-saving  apparatus — ladders,  hooks,  axes,  caution- 
flags,  life-lines,  blankets,  grapnels,  drags  and  other  means 
to  rescue  persons  who  may  break  through  the  ice.  Each 
member  when  skating  carries  with  him  -a  reel  upon  which  is 
wound  a  fine  but  strong  cord,  which  may  be  run  across  the 
ice  a  long  distance,  and  which,  when  caught  by  a  drowning 


SKATING — SHOOTING — TROTTING.  255 

man,  will  sustain  him  until  more  thorough  assistance  arrives. 
The  life-boats  are  small  and  light,  weigh  no  more  than  100 
pounds  and  are  available  to  be  run  over  the  ice  or  into  the 
water.  Since  this  society  has  been  in  existence  more  than 
260  lives  have  been  saved  through  the  instrumentality  of  the 
members. 

Philadelphia  Skating  Rink,  corner  of  Twenty-third  and 
Chestnut  streets,  was  built  several  years  ago,  in  the  expecta- 
tion of  annual  use.  Good  fortune  has  not  attended  this  en- 
terprise, and  the  rink,  although  capable  of  being  used  for 
skating  in  cold  weather,  is  rarely  put  to  this  service. 

SHOOTING. 

Scheutzen  Park,  Indian  Queen  lane,  north  of  Eidge  avenue. 
This  enclosure  is  the  property  of  the  Philadelphia  Eifle  Asso- 
ciation, a  shooting  club  organized  about  1855.  For  some 
years  its  targets  and  galleries  were  at  Washington  Eetreat,  so- 
called,  near  Mt.  Pleasant,  and  now  included  in  the  Park.  The 
necessity  of  leaving  that  situation  led  the  association  to  pur- 
chase the  piece  of  ground  where  the  Scheutzen  Park  now  is. 
It  was  opened  for  use  August  15,  1870.  It  has  every  conveni- 
ence for  shooting,  with  galleries,  pits  and  targets.  There  are 
buildings  for  concerts,  dancing  and  other  amusements.  The 
place  is  a  great  resort  of  the  German  population. 

Access  by  Eidge  avenue  cars  to  Indian  Queen  lane;  by 
Germantown  Eailroad  to  the  same  lane,  or  by  Schuylkill 
boats  to  the  Falls.  The  park  is  distant  from  Eidge  avenue 
about  half  a  mile. 

TROTTING. 
Point  Breeze  Park,  Penrose  Ferry  road,  near  the  road  lead- 
ing to  Point  Breeze,  is  a  large  piece  of  ground  laid  out  for  a 
trotting-  and  driving-park,  and  is  the  property  of  a  joint-stock 
association.  There  are  fine  large  buildings,  with  parlors, 
drawing-rooms,  etc.,  for  the  accommodation  of  members  and 
their  families,  pavilions  for  viewing  the  races,  stands,  etc. 
The  track  is  well  laid  and  solid.     The  association  arranges 


256  TROTTING GYMNASTICS. 

^  series  of  matches  in  the  spring  and  fall  of  each  year,  and 
some  of  the  finest  trotters  in  the  country  have  been  put  to 
their  speed  upon  these  grounds.  During  the  racing  season 
the  public  are  admitted  upon  the  payment  of  entrance  money ; 
at  other  times  admission  can  be  obtained  through  the  introduc- 
tion of  a  member  of  the  company. 

Access  to  Point  Breeze  by  private  conveyance. 

Suffolk  Park,  Island  road,  between  Seventy-ninth  and 
Eightieth  avenues,  in  the  south-western  part  of  the  city,  on 
the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill  not  far  from  Penrose  Ferry 
road,  is  under  the  management  of  private  proprietors.  Eaoes 
usually  take  place  there  in  the  spring  and  fall  of  the  year. 

Access  to  Suffolk  Park  by  Chester  branch  of  Eeading  Rail- 
road. 

Ambler  Park,  on  the  line  of  the  North  Pennsylvania  Rail- 
road, Montgomery  county,  just  beyond  the  boundaries  of  the 
city,  is  a  new  enterprise.  It  has  commodious  grounds,  and 
has  been  used  for  agricultural-fair  purposes. 

Access  by  North  Pennsylvania  Railroad. 

Woodbury  Park,  at  Woodbury,  New  Jersey.  A  new  track, 
which  has  been  successfully  tested. 

Access  by  West  Jersey  Railroad,  starting  from  Market 
street  wharf,  Philadelphia. 

Belmont  Driving  Park,  Bryn  Mawr  road,  half  a  mile  from 
Elm  station,  on  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad.  This  is  a  new 
track  just  opened.  It  is  one  mile  circular,  has  a  grand  stand 
and  saloon  for  ladies  and  gentlemen,  and  other  conveniences, 
with  stabling,  and  is  intended  to  be  a  first-class  race-course. 

GYMNASTICS. 

Philadelphia  Turn  Verein,  a  German  association  devoted  to 
the  cultivation  of  athletic  exercises.  Hall,  North  Third 
street  near  Callowhill. 


CHAPTER  XXII. 

PLACES  OF  AMUSEMENT. 

OPERATIC. 
American  Academy  of  Music,  south-west  corner  of  Broad 
and  Locust  streets.  Building  of  brick  and  brownstone,  140 
feet  front  on  Broad  street,  238  feet  deep  on  Locust  street. 
The  fayade  is  in  the  Byzantine  style.  The  exterior  of  the 
building  gives  no  idea  of  the  elegance  of  the  interior.  There 
is  ample  space  for  comfort  and  convenience,  with  fine  lob- 
bies, retiring-rooms  and  a  splendid  foyer  in  the  second  story, 
richly  decorated  in  the  Italian  style,  with  16  Ionic  columns, 
panelled  ceilings  and  walls,  grand  chandeliers  and  other  em- 
bellishments. The  stage  is  spacious.  It  is  90  feet  wide  at  the 
proscenium,  over  120  feet  between  the  walls,  72  feet  6  inches 
deep  and  70  feet  high.  The  proscenium  is  sustained  by  6  col- 
umns of  the  Corinthian  order,  which  rise  33  feet  from  the 
stage,  and  are  surmounted  by  stooping  caryatides  as  if  bend- 
ing under  the  weight  of  the  roof.  The  auditorium  is  arranged 
in  four  tiers,  the  fronts  of  which  are  handsomely  decorated 
with  emblematic  carvings.  The  seats  are  cushioned  in  red 
velvet  and  the  interior  walls  are  decorated  with  the  same  warm 
color,  the  effect  of  which  is  to  make  a  rich  contrast  with  the 
costumes  of  the  audience.  The  seating  capacity  is  for  2900 
persons,  and  is  so  admirably  arranged  that  a  full  view  of  the 
stage  is  afforded  from  all  parts  of  the  house.  The  building  is 
dedicated  to  operatic  performances,  and  the  finest  artists  of 
the  period,  Italian,  German,  French  and  English,  have  sung 
in  it.  When  not  used  for  the  opera,  the  building  is  in  request 
for  theatrical  representations,  concerts,  balls  and  public 
meetings. 

The  first  movement  toward  the  erection  of  this  building  was  in 
May,  1852.     The  project  gained  so  much  strength  that  in  October, 
22*  R  257 


258  OPERATIC THEATRICAL. 

1854,  plans  for  a  building  were  requested.  Work  was  commenced 
on  the  18th  of  June,  1855,  and  the  corner-stone  laid  on  the  26th  of 
July  of  the  same  year.  The  building  was  opened  by  a  ball  on  the 
26th  of  January,  1857.  The  first  operatic  performance  by  an 
Italian  company  was  given  February  25, 1857. 

THEATRICAL. 

Walnut  Street  Theatre,  north-east  corner  of  Ninth  and 
Walnut  streets.  Brick  building,  rough-cast,  with  an  orna- 
mental front  on  Walnut  street.  96  feet,  6  inches  front,  by 
140  feet  deep.  The  first  story  is  of  marble,  with  a  fa§ade  of 
marble  columns  of  the  Doric  order.  The  auditorium  has  three 
tiers.  There  are  about  1500  seats.  The  stage  is  of  sufficient 
capacity  for  the  display  of  show  pieces.  The  theatre  is  usually 
devoted  to  "star"  performances.  The  most  eminent  actors  and 
actresses  have  appeared  upon  its  boards. 

The  lot  was  originally  taken  up  by  Pepin  &  Breschard,  equestrians, 
who,  in  the  year  1809,  erected  a  circus  upon  the  ground.  The  build- 
ing was  afterward  fixed  up  so  as  to  be  suitable  for  theatrical  perform- 
ances, and  was  called  the  Olympic  Theatre.  It  passed  through  the 
hands  of  several  managers.  In  1828  the  interior  was  entirely  re- 
modelled. A  front  was  built,  the  side  walls  were  enlarged,  and  a 
new  house  rose  under  the  old  roof.  The  alterations  were  made  for 
Cowell,  the  manager,  but  he  did  not  open  the  house.  It  was  taken 
by  Inslee  &  Blake,  and  opened  January  1, 1829,  as  the  Walnut  Street 
Theatre.  Since  that  time  it  has  been  in  many  hands,  and  has  been 
uniformly  successful.  The  interior  has  been  once  or  twice  altered, 
and  the  seating  made  more  comfortable,  according  to  the  modern  style 
of  first-class  houses  of  entertainment. 

Arch  Street  Theatre,  north  side  of  Arch  street,  west  of  Sixth 
street.  Front  of  marble,  in  the  Italian  style,  decorated  with  a 
statue  of  Apollo  by  N.  Gevelot.  The  house  is  handsome  and 
appropriate  in  appearance.  Interior  of  three  tiers,  comfortably 
arranged  and  commodious.  The  theatre  will  seat  1500  persons. 
Stage  67  by  37  feet,  and  30  feet  high.  The  centre  of  the  dome 
is  60  feet  from  floor  to  parquet. 

The  theatre  was  built  by  a  joint  stock  company,  and  opened  on 
the  1st  of  October,  1828,  by  William  B.  Wood,  who  found  the  season 
disastrous.  It  was  afterward  under  the  management  of  Jones,  Duffy 
and  Forrest  and  William  E.  Burton  and  many  others.     Many  emi  nent 


THEATRICAL — VARIETIES.  259 

performers  have  made  their  first  appearance  here.  The  theatre  was 
for  a  long  time  a  favorite  one  with  the  late  Edwin  Forrest.  The 
building  was  remodelled  entirely,  the  front  being  changed,  in  1863, 
and  reopened  September  12th  of  that  year. 

Chestnut  Street  Theatre,  north  side  of  Chestnut  street, 
between  Twelfth  and  Thirteenth  streets.  Building  of  brick ; 
front,  in  a  handsome  style  of  architecture.  Size  66  feet  front 
by  150  feet  deep.  Width  of  the  stage  at  the  proscenium,  33  feet ; 
depth,  40  feet,  6  inches;  height  of  proscenium,  40  feet.  There 
are  three  tiers.  The  seating  is  comfortable,  and  the  interior 
handsome.     There  are  seats  for  1500  persons. 

This  theatre  was  opened  under  the  management  of  William 
Wheatley,  26th  of  January,  1863,  Edwin  Forrest  being  the  principal 
performer.  The  interior  was  rebuilt  in  1874,  and  very  considerably 
changed  and  improved  in  1875. 

Amateurs'  Drawing-room,  Seventeenth  street  above  Chesnut. 
A  small  and  neat  theatre  belonging  to  an  association  formed 
during  the  war  of  the  rebellion.  It  was  opened  in  1865  by 
an  amateur  company.  The  building  was  originally  an  Epis- 
copal church.  Occasional  dramatic  performances  are  given 
here.  The  auditorium  is  handsomely  fitted  up.  The  house 
will  hold  about  700  persons. 

Concordia  Theatre,  417  Callowhill  street,  is  occupied  as  a 
German  theatre.  Performances  are  given  there  during  the 
theatrical  seaso^i  by  operatic  and  dramatic  companies. 

The  building  was  originally  the  Second  Universalist  Church.  It 
was  purchased,  altered  and  opened  by  Ashton  &  Co.,  under  the  title 
of  the  "  City  Museum  and  Theatre,"  September  11,  1854.  It  was 
burned  November  25,  1868,  and  afterward  rebuilt  and  opened  as 
Concordia  Hall. 

Wood's  Museum,  north-west  corner  of  Ninth  and  Arch 
streets.  This  building,  besides  the  museum  of  curiosities  and 
a  menagerie,  has  a  regular  theatrical  department,  in  which 
performances  are  given. 

The  building  was  finished  and  opened  as  the  "American  Museum  " 
by  Simpson,  Carncross  &  Dixey,  November  23,  1870.  Subsequently 
it  passed  into  the  control  of  Colonel  J.  H.  Wood. 


260  MINSTRELSY— CONCERTS. 

MINSTBELSY. 
Eleventh  Street  Opera-house,  south-east  corner  of  Eleventh 
street  and  Marble  alley,  below  Market  street,  is  handsomely, 
even  luxuriously,  fitted  up,  and  commands,  at  all  times,  audi- 
ences of  the  highest  respectability,  the  performances  being 
chaste  and  amusing,  free  from  any  offensive  feature.  The 
number  of  seats  is  about  1100. 

The  building  was  originally  a  Reformed  Presbyterian  church,  and 
was  opened  December  7,  1854,  by  H.  S.  Cartee,  under  the  title  of  the 
"  Lyceum."  It  has  ever  since  been  devoted  to  Ethiopian  minstrel 
performances. 

Simmons  &.  Slocum's  Opera-house,  north  side  of  Arch  street, 
between  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets.  Building  specially  erected 
for  the  purpose.  The  interior  is  handsomely  fitted  up,  agree- 
able and  convenient.     There  are  seats  for  about  1100  persons. 

This  establishment  was  opened  as  the  Arch  Street  Opera-house, 
under  Simmons  &  Slocum,  August  20,  1870.  It  was  burned  March 
20,  1872,  and  rebuilt  and  reopened  August  26th  of  the  same  year. 

CONCERTS. 

Concert  Hall,  north  side  of  Chestnut  street,  between  Twelfth 
and  Thirteenth  streets.  The  hall  is  large,  and  will  seat  1200 
people.     It  is  in  demand  for  concerts  and  lectures. 

The  building  was  erected  by  George  W.  Watson,  partly  for  his  own 
business  purposes.  It  was  opened  for  musical  performances  by  a 
grand  concert,  in  Avhich  Madame  Sontag  and  others  participated,  on 
the  12th  of  February,  1853. 

Assembly  Buildings,  south-west  corner  of  Tenth  and  Chest- 
nut streets,  used  for  concerts,  exhibitions  and  balls. 

It  was  built  and  opened  November,  1839,  and  burned  March  18, 
1851.     Rebuilt  and  reopened  1852. 

Mannerchor  Hall,  north-east  corner  of  Franklin  street  and 
Fairmount  avenue,  is  under  charge  of  the  German  Manner- 
chor Musical  Society. 

Musical  Fund,  Horticultural  and  Handel  and  Haydn  Halls, 

all  used  for  concert  purposes,  are  fully  described  in   other 
parts  of  this  work.     See  Index. 


CHAPTEE    XXIII. 

CHURCHES. 

THEEE  were  at  the  beginning  of  October,  1875,  in  Phila- 
delphia, five  hundred  and  twenty-six  religious  congrega- 
tions, including  the  Israelites.  A  few  of  them,  which  were  new- 
ly formed  societies,  met  in  halls  and  meeting-rooms  in  various 
portions  of  the  city ;  but  over  five  hundred  of  them  were  the 
owners  of  their  own  church-buildings.  Some  of  these  were 
very  plain,  and  some  costly.  Some  had  historical  reminiscences 
connected  with  them  which  were  of  great  interest.  It  would 
be  unnecessary,  and  of  no  value  to  the  stranger,  to  give  a  de- 
tailed account  of  these  churches.  A  few  of  the  more  prominent, 
either  upon  historical  account  or  by  reason  of  the  size  and 
elegance  of  the  buildings  occupied,  will  be  mentioned,  and 
such  may  be  worthy  of  attention. 

BAPTIST. 

This  sect  commenced  worship  in  the  city  in  the  spring  of 
1695,  under  the  ministry  of  Rev.  John  Watts  of  Pennypek 
church,  who  preached  in  Philadelphia  every  other  Sunday. 
On  the  second  Sunday  of  December,  1698,  the  first  congrega- 
tion was  formed  at  the  Barbadoes  store,  north-west  corner  of 
Second  and  Chestnut  streets,  which,  at  alternate  times,  was 
occupied  by  the  Presbyterians.  Some  trouble  occurred  with 
the  latter,  and  the  Baptists  removed  to  Anthony  Morris'  brew- 
house,  "under  the  bank,  and  near  the  dock" — that  is,  in  King 
street,  now  Water  street,  near  Dock  Creek,  now  Dock  street. 
There  are  now  seventy  Baptist  congregations  in  Philadelphia. 

First,  north-west  corner  of  Broad  and  Arch  streets.  A  very 
fine  building  of  brownstone,  with  steeple  and  spire  of  the 

2fil 


262 


CHURCHES. 


same  material.  Style  of  architecture,  Norman-Gothic.  Height 
of  steeple,  225  feet.  Tower  on  the  west  end  of  the  church, 
surmounted  by  a  cupola.  The  interior  is  richly  fitted  up  and 
decorated.     The  building  was  dedicated  on  the  first  Sunday 

of  May,  1857.         

After  having 
worshipped  at  the 
brew-house  for 
some  years,  the 
First  church,  by  an 
arrangement  with 
the  Keithians,  who 
had  separated  from 
the  Society  of 
Friends,  removed 
to  the  meeting- 
house of  the  latter, 
which  was  on  the 
west  side  of  Second 
street  below  Arch. 
This  transfer  took 
place  on  the  15th 
of  March,  1707. 
The  congregation 
remained  there  for 
many  years.  In 
1731  the  wooden 
building  erected  by 
the  Keithians  was 
FIRST  BAPTIST  CHUECH.  taken  down,  and  a 

neat  brick  structure  erected  of  the  size  of  32  by  40  feet.  In  1762 
this  building  was  replaced  by  another,  much  larger,  which  was 
again  enlarged  in  1808  to  the  dimensions  of  61  by  75  feet,  and  re- 
mained until  the  new  church  at  Broad  and  Arch  streets  was  finished. 
Eminent  men  in  the  Church  have  been  pastors  of  this  congregation. 
Among  them  may  be  mentioned  Eev.  Morgan  Edwards,  a  Baptist 
historical  writer;  Rev.  William  Rogers,  chaplain  of  the  Continental 
Congress,  and  subsequently  professor  in  the  University  of  Pennsyl- 
vania ;  Rev.  Ebenezer  Kinnersly,  professor  in  the  College  of  Phila- 
delphia, and  celebrated  for  his  discoveries  in  electricity,  in  which 
science  he  was  a  companion  with  Franklin  ;  Rev.  Henry  Holcombe, 
Rev.  William  Staughton  and  others. 


CHURCHES. 


263 


Fifth,  north-west  corner  of  Eighteenth  and  Spring  Garden 
streets.  Decorated  Gothic  church  of  brownstone,  with  large 
Sunday-school  building  adjoining.  Spire,  156  feet  high.  The 
building  was  completed  in  the  spring  of  1863. 

This  church  was 
founded  January,  1811, 
by  ninety-one  persons 
who  seceded  from  the 
First  church,  and  or- 
ganized under  the  Rev. 
William  Staughton. 
They  built  on  the  south 
side  of  Sansom  street, 
between  Eighth  and 
Ninth  streets,  a  peculiar 
church-edifice  of  a 
circular  form  in  the 
interior,  and  90  feet  in 
diameter.  A  dome  rose 
over  the  centre.  The 
building  was  novel  in 
the  audience  arrange- 
ments, and  for  many 
years  attracted  much 
attention,  Mr.  Staugh- 
ton was  succeeded  by 
manj^  ministers  of  piety, 
but  in  after  years  the 
church  did  not  hold  its 
popularity.  The  re- 
moval to  the  upper  part 
of  the  city  proved  a 
happy    experiment.  ^'""'^  baptist  chubch. 

The  new  edifice  was  opened  for  worship  February  7,  1863. 

Memorial,  north-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Master  streets. 
Building  of  greenstone,  with  light  stone  trimmings.  Form 
of  the  church  on  Master  street,  that  of  an  amphitheatre. 
Main  wdndow  on  Broad  street  40  feet  high.  A  pinnacle 
spire  rises  in  the  centre  from  the  angles  at  which  the  roof 
of  the  building  meets.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  August  5, 
1874. 


264 


CHURCHES. 


Tabernacle,  north  side  of  Chestnut  street,  between  Seven- 
teenth and  Eighteenth  streets.    Building,  62  by  110  feet.    The 

front  is  formed  by  a  semi- 


circular portico  of  red  sand- 
stone pillars,  which  support 
a  steeple  213  feet  8  inches  in 
height.  The  building  was 
consecrated  in  May,  1853. 

This  church  was  organized 
about  1848,  and  for  many  years 
occupied  a  brick  church-build- 
ing in  Seventeenth  street  above 
Chestnut. 

Fourth,  north-west  corner 
of  Fifth  and  Buttonwood 
streets.  Front  supported  by 
semicircular  portico,  with 
steeple  188  feet  high.  This 
church  was  dedicated  March 
25,  1855. 

Beth-Eden,  north-west 
corner  of  Broad  and  Spruce 
streets.  Church-building  of 
I  serpentine  and  graystone, 
varied  with  red  and  black 
granite.  Style,  Gothic  inclining  toward  Venetian.  The  tower 
is  unfinished,  but  when  completed  will  be  surmounted  by  a 
spire  over  200  feet  high  from  the  pavement.  Size  of  building, 
70  by  120  feet.  Shape,  cruciform.  The  chancel  window,  19 
feet  broad  and  over  36  feet  high,  enriched  with  stone-tracery,  is 
filled  with  stained  glass  from  the  works  at  Munich,  Germany. 
The  exterior  and  interior  are  very  richly  carved,  and  the  church 
is  one  of  the  finest  in  the  city.     It  was  built  in  1868-9. 

Gethsemane,  corner  of  Eighteenth  street  and  Columbia 
avenue.  Building  of  brownstone,  in  the  Gothic  style,  with 
square  tower  116  feet  high,  topped  with  a  Mansard  roof.  The 
church  was  dedicated  April  30,  1874. 


TABERKAC1.E    CHURCH. 


CHURCHES.  265 

First  West  Philadelphia,  corner  of  Thirty-sixth  and  Chestnut 
streets.  Constructed  of  brownstone.  Main  building,  60  by 
132  feet.  Chapel,  42  by  82  feet.  Finished  in  the  spring  of 
1863. 

Berean,  Fortieth  and  Chestnut  streets.  Brownstone  build- 
ing.    Spire,  160  feet  high. 

CONGREGATIONAL. 

There  are  two  Congregational  churches  in  the  city. 

Central,  north-west  corner  of  Eighteenth  and  Green  streets, 
with  chapel  adjoining,  creates  a  showy  group  of  buildings. 
Style,  Gothic.  Material,  graystone  trimmed  with  brownstone. 
The  interior  is  very  large.  The  corner-stone  of  the  chapel 
was  laid  March  9, 1865,  and  that  building  occupied  some  years 
by  the  congregation.  The  main  church  was  dedicated  June 
2,  1872.  It  accommodates  a  much  greater  number  of  persons 
than  are  usually  provided  for  in  religious  edifices. 

SOCIETY  OF  FRIENDS  (Orthodox) 
have  nine  meeting-houses  in  the  city,  all  of  them  exceedingly 
plain  both  in  exterior  appearance  and  fitting  up.  The  oldest 
of  these,  situate  on  Arch  street,  between  Third  and  Fourth 
streets,  is  large,  and  being  shaded  by  venerable  trees  retains 
a  quiet  serenity  amidst  the  surrounding  bustle  of  the  neigh- 
borhood, which  is  in  strong  contrast.  It  stands  in  a  lot  360 
by  366  feet,  and  is  surrounded  by  a  high  brick  wall.  The 
building  is  divided  into  meeting-houses  for  men  and  for 
women,  and  is  probably  200  feet  in  front.  The  members  of 
the  society  resident  in  the  neighborhood  are  so  few  that  for 
some  years  past  services  have  not  been  held  there  on  Sunday. 
Meetings  take  place  there  on  the  fifth  day  (Thursday)  of  each 
week. 

William  Penn  gave  the  ground  upon  which  this  meeting-house 
was  erected  for  a  burial-ground  for  the  Society  of  Friends,  and  it 
was  used  for  that  purpose  for  a  century  and  a  half  by  the  original 
meetings  at  Second  and  Market  streets,  and  Front  and  Pine  streets, 
and  was  also  used  for  the  interment  of  persons  to  whom  no  other 
ground  was  open.  Thousands  of  bodies  are  buried  in  it,  and  the 
23 


266  CHUKCHES. 

ground  became  so  raised  above  the  street  that  interments  ceased 
about  1840.  The  present  meeting-house  was  erected  in  1804;  and  the 
meeting  at  Second  and  Market  streets,  occupying  a  meeting-house 
which  was  built  in  1712,  removed  to  the  new  building.  The  old 
meeting-house  was  torn  down  in  1810. 

SOCIETY  OF  FRIENDS    (Hicksites). 

The  division  of  this  society  commonly  known  as  Hicksites 
has  seven  meeting-houses.     The  principal  of  these  is  in — 

Race  Street  above  Fifteenth.  It  occupies  a  very  large  lot 
of  ground  running  from  Race  to  Cherry  street,  on  which  is 
erected  a  solid,  plain  meeting-house  divided  so  as  to  separate 
the  men  and  the  women  into  two  meetings.  There  are  also 
school-buildings  attached. 

This  congregation,  after  the  separation  caused  by  the  differences 
among  members  of  the  society  in  relation  to  the  doctrines  of  Elias 
Hicks,  purchased  a  lot  and  erected  a  building  on  the  north  side  of 
Cherry  street,  east  of  Fifth,  where  they  remained  for  many  years. 
After  the  present  meeting-house  was  opened,  in  February,  1857,  the 
old  meeting-house  was  abandoned,  and  the  building*turned  to  other 
uses. 

Girard  Avenue  Meeting-house,  north-west  corner  of  Seven- 
teenth street  and  Girard  avenue,  is  the  only  stone  building 
belonging  to  the  society  in  the  built-up  parts  of  the  city. 
It  is  the  latest  structure  erected  by  this  sect ;  and  although  the 
old  severity  of  style  is  generally  adhered  to,  there  are  some 
architectural  departures,  which  shows  that  fashion  can  have 
its  influence  even  with  the  plainest. 

HEBREW. 

There  are  ten  Jewish  synagogues  in  the  city. 

Mikve  Israel  occupies  a  solid  and  commodious  building  of 
brick,  east  side  of  Seventh  street  above  Arch,  which  was 
dedicated  May  10,  1860. 

This  congregation  is  the  oldest  of  the  Jewish  sect  in  the  city,  and 
was  organized,  it  is  believed,  as  early  as  1747.  They  worshipped  in 
a  small  house  in  Sterling  alley.  In  the  year  1782  a  lot  of  ground  was 
purchased  on  the  north  side  of  Cherry  street,  west  of  Third,  upon 
which  a  synagogue  building  was  erected.  About  the  year  1820  a 
much  handsomer  building  was  put  up  on  the  same  spot,  40  feet  front 


CHURCHES. 


267 


by  70  feet  in  depth,  constructed  of  stone,  the  front  and  interior  being 
decorated  in  the  Egyptian  style. 

Rodef  Sholem,  south-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Mount 
Vernon  streets.  This  is  a  very  large  building  of  striking  ar- 
chitectural appearance,  in  the  Saracenic  style,  constructed  of 
sandstone  decorated  with  stone  of  other  colors.  The  interior 
is  handsomely  finished,  and  the  peculiarities  of  the  style  and 
decorations  invite  much  attention.  The  steeple  on  the  corner 
of  Mount  Vernon  street  is  125  feet  high.  The  congregation 
is  of  German  origin,  and  was  the  second  of  the  Hebrew  per- 
suasion formed  in  the  city.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  July 
20,  1869,  and  the  building  dedicated  September  10,  1870. 

LUTHERAN. 

All  together,  there  are  thirty-two  Lutheran  churches  in 
Philadelphia,  of  which  seventeen  are  English,  eleven  Ger- 
man, one  Scandinavian,  one  Swedish,  and  two  under  different 
ecclesiastic  control  from  the  others. 

Zion,  Franklin  street  above  Eace,  brownstone  building. 
Steeple,  186  feet  high.  The  interior  is  handsomely  furnished. 
The  corner-stone  was  laid  May  10, 1869,  and  the  building  was 
dedicated  September  11,  1870.  Services  are  in  the  German 
language. 

Lutheranism  was  introduced  into  the  settlements  on  the  Delaware 
by  the  Swedes  as  early  as  1638.  The  Swedish  church  at  Weccacoe 
was  built  before  Penn's  arrival,  and  the  church  Gloria  Dei  was  built 
and  finished  in  1700.  Until  the  coming  of  Henry  Melchior  Muhlen- 
berg, in  1742,  German  Lutheranism  may  be  said  to  have  been  in  a 
state  of  formation.  He  first  preached  December  5,  1742,  in  a  frame 
barn  building  in  Arch  street  near  Fifth,  which  was  occupied  at  the 
same  time  by  the  German  Reformed  congregation.  On  the  5th  of 
April,  174B,  the  corner-stone  of  St.  Michael's  Lutheran  church,  Fifth 
street  above  Arch,  was  laid,  and  the  building  dedicated  August  14, 
1748.  Zion  church  was  an  ofl'shoot  of  St.  Michael's.  The  original 
church  at  the  corner  of  Fourth  and  Cherry  streets,  101  feet  long  by 
70  feet  broad,  was  built  in  1766,  burned  December  26,  1794,  and  re- 
built in  1796.  It  was  a  massive  edifice  and  venerable  in  its  ap- 
pearance. There  Congress  assembled  to  give  thanks  after  the  sur- 
render of  Cornwallis  at  Yorktowu,  and  there  were  celebrated  the 


268  CHURCHES. 

funeral  services  in  memory  of  the  death  of  Washington,  commonly 
known  as  "  Washington's  Sham  Funeral."  Many  other  memorable 
services  took  place  in  the  building,  which  was  torn  down  after  the 
present  structure  was  completed. 

St.  Mark's,  south  side  of  Spring  Garden  street,  west  of 
Thirteenth.  Building,  brownstone  front,  with  a  steeple  225 
feet  high.  This  is  a  remarkably  fine  structure.  It  was  com- 
menced in  1850,  and  finished  about  1852.  Services  in  Eng- 
lish. 

St.  John's,  English  Lutheran,  north  side  of  Eace  street,  be- 
tween Fifth  and  Sixth.  Building  of  brick,  solid  and  elegant 
in  appearance.  When  first  erected,  it  was  pronounced  by  good 
judges  "  the  handsomest  church  in  Philadelphia."  The  build- 
ing is  67  feet  by  100,  and  was  finished  in  1808.  It  stands  in 
the  centre  of  an  enclosure  used  for  a  graveyard,  in  which  are 
tombstones  and  monuments  dating  from  the  time  when  the 
church  was  erected. 

Rev.  Philip  F.  Mayer,  D.  D.,  was  the  original  pastor  of  this  con- 
gregation, and  served  it  for  more  than  fifty  years.  This  church  was 
organized  by  portions  of  the  congregations  of  Zion  and  St.  Michael's, 
in  which  services  in  the  German  language  were  kept  up.  The 
younger  members— children  of  German  parents,  educated  in  the 
English  language  and  surrounded  by  an  English-speaking  people- 
desired  that  there  should  be  occasional  services  in  English.  The 
German  members  stoutly  resisted,  and  after  considerable  dissension 
the  English  party  broke  away  and  established  St.  John's  church. 

Holy  Communion,  English  Lutheran,  south-west  corner  of 
Broad  and  Arch  streets,  will  be,  when  completed,  one  of  the 
finest  churches  in  the  city.  The  prevailing  material  is  green- 
stone variegated  with  light  sandstone  and  stone  of  other  col- 
ors. The  style  is  castellated  rather  than  ecclesiological.  The 
design  of  the  building  carries  out  the  idea  of  Luther,  "Ein 
feste  Bourg  ist  unser  Gott"— "Our  Lord  is  a  strong  castle." 
The  square  tower  at  the  north-east  corner  rises  from  the  pave- 
ment in  the  castellated  style  to  the  height  of  92  feet.  At  the 
corners  are  to  be  circular  turrets  with  pinnacles.  Above  all 
will  rise  a  slated  Mansard  roof  with  louvre  windows,  making 


CHURCHES. 


269 


CHURCH  OF  THE  HOLY  COMMUNION  (WITH  TOWER  COMPLETED). 

the  total  height  147  feet.  There  is  to  be  an  ornamental  railing 
on  the  peak.  The  main  audience-room  is  112  by  70  feet.  The 
building  is  75  feet  on  Arch  street  by  139  feet  deep.  The  style 
will  remind  the  traveller  of  the  castellated  structures  on  the 
Ehine  and  throughout  Germany.  It  is  Florid  German-Gothic. 
On  the  Arch  street  front  the  main  building  is  relieved  by  a 
covered  arcade,  the  arches  being  supported  on  polished  stone 
pillars.  The  interior  is  richly  fitted  up,  and  the  cost  of  the 
23* 


270  CHURCHES. 

building  was  over  $200,000.     This  church  was  dedicated  in 

1875. 

Emanuel,  German  Lutheran,  corner  of  Fourth  and  Carpen- 
ter streets,  is  a  fine  large  church,  with  a  lofty  steeple. 

St.   Johannes,   German,   corner  of   Fifteenth   and   Ogden 

streets.     Church  edifice  of  brick,  in  the  Gothic  style.     Steeple 

165  feet  high. 

METHODIST   EPISCOPAL. 

There  are  ninety-three  churches  of  the  Methodist  Episcopal 
persuasion  in  Philadelphia,  six  Methodist  African,  one  Zion 
African  and  one  Free  Methodist;  total,  one  hundred  and  one. 
Nearly  all  the  congregations  occupy  very  plain  brick  buildings, 
approaching  nearer  to  the  Quaker  style  of  meeting-house 
than  is  adopted  by  any  other  sect. 

St.  George's,  east  side  of  Fourth  street  below  New,  brick 
building,  rough-cast,  60  feet  front  and  85  deep,  is  the  oldest 
Methodist  church  in  the  city,  and  the  first  established  after 
the  introduction  of  the  sect. 

This  building  was  originally  intended  for  the  use  of  a  German 
Reformed  congregation,  which  adopted  the  name  of  St.  George  in 
1763.  The  effort  to  form  the  church  was  unsuccessful.  The  build- 
ing was  partly  finished,  and  stood  in  that  condition  until  1770,  when 
the  ground  and  walls  were  purchased  by  the  Methodists,  this  being 
the  first  church  occupied  by  them  in  the  city.  During  the  Revolu- 
tionary war  the  British  army  took  possession  of  the  church,  tore  out 
the  interior  and  put  the  building  in  use  as  a  riding-school.  Under 
the  itinerant  system,  a  large  number  of  clergymen  connected  with 
the  Methodist  Church  have  preached  within  these  walls,  including 
Pillmore,  Asbury,  Coke,  Whatcoat  and  many  others,  bishops  and 
clergymen.  The  interior  of  this  building  has  been  changed  according 
to  the  modern  church  fashions.  It  was  exceedingly  primitive,  and 
uncomfortable  in  regard  to  seating,  heating  and  lighting  under  the 
original  Methodist  usage.  The  front  is  the  same  as  of  the  original 
church,  except  that  the  fashion  of  the  doorways  has  been  altered 
and  the  old  bricks  have  been  covered  by  rough-casting.  The  build- 
ing was  remodelled  in  1837. 

Spring  Garden,  north-west  corner  of  Twentieth  and  Spring 
Garden  streets.  Building  of  brownstone,  with  tower  at  the 
south-east  corner.     Style,  plain  Early  English-Gothic,  without 


CHURCHES.  271 

buttresses  or  usual  accessories.  The  church  was  dedicated 
1865. 

Arch  Street,  south-east  comer  of  Arch  and  Broad  streets. 
Building,  with  Sunday-school  and  lecture-room  adjoining,  of 
white  marble,  in  the  decorated  Gothic  style,  exceedingly  strik- 
ing in  appearance,  it  being  one  of  the  finest  churches  in  the 
city.     The  spire  rises  to  the  height  of  233  feet. 

Grace,  north-west  corner  of  Broad  and  Master  streets,  is  in- 
tended to  be  in  style  and  cost  fully  equal  to  the  Arch  street 
church.  At  present  a  chapel  of  white  marble  upon  the  west 
end  of  the  lot  serves  the  purposes  of  the  congregation.  It  is 
of  the  Gothic  style,  richly  decorated  and  costly,  and  although 
to  be  eventually  superseded  by  a  principal  church-building  is 
larger  and  finer  than  many  handsome  structures  used  by 
other  sects. 

This  congregation  was  formed  in  1873,  and  the  first  chapel,  a 
wooden  building,  was  dedicated  May  4th  of  that  year.  The  present 
stone  chapel  was  finished  in  1875. 

MENNONITES. 

Never  a  strong  sect,  the  Mennonites  have  three  churches,  all 
of  which  are  plain  in  appearance.  The  oldest  of  these,  quaint 
and  interesting,  is  of  stone,  situated  in  Germantown,  upon 
Main  street  near  Tulpehocken.  It  was  built  in  1770.  There 
is  a  graveyard  in  the  rear,  in  w^hich  are  many  interesting 
monuments  and  tombstones.  The  church-building  is  at  pres- 
ent occupied  by  the  Eeformed  Episcopal  church  of  German- 
town. 

MORAVIANS. 

The  Moravians  have  four  churches,  all  of  which  are  con- 
structed in  good  taste,  but  are  not  of  striking  architectural 
appearance. 

The  First  Church,  corner  of  Franklin  and  Wood  streets,  is 
of  brick,  rough-cast,  in  the  Gothic  style,  and  adjoins  the  little 
graveyard  of  this  sect,  extending  to  Vine  street,  which  is 
noticeable  from  the  fact  that  the  gravestones  are  small  and 
laid  flat  on  the  graves,  in  accordance  with  the  Moravian 
custom.     This  church  was  consecrated  January  27,  1856. 


272  CHURCHES. 

The  history  of  the  Moravian  Church  is  of  interest  from  the  fact 
that  the  principles  of  the  sect  were  introduced  into  the  city  by  Count 
Nicholas  Lewis  von  Zinzendorf  in  person.  He  came  to  America 
in  1741  as  bishop  and  representative,  with  full  powers  from  the 
Bohemian  and  Moravian  brethren  adhering  to  the  Augsburg  Con- 
fession. He  was  for  a  season  located  in  Germantown  and  in  and 
about  Philadelphia,  acting  as  pastor  for  the  Lutherans,  but  in  con- 
sequence of  differences  of  opinion  withdrew  from  the  latter,  and 
thirty-four  of  his  adherents  formed  the  Moravian  Society  according 
to  the  original  tenets.  From  this  foundation  rose  the  Moravian 
Church  in  America.  A  lot  was  purchased  at  the  south-east  corner  of 
Bread  and  Race  streets  in  1742.  A  very  peculiar  and  odd-looking 
church  was  put  up,  the  corner-stone  being  laid  September  10  of 
that  year.  The  dedication  took  place  November  25  following.  This 
building  was  afterward  enlarged,  was  torn  down  in  1819,  and  the 
corner-stone  of  a  larger  structure  was  laid  May  10  of  that  year.  In 
1856  the  church  at  Franklin  and  AVood  streets  was  finished  and  the 
old  one  abandoned. 

The  Second  Church,  corner  of  Franklin  and  Thompson 
streets,  occupies  a  stone  building,  comfortable  and  convenient. 

NEW   CHURCH. 
The  disciples  of  Emanuel  Swedenborg  have  three  congrega- 
tions  in  the  city.     The  principal  one  is   on  the   east  side 
of  Broad  street,  above  Spring  Garden,  commodious  and  taste- 
ful in  appearance.     It  was  completed  in  1855. 

This  sect,  sometimes  called  the  New  Jerusalem  Church,  had  its 
origin  in  Philadelphia  by  the  preaching  of  Rev.  Manning  B.  Roche. 
A  congregation  was  formed,  and  a  church  40  by  60  feet  built  on 
Fourth  street,  between  German  and  Catharine,  in  1829.  The  Second 
congregation  of  the  New  Church  occupies  a  building  on  Cherry 
street  near  Twenty-fiirst,  which  was  dedicated  September  20,  1857. 

PRESBYTERIAN. 

There  are  seventy-five  churches  of  the  Presbyterian  per- 
suasion in  the  city,  eleven  United  Presbyterian,  eight  Pres- 
byterian General  Synod,  three  Presbyterian  Synod  and  one 
Presbyterian  Eeformed;  total,  ninety-eight— all  of  various 
shades  of  Presbyterian  doctrine. 

First,  south-east  corner  of  Seventh   and  Locust  streets. 


CHURCHES.  273 

Building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  75  feet  front  by  140  feet  deep, 
with  a  fine  portico,  in  the  Ionic  style,  fronting  on  Locust  street. 
The  building  was  finished  in  1822.  The  main  audience-room 
will  seat  1300  persons.     The  cupola  is  106  feet  high. 

This  congregation,  the  first  organized  in  Pennsylvania,  dates  its 
formation  from  1698,  when  the  Rev.  Jedediah  Andrews  came  from 
New  England  to  Philadelphia,  and  ofiiciated  for  the  Independents, 
as  the  Presbyterians  were  then  called,  in  the  Barbadoes  store,  north- 
west corner  of  Second  and  Chestnut  streets.  In  1704  this  congregation 
built  its  first  house  of  worship  on  Market  street,  at  the  south-east 
corner  of  White  Horse  alley,  since  called  Bank  street.  The  building 
was  enlarged  in  1729,  torn  down  and  rebuilt  with  a  handsome  Ionic 
front  in  1793.  It  was  abandoned  and  demolished  after  the  present 
church-building  was  constructed.  This  is  the  parent  Presbyterian 
church,  and  has  been  under  the  care  of  eminent  ministers  of  that 
denomination.  Mr.  Andrews  preached  there  more  than  half  a  cen- 
tury. Among  the  pastors  were  Rev.  Francis  Allison,  vice-provost, 
and  Rev.  John  Ewing,  provost,  of  the  University  of  Pennsylvania. 
Rev.  James  Patriot  Wilson  was  minister  of  the  First  church  for 
twenty-six  years.  He  was  succeeded  by  Rev.  Albert  Barnes,  whose 
fame  as  a  theologian  and  biblical  scholar  is  world-wide.  He  filled  the 
pulpit  for  thirty-eight  years. 

Second,  south-east  corner  of  Twenty-first  and  Walnut  streets. 
Building,  58  feet  wide  by  119  feet  deep,  of  stone  of  various 
colors,  including  granite,  brownstone,  redstone,  bluestone, 
green  serpentine  and  drab-colored  sandstone.  The  interior 
walls  are  finished  with  English  brick.  The  ceiling  is  60  feet 
high.  The  carvings  of  the  interior  and  exterior  are  very  rich 
with  tracery,  arabesques,  texts  and  mottoes.  The  pulpit,  of 
stone,  presents  the  figure  of  a  kneeling  angel  supporting  the 
reading-desk.  There  is  a  magnificent  organ,  which  cost  nearly 
$20,000.  At  the  north-west  corner  is  a  tower,  yet  unfinished, 
which  is  intended  to  be  surmounted  by  a  spire  rising  to  the 
height  of  202  feet. 

This  congregation  was  originally  formed  in  1743  by  seceders  from 
the  First  church,  who  were  stimulated  by  the  preaching  of  the 
celebrated  itinerant  George  Whitefield.  They  worshipped  in  a 
building  constructed  for  Whitefield,  on  Fourth  street,  south  of  Arch 
street,  which  eventually  became  the  college  and  university.     Their 

S 


274 


OHUEOHES. 


first  church-building,  at  the  north-west  corner  of  Third  and  Arch 
streets,  was  commenced  on  the  17th  of  May,  1750,  and  opened  in  the 
same  year.  It  was  enlarged  in  1809,  abandoned  in  1837,  when  a  new 
cliurch-building  of  marble,  on  the  east  side  of  Seventh  street  below 
Arch,  was  dedicated.  The  present  edifice  was  commenced  in  1809, 
and  dedicated  October  13,  1872.  Among  the  pastors  have  been  Revs. 
George  Whitefield,  Gilbert  Tennent,  Ashbel  Green,  J.  J.  Janeway, 
C.  C.  Cuyler  and  C.  W.  Shields. 


OLD  PINE  STREET  CHUKOi. 


Third,  commonly  called  "  Old  Pine  Street  Church/'  south- 
west corner  of  Fourth  and  Pine  streets.  Building  of  brick, 
rough-cast,  with  portico  of  four  Corinthian  pillars.  It  stands 
in  the  midst  of  a  graveyard.  The  western  portion  of  this 
enclosure  belong;s  to  the  congregation  of  the  First  church,  and 


tkU  \^^^iLu-.^^x  ^r_9 


SECOND  PBESBYTEBIAN  CHUECH  (WITH  THE  STEEPLE  COMPEETED). 


276  CHURCHES. 

in  it  are  many  ancient  graves  and  headstones,  David  Rit- 
tenhouse,  the  astronomer,  is  buried  here.  A  monument 
to  Captain  Charles  Ross  of  the  First  City  Troop,  erected  by 
that  organization  after  the  death  of  Captain  Ross,  October  8, 
1817,  is  surmounted  by  bronze  military  trophies,  and  will 
attract  the  attention  of  the  stranger.  Some  of  the  head- 
stones affixed  to  the  southern  wall  are  very  old,  and  were 
removed  from  the  ground  of  the  First  church  on  Market 
street.  The  eastern  portion  of  the  enclosure,  fronting  on 
Fourth  street,  belongs  to  the  Third  church,  and  is  the  resting- 
place  of  many  noted  citizens. 

This  congregation  was  established  under  the  superintendence  of 
the  First  Presbyterian  church,  and  with  the  approbation  and  assist- 
ance of  that  congregation,  on  the  10th  of  August,  1761,  The  enter- 
prise went  on  slowly.  The  house  was  finished  so  far  in  June,  1768, 
that  public  worship  was  held  in  it  for  the  first  time.  This  congrega- 
tion soon  became  involved  in  controversy  with  the  First  church,  the 
members  of  which,  it  was  thought,  were  inclined  to  exercise  too  much 
authority  over  the  new  congregation.  These  difficulties  continued 
for  some  years.  During  the  Revolution  the  British  army  took  pos- 
session of  the  church,  and  used  it  as  a  hospital.  Among  the  eminent 
pastors  of  this  church  were  Rev.  George  Duffield,  1771-1790 ;  Rev.  John 
Blair  Smith,  1791-1799;  Rev.  Archibald  Alexander,  1806-1812  ;  Rev. 
Thomas  Brainerd,  1837-1867.  This  building  was  erected  in  the  general 
style  of  the  ante-Revolutionary  times,  of  brick,  and  the  walls  yet  re- 
main ;  but  the  fashion  of  the  architecture  has  been  greatly  changed, 
so  that  from  appearance  a  stranger  would  never  suspect  that  within 
those  walls  prayer,  praise  and  homilies  have  been  heard  for  more 
than  a  century. 

Alexander,  north-east  corner  of  Nineteenth  and  Green 
streets.  A  fine  building  of  stone,  in  tlie  Gothic  style. 
Steeple  and  spire,  200  feet  high. 

This  congregation  originated  about  1858.  The  lecture-room,  now 
on  the  east  side  of  the  main  building,  was  dedicated  May  22,  1859. 

West  Arch  Street,  south-east  corner  of  Eighteenth  and 
Arch  streets.  This  is  one  of  the  finest  church  edifices  in  the 
city.  It  is  of  the  Corinthian  order  of  architecture,  with  a 
magnificent  portico  on  Arch  street,  a  central  dome,  170  feet 
high,  and  richly  ornamented  cupolas,  each  115  feet  high,  in 


CHURCHES.  277 

the  minaret  style,  at  the  corners  of  the  front.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid.  May,  1853,  and  the  building  finished  and 
opened  in  the  succeeding  year. 

This  congregation  was  originally  known  as  the  Eleventh  Presby- 
terian church.  A  building  50  by  70  feet  was  erected  for  their  use, 
on  the  south  side  of  Vine  street,  between  Twelfth  and  Thirteenth 
streets,  in  1830. 

Fifth,  south  side  of  Arch  street,  west  of  Tenth  street.  Brick 
building,  Qo  feet  front  by  85  feet  deep,  with  wooden  steeple 
165  feet  high.  This  spire  is  considered  a  handsome  specimen 
of  architecture.  It  exhibits  in  one  view,  from  the  base  to  the 
summit,  the  characteristics  of  the  Doric,  Ionic,  Corinthian 
and  Composite  orders. 

This  church  was  erected  in  1822  by  a  congregation  which  separated 
from  the  Second  church.  The  first  pastor  was  Rev.  Thomas  H.  Skin- 
ner, a  learned  and  eloquent  divine,  who  served  in  the  pulpit  for  many 
years,  and  was  very  popular. 

Calvary,  south  side  of  Locust  street  above  Fifteenth. 
Brownstone,  Gothic,  with  two  towers  and  steeples  on  the  front, 
each  135  feet  high.  The  building  was  dedicated  November, 
1858. 

West  Spruce  Street,  south-west  corner  of  Seventeenth  and 
Spruce  streets.  Massive  building  of  brick,  ornamentally  laid 
in  the  Gothic  style.  Steeple,  248  feet  high,  the  most  lofty  in 
the  city.  The  corner-stone  was  laid  April  26,  1855,  and  the 
building  dedicated  January  4,  1857. 

This  congregation  originated  in  a  colony  from  the  Tenth  church, 
Rev.  Dr.  H.  A.  Boardman,  pastor,  at  the  north-east  corner  of  Twelfth 
and  Walnut  streets. 

Bethany,  church  and  Sunday-school,  south-east  corner  of 
Twenty-second  and  Bainbridge  streets.  The  church  stands 
east  of  Twenty-second  street,  fronting  on  Bainbridge  street 
112  feet,  and  running  through  to  Pemberton  street,  making  a 
depth  of  185  feet.  It  is  built  of  Trenton  brownstone,  is 
plainly  but  substantially  finished,  and  can  seat  two  thousand 
persons.  Its  present  communion  is  over  eight  hundred  mem- 
24 


278 


CHURCHES. 


bers.  But  this  building  is  not  as  large  as  the  remarkablie 
Sunday-school  building  which  adjoins,  and  which  has  fronts 
on  Twenty-second,  Bainbridge  and  Pemberton  streets.     It  is 


BETHANY   CHURCH   AND    SUNDAY-SCHOOJ^. 

138  feet  front  by  185  feet  deep,  and  is  built  of  brownstone,  with 
bluestone  trimmings.  Style,  Gothic,  of  the  Norwegian  type, 
resembling  that  adopted  in  the  church-buildings  of  Norway 
and  Sweden,  and  presenting  an  appearance  unusual  in  this 


KOKTIl   BROAD  ST.   CHUKCH. 


280 


CHURCHES. 


country.  The  front  is  semicircular  in  form  and  composed  of 
six  gables.  There  are  two  towers,  the  principal  one  of  which, 
with  curiously-shaped  spire,  rises  to  the  height  of  105  feet,  and 
is  furnished  with  a  clock  and  bells.  This  building,  devoted  to 
Sunday-school  purposes,  is  the  largest  in  the  United  States,  and 
has  accommodations  for  twenty-eight  hundred  scholars.  Over 
twelve  hundred  children  attend  here  every  Sunday.  The  build- 
ing is  divided  into  class-rooms,  lecture-rooms,  chapels  and  other 
apartments,  and  has  seating  capacity  for  three  thousand  per- 
sons. It  was  finished  June  4, 1874.  The  church  congregation 
was  founded  in  1865. 

North  Broad  Street,  north-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Green 
streets.  Building  of  brownstone,  in  the  Norman-Gothic  style, 
70  feet  front  on  Broad  street,  115  feet  deep.  Steeple,  222  feet 
in  height.  The  corner-stone  of  this  edifice  was  laid  June  9, 
1862,  and  the  building  dedicated  in  the  succeeding  year. 

Oxford,  corner  of  Broad  and  Oxford  streets.  Building  of 
stone,  in  the  Gothic  style,  spacious  and  elegant.  Steeple, 
182  feet  high. 

Tabernacle,  south-east  corner  of  Broad  and  Olive  streets, 
above  Chestnut  street.  Brick,  rough-cast,  with  a  splendid 
Corinthian  portico  of  eight  columns,  approached  by  a  flight 
of  thirteen  steps.  A  fine  specimen  of  the  Grecian  style  of 
architecture. 

This  congregation  was  organized  in  1804  under  the  title  of  Inde- 
pendent Tabernacle.  The  next  year  a  building  was  erected  for  its 
use  in  Kanstead  court  west  of  Fourth  street,  above  Chestnut.  Rev. 
AVilliam  Hey  was  the  first  pastor.  In  1816  the  Tabernacle  was  car- 
ried over  to  the  Reformed  Dutch  denomination.  In  1819  the  mem- 
bers renounced  that  jurisdiction,  and  were  received  in  the  Presbytery 
of  Philadelphia  as  the  Seventh  Presbyterian  church.  Building, 
Broad  and  Chestnut  streets,  dedicated  December  31,  1842;  opened 
for  divine  service  next  day. 

PROTESTANT   EPISCOPAL. 

There  are  ninety -two  churches  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal 
denomination,  and  five  Reformed  Episcopal.     In  the  costliness 


CHURCHES.  281 

of  buildings  and  value  of  the  church  property  this  sect  ex- 
ceeds all  others. 

Christ  Church,  west  side  of  Second  street  above  Market. 
Building  of  brick,  60  feet  in  width  by  90  feet  in  length,  con- 
structed in  the  solid  style  of  the  early  part  of  last  century. 
A  wooden  steeple  rises  from  a  brick  tower  at  the  west  end  of 
the  church.  It  is  1 90  feet  high.  In  the  tower  will  be  found 
the  church  library,  which  contains  some  rare  books  and  trea- 
tises upon  polemical  subjects. 

This  church  occupies  the  site  of  a  frame  building  which  was  built 
in  the  year  1695,  enlarged  in  1711  and  in  1720.  The  present  struc- 
ture may  date  from  1727,  when  the  western  end  was  commenced. 
It  Avas  completed  in  1731.  The  eastern  end  is  believed  to  have  been 
commenced  in  1735,  but  it  Avas  not  finished  completely  until  August, 
1744,  when  the  vestry  voted  thanks  to  Dr.  John  Kearsley,  physician, 
a  member  of  the  church,  who  drew  the  architectural  plan  and  super- 
intended the  erection.  The  tower  and  steeple  were  built  in  1753-4 
and  a  chime  *of  bells  procured,  and  the  building  has  not  been  mate- 
rially changed  in  appearance  since  that  time.  Upon  the  eastern  end, 
above  the  great  arched  window,  at  the  time  of  the  Revolution,  was  a 
profile  bust  in  relief  of  George  III.  carved  in  wood,  and  a  crown. 
These  remained  up  until  after  peace  was  declared,  when  an  excited 
state  of  public  feeling  compelled  their  removal.  They  are  now  in  pos- 
session of  the  congregation  and  preserved  in  the  vestry-room.  The 
spire  was  also  surmounted  with  a  crown,  which  was  taken  down  after 
the  Rt.  Eev.  William  White  was  elected  bishop  of  Pennsylvania,  and 
replaced  by  a  mitre.  The  steeple  contains  a  ring  of  eight  bells,  which 
were  purchased  in  London  in  1 754.  These  bells  were  taken  out  of  the 
steeple,  with  all  other  bells  in  the  city,  before  the  British  army  entered 
Philadelphia  during  the  Revolution,  and  were  subsequently  returned. 
The  interior  of  the  church  was  also  antique  and  venerable  in  its  fit- 
ting-up,  but  very  uncomfortable.  In  1834  the  interior  was  altered  by 
the  architect,  Thomas  U.  Walter,  in  such  manner  as  to  be  suitable  to 
modern  ideas  of  convenience,  preserving  at  the  same  time  as  far  as  pos- 
sible the  antique  appearance  of  the  olden  period  and  all  features  of 
venerable  character.  This  church  was  the  leading  place  of  worship 
under  the  proprietary  government  after  the  second  visit  of  William 
Penn.  The  lieutenant-governor  and  royal  officers  attended  worship 
there.  There  was  a  particular  pew  fitted  up  for  the  use  of  the  gover- 
nors, and  during  the  time  that  Congress  and  the  Federal  government 
were  in  Philadelphia  a  pew  was  retained  for  the  use  of  the  presidents 
of  Congress  and  the  Presidents  of  the  United  States,  Washington  and 
24  « 


282 


CHURCHES. 


Adams.  Franklin  had  a  pew  at  Christ  church  for  many  years.  Under 
the  floors  and  in  the  ground  adjoining  are  buried  several  distinguished 
persons,  including  some  rectors  of  the  church.   The  Hon.  John  Penn, 


one  of  the  former  pro]n-ietanes  of  Pennsylvania,  was  buried  there  in 
1795,  and  a  tablet  to  his  memory  yet  remains.  His  body  was  removed 
to  England,  however,  some  years  ago.  The  remains  of  Bishop  William 
White,  for  many  years  rector  of  this  church-,  and  of  Robert  Morris,  the 
financier  of  the  Revolution,  lie  in  the  crypt  under  the  school-house  on 


CHUKCHES. 


283 


the  north  side  of  the  church.  The  burying-ground  belonging  to  the 
congregation  is  situated  at  the  south-east  corner  of  Arch  and  Fifth 
streets.  Many  eminent  persons  have  been  interred  witliin  that  en- 
closure. The  remains  of  Dr.  Benjamin  Franklin  and  his  wife,  Debo- 
rah, are  under  a  flat  stone,  with  proper  inscriiDtion,  close  to  the  wall  on 
Arch  street  near  to  Fifth.  A  palisade  railing  is  in  front,  so  that  the  place 


GKA\  t    Ol     IKAJSKLI^s. 

may  be  seeu  from  the  street.  In  the  yard  are  monuments  to  Commo- 
dore William  Bainbridge,  Commodore  Richard  Dale,  General  James 
Irvine,  Major  William  Jackson  of  the  Revolution,  General  Jacob 
Morgan,  Dr.  Philip  Syng  Physic,  Dr.  Benjamin  Rush,  Rev.  Bird 
Wilson  ;  Peyton  Randolph,  president  of  the  First  Continental  Con- 
gress, and  Francis  Hopkinson  were  buried  here,  but  no  monu- 
ments mark  the  spots  where  they  lie.  The  communion  service  of 
this  church  contains  som'e  antique  vessels,  which  were  presented 
by  Queen  Anne  of  England,  in  1708.  Colonel  Robert  Quarry,  in 
1712,  contributed  a  silver  basin  for  the  baptismal  font,  with  a  flagon 
and  plates.     Among  the  rectors   and   assistant  ministers   of  Christ 


284  CHURCHES. 

church  were  many  eminent  men,  among  whom  may  be  mentioned 
the  Rev.  Richard  Peters,  Rev.  Jacob  Duche,  Rt.  Rev.  Jackson 
Kemper,  afterward  bishop  of  Michigan,  Rt.  Rev.  William  White, 
first  bishop  of  Pennsylvania,  Rt.  Rev.  W.  H.  Delancey,  bishop 
of  New  York,  and  others, 

St.  Peter's,  south-west  corner  of  Third  and  Pine  streets,  60 
feet  front  by  90  in  depth.  The  spire  and  tower  are  218  feet 
high.  They  were  finished  in  September,  1842,  and  the  chime 
of  eight  bells  which  they  contain  were  presented  to  the 
church  by  Benjamin  Wilcocks,  and  first  rung  November  8d  of 
the  same  year.  In  the  burial-ground  attached  to  the  church 
is  the  tomb  of  the  Rev.  Jacob  Duch6,  an  inscription  to  whose 
memory  is  on  the  eastern  front  of  the  building.  The  remains 
of  Commodore  Stephen  Decatur  were  removed  here  in  1844, 
and  the  place  where  they  rest  is  shoAvn  by  a  fine  tall  Ionic 
pillar  of  marble  surmounted  by  an  eagle. 

This  church-building  was  commenced  September  21,  1758,  and 
finished  and  dedicated  on  the  4th  of  September,  1761.  It  was  estab- 
lished by  the  vestry  and  members  of  Christ  church,  and  the  govern- 
ment was  for  a  long  time  under  the  control  of  one  vestry,  which 
directed  the  affairs  of  both  churches,  and  the  rector  and  assistant 
minister  preached  in  either  church  as  occasion  required.  This 
building,  in  its  exterior  appearance  and  interior  arrangements, 
retains  many  of  its  ancient  architectural  features,  among  which 
may  be  particularly  noticed  the  old  style  high-back  pews,  which 
cannot  be  found  in  any  other  church  in  Philadelphia.  The  name 
of  the  Rev.  Jacob  Duche,  "who  delivered  the  first  prayer  in  Con- 
gress," has  been  frequently  associated  with  this  church,  and  it 
is  probable  that  before  the  Revolution  his  principal  services  were 
at  St.  Peter's.  Duche's  subsequent  history,  in  consequence  of  his 
defection  from  the  American  cause  during  the  Revolution,  is  well 
known.  The  union  between  Christ  church  and  St.  Peter's  was  severed 
in  1832.  Among  the  rectors  after  that  time  was  Rev.  William  H. 
Odenheimer,  afterward  bishop  of  New  Jersey.  General  Washington 
at  one  time,  probably  while  attending  the  convention  to  form  the 
Constitution  of  the  United  States,  resided  near  St.  Peter's,  and  was 
an  attendant  there. 

St.  Paul's,  east  side  of  Third  street  below^  Walnut.  Build- 
ing of  brick,  rough-cast,  90  feet  long  and  60  wide.  The  edifice 
is  the  original  one,  but  w^as  greatly  altered  inside  and  out  in 


CHURCHES.  285 

1832,  so  as  to  present  a  modern  appearance.  There  are  vaults 
on  each  side  of  the  church,  in  one  of  which  are  the  remains 
of  Edwin  Forrest,  the  tragedian.  A  small  burying-ground  in 
the  rear  is  filled  up  with  graves.  A  tablet  on  the  east  wall 
commemorates  the  virtues  of  Rev.  Dr.  Pillmore,  formerly 
rector. 

The  church -building  was  constructed  in  1761,  and  opened  on  the 
20th  of  December  in  that  year.  It  was  in  some  respects  an  inde- 
pendent church,  and  erected  in  consequence  of  difKcubies  among 
the  members  of  Christ  church,  caused  by  the  refusal  of  the  Jatter  to 
allow  the  Rev.  William  McClenachan,  who  had  served  for  a  time  at 
Christ  church  as  assistant  minister  and  become  popular  with  some  of 
the  congregation,  to  officiate  further  at  that  church.  His  adherents 
withdrew  and  formed  St.  Paul's.  For  eleven  years  the  bishop  of 
London  refused  to  recognize  the  ministers  serving  at  this  church. 
In  1772  the  difficulty  was  removed,  and  St.  Paul's  congregation  was 
recognized  as  in  communion  with  the  Church  of  England.  Among 
the  rectors  subsequently  were  eminent  men,  among  whom  may  be 
mentioned  the  Rev.  Samuel  Magaw,  Eev.  Joseph  Pillmore  and 
Stephen  H.  Tyng,  since  rector  of  St.  George's,  New  York. 

Gloria  Dei  (Old  Swedes'),  east  side  of  Swanson  street  below 
Christian,  near  the  Delaware  Eiver.  This  venerable  church, 
the  oldest  in  the  city,  is  of  black  and  red  brick,  with  a  quaint 
little  belfry  perched  on  the  western  end.  It  is  30  feet  in  width 
by  60  deep.  The  interior  has  been  very  much  altered  of  late 
years.  In  1846  a  gallery  was  erected  on  three  sides  of  the 
church  and  windows  cut  in  the  walls.  In  the  front  of  the 
gallery  are  curious  carvings  of  cherubim,  also  ancient. 

This  venerable  edifice  until  1843  was  attached  to  the  communion 
of  the  Swedish  Lutheran  Church,  and  was  for  one  hundred  and 
thirty  years  under  the  charge  of  ministers  sent  from  Sweden.  The 
building  occupies  the  site  of  a  log  church,  which  was  also  designed 
to  be  made  use  of  as  a  block-house  for  defence  against  Indians, 
which  was  erected  by  the  Swedes  before  the  English  came  to  Penn- 
sylvania. That  part  of  the  city  was  called  Wicaco,  from  the  name 
of  an  Indian  village  near  by.  The  present  brick  church  was  begun 
on  the  28th  of  May,  1698,  and  the  building  was  dedicated  July  2, 
1700,  by  the  Rev.  Eric  Biork,  who  preached  from  2  Samuel  v.  29. 
The  church  was  Swedish  Lutheran.  By  the  cutting  down  of  the 
street    alongside  of  it,  the  cellar  has  come  to  be  above   ground. 


286 


CHURCHES. 


Porches  were  i)laced  on  the  north  and  south  sides  of  the  building  ia 
1702,  and  the  Jittle  steeple  and  bell  were  subsequently  added.  An 
antique  font  still  in  possession  of  the  church  is  believed  to  have  been 
used  at  Tinieum  or  at  the  Wicaco  block-house  church  before  the 
present  church-building  was  erected.  The  tenets  of  the  original 
worshippers  at  this  church  were  Lutheran.  The  pulpit  was  filled 
by  a  succession  of  pastors  sent  out  from  Sweden.  The  last  of  these 
was  the  Rev.  Nicholas  Collin,  who  was  sent  out  during  the  Revolu- 
tion, and  who  remained  in  charge  of  Gloria  Dei  until  his  death,  in 


OLD    feWEDES'    CHURCH  (GLORIA  DEI). 

1831.  He  was  a  man  of  science  and  learning,  a  prominent  member 
of  the  Philosophical  Society,  and  a  leading  citizen  of  Philadelphia 
for  fifty  years.  Before  the  death  of  Mr.  Collin  the  services  in  the 
Swedish  language  ceased  entirely;  and  the  majority  of  the  congrega- 
tion inclining  to  the  mode  of  worship  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal 
Church,  the  organization  was  carried  over  to  that  communion.  The 
graveyard  connected  with  this  church  extended  west  beyond  the  line 
of  Second  street,  where  a  portion  of  it  yet  remains.  In  the  ground 
attached  to  the  church  are  many  old  tombstones  dating  back  long 
before  the  Revolution.    The  remains  of  Alexander  Wilson,  the  cele- 


CHUPvCFrES.  287 

brated  naturalist  and  poet,  wiiose  works  in  description  of  tlie  birds 
of  America  are  the  most  complete  and  wonderful  of  the  essays  upon 
natural  history  ever  written,  lie  buried  in  this  ground,  his  tomb  be- 
ing near  the  western  door  of  the  church  and  in  a  conspicuous  position. 

Trinity,  Oxford  road  near  Fox  Cliase,  about  two  and  a  half 
miles  north-west  of  Frankford.  Brick  building,  decorated  wdth 
black  brick.  Next  to  Gloria  Dei,  it  is  the  oldest  church  in 
Philadelphia. 

The  congregation  was  established  in  1698,  worshipped  in  a  log 
church  until  some  time  after  1709  and  before  1714,  when  a  brick 
church  was  built,  which  is  still  standing,  with  additions,  and  is 
venerable  in  its  appearance.  For  many  years  this  church  was  im- 
perfectly supplied,  having  to  rely  upon  the  services  of  missionaries 
sent  out  from  England.  Among  its  most  eminent  rectoi-s  have  been 
the  Eev.  William  Smith,  provost  of  the  Univei-sity  of  Pennsylvania, 
and  Rt.  Eev.  John  Henry  Hobart,  afterward  bishop  of  ]!sew  York. 

St.  James',  of  Kingsessing  (Swedish),  south-eastern  side  of 
Darby  road,  a  short  distance  east  of  the  Blue  Bell  Tavern. 
Building  of  graystone,  rustic  work,  pointed  with  white 
mortar,  in  -which  pebbles  are  embedded.  It  is  a  curious 
specimen  of  the  Pennsylvania  style  of  building  in  the 
middle  of  the  last  century.  The  graveyard  attached  contains 
many  tombstones,  conspicuous  among  which  is  one  to  the 
memory  of  General  Josiah  Harmer  of  Revolutionary  fame. 

This  church  was  originally  Swedish  Lutheran,  using  the  English 
tongue,  and  vras  united  with  the  Gloria  Dei.  The  members  carried 
the  congregation  to  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church  about  the  same 
time  that  the  former  church  joined  that  connection.  The  church 
was  built  in  1762-3,  but  has  been  since  enlarged  by  an  addition  which 
doubles  its  size.    The  western  portion  is  the  original  church. 

St.  James',  north-west  corner  of  Twenty-second  and  Walnut 
streets.  Building  in  the  Gothic  style,  of  stone  of  different 
colors,  having  a  fine  Sunday-school  hall  attached.  The  in- 
terior is  richly  decorated  and  arranged,  and  is  shrouded  with 
a  dim  religious  light. 

This  church  was  originally  united  with  Christ  church,  and  occu- 
pied a  plain  brick  building  on  Seventh  street  north  of  Market,  which 
was  consecrated  May  1,  1809.  The  corner-stone  of  the  present  build- 
ing was  laid  May  9,  1870. 


288 


CHURCHES. 


St.  Stephen's,  east  side  of  Tenth  street  below  Market. 
Building  of  brick,  rough-cast.  The  front  is  flanked  with 
octagonal  towers  86  feet  in  height,  comprising  five  stories, 
with  windows  and  offsets  terminating  in  battle  parapets. 
These  towers  are  connected  by  a  screen  30  feet  in  width  and 


/ 


\ 


BURB  MONUMENT  IN  ST.    STEPHEN'S    CHURCH. 

60  feet  high.     The  length  of  the  building  is  102  feet,  breadth 

61  feet.  The  interior  is  highly  finished  in  the  Gothic  style, 
and  considered  one  of  the  most  perfect  specimens  of  that 
architecture  in  the  country.  On  the  northern  side  a  small 
chapel  opens,  in  which  is  the  Burd  monument,  beautiful 
figures  of  pure  white  marble,  erected  by  Edward  Shippen 
Burd  in  memory  of  members  of  his  family.  A  chime  of 
bells  is  in  the  tower. 


CHURCHES.  289 

The  building  was  originally  erected  for  the  purposes  of  the  Methodist 
church  of  St.  Thomas,  and  was  for  some  j'^ears  occupied  by  that  sect. 
The  congregation  failing,  the  church-building  was  sold,  and  was 
bought  by  the  Episcopalians,  who  changed  the  interior  and  exterior 
and  consecrated  it  as  St.  Stephen's  church,  Feb.  27,  1823. 

St.  Andrew's,  west  side  of  Eighth  street,  between  Locust  and 
Spruce  streets.  Building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  65  feet  front 
by  130  deep.  A  magnificent  portico  of  six  columns,  in  the 
Corinthian  style,  fronts  upon  the  street  It  is  a  copy  of  the 
portico  of  the  temple  of  Bacchus  at  Teos.  The  interior  is 
handsomely  decorated  in  the  Grecian  style. 

The  corner-stone  was  laid  September  5, 1822,  and  church  dedicated 
May  21,  1823,  under  the  rectorship  of  Eey.  G.  T.  Bedell,  who  re- 
mained in  charge  until  his  death,  in  1834.  Several  eminent  clergy- 
men have  been  in  service  of  this  church,  among  whom  may  be 
mentioned  Rev.  Thomas  March  Clark,  1843-1847,  afterward  bishop 
of  Rhode  Island;  William  Bacon  Stevens,  1847-1862,  afterward 
bishop  of  Pennsylvania. 

St.  Mark's,  north  side  of  Locust  street,  between  Sixteenth 
and  Seventeenth  streets.  Building  of  brownstone.  Decorated 
Gothic.  It  extends  from  east  to  west  on  Locust  street,  with  a 
front  of  150  feet  on  the  latter,  and  a  depth  of  91  feet.  It  is 
constructed,  in  the  interior  and  exterior,  entirely  of  stone  and 
wood-work  of  solid  oak.  The  tower  forms  the  south  porch 
and  principal  place  of  entrance,  by  a  richly  moulded  doorway, 
ornamented  with  foliated  shafts.  The  aisles  are  lighted  by 
windows  divided  by  muUions  of  stone.  The  tower  and  spire 
are  of  peculiar  beauty,  and  rise  to  the  height  of  170  feet.  The 
interior  is  divided  into  chancel,  nave  and  aisle.  The  windows 
are  decorated  with  stained  glass.  The  altar  is  of  stone.  The 
church  is  the  finest  specimen  of  Gothic  architecture  to  be 
found  in  the  city.  It  was  built  in  1849,  and  dedicated  Mav 
21, 1850. 

Holy  Trinity,  south-west  corner  of  Walnut  street  and  Eit- 
tenhouse  square.  Building  of  brownstone,  in  the  Gothic  style, 
with  a  fine  Sunday-school  building  adjoining  on  the  west. 
Tower  at  the  south-east  corner,  150  feet  high.  The  interior 
is  an  imposing  example  of  the  effect  which  can  be  produced 
25  T 


290  CHURCHES. 

by  the  Gotliic  style  of  architecture.    The  pews  and  chancel 
are  handsomely  furnished. 

The  corner-stone  of  this  church  was  laid  May  25,  1857,  and  the 
building  opened  for  v7orship  March  27, 1859.  The  rectors  have  been 
clergymen  of  great  eminence  as  scholars  and  orators.  Among  them 
were  A.  H.  Vinton,  Phillips  Brooks  and  Thomas  A.  Jaggar,  the  latter 
lately  elected  bishop  of  Southern  Ohio, 

Epiphany,  north-west  corner  of  Fifteenth  and  Chestnut 
streets.  Brick  church,  rough-cast,  portico  in  front,  of  double 
rows  of  Doric  columns ;  presents  a  rich  and  impressive  appear- 
ance. The  church  stands  back  from  Chestnut  sti-eet,  so  that 
the  view  of  the  proportions  of  the  building  is  unobstructed. 
The  interior  is  capacious,  and  will  accommodate  a  larger 
number  of  worshippers  than  is  usual  in  other  churches. 

The  congregation  was  formed  among  members  of  St.  Paul's  church, 
and  the  rector  of  the  latter,  Eev.  S.  H.  Tyng,  accompanied  them  to 
the  new  church,  which  was  consecrated  on  the  11th  of  October,  1834. 

St.  Clement's,  south-west  corner  of  Twentieth  and  Cherry 
streets.  Building  of  brownstone,  in  the  French-Gothic  style. 
The  chancel  of  the  church  adjoins  Twentieth  sti-eet,  and  is  in 
the  style  of  the  cathedral  of  St.  Denis  near  Paris.  The  entrance 
is  at  the  west  end  of  the  church  from  the  south  yard  and  from 
Cherry  street.  A  tower  on  the  north-east  corner  of  the  church 
is  surmounted  by  a  cross.  There  was  formerly  a  spire  above 
the  tower,  which  was  taken  down  a  few  years  ago  in  conse- 
quence of  being  in  a  decayed  and  dangerous  condition.  This 
church  is  strongly  ritualistic  in  its  ceremonies,  and  is  notable 
to  strangers  on  that  account. 

The  building  was  finished  and  first  opened  for  worship  in  January, 
1859,  and  was  then  under  the  rectorship  of  Rev.  Henry  S.  Spack- 
man. 

St.  Luke's,  west  side  of  Thirteenth  street  below  Spruce. 
Building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  with  portico  in  the  Corinthian 
style,  richly  decorated.     The  interior  is  handsome. 

This  church  has  supplied  to  the  House  of  Bishops  Mark  Anthony 
DeWolf  Howe,  bishop  of  Central  Pennsylvania,  and  W.  H.  Hare, 
bishop  of  Niobrara. 


CHURCHES.  291 

Incarnation,  corner  of  Broad  and  Jefferson  streets.  Build- 
ing of  brownstone,  100  feet  wide  by  160  deep,  one  of  the 
largest  Episcopal  churches  in  the  city.  The  corner-stone  was 
laid  December  15,  1858,  and  the  building  was  occupied  in 
1860. 

St.  James  the  Less,  Nicetown  lane  near  Eidge  avenue. 
Building  entirely  of  stone,  in  the  Early  English-Gothic  style, 
with  a  tower  80  feet  high,  stands  in  a  churchyard  in  which 
are  several  fine  monuments.  The  interior  is  esteemed  one  of 
the  best  specimens  of  Gothic  architecture  in  the  United 
States. 

REFORMED  (GERMAN). 

There  are  seventeen  churches  of  the  Eeformed  denomina- 
tion, formerly  known  as  German  Eeformed,  but  now  strictly 
called  the  Eeformed  Church  in  the  United  States. 

First,  south  side  of  Eace  street  below  Fourth,  occupies  a 
very  plain  brick  building.  It  is  the  representative  church  of 
the  sect,  although  not  so  old  as  the  church  at  Germantown, 
established  in  1728.     Services  in  English. 

This  congregation  was  formed  in  1732,  by  Eev.  George  Michael 
Weiss,  and  was  known  as  the  German  Eeformed.  Services  were  held 
together  with  the  Lutherans,  in  1734,  in  a  barn  in  Arch  street  near 
Fifth.  Rev.  Michael  Schlatter  succeeded  Weiss,  and  under  his  min- 
istration a  church-building  was  erected  on  the  site  of  the  present 
edifice,  and  opened  for  worship,  although  in  an  unfinished  state,  on 
the  6th  of  December,  1747.  The  building  was  of  stone,  hexagonal 
in  shape,  the  roof  running  up  to  a  point,  surmounted  by  a  small  cupo- 
la and  a  weather-cock.  It  was  called  in  common  parlance  the  "  Six- 
square  Dutch  Church  "  and  the  "Calvinistic  Dutch  Church."  This 
building  was  taken  down  in  1762,  and  a  new  one  erected  in  shape 
of  a  parallelogram,  65  by  90  feet.  The  present  building  is  the  third 
which  has  stood  upon  this  site.     It  was  erected  in  1837. 

Christ,  south  side  of  Green  street,  between  Fifteenth  and 
Sixteenth.  Handsome  building,  with  a  slender  steeple  of 
graceful  form.     Services  in  English. 

Salem,  north  side  of  Fairmount  avenue,  east  of  Fourth 
street.  Building  dedicated  October  11, 1874.  Steeple  150  feet 
high,  with  clock  and  a  ring  of  four  bells.    Services  in  German. 


292  CHURCHES. 

REFORMED  (DUTCH). 

There  are  three  churches  belonging  to  this  sect,  formerly 
called  the  Reformed  Dutch,  now  known  as  the  Reformed 
Church  in  America.      Services  are  in  the  English  language. 

First,  north-west  corner  of  Seventh  and  Spring  Garden 
streets.  Very  handsome  building,  71  by  115  feet,  with  a 
noble  Grecian  portico  on  the  main  front.  The  corner-stone 
was  laid  December  15,  1853.  The  building  was  dedicated 
April  29, 1855. 

This  congregation  was  established  in  1808,  and  the  next  year  went 
under  the  charge  of  Rev.  Jaraes  K.  Burch,  and  was  principally  com- 
posed of  descendants  of  members  of  the  German  Reformed  Church  who 
desired  to  have  preaching  in  the  English  language.  Refusal  to  allow 
this  favor  led  to  a  separation  and  the  building  of  a  church  on  the 
west  side  of  Crown  street,  north  of  Race,  which  was  opened  for  wor 
ship  in  1810.  Mr.  Burch  was  followed  in  the  ministry  by  Rev. 
Joseph  Broadhead,  Rev.  John  Ludlow,  for  many  years  provost  in 
the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  G.  R.  Livingston,  G.  W.  Bethune, 
and  others. 

Second,  east  side  of  Seventh  street  above  Brown.  Build- 
ing of  brick,  with  fine  Grecian  portico. 

ROMAN   CATHOLIC. 

There  are  forty-two  churches  of  this  persuasion  in  the  city. 
All  the  congregations  are  large,  having  several  services  daily, 
so  that  one  church  will  accommodate  many  worshippers. 

St.  Joseph's,  north  side  of  Willing's  alley,  between  Third 
and  Fourth  streets.  Brick  building,  40  feet  in  width  by  100 
in  depth,  which  was  consecrated  in  1839. 

This  church  occupies  the  site  upon  which  was  built  old  St.  Jo- 
seph's, the  first  Catholic  church  in  Pennsylvania.  It  was  built 
under  the  direction  of  Father  Joseph  Greaton,  a  member  of  the 
Society  of  Jesus,  who  was  sent  from  Maryland  to  Pennsylvania  for 
that  purpose  in  the  year  1731-2.  It  is  said  that  the  original  congre- 
gation consisted  of  only  eleven  members.  The  church  and  the  dwell- 
ing-house of  the  priest  were  under  one  roof,  and  when  enlarged  some 
years  afterward  occupied  no  greater  space  than  40  feet  by  40.  This 
building  served  the  purpose  of  its  construction  until  1821,  when  it 
was  enlarged.     It  was  torn  down  in  1837. 


CHURCHES.  293 

St.  Mary's,  west  side  of  Fourth  street  below  Locust.  Brick 
building,  of  plain  architecture,  71  feet  front  by  100  deep. 
The  burying-ground  attached  extends  through  to  Fifth  street. 
The  remains  of  Commodore  John  Barry  of  the  Revolutionary 
navy,  and  Thomas  Fitzsimons,  a  member  of  the  Continental 
Congress  and  a  merchant  of  influence,  lie  in  the  enclosure. 

This  church  was  the  second  building  erected  in  Philadelphia  for 
use  of  worshippers  of  the  Roman  Catholic  persuasion.  The  ground 
was  purchased  in  1759-60,  with  the  approbation  and  at  the  instance 
of  Father  Robert  Harding  of  St.  Josei^h's.  The  money  was  coatrib- 
uted  almost  entirely  by  members  of  St.  Joseph's  congregation.  In 
1763  the  church-building  was  erected  on  the  eastern  part  of  the 
ground,  and  the  church  was  considered  the  property  of  the  members 
of  the  order  of  Jesus,  and  was  an  appendage  of  the  church  of  St.  Jo- 
seph's. The  ecclesiastical  affairs  of  Pennsylvania  were  administered 
after  the  Revolution  as  a  part  of  the  diocese  of  the  province  of 
Baltimore  by  Archbishop  Carrol.  In  1810  the  Rt.  Rev.  Michael 
Egan  was  created  the  first  bishop  of  Philadelphia,  and  St.  Mary's 
became  the  cathedral  church,  and  was  so  considered  for  many  years. 
In  the  same  year,  1810,  the  church  was  enlarged  and  altered.  No 
particular  change  has  been  made  in  its  appearance  since  that  time. 

Cathedral  of  St.  Peter  and  St.  Paul,  east  side  of  Eighteenth 
street,  between  Race  and  Vine,  136  feet  front,  216  feet  in 
length,  101  feet  6  inches  high  to  the  apex  of  the  pediment. 
The  extreme  height  of  the  dome  is  210  feet.  The  interior  of 
the  building  is  cruciform,  and  designed  in  the  most  elaborate 
Roman-Corinthian  style.  The  nave  is  50  feet  wide  by  182 
long;  the  transepts  are  50  feet  wide  by  128  long;  the  vaulted 
ceiling  is  80  feet  high.  The  sanctuary  or  chancel  is  50  feet 
wide  and  46  deep.  The  dome  is  at  the  base  51  feet  in  diame- 
ter, and  at  its  height  156  feet  above  the  pavement.  There  are 
chapels  on  each  side  of  the  church  22  feet  wide  and  39  long. 
There  are  no  side  windows;  light  is  received  from  above. 
The  pavement  is  of  marble,  laid  on  brick  arches.  Over  the 
grand  altar  is  a  painting  of  the  Crucifixion,  by  Constantine 
Brumidi.  There  are  four  figures  in  chiaro  oscuro  of  the  apos- 
tles Peter,  Paul,  John  and  James.  The  dome  is  decorated  with 
the  painting  of  the  Assumption  of  the  Virgin.  The  front  is 
of  the  Roman-Corinthian  order,  consisting  of  a  portico  of  four 
25  « 


294  CHURCHES. 

columns,  60  feet  high  and  6  feet  in  diameter,  finished  with 
richly  sculptured  bases  and  capitals.  On  the  frieze  of  the 
pediment  are  engraved  the  words  "Ad  majorum  Dei  gloriam." 
The  main  entrance  is  approached  by  a  flight  of  9  steps  48  feet 
long.  Wings  on  each  side  of  the  portico  are  decorated  with 
pilasters  and  niches  for  statues. 

The  corner-stone  of  this  building  was  laid  September  6,  1846,  by 
Bishop  Kenrick.  The  work  upon  it  was  continued  during  his  ad- 
ministration of  the  episcopal  office.  It  was  under  the  care  of  Bishop 
Neuman,  and  the  work  finished  under  Bishop  Wood.  Eeligious  ser- 
vices were  first  held  in  the  cathedral  on  Easter  Sunday  of  1863,  but 
the  building  was  still  unfinished.  It  was  dedicated  November  20, 
1864,  by  Eev.  Bishop  Wood,  three  archbishops,  twelve  bishops  and 
nearly  four  hundred  priests. 

St.  John  the  Evangelist,  east  side  of  Thirteenth  street,  above 
Chestnut.  Large  building,  in  the  Gothic  style,  of  brick,  rough- 
cast, with  square  towers  in  front.  It  was  finished  about  1832, 
principally  by  the  exertions  of  Eev.  John  Hughes,  afterward 
archbishop  of  New  York.  The  building  is  large,  and  will  seat 
two  thousand  persons.  The  paintings  are  by  fine  artists.  The 
altar-piece,  in  fresco,  by  Nicholas  Monachesi,  was  finished  in 
1832,  and  was  the  first  piece  of  fresco  painting  ever  executed 
in  America. 

Holy  Trinity  (German),  north-west  corner  of  Sixth  and 
Spruce  streets,  was  the  third  Catholic  church  erected  in  the 
city.  It  is  of  black  and  red  brick,  old-fashioned  and  quaint 
in  style,  60  feet  on  Sixth  by  100  on  Spruce  street.  A  small 
burying-ground  is  attached.  The  church  was  dedicated  for  the 
use  of  German  Catholics  in  1789.  The  body  of  Stephen  Gi- 
rard  was  for  several  years  deposited  in  a  vault  belonging  to 
this  church. 

St.  Augustine's,  west  side  of  Fourth  street  below  Vine. 
Building  of  brick,  constructed  under  the  directions  of  her- 
mits of  the  order  of  St.  Augustine.  It  is  62  feet  front  by  125 
feet  deep.    The  steeple  is  188  feet  high. 

The  corner-stone  of  the  original  church  was  laid  by  Rev.  Dr. 
Hurley,  September,  1796,  and  the  church  dedicated  June  7, 1801.  In 
the  interior,  over  the  altar,  was  Rush's  great  work,  sculptured  in 


CATJIKDKAI.  OF  ST.  PBTEB  AND  ST.  PAUL. 


296  CHURCHES. 

wood,  of  the  Crucifixion^  representlBg  Christ  on  the  cross.  The  front 
of  the  church  was  improved  in  1826,  and  a  cupola  erected  which 
contained  a  clock  and  bell,  the  latter  being  the  old  bell  from  the 
State-house,  which  had  belonged  to  Pennsylvania  in  colonial  times. 
This  building  was  set  on  fire  and  totally  destroyed  during  the  Na- 
tive American  riots  on  the  8th  of  May,  1844.  The  present  church- 
building  was  finished  in  1846; 

Assumption,  north  side  of  Spring  Garden  street  east  of 
Twelfth.  Church  of  brownstone,  Gothic,  with  two  towers  and 
spires  160  feet  each  in  height,  handsomely  decorated  in  the 
interior.  It  is  75  feet  in  width  by  116  in  depth.  The  corner- 
stone was  laid  in  1848,  and  the  building  dedicated  in  aSTovem- 
ber,  1849. 

St.  Peter's,  south-east  comer  of  Fifth  street  and  Girard 
avenue.  Building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  78  feet  wide  in  front, 
170  feet  deep.  The  style  is  of  the  Roman-Corinthian.  The 
massive  tower  in  the  centre  is  surmounted  by  a  spire,  which 
rises  to  the  height  of  235  feet  and  contains  a  clock  and  bells. 
There  is  a  chapel  in  the  first  story  which  will  accommodate 
four  hundred  persons,  and  apartments  for  the  use  of  the  Sun- 
day-schools. The  ceiling  of  the  main  story  is  44  feet  above 
the  floor,  and  is  supported  by  fluted  Composite  pilasters  raised 
on  panelled  pedestals  9  feet  high.  The  sanctuary  is  35  feet 
deep.  There  are  three  altars,  the  principal  one  being  of  Ital- 
ian marble.  There  is  space  enough  in  the  main  chamber  of 
the  church  to  accommodate  two  thousand  people  seated. 

This  building  belongs  to  the  order  of  Redemptionists,  who  have 
schools  and  monastic  buildings  adjoining.  The  church  was  com- 
menced in  1843,  and  the  interior  completed  in  1847. 

Annurtcsatlon,  Tenth  street  below  Dickinson.  Building  of 
brick.  Steeple  200  feet  high.  The  corner-stone  was  laid 
April  19,  1860 ;  the  building  was  finished  in  the  fall  of  1862, 
and  dedicated  April  19,  1863. 

St.  Bonifacius,  Diamond  street,  between  Front  and  Second 
and  Howard  and  Hancock,  opposite  Norris  square.  Church- 
building  of  brownstone  in  the  Decorated  Gothic  style,  mass- 
ive and  striking  in  appearance.    A  splendid  stone  steeple  and 


CHURCHES.  297 

spire  rises  from  the  front.  The  interior  is  fitted  up  in  good 
style  and  is  capacious.  The  situation  is  well  chosen  and  gives 
opportunity  for  display  of  the  elegance  of  the  architecture. 

UNITARIAN. 

There  are  two  churches  of  this  denomination  in  Philadelphia. 

First,  north-east  corner  of  Tenth  and  Locust  streets.  A 
handsome  building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  with  marble  front 
and  Grecian-Doric  portico  of  marble,  61  feet  front  by  83  deep. 

This  society  was  formed  by  the  celebrated  Dr.  Priestley  shortly  be- 
fore the  beginning  of  the  present  century.  The  members  met  for 
many  years  in  Chiirch  alley.  They  purchased  the  lot  upon  which 
their  church  stands  in  1813,  and  built  a  small  house,  which  was  en- 
larged to  the  size  of  the  present  building  in  1829.  For  more  than 
fifty  years  Rev.  William  H.  Furness  was  pastor  of  this  congregation, 
and  has  only  recently  retired. 

UNIVERSALIST. 

There  are  three  Universalist  churches  in  Philadelphia. 
First,   Lombard    street   west    of   Fourth.     A   plain  brick 
building. 

The  Universalists  take  their  rise  in  the  city  from  the  preaching  of 
John  Murray,  who  came  from  England  in  1773,  and  had  some  follow- 
ers. Rev.  Elhanan  Winchester  of  the  Baptist  Church  preached  the 
doctrine  of  universal  salvation  in  1781  at  the  First  Baptist  church, 
in  Second  street.  This  proceeding  caused  great  excitement  and  a 
withdrawal  of  a  portion  of  the  members,  who  adopted  the  title  of  the 
"  Society  of  Universal  Baptists."  The  congregation  was  formed  4th 
of  January,  1782,  in  University  Hall,  North  Fourth  street.  After- 
ward they  met  in  Free  Masons'  lodge  in  Lodge  alley.  The  ground 
in  Lombard  street  was  bought  in  1793,  and  the  building  erected  so  as 
to  be  used  during  the  same  year,  but  was  not  completely  finished 
u!itil  many  years  afterward. 

iVIessiah,  north-east  corner  of  Locust  and  Juniper  streets. 
Building  of  brick,  rough-cast,  in  the  collegiate  Gothic  style. 

This  congregation  was  formed  in  the  early  part  of  1850,  and  met 
for  worship  for  some  time  in  the  Assembly  Building,  Tenth  and 
Chestnut  streets.  The  session-room  of  the  church  was  opened  for 
worship  March,  1851,  and  dedicated  November  19  of  the  same  year. 
Rev,  Henry  Bacon  pastor, 


298 


CHURCHES. 


CHURCH  OF  THK  RESTORATION. 

Restoration,  south  side  of  Master  street,  between  Sixteenth 
and  Seventeenth.  Building  of  brownstone.  Dedicated  April 
8,  1872.  Is  in  a  finely  built  portion  of  the  city,  and  presents 
an  attractive  appearance. 


<,^-^%^ 


f^ 


.1  HI 'III 


Young  Men's  Christian  Association  Building. 


CHAPTEE    XXIV. 

ASSOCIATIONS  FOR  RELIGIOUS  OBJECTS. 

Hall  of  Young  Men's  Christian  Association,  south-east  cor- 
ner of  Fifteenth  and  Chestnut  streets.  Building  of  sandstone, 
72  feet  in  front  by  230  feet  in  depth.  Tower  153  feet  high. 
Building  four  stories  in  height,  and  of  bold  and  imposing 
architecture,  a  very  conspicuous  object.  The  interior  is  fitted 
up  with  rooms  for  devotional  meetings,  lectures,  and  reading- 
rooms,  lyceum,  library  for  reference  and  circulation  and  other 
purposes. 

This  association  was  instituted  June,  1854,  and  incorporated  May, 
1857.  It  is  composed  of  members  of  various  Protestant  denomina- 
tions who  are  associated  for  the  improvement  of  the  social,  spiritual 
and  mental  development  of  young  men.  The  rooms  of  the  society 
are  expected  to  be  made  sufficiently  attractive  to  bring  young  men 
to  them,  especially  such  as  have  come  from  other  portions  of  the 
country  and  have  not  the  associations  and  influences  of  homes  in 
the  city. 

Presbyterian  Board  of  Publication,  1334  and  1336  Chestnut 
street,  near  Broad.  Buildings  in  front  of  New  Hampshire 
granite,  with  columns  of  colored  and  polished  Aberdeen  gran- 
ite. Style  of  architecture  Gothic.  The  building  is  four  sto- 
ries in  height,  44  feet  front  and  235  feet  in  depth  to  Sansom 
street.  The  entire  first  floor  is  occupied  by  the  bookstore,  a 
large,  handsome  and  well-lighted  assembly-room,  and  a  library 
in  the  second  story  of  the  Sansom  street  front.  There  are 
committee-rooms,  society-rooms,  travellers'  rooms,  etc.,  etc. 
The  house  cost  $130,000  without  the  furniture. 

The  Presbyterian  Board  of  Education  (Old  School  branch)  went 
into  operation  in  the  year  1838  on  Sansom  street.  It  was  incorpor- 
ated February  14,  1837.  A  few  years  afterward  it  purchased  a  house 
on  Chestnut  street  above  Eighth,  which  was  destroyed  by  fire,  but 
rebuilt,  the  building  being  of  sandstone.    The  Presbyterian  Pubii- 

299 


300       ASSOCIATIONS   FOR   RELIGIOUS   OBJECTS. 

cation  Committee  (New  School)  was  organized  in  1852,  and  had  its 
publication  house  on  a  portion  of  the  present  site.  Upon  the  re- 
union of  the  Old  and  New  School,  in  1870,  it  was  resolved  to  unite 
the  two  boards  and  provide  a  larger  house.  The  result  was  the 
construction  of  the  present  large  edifice  in  Chestnut  street.  It  was 
finished  in  1873. 

American  Sunday-school  Union,  1122  Chestnut  street.  Fine 
building  of  granite.  Style  Norman-Gothic,  with  carvings  and 
ornamentation.     It  extends  through  to  Sansom  street. 

The  society  was  instituted  in  May,  1824,  among  members  of  Pro- 
testant sects.  It  was  a  combination  of  several  local  associations,  the 
objects  of  which  were  the  establishment  of  Sunday-schools  in  desti- 
tute parts  of  the  country,  supplying  them  with  needful  books  and 
aiding  in  the  improvement  of  Sunday-schools  generally.  This  soci- 
ety does  not  establish  Sunday-schools,  but  encourages  and  assists 
such  schools  wherever  formed.  For  such  purpose  the  Sunday-school 
library  is  an  efficient  assistant;  and  from  an  early  period  the  atten- 
tion of  the  members  was  turned  to  the  publication  of  books  suitable 
for  use  in  Sunday-school  libraries.  Hundreds  of  thousands  of  vol- 
umes have  been  printed  and  circulated  by  this  association.  In  1845 
it  was  incorporated. 

Baptist  Publication  House,  south  side  of  Chestnut  street, 
between  Broad  and  Fifteenth  streets.  Building  of  white 
marble,  46  feet  front  by  230  deep,  extending  to  Sansom  street. 
Front  four  stories  on  Chestnut  street,  surmounted  by  a  Man- 
sard covered  with  slate,  and  having  ornamental  dormer  win- 
dows. The  design  of  the  edifice  has  an  air  of  simple,  quiet 
elegance.  The  door-  and  window-openings  are  all  arched, 
and  they  are  supported  on  round  detached  columns  placed 
either  singly  or  in  pairs.  The  arches  are  deeply  recessed,  and 
the  columns  in  front  produce  a  very  effective  contrast  in 
light  and  shade.  The  first  story  is  devoted  to  the  purposes  of 
a  book  store,  wholesale  and  retail.  In  the  second  story  is  the 
assembly-room,  to  be  used  for  convocations  of  ministers  and 
other  purposes.  It  is  35  feet  in  length  by  68  in  depth,  the 
ceiling,  16  feet  high,  divided  into  panels  by  moulded  beams 
and  frescoes.  Oflaces,  storage-  and  working-rooms  occupy  the 
rest  of  the  building.  An  elevator  in  the  Chestnut  street  front 
carries  passengers  to  the  upper  floors.  .  - 


J 


The  principal  object  of  the  American  Snnday-School 
Union  is  to  establish  Sunday-schools,  and  to  aid  such 
schools  wherever  formed. 


ASSOCIATIONS   FOR   RELIGIOUS   OBJECTS.        301 

Lutheran  Publication  Association,  incorporated  1862,  117 
North  Sixth  street. 

Lutheran  Publication  Society,  42  North  Ninth  street. 

Friends'  Book  Association  (Hicksite),  incorporated  1873, 
706  Arch  street. 

Book  Association  of  Friends  (Orthodox),  109  North  Tenth 
street. 

Reformed  Church  Publication  Board,  907  Arch  street. 

Pennsylvania  Bible  Society,  instituted  1808,  incorporated 
January  10,  1810.  Occupies  brick  building  at  the  north-west 
corner  of  Seventh  and  Walnut  streets,  which  is  also  occupied  by 
the  Philadelphia  Bible  Society  and  the  Female  Bible  Society. 

This  is  the  first  association  founded  in  America  for  the  purpose 
of  diffusing  the  Scriptures  among  mankind  at  large.  It  was  insti- 
tuted in  1808,  incorporated  by  the  Legislature  of  Pennsylvania, 
January  10,  1810,  as  the  "  Bible  Society  of  Philadelphia."  By  sup- 
plementary act,  March  7,  1840,  its  title  was  changed  to  the  Penn- 
sylvania Bible  Society.  The  sole  design  of  the  association  is  "to 
publish  and  circulate  the  Holy  Scriptures  without  note  or  comment." 
The  copies  are  in  English,  German  and  other  languages.  The 
society  circulates  gratuitously  and  by  sale  from  75,000  to  100,000 
copies  yearly.  Since  its  institution  the  society  has  distributed  about 
three  millions  of  copies  of  the  Bible. 

Bible  Association  of  Friends  in  America,  116  North  Fourth 

street. 

TRACT   SOCIETIES. 

These  institutions  are  devoted  to  the  publication  and  dis- 
tribution of  tracts  and  small  pamphlets  of  a  religious  charac- 
ter. These  are  as  follows :  American  Tract  Society,  of&ce 
1408  Chestnut  street ;  Conference  Tract  Society  (Methodist), 
1018  Arch  street;  Episcopal  Female  Tract  Society,  1316 
Chestnut  street ;  Philadelphia  Tract  and  Mission  Society,  1224 
Chestnut  street;  Tract  Association  of  Friends,  304  Arch 
street. 

CLERGYMEN'S   ANNUITY   AND   AID   FUNDS. 

The  means  of  support  of  clergymen  are  so  limited,  and 
the  opportunities  which  most  of  them  have  of  leaving  their 


302        ASSOCIATIONS    FOR   RELIGIOUS   OBJECTS. 

families  comfortable  are  so  few,  that  some  methods  of  assur- 
ing such  relief  were  considered  requisite  at  an  early  time. 
The  first  to  recognize  this  necessity  were  the  Presbyterians. 

Corporation  for  the  Relief  of  Poor  and  Distressed  Presbyte- 
rian Ministers,  and  of  the  Poor  and  Distressed  Widows  and  Chil- 
dren of  Presbyterian  Ministers.     Office,  1334  Chestnut  street. 

This  is  the  earliest  association  of  that  character  formed  in  Amer- 
ica, and  is  considered  one  of  the  oldest  annuity  companies  in  the 
world.  It  originated  May  24,  1754,  in  the  Synod  of  Philadelphia,  on 
motion  of  Eev.  Francis  Allison,  in  the  shape  of  a  fund  for  the  support 
of  ministers'  widows.  The  members  paid  £2  or  £3  annually,  and  it 
was  agreed  that  in  consideration  of  £2  payment  the  widows  or  chil- 
dren of  deceased  members  should  receive  an  annuity  of  £5,  and  for  a 
£3  subscription  £7  10s.  annually.  The  fund  was  managed  by  Presby- 
terian ministers  until  the  charter  for  the  corporation  was  granted  by 
the  Penns  in  May,  1760,  when  the  amount  in  hand  was  £200  and  £361 
raised  before  the  fund  was  projected. 

Corporation  for  the  Relief  of  Widows  and  Children  of  Clergy- 
men in  the  Communion  of  the  Protestant  Episcopal  Church  in 
the  Commonwealth  of  Pennsylvania.  Office,  708  Walnut  street. 

This  association  was  instituted  by  ministers  of  the  Church  of  Eng- 
land, among  whom  were  Rev.  Drs.  Auchmuty  and  Cooper  of  New 
York,  Cooke  and  Odell  of  New  Jersey,  and  Peters  and  Smith  of 
Pennsylvania.  Charters  for  this  association  were  granted  by  Gover- 
nor John  Penn,  February  7, 1769,  by  Governor  Franklin  of  New  Jer- 
sey in  May,  and  by  Lieutenant-governor  Colden  of  New  York  on  the 
29th  of  September,  of  the  same  year.  In  the  three  colonies  the  cor- 
poration was  united.  Rev.  Richard  Peters  of  Philadelphia  was  the 
first  president.  The  first  meeting  was  in  Burlington,  N.  J.,  in  Octo- 
ber, 1769.  It  was  attended  by  many  eminent  persons.  The  funds 
were  raised  by  donations  and  contributions.  The  plan  was  so  suc- 
cessful that  in  October,  1774,  the  united  fund  was  £2572  105.  lOd.,  of 
which  Pennsylvania's  share  was  £1411  105.  6d.  In  1814  a  division 
was  made  of  the  original  corporation  into  three  corporations,  one  for 
each  State.  New  rules  were  adopted  in  reference  to  benefits  and  the 
management  of  the  society.  It  now  grants  annuities,  endowments 
and  makes  investments  of  savings  for  the  benefit  of  clergymen.  The 
fund  is  large,  and  the  society  has  accomplished  a  great  deal  of  good. 

Preachers'  Aid  Society  (M.  E.  Church).  Office,  1018  Arch 
street.     For  the  assistance  of  ministers  of  that  persuasion. 


CHAPTER    XXY. 

CEMETERIES. 

ACCORDING  to  European  custom,  the  churches  and 
meeting-houses  first  established  in  the  United  States 
were  mostly  placed  in  enclosures,  which  were  devoted  to  the 
purposes  of  burying-grounds.  The  practice  arose  with  the 
Roman  Catholic  Church;  and  the  ground  consecrated  with 
the  ceremonies  of  the  Church  for  purposes  of  sepulture  was 
considered  blessed.  It  may  be  noted  that  in  Philadelphia 
the  Society  of  Friends  from  the  earliest  period  did  not  have 
their  burying-grounds  attached  to  or  near  their  meeting- 
houses. The  lot  at  Fourth  and  Arch  streets  used  by  that 
sect  for  a  burying-ground  did  not  have  a  meeting-house  built 
upon  it  for  more  than  a  century  after  it  was  used  for  burial 
purposes,  and  at  that  time  interments  had  nearly  ceased 
in  the  enclosure.  The  first  churches  of  the  Presbyterians, 
Baptists,  Lutherans,  German  Reformed  and  of  the  Church  of 
England  had  graveyards  attached.  In  time  lots  for  the  same 
purposes  were  obtained  in  other  places,  but  until  within  fifty 
years  a  burying-ground  was  considered  a  necessary  possession 
by  every  religious  congregation. 

The  first  movement  made  in  Philadelphia  for  the  estab- 
lishment of  a  cemetery  not  under  clerical  control  took 
place  in  the  year  1825  by  the  Mutual  Association,  which  pur- 
chased a  lot  of  ground  on  the  south  side  of  Prime  street,  now 
called  Washington  avenue,  between  Ninth  and  Tenth  streets. 
The  property  was  divided  into  small  burial  lots,  which  were  ap- 
portioned among  the  members.  The  ground  was  laid  out  very 
plainly,  without  attempt  at  decoration.  Between  the  years  1825 
and  1827  five  other  companies  were  established  on  the  associa- 
tion principle — ^the  Machpelah,  occupying  a  lot  on  the  north 

303 


304  CEMETERIES. 

side  of  Washington  avenue,  from  Tenth  to  Eleventh  street ;  the 
Philanthropic,  Passyunk  avenue,  below  Cross  street;  the  Phil- 
adelphia, Passyunk  avenue,  between  Twentieth  and  Twenty- 
second  streets ;  the  Union,  South  Sixth  street,  extending  from 
Washington  avenue  to  Federal  street;  and  the  Lafayette, 
from  Ninth  to  Tenth  and  from  Federal  to  Wharton  streets. 
These  grounds  are  yet  maintained  and  kept  in  excellent  order. 
The  success  of  these  efforts  induced  James  Ronaldson,  type- 
founder, to  undertake  the  establishment  of  a  cemetery  in  1827 
which  was  to  be  more  ornate  in  character  and  appearance,  in 
style  of  laying  out  and  in  the  tombstones  and  monuments 
than  had  yet  been  attempted. 

It  seems  strange  at  the  present  time  to  note  the  fact,  but  it 
is  true,  that  when  Mr.  Ronaldson  proposed  his  plan,  about 
1826-7,  there  was  considerable  opposition  to  it  on  the  part  of 
the  religious  community,  and  it  was  alleged  that  his  effort 
was  a  design  to  advance  infidelity  by  the  encouragement  of 
burials  in  unconsecrated  grounds.  Mr.  Ronaldson,  however, 
argued  that,  according  to  his  plan,  the  sanctity  of  the  grave 
would  be  maintained,  and  that  ground  disposed  of  for  burial 
purposes  would  be  free  from  seizure  and  resale  for  the  same 
purposes,  and  the  mouldering  dust  of  the  original  occupants 
dug  up  and  scattered,  as  had  frequently  been  the  case  in 
churchyard  burying-grounds.  The  community  sustained 
Mr.  Ronaldson ;  and  the  cemetery,  being  laid  out  with  taste 
and  handsomely  decorated  with  trees,  shrubbery  and  flowers, 
was  a  means  of  calling  attention  to  the  necessity  of  a  change 
in  cemetery  customs.  Since  that  time  there  have  been  few 
churchyards  established  in  Philadelphia.  Scarcely  any  of 
the  churches  since  erected  have  burial-grounds  of  their  own. 
Members  use  for  interment  the  advantages  of  the  various 
cemetery  enclosures. 

Ronaldson's  Cemetery,  situate  on  Tenth,  Bainbridge  and 
Fitzwater.  It  contains  handsome  monuments  and  tomb- 
stones, and  although  little  used  for  burial  purposes  of  late 
years  is  kept  in  good  order  and  is  as  attractive  in  appearance 
as  it  is  possible  in  a  ground  dedicated  to  solemn  purposes. 


CEMETERIES.  305 

Laurel  Hill  Cemetery,  situate  on  the  east  bank  of  the  Schuyl- 
kill Eiver,  bounded  on  the  west  by  Eidge  avenue,  and  extend- 
ing from  Huntingdon  street  to  Alleghany  avenue.  Access  by 
Eidge  avenue  cars  and  by  steamboat  on  the  Schuylkill. 

The  cemetery  is  divided  into  tliree  portions — North,  Cen- 
tral and  South  Laurel  Hill.  '  The  various  sections  were  bought 
at  different  times.  The  northernmost  portion  is  the  original 
ground.  It  was  purchased  February,  1836,  and  the  first  inter- 
ment took  place  the  19th  of  October  of  that  year.  The  roman- 
tic character  of  the  scenery  in  the  neighborhood  of  the  Laurel 
Hill  estate,  which  belonged  to  an  old-time  mansion,  com- 
mended the  project  to  general  approval,  and  the  number  of 
shareholders  increased  rapidly.  It  has  been  a  favorite  place 
for  the  interment  of  persons  of  wealth  and  taste,  and  their 
families  in  remembrance  have  seemed  to  outvie  each  other  in 
the  erection  of  chaste  and  costly  monuments.  Some  of  these 
memorials  are  very  elaborate  and  designed  in  exquisite  taste. 
The  grounds  are  crowded  with  cenotaphs  and  funereal  struc- 
tures, so  that  the  stranger  may  wander  here  for  hours  and 
continually  meet  with  something  new  and  interesting. 

The  entrance  to  North  Laurel  Hill  is  of  brownstone,  in  the 
Doric  style  of  architecture,  216  feet  front,  which  masks  the 
houses  of  superintendents  and  others.  Immediately  in  front 
of  the  main  entrance,  and  under  an  ornamental  Gothic  lodge, 
are  the  celebrated  statues  of  Old  Mortality  and  his  pony  and 
of  Sir  Walter  Scott,  of  life  size,  cut  in  brownstone  by  Thom, 
a  self-taught  Scotch  artist.  These  figures  are  fine  specimens 
of  art,  life-like  and  interesting.  They  attract  admiration  by 
their  appropriate  character  and  appearance.  North  of  the 
main  entrance  and  east  of  the  main  carriage-way  is  a  monu- 
ment to  Thomas  Godfrey,  the  inventor  of  the  mariners'  quad- 
rant, and  near  by  is  another,  to  the  memory  of  John  Fitch, 
the  inventor  of  the  steamboat. 

St.  John's  Lutheran  burying-ground  occupies  the  north- 
east corner  of  the  ground.  John  Kennedy,  judge  of  the 
Supreme  Court,  is  buried  near  the  northern  wall  and  west  of 
the  Lutheran  ground.  A  fine  and  chaste  monument  to  Ezra 
26*  "  U 


306  CEMETERIES. 

Holden,  for  many  years  editor  of  the  Saturday  Courier,  is  far- 
ther west.  Beyond  that,  yet  farther  west,  is  a  fine  monument 
to  the  volunteer  nurses  who  went  from  Philadelphia  to  Nor- 
folk during  the  prevalence  of  the  yellow  fever  in  that  city 
some  years  ago,  and  died  in  the  discharge  of  their  duties. 
Jacob  Ridgway,  next  to  Girard,'  Philadelphia's  most  noted 
millionaire,  reposes  in  an  altar-tomb  farther  on.  South  of  it 
is  the  Drayton  monument,  of  fine  marble,  with  handsome  basso 
relievo  of  the  arms  of  South  Carolina.  Commodore  Alexander 
Murray,  of  the  United  States  navy,  is  buried  near  the  centre, 
and  Commodore  Isaac  Hull  is  commemorated  by  an  altar- 
tomb  in  the  Roman  style,  rich  and  chaste,  in  the  same 
neighborhood.  Thomas  McKean,  a  signer  of  the  Declaration 
of  Independence,  president  of  Congress,  chief-justice  and 
governor  of  Pennsylvania,  rests  beneath  a  plain  altar-tomb. 
The  monument  to  General  Hugh  Mercer,  of  the  Revolution, 
is  near  the  chapel  and  south  of  it.  It  is  in  the  Roman  style, 
and  was  erected  by  the  St.  Andrew's  Society  of  Philadelphia 
upon  the  removal  of  Mercer's  remains  from  Christ  church. 
The  altar-tomb  of  Mary  Barton  Cook,  near  this,  is  rich  with 
basso  relievos  and  other  carvings,  and  is  considered  one  of  the 
finest  tombs  in  the  grounds.  The  monument  of  Ferdinand 
Rudolph  Hassler,  formerly  of  the  United  States  Coast  Survey 
—a  massive  block  of  rough  marble— is  placed  near  the  river, 
surmounted  by  a  chastely-designed  pedestal  and  urn.  The 
Coleman  monuments,  near  by,  are  in  the  Grecian  style  and 
very  elegant.  Upon  the  terrace  walks,  near  the  shore,  will  be 
found  a  monument  to  the  memory  of  Charles  Thomson,  the 
confidential  secretary  of  the  Continental  Congress.  It  is  a 
plain  obelisk  of  granite.  Commodore  Stephen  Decatur  Lava- 
lette  is  interred  not  far  from  here,  the  monument  being  carved 
with  naval  emblems.  Upon  a  rough  block  of  marble  is  a  lyre, 
urn  and  tablet  to  the  memory  of  Joseph  C.  Neal,  the  original 
humorist.  Joseph  S.  Lewis  is  remembered  by  a  magnificent 
altar-tomb,  south  of  the  chapel,  upon  which  is  a  fine  basso  re- 
lievo view  of  the  Fairmount  Water- works,  in  the  establishment 
of  which  he  had  an  official  share.     Monuments  to  William 


308  CEMETERIES. 

Young  Burch  and  Julius  R.  Friedlander  are  near  the  southern 
portion  of   the   cemetery,  east    of   the   centre.      They  were 
erected  by  their  associates  of  the  Pennsylvania  Institute  for 
Instruction  of  the  Blind.     The  daughters  of  John  A.  Brown 
are  commemorated,  in  the  south-east  portion  of  the  ground, 
by  a  large  decorated  ( lothic  monument,  temple  shaped  and 
ornamented  with  rich  carvings.    The  Evans  monument,  chaste 
and  beautiful  in  appearance,  an  altar-tomb,  is  near  the  centre 
of  the  ground,  and  not  far  from  the  monument  to  the  memory 
of  Frederick  Graff,  originator  and  designer  of  the  Fairmount 
water-works.     A  monument  to  the  memory  of  General  An- 
drew M.  Prevost,  erected  by  Union  Lodge,  A.  Y.  M.,  is  not 
far  from  this,  and  near  by  are  the  tombs  of  Walter  Colton  and 
of  Major  Levi  Twiggs,  U.  S.  A.,  killed   at  the  storming  of 
Chapultepec   in   Mexico,   and   of   his  son,  George  Decatur 
Twiggs,  killed  during  the  same  war  at  National  Bridge,  near 
Vera  Cruz.     A  winding  path  down  the  hill  leads  to  a  tomb 
cut  out  of  the  solid  rock,  the  entrance  to  which  is  by  a  mas- 
sive Egyptian  granite  doorway.     Above  it  trees  are  growing 
on  the  surface  soil.     This  is  the  rock-tomb  of  the  Kane  fam- 
ily.   Within  are  mouldering  the  remains  of  Elisha  Kent  Kane, 
the  celebrated  Arctic  explorer,  and  of  his  father,  John  Kin- 
tzing  Kane,  eminent  as  a  lawyer,  and  for  many  years  judge 
of  the  United  States  District  Court.     On  the  brow  of  the  hill 
a  statue  monument  in  white  marble  represents  a  woman  clasp- 
ing two  babes  in  her  arms.     It  is  a  portrait  group  of  the  wife 
and  children  of  Henry  Demchowski  Saunders,  a  Polish  sculp- 
tor, who  at  one  blow  lost  his  whole  family,  and  has  thus  com- 
memorated his  grief.     Charles  Ellet,  architect  and  engineer, 
constructor  of  the  wire  suspension-bridge  at  Fairmount,  the 
first  bridge  of  that  character  in  the  country,  lies  not  far  from 
this.     He  was  famous  during  the  war  of  the  Rebellion  as  the 
original  constructor  of  the  steam-ram  fleet  upon  the  Missis- 
sippi.    Two  sons  served  with  him  ;  one  of  them  died  while  on 
duty  with  the  Mississippi  fleet;  the  other  afterward  became 
a  brigadier-general.    Near  by  is  a  very  handsome  family  vault 
standing  above  ground.     It  is  of  marble,  and  the  property  of 


310  CEMETERIES. 

L.  A.  Godey.  Matthias  W.  Baldwin,  well  known  as  one  of  the 
first  builders  and  improvers  of  the  locomotiye  engine,  and  subse- 
quently an  extensive  manufacturer  of  those  machines,  is  buried 
not  far  from  this.  There  are  numerous  other  monuments,  some 
of  them  exceedingly  grand,  in  this  portion  of  the  ground. 

Central  Laurel  Hill  seems  to  be  dedicated  to  monuments 
of  the  largest  and  most  imposing  character.  Here  are  to  be 
found  several  bronze  statues^  effigies  of  the  persons  who 
moulder  below. 

In  South  Laurel  Hill  the  altar-tomb  erected  to  the  mem- 
ory of  Sarah  Ann  Harrison,  and  the  Townsend  monument, 
elaborate  ornamented  Gothic^  and  the  Hayes  monument, 
are  worthy  of  examination. 

West  Laurel  Hill,  situate  on  the  west  bank  of  the  Schuylkill, 
at  Pencoyd  station,  on  the  Philadelphia  and  Eeading  Eail- 
road,  is  under  the  same  control  as  Laurel  Hill  Cemetery,  and 
is  but  newly  established.  It  occupies  110  acres.  The  com- 
pany which  has  charge  of  it  was  formed  in  1869.  It  occupies 
a  romantic  position  just  outside  of  the  city  limits,  but  opposite 
the  lower  part  of  Manayunk.  There  are  some  handsome 
monuments  in  this  ground,  among  which  may  be  mentioned 
the  cenotaph  which  has  been  erected  to  the  memory  of  Rob- 
ert C.  Grier,  formerly  judge  of  the  United  States  District 
Court.  Tickets  of  admission  can  be  procured  at  Philadelphia 
Library  and  at  Brown's  drag  store,  north-east  corner  of  Fifth 
and  Chestnut  streets. 

Monument  Cemetery,  west  side  of  Broad  street,  between 
Montgomery  avenue  and  Diamond  street,  extending  west 
nearly  to  Seventeenth  street.  It  was  established  in  1836-7 
under  the  influence  of  Dr.  John  A.  Elkinton,  who  gave  it 
the  name  of  Pere  La  Chaise,  which  was  subsequently  altered, 
with  better  taste,  to  the  present  name,  which  was  chosen  in 
consequence  of  the  determination  of  the  managers  to  erect 
in  the  centre  of  the  ground  a  monument  to  the  memory  of 
Washington  and  Lafayette.  This  design  was  not  carried  out 
for  more  than  thirty  years.  The  monument  was  dedicated 
May  29,  1869.      It  rises  from  a  platform  of  thirteen  steps, 


CEMETERIES.  311 

irpon  which  is  a  fluted  pedestal  and  an  obelisk  shaft,  which  is 
over  67  feet  high.  Upon  tablets  of  bronze  on  the  sides  of  the 
shaft  are  inscriptions  to  the  memory  of  Washington  and 
Lafayette.  The  entrance  to  the  cemetery  is  through  an  arched 
gateway  in  the  centre  of  a  brownstone  and  brick  building 
arranged  for  chapel  purposes,  and  surmounted  by  a  spire  in 
the  centre.  One  of  the  finest  monuments  in  this  enclosure  is 
erected  to  the  memory  of  William  Delamater  Caldwell.  It  is 
lo%,  and  towers  conspicuously  among  the  memorials  in  the 
ground.  The  cutting  of  streets  through  a  portion  of  this 
cemetery,  although  they  invade  no  burial-lot,  has  already  sep- 
arated one  portion  of  it  from  the  other,  and  will  eventually 
divide  it  into  blocks  bounded  by  highways. 

Mount  Vernon,  situate  on  the  east  side  of  Eidge  avenue,  at 
the  intersection  of  Nicetown  Lane,  and  immediately  opposite 
Laurel  Hill  Cemetery.  Entrance  building  of  white  marble, 
lofty  and  imposing.  The  ground  is  laid  out  with  much  taste 
and  beautifully  decorated.  There  are  many  handsome  mon- 
uments. The  most  elegant  of  these  is  the  Gardel  monument, 
unique  in  design,  decorated  with  statues  of  life  size,  and  prob- 
ably one  of  the  finest  monuments  in  the  country. 

Access  to  the  cemetery  by  Eidge  avenue  cars. 

Glenwood,  north-east  corner  of  Eidge  avenue  and  Islington 
lane,  contains  twenty-one  acres.  Entrance  of  brick.  Within 
the  ground  is  the  fine  monument  of  the  Scott  Legion,  formed 
among  the  surviving  soldiers  of  the  war  with  Mexico  after  their 
return  to  the  United  States.     Access  by  Eidge  avenue  cars. 

Woodlands,  Darby  Eoad  west  of  the  university,  extends  to 
the  river  Schuylkill,  and  occupies  a  space  of  eighty  acres. 
The  grounds  originally  belonged  to  William  Hamilton,  whose 
mansion,  known  as  the  Woodlands  and  still  standing,  gives  the 
name  to  the  enclosure.  The  natural  character  of  the  ground 
is  undulating.  A  stream  runs  through  a  portion  of  it,  and 
there  are  grand  forest  trees  still  growing.  The  front  is  of  stone 
in  the  Grecian  style,  and  richly  ornamented.  There  are  fine 
monuments,  among  which  are  particularly  to  be  noted  the 
Drexel  mausoleum,  a  magnificent  building  in  the  Grecian 


312  CEMETERIES. 

style,  and  the  largest  tomb  structure  yet  erected  in  any  ceme- 
tery in  the  city.  Not  far  from  here  is  the  tomb  of  Lieutenant 
John  T.  Greble,  an  officer  of  the  United  States  army,  one  of 
the  first  victims  of  the  late  war,  who  was  killed  at  the  battle 
of  Great  Bethel,  Va.  It  is  designed  in  exquisite  taste.  There 
are  also  in  this  cemetery  monuments  and  tombs  of  Admiral 
Charles  Stewart,  Commodore  David  Porter,  Major-general 
Birney  and  Courtland  Saunders,  a  young  officer  who  died 
during  the  late  civil  war.  The  monuments  of  William  H. 
Moore,  of  Gothic  style,  and  Dr.  David  Jayne,  attract  atten- 
tion. General  Eufus  Welsh,  manager  of  a  menagerie  and 
circus  well  known  throughout  the  United  States,  is  commem- 
orated by  a  monument  of  marble  erected  by  his  friends. 

Access  by  Chestnut  and  Walnut  street  cars  (Darby  branch). 

Mount  Moriah  stands  north-east  of  and  at  a  short  distance 
from  Darby  Road,  between  Sixty -first  and  Sixty-fourth  streets. 
The  cars  of  the  Darby  line  run  directly  to  the  cemetery  gate. 
The  entrance  is  of  brown  stone,  surmounted  by  a  statue  of 
Time  with  his  scythe  and  hour-glass.  It  was  finished  about 
the  beginning  of  July,  1855.  The  enclosure  is  large,  and  ex- 
tends to  a  branch  of  Cobb's  Creek,  which  it  crosses.  The  mon- 
uments and  tombstones  are  chaste  and  handsome,  but  not 
generally  of  a  very  expensive  character.  The  finest  in  the 
enclosure  are  those  of  R.  P.  King,  J.  H.  Jones,  and  those 
erected  by  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Pennsylvania,  A  Y.  M.,  to 
the  memory  of  William  B.  Schneider,  formerly  Grand  Tyler, 
and  by  members  of  Keystone  Chapter  Royal  Arch  Masons  to 
the  memory  of  their  companions. 

Old  Oaks,  Township  Line  road  and  Venango  street,  is 
handsomely  situate  upon  grounds  on  which  are  growing 
numerous  large  forest  trees.  The  cemetery  is  of  recent  estab- 
lishment, handsomely  laid  out,  and  contains  some  fine  mon- 
uments. In  this  enclosure  the  volunteer  firemen  of  Philadel- 
phia have  erected  a  handsome  monument  to  the  memory  of 
David  M.  Lyle,  formerly  chief  engineer  of  the  Fire  Depart- 
ment. It  is  surmounted  by  an  elegant  statue  of  that  gentle- 
man, in  marble. 


CEMETERIES.  313 

Odd  Fellows',  Islington  lane,  north-east  of  Ridge  avenue ; 
lies  adjacent  to  Glenwood,  and  contains  about  thirty-two 
acres.  It  was  opened  for  interment  on  the  5th  of  May,  1849. 
The  entrance  buildings  are  of  brownstone,  in  the  Egyptian 
style,  surmounted  by  a  tower  eighty-one  feet  high.  The  mon- 
uments and  tombs  are  plain  and  appropriate,  but  not  exceed- 
ingly elaborate.  There  is  a  statue  of  Benjamin  Franklin  in 
marble,  of  life  size,  upon  the  monument  belonging  to  Frank- 
lin Lodge,  and  a  marble  statue  of  a  fireman,  life  size,  upon 
a  monument  erected  on  a  lot  belonging  to  a  fire  company. 

Mechanics'  Cemetery  adjoins  Odd  Fellows'  on  the  east,  but 
does  not  occupy  so  large  a  space. 

Mount  Peace  Cemetery  (Odd  Fellows),  Mcetown  lane,  near 
Ridge  avenue,  adjoins  Mount  Vernon,  and  belongs  to  the 
Order  of  Odd  Fellows,  being  an  addition  in  cemetery  accom- 
modations to  the  ground  on  Islington  lane.  In  this  enclo- 
sure is  a  fine  monument  to  the  memory  of  William  Curtis, 
for  many  years  secretary  of  the  Grand  Lodge  of  Odd  Fellows. 

Greenwood  (Knights  of  Pythias),  Adams  street,  near 
Friends'  Asylum  for  the  Insane,  Frankford,  is  under  control 
of  the  members  of  the  Order. 

Cedar  Hill  Cemetery  is  on  Main  street  above  Paul,  Frank- 
ford,  and  is  a  small  enclosure.  The  cemetery  company  owns 
a  much  finer  property  at  North  Cedar  Hill.  It  is  of  triangu- 
lar shape,  and  situate  at  the  intersections  of  the  Bristol  and 
Smithfield  turnpike,  Bristol  road  and  Dark  Run  lane.  The 
ground  is  handsomely  laid  out  and  appropriately  ornamented. 
A  soldiers'  monument  at  the  old  cemetery,  which  is  tasteful 
and  appropriate  in  appearance,  commemorates  the  names  of 
citizens  of  Frankford  and  the  neighborhood  who  entered  the 
service  of  the  Union  and  fell  upon  the  field  of  battle  or  died 
in  hospital  or  elsewhere  from  wounds  received. 

Leverington  Cemetery,  Ridge  Road,  Roxborough,  is  neatly 
laid  out.  There  is  here  a  monument  to  the  memory  of  Amer- 
ican troopers  massacred  during  the  Revolution  at  Wood's 
barn,  near  by. 

Fairhill,  Germantown,  above  Cambria,  belongs  to  members 


314  CEMETERIES. 

of  the  Society  of  Friends  (Hicksite).  Under  late  regulations 
the  graves  of  members  are  allowed  to  be  designated  by  low 
head-stones  of  plain  character  without  decoration  and  bear- 
ing the  name  and  date  of  death  of  the  person  who  sleeps 
below. 

Cathedral  (Roman  Catholic),  Lancaster  avenue,  between 
Forty-eighth  and  Fifty-first  streets.  Occupies  a  large  tract 
of  ground,  which  was  consecrated  about  the  year  1849.  The 
church  of  Our  Mother  of  Sorrows,  in  the  eastern  portion  of 
the  enclosure,  is  used  as  a  chapel  when  necessary. 

New  Cathedral  (Roman  Catholic),  corner  of  Second  street 
and  Nicetown  lane,  has  been  lately  opened. 

Mount  Sinai  (Jewish),  Bridesburg,  under  the  control  of 
members  of  that  persuasion.  The  entrance  occupies  a  space 
of  146  feet,  and  was  finished  in  1854. 

Beth  El  Emeth,  at  the  corner  of  Fisher's  avenue  and  Mar- 
ket street,  West  Philadelphia,  is  a  new  cemetery  belonging  to 
the  Jewish  persuasion. 

There  is  also  a  Hebrew  cemetery  at  Market  and  Fifty -fifth  streets, 
and  another  cemetery  is  in  the  lower  part  of  the  city.  The  oldest 
burial-ground  of  this  persuasion  is  situate  upon  Spruce  street  be- 
tween Eighth  and  Ninth,  on  the  north  side,  and  was  the  only  burying- 
ground  used  by  the  Jews  for  nearly  a  century.  It  was  granted  by 
one  of  the  Penns  to  Nathan  Levy,  as  a  burying-ground  for  himself 
and  his  family,  as  early  as  1738.  Afterward  it  became  the  property 
of  the  congregation  Mikve  Israel.  Burials  in  this  ground  have 
ceased. 

There  are  various  other  cemeteries  in  other  parts  of  the  city 
used  by  religious  sects  and  for  general  burial  purposes  which 
do  not  need  particular  description. 


CHAPTER    XXVI. 
PLACES  OF  HISTORICAL  INTEREST. 

THE   TREATY   GROUND. 

ACCORDING  to  a  tradition  which  was  long  considered  to 
be  of  undoubted  verity,  William  Penn,  after  he  arrived 
in  Pennsylvania,  assembled  the  Indians  by  their  head  chiefs, 
and  made  with  them  a  treaty  of  peace  and  friendship  which, 
it  is  assumed,  was  never  broken,  although  the  Penn  family 
during  the  last  century  authorized  w^ar  against  the  Indians 
of  the  interior  of  Pennsylvania  by  actual  proclamation.  Ac- 
cording to  the  tradition,  the  great  treaty  was  negotiated  at 
Shackamaxon,  nearly  in  front  of  the  house  of  Thomas  Fair- 
man,  an  English  surveyor,  who  was  settled  there  before  the 
cession  of  the  province  to  Penn.  There  is  not  a  line  of  con- 
temporary evidence  to  show  that  such  a  treaty  was  ever  made. 
No  reference  is  made  to  it  in  any  letter,  statement  or  docu- 
ment emanating  from  Penn,  or  from  any  resident  of  Pennsyl- 
vania, or  from  any  person  living  in  1682,  the  time  when  the 
treaty  is  said  to  have  been  made,  and  historical  scholars  of 
learning  and  research  have  expressed  their  disbelief  of  the 
occurrence  of  any  such  amicable  conference.  There  are  rec- 
ords of  treaties  with  the  Indians  for  purchase  of  lands,  and 
the  names  of  the  places  where  they  negotiated  are  given. 
But  there  is  nothing  to  show  that  a  treaty  of  friendship  and 
amity  only  was  ever  made.  Nevertheless,  poets,  painters, 
philosophers  and  historians  have  accepted  the  story  of  the 
great  treaty.  West  made  it  famous  by  his  painting,  and 
many  believe  in  its  truth.  A  great  elm  tree  was  said  to  have 
marked  the  spot  where  the  treaty  was  held.  During  the 
British  occupation  of  the  city  General  Simcoe,  regarding  the 

315 


316  THE  treatV  ground  and  monument. 

legend,  placed  a  military  guard  near  the  great  elm  tree  to 
prevent  its  being  injured.  The  tree  was  blown  down  in  the 
year  1811.  In  the  year  1827  an  association  called  the  Penn 
Society,  accepting  the  legend  of  the  treaty,  erected  a  small 
monument  upon  or  very  near  the  site  of  the  elm  tree  to 
commemorate  the  supposed  event.     This  memorial  is  now 


The  Treaty  Monument. 
in  a  small  enclosure  surrounded  by  a  wooden  fence  on  the 
east  side  of  Beach  street,  north  of  Hanover  or   Columbia 
street. 

Access  to  the  monument  and  treaty  ground  may  be  had  by 
Second  and  Third  Streets  (Richmond)  line  (red  cars).  Going 
south  down  Richmond  street,  get  out  at  Hanover  or  Columbia 
street,  and  a  short  walk  eastward  will  bring  you  to  the  mon- 
ument; coming  north,  same  cars  turn  at  Laurel  and  Beach 
streets.  The  monument  is  about  two  squares  and  a  half 
northward  on  Beach  street. 


GERMANTOWN    BATTLE-GROUND.  317 

GERMANTOWN  BATTLE-GROUND. 
At  the  time  of  the  attack  upon  the  British  army  at  Ger- 
mantown,  October  4,  1777,  the  British  army  lay  across  the 
village  nearly  at  right  angles  with  it  from  the  Limekiln  road 
on  the  east  at  Church  lane,  along  the  latter  to  the  lane  which 
is  now  called  Germantown  avenue,  and  extending  west  of 
that  road  or  avenue  along  Schoolhouse  lane  to  the  Falls  of 
Schuylkill.     Upon  the  main  street  of  Germantown  there  were 
some  troops.     The  right  wing  was   commanded  by   Major- 
General  Grant  and  Brigadier  Matthews,  and  was  east  of  the 
Germantown  road.     The  Queen's  American  Kangers  occupied 
the  extreme  .point  of  the  right  wing  on  the  south  side  of  the 
intersection  of  the  old  York  road  and  a  short  road  which  ran 
across  to  the  Limekiln  road  or  Church  lane.     At  the  inter- 
section of  the  Limekiln  road  and  the  cross  road  was  the  first 
battalion  of  light  infantry.     Major-General  Grant  with  the 
guards  was  south  of  Schoolhouse  lane,  and  still  farther  south, 
at  a  little  distance  above  Stenton  and  east  of  it,  were  six  bat- 
talions of  guards  and  dragoons.     The  left  wing  lay  west  of  the 
main  road  and  south  of  Schoolhouse  lane,  except  chasseurs 
and  Hessians,  who  lay  north  of  Schoolhouse  lane  and  west 
of  the  Wissahickon  or  Eidge  road,  extending  their  lines  up 
to  the  Wissahickon  and  Van  Deering's  mills,  which  were  at 
the  mouth  of  that  creek  and  the   Schuylkill   river.     Upon 
the  main  street  of  Germantown  or  the  Skippack  road  there 
was  an  advance  post  of  British  infantry  below  Mount  Airy, 
on  the  east  side  of  the  road.     The  Fortieth  regiment  lay  on 
the  west  side  of  the  road,  opposite  Chew's  house.      There 
seem  to  have  been  no  other  British  troops  between  Chew's 
house  and  the  main  body  on  Schoolhouse  lane  and  Church 
lane.  , 

Washington's  plan  of  attack  was  by  four  columns.  Small- 
wood  and  Forman,  with  the  Maryland  and  New  Jersey  mili- 
tia, were  to  march  down  a  road  leading  into  the  old  York 
road,  and  attack  the  queen's  rangers.  Green,  and  Stephens' 
and  McDougall's  brigades,  were  to  march  down  the  Lime- 
kiln road  until  they  reached  Picke's  or  Bickham's  lane,  the 


318  GERMANTOWN    BATTLE-GROUND. 

eighth  lane  then  open  north  of  Church  lane,  which  they  were 
to  follow  until  they  came  to  Germantown  at  the  market-place, 
where  they  were  to  turn  south  and  attack  the  right  wing  by 
the  main  road.  Wayne,  Sullivan  and  Conway  were  to  march 
down  the  main  road,  and  attacking  the  outposts  at  Mount 
Airy  and  opposite  Chew's  house  join  Green  and  Stephens  at 
the  market-house  and  add  to  the  weight  of  the  attack  on  the 
enemy's  centre.  Upon  the  extreme  left,  on  the  Eidge  road, 
General  Armstrong  with  the  militia  was  ordered  to  march 
down  and  attack  the  Hessians  and  chasseurs  at  Van  Deer- 
ing's  mills,  occupy  their  attention  and  prevent  them  from  re- 
inforcing the  main  body  at  Germantown.  General  Potter 
was  also  ordered  to  make  an  attack  on  the  city  of  Philadel- 
phia from  the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill,  so  as  to  keep  the 
grenadiers  at  work  and  prevent  them  from  reinforcing  the 
army  at  Germantown.  The  plan  was  well  devised,  but  failure 
upon  the  part  of  the  various  columns  in  concentrating  at  the 
time  intended,  to  which  the  foggy  condition  of  the  weather 
contributed  greatly,  rendered  the  movement  a  failure.  The 
fighting  was  most  lively  at  Allen's  house.  Mount  Airy,  and 
down  the  Skippack  road,  and  west  of  it  to  Chew's  house,  where 
the  contest  was  severe.  At  the  intersection  of  the  Limekiln 
road  with  Church  lane  Green  fought  the  queen's  American 
rangers  and  the  light  infantry  and  guards,  and  drove  them. 
There  was  fighting  on  the  main  street  about  the  market-house. 
Armstrong  on  the  north  side  of  the  Wissahickon  cannonaded 
the  redoubt  of  the  chasseurs  and  Hessians  at  a  safe  distance, 
but  did  not  attempt  to  take  it  by  assault.  Colonel  Matthews 
of  the  Ninth  Virginia  regiment  sustained  the  weight  of  the 
British  assault.  In  consequence  of  the  mistakes  and  failures 
of  the  day,  the  British  army  had  rallied  near  the  market- 
place. Matthews  fought  bravely,  but  three-fourths  of  his 
men  finally  surrendered.  General  James  Agnew  and  Lieu- 
tenant-Colonel Bird  of  the  British  army,  killed  at  German- 
town,  were  buried  in  the  South  burying-ground  at  that  place, 
and  a  marble  slab  is  over  their  remains.  General  Thomas 
Nash  of  North  Carolina,  mortally  wounded   in  that  battle. 


GERMANTOVVN RED    BANK.  319 

was  carried  off  the  field,  and  after  his  death  was  buried  in 
the  Monument  burying-ground  at  Kulpsville,  Montgomery' 
county,  about  twenty  miles  above  Germantown.  The  graves 
of  Major  Irvine  and  Captain  Turner  of  North  Carolina,  with 
some  soldiers  slain  in  the  battle,  are  in  the  North  German- 
town  burying-ground. 

Germantown  is  accessible  by  railroad  from  depot  at  Ninth 
and  Green  streets  and  by  railway  cars  (Fourth  and  Eighth 
Streets  line)  going  north  on  Eighth  street. 

THE   BATTLE-GROUND    AT   RED  BANK. 

The  entrenchments  at  Eed  Bank,  N.  J.,  are  at  a  short  dis- 
tance below  Eagle  Point,  and  directly  opposite  to  and  south 
of  the  U.  S.  Navy  Yard  at  League  Island.  They  were  large 
and  broad,  and  a  growth  of  pine  trees  has  so  preserved  the 
embankments  that  the  shape  of  the  works  can  be  plainly 
made  out.  Within  the  outworks  near  the  northern  end  of 
the  fort  stands  a  monument  of  marble,  which  was  originally 
erected  by  volunteers  of  Pennsylvania  and  New  Jersey  to 
commemorate  the  events  which  had  occurred  in  that  vicinity. 
This  monument  has  been  very  much  abused  and  battered 
by  Vandal  hands.  South  of  the  outworks  was  the  main  fort, 
and  still  farther  south,  near  the  bank  of  the  Delaware  River, 
are  the  graves  of  the  soldiers  who  died  in  the  fort,  as  well  as 
of  three  hundred  Hessians  who  were  slain  in  the  attack  in 
1777.  The  remains  of  Count  Donop  were  south  of  the  sol- 
diers' graves.  A  rude  sandstone  marks  the  resting-place  of 
the  unfortunate  officer.  It  is  much  dilapidated,  and  the 
inscription  originally  upon  it — "Here  lies  buried  Count 
Donop" — is  obliterated.  The  bones  of  Count  Donop  were 
dug  up  long  ago,  and  his  skull  lately  formed  an  ornament 
of  an  anatomical  cabinet  belonging  to  a  physician  of  South 
Jersey. 

Red  Bank  may  be  reached  by  conveyance  from  Gloucester 
Point,  N.  J.  Ferry  to  the  latter  by  steamboat  from  South 
street  wharf. 


320  FORT  MIFFLIN. 


FORT   MIFFLIN. 

Fort  Mifflin,  on  the  western  side  of  the  Delaware,  occupies 
the  position  of  Mud  Fort  during  the  Revolution.  The  Fed- 
eral government  has  constructed  this  fortification  according 
to  the  best  plans  of  modern  engineering.  Nothing  remains 
as  mementoes  of  the  Revolutionary  period  except  the  soil  and 
the  geographical  peculiarities  of  the  neighborhood,  which  are 
but  little  changed. 

This  fort  is  occupied  at  present  by  United  States  troops, 
and  visitors  must  obtain  leave  to  visit  it  from  the  command- 
ing officers. 


CHAPTER    XXVII. 

BUILDINGS  OF  A  PUBLIC  CHARACTER  OF  HISTORIC 

NOTE. 

PENN  MANSION,  LETITIA  COURT. 

AS  an  unnsual  fact  in  municipal  history,  tlie  oldest  house 
in  Philadelphia  is  the  first  house  which  was  built  in  the 
city.     This  ancient  dwelling  was  built  by  order  of  William 
Penn,  sent  out  before  he  came  to  Pennsylvania,  to  be  ready 
for  his  use  and  occupation  when  he  should  arrive.     Gabriel 
Thomas,  in  his  account  of  Pennsylvania,  written  about  the 
year  1696,  says  that  he  saw  "  the  first  cellar  dug  in  Philadel- 
phia, which  was  for  the  governor's  house."     The  property  was 
intended  to  be  the  portion  of  Letitia,  the  daughter  of  Penn, 
and  was  conveyed  to  her  finally.     The  enclosure  of  the  gov- 
ernor's house  was  ample  for  a  dwelling  in  the  city,  being 
bounded  by  Market,  Front  and  Second  streets.     The  main 
entrance  and  gate  was  upon  Second  street,  and  a  lane  led 
along  the  north  side  of  the  house  to  its  front,  which  faced  the 
Delaware,  the  view  of  which  at  that  time  was  unobstructed. 
In  this  house  Penn  resided  during  his  visit  in  1682-3.     After 
he  left,  William  Markham,  his  lieutenant-governor,  and  his 
successors,  occupied  it  as  an  ofiice  for  the  executive  depart- 
ments of  the  provincial  government.     Here,  no  doubt,  the 
governor's  councils  frequently  assembled,  with  members  of 
the  assembly  and  the  leading  men  of  the  colony  and  city. 
The  lot  was  sold  about  the  year  1701,  being  then  the  property 
of  Letitia,  who  had  married  William  Aubrey,  merchant  of 
London,  and  the  ownership  was  divided  among  various  per- 
sons.    A  court  or  alley  called  Letitia  court  was  laid  out,  ex- 
tending from  Market  street  southward  to  an  alley  running 
east  and  west  from  Front  street  to  Second  street  and  called 
Black    Horse   alley.     Letitia  court  has   since  been   opened 
through  to   Chestnut  street.     The  house   of  William  Penn 

V  321 


322    PENN  MANSION — CARPENTEES'  HALL. 

is  on  the  west  side  of  this  street,  not  far  from  Market  street,  at 
the  south  corner  of  a  court  which  leads  toward  Second  street, 
but  does  not  open  into  it.  This  court  is  all  that  remains  of 
the  ancient  passage-way  leading  from  the  governor's  gate  on 
Second  street.  The  mansion  itself  has  fallen  from  its  high 
estate.  It  has  been  for  many  years  occupied  as  a  tavern, 
and  the  lower  portion  of  the  front  has  been  much  altered  to 
suit  the  necessities  of  that  business.  The  upper  portion  of  the 
front,  with  the  eaves  and  dormers,  the  northern  walls  and 
eaves,  with  the  back  buildings,  which  can  be  seen  from  the 
court,  betray  no  evidences  of  modern  alteration,  and  the  style 
of  the  architecture  is  quaint  and  peculiar. 

The  following  railways  run  near  the  Letitia  house :  Market 
street  going  east  and  west,  Chestnut  and  Walnut  streets  going 
east  on  Chestnut  street,  Second  street  going  south. 

CARPENTERS'  HALL. 
At  the  head  of  a  court  running  south  from  Chestnut  street, 
between  Third  and  Fourth  streets,  the  person  who  passes 
along  the  main  thoroughfare  will  observe  an  old-fashioned 
building  which  may  attract  his  temporary  attention.  It  has  a 
plain  brick  front,  with  steps  and  a  substantial  doorway  in  the 
old  style,  with  pediment  and  a  little  cupola.  This  is  Carpen- 
ters' Hall,  and  within  the  walls  of  that  building  assembled 
the  First  Continental  Congress  on  the  5th  of  September,  1774. 
To  this  body  were  sent  the  most  eminent  men  from  the  various 
colonies.  Washington,  Patrick'  Henry,  Eichard  Henry  Lee 
and  Peyton  Randolph  were  among  the  representatives  of  Vir- 
ginia. The  two  Adamses  were  in  the  Massachusetts  delega- 
tion, Mifflin,  Ross  and  Dickinson  were  there  with  others  from 
Pennsylvania,  and  the  other  colonies  were  strongly  repre- 
sented. Peyton  Randolph  of  Virginia  was  president,  and 
Charles  Thomson  secretary.  From  the  deliberations  and  res- 
olutions of  the  Congress  thus  assembled,  and  in  consequence 
of  the  measures  instituted  by  them,  the  national  government 
came  into  existence,  and  from  the  first  moment  when  war  with 
Great  Britain  became  inevitable  there  was  a  united  govern- 


carpenters'  hall. 


323 


ment  to  take  charge  of  the  interests  of  all  the  colonies  and  to 
conduct  them  with  unity  of  purpose  to  the  great  ends  neces- 
sary. This  hall  was  built  by  the  Carpenters'  Company,  es- 
tablished in  1724,  a  guild  of  carpenters  and  architects,  for  the 
accommodation  of  its  members.  It  was  commenced  Febru- 
ary 5,  1770,  and  sufficiently  completed  for  use  by  the  31st  of 


CAKPENTEKS'    HALIi. 

January  the  next  year.  But  the  entire  building,  according  to 
the  original  plan,  including  the  architectural  decorations,  was 
not  finished  until  1792.  After  the  session  of  the  First  Con- 
gress, Carpenters'  Hall  was  occupied  during  the  Eevolution 
by  various  bodies  representing  the  province  of  Pennsylvania, 
among  them  the  provincial  convention  of  1775  and  the  com- 
mittees of  safety.  The  Philadelphia  Library  occupied  the 
upper  story  of  Carpenters'  Hall  from  some  time  in  1775  dur- 
ing the  entire  Revolution  an^  until  the  beginning  of  the  year 


324  carpenters'  hall — independence  house. 

1791.  During  the  Revolution  the  library-room  in  the  second 
story  was  used  as  a  hospital  for  sick  American  soldiers.  The 
first  Bank  of  the  United  States  occupied  the  hall  from  Sep- 
tember, 1791,  until  August  15,  1797.  The  Land-office  of  the 
United  States  succeeded,  and  after  six  months  the  Bank  of 
Pennsylvania  had  possession  of  the  building  until  the  new 
banking-house,  on  Second  street  above  Walnut  street,  was 
finished.  For  some  years  afterward  various  tenants  occupied 
the  building.  Some  years  ago  the  members  of  the  Carpen- 
ters' Company,  recognizing  the  trust  which  they  held  by  vir- 
tue of  the  associations  connected  with  their  building,  resolved 
to  restore  it  to  its  ancient  appearance  and  to  use  it  entirely 
for  the  purposes  of  the  association.  Under  this  policy  the 
great  hall  has  been  restored  to  the  appearance  which  it  had  in 
1774,  and  all  mementoes  and  architectural  peculiarities  of  the 
olden  time  have  been  preserved,  repaired  and  renewed. 

Access  by  railway  cars :  Chestnut  street  going  east.  Fourth 
street  going  south,  Third  street  going  north.  Walnut  going 
west,  and  Market  east  and  west,  run  near  the  old  hall. 

THE   HOUSE  WHERE  THE   DECLARATION  OF  INDE- 
PENDENCE WAS  WRITTEN. 

The  committee  appointed  by  the  Continental  Congress 
June  7,  1776,  to  consider  Richard  Henry  Lee's  resolution  in 
favor  of  independence  and  to  prepare  a  declaration  of  the 
reasons  in  favor  of  that  measure,  if  they  should  approve  of  it, 
appointed  Thomas  Jefierson  to  draft  the  document.  At  that 
time  he  occupied  lodgings  at  the  house  of  Jacob  Graff*,  Jr., 
bricklayer,  which  was  situated  at  the  south-west  corner  of  Sev- 
enth and  Market  streets.  He  had  the  whole  second  floor  for 
his  use,  occupying  the  front  room  facing  on  Market  street  as  a 
parlor  and  the  back  room  as  a  bedroom.  His  meals  were 
generally  procured  at  the  City  Tavern,  in  Second  street  near 
Walnut  street.  The  situation  of  the  house  is  confirmed  in 
Jefferson's  letter  to  Dr.  James  Mease  of  Philadelphia,  Septem- 
ber 16, 1825,  in  which,  in  reply  to  an  inquiry  where  the  Decla- 
ration of  Independence  was  written,  he  said :  "  At  the  time  of 


INDEPENDENCE   HOUSE.  325 

writing  that  instrument,  I  lodged  at  the  house  of  a  Mr.  Graff, 
a  new  brick  house  three  stories  high,  of  which  I  rented  the 
second  floor,  consisting  of  a  parlor  and  bedroom,  ready  fur- 
nished. In  that  parlor  I  wrote  habitually,  and  in  it  I  wrote 
this  paper  particularly.  So  far  I  state  from  written  proofs  in 
my  possession.  The  proprietor  (Graff)  was  a  young  man,  son 
of  a  German,  then  newly  married.  I  think  he  was  a  brick- 
layer, and  that  his  house  was  on  the  south  side  of  Market 
street — probably  between  Seventh  and  Eighth  streets ;  and  if 
not  the  only  house  on  that  part  of  the  street,  I  am  sure  there 
were  few  others  near  it.  I  have  some  idea  that  it  was  a  cor- 
ner house,  but  no  other  recollections  throwing  light  on  the 
question  or  worth  communication."  The  records  of  real  estate 
in  the  city  show  that  Jacob  Graff,  Jr.,  bricklayer,  son  of  Jacob 
Graff,  Sr.,  brickmaker,  bought,  June,  1775,  of  Edward  Physic 
and  wife,  the  lot  on  the  south-west  corner  of  Seventh  and 
High  (now  called  Market)  streets,  32  feet  on  High  street  by 
124  feet  to  a  ten-feet  wide  alley.  The  house  was  built  imme- 
diately afterward,  and  probably  furnished  by  the  beginning 
of  the  year  1776.  The  doorway  was  in  the  centre  of  the 
Seventh  street  front,  and  the  stairs  and  entries  ran  to  the  top 
of  the  house,  dividing  the  north  rooms  from  the  south  rooms. 
This  has  been  altered,  and  the  appearance  of  the  house  con- 
siderably changed  by  its  being  used  for  business  purposes. 
The  upper  portions  of  it  on  Market  and  Seventh  streets  pre- 
sent generally  the  same  appearance  as  they  had  in  1776. 
Frederick  Graff,  Sr.,  the  first  engineer  of  the  Fairmount  Water- 
works, was  a  son  of  Jacob  Graff,  spoken  of  by  Jefferson.  He 
had  been  frequently  told  by  his  father  in  his  childhood  that 
Jefferson  had  been  a  lodger  with  him,  and  that  he,  Frederick, 
when  an  infant  had  frequently  sat  on  Jefferson's  knee.  At 
that  time  the  question  as  to  where  the  Declaration  of  Inde- 
pendence was  written  had  not  been  started,  and  the  elder 
Graff  told  the  circumstance  to  his  son  as  one  that  should  be 
of  interest  to  him  as  a  family  anecdote. 

Market  street  cars,  and  Union  cars  going  south  on  Seventh 
street,  pass  this  building. 
28 


326        OLD   MINT  — LONDON   COFFEE   HOUSE. 

THE  OLD  MINT. 

The  first  building  erected  in  any  part  of  the  United  States 
under  authority  of  the  Federal  government  was  the  United 
States  Mint,  a  plain  brick  building  on  the  east  side  of  Seventh 
street  above  the  street  now  called  Filbert  street,  the  corner- 
stone of  which  was  laid  by  David  Eittenhouse,  the  director 
of  the  Mint,  on  the  31st  of  July,  1792.  This  building  was 
abandoned  when  the  Mint  at  Juniper  and  Chestnut  streets 
was  occupied,  about  the  year  1831-2. 

Union  cars  going  south  on  Seventh  street  pass  the  old 

Mint. 

THE  OLD  LONDON   COFFEE-HOUSE. 

At  the  south-west  corner  of  Front  and  Market  streets  a 
brick  building  of  peculiar  appearance,  with  gables  upon 
Front  and  Market  streets,  is  now  occupied  as  a  store.  It  was 
built  about  the  year  1702  by  Charles  Eead,  who  bought  the 
lot  from  Letitia  Penn.  It  was  for  many  years  occupied  by 
Eead  as  a  dwelling-house.  In  the  year  1754  William  Brad- 
ford, the  printer,  upon  the  decline  of  Eoberts'  Coffee-house, 
situate  in  Front  street  near  Chestnut  street,  obtained  a  license 
for  a  coffee-house  and  tavern  at  this  corner.  Under  the  name 
of  the  London  Coffee-house,  it  was  for  twenty-five  years  the 
most  fashionable  place  of  resort  in  the  city  for  gentlemen  and 
strangers.  Here  came  governors,  members  of  the  assemblies 
and  provincial  and  city  ofiicers  and  principal  citizens  and 
visiting  strangers.  It  was  an  exchange  where  they  met,  dis- 
cussed the  news  of  the  day  and  arranged  business  and  the 
movements  of  politics.  In  front  of  the  Coffee-house  public 
demonstrations  were  made,  particularly  during  Stamp-Act 
times.  Public  auction-sales  were  held  there,  and  it  was  the 
place  where  negro  slaves  were  bought  and  sold.  The  distinc- 
tion of  the  Coffee-house  as  a  place  of  resort  failed  about  the 
beginning  of  the  Eevolution,  when  the  City  Tavern  was 
finished  in  Second  street  above  Walnut  street. 

The  building  is  opposite  the  eastern  station  of  the  Market 
street  and  Union  Passenger  railway  companies  at  Front  and 
Market  street  . 


THE   FREE   QUAKER   MEETING-HOUSE.  327 

THE  FREE  QUAKER  MEETESTG-HOUSB, 
At  the  south-west  corner  of  Fifth  and  Arch  streets,  is  a 
brick  building,  which  is  now  occupied  by  the  Apprentices' 
Library  Company,  with  which  some  historical  interest  is  con- 
nected. During  the  Eevolutionary  war  the  members  of  the 
Society  of  Friends  were  generally  inclined  to  the  royal  cause. 
There  were  a  few  of  the  younger  members  who  took  the  side 
of  the  colonies.  Against  the  latter  the  disapprobation  of  the 
sect  was  strongly  expressed,  and  such  as  refused  to  conform 
to  the  discipline  of  the  society  were  "  read  out  of  meeting." 
After  the  close  of  the  Eevolution  these  disowned  members 
demanded  their  birthrights,  but  were  refused.  Under  these 
circumstances  they  formed  a  society  of  their  own,  which  they 
called  the  Free  Quakers.  They  purchased  the  lot  spoken  of, 
and  erected  the  building  upon  it.  A  tablet  on  the  north  end 
of  the  house  bears  the  following  inscription : 

By  general  subscription, 

For  the  Free  Quakers ; 

Erected  A.  D.  1783, 

Of  the  empire  8. 

The  members  of  the  society  were  generally  called  "fight- 
ing Quakers."  The  legislature  granted  them,  in  August,  1786, 
a  lot  for  burial  purposes  on  the  west  side  of  Fifth  street,  be- 
tween Locust  and  Spruce,  which  still  remains.  The  society  is 
nearly  extinct,  and  has  not  met  for  religious  worship  for  forty 
years,  although  many  descendants  of  the  original  members 
and  themselves  members  by  birthright  are  still  living.  The 
Fifth  street  burying-ground  was  during  the  war  of  the  Rebel- 
lion granted  as  a  burying-place  for  the  Union  soldiers  who 
died  in  the  army  hospitals  in  the  city — a  use  so  appropriate 
that  if  the  spirits  of  the  fighting  Quakers  who  had  been  buried 
in  the  ground  could  have  risen  they  would  surely  have  wel- 
comed the  strangers.  The  upper  story  of  this  building  was  in 
the  latter  part  of  the  last  century  used  by  the  Grand  Lodge 
of  Masons  of  Pennsylvania  as  a  place  of  meeting. 


328 


WILSON   SCHOOL-HOUSE. 


WILSON  SCHOOL-HOUSE, 
South-west  side  of  Darby  road,  at  Leech's  Hollow,  nearly  op- 
posite Dick's  nursery  and  not  far  west  of  the  Darby  Eailroad 
depot.  This  interesting  building,  which  is  now  devoted  to  the 
humble  purpose  of  a  blacksmith-shop,  was  the  scene  of  the  la- 
bors of  Alexander  Wilson,  the  American  ornithologist,  and  here 
he  laid  the  foundation  of  the  taste  which  distinguished  him  in 
after  life,  and  which  turned  the  current  of  his  existence  to  the 


WILSON   SCHOOIi-HOUSE. 

study  of  nature.  Wilson,  who  was  born  at  Paisley,  Scotland,  in 
1766,  came  to  America  in  1794.  For  a  time  he  worked  at  his 
trade  of  weaving,  but  about  1800  he  was  induced  to  take  charge 
of  the  Union  school-house,  Kingsessing,  as  teacher.  He  soon  be- 
came acquainted  with  his  neighbor  William  Bartram,  the  emi- 
nent naturalist.  The  latter  excited  the  sympathetic  enthusiasm 
of  Wilson,  who  thenceforth  devoted  himself  to  the  great  task  of 
learning  the  habits  and  peculiarities  of  the  birds  of  America. 
He  left  the  school-house  about  1804,  and  devoted  himself  to  the 
study  of  ornithology.  The  first  volume  of  his  splendid  work 
was  brought  out  about  1808.  Seven  volumes  had  been  com- 
pleted in  1818,  when  Wilson  died. 


CHAPTER    XXVIII 
HISTORICAL  MANSIONS. 

BARTEAM'S   HOUSE. 

THE  earliest  botanical  garden  established  in  America  in 
which  plants  were  cultivated  for  medicinal  purposes,  and 
exotics  upon  account  of  their  variety,  was  set  up  at  Bachelors' 


BARTKAM'S  HOUSE. 

Hall  in  Kensington,  somewhat  north  of  the  square  bounded 
by  Frankford  avenue,  Laurel  street  and  Manderson  street,  be- 
fore the  year  1728.  This  plainly  appears  in  a  poem  in  praise 
of  Bachelors'  Hall,  which  was  a  club-house  and  building  for 
the  use  of  parties  and  social  enjoyment.  George  Webb  was 
28  *  329 


330  BARTRAM'S — STENTON BELMONT. 

the  author  of  this  poem,  which  was  printed  in  1729.  John 
Bartram,  a  scientific  botanist  and  lover  of  nature,  purchased 
a  piece  of  ground  on  the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill,  below 
the  lower  ferry,  the  site  of  which  is  now  occupied  by  the 
Philadelphia,  Wilmington  and  Baltimore  Eailroad  bridge, 
in  1728.  He  built  a  house  there,  which  was  finished  in  1731, 
and  laid  out  a  botanical  garden  which  was  maintained  there 
by  himself,  his  sons  and  their  successors  for  one  hundred 
years.  The  old  house  is  still  standing.  It  is  built  of  hewn 
stone,  quaint  in  style  and  interesting  in  its  associations. 
Upon  a  stone  built  in  the  wall  is  this  inscription  : 

"  John  and  Ann  Baeteam,  1731." 

Over  the  front  window  of  the  apartment  which  he  used  for 
his  study  is  a  stone  upon  which  was  engraved  by  his  own 
hand  this  pious  distich : 

"  'Tis  God  alone,  almighty  Lord, 
The  Holy  One,  by  me  adored." 
Underneath, 

"  John  Bahtram,  1770." 

This  house  is  now  the  property  of  Andrew  M.  Eastwick. 
Access  by  the  Darby  railway  cars  to  Eastwick's  lane,  near 
road  leading  from  Gray's  Ferry. 

STENTON. 

In  1727,  James  Logan  built  for  himself,  on  the  east  side 
of  the  road  to  Germantown,  south  of  that  village,  a  large  and 
handsome  mansion  which  he  called  Stenton.  Here,  on  some 
occasions,  the  provincial  councils  met,  and  delegations  of 
Indians  on  visit  to  the  provincial  government  have  been  en- 
tertained. This  house  was  the  headquarters  of  General  Howe 
during  the  battle  of  Germantown. 

Cars  of  the  Germantown  Passenger  Eailway  (Fourth  and 
Eighth  streets)  pass  Stenton. 

BELMONT. 
In  west  Fairmount  Park,  at  some  distance  west  by  north  of 


BELMONT — CLIVEDEN.  331 

the  western  end  of  the  Eeading  Railroad  bridge,  upon  a  fine 
elevation,  stands  "Belmont."  The  earliest  house  connected 
with  the  present  building  is  the  portion  at  the  south  end  oc- 
cupied by  the  ladies'  restaurant  and  kitchens.  The  present 
house,  adjoining  on  the  north,  was  added  some  time  before 
the  year  1800.  William  Peters,  a  brother  of  the  Rev.  Richard 
Peters,  was  the  purchaser  of  this  property  in  1742.  He  built 
the  first  house  there  in  that  year  or  the  next.  Richard 
Peters,  the  son  of  William,  who  was  afterward  eminent  as  a 
patriot  during  the  Revolution,  member  of  Congress,  commis- 
sioner of  the  war-office  and  judge  of  the  United  States  District 
Court,  was  born  there  in  June,  1744,  and  resided  there  until 
his  death,  August  22,  1828.  Judge  Peters  was  an  accom- 
plished man,  a  wit,  a  scholar  and  a  patriot.  He  was  a  com- 
panion with  all  the  eminent  men  of  his  time,  among  them, 
Washington,  Hancock,  the  Adamses,  Jefferson  and  the  va- 
rious members  of  Congress  and  statesmen,  together  with 
distinguished  foreigners,  Lafayette,  Steuben,  Kosciuszko,  Pu- 
laski, Chastellux  and  others.  His  mansion  at  Belmont  was 
the  seat  of  hospitality  and  the  place  of  resort  of  scholars  and 
patriots.  Here,  while  Washington  was  President,  a  Spanish 
walnut  tree  was  planted  by  him,  which  attained  a  large  size, 
but  was  subsequently  lost.  Two  trees  which  are  scions  of  the 
first  are  still  upon  the  ground.  A  white  walnut  planted  by 
Lafayette  in  1824,  when  he  was  a  guest  of  Judge  Peters,  is 
now  in  a  sickly  condition. 

CLIVEDEN. 
On  the  east  side  of  the  main  street,  Germantown,  north  of 
Johnson  street,  at  some  distance  from  the  highway,  stands 
a  mansion  of  stone,  venerable  in  its  appearance,  which  was 
built  some  time  before  the  Revolutionary  war  by  Benjamin 
Chew,  chief-justice  of  Pennsylvania,  and  by  him  called 
Cliveden.  This  house  was  the  scene  of  one  of  the  most 
notable  incidents  in  the  battle  of  Germantown,  on  the  4th  of 
October,  1777.  About  a  mile  north  of  this  house,  at  Mount 
Airy,  upon  the  main  road,  a  column  under  the  command  of 


332  CLIVEDEN — MOUNT   PLEASANT. 

General  Sullivan  fell  upon  the  British  pickets  and  drove 
them  in  upon  the  main  body  of  the  centre,  which  was  com- 
manded by  Colonel  Musgrave.  The  latter,  finding  himself 
hard  pressed  by  the  American  advance,  threw  five  companies 
of  the  Fortieth  British  regiment  of  foot  into  Chew's  house,  he 
taking  command  of  this  force.  From  the  windows  they 
poured  a  heavy  fire  of  musketry  upon  the  advancing  Ameri- 
cans, occasioning  considerable  loss.  The  circumstance  led  to 
a  halt.  Chew's  house  was  attacked  with  cannon  by  the  Ameri- 
cans. The  operations  against  the  main  body  were  impeded 
by  this  delay,  and  the  movements  of  co-operation  planned 
by  Washington  for  the  three  main  attacking  columns  failed, 
so  that  eventually  the  battle  was  lost  and  the  Americans 
retreated.  Musgrave  lost  scarcely  a  man,  and  after  the 
Americans  by  withdrawing  had  relieved  him  from  the  siege, 
he  joined  the  main  body  of  the  royal  army. 

Germantown  Eailway  cars  on  Main  street  pass  Cliveden. 

MOUNT  PLEASANT, 
Captain  John  McPherson,  who,  during  the  wars  between 
Great  Britain,  France  and  Spain,  before  the  Revolution, 
commanded  several  privateers  which  sailed  out  of  the  poi-t 
of  Philadelphia,  and  which  were  lucky  in  making  many 
captures  and  accumulating  much  prize-money,  built  for  him- 
self on  the  east  side  of  the  Schuylkill  River  a  fine  mansion 
of  stone,  to  which  he  gave  the  name  of  Mount  Pleasant.  It 
is  situated  in  the  East  Park,  near  to  the  eastern  end  of  the 
Reading  Railroad  bridge,  a  little  east  by  north  of  the  latter. 
John  Adams,  who  dined  there  in  1774,  described  it  as  "the 
most  elegant  seat  in  Pennsylvania."  After  the  commence- 
ment of  the  Revolution,  McPherson  offered  this  house  for 
sale.  It  was  bought,  with  the  surrounding  grounds,  by  Major- 
General  Benedict  Arnold,  who  was  at  that  time  military 
governor  of  Philadelphia.  Arnold,  upon  his  marriage  with 
Peggy,  the  beautiful  daughter  of  Judge  Shippen,  settled  the 
property  on  himself  for  life,  with  the  remainder  to  his  wife 
and  children.      When  Arnold's  treason  was  discovered,  the 


1-^ 

X 

Q 

a: 

H 

:^ 

O 


MT.    PLEASANT — LEMON    HILL — SOLITUDE.     333 

State  of  Pennsylvania  confiscated  his  life  interest  in  the  prop- 
erty. The  celebrated  Baron  de  Steuben,  of  the  Revolutionary 
army,  occupied  Mount  Pleasant  as  a  tenant  in  the  fall  of 
1781  and  the  spring  of  1782.  Arnold's  life  interest  was  sold 
to  Colonel  Eichard  Hampton  for  £850.  The  Arnold  title, 
however,  was  subsequently  cut  out  by  proceedings  on  a  mort- 
gage which  existed  against  the  property  when  he  bought  it. 
General  Jonathan  Williams  became  the  purchaser  in  1796, 
and  resided  there  for  many  years.  He  was  a  Revolutionary 
patriot,  and  commercial  agent  of  the  United  States  in  France 
from  1777  to  1785.  He  was  judge  of  the  court  of  Common  Pleas 
of  Philadelphia,  1796.  He  became  an  officer  of  the  regular 
army,  was  inspector  of  fortifications  and  superintendent  of 
West  Point  Academy  in  1801,  being  the  first  officer  who  had 
charge  of  that  institution.  He  held  the  rank  of  colonel  in  the 
United  States  army  in  1812.  Returning  to  Philadelphia,  he 
was  elected  a  member  of  Congress  in  1815,  and  served  for  one 
term.  The  mansion  remained  in  the  possession  of  the  family 
for  many  years. 

LEMON   HILL. 

Robert  Morris,  the  Revolutionary  patriot,  bought  a  piece  of 
ground  immediately  north  and  east  of  Fairmount  about  1770, 
and  built  a  comfortable  house  for  his  occupancy  in  the  pleas- 
ant seasons  of  the  year.  The  tract  of  ground  was  a  large  one, 
and  extended  over  to  the  Ridge  road.  Here  Morris  spent 
much  of  his  time,  and  during  his  pecuniary  difficulties  his 
house  at  this  place,  which  he  called  the  Hills,  became  his 
prison,  for  he  dare  not  go  out  of  it  for  fear  of  arrest.  The 
property  was  finally  sold,  and  bought  by  Henry  Pratt,  a  mer- 
chant, who  built  for  himself,  about  the  year  1796,  a  fine  man- 
sion, and  called  the  estate  Lemon  Hill.  Pratt's  house,  still 
standing,  is  altered  in  exterior  appearance  by  the  addition  of 
piazzas.  The  walls  and  interior  are  as  near  as  can  be  in  the 
original  condition. 

SOLITUDE. 

John  Penn,  son  of  Thomas  Penn,  formerly  proprietary  of 
Pennsylvania,  remained  in  this  country  after  the  Revolution- 


334  SOLITUDE— WOODLANDS. 

ary  war.  In  1785  he  built  a  small  house  on  the  west  side 
of  the  Schuylkill,  opposite  the  Hills,  to  which  he  gave  the 
name  of  Solitude.  The  house  is  now  within  the  enclosure  of 
the  Zoological  Gardens,  the  ancient  style  of  architecture 
having  been  preserved.  This  John  Penn  was  a  bachelor, 
and  loved  seclusion.  He  had  literary  taste,  and  wrote  plays, 
poems  and  criticisms,  many  of  which  were  published.  He 
went  back  to  England,  probably  about  1790-91,  and  died  in 

1834. 

WOODLANDS. 

Within  the  enclosure  of  the  Woodlands  Cemetery,  West 
Philadelphia,  and  appropriated  at  the  present  time  for  office 
purposes,  stands  the  original  mansion,  which  was  once  the 
home  of  hospitality  and  taste.     It  was  the  seat  of  the  Hamil- 
tons.     Andrew,  the  founder  of  this  family,  was  a  lawyer.     He 
was  celebrated  for  his  defence  of  the  liberty  of  the  press  in 
the  case  of  John  Peter  Zenger  at  New  York,  in  1735.     He  held 
important  colonial  offices,  was  speaker  of  the  assembly  for 
many  years,  member  of  the  governor's  council,  and  attorney- 
general.     He  purchased  the  West  Philadelphia  property  in 
1735,  devised  it  in  1741  to  his  son  Andrew.     The  latter  de- 
vised it  in  1747  to  his  son  William.     The  estate  was  three 
hundred  and  fifty -six  acres.     The  original  mansion  at  Wood- 
lands was  built  1747-8.     It  was   succeeded  by  the   present 
building,  which  was  erected  about  the  time  of  the  Eevolution. 
The  principal  front  looks  toward  the  south,  and  has  a  fine 
portico  of  six  stately  Tuscan   columns  twenty-four  feet  in 
height.     The  north  front  of  the  building  is  ornamented  by 
six  Ionic  pilasters.     Pavilions  are  on  each  side  of  the  main 
front.     The  interior  reveals  traces   of  the   old  style.      The 
semi-circular  vestibule,  sixteen  feet  in  diameter,  opens  upon 
a  corridor  which   led   to  the  dining-room,  which  was  of  an 
oval  form,  thirty  feet   in   length  by  twenty-two  in  breadth. 
The  square  east  room,  with  two  bow-windows,  was  once  the 
library,  and  contained  the  family  portraits,  by  the  best  British 
and  American  artists.     Two  smaller  rooms  which  connected 
with  this  were  used  as  picture-galleries,  and  contained  French, 


336  WOODLANDS — FAIRHILL. 

Dutch  and  Italian  paintings  and  sculpture.  The  adjoining 
grounds  were  beautifully  laid  out  with  indigenous  and  exotic 
trees  and  plants.  There  was  a  conservatory,  greenhouse  and 
hothouse,  which  was  one  hundred  and  foiiy  feet  in  front,  and 
contained,  when  the  family  occupied  the  mansion,  as  many  as 
ten  thousand  plants. 

FAIRHILL. 

At  the  east  side  of  the  Germantown  road,  north  of  Somer- 
set street,  is  the  old  Fairhill  mansion,  long  the  seat  of  the 
Norris  family.  It  was  built  by  Isaac  Norris,  speaker  of  the 
assembly,  before  the  year  1732.  The  celebrated  John  Dick- 
inson, author  of  the  "  Farmer's  Letters,"  who  had  married 
one  of  the  daughters  of  Isaac  Norris,  resided  there  before  the 
Revolution,  and  was  represented  to  have  had  a  very  fine  li- 
brary in  tlie  mansion.  During  the  British  occupation  of  the 
city  they  set  fire  to  Fairhill  and  destroyed  it,  nothing  but  the 
walls  being  left  standing.  The  house  was  rebuilt  in  the  orig- 
inal style,  and  occupied  by  Dickinson  and  the  Norrises  for 
many  years.    It  is  now  a  garden  and  place  of  resort. 

Germantown  Passenger  Railway  cars  (Fourth  and  Eighth 
Streets)  pass  this  place. 


CHAPTEE    XXIX. 
BRIDGES. 

THE  principal  bridges  of  Philadelphia  are  those  that  cross 
the  Schuylkill  Eiver.  There  are  others  that  span  other 
streams  in  the  territory,  which  are  of  small  proportions,  al- 
fhough  of  much  importance  in  their  respective  places. 

Market  street  bridge.  This  structure  was  totally  destroyed 
by  fire  on  the  20th  of  November,  1875.  It  will  be  rebuilt  as 
quickly  as  possible,  and  there  is  hope  that  it  will  be  in  order 
for  use  during  the  summer  of  1876.  The  bridge  which  was 
destroyed  was  occupied  by  the  tracks  of  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  and  the  Market  street  railway,  and  by  passage- 
ways for  pedestrians  and  vehicles.  The  bridgeway  between 
thQ  abutments  was  divided  by  two  piers  of  stone,  and  was  com- 
posed of  three  great  arches.  The  depth  of  water  at  the  west- 
ern pier  was  forty-one  feet  below  high  tide.  The  whole  length 
of  the  bridge,  including  abutments  and  wing-walls,  was  1300 
feet.  The  span  of  the  middle  arch  was  194  feet,  and  of  the 
other  arches  150  feet.  The  late  wooden  bridge  was  rebuilt 
upon  the  site  of  the  old  bridge  in  1850. 

The  Middle  Ferry  was  established  at  Market  street,  Schuylkill,  in 
the  earliest  period  of  the  history  of  the  city.  The  passage  was  by  a 
scow  drawn  by  a  rope  from  side  to  side.  About  the  end  of  the 
year  1776,  Major-General  Israel  Putnam,  of  the  Continental  army, 
who  was  in  command  of  the  city  when  the  British  army  was  march- 
ing across  New  Jersey  with  the  intention,  it  was  supposed,  of  attack- 
ing Philadelphia,  built  a  floating  bridge  at  Market  street.  The 
battles  of  Trenton  and  Princeton  checked  the  hostile  movement. 
In  1777,  after  the  battle  of  Brandywine  was  lost  by  the  Americans, 
Putnam's  floating  bridge  was  carried  away  from  its  position  and 
stowed  in  some  safe  place  elsewhere.  The  British  army  built  a 
bridge  at  Market  street  during  its  occupation,  which  remained  after 
the  city  was  evacuated.  This  British  bridge  was  subsequently  taken 
29  W  337 


338  BRIDGES. 

away  and  sold  to  the  proprietors  of  Gray's  Ferry,  and  became  the 
floating  bridge  at  that  phxce.  Putnam's  bridge  was  replaced  in  the 
old  position,  but  was  carried  away  by  a  flood  March  15,  1804.  The 
permanent  bridge  company  was  formed  in  1798 ;  the  corner-stone 
was  laid  October  8,  1800,.  and  the  bridge  was  finished  and  opened  in 
1804. 

The  Philadelphia,  Wilmington  and  Baltimore  Railroad 
bridge  crosses  the  Schuylkill  at  Gray's  Ferry.  It  is  of  wood, 
and  constructed  with  a  draw.  It  is  800  feet  long,  supported 
by  five  piers.  Eailroad  tracks  are  upon  the  southern  side,  and 
vehicles  and  foot-passengers  travel  on  the  north  passage.  The 
bridge  was  built  in  1837-8. 

Gray's  Ferry,  or  the  Lower  Ferry,  was  established  at  this  point  in  an 
early  period  of  the  city's  history.  The  British  floating  bridge  formerly 
at  Market  street  was  placed  here  about  1778.  A  new  floating  bridge, 
with  a  draw,  was  built  in  1812,  and  was  in  use  until  the  railroad  bridge 
was  constructed.  The  latter  was  carried  away  by  a  flood  January 
27, 1839,  but  was  quickly  rebuilt.  The  Avestern  portion  of  the  bridge 
was  burned  December  23,  1863. 

Spring  Garden  or  Callowhill  street  bridge  is  a  new  and  ele- 
gant structure  which  crosses  the  Schuylkill  at  the  south  side 
of  Fairmount.  It  is  of  iron  and  double  decked,  and  very 
handsome  in  appearance.  Passage  over  the  upper  portion 
commences  at  Twenty-fifth  and  Spring  Garden  streets,  rising 
by  a  gradual  ascent  and  winding  around  the  lower  part  of  the 
Fairmount  reservoir  until  it  reaches  the  Schuylkill.  Here  the 
roadway  passes  over  at  a  height  of  about  50  feet  above  high  tide. 
The  upper  deck  continues  over  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  by 
a  span  140  feet  wide,  and  strikes  the  level  of  Spring  Garden 
street  at  Thirty-second  street.  The  lower  roadway  passes  over 
at  the  level  of  Callowhill  street  and  strikes  a  street  which 
winding  northwardly  connects  with  Haverford  street  running 
west.  The  whole  length  of  this  bridge  is  1295  feet,  and  with 
abutments  and  approaches  2730  feet ;  width  48  feet,  with  a 
roadway  of  32  feet  and  sidewalks  of  8  feet  each ;  span  across 
the  river  348  feet.  The  upper  floor  is  32  feet  above  the  lower 
floor.  The  bridge  passes  over  Callowhill  street,  the  Schuylkill, 
Thirtieth  street  and  the  tracks  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad. 


340  BRIDGES. 

It  was  built  by  the  Keystone  Bridge  Company  of  Pittsburg 
and  finished  in  1875.  Handsome  lamps  on  each  floor  give  a 
profusion  of  light  at  night.  The  cars  of  the  Hestonville  Kace 
and  Vine  streets  passenger  railway  company  going  west  pass 
from  Spring  Garden  street  at  Twenty-fifth  street,  and  over 
the  upper  floor.  Coming  east  they  come  down  Haverford 
street,  along  Thirtieth  street,  and  cross  the  bridge  on  the  lower 
floor,  which  is  on  a  level  with  Callowhill  street. 

The  Upper  Ferry  was  in  operation  at  an  early  period.  Some  time 
after  the  Revolution  a  floating  bridge  was  built  here.  About  1811 
the  Lancaster-Schuylkill  Bridge  Company  was  incorporated  for  the 
purpose  of  building  a  bridge  at  this  point.  They  empk)yed  Lewis 
Wernwag,  an  ingenious  architect,  who  planned  for  them  a  single- 
arch  bridge,  which,  when  completed,  had  a  greater  span  by  96  feet 
than  any  other  bridge  in  the  world.  It  was  50  feet  4  inches  wide  at 
the  abutments  and  35  feet  wide  at  the  centre.  The  river  was  spanned 
by  a  single  arch  of  340  feet  4  inches.  This  was  elevated  at  the  centre 
30  feet  above  the  water,  and  had  a  rise  from  the  abutments  of  20  feet. 
The  structure  was  400  feet  long,  and  was  of  veiy  picturesque  appear- 
ance. It  was  finished  in  1813  and  burned  September  1,  1838.  A 
wire  suspension  bridge,  the  first  erected  in  the  United  States  except 
a  swinging  wire  bridge  at  the  Falls  of  Schuylkill,  constructed  by 
White  &  Hazzard  many  years  ago,  replaced  the  single  arch  bridge. 
It  was  according  to  the  plan  of  Charles  Ellet,  architect  and  engineer, 
and  was  finished  January  2,  1842.  This  bridge  was  343  feet  between 
the  abutments,  27  feet  high,  and  sustained  on  each  side  by  five  cables 
suspended  from  massive  granite  towers  32  feet  high.  This  bridge 
became  decayed  and  dangerous,  and  was  replaced  in  1875  by  the 
double-deck  iron  bridge  above  described. 

Girard  avenue  bridge  is  one  of  the  finest  bridges  in  the 
world,  and  wider  than  any  bridge  in  America  or  Europe,  being 
of  the  width  of  100  feet,  with  sidewalks  of  16. J  feet  each  and 
a  roadway  of  67J  feet.  It  was  commenced  about  1872  and 
opened  July  4,  1874.  It  was  built  by  the  Phoenixville  Iron 
Company,  and  cost  $1,404,445.  This  bridge  is  very  hand- 
somely ornamented,  and  is  illuminated  at  night  with  gas. 

A  wooden  bridge  was  erected  here  about  1840.  It  was  badly  built 
at  the  beginning  ;  and  falling  into  decay,  its  renewal  was  necessary. 

Penrose  Ferry  bridge  is  situate  a  short  distance  above  the 
mouth  of  the  Schuylkill.      It  is  a  wooden  structure,  badly 


n     111!  iinilAii   1  iiiiiiiiiw'iiiiiiliiliillili' 


342  BRIDGES. 

built  and  needing  frequent  repairs.     It  is  600  feet  long,  and 
was  originally  finished  about  1855. 

South  street  bridge  is  of  stone  and  iron,  a  new  structure 
which  was  commenced  March,  1870,  and  finished  toward  the 
end  of  the  year  1875.  It  is  solid  and  graceful.  The  stone- 
work on  the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill  carries  the  structure 
by  five  arches  over  a  considerable  stretch  of  land.  The  work 
in  the  centre  is  supported  by  cylindrical  cast-iron  piers,  which 
were  sunk  by  the  pneumatic  process.  The  central  draw  works 
on  a  pivot,  leaving  a  passage  of  77  feet  on  each  side.  The 
span  of  the  pivot  is  214  feet,  and  the  east  and  west  spans  185 
feet  each.  The  whole  length  of  the  bridge,  with  its  approaches, 
is  2419  feet. 

Chestnut  street  bridge  crosses  the  Schuylkill  by  two  arches 
in  the  eastern  abutments  and  two  arches  in  the  river,  resting 
in  the  middle  upon  one  pier.  The  river  spans  are  398  feet 
long ;  entire  length  1528  feet.  This  bridge  was  commenced 
the  latter  part  of  the  year  1861,  and  was  formally  opened  the 
23d  of  June,  1866.  It  is  built  of  stone  and  iron,  is  of  graceful 
proportions,  and  handsomely  illuminated  at  night.  The 
roadway  and  pavements  are  of  stone  and  brick. 

The  Reading  Railroad  bridge,  usually  called  the  Columbia 
bridge,  is  a  wooden  structure  which  crosses  the  Schuylkill  near 
Belmont,  in  the  Park.  It  was  built  originally  for  the  use  of 
the  Columbia  Eailroad — a  State  work.  It  was  commenced 
in  1832  and  finished  in  1834.  Tlie  bridge  is  1008  feet  long, 
supported  by  six  piers  and  two  abutments,  and  was  originally 
built  with  four  trusses.  The  southern  side  of  this  bridge  is 
occupied  by  railroad  tracks,  the  northern  portion  by  carriage 
and  roadway.  After  the  State  works  were  abandoned,  this 
bridge  and  roadway  were  sold  to  the  Eeading  Railroad 
Company. 

The  Connecting  Railroad  bridge  is  a  very  solid  and  imposing 
structure  of  stone  and  iron,  which  is  high  above  the  surface 
of  the  river,  and  crosses  it  in  Fairmount  Park  just  north  of 
Girard  avenue  bridge.     It  was  built  a  few  years  ago. 

The  Pennsylvania  Railroad  bridge  crosses  the  river  Schuyl- 


BRIDGES.  343 

kill  north  of  the  Arsenal,  and  is  used  entirely  for  railroad 
purposes.  It  is  of  stone,  is  very  strongly  constructed,  and 
was  commenced  July,  1860,  and  first  used  in  January,  1862. 

The  Falls  of  Schuylkill  bridge,  a  wooden  structure,  crosses 
the  Schuylkill  some  little  distance  above  the  northern  bound- 
ary of  North  Laurel  Hill  Cemetery.  It  is  of  wood,  and  is 
probably  the  fourth  or  fifth  bridge  which  has  been  at  this 
place.  First  was  the  suspension  bridge  of  White  & 
Hazzard,  then  a  chain  suspension  bridge,  then  a  wooden 
bridge  swept  away  by  a  flood,  and  another  burned  August 
26,  1842. 

The  Reading  Railroad  Port  Richmond  branch  bridge  crosses 
the  Schuylkill  at  the  Falls.  It  is  of  stone,  very  strong,  and 
has  five  piers  with  spans  of  78  feet  each.  This  bridge  was 
commenced  in  1843.  It  replaced  a  bridge  which  had  been 
finished  in  1842,  and  was  burned,  together  with  the  Falls 
bridge,  near  by,  on  the  26th  of  August  of  that  year. 

The  Wissahlckon  bridge,  on  the  line  of  the  Manayunk 
and  Norristown  branch  of  the  Reading  Railroad,  crosses  the 
stream  which  gives  it  name  at  the  great  height  of  68  feet 
above  the  water.  It  is  of  wood,  420  feet  long,  with  three  spans 
of  140  feet  each.  The  present  structure  replaces  a  bridge  of 
the  same  dimensions  burned  on  the  12th  of  August,  1862. 

The  Manayunk  bridge,  a  wooden  structure,  crosses  the 
Schuylkill  at  Manayunk,  the  place  formerly  bearing  that 
name,  now  part  of  the  Twenty-third  Ward. 

Flat  Rock  bridge  crosses  the  Schuylkill  at  a  romantic  situa- 
tion above  Manayunk.     It  is  also  of  wood. 

Street  bridges.  There  are  several  bridges  crossing  streets 
and  railroads  in  the  city  which  are  works  of.  considerable 
size  and  cost.  Some  of  these  may  be  worthy  of  mention. 
Among  them  are  the  bridges  crossing  the  Pennsylvania 
Railroad  west  of  the  Schuylkill  and  near  the  Park.  The 
bridge  at  Belmont  and  Girard  avenues,  which  carries  over 
two  intersecting  streets,  is  a  novelty  in  bridge  construction. 
A  fine  bridge  at  Forty-first  street  crosses  the  railroad  by  a 
span  of  250  feet.     Other  bridges  on  this  line  are  fine  works. 


344  BRIDGES. 

The  widest  railroad  bridge  in  the  world,  crossing  the  land,  is 
upon  the  line  of  the  Eeading  Eailroad ;  it  crosses  Richmond 
street  above  Lehigh  avenue,  and  carries  a  large  number  of 
tracks. 

Park  bridges.  The  iron  bridges  in  the  Park  connecting 
the  Exhibition  buildings,  at  Lansdowne  Glen  and  Belmont 
Valley,  are  well  worth  examination. 


CHAPTER    XXX. 
PUBLIC  PARKS  AND  SQUARES. 

FAIRMOUNT  PARK. 

EAIRMOUNT  PARK  contains  2740  acres,  and,  next  to 
Epping  and  Windsor  Forests,  England,  and  the  Prater 
at  Vienna,  is  the  largest  park  in  the  world.  It  is  situate 
on  the  east  and  west  banks  of  the  river  Schuylkill,  including 
the  river  within  the  enclosure,  and  extends  along  the  Wissa- 
hickon  Creek  from  its  mouth  to  Chestnut  Hill  on  both  sides 
of  the  stream,  which  is  also  Park  property.  Commencing  at 
Callowhill  street,  Fairmount,  the  Park  extends  on  the  east 
bank  to  the  Falls  of  Schuylkill  and  the  mouth  of  the  Wissa- 
hickon,  five  and  a  half  miles,  and  along  that  stream  seven 
miles  and  a  half  to  Chestnut  Hill ;  total  distance  from  Cal- 
lowhill street  entrance  to  extreme  north-east  Park  boundary, 
thirteen  miles.  On  the  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill  the  Park 
commences  at  Spring  Garden  street  bridge  and  extends  north- 
wardly to  Chamounix  and  Robert's  Hollow,  about  four  miles 
and  a  half. 

The  Park  is  by  common  usage  divided  into  sections  known 
as  Old  Fairmount  and  Lemon  Hill,  East  Park,  West  Park 
and  Wissahickon  Park. 

Fairmount  and  Lemon  Hill  extend  from  Callowhill  street 
to  a  point  above  the  connecting  railroad  bridge,  where  the 
river  road  crosses  the  Philadelphia  and  Reading  Railroad. 
The  ground  is  bounded  on  the  east  and  north-east  by  the 
Reading  Railroad,  and  is  not  more  than  a  third  of  a  mile 
wide  at  any  point.  Within  this  portion  of  the  Park  are  the  old 
Fairmount  Water-works  and  reservoirs,  upon  the  Schuylkill 
just  north  of  the  Spring  Garden  bridge.     The  Graff  memorial, 

345 


346 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


Fairmount  garden,  Leda-and-the-swan  fountain,  wooden  fig- 
ures, by  Eush,  on  the  rocks  of  the  forebay,  and  the  same  figures 
in  bronze,  and  the  statues  of  Wisdom  and  Justice  in  wood, 
by  Eush,  in  the  hall  of  the  main  building;  emblematic  figures 


FOUNTAIN   NEAK  MINEKAL,   SPRING,    L,EMON   HILL. 

of  river  gods,  representing  the  genius  of  the  Schuylkill,  in 
reclining  positions  over  the  entrance  to  wheel-houses,  by 
Eush.  The  Art  Gallery,  free  to  all  visitors,  is  near  the  Green 
street  and  Fairmount  avenue  entrance.  It  contains  Eother- 
mel's  grand  painting  of  the  battle  of  Gettysburg,  the  property 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK.  347 

of  the  State  of  Pennsylvania,  which  cost  $30,000;  the  noted 
picture  "Christ  Eejected,"  by  Benjamin  West,  and  several 
other  fine  works  of  art.  The  Lincoln  monument,  by  Randolph 
Eogers,  is  crowned  by  a  fine  bronze  statue  of  the  late  Presi- 
dent in  a  sitting  position.  Fountains  are  in  sight  from  the 
Art  Gallery,  and  the  mineral  springs  are  near. 

Numerous  boat-houses,  architecturally  handsome,  are  on  the 
bank  of  the  river,  for  the  use  of  amateur  boatclubs;  Lemon 
Hill  Mansion  is  above,  Sedgeley  guard-house  is  near  Girard 
avenue  bridge;  General  Grant's  cottage,  being  the  building  oc- 
cupied by  him  at  City  Point  as  commander-in-chief  of  the  army 
during  the  siege  of  Richmond,  stands  near  the  river  bank, 
south  of  the  Girard  avenue  bridge.  The  Humboldt  monument 
will  be  east  of  and  very  near  Grant's  cottage.  At  Girard  avenue 
the  main  driving  road  and  paths  for  pedestrians  unite  and  are 
carried  over  the  magnificent  bridge  to  the  West  Park.  The 
river  road  in  this  Park,  commencing  at  Green  street  entrance, 
leads  by  a  road  near  the  boat-houses,  beneath  overhanging 
rocks  and  wooded  steeps,  and  extends  beneath  Girard  avenue 
bridge,  past  the  Spring  Garden  or  Schuylkill  Water-works, 
and  under  the  railroad  bridge.  It  then  penetrates  a  tunnel 
cut  through  Promontory  Rock,  and  gradually  rises  to  the  level 
of  the  Reading  Railroad,  which  it  crosses  at  Mifflin  lane. 

The  ascent  to  Lemon  Hill  mansion  from  the  mineral  spring 
is  handsome  and  attractive.  Paths  which  lead  round  an  at- 
tractive fountain  in  which  gold-fish  are  swimming  rise  by  a 
series  of  steps  and  terraced  gardens  thickly  shaded  by  trees, 
with  walks  and  alleys  which  seem  to  lead  ofi"  to  spots  of  deep 
seclusion.  This  charming  little  parterre  was  the  place  where 
were  cherished  the  choicest  portions  of  "  Pratt's  Garden," 
famous  among  the  city  wonders  of  the  olden  time. 

The  East  Park  extends  from  Thirty-third  street  at  Thomp- 
son street  to  Ridge  avenue,  which  it  intersects  north  of 
Dauphin  street,  and  extends  along  the  avenue  to  South  Lau- 
rel Hill,  where  it  narrows  to  a  space  wide  enough  for  road  and 
other  purposes,  extending  north-eastward  along  the  banks 
of  the  Schuylkill  and  beneath  the  Reading  Railroad  (Port 


348 


FAIEMOUNT    PARK. 


Richmond  branch)  bridge  west  of  the  Falls  of  Schuylkill 
village  to  the  month  of  the  Wissahickon.  The  distance  from 
Mifflin  lane  to  Wissahickon  is  about  four  miles.  The  greatest 
width  of  the  East  Park  is  about  a  mile,  narrowing  at  the 


E^VST  TERRACE,  LEMON  HILI.. 


upper  portion  to  a  quarter  of  a  mile.  Within  this  part  of  the 
Park  is  the  great  reservoir,  now  building,  which  is  intended 
to  contain  750,000,000  gallons  of  water.  This  reservoir  is 
built  upon  what  had  previously  been  open,  cultivated  ground. 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


349 


so  that  the  most  beautiful  portion  of  the  enclosure  remains 
untouched.  The  East  Park  is  a  series  of  hills  and  ravines 
stretching  upward  to  the  Falls  bridge,  jutting  out  in  huge  rocks 
upon  the  Schuylkill,  covered  with  magnificent  old  trees,  grass 


SCHDYIiKII.L,    BLUFFS    Bt.LOW    EDGET.Y. 

and  shrubbery.  Every  path  and  roadway  opens  new  beau- 
ties to  the  view,  so  that  the  eye  is  perpetually  enlivened  by 
fresh  attractions  in  the  landscape.  Within  the  East  Park  still 
remain  some  of  the  old  country-seats  which  formerly  studded 
the  banks  of  the  Schuylkill  on  both  sides.  Going  northward 
30 


350 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


the  pedestrian  or  equestrian  will  pass  to  the  left  hand  Foun- 
tain Green,  once  the  seat  of  Samuel  Meeker,  and  probably 
built  before  the  year  1800.  Beyond  is  Mount  Pleasant,  made 
famous  by  the  names  of  McPherson,  Arnold  the  traitor,  and 


~-jc=M^~i-^  j-3^i-yii/.f.^-^^^ijtfd  . 


ENTRANCE   AT  EGGIESFIELD. 


Baron  Steuben  the  patriot,  (See  Chapter  XXVIII.)  Eockland 
succeeds,  and  here  is  a  very  romantic  ravine  thickly  shaded 
and  cool  in  the  summer.  Belleville  is  next,  and  beyond  is 
Ormiston,  once  the  property  of  Edward  Shippen  Burd,  whose 


352  FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 

wife  founded  the  Burd  Orphan  Asylum.  Beyond  Ormiston  was 
an  estate  once  called  Edgely,  the  mansion  of  which  has  been 
torn  down.  A  concourse  here,  next  the  bank  of  the  river 
on  the  main  driving  road,  afibrds  a  magnificent  view^  of  the 
Schuylkill  north  and  south,  with  the  surrounding  country, 
and  is  a  favorite  place  for  stopping  to  view  the  scenery.  Be- 
yond Edgely  is  Woodford  mansion,  near  the  Eidge  road, 
which  is  occupied  as  the  residence  of  the  superintendent  of 
the  Park.  Strawberry  Mansion  is  situated  near  the  Schuyl- 
kill, on  the  heights  of  a  fine  ravine  which  separates  this  prop- 
erty from  Edgely.  It  is  a  Park  restaurant,  well  kept  and 
much  resorted  to.  The  trees  surrounding  it  are  of  the  largest 
forest  size,  and  the  place  is  very  attractive.  The  river  road, 
coming  from  the  Wissahickon  and  Falls,  enters  upon  the 
highland  at  Edgely  ravine.  It  has  come  southward  from 
the  Wissahickon  in  front  of  Falls  village,  and  of  North, 
Central  and  South  Laurel  Hill  Cemeteries. 

The  West  Park  commences  at  Spring  Garden  street  on  the 
west  bank  of  the  Schuylkill,  and  extends  up  that  stream  to  a 
point  nearly  opposite  the  mouth  of  Wissahickon  Creek.  At 
Girard  avenue  it  widens  and  extends  out  to  George's  Hill, 
giving  it  a  wddth  of  about  two  miles  at  that  point.  In  the 
other  portions  of  the  West  Park  the  width  is  reduced,  but  in 
the  narrowest  portion  of  it  north  of  the  parallel  of  George's 
Hill  it  is  from  a  half  to  three-quarters  of  a  mile  wide.  Com- 
mencing at  the  Spring  Garden  street  bridge,  going  north,  the 
first  place  of  note  is  the  Zoological  Gardens,  in  which  is  John 
Penn's  villa  of  Solitude.  (See  Chapter  XXVIII.)  At  Girard 
avenue  the  Park  road  passes  under  the  connecting  railroad 
bridge,  which  is  carried  over  it  by  a  series  of  arches.  The  roads 
and  paths  here  are  near  the  Schuylkill,  and  the  view  charming. 
About  a  quarter  of  a  mile  from  the  bridge  is  Sweet-Brier 
mansion,  which  was  built  by  Samuel  Breck,  a  merchant  of 
Philadelphia,  at  one  time  member  of  Congress  and  State 
Senator,  who  occupied  that  place  for  thirty -eight  years— be- 
tween 1823  and  1861.  The  house  was  probably  built  about 
1810.     Beyond  Sweet-Brier  at  the  distance  of  a  mile  and  a 


354 


PAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


quarter  from  the  Girard  avenue  bridge  are  Lansdowne  plateau 
and  Lansdowne  concourse. 

Lansdowne  was  a  very  famous  mansion  more  than  a  hun- 
dred years  ago.  It  was  built  by  John  Penn,  one  of  the  last 
proprietaries  of  Pennsylvania.     He  bought  the  main  portion 


VIEW    OF    SWEET-BKIER    FKOM    EG«X,ESFIELD. 

of  the  ground  in  December,  1773,  and  by  other  purchases  in- 
creased the  size  of  the  property  until  it  contained  about  200 
acres.  The  mansion  was  commenced  immediately  afterward, 
nnd  was  probably  completed  about  the  outbreak  of  the  Eevo- 


FAIRMOUNT  PARK. 


355 


lution.  It  was  in  the  Italian  style,  with  centre  and  wings, 
bay-window  apartments,  and  a  steep  roof  in  the  Mansard 
style.  The  grounds  were  handsomely  laid  out  and  decorated 
with  fruits,  flowers  and  statuary.  Penn  devised  it  in  1795  to 
his  widow,  Anne  Penn,  a  daughter  of  Chief-Justice  Allen. 


VIEW    ABOVE     SWEET-BKIKK. 


William  Bingham,  first  United  States  Senator  from  Penn- 
sylvania, a  man  of  high  fashion,  whose  beautiful  wife,  Anne, 
daughter  of  Thomas  Willing,  partner  of  Robert  Morris,  was 
the  leader  of  society  about  the  beginning  of  the  present  cen- 


356  FAIRMOUNT  PAEK. 

tury,  bought  the  property  in  1797,  and  lived  there  for  some 
years  in  great  style.  During  the  time  the  seat  of  national 
government  was  at  Philadelphia,  Bingham's  house  was  the 
abode  of  hospitality  and  the  resort  of  the  most  distinguished 
people  of  the  time.  A  daughter  of  Bingham  married  Alex- 
ander Baring,  afterward  Lord  Ashburton,  and  thus  it  passed 
into  the  Baring  family,  from  whom  it  was  purchased  for 
Park  purposes.  Lansdowne  would  have  been  a  most  inter- 
esting relic  for  preservation,  but  unfortunately  it  was  burned 
some  years  ago — before  the  Park  was  established. 

Just  beyond  Lansdowne  concourse,  upon  the  southern  part 
of  this  ground,  are  the  main  Exhibition  building,  extending 
to  Belmont  avenue,  Memorial  Hall  and  the  Art  Gallery  north 
of  it,  and  Horticultural  Hall  still  farther  north.  Beyond  the 
latter,  still  going  north,  is  Agricultural  Hall,  on  the  plateau 
below  Belmont  Mansion.  West  of  the  main  Exhibition 
building,  Machinery  Hall  extends  nearly  up  to  the  base  of 
George's  Hill.  The  lake  and  United  States  building  are  north 
of  Machinery  Hall  on  Belmont  avenue,  and  other  buildings 
are  in  the  neighborhood. 

Ascending  from  Lansdowne  concourse,  passing  to  the  right 
Kemy's  bronze  group  of  "Hudson  Bay  wolves  quarrelling 
over  the  body  of  a  deer,"  the  road,  crossing  Belmont  avenue, 
climbs  George's  Hill,  from  which  a  very  fine  view  of  the  city, 
as  well  as  the  whole  of  the  Exhibition  buildings,  may  be  had. 
Here  is  a  fine  pavilion,  near  which  is  Stauch's  bronze  statue 
"Night."  Belmont  reservoir  is  near;  and  passing  on  north- 
ward, Belmont  Mansion  is  reached,  which  is  rich  with  Eevolu- 
tionary  memories.  (See  Chapter  XXVIII.)  East  of  Belmont 
is  Eidgeland,  formerly  a  private  mansion,  and  the  road  then 
stretches  off  north-eastwardly  to  Chamounix,  or  Mount  Pros- 
pect, until  the  Falls  road  is  reached,  by  which  connection  may 
be  made  with  the  East  Park.  Extending  northward  from  the 
Girard  avenue  bridge  near  the  Schuylkill  are  a  series  of  ravines 
and  glens  accessible  only  to  pedestrians.  They  are  very  beauti- 
'  fill.  Through  Sweet-Brier  ravine  a  small  stream  finds  its  way 
in  quiet  beauty.     Lansdowne  Glen  also  is  penetrated  by  a 


358  FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 

brook.  Through  Belmont  Valley  a  stream  runs  which  reaches 
the  river  near  Belmont  Water-works.  Still  farther  north  is 
Belmont  Glen,  through  which  a  very  attractive  path  leads 
from  the  Eeading  Railroad  Park  station  to  Belmont  Mansion, 


MONSTEK    FINES,    WEST    PAUK. 

which  latter  is  a  Park  restaurant.  Near  the  river,  at  Lans« 
downe  ravine,  are  the  special  pumping  water-works  erected 
for  the  supply  of  the  Centennial  buildings.  The  stand-pipe, 
looking  like  a  Turkish  minaret,  is  near  the  Memorial  building, 
and  a  conspicuous  object  from  all  portions  of  the  ground. 


FAIRMOUNT    PARK.  359 

rivalling  in  this  particular  Sawyer's  observatory  at  Belmont. 
North  of  the  Centennial  water-works,  on  the  river  bank  near 
the  Reading  Eailroad  bridge,  are  the  Belmont  Water-works. 
The  river  road  just  above  runs  beneath  the  bridge.  Just 
beyond  are  the  offices  of  the  Park  Commission,  with  the  two 


KAVINE     IN    WESTERN    PARK,    SWEET-BRIER    VALE. 

bronze  figures  of  Pegasus  led  by  the  Muses,  heroic  size,  brought 
from  Vienna.  Still  farther  north,  near  the  river,  is  a  quaint 
little  building  known  as  Tom  Moore's  cottage,  which  tradition 
says  was  once  the  residence  of  the  poet— a  story  in  reference 
to' which  doubts  have  been  expressed  by  historical  scholars. 
The  Wissahickon  Section  of  the  Park  commences  where  the 


360 


fairmou:nt  park. 


creek  empties  into  the  Schuylkill,  almost  beneath  the  High 
bridge  of  the  Germantown  and  Norristown  Railroad,  and 
between  the  hills  where,  during  the  battle  of  Germantown, 
Armstrong,  from  the  north-western  bank,  cannonaded  the 
Hessian  chasseurs  under  Knyphausen,  on  the  south-eastern 
bank  of  the  stream.  The  road  winds  near  the  water  of  the 
creek  through  the  entire  valley  of  the  Wissahickon,  which 
is  thickly  wooded  on  the  sides,  with  rocks  overhanging  the 


ON   THE    WISSAHICKON    DRIVE. 

roadway  and  the  stream,  presenting  at  every  turn  scenes  of 
beauty  to  delight  the  observer.  There  are  several  Park  hotels 
upon  the  route — Wissahickon  Hall,  Maple  Spring,  Valley 
Green  and  Indian  Rock  hotels.  The  road  runs  from  the 
Schuylkill  on  the  west  and  south  side  of  the  stream.  It 
crosses  just  beyond  Washington  Rock  near  the  Hermit's 
Glen  and  Kelpius'  Spring,  places  dedicated  to  the  memory 
of  ascetic  religious  enthusiasts,  who  in  the  early  days  of  the 


A  GlilMPSE  OF  THE  WISSAHICKON. 


362 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


colony  of  Pennsylvania  came  from  Germany  and  settled 
down  to  pious  meditation  and  study  on  the  banks  of  the 
romantic  stream.     Among  these  was  John  Kelpius,  a  scholar 


THE    HERMIT'S    POOL,. 


and  a  mystic,  who  prayed,  studied  and  waited  for  many  years 
the  coming  of  "the  woman  clothed  with  the  sun,  with  the 
moon  under  her  feet  and  twelve  stars  on  her  forehead ;  she 
who  had  fled  into  the  wilderness."     Kelpius  died  at  the  early 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


363 


age  of  thirty- eight  years.  Some  of  his  disciples  remained  for 
a  long  time ;  others  formed  a  community  known  as  the  Her- 
mits of  the  Ridge,  and  occupied  as  a  monastery  a  building 
still  shown  above  the  bridge  which  leads  off  toward  German- 


town.     Th.  ri]M'  1.1  i.b..  .1  -rirrfnl  and  airv  -t-i-ture,  crosses 


HEMLOCK    GliEN    ON   THE    WISSAHICKON. 


the  creek  about  three  miles  and  a  quarter  from  its  mouth.  A 
little  farther  on  is  Valley  Green.  The  first  fountain  is  four 
miles  and  a  quarter  from  the  Schuylkill  River.  Indian  Rock 
juts  out  boldly  at  a  great  height  half  a  mile  farther  on,  and 
so  the  road  proceeds,  full  of  interest  and  romantic  impressions, 
until  at  Chestnut  Hill  it  passes  off  beneath  a  hill  upon  the 


364 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


top  of  which  is  planted  the  Catholic  convent  of  St.  Joseph, 
in  a  position  which  overlooks  the  country  for  miles.  The 
number  of  trees,  shrubs  and  plants  in  this  Park  is  immense. 
Some  years  ago,  after  examination,  it  was  estimated  that  in 
the  East  and  West  Parks,  excluding  the  Wissahickon  section, 


TKE    WISSAHICKON    AT    CHESTNUT    HILL,. 

there  were  34,000  trees  varying  between  18  and  27  feet  in 
circumference;  under  18  feet,  70,000.  In  the  Wissahickon 
section,  which  is  wooded  throughout  the  whole  extent,  it  is 
estimated  there  are  200,000  trees,  many  being  of  great  height. 
During  the  autumn  the  brilliant  colors  of  the  trees  upon  the 


366 


FAIRMOUNT    PARK. 


hillsides  are  gorgeous.     Of  shrubs,  vines  and  bushes  the  num- 
ber in  all  sections  of  the  Park  is  beyond  estimate. 

Along  the  whole  course  of  this  romantic  stream  the  scenery 
is  wild  and  constantly  changing  in  appearance.     The  waters 


-v"s: 


GliBN    FERN,  WISSAHICKON. 

leap  along,  seeking  the  great  river  by  devious  courses,  winding 
in  curves  and  sometimes  changing  suddenly  their  direction  as 
new  obstacles  are  encountered.  Every  step  along  the  banks 
opens  new  vistas  of  beauty  and  of  romantic  impression.  The 
effect  is  heightened  by  the  towering  rocks  and  lofty  trees 


FAIRMOTTNT   PARK. 


367 


which  shade  the  pathway  or  let  occasional  gleams  of  bright- 
ness flash  through  the  gorges. 

Fairmount  Park  has  gradually  increased  in  size  from  the 
time  of  the  resolution  entered  into  by  the  city  of  Philadelphia, 
to  change  the  method  of  obtaining  water  from  the  Schuylkill 
River.  The  first  ground  for  that  purpose  was  purchased  about 
1811-12,  when  the  steam  pumping-works  were  commenced  at 


BRIDGE    OVER     WISSAHICKON,    NEAR   MOUNT   AIRY. 

Fairmount.  Subsequently  other  ground  was  purchased,  until 
the  space  between  Callowhill  and  Coates  streets  had  been 
obtained.  After  the  failure  of  the  Bank  of  the  United  States, 
the  Lemon  Hill  property,  which  had  passed  into  the  hands  of 
that  corporation,  was  sold,  and  the  city  was  induced  to  buy  it 
in  order  to  preserve  the  purity  of  the  water  of  the  Schuylkill 
River  from  the  defilement  which  would  happen  if  the  banks 


368  FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 

of  the  river  above  Fairmount  should  be  built  up.  This 
purchase  was  made  July  24,  1844.  By  ordinance  of  Septem- 
ber 18, 1855,  Lemon  Hill  estate  was  dedicated  as  a  public  park, 
being  separate  from  Fairmount.  About  1856  a  number  of 
citizens  purchased  Sedgely,  the  estate  north  of  Lemon  Hill, 
and  extending  up  to  Girard  avenue.  They  paid  a  large 
amount  of  money  upon  the  purchase,  and  then  offered  to 
present  the  property  to  the  city  on  condition  that  the  latter 
should  assume  and  pay  the  balance  of  a  mortgage  upon  the 
property  which  still  existed.  The  arrangement  was  entered 
into.  Authority  was  given  by  the  Legislature  to  take  posses- 
sion of  the  ground  between  old  Fairmount  and  Lemon  Hill, 
and  thus  Fairmount  Park  was  created  of  considerable  size. 
About  1866  some  gentlemen  of  the  city,  ascertaining  that  the 
Lansdowne  property,  on  the  west  side  of  the  river  Schuylkill, 
would  be  thrown  into  the  market,  secured  it  from  the  owners 
in  England  at  a  reasonable  price,  under  the  understanding 
that  it  would  be  devoted  to  public  purposes.  The  City 
Councils  and  the  State  Legislature  favored  the  acquisition. 
Necessary  laws  were  passed  in  order  to  make  the  object  of 
the  Park — the  preservation  of  the  water — truly  available.  The 
original  design  was  greatly  extended,  and  by  act  passed  in 
1867  the  city  was  authorized  to  take  for  use  the  property  on 
both  sides  of  the  river  and  along  the  Wissahickon,  which  is 
now  included  within  the  boundaries  of  the  Park.  A  splendid 
accession  was  made  to  the  Park  in  1867  by  Jesse  George  and 
his  sister,  who  lived  adjoining  the  Park  according  to  the  then 
limits,  and  near  the  eminence  since  known  as  George's  Hill. 
These  old  people  made  a  gift  to  the  city  of  the  hill  and  a 
quantity  of  land  amounting  to  about  thirty-eight  acres,  one 
of  the  most  valuable  portions  of  the  grounds,  as  has  since 
been  proved  not  only  by  the  beauty  of  the  view  from  the 
commanding  position  on  the  top  of  the  hill,  but  as  a  necessary 
site  for  the  Belmont  reservoir. 

Access  to  the  Park  may  be  had  by  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad, 
the  d6p6t  of  which  is  at  Belmont  and  Elm  avenues,  and  which 
with  its  lines  of  communication  extends  to  all  parts  of  the 


FAIRMOUNT   PARK. 


369 


United  States.  ALso  by  the  Reading  Railroad,  vviiich  runs 
through  the  Park  on  both  sides  of  the  river.  Passenger  railways 
leading  to  the  Park  are  the  following :  Union  navy  yard  and 
Spring  Garden  street  lines  to  Brown  street  entrance;  Green  and 
Coates  streets  line,  out  Fairmount  avenue  to  Park  entrance : 
Spruce  and  Pine  streets  line  going  west  out  Pine  street,  and 
north  up  Twenty-third  and  Twenty-fifth  streets  to  Green  street 
entrance ;  Eidge  avenue  line  touches  the  East  Park  at  Thirty- 


■■-!-..■>.«..  .T   ..        .MtcSLi 

DRINKING   FOUNTAIN    ON    THE    WISSAHICKON. 

third  and  Dauphin  streets;  Girard  avenue  (Fourth  and  Eighth 
streets)  line  west,  crossing  the  bridge  to  West  Park,  and  along 
Girard  avenue  to  Elm  avenue  and  Centennial  buildings;  Race 
and  Vine  streets  line,  crossing  Spring  Garden  street  bridge, 
out  Spring  Garden  street  and  Lancaster  and  Belmont  avenues 
to  Centennial  buildings ;  Chestnut  and  Walnut  streets  line  west 
by  way  of  Walnut,  Chestnut  and  Thirty-second  streets,  Lan- 
caster and  Belmont  avenue  to  Centennial  buildings ;  Market 

Y 


370  FAIRMOUNT   PARK — HUNTING    PARK. 

street  line  via  Forty-first  street  to  Elm  avenue  and  east,  end 
of  main  Exhibition  building;  West  End  to  Elm  avenue  and 
Centennial  buildings. 

Steamboats  ply  upon  the  Schuylkill  within  the  Park  bound- 
aries, running  from  Fairmount  just  above  the  reservoir,  to 
Zoological  Gardens,  East  Park  entrance,  Belmont  landing 
and  Centennial  buildings,  Rockland,  Strawberry  Mansion, 
Laurel  Hill,  Falls  and  Manayunk. 

Within  the  Park  are  special  Park  carriages  which  will  carry 
persons  to  any  part  of  the  enclosure.  Main  stand  near  the 
Lincoln  monument. 

Hunting  Park  contains  forty-five  acres,  and  is  situate  at  the 
intersection  of  Nicetown  lane  and  old  York  road.  The  en- 
closure was  used  fifty  years  ago  as  a  race-ground,  and  after  it 
was  abandoned  for  such  purposes  laid  for  several  years  un- 
used. In  1854  certain  citizens  bought  this  propeiiy,  and  pre- 
sented it  to  City  Councils  as  a  free  gift  for  the  purposes  of  a 
public  park.  The  ground  was  occupied  in  January,  1855. 
Trees  were  planted  and  walks  laid  out.  This  park  is  under 
the  control  of  the  Commissioners  of  Fairmount  Park. 

PUBLIC  SQUARES. 

At  the  foundation  of  the  city  William  Penn  dedicated  five 
squares  as  public  parks  or  enclosures.  They  were  then  known 
as  North-east,  South-east,  North-west  and  South-west  squares 
and  Centre  square;  the  latter,  at  the  intei^section  of  Broad 
and  Market  streets,  was  intended  for  public  uses,  eventually 
to  be  occupied  by  municipal  buildings. 

Washington,  formerly  South-east  square,  takes  up  the  block 
of  ground  between  Sixth,  Washington,  Walnut  and  Locust 
streets,  is  540  feet  north  and  south  by  540  feet  4  inches  east  and 
west,  and  contains  six  acres  and  two  roods.  Some  years  after 
the  settlement  the  City  Councils  appropriated  this  square  for 
public  purposes  as  a  burial-ground  and  potter's  field,  and  it 
was  used  for  that  purpose  for  many  years— until  health  for- 
bade its  further  employment.  During  the  Revolutionary 
war  hundreds  of  American  soldiere  who  died  from  wounds 


PUBLIC   SQUARES.  371 

and  disease  were  buried  in  this  square.  On  February  22, 
1833,  the  corner-stone  of  a  monument  to  the  memory  of 
Washington  was  laid  in  this  square,  but  the  contemplated 
memorial  was  never  constructed.  The  square  was  closed  as  a 
public  burial-ground  in  1795  and  laid  out  for  public  uses  in 
1815,  but  not  opened  until  some  years  later.  It  contains  a 
fine  assortment  of  trees,  some  of  which  are  of  rare  varieties, 
which  were  planted  under  supervision  of  the  eminent  French 
botanist  Michaux. 

Franklin,  formerly  North-east  square,  is  situate  between 
Sixth  and  Franklin  streets  and  Race  and  Vine  streets.  It  is 
632  feet  north  and  south  by  543  feet  6  inches  east  and  west, 
and  contains  seven  acres  and  three  roods.  Upon  this  square 
during  the  Eevolution  was  placed  the  public  powder  maga- 
zine. A  portion  of  the  ground  was  for  a  long  time  appropri- 
ated as  a  burial-ground  by  a  German  Reformed  congregation, 
a  grant  for  that  purpose  having  been  made  by  one  of  the 
Penns,  proprietary  and  a  descendant  of  the  founder.  About 
forty  years  ago  the  city  of  Philadelphia,  by  action  at  law, 
ejected  the  congregation  from  use  of  the  ground  upon  the 
principle  that  the  grant  by  the  younger  Penn  was  illegal, 
William  Penn  having  divested  himself  of  all  property  in  the 
square  by  the  original  dedication.  This  square  is  handsomely 
laid  out,  with  fine  trees,  and  has  in  the  centre  a  fountain  of 
greater  size,  number  of  jets,  etc.,  than  any  other  in  the  city. 

Logan,  formerly  North-west  square,  extends  from  Race  street 
to  Vine  street  and  from  Eighteenth  street  to  Logan  street.  It 
is  632  feet  north  and  south  by  540  feet  east  and  west,  and  con- 
tains seven  acres,  three  roods.  This  square  was  also  appro- 
priated to  burial  use  by  the  city  after  the  South-east  square 
ceased  to  be  used  for  that  purpose.  Public  executions  for- 
merly took  place  there,  and  the  place  was  one  of  notoriety. 
In  1864  the  United  States  Sanitary  Fair  occupied  the  whole 
square,  by  permission  of  the  city,  with  buildings  erected  for 
the  purpose  of  the  exhibition,  which  was  very  successful, 
realizing  over  a  million  of  dollars. 

Rittenhouse  or  South-west  square  extends  from  Walnut  street 


372  PUBLIC   SQUARES. 

to  Locust  street  and  from  Eighteenth  street  to  Rittenhouse 
street,  and  contains  six  acres  and  two  roods.  It  is  540  feet 
4  inches  north  and  south  and  540  feet  4  inches  east  and 
west.  Handsome  fountains  of  unique  design  are  near  the 
four  gates  of  entrance  at  the  corners  of  the  square,  and  are 
well  worthy  inspection  by  the  stranger. 

Independence  square  has  been  spoken  of  in  the  article  on 
the  State-house.     It  occupies  four  acres,  two  roods. 

Jefferson  square  extends  from  Washington  street  to  Fed- 
eral street  and  from  Third  street  to  Fourth  street.  It  is  392 
feet  east  and  west,  307  feet  on  Fourth  street  and  292  feet  on 
Third  street,  and  contains  two  acres  and  two  roods.  It  was 
purchased  by  the  commissioners  of  Southwark  in  1854,  pre- 
vious to  the  consolidation  of  the  city  and  districts. 

Passyunk  square  occupies  a  portion  of  the  old  Parade- 
ground  between  Twelfth  and  Thirteenth  streets  and  Wharton 
and  Reed  streets.  The  enclosure  was  originally  obtained  for 
the  use  of  the  military,  but  of  late  years  has  not  been  occu- 
pied by  them. 

Norris  square  is  situate  between  Diamond  street  and  Sus- 
quehanna avenue  and  Howard  and  Hancock  streets.  It  is 
486  feet  north  and  south  by  330  feet  east  and  west.  The 
ground  was  presented  to  the  city  by  the  Norris  family  for 
public  use. 

Fairhill  square  is  situate  on  Lehigh  avenue,  and  is  500  feet 
north  and  south  by  210  feet  east  and  west.  The  ground  of 
this  square  was   also  presented  to   the  city  by  the  Norris 

family. 

Germantown  square,  one  half  acre,  is  situate  in  front  of 
and  surrounding  the  old  town-hall  of  Germantown,  which 
is  now  used  as  a  police  station. 

Union  square  occupies  the  small  triangle  at  Fifth  and  But- 
tonwood  streets. 

Shackamaxon  square  is  a  triangular  section  of  ground  at 
the  intersection  of  Maiden  street  and  Frankford  road. 

Thouron  square  is  a  triangular  piece  of  ground  at  the 
intersection  of  Sixth  street  and  Germantown  road. 


CHAPTEE    XXXI. 

THE  PHILADELPHIA  INTERNATIONAL   EXHIBITION 

OF  1876. 

fTTHE  Exhibition  buildings  are  located  in  Fairmount  Park, 
J-  wMch  adjoins  the  built-up  portions  of  Philadelphia  on 
the  north-western  border.  The  buildings  are  located  on  some 
of  the  most  beautiful  spots  on  the  bank  of  the  Schuylkill 
River,  groves  of  stately  trees  surrounding  them,  splendid  views 
of  river  and  landscape  being  afforded.  These  buildings  stand 
from  112  feet  to  120  feet  above  the  highest  tide-water  level  in 
the  Delaware  River,  and  fully  that  height  above  the  Schuyl- 
kill. 

Girard  avenue,  one  of  the  chief  streets  of  Philadelphia, 
leads  directly  from  the  heart  of  the  city  to  the  entrance  to  the 
Main  Exhibition  building.  This  is  a  broad  highway  100  feet 
in  width,  crossing  the  Schuylkill  River  upon  a  magnificent 
iron  bridge  which  was  erected  at  a  cost  of  $1,500,000  expressly 
to  furnish  good  facilities  of  access  to  the  Exhibition  grounds. 
This  avenue  passes  through  the  Park  in  a  westerly  direction, 
and  is  a  very  fine  drive.  Bordering  it  on  the  right  hand  are 
the  Exhibition  grounds.  These  cover  about  236  acres,  which 
are  enclosed  for  the  buildings,  in  addition  to  which  there  will  be 
other  enclosures  for  the  displays  of  horses  and  cattle.  At  the 
Vienna  Exhibition  of  1873  the  enclosure,  including  that  for 
the  horses  and  cattle,  which  was  of  considerable  size,  covered 
260  acres.  The  buildings  at  Vienna  gave  about  2,000,000 
square  feet  of  ground-floor  surface  for  exhibitors,  and  covered 
42  acres.  There  were  originally  provided  at  Philadelphia  50 
acres  of  buildings,  giving  2,107,000  square  feet  of  surface,  but 
applications  for  space  are  so  numerous  as  to  render  enlarge- 
ments necessary. 

32  373 


374  INTERNATIONAL   EXHIBITION.  -■    ■ 

The  articles  to  be  exhibited  have  been  classified  in  seven 
departments,  which,  for  the  most  part,  are  located  in  appro- 
priate buildings,  whose  several  areas  are  as  follows : 

DEPARTMENTS.  BUILDINGS.  ACRES  COVERED. 

1.  Mining  and  Metallurgy, "] 

2.  Manufactures,  Ulain  building,  21.47 

3.  Education  and  Science,  J 

4.  Art,  Art  Gallery,  1.5 

5.  Machinery,  Machinery  building,  14 

6.  Agriculture,  Agricultural  building,  10 

7.  Horticulture,  Horticultural  building,       1.5 

Total, 48.47 

The  building  most  eastwardly  situate  is  the  Main  Exhibition 
hall.  Immediately  beyond,  extending  in  a  north-westwardly 
direction,  is  Machinery  Hall.  The  northern  faces  of  the  Main 
and  Machinery  buildings  are  in  a  line,  divided  by  an  avenue, 
but  connected  by  a  covered  way.  The  length  from  the  ex- 
treme of  one  building  to  the  extreme  of  the  other  is  very 
great— more  than  two-thirds  of  a  mile.  Eunning  along  the 
northern  length  of  these  buildings  is  a  boulevard  100  feet  in 
width,  which  is  traversed  by  a  double  line  of  narrow-gauge  cars 
for  the  accommodation  of  visitors.  Three  hundred  feet  back 
of  the  Main  building,  their  centres  being  in  a  line,  stands  the 
Art  Gallery.  Next  northward,  and  on  the  further  side  of  Lans- 
downe  valley,  which  is  crossed  by  a  bridge,  is  the  Horticultural 
building;  back  still  of  it,  north  of  most  of  the  principal  struc- 
tures, is  the  Agricultural  building ;  on  the  west  side  of  Belmont 
avenue  and  north  of  the  Machinery  Hall  is  the  site  of  the 
building  for  the  exhibition  to  be  made  by  the  United  States 
government. 

A  fine  view  of  all  the  buildings  can  be  had  from  the  sum- 
mit of  George's  Hill,  west  of  Machinery  Hall.  It  shows  all 
the  great  structures  and  the  numerous  accessory  buildings 
which  have  been  added  as  portions  of  the  great  exhibition. 

THE    MAIN    BUILDING. 
This  is  a  parallelogram,  running  east  and  west  1876  feet 
long,  and  north  and  south  464  feet  wide.     The  larger  portion 


376 


INTERNATIONAL   EXHIBITION. 


is  one  story  high,  the  interior  height  being  70  feet,  and  the 
cornice  on  the  outside  48  feet  from  the  ground.  At  the  centre 
of  the  longer  sides  are  projections  416  feet  in  length,  and  on 

the  ends  of  the  building  projec- 
tions 216  feet  in  length.  In  these, 
which  are  in  the  centre  of  the 
four  sides,  are  located  the  main 
entrances,  which  are  provided 
with  arcades  upon  the  ground 
floor,  and  central  fayades  90  feet 
high.  The  east  entrance  will  form 
the  principal  approach  for  car- 
riages, visitors  alighting  at  the 
^.  doors  of  the  building  under  cover 
g  of  the  arcade.  The  south  en- 
^  trance  will  be  the  principal  ap- 
^  proach  from  railway  cars.  The 
55  west  entrance  opens  upon  the 
^  main  passage-way  to  two  princi- 
B  pal  buildings,  the  Machinery  and 
^  Agricultural  Halls,  and  the  north 
^  entrance  to  Memorial  Hall  (Art 
^  Gallery).  Towers  75  feet  in  height 
^  rise  at  each  corner  of  the  building. 
In  order  to  obtain  a  central  fea- 
ture, the  roof  for  184  feet  square  at 
the  centre  has  been  raised  above 
the  surrounding  portion,  and  four 
towers  48  feet  square,  rising  to  120 
feet  high,  are  introduced  into  the 
corners  of  this  elevated  roof.  This 
gives  ventilation  as  well  as  orna- 
ment. The  main  building  gives 
936,008  square  feet  of  surface,  or 
nearly  21.]  acres.  Its  ground  plan  shows  a  central  avenue  120 
feet  in  width  and  1832  feet  in  length,  which  is  the  longest 
avenue  of  that  width   ever  introduced  into   an  exhibition 


INTERNATIONAL   EXHIBITION.  377 

building.  On  either  side  of  this  is  another  avenue  of  equal 
length,  and  100  feet  wide.  Between  the  central  and  side 
avenues  are  aisles  48  feet  wide,  and  on  the  outer  sides  of 
the  building  smaller  aisles  of  24  feet  width.  To  break  the 
great  length  of  the  roof-lines  three  transepts  have  been  intro- 
duced, of  the  same  widths  and  in  the  same  relative  positions 
to  each  other  as  the  longitudinal  avenues.  These  cross  the 
building,  and  are  416  feet  in  length.  The  intersections  of 
these  various  avenues  make  at  the  centre  of  the  building  nine 
spaces,  free  fi-om  supports,  which  are  from  100  feet  to  120  feet 
square,  and  which  aggregate  416  feet  square.  The  general 
elevation  of  the  r(»ofs  of  all  these  avenues  varies  from  45  feet 
to  70  feet. 

This  building  rests  upon  the  ground,  the  land  having  been 
thoroughly  graded  and  prepared.     The  foundations   consist 
of  piers  of  masonry,  the  superstructure  being  composed  of 
wrought-iron  columns  placed   24  feet  apart,  which  support 
wrought-iron  roof-trusses.     There  are  672  of  these  columns 
in  the  entire  structure,  the  shortest  being  23  feet  and  the 
longest  125  feet  long.     Their  aggregate  weight  is  2,200,000 
pounds.     The  roof-trusses  and  girders  weigh  5,000,000  pounds. 
The  sides  of  the  building,  to  7  feet  above  the  ground,  are 
finished  with  brickwork   in   panels   between  the   columns. 
Above  this  there  are  glazed  sashes.     The  roof-covering  is  of 
tin,  that  being  the  best  roofing  known  in  this  climate  to  resist 
leakage.    The  flooring  is  of  plank  upon  sills  resting  upon  the 
ground,  with  no  open  space  beneath.     Turrets  surmount  the 
building  at  all  the  corners  and  angles,  and  the  national  stand- 
ard, with  appropriate  emblems,  is  placed  over  each  of  the 
main  entrances.     There   are  numerous   side-entrances,  each 
being  surmounted  with  a  trophy,  showing  the  national  colors 
of  the  country  occupying  that  portion  of  the  building.    In  the 
vestibules  variegated  brick  and  tile  are  introduced.     Louvre 
ventilators  surmount  all  the  avenues,  and  skylights  the  central 
aisles.    Light,  of  which  there  will  be  an  ample  supply,  comes 
from  the  north  and  south  sides  almost  entirely.    There  under- 
lie the  building  two  miles  of  drainage-pipe,  the  water-supply 
32* 


378  INTERNATIONAL    EXHIBITION,    ETC. 

and  drainage  systems  being  complete.  Offices  for  the  foreign 
commissions  are  placed  along  the  sides  of  the  building,  in 
close  proximity  to  the  products  exhibited.  Offices  for  the 
administration  are  at  the  ends.  The  design  of  the  building  is 
such  that  all  exhibitors  will  have  an  equally  fair  opportunity  ■ 
of  exhibiting  their  goods  to  advantage.  There  is  compara- 
tively little  choice  of  location,  as  the  light  is  uniformly  dis- 
tributed, and  each  of  the  spaces  devoted  to  products  is  located 
upon  one  of  the  main  thoroughfares. 

THE  ART  GALLERY. 
The  most  imposing  and  ornate  of  all  the  structures  is 
Memorial  Hall,  built  at  a  cost  of  |1,500,000,  by  the  State 
of  Pennsylvania  and  city  of  Philadelphia.  This  is  placed 
at  the  disposal  of  the  Centennial  Commission,  to  be  used 
during  the  exhibition  as  an  art  gallery,  after  which  it  is 
designed  to  make  it  the  receptacle  of  an  industrial  and  art 
collection  similar  to  the  famous  South  Kensington  Museum 
at  London.  It  stands  on  a  line  parallel  with,  and  a  short 
distance  northward  of,  the  main  building,  and  is  in  a  com- 
manding position,  looking  eastward  across  the  Schuylkill 
over  Philadelphia.  It  stands  upon  a  terrace  122  feet  above 
the  level  of  the  Schuylkill.  Being  designed  for  an  absolutely 
fireproof  structure,  nothing  combustible  has  been  used.  The 
design  is  modern  Renaissance.  It  covers  an  acre  and  a  half, 
and  is  365  feet  long,  210  feet  wide  and  59  feet  high,  over  a 
spacious  basement  12  feet  high.  A  dome,  rising  150  feet  above 
the  ground,  surmounts  the  centre,  capped  by  a  colossal  ball, 
from  which  rises  the  figure  of  Columbia.  The  main  front  of 
this  building  looks  southward,  displaying  a  main  entrance  in 
the  centre  consisting  of  three  enormous  arched  doorways,  a 
pavilion  on  each  end,  and  two  arcades  connecting  the  pavilions 
with  the  centre.  The  entrance  is  70  feet  wide,  to  which  there 
is  a  rise  of  13  steps.  Each  of  the  huge  doorways  is  40  feet 
high  and  15  feet  wide,  opening  into  a  hall.  Between  the  arches 
of  the  doorways  are  clusters  of  columns,  terminating  in  em- 
blematic designs  illustrative  of  science  and  art.     The  doors 


380  THE  ART   GALLERY. 

are  of  iron,  relieved  by  bronze  panels,  displaying  the  coats- 

of-arms  of  all  the  States  and  Territories.     The  United  States 

coat-of-arms  is  in  the  centre  of  the  main  frieze.     The  dome 

is  of  glass  and  iron,  of  unique  design.    While  Columbia  rises 

at  the  top,  a  colossal  figure  stands  at  each  corner  of  the  dome, 

typifying  the  four  quarters  of  the  globe.     In  each  pavilion 

there  is  a  large  window  12J  feet  by  34  feet.    There  are  all 

together  eight  of  these  windows,  which  will  be  used  for  the 

display  of  stained  glass,  glass   paintings,  etc.     The  arcades 

designed  to  screen  the  long  walls  of  the  galleries  each  consists 

of  five  groined  arches,  and  form  promenades  looking  outward 

over  the  grounds  and  inward  over  open  gardens  extending 

back  to  the  main  wall  of  the  building.     These  garden-plots 

are  each  90  feet  by  36  feet,  ornamented  in  the  centre  with 

fountains,  and  intended  to  display  statuary.     The  arcades 

are  highly  ornamented,  and  the  balustrades  of  them  and  of 

the   approaching  stairways  are   also   designed  for  statuary. 

The  walls  of  the  east  and  west  sides  of  the  structure  display 

the  pavilions  and  the  walls  of  the  picture-galleries,  and  are 

relieved  by  niches  designed  for  statues.     The  frieze  is  richly 

ornamented,  and  above  it  the  central  dome  shows  to  great 

advantage.     The  rear  or  north  front  of  the  building  is  of  the 

same  general  character  as  the  main  front,  but,  in  place  of  the 

arcade,  has  a  series  of  arched  windows,  twelve  in  number,  with 

the  entrance  in  the  centre.   Between  the  pavilions  is  the  grand 

balcony,  a  promenade  275  feet  long  and  45  feet  wide,  elevated 

40  feet  above  the  ground,  and  overlooking  to  the  northward 

the  beautiful  grounds  of  the  Park.     On  each  front  of  the 

buildings  the  entrances  open  into  halls  82  feet  long,  60  feet 

wide,  53  feet  high,  decorated  in  modern  Eenaissance.     These, 

in  turn,  open  into  the  centre  hall,  83  feet  square,  the  ceiling 

rising  over  it  80  feet  in  height.     From  the  east  and  west  sides 

of  this  centre  hall  extend  the  galleries,  each  98  feet  long,  48 

feet  wide  and  35  feet  high.   These  galleries  admit  of  temporary 

divisions  for  the  better  display  of  paintings,  and  with  the 

centre  hall  form  a  grand  hall  287  feet  long  and  83  feet  wide, 

capable  of  comfortably  accommodating  8000  persons.     This 


THE   ART   GALLERY — MACHINERY   HALL.      381 

is  nearly  twice  the  dimensions  of  the  largest  hall  in  the  United 
States.  Doorways  open  from  the  galleries  into  two  smaller 
galleries  89  feet  long  and  28  feet  wide.  These  open  north  and 
south  into  private  apartments  connecting  with  the  pavilion- 
rooms,  and  forming  two  side-galleries  210  feet  long.  Along  the 
whole  length  of  the  north  side  of  the  main  galleries  and  central 
hall  extends  a  corridor  14  feet  wide,  opening  on  its  north  line 
into  a  series  of  private  rooms,  twenty -three  in  number,  designed 
for  studios  and  smaller  exhibition  rooms.  All  the  galleries 
and  the  central  hall  are  lighted  from  above,  the  pavilions 
and  studios  from  the  sides.  The  pavilions  and  central  hall 
are  designed  especially  for  the  exhibition  of  sculpture.  This 
fine  building  gives  75,000  square  feet  of  wall  space  for  paint- 
ings, and  20,000  square  feet  of  floor  space  for  statues,  etc.  The 
skylights  throughout  are  double,  the  upper  being  of  clear  glass 
and  the  under  of  ground  glass. 

MACHINERY  HALL. 

This  structure  is  located  about  550  feet  west  of  the  main 

Exhibition  building ;  and  as  its  north  front  stands  upon  the 

same  line,  it  is  practically  a  continuation  of  that  edifice,  the 

two  together  presenting  a  frontage  of  3824  feet  from  their 

eastern  to   their  western   ends  upon  the  principal   avenue 

within  the  grounds.     This  building  consists  of  a  main  hall, 

1402  feet  long  and  360  feet  wide,  with  an  annex  on  the  southern 

side  208  feet  by  210  feet.     The  entire  area  covered  is  558,440 

square  feet,  or  nearly  13  acres,  and  the  floor  space  afibrded  is 

about  14  acres.    The  chief  portion  of  the  building  is  one  story 

in  height,  the  main  cornice  upon  the  outside  being  40  feet 

from  the  ground,  and  the  interior  height  to  the  top  of  the 

ventilators  in  the  avenues  70  feet,  and  in  the  aisles  40  feet. 

To  break  the  long  lines  of  the  exterior,  projections  have  been 

introduced  upon  the  four  sides,  and  the  main  entrances  are 

finished  with  fagades  extending  to  78  feet  in  height.     The 

eastern  entrance  will  be  the  principal  approach  from  railways, 

and  from  the  main  Exhibition  building.     Along  the  southern 

side  are  placed  the  boiler-houses,  and  such  other  buildings 


382 


MACHINERY    HALL. 


for  special  kinds  of  machinery  as  may  be  required.  The  plan 
of  the  Machinery  building  shows  two  main  avenues  90  feet 
wide,  with  a  central  aisle  between  and  an  aisle  on  either  side, 

these  being  60  feet  in  width. 
These  avenues  and  aisles 
together  have  360  feet  width, 
and  each  of  them  is  1360  feet 
long.  At  the  centre  of  the 
building  there  is  a  transept 
of  90  feet  width,  which  at 
the  south  end  is  prolonged 
beyond  the  building.  This 
extended  transept,  begin- 
ning at  36  feet  from  the 
building  and  extending  to 
208  feet,  is  flanked  on  either 
side  by  aisles  60  feet  wide, 
and  forms  an  annex  for 
machines.  The 
are :  in  the 
avenue  15  feet  wide,  in  the 
aisles  10  feet,  and  in  the 
transept  25  feet.  The  walks 
extending  across  the  build- 
ing are  all  10  feet  wide,  and 
lead  at  either  end  to  exit 
doors.  The  foundations  of 
this  building  are  piers  of 
masonry,  the  superstructure 
consisting  of  solid  timber 
columns  supporting  roof- 
trusses  constructed  of 
straight  wooden  principal 
beams  and  wrought-iron  ties 
and  struts.  The  columns  are  placed  in  longitudinal  lines,  and 
in  these  rows  stand  16  feet  apart.     The  columns  are  40  feet 


^  hydraulic 
a  promenades 


MACHINERY  AND    AGRICULTURAL    HALLS.     383 

high,  and  support  respectively  the  90  feet  roof-spans  over  the 
avenues  at  a  height  of  40  feet,  and  the  60  feet  roof-spans  over 
the  aisles  at  a  height  of  20  feet.  The  outer  walls  are  built  of 
masonry  to  a  height  of  5  feet,  and  above  that  are  composed  of 
glazed  sash  between  the  columns.  Portions  of  these  sashes 
are  movable  for  ventilation,  and  Louvre  ventilators  are  intro- 
duced in  continuous  lengths  over  both  the  avenues  and  the 
aisles.  The  building  is  entirely  lighted  by  side-light  from  the 
north  and  south. 

Double  lines  of  shafting  are  introduced  into  each  avenue 
and  aisle  at  a  height  of  about  20  feet.  A  Corliss  steam-en- 
gine of  1400  horse-power  drives  the  main  shafting.  There 
are  also  counter-lines  of  shafting  in  the  aisles,  and  special 
steam-power  furnished  where  necessary.  Steam-power  is  fur- 
nished free  to  exhibitors.  In  the  annex  for  hydraulic  ma- 
chines there  is  a  tank  60  feet  by  160  feet,  with  10  feet  depth 
of  water.  It  is  intended  to  exhibit  all  sorts  of  hydraulic  ma- 
chinery in  full  operation  ;  and  at  the  southern  end  of  the  tank 
there  will  be  a  waterfall  35  feet  high  by  40  feet  wide,  supplied 
from  the  tank  by  the  pumps  on  exhibition.  There  will  prob- 
ably be  a  larger  exhibition  at  Philadelphia  of  processes  of 
manufacture  than  at  any  previous  exhibition. 

THE!  AGRICULTURAL  HALL 
stands  north  of  the  Horticultural  Hall,  being  separated  from 
it  by  a  romantic  ravine,  and  has  a  commanding  view  of  the 
Schuylkill  Eiver  and  the  north-western  suburbs  of  Philadel- 
phia beyond.  This  building  illustrates  a  novel  combination 
of  materials,  mainly  wood  and  glass,  and  consists  of  a  long 
nave  crossed  by  three  transepts,  each  being  composed  of 
truss-arches  of  Gothic  form.  The  nave  is  820  feet  long  by 
125  feet  in  width,  with  a  height  of  75  feet  from  the  floor  to 
the  point  of  the  arch.  The  central  transept  is  100  feet  wide 
and  75  feet  high,  and  the  two  end  transepts  80  feet  wide  and 
70  feet  high.  Its  interior  appearance  resembles  that  of  a 
great  cathedral,  and  in  looking  from  transept  to  transept  the 
vista  is  extremely  imposing.     A  portion  of  this  building  is 


384 


AGRICULTURAL   HALL, 


supplied  with  steam-power  for  the  use  of  agricultural  ma- 
chinery. The  four  courts  enclosed  by  the  nave  and  transepts, 
and  also  the  four  spaces  at  the  corners  of  the  building,  having 

the  nave  and  end  tran- 
septs for  two   of   their 
sides,    are    roofed,    and 
form  valuable  spaces  for 
exhibits.     The    ground 
plan  of  the  building  is  a 
parallelogram    540   feet 
by    820    feet,    covering 
about  lOi  acres.  In  con- 
nection with  this  build- 
ing are  extensive  stock- 
yards for  the  exhibition 
^  of  horses,  cattle,  swine, 
K  sheep,  poultry,  etc.,  and 
^  also    a    race -track    for 
g  horses. 

S       In  order  to  allow  the 
o  Agricultural  department 
§  to   produce  the   largest 
^  amount  of  good  to  the 
farming  interest,  and  to 
afford   information   and 
instruction  to  cultivators 
of  the  soil,  special  efforts 
will  be  made  by  the  offi- 
cers  having  charge   of 
this  department  of  the 
Exhibition.      An    agri- 
cultural machine  viewed 
when  not  in  action  may 
suggest    the   object    for 
which  it  has  been  constructed,  but  it  cannot  certify  to  its  power 
and  ability.     Hence  practical  trial  of  the  merits  of  the  ma- 
chines will  be  most  satisfactory.     The  most  important  agricul- 


AGRICULTURAL    HALL,    ETC.  385 

tiiral  implements  are  the  ploughers,  mowers  and  reapers. 
Also  the  steam-machinery  which  of  late  years  has  been  ap- 
plied to  work  in  the  fields.  For  this  purpose  the  Commission 
has  obtained  the  use  of  a  fine  piece  of  land  near  Schenck's 
Station  on  the  line  of  the  Philadelphia  and  Trenton  Eailroad, 
where  the  trials  of  heavy  field-machines  will  be  made. 

HORTICULTURAL.  HALL. 

The  city  of  Philadelphia  made  a  liberal  grant  of  money 
to  provide  for  the  Horticultural  department  of  the  exhibition 
an  extremely  ornate  and  commodious  building,  which  is  de- 
signed to  remain  in  permanence  as  an  ornament  of  Fair- 
mount  Park.  This  structure  is  located  on  a  terrace  bordering 
the  Schuylkill  Eiver,  a  short  distance  north  of  Memorial 
Hall,  and  has  a  commanding  view  of  the  Schuylkill  River 
valley  and  the  north-western  portions  of  Philadelphia.  Re 
mantic  ravines  running  down  to  the  river  are  on  either  side,  sep- 
arating it  on  the  south  from  Memorial  Hall  and  on  the  north 
from  Agricultural  Building.  These  ravines  are  spanned  by 
ornamental  bridges  500  feet  long  and  60  feet  wide,  for  conve- 
nience of  access.  Carriage-roads,  a  railway  and  foot-walks 
pass  over  them.  The  Horticultural  Building  is  designed  in 
the  Moresque  style  of  architecture  of  the  twelfth  century,  the 
chief  materials  externally  being  iron  and  glass,  supported  by 
fine  marble  and  brickwork.  The  building  is  383  feet  long, 
193  feet  wide  and  72  feet  high  to  the  top  of  the  lantern.  The 
main  floor  is  occupied  by  the  central  conservatory,  230  feet 
by  80  feet,  and  55  feet  high,  surmounted  by  a  lantern  170  feet 
long,  20  feet  wide  and  14  feet  high.  Running  entirely  around 
this  conservatory,  at  a  height  of  20  feet  from  the  floor,  is  a 
gallery  5  feet  wide.  On  the  north  and  south  sides  of  this 
principal  room  are  four  forcing-houses  for  the  propagation  of 
young  plants,  each  of  them  100  feet  by  30  feet,  and  covered 
by  curved  roofs  of  iron  and  glass,  which,  appearing  upon  the 
exterior  of  the  building,  present  a  very  fine  feature.  A  ves- 
tibule 30  feet  square  separates  the  two  forcing-houses  on  each 
side,  and  there  are  similar  vestibules  at  the  centre  of  the  east 
33  Z 


386  HORTICULTURAL    HALL. 

and  west  ends,  on  either  side  of  which  are  apartments  for 
restaurants,  reception-rooms,  offices,  etc.     Ornamental  stair- 
ways lead  from  these  vestibules  to  the  internal  galleries  ot 
the  conservatory,  as  well  as  to  four  external  galleries,  each 
100  feet  long  and  10  feet  wide,  which  surmount  the  roots  ot 
the  forcing-houses.     These  external  galleries  are  connected 
with  a  grand  promenade,  formed  by  the  roofs  of  the  rooms  on 
the  lower  floor,  giving   a  superficial   area   of  about  17,000 
square  feet.    The  east  and  west  entrances  to  the  Horticultural 
building  are  approached  by  flights  of  blue  marble  steps,  from 
terraces  80  feet  by  20  feet,  in  the  centre  of  each  of  which 
stands  an  open  kiosque  20  feet  in  diameter.     Each  entrance 
is  beautified  by  ornamental  tile  and  marble  work,  and  the 
angles  of  the  main  conservatory  are  adorned  with  eight  at- 
tractive fountains.    The  corridors  connecting  the  conservatory 
with  the  surrounding  apartments   open  fine  vistas  m  every 
direction,  and  the  beauties  of  the  surrounding  Park,  and  the 
river  flowing  in  front  and  more  than  100  feet  beneath  the 
building,  add  to  the  attractions.     Extensive  heating  arrange^- 
ments  are  provided  in  the  basement,  which  is  of  fireprool 
construction,  and  the  restaurant  kitchens  will  also  be  located 

Surrounding  this  building  there  are  35  acres  of  ground, 
which  will  be  devoted  to  horticultural  purposes,  and  are 
prepared  for  planting.  In  this  plot  there  is  an  extensive 
series  of  sunken  gardens. 

MISCELLANEOUS  BUILDINGS. 
Having  thus  noted  the  five  principal  buildings  of  the  ex- 
hibition proper,  it  will  be  convenient  to  return  to  the  mam 
entrance  to  the  grounds  and  take  up  in  order  such  of  the 
minor  buildings  as  can  be  definitely  described  This  mam 
entrance  is  the  interval  between  the  Main  and  Machinery 
buildings,  and  is  approached  by  a  covered  bridge  crossing 
Elm  avenue  from  the  terminus  of  the  Pennsylvania  Bailroad 
where  visitors  from  every  part  of  the  Union  will  be  landed 
onlv  a  street's  breadth  from  the  exhibition. 


:388  MISCELLANEOUS    BUILDINGS. 

Executive  oflRcers'  building.  Either  side  of  the  entrance  is 
a  building  containing  some  twenty-five  rooms,  which  are  de- 
voted to  the  use  of  the  executive  ofiicers,  those  of  the  custom- 
house, post-office,  police,  telegraph  operators,  etc.  These 
buildings  are  to  be  connected  by  a  spacious  veranda,  so 
that  in  passing  between  the  neighboring  buildings  and  the 
d6p6t  one  need  not  at  any  time  go  from  under  cover. 

Jury  Pavilion.  Facing  the  entrance,  and  on  the  boulevard 
which  runs  at  the  back  of  the  Main  and  Machinery  buildings, 
is  the  Jury  Pavilion,  an  ornate  two-story  structure,  which 
contains,  besides  the  numerous  smaller  chambers  appropriated 
to  the  deliberations  of  the  international  juries,  a  spacious 
hall  suitable  for  receptions  and  banquets,  the  meetings  of 
conventions  and  international  congresses,  and  similar  pur- 
poses. 

The  Women's  Exhibition  building.  Next  in  the  rear  of  this 
will  be  the  building,  an  acre  in  size,  which  is  to  accommodate 
the  Women's  Exhibition,  a  tasteful  and  commodious  structure, 
erected  at  a  cost  of  $30,000  by  the  subscriptions  of  the  women 
of  America. 

United  States  government  building.  West  of  this,  and  on 
the  lower  slope  of  George's  Hill,  will  be  another  structure, 
rivalling  some  of  the  exhibition  buildings  in  size  and  interest. 
This  is  to  contain  the  collection,  provided  for  by  an  executive 
order  of  the  President,  of  "  such  articles  and  materials  as  will, 
when  presented  in  a  collective  exhibition,  illustrate  the  func- 
tions and  administrative  faculties  of  the  government  in  time 
of  peace,  and  its  resources  as  a  war  power,  and  thereby  serve 
to  demonstrate  the  nature  of  our  institutions,  and  their  adap- 
tation to  the  wants  of  the  people."  The  last  Congress  provided 
for  the  expenses  of  this  exhibition  by  an  appropriation  of 
$505,000,  and  its  preparation  has  been  entrusted  to  officers 
representing  the  War,  Treasury,  Navy,  Interior,  Post-Office, 
and  Agricultural  Departments,  and  the  Smithsonian  Institute. 
State  buildings.  In  addition  to  these  exhibition  buildings, 
special  structures  have  been  put  up  by  Pennsylvania,  New  Jer- 
sey, Ohio,  Indiana,  Illinois,  Missouri,  Kansas  and  other  States. 


390  MISCELLANEOUS    BUILDINGS,    ETC. 

Restaurants,  Refreshments.  There  are  also  six  large  res- 
taurants within  the  enclosure,  besides  from  two  to  four 
buffets  in  each  of  the  Exhibition  buildings,  and  eight  or  ten 
outdoor  pavilions  for  the  sale  of  aerated  waters. 

Special  trade  buildings.  The  photographers,  carriage- 
builders  and  a  number  of  other  associations  and  individual 
exhibitors  will  find  accommodations  in  buildings  for  their 
peculiar  use. 

Foreign  government  buildings.  Many  foreign  nations  erect 
special  buildings  for  their  own  use.  Arrangements  to  this 
effect  have  been  completed  by  England,  Japan,  Germany, 
Sweden,  Turkey  and  Morocco,  and  other  countries. 

Sawyer's  Observatory.  Upon  the  highest  ground  in  the 
Park  at  Belmont,  a  short  distance  north  of  Agricultural  Hall, 
there  has  been  erected  an  observatory  150  feet  in  height. 
This  overlooks  all  the  buildings,  and  affords  a  fine  view  of 
the  Exhibition  grounds,  the  city  and  its  environs.  This 
structure  is  an  ornamental  column  of  iron,  and  visitors  are 
taken  to  the  top  on  an  elevator  car. 

The  Grounds. — Water  Drainage.  The  plan  of  the  grounds 
embraces  seven  miles  of  roads  and  foot-walks,  all  of  them  of 
substantial  character,  quite  a  number  of  bridges,  summer- 
houses,  etc.  An  ample  water-supply  is  provided.  There  is  a 
complete  system  of  mains  and  drains,  and  the  Exhibition,  in 
addition  to  being  able  to  draw  from  the  George's  Hill  city 
reservoir,  which  is  just  outside  the  enclosure  and  has 
40,000,000  gallons  capacity,  has  an  independent  source  of 
supply  on  the  Schuylkill  River,  pumping-engines  being 
placed  there  especially  for  the  Exhibition  which  have  a 
daily  capacity  of  6,000,000  gallons. 


MISCELLANEOUS   BUILDINGS,    ETC. 

The  World's  Ticket  and  Inquiry  Office  stands  on  the 
triangular  piece  of  ground  immediately  in  front  of  the 
lake  and  adjoining  the  main  entrance  to  Machinery  Hall, 
in  the  Exhibition  Grounds. 

The  building  is  quite  handsome  in  its  outward  appearance, 
while  its  interior  combines  a  large  central  room,  sixty  feet 
in  diameter,  used  for  the  purpose  of  issuing  Tourist  Tickets, 
the  sale  of  Guide-books  and  for  the  display  of  oli^e-wood 
ornaments  from  Palestine. 

The  concession  for  the  erection  of  this  building  has  been 
granted  by  the  Centennial  Commission  to  Messrs.  Cook,  Son, 
&  Jenkins,  the  world-renowned  Tourist  and  Excursion  Man- 
agers, who  have  also  received  from  the  Duke  of  Eichmond, 
Lord-President  of  the  Council,  the  appointment  as  General 
Passenger  Agents  to  the  British  section  of  the  International 
Exhibition;  and  in  pursuance  of  this  appointment  this 
building  has  been  erected. 

To  our  European  readers,  Messrs.  Cook,  Son,  &  Jenkins 
need  no  introduction,  as  the  system  established  by  their 
senior  so  many  years  ago,  known  as  "  Cook's  Tours,"  is  as 
familiar  as  household  words.  And  we  only  need  say  to  our 
reader  from  abroad  that  the  system  of  Tours  and  Excursions 
which  this  firm  have  arranged,  in  the  United  States  and 
Canada,  is  almost  as  extensive  as  those  they  show  in  their 
European  connection. 

For  the  benefit  of  our  American  readers  we  desire  to  say, 
that  this  firm  are  the  originators  of  the  present  system  of 
Tours  and  Excursions  in  operation  in  the  world ;  and  for  a 
period  of  nearly  forty  years  they  have  been  teaching  the 
people  of  the  world  how  to  travel  cheaply,  pleasantly  and 
without  trouble.  They  issue  their  own  tickets  over  all  the 
principal  railways  and  steamboats  through  the  civilized 
world ;  and  the  number  of  passengers  who  have  traveled  by 
means  of  the  facilities  prepared  by  this  firm  now  number 
millions. 

390* 


MISCELLANEOUS   BUILDINGS,    ETC. 

They  have  had  an  official  connection  with  really  all  the 
great  Expositions  the  world  has  seen,  commencing  with 
London,  in  1851,  to  which  Exhibition,  by  their  own  eflforts, 
they  brought  over  forty  thousand  visitors.  The  last  connec- 
tion held  of  the  kind  was  at  Vienna,  in  1873,  where  their 
Tourist  Pavilion  was  one  of  the  "comforts"  to  the  old  as 
well  as  the  new  traveler. 

The  present  building  contains  two  hundred  and  fifty  feet 
in  length  of  ticket  cases ;  and  here  are  congregated  together 
such  an  array  of  railway  and  steamboat  traveling  tickets  as 
the  world  never  before  saw  in  one  collection. 

Besides  all  the  Local,  Through,  Coupon  and  Excursion 
Tickets  of  the  Pennsylvania  Central,  the  Philadelphia,  Wil- 
mington and  Baltimore,  the  Beading  and  the  North  Penn- 
sylvania Eailroads,  there  can  be  found  the  Tourist  Ticket 
issued  by  the  firm  over  all  the  leading  lines  of  railway  m  the 
United  States  and  Canada,  as  well  as  for  Ireland,  Scotland, 
England,   Norway,  Sweden,  Denmark,  Holland,  Belgium, 
Germany,  Austria,  Turkey,  Greece,  Egypt,  Palestine,  Italy, 
Algiers,  Sicily,  France,  Spain,  Switzerland,  Portugal,  &c.,  as 
well  as  for  tours  round  the  world :  here  the  tourist  or  pleasure 
seeker  can  get  information  and  tickets  to  any  point,  no 
matter  whether  in  Europe  or  in  America,  for  a  journey  of  a 
few  miles  or  for  thousands.    The  offices  are  supplied  by 
clerks  brought  from  every  part  of  the  world,  who  are  able  to 
give  information  in  any  language  likely  to  be  spoken  at 
Philadelphia. 


Centennial  E 


COOK'S  WORLD'S  TICKET  OFFICES  L 


rllBlTION.    d876, 


liLROaSHTS  -.sc-//y 


TENXIAL  GROUNDS,  PHILADELPHIA. 


CHAPTER  XXXI. 

SIX  DAYS  IN  PHILADELPHIA. 

{See  index  for  further  reference  to  places  spoken  of.) 

WHEN  a  traveller  finds  himself  for  the  first  time  in  a 
strange  city  with  time  to  spare  and  disposition  to  make 
the  most  of  it,  the  question  naturally  rises  in  his  own  mind, 
Where  shall  I  go  in  order  to  spend  my  leisure-hours  with  the 
best  advantage?  Those  who  come  in  the  Centennial  year 
wdll,  of  course,  turn  their  attention  in  the  first  place  to  the 
exhibition,  and  they  will  devote  some  time  to  the  beauties  of 
Fairmount  Park.  After  that,  if  they  have  one,  two,  three  or 
more  days  to  spare,  they  may  desire  to  know  how  the  time  can 
be  spent  to  the  best  advantage.  After  all,  this  must  be  a  matter 
of  taste,  only  to  be  settled  by  individual  preferences.  Some 
may  desire  to  make  their  investigations  almost  entirely  in  a 
certain  direction,  others  will  take  an  opposite  course,  and 
yet  others  will  endeavor  to  make  proper  selections  so  as  to 
save  time.  This  publication  gives  full  information  upon 
almost  every  subject  connected  with  municipal  affairs,  and 
upon  institutions  of  every  kind,  so  that  all  tastes  may  be 
suited.  We  suggest  in  this  place  objects  of  attraction  which 
will  be  worthy  the  attention  of  strangers,  and  wdth  which 
they  may  make  themselves  acquainted  in  the  course  of  a  few 
days. 

FIRST  DAY. 
The  stranger  may  be  placed  at  the  intersection  of  Broad 
and  Market  streets,  in  front  of  the  Municipal  Buildings,  say 
about  nine  o'clock  of  a  fine  morning.  South  of  him  he  will 
see  the  north  end  of  the  United  States  Mint.  By  walking 
down  a  square  to  Chestnut  street  he  will  find  the  entrance  to 
that  building,  which  will  afford  him  instruction  and  interest 

391 


392  SIX    DAYS    IN   PHILADELPHIA. 

by  an  inspection  of  the  interior,  and  will  take  up,  say,  an  hour 
of  time.  Leaving  that  building,  he  may  return  to  Broad  street. 
Passing  upon  the  western  side  the  Third  National  Bank,  at  the 
corner  of  Market  street,  if  he  looks  west  he  will  see  the  large 
freight  dep6ts  of  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  Company,  at  Fif- 
teenth street,  and  the  buildings,  depot  and  offices  of  Adams 
Express  Company,  at  Sixteenth  street.  A  few  feet  farther  on- 
ward on  his  course  northward  will  bring  him  to  the  corner  of 
Filbert  street,  where  he  will  observe  the  School  of  Design  for 
Women,  an  institution  of  merit  and  usefulness.  An  hour  may 
be  spent  there.  Proceeding  down  Filbert  street,  the  grand 
Masonic  Temple  fronts  him  at  the  north-east  corner  of 
Broad  street.  Eeference  by  means  of  the  index  to  the  ac- 
count of  that  building  will  inform  him  when  and  how  he  can 
obtain  admission.  An  hour  may  be  spent  here.  Leaving 
the  temple  and  proceeding  on,  as  he  turns  his  face  northward 
he  will  observe  on  his  right  hand,  nearly  adjoining  the  temple, 
the  beautiful  white  marble  building  of  the  Arch  Street  M.  E. 
church,  whilst  opposite,  at  the  respective  corners  of  Arch 
street,  are  in  strong  contrast  the  greenstone  and  brownstone 
churches  of  the  Holy  Communion  (Lutheran)  and  First  Bap- 
tist. A  little  farther  up,  on  the  left  hand,  will  be  found  the 
Academy  of  Fine  Arts,  with  its  splendid  collection  of  pic- 
tures, statuary,  etc.  Hours  may  be  spent  here  with  pleasure 
and  advantage ;  but  if  we  allow  our  stranger  two  hours  to 
look  through  the  collection  in  a  hurried  manner,  we  shall  be 
able  to  conduct  him  back  to  Broad  and  Market  streets,  and  dis- 
miss him  to  seek  his  hotel,  which  he  may  reach  by  railroad  car 
or  otherwise  as  suits  him  best.  It  is  now  two  o'clock.  An  hour 
will  be  allowed  him  to  dine,  and  at  three  o'clock  precisely 
he  starts  again  from  Broad  and  Market,  with  an  afternoon 
before  him  of  three  or  four  hours  of  daylight  if  the  time 
should  be  summer.  Where  will  he  go  ?  Shall  it  be  to  the 
Academy  of  Natural  Sciences  or  the  Zoological  Gardens? 
He  may  have  his  choice  and  take  up  the  whole  of  the  after- 
noon at  either,  but  we  cannot  expect  to  crowd  the  sight-seeing 
of  both  in  the  same  afternoon.     Suppose  we  visit  the  Acad- 


SIX   DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA.  393 

emy  of  Natural  Sciences.  The  distance  is  not  great,  and  we 
will  walk.  We  will  go  by  way  of  Chestnut  street.  As  we 
go  down  Broad  we  pass  the  Tabernacle  Presbyterian  church, 
which  adjoins  the  Mint.  From  Broad  and  Chestnut  we 
observe  south  of  us,  on  our  right  hand,  the  lofty  front  of  the 
La  Pierre  House,  next  to  it,  quite  as  high,  the  old  Academy 
of  Natural  Sciences,  and  on  the  south-west  corner  of  Sansom 
street  the  stately  and  comfortable  Union  League  house.  Far- 
ther down,  not  more  than  two  squares,  are  the  Academy  of 
Music  and  Horticultural  Hall  adjoining,  whilst  Beth  Eden 
church  looms  up  in  solemn  contrast  at  the  corner.  On  the 
left  hand  we  have  not  so  many  objects  of  interest.  The 
brownstone  front  of  Chambers'  Presbyterian  church,  at  San- 
som street,  is  nearest,  but  below  upon  that  side  is  no  building 
of  a  public  character  until  the  towers  of  the  First  Reformed 
Presbyterian  church  stand  out  in  prominence  below  Spruce 
street.  Farther  down  the  stranger  whose  sight  is  good  may 
notice  the  front  of  the  Asylum  for  the  Deaf  and  Dumb  at  Pine 
street  and  several  handsome  mansions  beyond,  and  a  United 
Presbyterian  church  at  Lombard  street,  and  on  the  left  hand 
St.  Theresa's  Poman  Catholic  church  at  Christian  street,  the 
solid  walls  of  the  Rush  Library  immediately  below,  whilst 
the  semi-circular  cornice  on  the  front  of  the  Baltimore  depot 
closes  up  the  view.  We  will  now  go  out  Chestnut  street.  On 
our  left  hand  we  soon  come  to  the  massive  buildings  of  the 
Baptist  Publication  Society,  beyond  which,  yet  more  lofty  and 
imposing,  is  the  Hall  of  the  Young  Men's  Christian  Associa- 
tion. Oj)posite  this,  on  Fifteenth  street,  and  extending  along 
Chestnut  street,  is  the  lofty  Colonnade  Hotel,  A  little  far- 
ther on  is  the  Reform  Club-House.  On  the  right  hand,  at  the 
corner  of  Fifteenth  street,  the  church  of  the  Epiphany  will 
arrest  attention,  and  on  the  same  side,  at  Eighteenth  street, 
is  the  hall  of  the  Philadelphia  Institute,  and  just  beyond 
the  Tabernacle  Baptist  church,  with  its  tall  brown  steeple 
and  clock.  Beyond  is  a  succession  of  mansions  of  marble, 
brownstone  and  brick,  some  of  them  particularly  large  and 
costly.     The  eye  may  discern  the  tower  of  the  Rink,  at  the 


394  SIX   DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA. 

north-west  corner  of  Twenty-third  and  Chestnut  streets, 
whilst  beyond  is  the  rise  of  the  elegant  bridge  which  here 
crosses  the  Schuylkill.  Our  route  is  now  north.  We  shall 
go  by  way  of  Eighteenth  by  preference.  At  the  corner  of  Mar- 
ket street  we  will  halt  two  or  three  minutes  and  look  westward. 
From  this  point  to  the  Schuylkill  is  a  series  of  shops,  ware- 
houses and  manufactories,  finished  up  with  the  gasometers  and 
buildings  of  the  Gas-Works  at  the  river.  We  will  now  go  on. 
On  our  left,  at  Filbert  street,  is  the  Fourth  Presbyterian  Re- 
formed church.  At  Arch  street  is  the  elegant  building  of  the 
West  Arch  Street  Presbyterian  church.  At  Race  street  we  turn 
west.  Looking  up  Eighteenth  street,  we  observe  the  seminary 
buildings  at  the  corner  of  Race  street,  the  grand  front  of  the 
Roman  Catholic  Cathedral  of  St.  Peter  and  St.  Paul,  and  the 
archbishop's  palace,  immediately  north  of  it.  The  fine  enclo- 
sure on  our  right  hand  is  Logan  square.  On  our  left,  as  we 
go  toward  the  Schuylkill,  is  Wills  Hospital  for  the  Blind. 
At  Nineteenth  street  is  the  new  building  of  the  Academy  of 
Natural  Sciences.  Here  we  pay  a  small  admission  fee  and 
enter,  and  we  may  be  sure  the  rest  of  the  afternoon  will  be 
well  spent  in  reviewing  the  immense  collection  of  curiosities 
which  the  society  possesses. 

The  evening  we  may  devote,  if  we  choose,  to  lecture-rooms, 
to  concerts,  the  opera  or  the  theatre,  as  the  case  may  be, 
or  attend  some  public  meeting  of  a  religious  or  moral  cha- 
racter. 

Perhaps  we  decide  to  spend  the  afternoon  at  the  Zoological 
Gardens  rather  than  in  the  Academy  of  Natural  Sciences.  In 
that  case  we  must  take  the  cars.  We  will  simply  walk  from 
our  station  at  Broad  and  Market  up  the  street  to  Arch  street, 
and  taking  a  western-bound  car  go  over  a  route  which  offers  no 
subject  for  particular  remark  until  we  reach  the  east  end  of  the 
Callowhill  street  or  Spring  Garden  street  bridge,  at  the  old  en- 
trance to  Fairmount  Water- Works.  The  car  stops  here,  but 
the  conductor  gives  us  a  pass,  armed  with  which  we  mount  the 
terraces  adjoining  until  we  reach  the  upper  floor  of  the  bridge. 
A  Race  street  car  toiling  up  the  embankment  receives  us,  and 


SIX  DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA.  395 

we  pass  over  the  top  of  the  bridge.     The  view  here  is  inter- 
esting from  either  side.     North  of  us  is  the  Schuylkill,  with 
the  water  tumbling  over  the  dam.     Eight  and  left  of  us  on 
the  banks  is  Fairmount  Park.     The  old  Water- Works  are  on 
our  right,  the  boat-houses  and  the  heights  of  Lemon  Hill 
beyond.     On  the  left  are  the  locks  and  office  of  the  Schuylkill 
Navigation  Company,  and  beyond  that  we  may  perceive  the 
river  shore  immediately  in  front  of  our  destination,  the  Zo- 
ological Gardens.     Looking  southward,  we  have  something 
like  a  panoramic  view  of  the  old  city  and  of  West  Philadel- 
phia.    On  the  right  are  the  immense  derricks  and  machinery 
of  the  dep6t  of  the  Eeading  Eailroad,  Iron  and  Coal  Com- 
pany.    Adjoining  are  the  abattoir  and  stock-yards,  and  farther 
on  is  the  great  grain  warehouse  of  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad 
Company.   On  the  left  hand  there  are  wharves  and  docks,  and 
the  Gas- Works  beyond.     The  river  is  crowded  with  canal- 
boats,  and  there  are  signs  of  great  activity.     But  the  car  car- 
ries us  away  from  these  scenes.     We  proceed  along  Spring 
Garden  street.     The  sidewalks  are  shaded  with  large  trees. 
The  houses  stand  back  from  the  street,  and  are  surrounded 
with  flowers  and  shrubbery.     At  the  intersection  of  the  road 
leading  to  the  Zoological  Gardens  the  driver  informs  us  of 
the  fact.     He  gives  us  a  pass.     The  little  car  conveys  us  past 
the  old  standpipe  of  the  West  Philadelphia  Water- Works. 
We  soon  reach  the  gardens,  and  once  within  the  enclosure  can 
take  our  time  in  studying  the  wonders  of  animated  nature. 
We  may  return  the  way  we  came,  except  that  we  will  go  down 
Haverford  street,  cross  the  lower  floor  of  the  bridge,  and  leave 
the  car  at  the  east  end  of  that  structure.     The  conductor  will 
give  us  a  pass  for  the  Arch  street  car,  standing  near  by.     Our 
route  will  be  by  way  of  Piddle,  St.  Francis's  Eoman  Catholic 
church,  on  the  right  hand,  to  Spring  Garden  street,  and  thence 
east.     We  find  this  to  be  the  widest  street  in  the  city,  exceed- 
ing the  width  of  Broad  street  by  seven  feet.     On  the  right 
hand,  at  Twenty-second  street,  we  pass  the  Fairmount  Market; 
at  Twentieth  street,  on  the  left  hand,  is  the  brownstone  Spring 
Garden  Street  Methodist  Episcopal  church.     Farther  east,  on 


396  SIX   DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

the  left  hand,  is  the  Fifth  Baptist  brownstone  church,  with  its 
peculiar  steeple.     The  greenstone  walls  of  the  Girls'  Normal 
School  are  immediately  beyond;  and  looking  down  Spring 
Garden  street,  the  high  walls  of  the  Spring  Garden  Institute, 
at  Broad  street,  are  in  front  of  us.     The  car  turns  and  goes 
down  Twentieth  street.     We  pass,  on  our  right,  the  Logan 
Square  Presbyterian  church  at  Vine  street,  and  the  Protestant 
Episcopal  church  of  St.  Clement's  at  Cherry  street,  thence  to 
Arch  street  and  Broad,  where  we  are  near  our  starting-point. 
There  are  other  routes  from  the  Garden.     Passing  out  of  the 
north  entrance,  the  steamboat  wharf  is  near,  and  we  may  take 
a  short  trip  down  the  river  and  land  at  Old  Fairmount.     Here 
we  will  walk  over,  passing  the  Lincoln  Monument,  and  take 
the  Fairmount  avenue  car,  purchasing  an  exchange  ticket  for 
this  particular  trip.     We  will  observe  at  Twenty-second  street, 
on  our  left  hand,  the  frowning  portals  of  the  Penitentiary. 
On  Twenty-second  below  Fairmount  avenue  is  the  church  and 
school  of  Olivet  Presbyterian  congregation.     At  Green  street 
we  turn.     Our  route  is  past  fine  dwelling-houses ;  on  our  left  is 
Alexander  Presbyterian  church  at  Nineteenth  street,  and  Cen- 
tral at  Eighteenth  street ;   Christ  Eeformed  church  is  on  our 
right  at  Fifteenth  street.   In  front  of  us,  when  we  reach  Broad 
street,  are  the  synagogue  Eodef  Shalom,  the  towering  walls 
and  spire  of  the  Broad  Street  Presbyterian  church,  south  of  it 
the  building  of  the  Boys'  High  School,  and  next  to  it  the  New 
Jerusalem   church.     At  Thirteenth   street  we    change   cars. 
The  remainder  of  the  route  is  not  very  interesting.     On  our 
right  hand,  at  Callowhill  street,  is  the  Beading  Railroad  d^pot: 
below  Vine  street  is  Nazareth  Methodist  Episcopal  church ; 
at  the  corner  of  Arch  street  is  St.  George's  Hall.     At  Market 
street  we  leave  and  walk  to  Broad  street,  our  starting-point, 
passing  on  the  left  hand  the  old  railroad  d6p6t,  lately  conse- 
crated to  the  evangelizing  labors  of  Moody  and  Sankey. 

We  may  take  another  route.  Passing  out  of  the  northern 
entrance-lodge  of  the  "  Zoo,"  we  cross  the  magnificent  Girard 
avenue  bridge,  thence  through  the  Park  to  the  cars,  which  are 
at  the  avenue  entrance,  a  short  distance  from  us.     We  buy  an 


SIX    BAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA.  397 

exchange  ticket.  We  rapidly  approach  the  enclosure  of  Girard 
College,  which  is  half  a  mile  in  breadth.  We  make  a  little  detour 
to  avoid  it ;  and  when  we  come  upon  South  College  avenue, 
the  buildings  and  grounds  are  on  our  left  hand.  At  Twenty- 
fourth  street  is  the  Foster  Home,  and  immediately  opposite, 
on  the  same  street,  the  high  and  forbidding  walls  which  enclose 
the  House  of  Refuge.  The  mound  which  rises  south  of  us  is 
the  Corinthian  avenue  reservoir.  At  Corinthian  avenue  we 
pass  the  German  Hospital,  on  our  right.  At  the  corner  of 
Eighteenth  street,  on  our  left,  is  St.  Matthew's  Protestant  Epis- 
copal church,  with  its  fine  Sunday-school  building.  On  the 
right,  extending  from  Sixteenth  to  Seventeenth  street,  is 
St.  Joseph's  Roman  Catholic  hospital.  Opposite  is  Green 
Hill  Presbyterian  church,  with  its  handsome  spire.  On  the 
left,  at  Seventeenth  street,  is  the  new  stone  Friends'  meeting- 
house. As  we  cross  Broad  street,  looking  northward  we  see 
the  gables  of  the  Memorial  Baptist  church  and  the  tower  and 
spires  of  the  Incarnation  Protestant  Episcopal  and  Oxford 
Presbyterian  churches.  Immediately  in  front  of  us,  upon  a 
railed  enclosure  in  the  middle  of  the  street,  is  the  Soldiers' 
Monument,  erected  by  the  artillery  corps  Washington  Grays 
to  the  memory  of  their  comrades  killed  during  the  Rebellion. 
At  Thirteenth  street  we  change  cars  and  proceed  southward, 
passing  below  Green  street  the  buildings  on  Tliirteenth  street 
described  in  the  preceding  paragraph. 

SECOND  DAY. 
We  will  now  devote  some  of  our  spare  hours  to  objects  of 
historical  interest.  Starting  from  Broad  and  Market  streets 
at  nine  o'clock,  we  will  walk  to  Chestnut  street  and  pass 
down  that  popular  avenue,  which,  notwithstanding  its  nar- 
rowness and  thronged  condition,  maintains  its  supremacy  as 
the  street  for  fashionable  promenade.  We  find  it  to  be  in  the 
western  part  built  up  with  shops  and  stores,  in  which  the 
most  expensive  goods  are  sold  by  retail.  Here  the  fashion- 
able lady  resorts  for  her  laces,  gloves,  jewelry,  dry  goods  and 
toilet  articles.  Almost  everything  which  taste,  refinement  and 
34 


398  SIX    DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA. 

wealth  covet  can  be  bought  on  this  street.     We  pass  the  Mint, 
which  we  visited  yesterday.     The  Presbyterian  Publication 
House  is  immediately  opposite.   Concert  Hall  and  the  Chestnut 
Street  Theatre  are  on  our  left,  between  Twelfth  and  Thirteenth, 
the  Sunday-school  Union  on  the  right,  between  Eleventh  and 
Twelfth.     Between  Tenth  and  Eleventh  streets  is  St.  Stephen's 
Hotel.     At  the  corner  of  Tenth  street  on  our  left  looms  up 
the  magnificent  edifice  of  the  New  York  Mutual  Life  Insur- 
ance Company.     On  our  left,  at  Ninth  street,  is  the  high  fence 
enclosing  the  ground  upon  which  the  new  post-ofllce  is  to  be 
built.     Immediately  beyond  we  enter  a  deep  valley  on  each 
side  of  which  tower  the  mountainous  walls  of  the  Continental 
Hotel  and  the  Girard  House.    On  our  left,  below  Eighth  street, 
is  the  old  Masonic  Hall ;  Guy's  Hotel  is  on  the  same  side,  at 
Seventh  street ;  the  Ledger  building  on  the  right  hand,  at 
Sixth  street.     Here  we  are  near  Independence  Hall.     We 
pass  the  old  court-house  building  and  ofiices ;  and  stopping  to 
admire  the  elegant  marble  statue  of  Washington  by  Bailey, 
we  enter  the  broad  doorway.     The  apartment  at  our  left  is 
Independence  Hall,  on  the  right  the  National  Museum.     The 
"  Liberty  Bell "  is  in  the  hall  of  the  tower.     Here  we  may 
remain  for  a  couple  of  hours,  and  finish  ofi'  by  climbing  to  the 
top  of  the  steeple  and  taking  a  view  of  the  billows  of  roofs 
which  rise  and  fall  on  every  side  of  us.    Tickets  to  enter  the 
steeple  are  furnished  by  the  superintendent  of  the  hall  at  his 
desk.     Having  performed  this  duty,  we  may  take  a  look  at 
the  State-House  yard,  which  was  once  better  shaded  and  more 
beautiful  than  it  is  now.     It  has  fallen  a  victim  to  a  tasteless 
and  expensive  spirit  of  alteration.     We  will  go  out  into  Chest- 
nut street.     Our  route  is  toward  the  Delaware  Eiver.     The 
American  Hotel  is  immediately  opposite  as  we  descend  the 
State-House  steps.     On   our  left,  at  Fifth  street,  we  note  a 
range  of  very  elegant  structures  extending  to  Fourth  street. 
In  fact,  this  square  contains  the  handsomest  collection  of 
noble  buildings  to  be  found  in  the  city.     They  include  the 
grand  edifice  occupied  by  the  People's  Bank,  the  building  of 
the  Pennsvlvania  Life  and  Trust  Company,  the  Farmers'  and 


SIX    DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA.  399 

Mechanics'  Bank,  of  white  marble,  adjoining,  Pennsylvania 
Bank,  of  solid  granite,  and  the  Philadelphia  Trust  and  Safe 
Deposit  Company.  A  few  steps  on  our  right  hand  bring  us 
to  the  Post-Office,  and  beyond  the  grand  front  of  the  Custom- 
house opens  to  sight.  Still  farther  on  is  the  double  building 
of  marble  occupied  partially  by  the  Commonwealth  and  the 
Western  Banks.  At  Fourth  street,  looking  south,  we  may 
perceive  on  our  right  hand  the  ponderous  building  of  the 
Provident  Life  and  Trust  Company,  on  the  left  the  Central 
National  Bank,  and  below  the  lofty  brownstone  office  building 
of  the  Reading  Railroad,  and  the  equally  splendid  edifice  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Railroad  adjoining.  "We  have  a  little  farther  to 
go  on  Chestnut  street.  On  our  left  hand  is  the  chaste  marble 
front  of  the  Fidelity  Trust  Company  building.  On  our  right  we 
stop  at  the  corner  of  a  small  court  from  which  rises  a  remark- 
ably curious-looking  structure.  It  is  the  Moorish  building  of 
the  Guarantee  Trust  Company.  We  are  not  going  to  pass  it. 
In  fact,  we  are  going  down  this  small  court  and  will  enter  the 
plain-looking  brick  building  which  stands  beyond  and  seems 
as  if  it  might  be  devoted  to  some  very  quiet  purpose,  its  front 
and  cupola  being  so  old-fashioned.  We  need  not  hesitate, 
however.  Greater  and  more  patriotic  persons  than  we  are 
have  walked  up  and  down  this  court.  This  is  Carpenters' 
Hall,  and  here,  one  fine  morning  in  the  autumn  of  1774; 
assembled  the  delegates  representing  the  American  colonies 
to  consult  upon  measures  of  mutual  action  and  defence  which 
might  be  necessary.  The  hall  is  restored,  as  nearly  as  can  be. 
to  its  ancient  appearance.  There  are  interesting  relics  on  the 
walls,  and  a  handsomely  fitted  up  library  in  the  second  story. 
We  may  look  at  these  things  with  interest,  and  consider  how 
much  our  country  owes  to  the  men  who  once  assembled  here, 
and  after  having  gratified  our  historical  memories  and  endeav- 
oring to  people  the  place  with  the  Adamses,  Lees,  Randolph, 
Dickinson,  Washington  and  Henry  of  the  past,  we  wall  pro- 
ceed. Going  down  Chestnut  street,  on  the  left  hand,  nearly 
opposite  Carpenters'  court,  is  the  elegant  granite  building  of 
the  F^rst  National  Bank.     The  brownstone  front  of  the  Bank 


400  SIX   DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

of  North  America  is  seen  farther  on  on  the  same  side.     On 
the  right  we  pass  the  Commercial  Bank,  the  Union  Banking 
building,  and  reach  Third  street.     We  may  stop  and  look  up 
and  down.     It  is  the  great  financial  mart,  in  which  bankers, 
brokers  and  speculators  are  busy.    North  of  us,  on  the  east  side, 
we  may  perceive  the  granite  front  of  the  Manufacturers'  Bank, 
above  Market  street,  and  the  sandstone  round-cornered  build- 
ing of  the  Union  National  Bank,  at  Arch  street.     On  the  west 
side,  between  Market  and  Chestnut,  is  the  Mechanics'  Na- 
tional Bank.     Looking  south,  on  the  east  side,  we  note  the 
front  of  the  Tradesmen's  Bank  and  the  western  front  of  the 
Exchange,  at  Third  and  Walnut  streets.     On  the  west  side 
are  newspaper  offices.     The  fine  portico  of  the  Girard  Na- 
tional Bank  attracts  us,  and  below  Walnut  street  we  may  see 
the  lofty  front   of   the   Lehigh  Valley  Eailroad   Company 
building.     Let  us  proceed.     This  tremendous  granite  build- 
ing on  the  right  hand  was   erected  by  the  late  Dr.  David 
Jayne   for  business   purposes.     It  is  considerably  over  one 
hundred  feet  high,  and  is  the  tallest  building  in  the  city. 
Wholesale  stores  occupy  this  part  of  the  street.     At  Second 
street  is  the  Corn  Exchange  Bank.     We  intend  to  go  a  little 
farther.     We  shall  not  go  so  far  as  Front  street.     This  nar- 
row street  which  we  are  now  treading,  going  in  a  northward 
direction,  is  called  Letitia  street.     We  cross  a  small  intersect- 
ing alley,  and  on  our  left  hand,  near  Market  street,  at  the 
intersection  of  another  court  or  alley,  which  runs  toward  Sec- 
ond street,  we  find  the  house  for  which  we  are  looking.     It  is 
William  Penn's  house,  finished  in  1682-3,  the  first  brick  dwell- 
ing built  in  the  city  and  the  oldest  building  standing  in  Penn- 
sylvania.    It  was  our  State-house  for  many  years,  for  here  the 
governors  and  colonial  councils  met  frequently.     The  secretary 
of  the  governor,  James  Logan,  had  his  office  here  for  a  long 
time.     We  may  enter,  if  we  choose,  if  thirsty  and  not  teetotal 
in  our  determination ;  for  this  is  a  place  where  they  sell  beer. 
It  seems  to  be  a  base  transformation,  but  the  present  owner  of 
the  house  probably  does  not^hink  so.     The  stranger  should 
understand  that  the  William  Penn  House  is  at  the  cornier  of 


SIX   DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA.  401 

the  court,  and  is  not  the  William  Penn  Hotel,  next  door. 
We  leave  this  ancient  relic  and  go  to  Market  street.  A  few 
steps  farther  toward  the  river  brings  us  to  another  object  of 
curiosity.  It  is  the  Old  London  Coffee-house,  at  the  south- 
west corner  of  Front  street.  The  gables  upon  the  two  streets 
present,  in  contrast  to  our  present  style  of  building,  a  quaint 
and  picturesque  appearance.  It  is  now  dinner-time,  and  we 
may  return  to  our  hotel.  The  station  of  the  Market  street 
and  of  the  Union  passenger  railway  cars  is  immediately 
before  us.  To  reach  our  starting-place  we  have  only  to  get 
into  one  of  the  former.  We  find  Market  street  devoted 
entirely  to  business.  Stores!  stores!  stores!  Wholesale 
principally,  some  retail.  The  Seventh  National  Bank  is  at 
the  corner  of  Fourth  street.  The  Bingham  House  at  the 
south-east  corner  of  Eleventh  street.  On  our  right,  near 
Twelfth  street,  is  the  magnificent  Farmers'  Market.  There 
was  only  one  building  entirely  used  as  a  dwelling-house  be- 
tween the  Delaware  and  Schuylkill  on  this  street  at  the  be- 
ginning of  1874. 

What  shall  we  do  after  dinner  ?  We  might  go  as  far  as  the 
Penn  Monument  and  find  that  the  game  was  not  worth  the 
candle.  We  might  visit  the  battle-ground  at  Germantown 
or  at  Red  Bank,  but  these  are  trips  which  should  be  made  in  the 
morning.  As  we  are  given  to  antiquities  to-day,  we  will  visit 
the  Pennsylvania  Hospital,  Christ  church  and  Swedes'  church. 
From  Broad  and  Market  streets  we  will  take  the  object  most 
north-east ;  and  as  we  have  travelled  along  Market  street  so 
recently,  let  us  take  the  cars  at  Broad  and  Arch  streets.  St. 
George's  Hall  we  passed  yesterday.  On  the  left  hand,  near 
Tenth  street,  is  Simmons  &  Slocum's  Opera-house,  and  im- 
mediately opposite  is  the  Arch  Street  Presbyterian  church, 
with  its  fine  wooden  steeple.  Keeping  on,  we  pass,  on  the 
left,  at  Ninth  street.  Wood's  Museum,  St.  Cloud  Hotel,  near 
Seventh  street.  Arch  Street  Theatre,  near  Sixth,  Free  Qua- 
kers' meeting-house,  now  Apprentices'  Library,  on  the  right, 
at  the  corner  of  Fifth  street.  Here  is  Christ  church  burial- 
ground.  The  section  of  the  brick  wall  which  has  been  removed 
34  *  ?  A 


402  SIX    DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

and  replaced  by  an  iron  railing  is  immediately  in  front  of 
the  tomb  of  Benjamin  Franklin  and  bis  wife,  wbieb  adjoins 
the  wall.     We  can  see  it  plainly  and  read  the  lettering  as  we 
stand  there.     Farther,  on  the  right  hand,  between  Third  and 
Fourth  streets,  is  the  Quakers'  meeting-house,  and  opposite 
is  the  St.  Elmo  Hotel.     We  reach  Second  street,  turn  south, 
and  here  we  are  at  the  noble  old-fashioned  building  of  Christ 
church.     We  will  find  the  gateway  open  on  Second  street. 
There  are  afternoon  services  throughout  the  week.     We  can 
see  the  interior,  and  thence  pass  out  into  the  crypt,  where  the 
tombs  of  Bishop  White,  Eobert  Morris  and  Thomas  Willing 
are.     We  may  even  go  into  the  tower  and  look  at  the  curiosi- 
ties there. 

Out  again  into  the  streets.     Our  judicious  course  is  to  get 
into  a  Second  street  car,  one  which  goes  over  the  south  route. 
This  is  the  street  of  retail  shops.     They  are  set  side  by  side, 
and  stretch  for  miles.     It  is  wonderful,  with  so  much  to  sell, 
that  there  could  be  found  enough  people  to  buy,  and  yet  these 
shops  are  kept  open  year  after  year.     The  proprietors  carry  on 
business,  obtain  reputation  for  wealth  and  retire,  and  others 
take  their  places.     On  the  left,  before  we  reach  Walnut  street, 
is  the  solid  brick  edifice  of  the  Commercial  Exchange,  and  op- 
posite, yet  more  solid,  is  the  United  States  appraisers'  building. 
At  Pine  street  we  find  that  the  street  divides  and  runs  upon 
each  side  of  a  market.     A  brick  building  with  an  archway  run- 
ning entirely  through  the  first  story  in  the  middle  of  the  street, 
with  pediment,  cupola  and  bell,  is  a  landmark,  and  can  be 
seen  from  a  great  distance.     It  was  considered  a  great  im- 
provement when   built,  and  was  called  New  Market  Hall. 
On  the  right,  below  South  street,  is  the  Southwark  bank. 
On  the  left,  north  of  Catharine   street,  the  Third   Baptist 
church  stands  back  from  the  thoroughfare.     Near  Christian 
street  is  the  old  Southwark  Commissioners'  Hall,  venerable 
for  past  uses.     At  Christian  street  we  will  alight  and  walk 
toward  the  river,  pass  Front  street  and  reach  Swanson  street. 
We  turn  south  and  arrive  at  Swedes'  church ;    and  it  seems 
to  the  stranger  that  this  venerable  building  is  in  the  wrong 


SIX    DAYS    IN   PHILADELPHIA.  403 

place.  It  is  surrounded  by  the  bustle  and  excitement  of  com- 
mercial traffic.  North  of  it  but  a  few  squares  the  Franklin 
sugar  refinery  rises  far  above  other  buildings.  Immediately 
opposite  is  the  freight-yard  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad 
Company.  A  little  below  are  the  docks  of  the  American 
Steamship  Company  and  the  great  grain  elevator.  Only  a  short 
time  since  the  ship-houses  of  the  Navy  Yard  closed  up  the 
view,  but  they  have  been  removed.  There  is  noise  and  excite- 
ment everywhere,  except  in  this  quiet  little  graveyard,  in 
which  sleep  the  relics  of  the  people  who  inhabited  these 
shores  two  hundred  years  ago,  even  before  Penn  came.  There 
are  old  tombstones  here  dating  early  in  the  last  century.  The 
church  itself  is  interesting.  The  contrast  between  the  quiet 
within  and  the  hum  of  busy  life  without  is  remarkable.  We 
leave  the  premises.  We  shall  walk  down  to  the  Navy  Yard 
gate,  on  Front  street,  where  we  enter  the  cars  of  the  Union 
passenger  railway  company.  Our  route  is  by  way  of  Whar- 
ton street  west  to  Ninth .  There  is  nothing  of  much  interest 
on  the  road  until  we  reach  Ninth  and  Pine  streets,  where  we 
alight ;  for  this  is  the  hospital  ground.  We  walk  to  Eighth 
street,  and  up  the  latter  to  the  entrance  gate.  The  building 
itself  will  occupy  two  or  three  hours  of  our  time.  When  we 
are  ready  to  leave,  it  is  night.  Back  to  our  hotel  or  to  our 
starting-place  as  we  choose ;  the  ways  are  many. 

THIRD  DAY. 
We  shall  devote  this  opportunity  to  prisons  and  reforma- 
tory institutions.  Our  first  point  is  the  House  of  Correction. 
Our  easiest  course  from  Broad  and  Market  streets  is  to  take 
the  car  to  the  New  York  d6p5t,  west  of  the  Schuylkill  River. 
We  buy  our  ticket  for  Holmesburg.  Under  the  swift  guidance 
of  steam,  we  pass  rapidly  out  of  the  intricacy  of  tracks  which 
interlace  at  the  depot.  Into  the  Park,  over  the  connecting  rail- 
road bridge,  with  cheerful  views  of  the  Schuylkill,  and  across 
the  country.  We  pass  on  our  right  Glenwood  and  Odd  Fel- 
lows' cemeteries;  on  our  left,  at  Second  street,  the  New 
Cathedral  Cemetery  is  not  far  off.   We  wind  around  the  lower 


404  SIX    DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

part  of  Frankford,  and  ran  east  of  it  until  we  arrive  at  the 
Holmesburg  station,  from  which  we  walk  a  quarter  mile,  until 
we  reach  the  great  pile  of  buildings  near  the  river.     Two  or 
three  hours  may  be  spent  with  advantage  at  this  place.    Back 
again  to  the  railroad  station.     The  train  carries  us  this  time 
to  the  Kensington  d6p5t,  instead  of  that  in  West  Philadel- 
phia.    As  we  near  the  city  we  cross  at  intersection  the  Bead- 
ing Eailroad,  and  east  of  us  we  may  see  the  masts  of  the  ves- 
sels lying  at  the  great  coal-wharves  at  Port  Richmond.  ^  At 
the  Kensington  depot  we  take  the  cars  of  the  Fifth  and  Sixth 
streets  passenger  railway  company.     They  carry  us  on  Berks 
street  to  Sixth,  past  the  North  Pennsylvania  Railroad  depot, 
and  then  south.     Upon  Sixth  street,  on  our  left  hand  near 
Brown,  is  the  solid-looking  building  of  the  Reformed  Hebrew 
organization  (Keneseth  Israel).     On  the  right  hand,  at  Fair- 
mount  avenue,  is  the  Wyoming  school-house,  and  below,  near 
Green  street,  the  Saracenic  front  of  the  North  Presbyterian 
church  attracts  observation.     At  Spring  Garden  street  is  the 
solid  granite  building  of  the  Northern  Safe  Deposit  Company. 
At  Noble  street  a  substantial  Quaker  meeting-house  gravely 
stands  on  our  right.     At  Vine  street,  on  the  right  hand,  is  the 
Penn  National  Bank.     The  next  block  is  occupied  by  Frank- 
lin square.     Odd  Fellows'  Hall  is  on  the  right,  a  square  below. 
Between  Market  and  Arch  the  City  Bank's  brownstone  front 
must  be  looked  at.     Below  Chestnut  street,  we  pass  Independ- 
ence square  on  the  left,  and  reach  Washington  square  on  the 
right.     Holy  Trinity  Roman  Catholic  church  is  on  the  right  at 
the  corner  of  Spruce  street.     Thence  the  route  is  through  a 
dreary  district,  penetrating  a  section  where  poverty  and  vice 
huddle  together.    We  get  out  of  the  car  at  Reed  street,  walk 
four  squares  west,  and  reach  the  front  entrance  of  the  county 
prison.     From  two  to  three  hours  may  be  spent  here  with  ad- 
vantage.    It  is  now  dinner-time.     Home  by  the  cars,  Tenth 
and  Eleventh  streets  line,  which  we  find  at  the  corner  of  the 
prison.     Our  course  does  not  take  us  in  front  of  any  building 
of  consequence  between  the  prison  and  Chestnut  street.    North 
of  the  latter,  on  the  right  hand,  are  Eleventh  Street  Opera- 


SIX   DAYS    IN   PHILADELPHIA.  405 

house  and  the  Bingham  House.  At  Market  street,  if  we  need, 
we  can  go  west  to  Broad  street.  If  not,  company  will  dismiss 
until  after  dinner. 

The  penitentiary  is  the  object  of  our  afternoon  visit.  To 
reach  it  we  walk  to  Fifteenth  and  Market  streets,  buy  an  ex- 
change ticket  and  take  our  seats  in  a  car  going  northward. 
We  soon  enter  a  region  of  great  factories,  machine-shops  and 
forges,  which  lies  between  Callowhill  and  Spring  Garden 
streets.  At  Fairmount  avenue  we  change  cars  and  go  west. 
There  is  no  building  of  importance  along  our  route  until  we 
reach  the  penitentiary,  the  gloomy  portcullis  of  which  seems 
to  fall  behind  us  as  we  enter,  and  whi^h  reminds  us  of  the  in 
scription  made  famous  by  Dante : 

"Abandon  hope,  all  ye  who  enter  here." 

We  leave  these  gloomy  scenes.  As  we  are  in  the  neighbor- 
hood, we  walk  to  Twenty-third  and  Brown  streets,  where  the 
Northern  Home  for  Friendless  Children  is  worthy  of  our  at- 
tention, and  where  we  can  see  what  good,  charity  can  bestow 
in  education  and  training,  upon  helpless  youth.  The  Girard 
College  is  so  near  that  we  may  as  well  avail  ourselves  of  the 
opportunity  of  a  visit;  or  if  we  so  choose,  we  may  contrast 
what  we  saw  yesterday  in  the  oldest  hospital  in  the  country 
— the  Pennsylvania — with  the  German,  among  the  newest. 
We  have  a  ticket  of  admission  to  the  college ;  and  as  we  do 
not  look  like  clergymen,  there  will  be  no  difficulty  about  our 
entrance.  Our  return  route  is  by  Seventeenth  street,  which 
we  can  reach  by  walking  or  by  car.  There  is  little  of  interest 
on  this  route  after  we  leave  Girard  avenue.  Germania  Hall 
and  Market,  at  Seventeenth  and  Poplar  streets,  is  on  our  left. 
The  church  of  Atonement,  corner  of  Summer  street,  below 
Vine,  on  our  left,  the  Second  Presbyterian  Reformed,  below 
Race  street,  on  our  right,  and  opposite,  the  high  brick  wall 
which  shuts  out  everything  is  Friends'  burying-ground,  a 
peaceful  enclosure  in  which  the  grass  grows  green  and  no 
tombstone  suggests  that  what  was  once  human  is  mouldering 
beneath.     On  the  right,  at  the  corner  of  Filbert  street,  is  the 


406  SIX   DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA. 

First  Presbyterian  Eeformed  church,  and  near  by,  on  the  other 
side  of  Filbert  street,  is  the  Protestant  Episcopal  church  of 
the  Covenant.  At  Jones  street  the  Western  Market  comes 
out  to  Seventeenth  street.  It  is  a  small  distance  to  Broad 
street,  and  there  we  close  the  interest  of  the  day. 

FOURTH   DAY. 
As  yet  we  have  paid  no  attention  to  the  cemeteries  of  the 
city.    We  have  no  time  to  visit  all  of  them.    Laurel  Hill  will 
occupy  our  morning  and  Woodlands  our  afternoon  to-day. 
Our  route  is  by  the  Eidge  avenue  cars.     We  can  reach  them 
by  way  of  Fifteenth  strco.,  to  which  we  walk  from  our  starting- 
place  at  Broad  and  Market.     Here,  on  entering  the  car,  we 
purchase  an  exchange  ticket.     Fifteenth  street  strikes  Eidge 
avenue  at  Brown  street.     As  we  change  cars  and  look  down 
the  avenue  we  will  observe  the  fine  large  Lincoln  Market 
building  at  the  corner  of  Fairmount  avenue,  and  before  us, 
toward  the  east,  the  sombre  front  of  the  Broad  Street  Bap- 
tist church,  with  its  neat  spire.     Eidge  avenue  is  one  of  the 
few  "catercornered"  streets  which  we  have  in  Philadelphia. 
It  commences  at  Ninth  and  Vine  streets,  runs  north-west  all 
the  way,  and  crosses,  before  it  passes  Laurel  Hill,  all  the  streets 
as  far  as  Thirty-fifth  street.     It  also  passes  twenty-three  prin- 
cipal streets  running  east  and  west.     It  is  a  short  cut  running 
across  the  north-western  part  of  the  city,  and  is  thronged  in 
consequence.     It  is  a  street  of  shops,  which  stretch  along  it 
with  scarcely  an  interruption  from  Vine  street  to  Columbia 
avenue,  and  are  ready  to  march  out  to  Manayunk  with  little 
delay.     There  are  no  public  buildings  of  any  great  extent 
upon  this  street,  but  we  notice  some  at  the  intersecting  streets. 
On   our  left  hand,  below  Girard  avenue,  we  pass  the  new 
Eidge  Avenue  Market  and  Hotel.     On  the  same  side  shortly 
afterward  we  notice  the  high  stone  wall  of  Girard  College, 
along  which  we  pass   for  a  quarter  of  a  mile.     At  North 
College  avenue,  if  we  look  toward  the  Schuylkill,  we  will  see 
the  handsome  buildings  of  the  Woman's  Medical  College  and 
Woman's  Hospital.    Above  Columbia  avenue,  on  our  right,  is 


SIX    DAYS    IN    PHIT.ADELPHIA.  407 

the  Penn  TownsMp  Odd  Fellows'  Hall.  At  Islington  lane, 
on  the  right,  we  reach  Glenwood  Cemetery,  the  Odd  Fellows' 
and  Mechanics'  Cemeteries  adjoining  on  the  east.  Shortly 
after  passing  this  enclosure  the  East  Park  comes  in  sight ;  the 
reservoir  looms  up  immediately  in  front.  At  Thirty-second 
street  we  reach  the  dep6t  of  tlie  railway  company,  and  here 
our  passage-right  on  the  original  fare  ends.  If  we  wish  to  go 
farther,  we  must  pay  another  fare.  This  is  a  matter  of  choice. 
It  is  but  a  short  walk  of  three  or  four  squares  to  the  south 
entrance  of  Laurel  Hill.  Before  we  reach  it  we  are  at  the 
Park  boundary.  The  mansion  nearest  is  Woodford,  in  which 
the  Park  superintendent  resides.  A  little  beyond,  nearer  the 
Schuylkill,  and  shaded  by  magnificent  old  trees,  is  Strawberry 
Mansion,  one  of  the  Park  restaurants.  This  is  the  gate  of 
South  Laurel  Hill.  Let  us  enter.  We  will  be  struck  by  the 
elegance  of  the  enclosure,  the  riches  of  flowers  and  shrubbery, 
and  will  perhaps  be  lost  in  the  wilderness  of  monumental 
marble  and  granite  which  encompasses  us.  If  we  have  time, 
we  may  iaspect  Mount  Vernon  Cemetery,  opposite,  Mount 
Peace,  adjoining,  and  the  interesting  building  and  grave- 
yard of  the  church  of  St.  James  the  Less.  We  may  return 
by  the  Schuylkill  River  steamboat,  which  we  will  reach  by  the 
lane  which  divides  Central  from  North  Laurel  Hill  and  leads 
to  the  Schuylkill ;  or  re-entering  the  Park  and  passing  Straw- 
berry Mansion,  lingering  for  a  few  moments  on  the  brow  of 
the  precipice,  we  may  enjoy  the  view  of  the  river  north  of 
us,  showing  the  railroad  Falls  bridge,  the  falls  and  the  dis- 
tant steeples  and  chimneys  of  Manayunk.  Immediately  op- 
posite, on  the  west  side  of  the  river,  the  heights  of  Chamouni 
rise  before  us,  and  the  view  down  the  stream,  showing  the  Bel- 
mont bridge,  with  glimpses  of  Memorial  Hall,  is  charming. 
The  steamboat  will  take  us  through  the  water-way  of  the 
Park,  past  Edgely  and  Rockland  on  our  left  hand,  and  Cham- 
ouni, Ridgeland  and  Belmont  on  our  right.  Passing  under 
the  railroad  bridge,  we  notice  on  our  right  Belmont  Water- 
Works,  and  the  Centennial  Water- Works  a  short  distance  be- 
low.    We  soon  pass  on  the  right  the  deep  and  romantic  open- 


408  SIX    DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

ings  of  Belmont  Valley,  Lansdowne  Glen  and  Sweet-Brier 
Vale.  The  Centennial  Buildings  rise  before  us  all  along. 
Shooting  under  the  connecting  railroad  and  Girard  avenue 
bridges,  we  pass  the  Zoological  Gardens  on  our  right;  the  Park 
is  on  our  left  hand  all  the  way.  We  reach  and  pass  the  boat- 
houses;  land,  walk  through  the  water-works  buildings  and 
galleries,  and  at  the  entrance  to  the  bridge  take  the  Arch  street 
car,  from  which  we  land  at  Broad  and  Arch  streets. 

In  the  afternoon,  walking  south  on  Broad  street  to  Walnut, 
we  wait  for  a  car  of  that  line  which  belongs  to  the  Mount 
Moriah  and  Darby  branch.  Our  route  is  out  Walnut  street, 
passing  the  mansions  of  the  rich  and  fashionable,  which  are 
of  brick,  granite,  brownstone,  sandstone  and  marble.  On 
our  left  hand,  at  Eighteenth  street,  extending  to  Nineteenth, 
is  Eittenhouse  square.  Two  large  and  unique  fountains  are 
near  the  entrances.  At  the  south-west  corner  of  Nineteenth 
is  the  brownstone  church  of  the  Holy  Trinity,  P.  E.  The 
large  and  heavy-looking  brick  building  with  high  steps  lead- 
ing to  the  front  entrance  which  we  notice  a  short  distance 
south  of  the  church  is  the  Catholic  academy  of  Notre  Dame, 
devoted  to  the  education  of  young  ladies.  At  Twentieth 
street,  looking  south  on  the  left  side,  we  will  observe  the 
Western,  once  known  as  the  Brickmakers',  M.  E.  Church, 
and  on  the  west  side  the  Roman  Catholic  church  of  St. 
Patrick.  On  our  left  hand,  at  the  corner  of  Twenty-first 
street,  is  the  fine  and  costly  Second  Presbyterian  church- 
building.  At  Twenty-second  street  we  turn  north.  St.  James* 
Protestant  Episcopal  church  is  now  on  our  left  hand,  and  the 
House  of  the  Good  Shepherd  on  our  right.  At  Chestnut 
street  we  again  turn  west.  We  pass  the  Rink  and  cross  the 
handsome  bridge.  South  of  us  is  the  South  street  bridge, 
while  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  bridge  is  in  sight.  The 
wharves  and  the  shipping,  the  steeples  and  towers  in  the  dis- 
tance, give  interest  to  the  view.  On  our  left,  at  Thirty-first 
street,  is  the  dep6t  of  the  West  Chester  and  Philadelphia 
Railroad  Company ;  and  from  this,  if  we  choose,  a  walk  of  a 
square  north  would  bring  us  to  the  d6p6t  of  the  Pennsyl- 


SIX   DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 


409 


vania  Eailroad.     But  we  are  going  onward.     At  Thirty-third 
street  we  reach  the  Darby  road,  called  here  Woodland  avenue. 
The  group  of  magnificent  buildings  on  our  left,  which  we  are 
approaching,  are  the  University  of  Pennsylvania,  the  Medical 
Department,  west  of  the  main  building,  and  the  University 
Hospital,  south  of  it.     Farther  off,  on  the  left,  an  immense 
pile  of  lofty  buildings  attracts  our  attention.     It  comprises 
the   Blockley   almshouse   establishment,   in  which  the   city 
boards    and    lodges   several    thousand  paupers   and   insane 
persons.     At   Thirty-ninth    street   we   reach   the   front   en- 
trance   of   Woodland   Cemetery,   and   for  some  hours  will 
engage  in  contemplating  the  City  of  the  Dead.     To  return 
we  walk  to  Chestnut  street.     We  notice  the  elegance  of  the 
mansions  in  this  part  of  the  city.     North  and  west  of  this 
are  the  finest  portions  of  West  Philadelphia.     The  buildings 
are  tasteful  and  elegant.     The  sidewalks  are  deeply  shaded 
with  old  trees.     Every  house  has  its  garden-plot  with  flowers 
and  shrubbery.     We  walk  up  Thirty-ninth  street,  and  reach 
Chestnut.     At  Locust  street,  looking  west,  we  observe  the  ele- 
gant front  of  St.  Mary's  Protestant  Episcopal  church.      At 
Walnut  street  we  see  the  Walnut  Street  Presbyterian  church. 
While  we  are  waiting  for  a  car  we  notice  the  tall  steeple  and 
church  front  on  the  north  side  of  Chestnut  street  about  a 
square  west.     It  is  the  Berean  Baptist  church.     On  Thirty- 
eighth  street,  north  of  Chestnut  is  the  Protestant  Episcopal 
church  of  the  Saviour.     At  Thirty-sixth  street,  on  the  right, 
is  the  brownstone  church,  with  tower  and  spire,  of  the  West 
Philadelphia  Baptist  congregation.     At  Thirty-third  street  we 
again  strike  our  former  route,  and  proceed  to  Broad  and  Chest- 
nut streets. 

FIFTH  DAY. 
We  owe  something  to  our  country.  Patriotism  demands 
that  we  pay  some  attention  to  national  establishments.  The 
Mint  we  have  visited ;  the  Post-Office  detains  us  but  a  few 
moments ;  we  can  walk  through  the  Custom-House  and  the 
sub-Treasury  office,  the  portions  open  to  the  public,  without 


410  SIX   DAYS   IN   PHILADELPHIA. 

obstruction.  The  appraisers'  office  may  be  looked  at  if  we  are 
so  inclined.  The  arsenals,  Naval  Asylum  and  Hospital  and 
Navy  Yard  will  give  us  occupation  to-day.  All  these  estab- 
lishments, except  the  Navy  Yard  at  League  Island,  may  be 
conveniently  reached  from  our  starting-point  by  railway  cars ; 
but  to-day  we  shall  take  a  little  more  ease.  We  will  secure  a 
carriage  and  agree  with  the  driver  beforehand  exactly  what 
we  are  to  pay,  or  pay  him,  according  to  the  provisions  of  the 
city  ordinance,  by  the  hour.  The  Frankford  arsenal  lies  north- 
east of  our  starting-point.  We  shall  proceed  for  several  miles 
through  a  thickly-built  portion  of  the  city,  in  which  the  build- 
ings are  substantial,  but  not  elegant,  and  where  the  dwelling- 
houses  stand  side  by  side  in  rows  which  seem  endless,  whilst 
in  other  portions  of  the  town  we  will  find  shops  and  factories 
next  door  to  stables  and  churches.  Great  industrial  buildings 
loom  up  in  gloomy  solidity.  Immense  dep5ts  and  shops,  and 
factories  for  every  conceivable  manufacture,  wharves  and  yards 
and  business  enclosures,  are  on  all  sides.  Our  driver  may  take 
his  own  route,  and  we  shall  not  attempt  to  describe  it.  Girard 
avenue  will  be  a  judicious  route,  say  from  Broad  street.  We 
will  pass  on  our  right,  at  Fifth  street,  St.  Peter's  Koman 
Catholic  church.  At  Front  street  our  course  is  no  longer  east 
and  west,  but  tends  to  the  north-east.  We  cross  the  Aramingo 
Creek  at  Norris  street,  reach  Eichmond,  and  still  press  to  the 
north-east,  passing  immense  coal  wharves,  foundries,  machines, 
docks,  etc.,  out  to  Bridesburg  and  the  arsenal.  Back  again, 
by  way  of  Frankford  and  Kensington  avenue,  and  to  our  hotel 
to  dinner. 

In  the  afternoon  our  route  will  be  south  and  south-west. 
Perhaps  it  will  be  judicious  to  go  immediately  from  Broad 
iind  Market  streets,  down  Broad  to  League  Island.  There  is 
nothing  of  interest  after  we  pass  the  Baltimore  Railroad  d6- 
p5t.  As  citizens  of  a  free  and  enlightened  country  the  guard 
at  the  Navy  Yard  will  admit  us,  and  we  may  examine  the 
great  buildings  and  docks,  and  go  aboard  some  of  the  mon- 
itors which  are  moored  in  the  Back  Channel  and  gloomily  rise 
and  fall  with  the  tide. 


SIX    DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA.  411 

Back  again.  Up  Broad  street  to  Federal,  and  out  the  latter 
to  Gray's  Ferry  road,  and  then  north-east.  These  large  build- 
ings on  the  left  enclosed  by  a  high  brick  wall  are  the  Schuyl- 
kill Arsenal.  We  will  be  admitted  and  find  it  to  be  an  im- 
mense clothing  dep6t,  but  we  will  be  pleased  with  the  museum 
of  uniforms  and  other  curiosities  in  the  establishment.  Out 
again,  we  cross  the  tracks  of  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad,  get  a 
nearer  view  of  the  bridge  of  that  company,  which  crosses,  the 
Schuylkill  just  here.  A  little  farther  beyond,  on  the  left,  the 
tall  flagstaff  rising  in  the  centre  of  the  ground,  from  which 
float  the  stars  and  stripes,  and  the  spacious  buildings  beyond, 
assure  us  we  have  reached  the  United  States  Naval  Asylum. 
Here  there  are  many  matters  of  interest  to  be  looked  at.  The 
old  pensioners  are  a  quiet,  respectable  set  of  men.  They  are 
pleased  to  meet  strangers,  and  are  communicative.  Adjoin- 
ing is  the  United  States  Naval  Hospital.  It  is  under  capital 
superintendence,  and  kept  scrupulously  clean.  A  half  hour 
or  an  hour  may  be  spent  here.  And  so  out  to  the  road,  where 
our  carriage  is  waiting,  and  home  again. 

SIXTH  DAY. 
The  morning  we  will  devote  to  literature,  and  look  into  the 
libraries.  The  nearest  to  our  starting-place  is  the  Mercan- 
tile, on  Tenth  street  above  Chestnut,  opposite  St.  Stephen's 
church.  We  find  the  collection,  which  is  the  largest  in  the 
city,  conveniently  arranged  in  a  very  spacious  apartment,  and 
observe  the  comfort  of  the  reading-room  and  other  acces- 
sories. To-day  we  walk;  our  area  is  somewhat  circum- 
scribed. Down  Tenth  street,  passing  on  our  right  the  build- 
ing of  the  New  York  Mutual  Life  Insurance  Company,  the 
Assembly  Building  and  Jefferson  College,  near  Walnut  street, 
Western  Saving  Fund,  First  Unitarian  church,  on  the  left  at 
Locust  street,  we  reach  Spruce  street.  Eastward,  down  Spruce 
street.  At  the  comer  of  Ninth  street  is  a  plain  brick  Quaker 
meeting-house.  Adjoining  is  the  old  Jewish  cemetery.  On 
our  right  is  the  enclosure  of  the  Pennsylvania  Hospital,  and 
in  the  centre  of  the  square  is  the  building  we  are  about  to 


412  SIX   DAYS    IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

enter.  It  is  the  hall  of  the  Historical  Society,  and  the  most 
interesting  place  to  visit  among  all  the  libraries  in  the  city, 
because  it  not  only  possesses  a  great  collection  of  books,  but 
there  are  also  paintings,  portraits,  views  of  old  buildings  and 
historical  relics  of  various  kinds,  curious,  and  some  of  them 
of  great  value  on  account  of  the  antique  associations  con- 
nected with  them.  There  are  some  very  important  manu- 
scripts ;  and  taken  all  together,  the  visit  will  be  gratifying  to  the 
stranger.  We  get  through  the  examination.  Along  Spruce 
street  we  pursue  our  way,  passing  Holy  Trinity  Eoman  Cath- 
olic church,  at  Sixth  street,  the  Horace  Binney  school-house 
east  of  Sixth  street,  and  turn  up  Fifth  street.  A  little  beyond 
the  latter,  on  our  right,  is  the  Spruce  Street  Baptist  church. 
Going  northward,  we  pass,  near  Locust  street,  between  the 
walls  of  St.  Mary's  Roman  Catholic  churchyard  on  one  side 
and  of  Free  Quakers'  burying-ground  on  the  other.  Beyond 
Locust  street,  on  our  left,  is  the  building  in  which  the  Survey 
Department  of  the  city  has  its  offices,  St.  Thomas'  African 
Protestant  Episcopal  church  and  the  City  Solicitor's  office. 
Thus  we  are  brought  by  regular  approaches  to  the  corner  of 
Walnut  street.  Proceeding  northward,  with  Independence 
Square  on  our  left  hand,  we  pass  the  quaint,  old-fashioned 
hall  of  the  Philadelphia  Dispensary,  the  handsome  building 
once  occupied  by  the  Mercantile  Library,  and  crossing  Library 
street  enter  by  high,  old-fashioned  steps  the  Philadelphia  Li- 
brary. There  are  many  ancient  books  and  manuscripts  here, 
the  most  valuable  of  which  are  displayed  in  a  case  near  the 
door.  There  are  old  paintings,  engravings,  busts,  and  such  an 
atmosphere  of  learning  and  literature  permeates  the  hall  and 
lingers  among  the  alcoves  that  one  feels  here  might  the  true 
scholar  learn  to  live  and  die. 

Nearly  opposite,  the  American  Philosophical  Society  has  its 
collection  in  the  second  story  of  a  building.  Here  also  are 
old  books,  old  pictures,  and  in  the  small  museum  old  curiosi- 
ties and  plans  of  machinery.  Among  the  latter  is  a  model 
for  a  propelling  power  made  by  John  Fitch  when  he  was 
considering  his  steamboat  schemes.     As  we  are  in  no  hurry, 


SIX   DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA.  413 

we  will  devote  two  or  three  hours  to  business  and  finance. 
The  finest  banking  buildings  are  within  a  stone's  throw  of 
Fifth  and  Chestnut  streets.     We  may  enter  such  of  them  as 
attract  our  fancy,  and  notice  particularly  the  great  height  of 
the  ceilings,  the  elegant  finish  of  the  counters  and  desks,  and 
the  arrangements  which  facilitate  the  discharge  of  business. 
At  Third  and  Dock  streets  we  will  enter  the  second  floor  of 
the  Merchants'  Exchange  by  the  entrance  on  the  east,  and  as 
soon  as  we  do  so  will  think  ourselves  in  Bedlam.     The  Board 
of  Brokers  is  in  session.     Five,  ten  or  twenty  excited  luna- 
tics, according  to  appearance,  are  shouting  to  a  man  who 
stands  up  in  a  sort  of  pulpit  and  screams  back  at  them ;  and 
this  is  the  way  they  buy  and  sell  stocks.     Out  of  it,  along 
the  narrow  alley  which  bounds  the  huge  United  States  Ap- 
praisers' building,  and  we  come  upon  the  Commercial  Ex- 
change.    A  friend  introduces  us;  we  find  an  immense  hall, 
upon  the  floor  of  which  are  numerous  tables,  and  upon  each 
little  heaps  of  wheat,  rye,  corn,  etc.,  samples  of  what  the 
owners  are  ready  to  sell.     Immense  business  transactions  are 
effected  in  this  apartment  without  other  ceremony  than  in- 
spection of  the  samples  and  an  agreement  on  the  price. 

We  will  leave  the  Exchange,  go  to  Market  street,  look  at 
the  docks  and  gaze  at  the  shipping.  We  may  take  a  steam- 
boat to  Camden,  N.  J.,  which  we  will  find  to  be  a  large  and 
thrifty  city.  We  obtain  there  a  better  view  of  the  river  front 
of  Philadelphia ;  it  is  crescent-shaped.  An  island  in  the  centre 
of  the  stream  cuts  off"  a  portion  of  the  view  to  the  south-east 
of  us,  but  we  see  beyond  and  below  ft.  Windmill  Island  they 
called  ft  more  than  a  century  ago,  because  a  windmill  was 
upon  ft.  It  properly  has  that  name  now,  but  sometimes  is 
called  Smith's  Island.  Immediately  opposfte  Chestnut  street 
the  ground  is  devoted  to  the  purposes  of  a  pleasure  garden  and 
for  baths.  A  small  steamboat  carries  the  passenger  to  and 
fro.  South  of  this  is  a  canal,  through  which  our  steamboat 
found  its  way  in  bringing  us  to  Camden.  The  southern  part 
of  the  island  is  an  immense  coal  dep5t,  used  by  the  Lehigh 
Navigation  Company.     We  observe  the  smoke  of  numerous 

35* 


414  SIX    DAYS   IN    PHILADELPHIA. 

foundries  and  factories,  wharves  bright  with  piles  of  lumber 
and  others  gloomy  with  piles  of  coal.  There  are  great  ware- 
houses looming  over  beyond,  masts  and  cordage  and  sails  and 
fluttering  flags;  in  front  of  us  vessels  are  moored,  steamboats 
are  crossing  and  recrossing  or  moving  with  great  rapidity  up 
and  down  the  stream.  Large  ships  are  under  the  tow  of  in- 
significant looking  tug-boats,  which  in  comparison  of  size  are 
mere  toys,  and  yet  they  drag  along  the  great  hulks  easily. 
Eow-boats  are  toiling  in  the  stream.  Unemployed  tug-boats 
are  puffing  and  blowing,  seemingly  running  about  in  search 
of  business.  Everything  is  life,  bustle  and  activity.  In  the 
background,  from  among  walls,  roofs  and  dormer  windows, 
rise  the  great  towers,  steeples  and  chimneys  of  the  city.  It 
is  a  splendid  panorama,  and  one  which  the  stranger  unused 
to  the  life  of  a  commercial  metropolis  ought  to  see. 


CHAPTEE    XXXIIl. 
S  UPPLEMENTAR  Y. 

LARGE  cities  grow  very  fast.  So  much  activity  occurs  in 
public  matters,  in  benevolence,  commerce,  trade,  and  in 
every  concern  of  life,  that  additions  are  constantly  being  made 
to  public  buildings  and  associations.  The  following  have 
oeen  originated  since  the  foregoing  pages  were  printed,  and 
ft>r  the  sake  of  completeness  are  necessary  to  be  noticed. 

COMMERCE. 
Cotton  compress.  The  Pennsylvania  Warehousing  Com- 
pany (see  page  146)  has  added  to  its  means  of  accommodating 
trade  a  very  powerful  compress  or  packing-machine  available 
for  the  compression  of  cotton,  hay  or  other  material  usually 
put  up  in  bales.  The  building  used  for  this  purpose  is  sit- 
uate on  South  Delaware  avenue,  convenient  to  the  wharves. 
The  press  is  operated  by  hydraulic  power,  and  is  of  immense 

"orce. 

FOOD   SUPPLY. 

The  new  abattoir  and  cattle  stock-yards  established  under 
iie  control  of  the  Pennsylvania  Eailroad  Company  are  upon 
The  west  side  of  the  Schuylkill  River,  north  of  Market  street. 
The  principal  building  is  of  brick,  200  feet  long  by  150  feet 
wide;  a  hay  and  grain  barn  of  brick,  40  by  100  feet;  48  cat- 
tle sheds,  each  24  by  200  feet ;  two  sheep-pens,  each  350  by 
130  feet;  hog-pens,  etc.,  the  whole  being  contrived  for  the 
easy  delivery  of  cattle  and  for  slaughtering  them  in  large 
quantities,  all  smell  and  annoyance  being  provided  for  by 
scientific  arrangement. 

415   * 


416    *  SCIENTIFIC   INSTITUTIONS,    ETC. 

SCIENTIFIC   INSTITUTIONS. 

The  Pennsylvania   Museum  and  School  of  Industrial  Art 

was  chartered  in  March,  1876,  for  the  purpose  of  establishing 
a  school  of  industrial  art  on  the  plan  of  the  great  South 
Kensington  Museum,  London— an  institution  which  has  rev- 
olutionized the  art  industries  of  Great  Britain.  It  is  hoped 
that  the  Centennial  Exhibition  will  afford  many  facilities  for 
the  establishment  of  such  an  institution.  The  managers 
have  memorialized  the  Pennsylvania  Legislature  to  use  a 
part  or  all  of  Memorial  Hall  for  the  purposes  of  the  museum 
after  the  Exhibition  shall  have  been  closed. 

PLACES   OF  AMUSEMENT. 

Alhambra,  east  side  of  Broad  street,  north  of  Spruce.  A 
theatre  and  garden  for  musical,  dramatic  and  spectacular 
performances,  under  the  charge  of  Kiralfy  Brothers.  The 
front  on  Broad  street  is  two  stories  high,  of  zinc  and  iron,  in 
the  Mauresque  style,  handsomely  ornamented  with  horseshoe 
arches,  columns,  etc.,  gilded  and  painted  in  bright  colors. 
At  each  end  is  a  dome  of  iron  and  glass.  The  theatre  stands 
on  the  south  side  of  the  lot,  and  will  seat  1000  persons.  The 
garden  on  the  north  is  150  feet  square,  and  connects  with  the 
theatre.  There  are  fountains,  grottoes,  promenades,  flower- 
beds, carving,  paintings  and  sculpture. 

Colosseum,  south-east  corner  Broad  and  Locust  streets,  ad- 
joining the  Alhambra.  Specially  constructed  for  the  purpose 
of  displaying  the  cycloramic  painting  of  "  Paris  by  Night." 
The  building  is  cylindrical,  129  feet  in  diameter  at  the  base. 
Eoof  at  the  top  of  the  outer  wall,  77  feet  from  the  pavement; 
rising  in  a  sloping  form  until  it  meets  a  central  tower  38  feet 
wide,  which  rises  from  the  interior  to  a  height  of  166  feet 
from  the  ground.  This  tower,  above  the  roof,  is  decorated 
with  balconies,  from  which  the  city  may  be  seen.  The  pic- 
ture is  arranged  on  the  interior  walls.  Spectators  view  it 
from  that  portion  of  the  tower  which  is  within  the  building, 
and  the  effect  of  the  painting  seems  wonderfully  real  anu 
attractive. 


PLACES    OF    AMUSEMENT.  *    417 

Centennial  Music-Hall,  adjoining  the  Forrest  mansion,  at 
south-west  corner  of  Broad  and  Master  streets.  Front  on 
Broad  street  100  feet,  depth  on  Carlisle  street  200  feet,  of 
brick,  iron  and  stained  glass.  The  interior  will  have  3  tiers 
of  private  boxes  and  a  stage  32  feet  in  width,  saloons,  etc. 
The  stage  has  been  specially  constructed  for  the  use  of  Theo. 
Thomas'  orchestral  concerts.  The  music-hall  opens  into  the 
garden  north  of  it.  There  will  be  seating  capacity  in  tlie 
building  for  2000  persons. 


II^DEX. 


Abbatoiti,  50,  395. 
Academies,  174. 

of  P.  E.  Church,  173,  174. 
Academv  of  Eine  Arts,  191-195. 
of  Music,  257,  393. 
of  Natural  Sciences,  185,  393. 
Access  to  the  Park,  368. 
Adams,  John,  Vice-President,  34. 

inaugurated,  35. 
Agricultural  Society,  190. 
Aimwell  School,  172. 
Alexander  Presby.  Church,  276. 
Almshouse,  Blockley,  116. 

Friends',  225. 
Amateur's  Drawing  room,  259. 
Ambler  Trotting  Park,  256. 
American  Baptist  Pub.  Society,  300. 
fleet  burned,  31. 
,  Hotel,  66,  398. 
Insurance  Company,  163,  164. 
Mechanics'  Hall,  241. 
Protestant  Asso.  Hall,  242. 
Steamship  Line,  150. 
Sunday-school  Union,  300. 
vessels  lost  and  destroyed,  28. 
Amusement,  places  of,  257. 
Appraisers',  U.  S.,  Of&ce,  127,  410. 
Annunciation  R.  C.  Church,  296. 
Apprentices'  Library,  203,  401. 
Aramingo  Creek,  410. 
Arch  Street  M.  E.  Church,  271. 
Railway  route,  81. 
Theatre,  258,  401. 
Area  of  the  city,  43-46. 
Armories,  243. 

Arnold,  Benedict,  gov.  of  city,  33. 
country-seat,  350. 
mansion  of,  332. 
marries  Miss  Shippen,  33. 
Arsenal,  Frankford,  135,  410. 
Schuylkill,  135,  410. 


Art  Association,  Park,  1 97. 

Academy,  191. 

Gallery,  Park,  346. 

galleries,  private,  196. 
Assembly  Buildings,  260,  411. 
Assistance  Societies,  235. 
Assumption  R.  C.  Church,  296. 
Asylums  for  children,  221. 

Little  Sisters  of  the  Poor,  227. 

for  the  Unfortunate,  228. 
Atheneeum,  203. 
Atlantic  City,  93. 
Atonement  P.  E.  Church,  405. 
Augusta,  Brit,  frigate,  blown  up,  29. 

Baggage  system,  87. 
Bainbridge  Street  Market,  74. 
Bank,  America,  159. 

Central,  156. 

City,  156,  404. 

Commerce,  156. 

Commercial,  155,  400. 

Commonwealth,  156,  399. 

Consolidation,  156. 

Corn  Exchange,  157,  400. 

Eighth  National,  158. 

Farmers'  and  Mechanics',  154. 

First  National,  158. 

Germantown,  157. 

Kensington,  155. 

Keystone,  157. 

Manayunk,  159. 

Manufacturers',  156,  400. 

Mechanics',  154,  400. 

Merchants'  Exchange,  159. 

North  America,  153,  399. 

Northern  Liberties,  154. 

Penn,  155,  399. 

People's,  158,  398. 

Philadelphia,  154. 

Republic,  157. 

415 


416 


INDEX. 


Bank,  Second  National,  168. 

Security,  167. 

Shackamaxon,  169. 

Sixth  National,  158. 

Spring  Grarden,  158. 

State,  158. 

Third  National,  168,  392. 

Tradesmen's,  166,  400. 

Twenty-second  Ward,  168. 

Union,  157,  400. 

United  States,  159. 

Western,  167,  399. 

West  Philadelphia,  159. 
Banking  Company,  Union,  158. 
Baptist  Churches,  261. 

Home  for  Women,  227. 
Baring,  Alex.    (Lord    Ashburton), 

356. 
Baron  Steuben's  country-seat,  350. 
Bartram's  House,  329. 
Base  ball,  264. 
Bath-rooms,  48. 
Baths,  etc.,  54. 
Battery  on  the  Delaware,  20. 
Battle-grounds,  317. 
Beck  School,  172. 
Bedford  St.  Mission,  228. 
Belleville,  350. 
Belmont,  330,  356,  407. 

Valley,  358. 

Glen,  358. 

Water-works,  5.3,  407. 

driving  park,  266. 
Beneficial  Saving  Fund,  169. 
Berean  Baptist  Church,  266,  409. 
Bethany  Presby.  Church,  277. 
Beth-Eden  Baptist  Church,  264. 

El  Emeth  Cemetery,  314. 
Bingham  House,  66. 

Wm.,  355. 
Binney,  Horace,  School-house,  412. 
Births,  45. 
Blind  Asylum,  229. 

Men's  Working  Home,  229. 

Women's  Working  Home,  229. 
Blockley  Almshouse,  409. 
Boarding-houses,  69. 

House  for  Young  Women,  228. 
Board  of  Brokers,  413. 
Boat  Clubs  (Rowing),  263. 

houses,  347. 
Boquet's  expedition,  23. 
Boston  Port  Bill,  26. 


Braddock's  defeat,  21. 
Bridges,  337. 

British  tax  law  resisted,  24,  25. 
army  capture  the  city,  28. 
Burd  Orphan  Asylum,  223. 

Cape  May,  94. 

Callowhill  Street  Market,  73. 

Railway  route,  80. 
Calvary  Presbyterian  Church,  277 
Camden  and  Atlantic  R.  R.,  93. 
Canals,  37. 

Carpenters'  Hall,  322,  399. 
Carre  captures  Trinity  fort,  15. 
Cathedral  of  St.  Peter  and  St.  Paul, 
R.  C,  293. 

Cemetery,  314. 

Cemetery,  New,  314,  403. 
Catholic  (Roman)  Churches,  293. 

Home  for  Orphan  Girls,  222. 

Parish  schools,  175. 

Theological    seminaries,    174, 
175. 
Cedar  Hill  Cemetery,  313. 
Centennial  Buildings,  366. 

Exhibition,  373-390. 

Agricultural  Hall,  383. 

Art  Gallery  (Memorial  Hall), 
378. 

comparisons  with  other  exhi- 
bitions, 373. 

drainage  of  exhibition  grounds, 
390. 

executive  oflBcers'building,388. 

foreign    governments'     build- 
ings, 390. 

Horticultural  Hall,  385. 

jury  pavilion,  380. 

Machinery  Hall,  381. 

Main  building,  374. 

restaurants,  390. 

special  trade  buildings,  390. 

U.  S.  Gov.  building,  388. 

hotels,  70. 

Water-works,  358,  407. 

Women's  Exhibition  Building, 
388. 

Lodging-house  Agency,  69. 

Market,  73. 
Central  Congregational  Church,266. 

High-school,  121,  396. 

Market,  72. 

School  (Friends'),  176. 


INDEX. 


417 


Chambers'  Presb.  Cburch,  3^3. 
Charitable  orders,  237. 
Charity  hospital,  212. 
Chestnut  and  Walnut  Street  Rail- 
way route,  81. 
Chestnut  Hill,  364. 

Street  Bridge,  342,  394. 

Street  Theatre,  259.  398. 
Chew's  House,  317,  331. 
Children's  Hospital,  216. 

Homes,  221. 
Cholera,  38. 
Christ  Church,  P.  E.,  281,  402. 

Church  Hospital,  224. 

German  Reformed  Church,  291 . 

Rejected,paintingbyWest,  347. 
Churches,  261-298. 
Church  Home  for  Children,  222, 
City  Armory,  245. 

charter,  41, 

Hall,  105. 

Hall,  New,  106. 

Institute  Library,  205. 

ofl^cers,  48,  49. 

Solicitor's  ofl&ce,  412. 
Clergymen's     Annuity     and     Ail 

Funds,  301. 
Cliveden,  Chew's  House,  317,  331. 
Coal  trade,  147. 
Coastwise  steamers,  151. 
Coat-of-Arms  of  Philadelphia,  42. 
Coinage    at    United    States    Mint, 

134. 
College  of  Philadelphia,  21. 
Colleges,  165-185. 
Colonization  Society,  236. 
Colonnade  Hotel,  65,  393. 
Colony  settled,  16,  17. 
Colored  Orphans'  Shelter,  221. 
Columbia  Avenue  Market,  73. 
Commerce.  141. 
Commercial  Dep5ts,  146. 

Exchange,  142,  402,  413. 
Common  Pleas  Courts,  106. 
Concert  Hall,  260,  398. 
Concordia  Theatre,  259. 
Congregational  Chui-ches,  263. 
Congress,    Continental,  26,  33,  95, 
98,  101,  322. 

Federal,  34,  36,  101. 

Hall,  104. 
Congressional  representation,  45. 
Connecting  Railroad  Bridge,  342. 


Continental  Hotel,  63,  398. 

Constitution,  procession  in  honor 
of  adoption,  34. 

Contributionship  Insurance  Com- 
pany, 162. 

Convention  to  frame  Constitution 
of  United  States,  33. 

Cornwallis  captures  Red  Bank,  32, 

County  Insurance  Company,  164. 

Court-house  building,  104. 

Courts,  106,  129. 

Covenant  P.  E.  Church,  406. 

Cricket  clubs,  254. 

Criminal  trials,  59. 

Cruelty  to  animals,  prevention  of, 
236. 

Custom-house,  125,  399,  410. 

Darby  Railway  route,  82. 
Day  Nursery  for  Children,  223. 
Deaf  and  Dumb  Asylum,  228. 
Deaths,  45-47. 
Decatur  Market,  73. 
Declaration  of  Independence,  27. 
De  la  War  discovers  a  river,  13. 
Delaware  Avenue  Market,  72. 

Insurance  Company,  163. 

River,  414. 

Water-works,  52. 
Dental,  Pennsylvania,  College,  18. 

Philadelphia,  College,  181. 
Dickinson,  John  (Fair  Hill),  336. 
Dispensaries,  218,  219. 
Dock  Creek,  35. 

Docks,  American  Steamship,  403. 
Donop  defeated,  29. 
Drainage,  55. 
Drinking  fountains,  54, 
Drove-yards,  50. 
Druids,  242. 
Dry  Docks,  149. 
Dutch  colonies  on  the  Delaware,  1 4. 

Reformed  Churches,  292. 
Dwelling-houses,  46. 

Eastern  Market,  72. 

Penitentiary,  109. 
East  Park,  347,  407. 

Reservoir,  348. 
Edgely,  352,  407. 
Educational  Home  for  Boys,  222. 

institutions,  119,  165-184. 
Effigies  burned,  26. 


2B 


418 


INDEX. 


Eleventh  Street  Opera  House  (min- 
strel), 260,  404. 
Emmanuel  Lutheran  Church,  270. 
Entomological  Society,  184. 
Entrenchments  thrown  up,  36. 
Epiphany  P.  E.  Church,  290. 
Evans,  Governor,  the  false  alarm^ 

18. 
Exchange,  Coal,  146. 

Commercial,  142. 

Drug,  146. 

Grocers',  146. 

Maritime,  146. 

Merchants',  144. 

Produce,  146. 

Tobacco,  146. 
Exports,  141. 
Express  Companies,  86. 

Fair  Hill  burying-geound,  313. 
mansion,  336. 

square,  372. 
Fairmount  Market,  72,  401. 

Park,  345. 

Park  Art  Association,  195. 

Water-works,  50. 

works,  368. 
Falls  of  Schuylkill  Bridge,  343. 
Families,  46. 

Farmers  and  butchers,  73. 
Farmers'  Market,  72,  401. 

Western  Market,  72. 

West  Philadelphia  Market,  73. 
Federal  Market,  73. 
Female  Belief  Society,  234. 
Ferries  and  river  steamboats,  84. 
Fidelity   Safe    Deposit    Company, 

160. 
Fifth   and   Sixth    Street    Railway 
routes,  78. 

Baptist  Church,  263. 

Presbyterian  Church,  277. 
Financial  Institutions,  153. 
Fire  alarm  telegraph,  56. 

and  marine  insurance,  164. 

Association,  163. 

Department,  55. 

plugs,  56. 
First  Baptist  Church,  262,  392. 

Dutch  Reformed  Church,  292. 

fountain  in  the  Park,  363. 

German  Reformed  Church,  291. 

Moravian  Church,  271. 


First  Presbyterian  Church,  272. 

Reformed  Presb.  Church,  393. 

Troop  (City  Cavalry),  243. 

Unitarian  Church,  297,  411. 

Universalist  Church,  297. 
Fishing  clubs,  251. 
Fitch,  John,  steamboat  of,  34,  412. 
Flat  Rock  Bridge,  343. 
Food  prices,  49,  50. 

supply,  49,  50. 
Fort  Beversrede,  14. 

Casimir,  15. 

Miflain,  28,  30,  31,  320. 

Nassau,  14,  15. 

Red  Bank,  29,  42,  205.    . 
Fortieth    and     Forty-first     Street 

Railway  route,  83. 
Foster  Home,  223,  397. 
Fountain  Green,  350. 
Fourth  and  Eighth  Street  Railway 

Co.,  78. 
Fourth  Baptist  Church,  264. 
Frankford  and  Southwark  Railway 
route,  78. 

Arsenal,  135. 

Market,  73, 
Franklin  Fire  Insurance  Co.,  163. 

fund,  235. 

Institute,  185. 

Market,  72. 

Reformatory  Home,  230. 

square,  371. 

Sugar  Refinery,  403. 
Free  Quakers' burying-ground,412. 

Meeting-house,  327. 
Freedmen's  societies,  236. 
French  Benevolent  Society,  234. 
Friends'  Central  school,  176. 

Insane  Asylum,  210. 

Library,  204,  205. 

meeting-house,  Arch  st.,  265. 

meeting-house,  Girard  av.,  266. 

meeting-house.  Race  st.,  266. 
Fuel  Saving  Society,  235. 

Friends' Charitable  Society,235. 

Gas  introduced,  38. 

manufacture,  59. 

works,  60,  394. 
George's  Hill,  352,  368. 
Germania  Market,  73. 
German  Hospital,  214,  397,  405. 

Reformed  churches,  291. 


INDEX. 


419 


German  Society,  231. 

Society  Library,  206. 
Germantown  Academy,  171. 

battle-ground,  317. 

battle-ground  in  Park,  360. 

Hospital,  216. 

Market,  73. 

Railway  routes,  78. 

Saving  Fund,  159. 

Scientific  Society,  184. 

square,  372. 
Gettysburg,  painting  of  battle  of, 

346. 
Gethsemane  Baptist  Church,  264. 
Gibson's  Point,  141. 
Girard  Avenue  Bridge,  340,  347,373. 

Market,  74. 

College,  168,  405. 

House,  65,  398. 

Life  and  Trust  Co.,  160. 
Glenwood  Cemetery,  311,  403,  407. 
Girls'  Normal  School,  122. 
Good  Shepherd,  House  of,  230. 

Templars,  242. 
Grace  M.  E.  Church,  271. 
Graff  Memorial,  346. 
Grain  elevator,  Girard  Point,  148, 

Washington  av.,  148,  403. 

storage  buildings,  148. 
Grammar  schools,  122. 
Grand  Army  of  Republic,  242. 
Grandom  Institution,  235. 
Grant  of  Pennsylvania,  16. 
Grant's  cottage,  347. 
Gray's  Ferry  Bridge,  338. 

Railway  route,  82. 
Green  and  Coates  Railway  route, 

80. 
Green  Hill  Presb.  Church,  397. 
Greenwood  Cemetery,  313. 
Guarantee  Safe  Deposit  Co.,  161. 
Guy's  Hotel,  65,  398. 
Gymnastics,  256. 

Hack  rates,  84. 
Haddington  Railway  route,  81. 
Hahnemann  Medical  College,  179. 
Handel  and  Haydn  Hall,  198,  260. 

Society,  198. 
Haverford  (Friends')  College,  175. 
Health,  47. 
Hebrew  Charities  (United),  236. 

synagogues,  266. 


Hendrickson,     Captain,     discovers 
mouth    of   river   Schuylkill, 
13,  14. 
Hermit's  Glen,  360. 

of  Wissahickon,  362, 
Hestonville  Railway  route,  80. 
Hibernia  Society,  234. 
Historical  Library,  Baptist,  206. 

Friends',  206. 

Methodist,  206. 

Presbyterian,  206. 

Society  Hall,  412. 

Society  Library,  206. 
Historic  public  buildings,  321. 
History  of  the  city,  13-42, 
Holy   Communion    Luth,    Church, 

268. 
Holy  Trinity  P.  E.  Church,  289. 

R.  C.  Church,  294,  412. 
Homes  for  Colored  Children,  223. 

for  Colored  Men  and  Women, 
228. 

for  the  Aged,  224. 

for  the  Homeless,  227. 
Home  Missionary  Society,  235. 
Horticultural  Hall,  190,  260,  393. 

Society,  190. 
Hospital  for  the  Insane,  209,  210. 

Philadelphia,  117. 
Hospitals,  207. 
Hotels,  63. 

Alphabetical  Index  to,  67. 
House  of  Correction,  114,  403. 

of  Industry,  230,  235. 

of  Refuge,  113,  397. 

where    Declaration    of    Inde- 
pendence was  written,  324. 
Howard  Institution,  230. 
Hudson,  Henry,  discovers  the  Dela- 
ware, 13. 
Humane  societies,  236. 
Hunting  Park,  370. 

Imports,  141. 

Incarnation  P.  E.  Church,  291. 
Inclined  Plane  Railway,  83. 
Increase  of  population,  47. 
Independence  Hall,  95,  398. 

square,  95,  372,  412. 
Indian  Aid  Association,  236, 

Hope  Association,  236. 

Rock,  360. 
Indians  massacred  at  Paxton,  22. 


420 


INDEX. 


Industrial  Aid  Societies,  234. 

Home  for  Girls,  222. 
Inebriates'  Home,  230. 
Insane  asylums,  219. 
Insurance,  162. 

International  Navigation  Co.,  151. 
Iron-ship  building,  150. 
Irving  House,  65. 
Italian  Society,  234. 

Jefferson,  Thomas,  34. 

inaugurated,  35. 

Medical  College,  178,  411. 

square,  372. 
Jewish  Cemetery,  Old,  314,  411. 

Foster  Home,  224. 

Hospital,  215. 

Kelpius'  Spring,  360. 
Keneseth  Israel  Synagogue,  404. 
Kensington  anti-railroad  riots,  39. 

Institute  Library,  206. 

Market,  73. 
Keystone  Battery  Armory,  245. 
Kittanning  destroyed,  22. 
Knights  of  Pythias,  242. 

Ladies'  Depository,  235. 
Lafayette,  attempt  to  surprise  him 

unsuccessful,  32. 
Lansdowne,  354. 

Glen,  356. 
La  Pierre  House,  65,  393. 
La  Salle  College,  176. 
Laurel  Hill  Cemetery,  305,  406. 

Central,  310. 

South,  310,  407. 

West,  310. 
Law  Library,  205. 
Lazaretto,  118. 
League  Island  Navy  Yard,  137, 410, 

411. 
Ledger  Building,  398. 
Lehigh   Navigation  Co.,  docks  of, 
416. 

Valley  Railroad,  94,  400, 
Lemon  Hill,  333,  345,  395. 

mansion,  347. 
Leverington  Cemetery,  313. 
Liberty  bell,  27. 
Library  companies,  199. 
Life  Insurance,  164. 
Lincoln  Institute  for  Boys,  222. 


Lincoln  Market,  72,  406. 

Monument,  347. 
Literary  and  art  associations,  197. 
Lodging-houses,  69. 
Logan's  House  (Stenton),  330. 
Logan  Square,  371,  394. 
Lombard  and  South  Street  Railway 

route,  82. 
London      Coffee-house,     the     Old, 

326,  401. 
Loyal  Legion,  242. 
Lutheran  churches,  267. 

Home  for  Aged,  224,  227. 

Orphans'  Home,  224. 

Publication  Societies,  301. 

Theological  Seminary,  175. 
Lying-in  Hospital  (Northern  Dis- 
pensary), 218. 

M^NNERCHOR  HaLL,  260. 

Magdalen  Asylum,  229. 
Magistrates'  courts,  68. 
Manayunk  Bridge,  343. 

and      Roxborough      Railway 
route,  83. 
Mantua  Market,  73. 
Manufactures,  151. 
Manufacturing  statistics,  151. 
Maple  Hall,  360. 
Mapother  Home,  228. 
Marine  Railways,  149. 
Markets,  71. 

Market  Street  Railway  route,  81. 
Markham,  Wm.,  Deputy  Governor, 

16,  17. 
Masonic  Order,  237. 

Temple,  237,  392. 

halls,  237-240. 
Mechanics'  Cemetery,  313,  407. 

Institute  Library,  205. 
Medical  colleges,  177. 
Medical  department.  University  of 

Pennsylvania,  177,  409. 
Memorial  Baptist  Church,  263,  397. 
Mennonite  Meeting,  271. 
Mennonites,  271. 

Mercantile  Beneficial  Association, 
236. 

Library,  201,  411. 

old  building  of,  412. 
Merchants'  Exchange,  413. 

Fund,  236. 

Hotel,  66. 


INDEX. 


421 


Merlin,  Britisli  frigate,  blown  up, 

29. 
Meschianza,  32. 

Messiah  Universalist  Church,  297. 
Methodist  churches,  270. 

Home  for  Women,  227. 
Mey,  his  discoveries,  13,  14. 
Mickve  Israel  Synagogue,  266. 
Midnight  Mission,  230. 
Military,  243. 
Militia,  volunteer,  19-22. 
Minstrel  Halls,  260. 
Mint,  the  old,  326. 
Mission  Hospital,  218. 
Moore's  cottage,  359. 
Monument  Cemetery,  310. 
Moravians,  271. 
Morgue,  116. 

Morris,  Robert,  Lemon  Hill,  333. 
Mount -Moriah  Cemetery,  312. 

Peace  Cemetery,  313,  407. 

Pleasant,  Arnold's  home,  332. 

Pleasant,  350. 

Sinai  Cemetery,  314. 

Vernon  Cemetery,  311,  407. 
Moyamensing  Hall,  riot,  39. 

Institute  Library,  205. 

Prison,  112,  404. 
Mud  Fort,  28-30. 

abandoned,  31. 
Municipal  Hospital,  211. 
Museum,  Wood's,  259. 
Musical  Fund  HaU,  198,  260. 

Fund  Society,  198. 
Mutual  Assurance  Company,  163. 

National  Banks,  153. 

Guards'  armory,  244. 

Guards  of  Pennsylvania,  243. 

Museum,  97,  398. 

societies,  231. 
Native  American  riots,  39,  40. 
Naval    action    on    the    Delaware, 
27. 

at  Red  Bank,  29. 

with  British  vessels,  36. 

Asylum,  410,  411. 

Hospital,  410,  411. 
Navy  Yard,  137,  410,  411. 
Nazareth  M.  E.  Church,  396. 
New  Church,  272. 
New  York  Mutual  Life  Insurance 
Company,  164. 

36 


New  York  Mutual  Life  Insurance 

Company  building,  411. 
Norris  Market,  73. 

square,  372. 
Northern  Home  for  Children,  222. 
Liberties  Market,  73. 
Relief  Society,  235. 
Safe  Deposit  Company,  161. 
North   American    Insurance    Com- 
pany, 164. 
Broad      Street      Presbyterian 

Church,  280. 
Pennsylvania  Railroad,  93. 
Second  Street  Market,  73. 
Notre  Dame  Academy,  408. 
Numbering  of  houses,  44. 
Numismatic   and   Antiquarian  Li- 
brary, 206. 

Observatory,  Sawyer's,  359,  390. 
Odd  Fellows'  Cemetery,  313,  403. 

Hall,  240,  241,  404. 

lodges,  240. 
Old  Ladies'  Home,  228. 

Men's  Home,  227. 

Oaks  Cemetery,  312. 

Pine   Street    Presby.    Church, 
274. 

Swedes',  Gloria  Dei,  P.  E.,  85. 
Olivet  Presbyterian  Church,  396. 
Opera  House,  257. 
Opposition  to  the  law,  23,  24. 
Ormiston,  352. 
Orphans'  Asylum,  221. 
Orthopaedic  Hospital,  215. 
Otter  Point  Fish  House  Company, 

252. 
Our  Saviour  P.  E.  Church,  409. 
Oxford  Market,  73. 

Presbyterian  Church,  280. 

Park  bridges,  344. 

history,  367. 
Parks,  345. 

Passenger  railway  fares  and  regu- 
lations, 75. 
Passyunk  square,  372. 
Peace  Society,  236. 
Pegasus,  statuary,  359. 
Penn  Charter  school,  176. 

Club,  250. 

family,  18. 

Hannah,  17. 


422 


INDEX. 


Penn,  John,  354. 

John,  Solitude,  333. 

mansion,  321. 

Mutual  Life   Insurance   Com- 
pany, 164, 

Safe  Deposit  Company,  162. 

Sewing-school,  235. 

Treaty  ground,  315. 

Widows'  Asylum,  226. 

William,   proprietor    of  West 
Jersey,  15. 

William,  statue  of,  109. 
Pennsylvania  frigate,  22. 

Hall,  39. 

Hospital,  207,  403,  412. 

Insurance  Company,  163. 

Railroad,  90. 

Railroad  bridges,  342,  411. 

Railroad  depot,  409. 

Trust  Company,  160,  398. 
Penrose  Ferry  Bridge,  340. 
Petroleum  trade,  147. 
Pharmacy,  College  of,  182. 
Philadelphia  Club,  247. 

Dental  College,  181, 

Dispensary,  218. 

History,  13-42. 

Hospital,  210. 

Institute,  393. 

Library,  199,  412. 

Safe  Deposit  Company,  161. 

Savings'  Fund,  159. 

Sketch  Club,  197. 
Philosophical  Hall,  105. 

Society,  412. 
Physicians,  College  of,  180. 
Pipe  Bridge,  363. 

"  Plain  Truth,"  Franklin's  pamph- 
let, 20. 
Point  Breeze,  61. 

Park,  255. 
Police  system,  56. 

stations,  57. 

telegraph,  56. 
Polytechnic  College,  181. 
Population,  46. 

Port  Richmond  coal  wharves,  147. 
Post-office,  128,  399,  409. 

new,  130. 
Preachers'  Aid  Society,  Methodist, 

302. 
Presbyterian  Board  of  Publication, 
299,  398. 


Presbyterian  churches,  272. 

Home  for  Women,  227. 

Hospital,  216. 

Ministers'  Fund,  302. 
Preston  Retreat,  211. 
Prisons,  109. 

Society,  236. 
Privateers,  20,  22. 

commissioned,  19. 
Prospect    Hill  Fishing   Company, 

Protestant     Episcopal     Academy, 
174. 

Churches,  280. 

Clergymen's  Fund,  302. 

Divinity  School,  174. 

Hospital,  212. 
Provident    Life   and    Trust   Com- 
pany, 160. 
Public  Schools,  119. 

squares,  345. 

Quakers,  13-43,  204,  210,  235,  266, 

327,  412. 
Quarter-sessions  Court,  106. 

Race  and  Vine  Streets  Railway 

route,  80. 
Railroad  passenger  depSts,  89. 
Railroads,  37,  38,  90. 

special  ticket  offices,  89. 
Reading  Railroad,  91. 

Bridge,  Belmont,  342. 

Falls  Bridge,  343. 
Red  Bank  battle-ground,  319. 

battle,  29. 

Men,  Order  of,  242. 

Men's  Hall,  242. 

Star  Steamship  Line,  150. 
Reform  Club,  249. 
Reformed  Churches,  291. 

Church  publications,  301. 
Relief  societies,  231. 
Resistance  to  Great  Britain,  27. 
Restaurants,  69. 
Restoration    Universalist    Church, 

298. 
Ridge  Avenue  Market,  73,  406. 

Railway  route,  77. 
Ridgeland,  356,  407. 
Ridgway  Library,  201. 
Riots  against  blacks,  39. 
Rittenhouse  square,  371,  408. 


INDEX. 


423 


Kiver  Road,  East  Park,  347. 

steamboat  lines,  84. 
Rodef  Shalom,  267. 
Roman  Catholic  Asylums,  221. 

Cemeteries,  314. 

churches,  293. 

Hospitals,  212. 

Seminaries,  173. 
Ronaldson's  Cemetery,  304. 
Rosine  Asylum,  230. 
Roxborough  Water-works,  53. 
Royal  army  in  the  city,  32. 

abandons  the  city,  32. 
Rysingh,  15. 

Safe  Deposit  and  Trust  Compa- 
nies, 160. 
Salem  German  Reformed   Church, 

.  291. 
Saturday  Club,  250. 
Saying  funds,  159. 
Sawyer's  Observatory,  390. 
School  of  Design  for  Women,  197. 
Schutzen  Park,  255. 
Schuylkill  Arsenal,  136. 

discovered  by  Hendrickson,  13, 

14. 
river  steamboats,  84. 
Water-works,  52. 
Scientific  institutions,  175,  183. 
Seamen's  Friend  Society,  236. 
Second  Congress,  26,  27. 

Dutch  Reformed  Church,  292. 
Moravian  Church,  272. 
Presbyterian  Church,  273. 
and   Third   Streets   Passenger 
Railway  routes,  77. 
Secret  Societies,  237. 
Sedgely  Guard-house,  347. 
Seventeenth  and  Nineteenth  Streets 

Railway  route,  80. 
Shackamaxon  square,  372. 
Shipbuilding  yards,  150. 
Shipmasters'  Society,  236. 
Shooting  Club,  255. 
Simcoe's  British  rangers,  32. 
Simmons  &  Slocum's  Opera-house 

(minstrel),  260,  401. 
Sixth  Street  Quaker  meeting-house, 

404. 
Skating  clubs,  254. 

rink,  255. 
Sketch  Club,  197. 


Smith's  Beneficial  Hall  burned,  39. 

Island,  413. 
Social  Art  Club,  250. 

clubs,  247. 
Society  of  Friends,  Hicksite,  266. 

Orthodox,  265. 
Solitude,    Penn's   house,  191,  333, 

352. 
Sons  of  America,  242. 
Sons  of  Honor  and  Temperance,  242. 

Temperance,  242. 
Soup  societies,  234. 
South  Eleventh  Street  Market,  73. 
or  Delaware,  discovered,  13. 
River,  15. 

Second  Street  Market,  73. 
Street  Bridge,  342. 
Southwark  Library,  205. 
South-western  Market,  72. 
Sporting  clubs,  251. 
Spring   Garden   Institute  Library, 
205. 
Insurance  Company,  163. 
M,  E.  Church,  271. 
Street  Market,  74. 
or   Callowhill    Street    Bridge, 
338,  394. 
Spruce  Street  Baptist  Church,  412. 
Quaker  meeting-house,  411. 
and     Pine     Streets     Railway 
route,  82. 
Squares,  public,  370, 
St.  Andrew's  P.  E.  Church,  289. 
St.  Andrew's  Society,  232. 
St.  Ann's  Widows'  Asylum,  226. 
St.  Augustine's  R.  C.  Church,  39, 

4t),  204. 
St,  Bonifacius'  R.  C.  Church,  296. 
St.  Charles  Borromeo  R.  C.  Semin- 
ary, 175. 
St.  Clement's  P.  E.  Church,  290. 
St.  Cloud  Hotel,  68,  401. 
St.  George's  Methodist  Church,  270. 
Hall,  231-233. 
Society,  231. 
St.  James  the  Less  P.  E.  Church, 

291,  407. 
St.    Johannes'    Lutheran    Church, 

270. 
St.  John's  Lutheran  Church,  268. 
St.   John    the    Evangelist's    R.    C. 

Church,  294. 
St.  John's  Orphan  Asylum,  221. 


424 


lEDEX. 


St.  Joseph's  R.  C.  Church,  292. 

College,  175. 

Hospital,  212,  397. 

Orphan  Asylum,  221. 
St.  Luke's  P.  E.  Churchy  290. 

Home  for  Aged  Women,  226. 
St.  Mark's  Lutheran  Church,  2S8. 

P.  E.  Church,  289. 
St.  Mary's  P.  E.  Church,  409. 

R.  C.  Church,  293. 

E,.  C.  burying-ground^  412. 

Hospital,  215. 
St.  Matthew's  P.  E.  Church,.  397. 
St.  Paul's  Church,  P.  E.,  284, 
St.  Peter's  Church,  P.  E.,  284. 

R.  C.  Church,  296,  410. 
St.   Philip    Be    Neri    Church,^    at- 
tacked, 40. 
St.  Stephen's  P.  E.  Church,  288. 
St.  Stephen's  Church,  411. 

Hotel,  66,  398. 
St.  Thomas'  African  P.  E.  Church, 

412. 
St.  Vincent   de    Paul   Theological 

Seminary,  175. 
St.  Vincent's  Home,  223. 

Orphan  Asylum,  224. 
Stamp  Act  passed^  23. 
Stand-pipe,  358. 
State-house,  95. 

square,  95. 

history,  97. 
State  Hospital,  218. 

in    Schuylkill    Fishing    €o-m- 
pany,  251. 
Statistics,  manufacturing,  151. 
Statues  at  Fairmount,  346. 
Statuary  in  the  Park,  356. 
Steamboat,  John  Fitch's,  34,  412. 
Steamboats,  36. 
Steamers,  coast-wise,  150. 
Steamships,  149,  150. 
Steamship  wharves,  150. 
Stenton,  330. 

Strawberry  Mansion,  352,  407. 
Streets,  extent  of,  43. 
Streets,  system,  43,  44. 

bridges,  343. 

Markets,  73. 

numbers,  45. 
Stuyvesant  captures  Fort  Casimir, 

15. 
Sub-treasury,  410. 


Suffolk  Trotting  Park,  256. 
Sun  Insurance  Company,  164. 
Supreme    Court  of   United  States, 

105. 
Survey  Department,  412. 
Swarthmore  (Friends')  College,176. 
Swedish  colonies,  14. 
Swedes'  Church  of  Gloria  Dei,  285, 

St.  James,  287. 
Sweet-brier,  352. 

Ravine,  356. 
Swiss  Benevolent  Society,  234. 

Tabernacle  Baptist  Church,  264. 
Presbyterian  Church,  280. 

Tammany  Pea-shore  Fishing  Com- 
pany, 252. 

Tax  on  tea,  25. 

Tea-ships  captured  and  sent  back 
to  England,  25,  26. 

Telegraph  companies,  86. 

Temporary  Home,  226. 

Tenth  and  Eleventh  Streets  Rail- 
way route,  79. 

Theatres,  258. 

Theological  Seminaries,  173. 

Third  Presbyterian  Church,  274. 

Thirteenth  and  Fifteenth  Streets 
Railway  route,  79. 

Thouron  square,  372. 

Timber  Creek,  14. 

Tienpont,  discoveries  in  the  Dela- 
ware, 14. 

Tinicum  Fishing  Company,  252. 

Tract  societies,  301. 

Treasury  department,  34. 

Treaty  ground,  315. 

Trees  in  Park,  364. 

Trinity  P.  E.  Church,  287. 

Trotting  Associations,  253. 

Troubles  in  England,  18. 

Trust  companies,  160. 

Turnverein,  256. 

Twelfth  and  Sixteenth  Streets  rail- 
way route,  79. 

Union  Benevolent  Society,  235. 
Children's  Home,  224. 
League,  247,  393. 
Market,  72. 
Railway  routes,  76. 
square,  372. 
Temporary  Home,  224. 


INDEX. 


425 


Unitarian  churclies,  297. 
Universalist  churches,  297. 
University  College,  181. 

Hospital,  217,  409. 

of  Pennsylvania,  165,  409. 
United  States  Appraisers'  building, 
127,  402. 

Arsenals,  135. 

Courts,  129. 

Government  buildings,  125. 

Mint,  131,  398. 

Naval  Asylum,  138. 

Naval  Hospital,  140. 

Navy  Yard,  137. 

Post-office,  128. 

Sub-treasury,  125. 

Treasurer's  office,  127. 

Valley  Green,  360. 
Vessels  entered  at  port,  142. 
Vital  statistics,  48. 

Wagner  Institute,  185. 
Walnut  Street  Presbyterian  Church, 
409. 
Theatre,  258. 
Warehouse,  bonded,  146. 
Warehousing,  Pennsylvania,  Com- 
pany, 146. 
Philadelphia,  Company,  146. 
War  with  France  and  Spain,  18- 
21. 
France,  20,  22. 
Great  Britain,  36. 
Spain,  19. 
Washington  inaugurated,  35. 

President  of  Convention,  Presi- 
dent of    United   States,  his 
residence,  34. 
Grays'  Armory,  245. 
Grays'  monument,  397. 
House,  66. 
rock,  360. 
square,  370,  404. 
Water  pipe,  54. 
privileges,  45. 
supply,  50-54. 
works,  35. 
.36* 


Welcome,  ship,  arrives,  16. 
Welsh  Society,  234. 
West     Arch     Street     Presbyterian 
Church,  276,  394. 
Chester  and  Philadelphia  Rail- 
road, 94. 
End  Railway  route,  83. 
Park,  352. 
Philadelphia  Baptist  Church, 

265,  409. 
Philadelphia  Market,  73. 
Spruce     Street     Presbyterian 
Church,  277. 
Western  Market,  71,  406. 

Provident  Society,  224,  235. 
Relief  Society,  234. 
Saving  Fund,  159,  411. 
Wharton  Street  Market,  74. 
Wharves  and  docks,  149. 
Whitemarsh   military  manoeuvres, 

.32. 
Whitefield  preaches,  21. 
Widows'  and  Single  Women's  Asy- 
lum, 226. 
Wills  Hospital,  210,  394. 
Wilson,  Alexander,  328. 

School-house,  328. 
Windmill  Island,  413. 
Wissahickon  Bridge,  343. 
Hall,  36. 
Park,  359. 
Woman's  Medical  College,  179. 

Hospital,  218,  406. 
Woodbury  Trotting  Park,  256. 
Woodford  Mansion,  352,  407. 
Woodlands,  334. 

Cemetery,  311,  409. 
Wood's  Museum  Theatre,  259,  401. 

Yacht  clubs,  253. 
Yellow  fever,  35. 

Young  Men's  Christian  Association, 
299. 

ZioN  Lutheran  Church,  267. 
Zoological  Gardens,  185,  352,  407. 

Society,  187. 

Gardens  Railway  route,  81,  83. 


INDEX  TO  ADVERTISERS. 


PAGE. 

AMUSEMENTS. 

Chestnut  Street  Theatre, -^" 

BAGGAGE.  ^-, 

Union  Transfer  Company, 

BANKERS.  . 

Drexel  &  Co., ^ 

BOLT  AND  NUT  WORKS. 

Hoopes  &  Townsend,        ...•••••  ^^ 

BOOKS 

AUen,  Lane  &  Scott  and  J.  W.  Lauderbach,  6th  page,  front  cover. 

American  Sunday-School  Union, 5^ 

Baptist  Publication  Society, ^* 

Joseph  H.  Coates  &  Co., ^^ 

A.  J.  Holman  &  Co., ^^ 

Wm.  W.  Harding, ^J 

Methodist  Episcopal  Book  House, o» 

Thomas  Nelson  &  Sons, ^^ 

T.  B.  Peterson  &  Bros.,                       ^^ 


George  Routledge  &  Sons, f  2 

Sower,  Potts  &  Co., . ^^ 


Porter  &  Coates, 1^^  60,  61,  62,  63 

George  Routledge 
James  K.  Simon, 
Sower,  Potts  &  C 
BOOTS  AND  SHOES. 

C.  Benkert  &  Son, j° 

Charles  Blase, ^^ 

Jacob  Zaun, 

CARPETINGS. 

John  &  James  Dobson, ^° 

McCallum,  Crease  &  Sloan, ^^ 

CEMETERY. 

The  Laurel  Hill  Cemetery  Company.        ...         .         •        ib,  17 

CIGARS. 

Batchelor  Brothers, ^^ 

CLOTHING.  „„ 

E.  0.  Thompson, ^'' 

Hoyt&Day, l\ 

John  Wanamaker  &  Co., '^^ 

Bines  k,  SneaflF, |^ 

Louis  L.  Houpt, ^^ 


11  INDEX    TO    ADVERTISERS. 


PAGE 

COLLEGES  AND  EDUCATIONAL  APPARATUS. 

Bryant  &  Stratton,  Business  College,       .   6tli  page  of  front  cover. 
Haverford  College,  .         .         .         .         .         .         ,         .         .69 

CONFECTIONERY. 

E.  G.  Whitman  &  Co.,      .         .         .         .         .         .         .         .36 

DRUGGISTS. 

Frederick  Brown,     .........     34 

R.  F,  Fairthorne,      .         .         . 35 

DRY  GOODS. 

Cooper  &  Conard,     .........     24 

Homer,  Colladay  &  Co.,    .         .         .         .         .         .         .         .25 

ENCAUSTIC  TILES. 

Sharpless  &  Watts,  .         .         .         .         .         .         .         .         .41 

ENGRAVINGS,  STEREOSCOPIC  VIEWS  AND  FINE  ARTS. 

G.  Meyer, 37 

Thomas  Hunter,  Jr., 60 

FLAGS  AND  BUNTING. 

William  F.  Scheible, 47 

FURNITURE. 

G.  Vollmer, .40 

Hale,  Kilburn  &  Co.,        .         .         .         .         .         .         .         .41 

FURS. 

F.  K.  Womrath, 22 

GENTS'  FURNISHING  GOODS. 

J.  W.  Scott  &  Co., 26 

GLUE. 

Baeder,  Adamson  &  Co., 46 

GROCERIES. 

Mitchell,  Fletcher  &  Co., 32 

HATS  AND  CAPS. 

Blaylock  &  Co., .         .        .27 

HOTELS  AND  BOARDING-HOUSES. 

Bingham  House,       .........  8 

Centennial  Lodging-House  Agency, 9 

Continental  Hotel, 6 

Girard  House,  ..........  7 

La  Pierre  House, 9 

Trans-continental  Hotel, .6 

INSURANCE. 

American  Life  Insurance  Co., 48 

Penn  Mutual  Life  Insurance  Co., 48 

Provident  Life  and  Trust  Company, 49 

JEWELRY. 

J.  E.  Caldwell  &  Co., 21 

Lewis  Ladomus  &  Co., 20 

Robbins,  Biddle  &  Co.,    .         ,         .         .         .         .         .         ,20 


INDEX    TO    ADVERTISERS.  m 


PAGE. 

LIVERY  STABLES  AND  PUBLIC  CONVEYANCES.  ^^ 

David  Mullen^ ,, 

Exhibition  Transfer  Company, :J 

Passenger  Transfer  Company, 

MAGAZINES.  g^ 

Atlantic  Monthly, 

MARBLE  WORKS.  -.o 

Van  Gunden,  Young  &  Drumm, 

METALS.  AA 

Hall  &  Carpenter, 

MILLINERY  GOODS.  24 

George  W.  Miles, •         *         *     23 

Thomas  Kennedy  &  Bro., 

MUSIC.  50 

Louis  Meyer, 

NEWSPAPERS.  gg 

Evening  Bulletin, g^ 

The  Press, gc 

The  Turf,  Field  and  Farm, 

PAPER  BOXES.  .0 

George  W.  Plumly  &  Son, 

M.  P.  Philpot  &  Co., 

PAPER  MANUFACTURERS.  ^^ 

Charles  Magarge  &  Co., gg 

Jessup  &  Moore,       ...         * 

PATENTS.  49 

John  A.  Wiedersheim, 

PHILOSOPHICAL  APPARATUS.  ^^      ^ 

James  W.  Queen  &  Co.,    ....  4th  page  of  front  cover. 

PHOTOGRAPHER.  35 

Wm.  Curtis  Taylor,  .         .         •  - 

PLUMBING.  4g 

William  H.  Johnson, 

RAILROADS.  12 

Pennsylvania  Railroad,  .  .  •  '  -r.  .;  Z  *  *  iq 
Philadelphia,  Wilmington  and  Baltimore  Railroad,         .         •     -L^ 

'"TLiTtfrior-     .         .       2a  and  3d  pages  Of  front  cove^r. 

Henry  A.  Dreer, 

SEWING  MACHINES.  ^5 

D.  S.  Ewing, 

STATIONERY.  ^        ^     ^0 

Mason  &  Co., .        • 

UMBRELLAS  AND  PARASOLS.  22 

Wm.  A.  Drown  &  Co., 

WINDOW  CURTAINS,  SHADES  AND  UPHOLSTERY.  ^^ 

Carrington,  De  Zouche  &  Co., ^2 

I.  E.  Walraven, 

WINES  AND  LIQUORS  AND  CIGARS.  ^^ 

Joseph  F.  Tobias  &  Co., 


JN  admitting  advertisements  at  the  end  of  The 
Official  Guide  Book  to  Philadelphia,  the 
greatest  care  has  been  exercised  to  accej^t  only  such  firms 
as  the  Publishers  felt  assured  were  first-class,  and  we 
believe  that  visitors  will  find  it  of  advantage  to  consult  this 
list  in  making  their  purchases. 

PORTER  &  COATES. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


5 


DREXEL  &  CO. 

Bankers, 

34  South  Third  Street, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


DREXEL,  MORGAN  &  CO.  DREXEL,  HARJES  &  CO. 

Broad  and  "Wall  Streets,  31  Boulevard  Haussmann, 

NEW  YORK.  PARIS. 

ISSTJE 

Commercial  and  Traveler's  Letter  of  Credit 

and   Bills   of   Exchange   on    all    parts   of 

Europe;   negotiate  State,  Municipal 

and  R.  R.  Securities. 

Buy  and  Sell  Sovernment  Bonds,  Stocks  and  ^old. 

Transact  a  Geieral  Banlini  Bnsiiess. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


THE 


AT   FAIRMOUNT   PARK, 


Is  also  under  the  same   management  as 
THE   CONTINENTAL. 


ADVERTISE  M  E  N  T  S. 


GiRARD  House, 

Corner  Chestnut  and  Ninth  Streets, 
PHILADELPHIA. 


McKIBBIN,  VOSBUEG  &  CO.,  Proprietors. 


The  Girard  House  passed  into  the  hands  of  the  present 
proprietors  on  the  1st  day  of  July,  1875.  Since  their  occupation 
extensive  alterations  and  additions  hare  been  made  ;  the  House 
haying  been  refurnislied,  and  its  capacity  increased  by  one 
hundred  sleeping  apartments,  making  it  in  every  respect  equal 
to  any  hotel  in  the  country. 

The  Girard  House  fronts  the  Continental  Hotel,  on  Chestnut 
Street,  and  the  new  Post-office,  on  Ninth  Street,  making  it  a 
convenient  centre  for  strangers  and  business  men.  It  is  acces- 
sible by  street  cars  from  all  Railroad  Depots  ;  and  they  also 
furnish  direct  and  cheap  communication  between  the  Hotel  and 
Centennial  Grounds.  The  Girard  proper  will  accommodate 
nicely  about  TOO  guests,  and  outside  apartments  are  prepared 
for  400  more. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


BINGHAM  HOUSE, 


Eleventh  and  Market  Streets, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


ACCOMMODATION  FOR  FIVE  HUUDKED  GUESTS, 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


9 


LA  PI 


The  La  Pierbb  House,  situated  at  the  corner  of  Bboadway  and 

Chestn-ut  Street,  having  a  frontage  on  Broadway  of  200  feet  and  60  on 
Chestnut,  the  most  pleasant  and  fashionable  part  of  the  city,  with  all 
modern  improvements,  comprising  50  Suites  with  Private  Baths  and  Water 
Closets,  making  it  one  of  the  most  desirable  stopping-places  in  this  city. 


^,-,-(L     Endorsed  by  the  Centennial  Board  of  Finance,  the  Presidents    xQ^/C 
1//0,  ofthe  several  Railway  Companies,  and  the  Mayor  of  the  City.  J-tJ/u. 

cffliiiii  imm-imi  mn 

Oflaee,  1010  Walnut  Street. 

This  organization,  composed  of  prominent  gentlemen  connected  with  the 
various  lines  of  railway  entering  the  city,  and  with  other  enterprises  devoted  to 
the  interests  of  the  travelling  public,  can,  by  means  of  its  systematic  arrange- 
ments, comfortably  provide  for  the  immense  number  of  visitors  to  the  Exhibi- 
tion. Our  plan  of  operations  is  to  place  on  sale  at  the  principal  Railroad  Ticket 
OflSces  throughout  the  United  States,  Accommodation  Tickets,  each  of  which 
entitles  the  bearer  to  one  day's  clean,  comfortable  and  respectable  accommoda- 
tion, which  day  consists  of  supper,  lodging  and  breakfast;  dinner  is  not  provided 
for,  as  it  is  presumed  this  meal  will  be  taken  at  Centennial  grounds.  Courteous 
Agents  pass  through  the  trains  before  arriving  in  Philadelphia,  and  furnish  each 
holder  of  these  tickets  a  card  assigning  them  to  their  temporary  homes,  as  well 
as  giving  direction  how  they  can  be  reached  immediately  upon  arrival.  The 
housekeeper  takes  up  the  ticket  in  payment  for  accommodation  furnished. 

Every  visitor  can  secure,  before  leaving  home,  his  or  her  accommodations 
for  as  long  a  stay  as  desirable  in  Philadelphia  at  a  defined  and  reasonable  charge, 
and  all  can  be  made  comfortable,  and  freed  from  care  or  fear  of  extortion  or 
imposition. 

Every  information  can  be  had  by  applying  in  person,  or  by  letter,  to 

WM.  HAMILTON,  General  Superiniendeni, 

Central  OfBce,  1010  Walnut  Street. 


10  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

CHESTNUT  ST.  THEATRE. 

PHILADELPHIA'S  COMEDY  THEATRE. 


GEMMILL,  SOOTT  &  00 Lessees. 

WILLIAM  D.  aEMMILL,  J.  PEED'K  j  Managers 

-SOOTT  and  F.  F.  MAOKAY,  1 Managers. 

WM.  H.  DALT Assistant  Stage  Manager. 


PERFORMANCE  EVERY  EVENING  AT  8  O'CLOCK. 

And  SATURDAY  MATINEE  AT  3. 

The  Chestnut  is  the  only  Stock  Theatre  in  Philadelphia,  and 

is  devoted  to  the  production  of  the  best  Comedies  and  Society 

Plays,  by  a  first-class  Company- 
All  the  Plays  presented  at  this  Theatre  are  placed  upon  the 

stage  with  an   elegance  of  appointments,  and   carefulness  in 

detail,  never  before  attempted  in  this  city. 

The  Company  comprises  the  following  well-known  Artists  : 

Me.  W.  E.  SHERIDAN,  Mrs.  LOUISE  ALLEN", 

Mr.  JAMES  W.  NORRIS,  Mrs.  MAY  SAVILLE, 

Mr.  GEO.  H.  GRIFFITHS,  Mrs.  E.  J.  PHILLIPS, 

Mr.  CHAS.  STANLEY,  Mrs.  ANNIE  YEAMANS, 

Mr.  CHAS.  H.  BRADSHAW,  Miss  LIZZIE  HAROLD, 

Mr.  GEORGE  HOLLAND,  Miss  FLORENCE  RICHMOND, 

Mr.  L.  F.  BARRETT,  MiSS  EMMA  MARKLEY, 

Mr.  A.  H.  STUART,  Mrs.  ANABEL  DALY, 

Mr.  E.  BARTRAM,  Miss  LAURA  B.  SCANLAN, 

Mr.  T.  F.  BRENNAN,  Miss  LYDIA  YEAMANS, 

Mr.  H.  lewis,  Miss  CLAREEN  PETREA, 

Mr.  H.  BAVE,  Miss  BERTHA  WINANS, 

Mr.  O.  GREGORY. 

Leader  of  Orchestra SIMON  HASSLER. 

Scenic  Artist HAELET  MEEKY. 

Master  Machinist JOHN  FUEZE. 

Property  Maker JOHN  A.  DASET. 

Gas  Engineer SAMUEL  HATHUEST. 

Oostnmer A.  E.  VAN  HOEN. 

Doors  open  at' 7. 75.  Performance  begins  at  8. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  H 


UNION  TRANSFER  COMPANY 

BAGGAGE  EXPRESS, 

OflSce,  838  Chestnut  Street, 

UNDER   CONTINENTAL  HOTEL, 

&E1TEIIAL  HAILBOAD  TICKET  AGENTS. 


^  ■• » » » 


Tickets  Sold  and  Baggage  Checked  from  Hotels  and  Residences  to 
all  points  in  the  United  States  and  Canada. 

Baggage  delivered  to  all  points  of  the  City  of  Philadelphia  (Hotels, 
Residences,  Depots),  Germantown,  Chestnut  Hill,  Frankford,  or  Cam- 
den, N.  J.  Passengers  will  find  polite  agents  on  all  trains  arriving  in 
Philadelphia,  who  will  receive  checks  for  the  delivery  of  Baggage. 
Branch  Offices  in  Baltimore,  WASHiNaiON,  Cape  May  and  Atlantic 
City. 

Always  ask  for  Agents  of  Union  Transfer  Company. 

J.  P.  MURPHY,  Secretary. 

PASSENaER  TRANSFER. 


Caeriages  for  the  Transfer  of  Passengers  in  PuiLADEii- 
PHiA  are  now  running  direct  from  Depots  to  Hotels,  Resi- 
dences, and  the  Centennial  Grounds.  Tickets,  reserving  seats, 
are  for  sale  on  trains  by  the  Ageiits  of  the 

UNION  TRANSFER  CO.  (Baggage  Express.) 

Fare,  50  cents. 

Special  arrangements  provided  for  patrons  of  the  Centennial 

LODGING-HOUSE  AGENCY,  LIMITED. 

. ■  »  • 

The  Exhibition  Transfer  Co.,  Limited, 

Also  runs  Carriages  from  all  prominent  points  in  the  City  to 
Centennial  Grounds  every  10  minutes  during  the  day,  from  9  a.m. 

Special  Carriages,  seating  10  persons  each,  provided  Societies, 
Cdubs,  Excursionists  and  others,  to  Theatres,  Balls,  Par- 
ties, Centennial  Grounds  and  elsewhere  at  reasonable  rates. 

Application  made  and  information  furnished  at  the  Otnce  of 
the  Company, 

S.  E,  cor.  Broad  and  Chestnut  Sts, 

J.  H.  BENHAM,  Jr.,  Gen'l  Supt. 


12 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


PIIlSILfilli  MIlEOiD, 


Centennial  Travel. 


The  arrangements  made  and  facilities  provided  by  the 
PE]Sr]S^SYl.VA:N^IA  RAILROAD  COMPAlSrY,  for 

the  accommodation  of  Centennial  Visitors  and  Exhibitors, 

are  on  a  comprehensive  and  complete  scale.  The  tracks  of  the 
Company  are  connected  direct  to  the  IVIain  Exhibition  Build- 
ings, where  Depots,  Warehouses  and  Sidings  have  been  con- 
structed, capable  of  furnishing  all  the  accommodations  that 
will  be  demanded  by  the  public. 

The  lines  of  this  Company  connect  with  all  the 

principal  Cities  and  centres  of  population 

in  the  East,  West,  North  and  South. 

EXCURSION  TICKETS  AT  REDUCED  RATES,  good 
for  thirty  dmjs^  will  be  sold,  and  TRAINS  will  be  run  from  all 
these  points  direct  to  the  Centennial  Depot,  and  will  depart 
from  thence  to  destination,  thus  saving  visitors  from  inconve- 
nience and  delay. 

Ample  facilities  have  been  provided  at  this  Depot  for  the 
Sale  of  Tickets  and  the  Checking  or  Storing  of  Baggage, 
while  Telegraph  Offices,  Hotels,  Restaurants,  &c.,  are  in  the 
immediate  vicinity.  This  Depot  is  connected  with  all  portions 
of  Philadelphia  by  passenger  railway  lines. 

It  is  the  intention  of  the  Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company 
to  extend  every  facility  possible  to  Centennial  visitors  and  ex- 
hibitors, during  the  continuance  of  the  Great  Exhibition,  and 
in  furtherance  of  this  determination  the  necessary  preparations 
have  been  liberally  and  carefully  made. 

EXCURSION  TICKETS  to  all  principal  Summer  Resorts 
and  Places  of  Interest  in  the  United  States,  allowing  ample 
time  for  extended  tours  of  pleasure  and  investigation,  will  be 
sold  at  the  Centennial  Depot  and  at  all  Ticket  Offices  of  the 
Pennsylvania  Railroad  Company. 


PEANK  THOMSON, 

General  Manager. 


D.  M.  BOYD,  Jr., 

General  Passenger  Agent. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


13 


MndfilpMa,  fflilmington  ^  mUlmm 


KAILROAD. 


THE  ONLY  LINE  BY  WHICH  VISITOES 


TO    THE 


Centennial  Exhibition 


CAN     REACH 

WASHINGTON,  D.  C. 

■ — ♦♦♦ 

The  Road  has  a  Double  Track,  Steel  Rails,  and  First-class 
Rolling  Stock.  Trains  are  equipped  with  the  Miller  Coupler, 
BufiPer  and  Platform  ;  the  Westinghouse  Air  Brake  and  Vacuum 
Brake;  and  all  modern  appliances  for  securing  Safety,  Speed 
and  comfort. 

During"  tlie  continuance  of  tlie  Exhibition, 
Trains  will  toe  run  direct  to  and  from  tlie  Cen- 
tennial Grounds. 

This  road,  with  its  Delaware  Division,  reaches  all  parts  of 
the  Peninsula  of  Maryland  and  Delaware,  the  great  Peach  and 
small  fruit  country. 

A  line  of  Tickets  to  Baltimore,  Washington,  and  principal 
points  South  and  West,  will  be  found  in 

COOK'S  WORLD'S  TICKET  OFFICE, 

in  the   Centennial   Grounds,  where   all   necessary  information 
may  be  obtained. 

H.  F.  KENNEY,  GEO.  A.  DADMUN, 

Superintendent.  General  Ticket  Agent. 

PHILADELPHIA,  PA. 


14 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


1818,  1820  &  1822  Filbsrt  St.,  Philadelphia. 

0AERIAG-E3,  for  Balls,  Parties,  Weddings,  Pleasure  Driving  &  Funerals. 
Horses  taken  at  Livery  receive  special  attention. 


THE 


TROTTIN&  HORSE  OP  AMERICA: 

ia:o"w  TO  Tis-.A.i3^  j^L.i<rx)  xje^i-^e  m^yc. 
12mo.    CiJth,  black  and  gold,  $2.50. 

With  Reminiscences  of  the  Trotting  Turf.  By  Hiram  Wood- 
ruff. Edited  by  Charles  J.  Foster.  Including  an  Introduc- 
tory Notice  by  George  Wilkes,  and  a  Biographical  Sketch  by 
the  editor.  Eighteenth  Edition,  revised  and  enlarged,  with  a  new 
.Appendix,  Table  of  Performances,  and  a  copious  Index.  With  a 
fine  steel  portrait  of  the  author,  and  six  finely-engraved  portraits 
on  wood  of  celebrated  trotters. 

"  We  believe  it  to  be  the  m.oHt  praclical  and  instrurtive  hook  that  ever  was 
puhUshed  concerning  the  trotting  horsf^ ;  and  those  who  own  or  take  care  of 
horses  of  other  descriptions,  may  buy  and  read  it  with  a  grreat  deal  of  profit 
Besides  all  this,  it  is  a  work  of  great  interest."'—  Wilkes'  Spirit  of  the  Times. 


Every  Horse  Owner's  Cyclopsedla. 

By  J.  H.  TFAI.SH,  r.H.C.S. 
8vo.    Cloth,  gilt,  $3.75 ;  Sheep,  $4.50. 

''Every  man  who  tvishes  for  a  compart  summary  of  ihr.  latest  and  soundest 
views  on  the  management  of  horses,  i-i  all.  its  detail,  will  find  it  in  this  compre- 
hensive and  able  volume."— The  Tribune,  JV.  y. 

PORTER  &  COATES,  Publishers,  Philadelphia. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  15 


■z"  zz  :e3 


''AUTOMATIC." 

THE  ONLY  PERFECT  SEWIE  MACHIM. 


The  WiLLCox  &  GiBBS  "  KeTI^  Automatic"  is  in  every 
essential  respect  the  most  remarkable  instrument  for  sewing 
ever  offered  to  the  public. 

To  saj  that  it  is  "AN  IMPROVED  MACHINE"  conveys  only 
in  part  a  fair  conception  of  its  merits.  It  marks  rather  a  radi- 
cal departure  from  old  notions  and  theories,  which  have  bur- 
dened all  former  productions  with  complications  and  many 
attendant  difiticulties.  Features  and  principles  entirely  new  are 
here  introduced,  the  practical  workings  of  which  are  truly 
marvelous.  Instead  of  a  "tension,"  to  be  delicately  manipu- 
lated for  every  change  of  material  to  be  sewn,  this  "New" 
Machine  measures  out  automatically  a  certain,  and  always  a 
proper,  length  of  thread  for  each  separate  stitch,  thus  securing 
greater  accuracy  and  uniformity  than  hitherto  was  possible. 
By  a  "tabular"  adjustment  of  the  stitch,  absolute  certainty  of 
the  best  results  is  reached,  without  experimenting  and  without 
the  exercise  of  any  judgment  whatever.  It  is  not  claimed  that 
the  "New  Automatic"  is  endowed  with  human  understanding, 
but  certainly  no  considerable  amount  of  discernment  is  re- 
quisite on  the  part  of  the  operator  to  accomplish  the  most 
satisfactory  work. 

J|@°"  Send  for  Prospectus. 

Do  S.  EWING, 

1127  Chestnut  Street,  Philadelphia. 


16  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

THE  LAUREL  HILL  CEMETERY, 

Eidge  Avenue  and  Palls  of  Scliuylkill. 


"Laurel  Hill"  is  the  oldest  suburban  Cemetery  in  the 
United  States,  with  the  exception  of  Mt.  Auburn  in  Boston. 
Founded  in  1835  by  Nathan  Dunn,  Benjamin  W.  Richards, 
John  J.  Smith  and  Frederick  Brown,  it  has  long  been  famous 
among  the  places  of  interest  in  Philadelphia  for  the  natural 
beauty  of  its  site  and  scenery  (embellished  by  much  skill  and 
labor),  the  magnificence  and  variety  of  its  monuments,  and  the 
names  of  the  distinguished  dead  who  lie  buried  within  its 
walls.  Occupying  one  of  the  most  exquisite  situations  in  the 
neighborhood  of  Philadelphia,  on  the  high  and  wooded  bank 
of  the  Schuylkill  (adjoining  East,  and  opposite  West,  Fairmount 
Park),  it  is  easily  reached  on  foot  as  well  as  by  steamboat, 
horse-car  and  carriage  ;  and,  although  now  far  within  the  limits 
of  the  growing  city,  is  peculiarly  and  perfectly  protected  from 
encroachment  by  its  surroundings,  having  Ridge  Avenue  on  the 
East,  the  River  on  the  West,  and  the  Park  on  the  remaining  sides. 

A  large  quantity  of  very  desirable  ground  is  to  be  had  at 
reasonable  prices,  including  some  portions  but  recently  pre- 
pared for  burial  purposes,  and  now  (1876)  offered  for  sale  for 
the  first  time. 

Lloyd  P.  Smith. 
Frederick  Brown,  President. 
Benjamin  W.  Richards,   Treasurer. 
Henry  Armitt  Brown,  Secretary. 


LOTS  MAY  BE  OBTAINED  AT  THE  COMPANY'S  OFFICE, 

524  Walnut  St.,  Room  5,  Philadelphia. 

N.B. — The  Laurel  Hill  has  no  connection  with  any  other  Cemetery. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


17 


THE  LAUREL  HILL  CEMETERY. 


18 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


C.  VAN  GUNDEN. 


E.  YOUNG. 


F.  H.  DBTJMM. 


VAN  GUITDEN,  Youm  &  dhumm, 

Successors  to  JOHN  BAIRD, 
JVo.  J^?i  SPRING  GARDEN  STREET, 

BEANOH  W0EE3,  DAEBT  EOAD,  opposite  WOODLAND  OEMETEET, 


Marble  and  Scotch  G-ranite  Monuments,  Tombs,  ^c. 


pEMETERY    ]_.OTS    ENCLOSED    AT    J^O^WEST     J^RICES. 


LEWIS  L.  HOUPT, 

Falrmonnt  Coal  Wharf,  2512  Callowhlll  Street, 


WHOLESAIiE  AND   RETATIi   DEAT.ER  IN 


ffi] 


None  but  the  Best 
kept  on  hand. 


At 


2240  lbs.  to  the  Ton 
guarantied. 


Neither  Lying  in  Waif,  nor  Lying  in  Weigfit  practised. 
ORDERS  BY  MAIL  CAREFULLY  AND  PROMPTLY  FILLED. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  ■     19 


BINES  &  SHEAFF, 

WHOLESALE  AND  RETAIL 

COAL  DEALERS, 

Office,  No.  114  South  Fourth  Street, 

PHIL.ADEL.PHIA. 


Arcli  Street  Wharf,  ScliuylkiU. 

Tasker  Street  Wharf,  Delaware. 

Island,  Windmill  Island,  Delaware. 

Fairmount,  Callowhill  Street,  Schuylkill. 

Berks  and  ]S^inth  Streets. 

Girard  Avenue  and  Ninth  Street. 

Kichmond,  Philadelphia. 

Germantown,  Philadelphia. 

Chestnut  Hill,  Philadelphia. 

Frankford  Koad,  Richmond,  Philadelphia. 


20  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

ROBBINS,  BIDDLE  &  CO. 

Successors  to  ROBBINS,  CLARE  &  BIDDLE, 

1134   CHESTNUT    STREET 

Importers  and    Dealers   in 


SILVER  AND  PLATED  WARES, 

Clocks,  Bronzes  Si  jP^ancy  Goods. 


tesE^a^s^^ 


DIAMONDS, 

iPatflj^es  ant!  ^eitrelrg, 

LEWIS,  LADOMUS  &  CO. 

No.   806  Cliestnut  Street, 

PHILADELPHIA. 

Same  Square  as  Continental  Motel  and  Qirard  Mouse, 

HAVE   ALWAYS   ON   HAND 

A  LARGE  STOCK  OF  WATCHES,  BIAIONBS,  JEWELRY  AND  SILVERWARE. 
ALL  GOODS  SOLD  AT  THE  LOWEST  PRICES.  \ 

^A/'ATCHES   REPAIRED. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  21 


JAS.  R  CALDWELL  &  CO. 

IMPORTERS  OF 

Diamonds  and  Precious  Stones. 

^R0JM2;Eg,  j]!jL0CK3   <Sf  }^AjMCY  <^OODg, 

RARE  PORCELATN^S, 

AND  DEALERS  IN 
ELECTRO-PLATED     WARES 

OF    FINE    QUALITY, 

No.   902  Chestnut  Street, 
PHILADELPHIA, 

A   few   doors   West  of  th.e   Continental   Hotel. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


LADIES'   FIME   FURS. 

RUSSIAN  AND  HUDSON  BAY  SABLES. 
Extra   Fine    Chinchillas, 

SIMD  ii  Mli  SEil  M  SiCdiS, 

CHILDREN'S  FURS  IN  GREAT  VARIETY. 

F.  K.  WOMRATH, 

PHILADELPHIA. 

ESTABLISHED  1810. 

WM.  A.  DROWN  &  CO. 

MANUEACTURERS  OF  THE 
FINEST  CHADES 

UMBRELLAS  and  PARASOLS, 

FOB  SALE, 
^W^HOLESAT^E    A:NT>    RETAIIL., 

AT  THE    MANUFACTORY  AND  ^WAREROOMS, 

No.  246  MARKET  STREET, 
PHILADELPHIA, 

War er 00ms  in  New  York,  498  &  500  Broadway. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  23 


THOMAS  KENNEDY  &  BROS., 

1216  CHESTKUT  STREET, 

AND 

914  ARCH  STREET, 

Philadelphia. 


-^  •  •  • » 


FRENCH 


^^m^m^     GOODS. 

Eeceives  Weekly  all  the  Enropeaa  PasMons ; 

Fimmi  Fmrn^k  FMw@m  mmM  Plmmmn 

PAEISIAN  BONNETS  &  HATS. 
BRIDAL     REGIALIA 

Ribbons,    Velvets,     Silks,    Laces. 

Fans,  Jets,  Ornaments  and  Hair  Goods. 
BLACK  DRESS  SILKS 

Of  a  superior  make. 

AliSO,    A    FINE    ASSOKTMENT    OF 


24 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


FRElirCH  BOiriSrETS  AUD  HATS, 

ff^IMMED  /lND  •IJnTRIMMED, 


GEO.  W.  MILES, 

No.    938    CHESTNUT    STREET, 

Third  door  telow  lOth  St., 

SILKS.  DRESS  GOODS. 


LADIES'  &  CHILDREN'S  OUTFITS, 
DRESSMAKES^G, 

White  Goods,  Notions,  Hosiery, 

OLOTBCS,    OLOA^ECinsrO-S, 

PIANO  COVERS, 

LiinenSy    Cottons,    Quilts,   Blankets,   &c., 

COOPER  k  CONARD, 

EETAILEES  AND  IMPOETEES, 

S.  E.  cor,  Ninth  and  Market  Sts.,  Philadelphia. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


25 


HOMER,  COLLADAY  &  CO. 


IMPORTERS  AND  RETAILERS 


OF 


SILKS.  DRESS  GOODS. 


Xj^OES, 


iBttM^ 


GLOVES,  HOSIERY,  &c., 


Also,  a  Ml  Assoitment  of 


Nos.  1412  &  1414  Chestnut  St., 


f 


HILADELPHIA. 


26  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


Fine  Dress  Shirts 


MADE    TO    ORDER,    WITH    PALMER'S    PATENT 
DOUBLE    YOKE. 


<••»■> 


J.  W.  SCOTT  &  CO.. 

No,   814  Chestnut  Street, 

Four  doors  below  Continental  Hotel, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


<  •  •  »  > 


Being  direct  Importers,  we  have  always  full  lines 

Metis  Furnishing  Goods. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  27 

mjj    824  Chestnut  St.,   f||l|S 

tJNDER    EASTERN   WIKa   OF 

CONTINENTAL    HOTEL    and    opp.    GIRARD     HOUSE. 

BLAYLOCK&CO. 

IMPORTERS  AND  MANUFACTURERS  OF  CORRECT  AND  LEADING 

STYLES  OF 

A.  coiMii^XjErrE  stock:  oif 

DERBY  AND  LIGHT  WEIGHT  SOFT  HATS, 

Suitable  for  Travelling. 

MAOEINAW  STRAW  EATS  A  SPECIALTY. 

Yoifs,  Boys'  ant  CMlflren's  Hats  aM  Wans. 

IMPORTERS  OF  EMLISH  HATS, 

From  Lincoln,  Bennett  &  Co.,  Henbt  Melton,  Christy  &  Co.,  and 
Teess  &  Co.,  of  London,  and  Dash,  of  Brighton. 

LADIES'  FURS  AND  SEAL  SACQUES 

On  sale  all  Summer. 
Furs  Sold,   Insured  and    Delivered,   -sRrhen  ordered. 


BLAYLOCK  &  CO. 

824  Chestnut  Street. 


28  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


IFIlTEi 


BOOTS  MP  SHOES, 


FOR 


GENTLEMEN 

LADIES,  AND 

YOUNG  FOLKS. 


C.  BENKERT  &  SON, 
No.  716  Chestnut  Street, 


PHILADELPHIA. 


x:si'ik.BiL.iisixx:x>  in  isss. 


The  only  large  Establishment  in  the  City  "where 
exclusively  First-class  Goods  are  kept. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


29 


CHAHLES  BLASE, 

BOOTS  AND  SHOES, 

No.  48  North  Ninth  Street, 
PHILADELPHIA. 


< « » • » 


GENTLEMEN'S  and  BOYS'  BOOTS  and  SHOES 

CONSTANTLY 

On  Hand  and  Made  to  Order. 


JACOB  ZAUN  &  SON, 


H 
W 

o 

o 


kajStufactubebs  of 


Fashionable  Boots  &  Shoes  for  Men  &  Boys'  Wear. 


30 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


t 


E.  O.  THOMPSON'S 

Fashionable 

ail0ring  ||stalilishmenit 


IS  LOCATED  AT 


908   W^ALNUT    STREET, 
Ji^-  WHICH   YOU  ARE  INVITED    TO   VISIT  -^H 


HERE 

Citizens  or  Strangers  can  Le 
supplied  "witli  every  article 
of  Dress  essential  to  tte 
Wardrobe  of  a  gentleman  to 
their  entire  satisfaction  at 
moderate  prices. 


THE  CONTEOLLING  IDEA 

Is  to  lead  in  everytliing 
demanded  by  fashion,  and  to 
omit  no  feature  essential  to 
a  popular  and  successfal 
business. 


r^SPEClALTIES.^ 
LADIES'  SACQUES,  COATS  AND  RIDim  HABITS. 
GENTLEMEN'S  DRESS   SUITS, 

j^OR    THE    PpKRA,   J^ARTIES,    ^C 

UNIFOEMS  FOE  THE  ARMY  AND  NAVY. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  31 


Joii  Wamme  k  O. 

FINEST  CLOTHING, 

READY  MADE  AND  MADE  TO  MEASURE, 

FKOM    THE 

Finest  Lines  of  Imported  Fabrics,  in  tfie  Highest 
Styles  of  t/ie  Tailoring  Art. 


Gentlemen  in  business,  or  of  leisure,  aeeustonned  to 
Dress  witli  serupnlous  Taste,  on  all  occasions,  find  our 
unexampled  Stock  of  Garments  Ready-made,  and 
Materials  in  the  Piece,  all  that  could  be  desired,  for 
extent,  variety,  faultlessness  of  fit  and  make,  and 
moderation  in  prices. 


FURNISHING  GOODS, 

Por  tlie  Complete  and  Elegant  Outfit  of  a  Gentleman's 
WAEDEOBE  and  TOILET. 


SPECIALTIES   IN    CHILDREN'S   FIRST-SUITS, 

And  full  and  beautiful  lines  in  all  Clothing  for 
YOUTHS,  BOYS  and  CHILDREN. 

JOHN   WANAMAKER  &  CO. 

818  &  830   Cliestmat  Street, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


32  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


MITCHELL,  FLETCHER  &  CO. 

IMI'ORTJSIiS  AXD  DEALERS  IJY 

TEAS,  COFFEES, 

AND 

FINE  GROCERIES, 

Twelfth  and  Chestnut  Streets, 


PHILADELPHIA, 

Invite  the  attention  of  the  Visitors  to  the  Centennial  Exhibition, 

and  the  public  generally,  to  their  extensive  and 

well-selected  stock  of 

STAPLE  AND  FANCY  GROCERIES. 

Being  direct  importers,  and  dealing  with  manufacturers,  they 
can  always  present  a  full  line  of  all 

FOiIGN  ii  DOiSl  DELICiCIES. 

From  their  large  experience  in  their  Country  Trade,  they  are 

enabled  to  pack  goods  carefully,  and  ship  promptly 

to  all  distant  points, 

Delivering-  at  Depots  Free  of  Charg-e. 

J|@^  They  respectfully  invite  an  examination  of  their  stock. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


33 


ESTABLISHED  1821. 

JOSEPH  F.TOBIAS  &  COMPANY, 

No.  241  Ohestnut  Street,  PhiladelpHa, 

WIHE  AND  SPiniT  MERCHAITTS, 


AND  DEALERS  IN 


FINE  OLD  MONONCAHELA, 

RYE,    WHEAT    AND    BOUHBON 

WHISKIES. 

Also,  80ZE  AGENTS  in  the  United  States  for 

GIESLEU  &  COMPANY'S 
BLUE    SEAL,  and 

DRY    VERZENAY 

CHAMPAGNE  \VINES. 

BATCHELOR  BROTHERS, 

FINE  CIGAR 

MANUFACTURERS, 
JSTo.  808  Market  Street. 

BRANCHES! 

ISO.  837  Chestnut  Street,  under  Gxrard  House, 

Ko.  33  N.  Second  St.,  opposite  Christ  Church, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


34  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

FREDERICK  BROWN, 

(Established   1822) 

IMPORTING,   MANUFACTURING   AND   DISPENSING 


N.  £.  Corner  of  Fifth  and  Chestnut  Streets, 

PHILADELPHIA,    PA. 


SOLE  PBOPBIETOIt  AND  MA.NTIFACTTTMEM  OF 

ESSENCE  JAMAICA  GINGEE.  \  "g 

05  1  CHOLEKA  MIXTUEE. 

PEESEEYED  TAEAXACUM  JUICE.  I  ^ 

MtJTTEE'S  COUCH  SYEUP. 
.       )  BITTEE  WINE  OP  lEON. 
^  y  COOPEE'S  ANTI-BILIOUS  PILLS.  I   « 

rr  \  CHAPMAN'S  ANTI-DYSPEPTIC  PILLS.        /  S 

O      WISTAE'S    COUCH    LOZENGES   (from  original   >     ^ 

«l  prescription),  \    !> 

/  MBS.  HAEVEY'S  COUGH  SYEUP.  \  o 


VI 


n 


o 


DENTIPEIGE,  in  Bottles.  g 

DENTIFEICE,  in  Tin  Canisters,  snitable  for  Travelers,  /    ^ 
AEABIAN  EACAHOUT,  in  convenient  Bottles.          '    M 


AGENT  FOR 

E.   DEJARDIN'S  SYRUP   RED   ORANGE,  of  malta. 

None  genuine  without  my  name  as  Agent  on  the  Label. 


COBBESPONDENTS. 

SAVORY  &  MOORE,  143  New  Bond  Street,  W.,  London. 

S.  MAW,  SON  &  THOMPSON,  12  Aldersgate  Street,  E.  C,        « 

F.  NEWBERY  &  SONS,  37  Newgate  Street,  E.  C,  « 

G.  VOSS,  21  Jahannis  Strasse,  Hamburg. 
E.  DEJARDIN,  2  Avenue  de  I'Opera,  Paris. 


PeICE  lilST  OF 

ENGLISH  AND  FRENCH  MEDICINES  AND  PEAEMACEUTIOAL  PEEPAEATIONS 

WILT,  BE  MAILED  ON   APPLICATION. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


35 


FAIRTHOIIITE^S  SPECIALITIES 

PEPSIN. 

In  regard  to  its  efficiency,  read  the  following,  from  Dr.  Wm.  Murphy,  Physician 
in  Chief  of  Mount  Vernon  Retreat  for  Inebriates,  and  late  Health  Commissioner 
of  New  York  City.  ,         .  ^    ,.  ■,        ^     •4.  +^ 

"  I  have  used  Mr.  Fairthorne's  Pepsin  with  much  satisfaction,  and  preler  it  to 
any  other  in  the  market."  WM.  MURPHY,  M.D. 

AROIVIATIC  WINE  OF  RHUBARB. 

A  pleasant  laxative. 

WINE  OF  QUININE  Sl  CHAMOMILE  FLOWERS 

A  tonic  and  anti-material  remedy. 

WOOD-VIOLET  COLOGNE. 

Delicate,  refreshing  and  persistant. 

LAVOLINE. 

For  removing  sun-burn  and  freckles.    Perfectly  safe  and  non-poisonous. 
These  superior  and  elegant  preparations  made  only  by 

Druggist  &  Manufacturer  of  Pharmaceutical  Products, 
N.  W,  cor,  19th  and  Arch  Streets,  Philadelphia, 

PURE  SODA  WATER. 

Drawn  from  steel  fountains  at  his  stand,  which  is  three-quarters  of  a  square 
below  the  ACADEMY  OF  NATURAL  SCIENeES. 


WM.  CURTIS  TAYLOR, 

914    CHESTNUT   STREET, 

PHILADELPHIA, 

NEXT    BLOCK    ABOVE    CONTINENTAL    HOTEL. 


«  »  •  »  > 


All  the  most  approved  Styles  of 

HNS  PORTRAITURE. 


36 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


l&IliitfliaD&Co. 

812  Chestnut  St., 

PHILADELPHIA, 
Manufacturers  of  the  finest 


I 


In  the  country. 

Put  up  in  neat  Boxes  and 
fancy  styles  for  presents, 

Or  in   large   quantities  for 
Wholesale  Trade. 

Goods  can  be  easily  ex- 
pressed from  our  store  to  all 
parts  of  the  United  States. 


P.  PHILPOT  &  CO. 


MANUFAOTUEEES  OF 


Nos.  401  &  403  Commerce  Street, 

PHILADELPHIA. 

MADE  TO  ORDER  AT  SHORT  NOTICE. 

CONFECTIONERS'  FINE  WORK  AND  SHELF  BOXES  A  SPECIALITY. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  37 


G.  MEYER, 

PmLADELPHIA. 


ENGLISH,  FEEHOH,  GEEMAH  AND  AMEEIOAIT 


i-K^     »1 


rs  ao)  .M.  wr  m  w  '^- 


[^t3pmm.T  ";KXNL^^Ofi 


GOUP/L'S,  HANFSTAENGEUS, 

BERLIN  PHOTOGRAPH  COMPANrS, 

BRAUN'S,  BRUCKMAN'S, 

PLAIN  AND  COLORED 

PHOTOGRAPHS, 

Graphoscopes  and  Views  for  the  same. 

]p^r^AMEg   OF  ALL  ^INDg, 


AT  THE  MOST  REASONABLE  PRICES. 


38 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


JOHN  &  JAMES  DOBSON, 

Proprietors. 


W.  OLDtNG  NEWMAN, 

Manager. 


PALLS  OP  SCHUYLKILL 


CARPET  MILLS. 

PHILADELPHIA, 
809  ^  811  Chestnut  Street. 


cn^ 


m%%th,  f ^M  ^4pj^$tjtg  |jm$4$, 


EXTRA  SUPERrilSrES, 

Snperfines,  Medium  Supers,  Extra  Pines, 
"^ooL   puTCH,     Stair    Carpets, 

Wholesale  and  Retail. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


39 


McCALLUM,  CREASE  k  SLOAN, 

Manufacturers,  Importers,  Jobbers  &  Eetailers  of 


^Warehouse,  1012  &  1014  Chestnut  St., 
PHILADELPHIA. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


rURIflSHED 

for 
DECORATION 

and 

PUEITISHIITG 

entire 

HOUSES. 


and 
PILLOWS 

Made  to  Order. 


I^o.   1108   Oliestnixt  Street,   JPliiladelpliia;. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


41 


HALE,    KILBURN   &   CC 

Sole  Proprietors  and  Manufacturers  of  the 

"  FOLBIi  iEDSmO  AND 


HALE'S  FLEXIBLE 
SPEING  BED. 


HALE'S  PLEXIBLE 

SEAT  OHAISS, 
STOOLS,  SETTEES. 


General  Manufacturers  of  Frames,  MouxDnsres,  Looking  Glasses,  and 
Cabinet  Wokk  of  every  kind. 

Salesroom  and  Factory,  48  &  60  N.  Sixth  Street,  Philadelphia,  Pa. 
Branch  Store,  613  Broadway,  New  York. 


ENCAUSTIC    TILES. 


SHARPLESS  &  WATTS, 

No.   1885    Market    St.,    Philadelpliia, 

Agei^^ts  and  Importers  of 

laiiffToiff's 

Geometric,  Encaustic,  Majolica, 

Enamelled  and  Art-Painted  Tiles, 

For  Pavements,  Walls,  Heartlis,  Fire-places,  Flower  Boxes,  and 
all  purposes  of  interior  and  exterior  decorations. 


PHILADELPHIA  REFERENCES. 

Independence  Hall,  Guarantee  Trust  and  Safe  Deposit  Co. 

Carpenter's  Hall,  Northern  Saving  Fund, 

United  States  Mint,  St.  Stephen's  Hotel, 

Academy  of  Fine  Arts,  St.  Mark's  Episcopal  Church, 

Academy  of  Natural  Sciences,  Memorial  Baptist  Church, 

Philadelphia  College  of  Physicians,  Fire  Association, 

As  also  innumerable  stores  and  private  residences  throughout  the  city. 


42  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


UPHOLSTERY  GOODS, 


AND 


tA 


CAREINGTON,  DE  ZOUCHE  &  CO., 

S.  E.   CORNER 

Tliirteentli  and  Cliestiiiit  Streets, 

Philadelphia. 


WALRAVEN, 

1105  Chesthtjt  Steeet, 

PEILABELPmA, 

mTERIOR   DECORATIONS, 
CURTAINS 

AND 

Artistic  Furniture. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


43 


DREER'S  GARDEN  CALENDAR 

Is  published  annually  on  the  1st  of  December,  and  contains  select  lists  of 

VEGETABLE  AND  PLOWER  SEEDS, 

Plants,  Roses,  Verbenas,  Dahlias,  Carnations,  Geraniums,  &c.. 

With  brief  and  practical  directions  for  tfieir  culture,  mailed  free 
to  all  applicants. 


American  Paper  Box  Co. 

G.  W.  PLUMLY  &  SON, 
No.  213  North  Fourtli  Street, 

(Corner  of  Braucli), 
PHILADELPHIA. 


Manufacturers    of    ROUND,    SQUARE,    OVAL,    and 

all  kinds  of 


DRUGGISTS'   POWDER  AND   PILL   BOXES  A  SPECIALTY. 


44  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


Hall  &  Carpenter. 


IMPORTERS  OF 


Cirt  1}tei4  anil  mMx 


AGENTS  FOB  THE  SALE  OF 


AMERICAN  SPELTER 


AND 


SHEET  ZINC, 


No.   709   Market  Street, 


Philad 


ELPHIA. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


45 


fJoOPES   &  ^OWNSEND 

MANUFACTURE 

MACHINE  AND  CAR  BOLTS, 

Cold-Punched  Sq^uare  ^  Hexagon  ITnts, 

KEYSTONE  BOILEE  EIVETS,  TANK  EIVETS, 

RAILROAD   TRACK   BOLTS, 

Chain  Links,  Car  Irons,  Bridge  Bolts,  Bridge  Irons, 

RODS  AND  BOLTS  FOR  BUILDINGS   &.c., 

No.  1330  BUTTONWOOD  St.^ 

PHIIiADEI^PHIA. 


46  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

^    ISO  MarW  SW,  PMMelpliia,    ' 


MANUFACTUBEBS     OF 


CURLED         PTTTP    FLINT&SAND 
HAIR,  vXllUJjy       PAPER, 

Emery  Paper  &  Emery  Olotli,  G-round  Flint  &  Emery, 
FELTING  FOB  COVERSNG  STEAW  PIPES,  &c. 

Cow-hide  Whips,  Saddlers' i,  Plasterers' Hair,  Moss,  &c. 

PHIIAD'A,  730  Market  Street.  BOSTON,  143  Milk  Street. 

NEW  lORR,  67  Beekman  Street.        CHICAGO,  182  lake  Street. 

WM.  H.  JOHNSON, 

Plumber  and  Gas  Fitter, 

No.   1714   FILBERT    STREET, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


"Water  Closets  and  Bedet  Pans,  Hot,  Cold  and  Shower  Baths, 
Stationary  Wash-stands  complete,  Pantry  and  Kitchen 
Sinks,   Hydrants   and  Wash   Paves,   Drains   to 
Sewers,  Water  Wheels,  W^ind  Mills,  Hy- 
draulic Bams,  Lift  and  Force  Pumps. 


Work  in  the  Country  and  Johhing  of  all  hinds 

promptly  attended  to. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


47 


WM.  F.  SCHEIBLE, 

310    Cliestiiiit   Street,   Pliiladelpliia, 


MA2?UFACTTTKER    OF 


Flags  of  ever  J  [lescription  in  Silt,  MH  &  Mislli, 


TrH:OIL(E!SA.XiE    A.1SI>    RJETA-IX^. 


PI 
■Hi 

< 

<5 

cb. 
P4 

EH 


w 

o 
*3 


^3 

a 

I— ■ 
VI 

> 
HI 


Awnings  of  every  style  and  design.     Awning  Strips  by  the 

bale  or  yard.     Tents  of  all  sizes  on  hand  and  made  to 

order.     DECOBATIOlSrS   TO   HIBB. 

STENCIL    CUTTING    AND    CANVAS    PRINTING. 

SILK  BANNERS,  TRANSPARENCIES,  &c. 


48 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


THE 


Life  Insurance  Company, 

No.  921  Chestmit  Street,  Philadelphia. 

A  JPURELY MUTUAL  COMFANY— INCORPORATED  JiV  1847. 

Dividends  declared  Annually.  Assets,  $5,600,000. 

THE  PENN  IS  ENTHtELiT  MUTIJAIi. 

All  of  its  surplus  premiums  are  returned  to  its  Policy -holders  every 
year,  thus  furnishing  them  Insurance  at  the  lowest  possible  cost. 

The  Life  Rate  Non- Forfeiting  Endowment  Policy  issued  by  the 
Penn,  while  giving  protection  to  the  family  of  the  Insured  in  case  of 
early  death,  provides  at  moderate  rates  of  premium,  a  fund  for  future 
support,  should  he  reach  old  age. 

All  Policies  are  non-forfeitable  for  their  value  after  the  third  year. 

SAM'L  G.  HUEY,  Pres't. 
SAM'L  E.  STOKES,  H.  S.  STEPHENS, 

Vice-Pres't.  Second  Vice-Pres't, 

JAS.  weir  MASON,  HENRY  ATJSTIE, 

Actuary.  Secretary. 


0} 


f^ 


:^e.5Wh 


H  oWqi^gW 


Hi 

H^CIP4     ,>y,     . 


SLCorJourth^lWalnut  St. 


-A-JSJSIEST'S,    $3,000,000- 

GEORGE  W.  HILL,  President.      JOHN  C.  SIMS,  Actuary. 
GEORGE  NUGENT,  Vice-Pres't.  JOHN  S.  WILSON,  Sec'y  and  Treas. 

ALEX.  WHILLDIN,  Ch.  Finance  Com.      J.  G.  HAMMER,  Asst.  Sec'y. 


ADVERTISExMENTS. 


49 


OF   PHILADELPHIA. 


i]ycoi«.npoii^T£:i>  3d.  iweo.  33,  ises. 


ASSETS  OVER  $3,000,000. 

strictly  Mutual.     Distinguished  for  Careful  Selection 

of    Risks,    Prudent    Investment  of    Funds, 

great  Economy,  and  Liberality  to  its 

Policy  Holders. 


PRESIDENT. 

SAMUEL   R.   SHIPLEY. 

VICE  PEESIDENT. 

W.    C.    LONGSTRETH. 


ACTUARY. 

ROWLAND   PARRY. 


^V 


<^ 


^ 


^^V'''> 


y> 


PROCURED    BY 


JOHN  A.  WIEDERSHEIM, 

110  South  Fourth  Street,  Philadelphia. 


Call  OP  Send  for  Book  of  Instructions. 


CONSULTATION  FBEE. 


60  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


LOUIS  MEYER, 

MUSIC   PUBLISHER, 

1413  Chestnut  Street,  Philadelphia, 

Draws  the  attention  of  all  music-loving  people  to  the  excellent  advan- 
tages he  offers  them  in  selecting  new  music.  The  following  notices 
from  the  press  will  assure  the  public  that  they  can  expect  only  the  best 
and  most  satisfactory. 

NEW  MUSIC  TRIED  AT  THE  PIANO. 

Catalogues  free  on  application. 

The  publications  of  Mr.  Louis  Meyer  are  exciting  the  attention  of  cultivated 
musical  people  in  all  the  principal  cities  of  the  Union.— P/ii7a.  Evening  Bulletin. 

The  admirable  taste  exhibited  In  the  musical  publications  of  Mr.  Louis  Meyer 
has  heretofore  elicited  our  cordial  commendation. — Christian  Union. 

Louis  Meyer  is  rendering  an  excellent  service  to  all  lovers  of  good  music  by 
his  publications. — Home  Journal. 

Mr.  Louis  Meyer  is  endeavoring  to  encourage  a  higher  taste  by  publishing  a 
better  class  of  music. — Albany  Evening  Times. 

Mr.  Meyer's  publications  are  of  more  than  ordinary  merit.    We  find  in  his 
entire  collection  not  one  common-place  composition. — Cleveland  Herald. 
ALWAYS   ON    HAND, 

All  the  new  Music,  Foreign  and  American. 


THOMAS    HUNTER, 

716  Filbert  Street,  Philadelphia. 

■ ^  •  •  •  > 

LIST  OF  CENTENNIAL  PUBLICATIONS. 

I.  VIETATS  IW  THREE  COLORS. 

1.  Art  Gallery.  2.  Main  Building.  3.  Horticultural  Hall.  4.  Machinery 
Hall.  5.  Agricultural  Hall.  6.  Bird's-Eye  Yiew.  7.  Double.  8.  Triple. 
9.  Quintuple.    10.  Octuple.    11.  Independence  Hall.     Price,  per  sheet,  50c. 

II.  CENTEirisriAIi  PORTFOLIO. 

Three  Series.  Each  Series  containing  Eight  Views  in  three  colors,  with 
Map  of  Fairmount  Park  and  vicinity.    Price,  per  package,  50  cents. 

III.  CEWTENIsriAL  CABINET. 

Six  Views  in  black,  on  tinted  Card  Board,  with  Map  of  Fairmount  Park  and 
vicinity.     Price,  per  package,  25  cents. 
Copies  sent  free  by  mail  on  receipt  of  above  prices.    List  of  prices  in  quanti- 
ties sent  on  application. 

IlsT    :FI2.ESS. 
SOUVENIR  OF  THE  AMERICAN   CENTENNIAL.— Containing  a"  the 
Views  of  ihe  Portfolios,  with  letter-press  description  of  each  building. 
Handsomely  bound  in  Cloth. 


A  D  V  E  R  T  I  S  E  iM  E  N  T  S.  51 

T.B.Peterson  &  Brothers, 

PUBLISHERS  AND  BOOKSELLERS, 

306   Chestnut  Street 

PHILADELPHIA,  PA. 


We  publish  and  have  constantly  on  hand  full  and  varied  editions  of 
the  works  of  all  the  famous  American  and  Foreign  novelists,  whose 
writings  are  very  entertaining,  and  are  among  the  most  popular  now 
in  existence.  The  most  of  them  are  hound  in  strong  cloth  binding, 
and  a  few  in  paper  covers.  Examination  is  asked  for  the  editions  of 
the  writings  of  Mrs.  Ann  S.  Stephens,  a  very  popular  favorite; 
Mrs.  E.  D.  E.  'N.  Southworth,  whose  romances  are  always  in  demand; 
Mrs.  Ellen  Wood,  the  authoress  of  "East  Lynnej"  Mrs.  Caroline 
Lee  Hentz,  whose  stories  of  Southern  life  stand  unparalleled  in  their 
simple  truth  and  exquisite  beauty  ;  Mrs.  C.  A.  Warfield,  another  very 
popular  Southern  writer;  Miss  Eliza  A.  Dupuy,  who  has  made  a 
wonderful  mark,  and  is  gaining  great  popularity  every  day  ;  Gr.  W.  M. 
Reynolds,  whose  romances  of  London  life,  founded  on  facts,  are  of 
matchless  interest;  Sir  Walter  Scott,  whose  "Waverley"  novels  still 
maintain  a  strong  hold  on  the  people.  Charles  Dickens'  complete 
writings  we  furnish  in  every  variety  of  style.  We  have  also  complete 
sets,  in  various  styles  of  binding,  of  the  weird  stories  of  George  Lip- 
pard;  the  martial  novels  of  Charles  Lever;  the  comical  nautical 
tales  of  Captain  Marryatt;  Emerson  Bennett's  Indian  stories; 
Henry  Cockton's  laughable  narratives;  T.  S.Arthur's  temperance 
tales  and  household  stories ;  the  wonderful  and  entertaining  novels  of 
Alexander  Dumas,  Eugene  Sue,  and  W.  H.  Ainsworth;  Gustaye 
Aimard's  stories  of  Western  life;  the  quiet  domestic  novels  of  Fred- 
RiKA  Bremer  and  Ellen  Pickering;  the  masterly  novels  of  Wilkie 
Collins  and  George  Sand;  Frank  Fairlegh's  quaint  stories,  and 
Samuel  Warren's  elaborate  romances ;  the  works  of  Mrs.  C.  J.  Newby, 
Mrs.  Grey,  and  Miss  Pardoe;  W.  H.  Herbert's  sporting  stories  ;  and 
the  graphic  Italian  romances  of  T.  A.  Trollope  ;  together  with  numer- 
ous others.  Our  collection  of  novels  is  large  and  choice,  and  we  are 
in  a  position  to  supply  all  book-buyers,  either  retail  or  wholesale,  on 
very  advantageous  terms,  and  at  exceedingly  low  prices  for  cash. 

We  invite  all  visiting  our  city  to  give  us  a  call,  if  only  to  inspect  our 
various  editions  and  secure  a  copy  of  our  new  Illustrated  Catalogue, 
containing  a  Portrait  and  Sketch  of  all  our  principal  Authors,  which 
is  free  to  all ;  or  it  will  be  sent  to  any  address,  if  written  for,  and  care- 
ful and  immediate  attention  will  be  paid  to  all  orders  sent  to  us. 

Address  all  orders  and  communications  for  further  information  to 

T.  B.  PETERSOK  &  BROTHERS, 

Publishers  k  Booksellers, 
"No,  306  Chestnut  Street,  PHILADELPHIA,  PA. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


Standard  English  Novelists. 

PBINTED    IN   A   CONVENIENT,    POKTABLE   SIZE,    STBONGLY 
BOUND  IN  CLOTH  OB,  HALF  BOXBUBGHE. 

EJacli    Set    in    a    IVeat    Paper    IBos:, 


AINSWORTH  (WILLIAM  H.).     17  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,    .  $12  00 
AUSTEN  (JANE).     5  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,  .         .         .         .  4  00 
BRONTE  (CHARLOTTE  AND  ANNE),   t  vols.,  16mo,  cloth,  8  75 
BULWER  (LORD  LYTTON).     Knebworth  Edition.     27  vol- 
umes, 12mo,  cloth, 40  00 

Standard   Edition.     22  vol- 
umes, IGmo,  cloth,       .         .         • 22  00 

CARLETON  (WILLIAM).  5  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,  .  .  3  75 
CHAMIER  (CAPTAIN).  4  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,  .  .  5  00 
COCKTON  (HENRY).  3  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe,  .  3  75 
COLLINS  (WILKIE).  12  volumes,  illustrated,  12mo,  cloth,  24  00 
DUMAS  (ALEXANDRE).  18  volumes  in  10,  16mo,  cloth,  .  15  00 
EDGEWORTH  (MARIA).  10  vols.,  illustrated,  16mo,  cloth,  15  00 
FARJEON  (B.  L.).  3  volumes,  12mo,  half  Roxburghe,  .  3  75 
FERRIER  (MISS).  3  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe,  .  3  75 
FIELDING  AND  SMOLLETT,  6  volumes,  12mo,  cloth,  .  9  00 
GERSTAECKER  (FRED.).  4  vols.,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe,  .  5  00 
GRANT  (JAMES).  32  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe,  .  40  00 
"  GUY  LIVINGSTONE"— Novels  by  the  Author  of.  8  vol- 
umes, 12mo,  half  Roxburghe,     10  00 

HALLIBURTON  (JUDGE).     3  vols.,  12mo,  half  Roxburghe,  3  75 

HOOK  (THEODORE).     15  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe, .  18  75 
"JOHN  HALIFAX"— Novels  by  the  Author  of.     5  volumes, 

12mo,  cloth, 6  25 

KINGSLEY  (HENRY).     8  volumes,  12mo,  half  Roxburghe, .  10  00 

LEVER  (CHARLES).     27  volumes,  12mo,  cloth,    .         .         .  35  00 

LOVER  (SAMUEL).     4  volumes,  12mo,  half  Roxburghe,       .  5  00 

MARRYAT  (CAPTAIN).     13  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,        .         .  13  00 

■ New  Illustrated  ^Edition.     16  vols., 

12mo,  cloth, 20  00 

MAXWELL  (WM.  H.).     10  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe, .  12  60 
RICHARDSON  (SAMUEL).     3  volumes,  12mo,  cloth,    .         .  3  75 
SCOTT  (SIR  WALTER).  Waverley  Novels,  complete.  4  vol- 
umes, 12mo,  cloth, 7  00 

SMEDLEY  (FRANK).     4  volumes,  12mo,  cloth,     .         .         .  6  00 

SMITH  (ALBERT).     5  volumes,  16mo,  half  Roxburghe,         .  6  25 
TROLLOPE  (ANTHONY).     19  volumes,  16mo,  cloth,     .         .23  75 

YATES  (EDMUND).     11  volumes,  12mo,  cloth,      .         .         .  13  75 

J6@=  A  complete  Catalogue  of  our  entire  stock,  in  detail,  will  be  fur- 
nished on  application. 

GEORGE  ROUTLEDGE  &  S0:N^S, 

Publishers, 
Lonclon,  and  4X6  I3rooiu©  (Street,  IS&w  Yox'fe. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  53 

ART  GIFT  BOOKS. 

u4.n.  entirely    N'eiv   Series  of  first-class  and   richly  Illustrated 
SooTiS  on  ^at%ire  and  Natural  S.istory, 

EDITED  AND  TRANSLATED  BY  W.  H.  DAVENPORT  ADAMS. 

*^This  Series  of  Works  has  done  much  to  advance  the  popularizing  of  Science." 

THE  INSECT.  By  Jules  Michelet.  With  one  hundred  and  forty  illustra- 
tions, drawn  specially  for  this  work  by  Giacomelli,  and  engraved  by  the 
most  eminent  French  and  English  artists.  Imperial  8to,  cloth,  richly  gilt. 
Price,  $6  00. 

NATURE;  or,  The  Poetry  of  Earth  and  Sea.  From  the  French  of  Mme. 
Michelet.  With  upwards  of  two  hundred  illustrations,  drawn  specially  for 
this  work  by  Giacomelli  (illustrator  of  "  The  Bird"),  and  engraved  by  the 
most  eminent  French  and  English  artists.  Imperial  8vo,  cloth,  richly  gilt. 
Price,  $7  50. 

THE  MOUNTAIN.  From  the  French  of  Jules  Michelet,  author  of  "The 
Bird,"  &c.  With  upAvards  of  sixty  illustrations  by  Peecival  Skelton  and 
Clark  Stanton.    Imperial  8vo,  cloth,  richly  gilt.    Price,  $6  00. 

THE  MYSTERIES  OF  THE  OCEAN.  From  the  French  of  Arthur  Man- 
gin.  By  the  translator  of  "The  Bird."  With  one  hundred  and  thirty 
illustrations  by  W.  Freeman  and  J.  Noel.  Imperial  8vo,  full  gilt  side  and 
gilt  edges.     Price,  $6  00. 

THE  BIRD.  By  Jules  Michelet,  author  of  "History  of  France,"  &c.  Illus- 
trated by  two  hundred  and  ten  exquisite  engravings  by  Giacomelli.  Im- 
perial 8vo,  full  gilt  side  and  gilt  edges.     Price,  $6  00. 

THE  SEA.  By  Jules  Michelet,  author  of  "The  Bird,"  &c.  With  handsome 
full-page  illustrations  by  Giacomelli  and  others.  Imperial  8vo,  cloth, 
richly  gilt.    Price,  $6  GO. 

BOOKS  OP  TRAVEL  AND  ADVENTURE,  FOR  BOYS. 

BY  W.   H.   G.  KINGSTON. 
THE    WESTERN    WORLD.      Picturesque  Sketches  of  Nature  and  Natural 

History  in  North  and  South  America.     With  nearly  two  hundred  engrav- 
ings.    Crown  8vo,  cloth  extra.     Price,  $3  00. 
ON  THE  BANKS  OF  THE  AMAZON.     A  Boy's  Journal  of  his  Adventures 

in  the  Tropical  Wilds  of  South  America.    With  one  hundred  and  twenty 

illustrations.     Crown  8yo,  cloth  extra,  gilt  edges.     Price,  $2  50. 
IN   THE   EASTERN   SEAS;   or,   The  Regions  of  the  Bird  of  Paradise. 

A  Tale  for  Boys.    With  one  hundred  and  eleven  illustrations.     Crown  8vo, 

cloth,  richly  gilt.    Price,  S2  50. 
IN   THE   WILDS   OF  AFRICA.     With  sixty-six  illustrations.     Crown  8vo, 

cloth,  richly  gilt.    Price,  $2  50. 
ROUND    THE    WORLD.       A  Tale  for  Boys.      With  fifty-two  engravings. 

Crown  8vo,  cloth  extra.    Price,  $2  50. 
OLD  JACK.     A  Sea  Tale.    With  sixty  engravings.    Crown  8vo,  cloth  extra. 

Price,  $2  50. 
MY  FIRST  VOYAGE  TO  SOUTHERN  SEAS.     With  forty-two  engravings. 

Crown  8vo,  cloth  extra.    Price,  $2  50. 

NELSON'S   POPULAR   GUIDE   BOOKS. 

NIAGARA  AND  VICINITY.  A  New  Series.  Twelve  views,  beautifully  exe- 
cuted.    Fancy  cover,  25  cents  ;  muslin  cover,  50  cents. 

SALT  LAKE  CITY  AND  UTAH.  Twelve  oil-colored  views.  Muslin, 
fancy  cover,  75  cents. 

UNION  PACIFIC  RAILWAY.  Twelve  oil-colored  views.  Muslin,  fancy 
cover,  75  cents. 

CENTRAL  PACIFIC  RAILWAY.  Twelve  oil-colored  views.  Muslin,  fancy 
cover,  75  cents. 

CALIFORNIA  AND  THE  YO  SEMITE  VALLEY.  Twelve  oil-colored  views. 
Muslin,  fancy  cover,  75  cents. 

Published  by  THOMAS  NELSON  &  SONS,  New  York. 

rOK  SAI.E  BY  AI,I.  BOOKSIi:i.I.ERS. 


54.  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


jf()  ifl  ^ 


If 

1420  CHESTNUT  STREET,  PHILADELPHIA, 

Keep  coDHtantly  on  hand  a  full  supply  of 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL  LIBRARY  BOOKS, 

Embracing  some    Ttto  Tliousand  Volumes  of  their  own  publications, 

and  selections  from  leading  Sunday-school  publishers.    These  books  are 

of  the  choicest  kind,  new  and  interesting.     Also, 

BIBLES  AND  TESTAMENTS, 

Of  all  varieties,  sizes  and  styles.    Teacters*  Eibles  a  siDecialty. 

Sunday-School   ;^ids   and   Requisites, 

Maps,  Blackboards,  Chromo  Reward  Cards,  Wall  Texts,  Commentaries,  Diction- 
aries, and  everything  necessary  to  a  well-equipped  Sunday-school,  or  to 
aid  the  teacher  in  his  work,  kept  on  hand  or  furnished  to  order. 

SUTOAY-SGHOOL  SINGIl^a  BOOKS, 

All  the  popular  and  latest  publications. 

STATIONERY   AND    FANCY    GOODS, 

A  full  line,  English  and  domestic. 


PERIODICAL  DEPARTMENT. 

The  Society  also  publishes  the  following  list  of  Periodicals : 

The  Baptist  Quarterly,  a  Theological  Review, price,  S3  00 

Tlae  National  Baptist,  for  the  Family "         3  60 

The  Baptist  Teacher,  for  Sunday-school  Workers....     "  75 

The  Young  Reaper,  for  Sunday-school  Scholars "  75 

Our  Little  Ones,  for  the  Nursery "  60 

All  the  above  Periodicals  will  be  sent  to  one  address,  for  one  year,  post-paid, 
for  $5.00.     Two  grades  of 

BIBLE  LESSON  LEAFLETS, 

Intermebiate  and  Primary,  on  the  INTERNATIONAL  SERIES  OP  BIBLE 

LESSONS,  are  issued.    Price,  75  cents  for  100  copies  for  one  month;  or, 

$9.00  for  100  copies  for  one  year — postage  paid. 

Subscriptions  for  JPeriodicals  can  commence  at  any  time  and 
continue  for  any  length  of  time. 

*^*  Orders  by  mail,  for  anything  in  our  line,  will  receive  prompt  attention. 
Satisfaction  guaranteed.  Address, 

B.  GRIFFITH,  Secretary, 

1420  CHESTNUT  ST.,  PHILADELPHIA. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  55 


CALVARY  SONGS, 

A  NEW  HYMN  AND  TUNE  BOOK, 

For  the  Family  and  the  Sunday- School. 


PEEPABED   BY 


Rev.  CHAS.  S.  EOBINSON,  D.D.,  and  THEODOSE  E.  PEEEINS. 

JUST    PUBLISHED    BY 

THE  AMERICAN  SUNDAY-SCHOOL  UNION. 

Price  35  cents.     100  Copies,  $30. 


A  Beautiful   Gift  Bock! 

ILLUSTRATED 

Rambles  in  Bible  Lands. 

By  Eev.  EIOHAED  NEWTOlf,  D.L. 

SIXTY  LAEGE  ENGEAVINGS.    HAPSOMEIY  BOUND  IN  CLOTH. 

Price  $2.50.     Gilt  Edges,  $3. 

Catalogues  and  specimen  copies  of  the  SUNDAY-SCHOOL  WORLD 
a  monthly  paper  for  Teachers,  and  the  CHILD'S  WORLD,  published 
twice  a  month,  furnished  gratuitously  and  subscriptions  received  at  the 

DEPOSITORIES  OF 

TEE  AMERICAN  SUNDAY- SCHOOL  UNION 

PHILADELPHIA,  No.  1122  Chestnut  Street.-A.  Kirkpateick 

NEW  YORK,  No.  10  Bible  House.-G.  S.  Scofiei^d 

BOSTON,  No.  40  Winter  Street.- J.  A.  Ckowley.  ' 

CHICAGO,  No.  98  Dearborn  Street.— W.  R.  Port 

ST.  LOUIS,  No.  207  N.  Sixth  Street.-S.  Passon.' 


56  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


930  Arch  St.,  Philadelphia. 


»  ♦  ♦ 


A.  J.  HOLMAN  &  CO. 

PUBLISHERS  OF 

Pamilj  and  Pulpit  BiUes, 

MANUFACTURERS    OF 

PHOTOGRAPI^ALBUMS. 

FIRST  PKEimS  AWAEMD  FOR  ^mniisTEATED  FAIIIY  BIBLES 


BY    THE 


Our    numerous    styles    oi    UiliLiiii&    vary    nyi"    "^  •  „TrkTTTP  T'B'VA'N'T. 

HOW  TO  WRITE  LETTERS. 

By  Prof.  J.  Willis  Westlake,  A.M. 

A  reference  book  for  the  desk  and  a  Text  book  for  schools;  allowing  the 
Letters,  Notes  and  Cards.    It  is  intended  as 

AN   AUTHORITATIVE  WORK, 

to  which  the  most  cultured  writer  may  resort,  in  <i«,f  ^mg  the  perplexmg  ques- 
tions  concerning  art  and  propriety  which  occasionally  occur  to  eveij  one. 
Cloth,  $1.00, •  Extra  Gilt  and  Gilt  Edged,  $1.50. 

LITERATURE  FORTiTTLE  FOLKS. 

By  Elizabeth  lloyd. 

Gems  from  standard  authors  in  child-literature  to  J^«  .^XS  ^""^  '^'^ 
lessons  in  language,  thought,  observation,  composition  and  authorship. 
Boards,  50  cts.f  Cloth,  Gilt,  75  ets. 

SOWER,  POTTS  &  CO. 

TvBX.iSKi:ns  of  the  universally  approved  Normal  Series  op  School  Books, 

530  Market  St.  (the  site  of  Pres't  Washington's  Residence,) 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  57 


PUBLISHEK, 
]Vo.  630  Chestnut  St.,  PliiladelpMa. 


PULPIT  AND  FAMiLY 

Quarto  Bibles. 

TESTAMENTS 


AND 


Photograph  Albums. 


For  nearly  half  of  THE  CENTURY  just  closing  HARDING'S 
EDITIONS  of  the  BIBLE  have  been  before  the  public,  and 
they  are  too  well  and  favorably  known  to  need  our  praises.  But 
recently  many  NEW  and  Elegant  Styles  have  been  added  to  the 
list,  and  Improvements  have  been  made  in  the  naechanical  execu- 
tion of  these  editions,  rendering  them  still  more  acceptable. 
Attention  is  especially  invited  to  the  rich  Oxford  styles  of  binding. 

PULPIT  EDITIONS— Large  type. 

FAMILY  EDITIONS— (With  and  without  auxiliary  matter, 
such  as  Bible  Dictionary,  History,  Photograph  Leaves,  &c.) 

POCKET  EDITIONS— Oxford,  Bagster,  and  other  fine  edi- 
tions. 

TESTAMENTS  AND  PRATER  BOOKS. 

A    VERY    EXTESrSIVE    liINB    OF 

Photog^^aph  A.lbumSf 
A.lbu7ns  for  ViewSf 

Stereoscopic  and  Graphoscopic  Albums, 
Photo-Autograph  Albums,  &c»,  &c* 

W.   >Ar.    HARDING, 

No.  630  Chestnut  Street,  Philadelphia. 

CARS  FROM  THE  CENTENNIAL  GROUNDS  and  from  all  parts  of  the 
cit3^  BRING  VISITORS  ALMOST  TO  THE  DOOR. 


58  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


METHODIST  EPISCOPAL 

BOOKAND  PUBLISHING  HOUSE, 

PHILADELPHIA 

CONFERENCE  TRACT  SOCIETY. 

No.  1018  Arch  Street. 

. ■  ♦■ . 

General  Depositor}^  of  Methodist  Books,  Tracts  and  Periodicals. 

ALSO, 

CHUnOH  ANL  SUNDAY-SCHOOL  MUSIC. 

Books  for  Children  and  Sunday -School  Libraries  a  Specialty. 

J.  B.  McCULLOUGH,  Agent, 

1018  Arch   Street, 

4®=Arch  Street  Cars  pass  the  door.  PHILADELPHIA. 

JAMES  K.  SIMON, 

29  South  Sixth  Street,  above  Chestnut, 

Philadelphia, 

Dealer  in  StaMard  and  Miscellaneous  Boots, 

AND 

PUBLISHER  OF  E.  WRIGLEY'S   WORKS  ON   BUILDING 
ASSOCIATIONS,  viz. 

BUILDING  ASSOCIATIONS; 

>A7'HAT  THEY   ARE   AND   HO\A7'  TO   USE  THEM. 
FMICE,  75  CENTS. 

AND 

HOW  TO  MANAGE  BUILDING  ASSOCIATIONS. 

A    DIRECTORS'    GUIDE. 
PRICE,  $'4.00. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  59 

"We  advise  all  Americans  to  read  it  carefully  and  judge  for  themselves  if 'the 
future  historian  of  our  war,'  of  whom  we  have  heard  so  much,  be  not  already- 
arrived  in  the  Comte  de  Paris.  The  translation  is  very  good."— The  Nation, 
New  York. 

"  It  is  so  superior  to  all  those  preceding  it  that  there  is  not  one  in  America  or 
Europe  worthy  to  be  placed  in  the  same  class." — Saturday  Heview,  London, 
England. 

HISTORY 

OF    THE 

CIVIL  WAR  IN  AMERICA. 

BY 

THE  COMTE  DE  PARIS. 

Translated  with  the  approval^  of  the  author,  hy  LOUIS  F.  TASISTEO. 
Edited  by  HENET  OOPPEE,  LL.D.    Each  volume  embracing,  without 
abridgment,  two  volumes  of  the  Prench  Edition,    With  Maps  faith- 
fully engraved  from  the  originals,  and  printed  in  three  colors. 
8vo,  per  vol.,  Cloth,  $3.50;   Sheep,  Library  Style,  $4.50; 
Half  Turkey  Morocco,  $6.00. 

VOIL.IS.    I.    i^]VI>    II.    ]VOW    REA.OY. 

To  be  complete  in  4=  Vols. 

*  *-m  m  » 

KIXG  AND  COMMONWEALiTH.  A  History  of  Charles  I.  and  the 
Great  Kebellion.  By  B.  Meriton  Cordeey  and  J.  Subtees  Phillpotts, 
editor  of  "  Epoch  of  History  Series."  Crown  8vo,  with  Maps  and  Plans. 
Cloth,  $1  75. 

CANON  KlINGStEY'S  LECTURES,  Delivered  in  America. 

Edited  by  Mrs.  Kinuslet     Toned  paper,  12mo,  cloth,  $1  25. 

Contents— Westminster  Abbey— The  First  Discovery  of  America— The 
Stage  as  it  once  was — The  Servant  of  the  Loi'd — Ancient  Civilization. 

"  We  know  of  no  recent  book  that  contains,  in  the  same  space,  so  much 
well  worth  reading." — Boston  Courier. 

AX    ACCOUNT    OF   THE  CENTENNIAIj    EXHIBITION  OF 

1 8  76.  A  handsome  blank-book  with  Illustrations,  Index,  &c.,  &c.,  in  which 
visitors  to  the  Exhibition  may  record  a  narrative  of  their  trip,  for  the  benefit 
of  those  at  home,  and  for  future  reference.  Conveniently  divided  into 
chapters,  and  with  suggestions,  &c.,  &c.  Yarious  sizes,  styles  and  prices. 
DIARY  OF  VISITS  TO  THE  EXHIBITION.  A  small  blank- 
book,  pocket  size,  for  daily  notes  in  connection  with  the  above,  or  for  sepa- 
rate use.  With  Calendar,  Street  Directory  of  Philadelphia,  and  various 
useful  information ;  blank  space  for  sixty  days,  a  space  of  a  page  or  more 
to  each  day.    Cloth  extra,  50  cents. 

J.  H.  COATES  &  CO.,  PubUshers, 

PHILADELPHIA. 
***  For  sale  at  all  bookstores,  or  sent  by  mail  on  receipt  of  price. 


60 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


No.   822  Chestnut  Street,  PhiladelpMa. 


The  Zargest  and  Sest  Stock  in  the  City. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  61 

pORTER  &  CRATES, 

No.   822  Chestnut  Street, 
PHILADELPHIA, 

Have  now  in  store  a  most  complete  and  varied  stock  of  Books, 
comprising  choice 

GIFT  BOOKS, 

STANDARD  AUTHORS, 
JUVENILE  BOOKS, 

AND  OTHEES  IN  GREAT  VAEIETT. 

In  addition  to  their  very  elegant  stock  of  Gift  Books,  they 
have  on  hand  the  best  editions  of 

Standard  English  &  American  Aut/jors, 

superbly  bound  by  the  best  binders  of  this  country  and  Europe. 


THEIK    stock;    of 


Juvenile  Books,  BilDles,  Prayer  Books, 

ALBUMS,  &c.,  &c., 

is  the  largest  and  best  selected  in  the  city,  and  in  such  great 
variety  that  every  taste  can  be  suited. 

The  very  lowest  cash  price. 


62  ADVERTISEMENTS. 


THE 

International  Series 


OF 


NEW  AKD  APPROVED  NOVELS. 


Iiarge  12mo,  printed  in  large  clear  type  (easily  readable, 

where  tlie  ordinary  double  column,  unleaded  8vo. 

is  too  great  a  strain  on  the  eyes). 

Paper  Covers  {marked ^),  75  cents;  others,    .        .        .    $1.00 

Price,  per  vol..  Light  lead-colored  English   Cloth,   Black 

Stampings,         . 1.25 

n,  IN  THE  DAYS  OP  MY  YOUTH. 

By  Amelia  B.  Edwards,  authoress  of  "  Barbara's  History,"  etc. 

"  A  singularly  brilliant  novel." — E.  P.  Whipple,  in  the  Boston  Globe. 

2.  CHARLOTTE  ACKERMAN. 

From  the  German  of  Otto  MiIller,  by  Mrs.  Chapman  Coleman  and  her 

daughters,  the  translators  of  the  "  Muhlbach  "  novels. 
"  Carefully  written,  well  digested,  and  exhibits  great  merit." — Times,  New 
Orleans. 

3.  THE  CROSS  OP  BERNY. 

Written  jointly  by  Mme.  Emile  de  Gieaedin,  Mme.  Theophile  Gautier, 
Jules  Sandeau,  and  Jules  Meet. 

"  A  book  of  unusual  brilliancy  and  of  curious  literary  interest As  a 

story  it  is  no  less  notable  than  as  a  collaboration,  distinguished  by  a  plot  of  deep 
interest,  characters  drawn  with  masterly  power,  and  a  style  of  dazzling  bril- 
liancy."— Saturday  JEvening  Gazette,  Boston. 

4.  THE  SON  OP  THE  ORGAN-GRINDER* 

By  Marie  Sophie  Schwartz,  author  of  "Gold  and  Name,"  etc. 
"At  once  a  remarkable  study  of  character,  a  discussion  of  politico-social  pro- 
blems, and  a  fascinating  story." — Globe,  St.  Louis. 

*5.  NO  ALTERNATIVE. 

By  Annie  Thomas,  authoress  of  "  Dennis  Donne,"  etc. 

"  One  of  the  very  best  novels  of  this  year." — Dr.  R.  Shelton  Mackenzie. 

6.  GERDA. 

By  M  \RiE  Sophie  Schwartz. 

"  A  very  fascinating  story." — Golden  Age,  New  York. 

*7.  THE  VICISSITUDES  OP  BESSIE  PAIRPAX. 

By  Holme  Lee,  author  of  "  Sylvan  Holt's  Daughter,"  etc. 
"  Her  former  novels  betoken  the  possession  of  rare  talent,  which  is  shown 
to  still  better  advantage  in  this  book." — Globe,  Boston. 

*8.  VALENTINE,  THE  COUNTESS. 

From  the  German  of  Carl  Detlep  (Miss  Clara  Baur),  by  M.  S. 
"  An  exceedingly  good  novel,  with  a  clever  plot  and  some  remarkably  strong 
bits  of  character-drawing." — Saturday  Evening  Gazette,  Boston. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  63 


*9.  CHASTE  AS  ICE,  PURE  AS  SNOW. 

By  Mrs.  M.  C.  Despaed. 

"  In  a  certain  refinement  of  thought  and  subtle  analysis  of  motive,  the  author 
has  shown  herself  quite  the  equal  of  some  of  the  most  famous  of  English  female 
novelists." — Christian  at  Work,  New  York. 

*10.  GENTIANELLA. 

By  Mrs.  Randolph. 

"  The  novel  is  intensely  interesting,  and  from  the  opening  chapter  to  the  end 
of  the  volume  the  reader  is  held  intent." — The  Traveler,  Boston. 

m.  KATERFELTO. 

A  Story  of  Exmoor.    By  G.  J.  Whtte-Melville. 

This  novel  is  commended  by  the  London  Athenseum,  Globe,  and  other  papers 
as  the  author's  best.    It  ran  through  three  editions  in  England  in  a  few  weeks. 

12.  OLDBURY. 

By  Annie  Keaet.  author  of  "Janet's  Home,"  etc. 

"  It  is  a  carefully-written  and  well-considered  work,  characterized  by  power 
in  its  leading  incidents,  and  by  skill  and  judgment  in  its  conduct  and  develop- 
ment."— Boston  Gazette. 

n3.  AT  CAPRI. 

A  Story  of  Italian  Life.    By  Carl  Detlef. 

"This  author  writes  with  a  deeper  purpose  in  mind  than  mere  amusement, 
and  has  deservedly  won  a  high  place  among  the  modern  German  writers  of 
fiction." — Saturday  Evening  Gazette,  Boston. 

14.  APRAJA;  Or,  LIFE  and  LOVE  IN  NORWAY. 

By  Theodore  MiieoK. 

"  One  of  tiie  most  remarkable  romances  of  this  generation," — Bayard  Taylor. 

15.  CASTLE  DALY. 

By  Annie  Kf^rt. 

"  A  really  good  novel.  ...  It  is  really  a  pleasure  to  come  across  so  unpre- 
tending, clever,  natural,  and,  if  the  word  may  be  used,  so  unmorbid  a  novel  as 
'Castle  Daly.'  It  r"minds  us  strongly  of  some  of  the  best  of  Miss  Edgeworth's 
novels  with  the  strong  bias  taken  out." — The  Nation,  New  York. 

ne.  A  MARRIAGE  IN  HIGH  LIFE. 

"  It  is  pleasant  to  make  the  acquaintance  of  so  bright  and  entertaining  a 
writer,  and  those  who  are  not  already  familiar  with  him  cannot  make  his 
acquaintance  more  agreeably  than  in  ''Marriage  in  High  Life."  The  dialogue 
is  as  bright  and  piquant  as  possible,  and — incredible  as  it  may  seem — has  not 
been  spoiled  in  the  translation. — Philadelphia  Times. 

17.  ON  DANGEROUS  GROUND;  Or,  AGATHA'S 
FRIENDSHIP. 

By  Mrs.  Bloomfield  H.  Moore. 

"The  dialogue  is  sparkling,  the  characters  unexaggerated,  and  the  whole 
marked  by  a  well-bred  familiarity  with  the  subject,  which  has  been  conspicu- 
ously absent  from  the  majority  of  preceding  efforts  to  depict  fashionable 
society. — N.  T.  World. 

*18.  AN  ODD  COUPLE. 

By  Mrs.  Oliphant,  author  of  "The  Chronicles  of  Carlingford,"  etc. 

19.  THE  PRIME  MINISTER. 

By  Anthony  Trollope,  author  of  "The  Small  House  at  AUington,"  "Orley 
Farm,"  "  Phineas  Einn." 

PORTER  &  COATES,  Publishers, 

PHILADELPHIA. 


64  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

PORTRAIT  OF  LOHfiFELLOW, 

This  splendid  life-size  Portrait  of  Mr.  Longfellow  was  prepared  by  his  special 
permission,  and  was  drawn  on  stone  by  Mr.  J.  E.  Ba.ker,  wiio  is  acknowledged 
to  be  one  of  the  best  and  most  snccessful  artists  in  this  class  of  work.  The  result 
is  a  lithographic  portrait,  24  X  30  inches,  which  inny  well  hang  in  every  library 
and  every  home  in  the  country.  The  softness  of  tone,  combined  with  excellence 
ot  drawing,  render  the  portrait  satisfactory  as  a  work  of  art,  while  the  truthful- 
ness of  portraiture  and  the  feeling  in  the  picture  will  make  it  a  worthy  reminder 
of  the  Par/r  of  Amecicv. 

Tiie  Publishers  subm't  a  few  of  the  expressions  of  opinion  which  have  come  to 
them  from  those  who  are  in  a  position  to  judge  of  the  excellence  of  the  work. 

WILLIAM  CULLEN  BRYANT.  "I  shall  greatly  value  the  large  portrait 
of  Longfellow  which  you  have  published.  It  is  a  fine  head,  and  seems  to  me 
successful  in  every  respect." 

DR.  OLIVER  WENDELL  HOLMES.  «' Remembering  that  no  single  por- 
trait can  give  us  all  that  we  remember  in  the  changing  features  of  our  friends  as 
we  see  them  in  their  various  moods,  I  am  more  tlian  satisfied  with  this  as  per- 
petuating one  of  the  poet's  most  characteristic  looks.  The  author  of  the  '  Psalm 
of  Life,'  and  of  '  Resignation,'  could  hardly  be  more  perfectly  idealized  than  as 
he  is  here  presented  to  us." 

JAMES  RUSSELL  LOWELL.  "I  should  be  glad  to  think  that  so  good  a 
likeness  of  the  poet  should  make  his  face  familiar  in  the  countless  households 
that  have  been  made  happier  and  better  by  his  poetry." 

GEORGE  WILLIAM  CURTIS.  "  To  his  personal  friends  it  will  be  invalu- 
able, while  the  vast  host  of  friends  who  do  not  personally  know  him  will  have 
in  it  a  most  faithful  and  satisfactory  likeness." 

BAYAR  D  TAYLOR.  "  It  is  one  of  the  most  admirable  likenesses  I  have  ever 
seen  and  I  can  scarcely  imagine  a  better  representation  of  the  poet  and  the  man." 

SAMUEL  L.  CLEMENS  ("Mark  Twain").  "To  condense  all  commenda- 
tion into  a  single  sentence,  I  think  it  the  perfection  of  a  portrait." 

This  portrait  ran  be  had  only  by  subscribers  to  The  Atlantic  Monthly,  and 
the  price  of  the  magiziue  and  portrait  has  been  placed  at  the  low  sum  of  $5.00, 
postage  on  both  being  prepaid  by  the  Publishers.  , 

THE  PROGRAMME  OF  THE  ATLA17TI0  FOR  1876, 

Includes  contributions  from  the  ablest  and  best  writers  in  the  country.  LONG- 
FELLOW, LOWELL,  HOLMES  and  WHITTIER  will  iurnish,  as  hitherto, 
their  latest  and  best  productions  to  the  public  through  the  Atlantic.  WARNER 
and  ALDRICH vfiW  write  of  Eastern  and  Continental  Travel ;  GEN.  HO  WARD 
will  give  his  recollections  of  Gettysburg  and  other  famous  battles  of  the  War  ; 
and  MARK  TWAINvf'iW.  contribute  some  of  his  inimitable  papers.  MR.  HOW- 
ELLS'S  stovy,  "■Private  Theatrical.^,''  MRS.KEMBLE'S-'Old  Woman's  Gossip," 
and  MR.  ADAMS'S  papers  on  Railroads  will  be  among  the  special  features  of 
the  year,  and  new  attractions  will  be  constantly  added.  QUESTIONS  OF  PUB- 
LIC INTEREST  \i\\\  be  discussed  upon  the  plan  adopted  by  the  Atlantic  of 
having  both  sides  presented  independently  by  representative  and  authoritative 
writers.  The  magazine  will  present,  as  in  the  case  of  Free  Trade,  the  opposite 
sides  of  the  questions  of  Currency,  Catholicism  and  State  Education,  Railroads, 
State  and  Municipal  Debts,  State  Rights  and  Centralization,  by  the  leading  pub- 
licists of  the  country.  ,,.      ,        ,       ...         &  m  nn 

TERMS  :  Single  or  specimen  numbers,  35  cents.  Yearly  subscriptions,  $4.0U, 
postage  free;  with  life-size  portrait  of  the  poet  Longfellow.  $5.00. 

Remittances  by  mail  should  be  sent  by  a  money-order,  draft  on  New  York  or 
Boston,  or  registered  letter,  to  H.  0.  Houghton  &  Co.,  Riverside  Press,  Cam- 
bridge, Mass. 

H    0   HOUGHTON  AND  COMPANY,  cor.  Bacon  and  Somerset  Sts.,  Boston. 
HURD  AND  HOUGHTON,  13  Astor  Place,  New  York. 

f^e  llifacrsibe  f rcss,  Cambnbge. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


65 


M^ITHOTJT    JL    ItlV^LJI 


VOL.  ZZIII. 


1875. 


The  Tttrp,  Field  and  Far^i  Las  by  far  the  largest  circulation  of  any  paper 
of  its  class  published  in  the  country.  Its  contributors  are  geutleTuen  of  culture 
and  ability,  and  the  corps  of  editors  are  recognized  authority  in  their  several 
dei)artments.  The  high  moral  tone  and  advocacy  of  healthy,  elevating  and  manly 
sports  have  won  for  the  Turf,  Field  and  Farm  the  approval  of  the  intelligent 
and  best  people  in  the  land.  The  substantial  evidence  of  its  growing  popularity 
is  the  continual  increase  of  circulation  throughout  the  WORLD. 


STADAKD  PUBLICATIONS  ON  THE  HORSE,  FIELD,  SPORTS,  ETC. 

American  Stud  Book  (Bruce),  2  vols $20  00 

Forester'sHorseof  America  (revised  by  Messrs.  Bruce),  2  vols.  10  00 

Tlie  Horse  in  the  Stable  and  Field  (Stonehenge),  1  vol 4  00 

American  Turf  Register  and  Racing  Calendar  lor  1870, 1871, 
1872,  1873,  1874,  1875,  and  1876  (our  annual   publication), 

each  vol 3  00 

A  Complete  IVIanual  for  Young  Sportsmen 3  00 

Hurnham's  New  Poultry  Book 3  00 

Simpson's  Horse  Portraiture  (a  treatise  on  Handling  Trot- 
ters), 1  vol 3  00 

New  American  Farm  Book  (a  tliorough  Farmer's  Guide)...  2  50 

American  Wild  Fowl  Shooting 2  00 

Tlie  Trapper's  Guide,  useful  Instructions  to  Sportsmen 2  00 

Field  Cover  and  Trap  Shooting,  by  Captain  Bogardus,  Cham- 
pion Wing  Shot  of  America 2  00 

Practical  Trout  Culture,  by  Dr.  J,  H.  Slack 1  60 

Racing  Rules,  50  cents;  Trotting  Rules 25 

American  Rowing  Almanac  and  Oarsman's  Pocket  Com- 
panion, 1873, 1874, 1875,  and  1876  (our  annual  publication), 

morocco  covers,  $1  00;  cloth 50 

Magnificent  Steel  Engravings  (12^16)  of  Celebrated  Horses, 

PMICE,  50  CENTS  EACH, 


"TURF,  FIELD  AND  FARM," 

For  Sale  by  Newsdealers  throughoxit  tlie  World. 
Send  stamp  for  CATAiiOGUE  and  Premitim  Lists. 

Address,  TURF,  FIELD  AND  FARM, 

37  Park  Eow,  New  York. 


G6 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


THK 


\\ 


hx\Mi^\m  £ 


mm^  mMm 


IS  published  every  afternoon,  and  is  served  upon  all  Railroads  and  Steamboat 
routes  running  out  of  Philadelphia;  to  city  subscribers  in  all  sections,  by 
prompt  and  careful  carriers ;  and  by  mail  to  all  parts  of  the  country. 

THE  PHILADELPHIA  EVENING-  BULLETIN 

is  a  large,  eight-page  paper,  established  in  1847,  and  devoted  to 

TJSJEJ  FAMILY,  THE  MERCHANT, 

THE  MANUFACTUMEB,  and  THE  PUBJLZC  GENEBALLT. 

It  presents  a  daily  complete  record  of  all  the 

IMPOBTAIyTT  JSTE^WS 

of  the  world,  surpassing  in  this  department  any  other  afternoon  newspaper  in 
Philadelphia. 

Its  Editorial  Columns  are  devoted  to 

INDEPENDENT  DISCUSSION, 

and  its  pages  are  daily  supplied  with  a  great  variety  of  the  choicest  current 
Literature  in  all  departments  of  popular  interest,  so  making  it 

THE  BEST  VARIETY  PAPER. 

By  its  large  circulation  amongst  the  most  intelligent  and  substantial  classes 
of  the  community,  it  has  long  been  recognized  in  business  circles  as  unsurpassed 
in  its  advantages,  in  this  city,  as  a  desirable 

ADVERTISING  MEDIUM. 

The  newspaper  which  is  read  at  the  Fireside  as  well  as  in  the  Counting 
House,  is  the  one  that  serves  the  best  purpose  of  business  men  as 

AN  ADVERTISER, 

and  it  is  the  aim  of  the  proprietors  of  the 

EVENING  BULLETIN 

TO   MAKE   IT 

Useful  to  the  Public, 

Attractive  at  the  Fireside, 

Valuable  to  Business  Men 

in  every  branch  of  industry. 

The  EVENING  BULLETIN  devotes  large  space  and  attention  to  careful 
and  accurate 

FINANCIAL  AND  COMMERCIAL 

reports  of  the  leading  Domestic  and  Pobeign  Markets. 

For  particular  information  in  regard  to  advertising,  address  the  proprietors, 

PEACOCK,  FETHERSTON  &  CO., 

PHILADEIiPHIA. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  67 

THE  PRESS 

Is  a  first-class  eight-page  paper,  of  forty-eight   columns,  published 
-    every  morning  (except  Sundays). 

Daily  Press  (by  mail),  $8.75  per  annum;  $4.40  for  six  months; 
$2.20  for  three  months,  including  postage.  Served  by  carriers  in  the 
city  at  18  cents  per  week. 

TRI-WEEKLY    PRESS. 

$4.40  per  annum;  $2.20  for  six  months;  $1.10  for  three  months,  in- 
cluding postage. 

THE    WEEKLY    PRESS, 

The  best  Weekly  Newspaper  in  the  United  States. 

One  copy,  one  year,  including  postage,      .         .         .         .         .  $2  00 

Five    copies,   ''                 "               " 9  50 

Ten          «         «                 «               "             16  00 

Twenty  «         «                 "               « 29  00 

Fifty       "        «                "              " 60  00 

All  orders  should  be  addressed  to 

JOH^   W.   FORNEY,  Editor  and  Proprietor, 

7th  and  Chestnut  Sts.,  Philadelphia. 

WISSAHICKON  PAPER  MILLS, 
HANWELL  PAPER  MILLS. 

MANTirACTURE 

ZFiiTEi  book:. 
Printing  &  Map  Papers. 

<■*•»> ■ 

The  undersigned  are  sole  Agents  for  the  above,  and  a  number  of 
NEW  ENGLAND  MILLS,  that  give  them  a  complete  assortment  of  all 
the  variety  of  Papers,  including  Plate,  Map,  Printing,  Writing 
and  Colored. 

CHAS.  MAGARGE  &  CO. 

Nos.  30j  32  &  34  South.  Sixth.  Street, 
PHILADELPHIA. 


68  ADVERTISEMENTS. 

27  N.  Sixth   St.,  128  William   St., 

PHILADELPHIA.  NEW  YORK. 

JESSUP  &  MOORE 

Paper  Manufacturers 


IMPORTERS    OF 


PAPER  MAKERS'  SUPPLIES. 


MAKE  TO  ORDER,  AND  HAVE  IN  STORE, 

WRITING  PAPER, 

Standard   Sizes  and  Weight. 

COPPER-PLATE  PAPERS, 

Standard  Sizes  and  Weight. 

LITHOGRAPH   PAPERS, 

Standard  Sizes  and  Weight. 

SUPER-CALLENDERED    BOOK, 

(VARIOUS  TINTS.)     Standard  Sizes  and  Weight. 

BOOK    PAPER, 

Standard  Sizes  and  Weight. 

NEWSPAPER, 

Standard  Sizes  and  Weight. 


Samples  sent  upon  application. 


ADVERTISEMENTS.  69 


HAVERFORD  COLLEGE, 

Near  Haverford  College  Station,  Pennsylvania  Railroad, 
nine  miles  west  of  Philadelphia. 


This  College,  noted  for  the  thoroughness  of  its  instruction, 
offers  TWO  COURSES  of  liberal  training  :  one  for  the  Degree 
of  Bachelor  of  Arts,  the  other  for  that  of  Bachelor  of  Science. 

Its  location  is  remarkably  healthy,  its  grounds  extensive  and 
attractive,  and  it  provides  for  its  students  an  agreeable  and 
comfortable  home.  Endeavoring  to  promote  sound  moral,  as 
well  as  intellectual  culture,  it  is  designed  to  be  a  family  of 
Christian  scholars  ;  and  this  is  a  distinctive  feature  in  its  char- 
acter. 

The  price  of  Board  and  Tuition  is  $425.00  per  annum,  pay- 
able one-half  at  the  beginning,  and  one-half  at  the  middle,  of 
the  College  year. 

There  are  three  Terms  in  the  year,  beginning,  in  1876,  First 
month  (Jan.)  5th,  Fourth  month  (April)  26th,  and  Ninth  month 
(Sept.)  6th,  respectively.  The  next  Academical  Year  will  open 
Ninth  month  {Sept.)  6th,  1876. 

CANDIDATES  FOR  ADMISSION  will  present  themselves 
at  the  College  for  Examination  on  the  afternoon  of  Commencement 
Bay,  Sixth  month  (June)  28th,  1876,  or  at  nine  o'clock  on  the 
morning  of  JVinth  month  (Sept.)  bth.  Examinations  for  admis- 
sion are  also  held  on  the  mornings  preceding  the  opening  of 
the  Winter  and  Spring  Terms. 

For  Circulars  or  Catalogues,  address 

Pres.  THOMAS  CHASE, 

Haverford  College  P.  O., 

Montgomery  County,  Penna. 


70 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


MASON  &  CO 


[ESTABLISHED  1823.] 

1202  CHESTNUT  STREET  1202 
HERALDRT, 

HERALDIC  PAINTING, 

I 

Illuminating, 

Engraving  and  Die  Sinking, 

WEDDING   INVITATIONS. 
Visiting  Cards 


&W 


^ 


RUSSIA   LEATHER  GOODS. 


Samples  of    Fine   Stationery  sent  free 
upon   application. 


ADVERTISEMENTS. 


H.  T,  HOYTi       -\  1303  j  OWEN  DAT, 

Late  of  r  mim  •  ■      ^  •      'j  Late  of 

P.A.HOTT  &  BEOJ  CJieStlllLt    St.  ^HUGHES  &  MULLER. 


HOYT  &L  DAY, 


LEADERS   OF 


ENGLISH  AND  PARISIAN  FASHIONS, 


AND   IMPORTEBS   OF 


<^£]MTLEMEJM'g    'pABRICg. 


Mr.    OW^JV  DAY^   being   in  charge  of  the 
Cutting  Department  is  sufficient  guaran- 
tee to  our    Customers   that   the   latest 
Jfovelties  will  be  introduced. 


No.  1303  Chestnut  Street. 


POTT,  YOUNG  &  CO. 

COOPEB  UNION,  NEW  YOBK, 

Sole  Agents  for  the  United  States  for 

The  London  Bible  Warehouse  of  Messrs.  EYRE  &  SPOTTISWOODE, 

Have  constantly  on  hand  a  full  supply  of 

BIBLES,  PRAYER  BOOKS,  HYMNALS,  ETC., 

From  the  presses  of  the  above  firm,  in  Calf,  Moeocoo,  Ivory   Tortoise-shell, 
and  many  other  specialities  of  binding.    Also,  the 

Containing,  besides  the  Text  of  tlie  Authorized  Version,  many  carefaUy 

prepared  Aids,  which  make  it  of  great  value  to  Students  and 

Teachers  of  the  Holy  Bihle. 

The  additional  matter  comprises :  A  very  full  and  Complete  Concordance,  with 
Context:  an  Index  of  Persons,  Places  and  Subjects  mentioned  m  Holy  Scripture; 
a  Chronological  Index  to  the  Bible  ;  a  Harmony  of  the  Four  Gospels  ;  a  lable  ot 
Proper  Names,  with  their  Pronunciation  and  Meaning;  a  Table  of  Scripture 
Weights,  Measures,  Distances,  and  Divisions  of  Time ;  an  Alphabetical  Index 
to  the  Psalms;  a  Table  of  the  Special  Prayers  Recorded  in  Scripture  ;  Tables  of 
the  Parables,  Miracles  and  Discourses  of  Christ ;  Tables  of  the  Parables  and 
Miracles  Recorded  in  the  Old  Testament;  Descriptions  of  the  Topography  and 
Physical  Features  of  the  Holy  Land ;  Descriptive  Lists  of  the  Remarkable  Lakes, 
Rivers  Hills,  and  Mountains  Mentioned  in  the  Bible ;  an  Explanation  ot  the 
Word  Selah;  Table  of  the  Origin  of  Nations;  Table  of  the  Names,  Titles,  and 
Characters  of  Christ;  Lists  of  the  Prophecies  Relating  to  Christ;  Lists  ot  Pas- 
sages Relating  to  the  Nature,  Office  and  Work  of  our  Saviour ;  and  a  very  accu- 
rate and  complete  set  of  Maps— covering  the  entire  ground  on  vphich  the  events 
of  the  Bible  were  enacted,  at  various  dates  of  the  Sacred  History. 

The  Prices  have  not  been  matched  as  to  Cheapness. 


P  Y.  &  Co.  are  also  Sole  Agents  for  the  London  SOCIETY  FOB  PBO- 
MOTINO  CHBISTIAX  KNOWI^EDGBf  and  keep  constantly  on 
hand 

SUNDAY-SCHOOL  BOOKS,  CARDS, 

And  other  Publications  of  this  Society. 


They  have  also  a  long  list  of  books  of  their  own  publication  and  importa.     a  in 

THEOLOaY,  OHILDEEN'S  BOOKS, 

AND 


T 


\7;* 


U 


I  I 


^? 


a 


jjjj^paiiGQQii: , „^^ 

j_j  J  jn_i_j-^  \j>  V  y 


ugiitt^ 


pWILADELPHJi^^, 

^^f>-.lc()llH  GuidP  Hook  to 
PHII  VI)KI>PniV, 


O^n  got 


tJOtl 


OQDD 

^ fgpsaa 

DnadDDG 


JJjjj'JunGnnnnapranqDnc^^ 
JJJJ  / J^UGDDDDDUaapnDDf 
J  J  J  J/  M  J  jsuuGuaGannnnDL 
.uujJuJuuuu^L^aJuncjrlQaLS 
oauuj4Lj3LiuuuLiEinoaaaa-a 
,330oa33j3a^Jtupo3aci»a 

-  i^i-u  "  r^^"'  lUuqGncjnmna 

^^S-*-  S  n  n  rt    -1  r  -n  I — I  r-i  w-\  r^i  r-i 


lunaDaai 


□[;] 


JD  J  J  J  ^U  JUUU^'JJJ 


4xi^ 


llli_m    lir-ljr-ii    -;:    I' 


nan 

ana 

jjHn ^^ „ 

liQQC 


jjua-Jj^^ 


^    \ 


-.1  M  hiOI 


^ 


DDD_ 

cmaaauDu 
LliajaDDDDDDnnf^ 

_lJO/JUUUJE]UJJJ_j 


^ .  j-aonaaoQaD  oadxi-j  d  i 

.juufluaaqDanDang.i-tjnnocpDSB^nnnaDnDapDD 


-  — ^,^^^^^_^_,^3annaaQa]DKGaanananuDpGn 
^  -=u4D'jzjiju_jGTpannnaCii?!^!annnannDnuDanj 


1 

!1LJ  I 

»1  N<   I   S 

H 

1 

a-      t 

1 

" 

» 

<Se 

VI  c 

Vo  1 

Rn 

" 

'